Austerity has had nothing to do with economics. It was about getting out from under welfare. It’s about politics abandoning vulnerable people.

Barry Kushner, a Labour Party councilman in Liverpool

The political campaign in Barbados crescendoed to its unprecedented result last week. First time in our history a political party won all the seats contested. The euphoria of the win for 70% of those who voted has receded. The reality of going to the supermarket to buy food, pay the mortgage, avoid potholes which dot our highways and byways to compete with the joy of living in a tropical paradise.

In a boast by the major political parties, Barbadians were promised that policy prescriptions are available to fix all of our problems in the near time- yes with a little sacrifice from all our people. In the sharp glare of the post election period again there is the reality that for the last – approximately – ten years, Barbadians have had to suffer austerity measures. The prospect of having to suffer more belt tightening- though not appealing- appears to be required given the chronic nonperforming domestic economy.

As a boy attending secondary school, we were taught that the mixed economy of Barbados with its rich social services offering mirrored what obtained in Britain at the time. Over the years as preferential arrangements with the Mother country were retired, leaving our small islands to compete in an era of globalization, a lack of fiscal disciple of the public and household purses have seen an increase in debt. This has inevitable led to our ability to sustain the standard of life we have become addicted to in the 80s, 90s and 2000s.

The negative effect poor of budgeting at the household level will impact a family’s ability to satisfy its day to day needs to put food on the table, pay the bills, send the children to school, credit rating at the bank etc, the same can will be mirrored at the country level. Barbados is reported to be the third highest indebted country the world and the highest in the Caribbean region. We have been hit with a junk credit rating by the international rating agencies, AND, an a visit to the lone primary care hospital sees patients being feed dry bread and corn beef for lunch and sometimes dinner.

What Barbados has had to endure with a poorly performing economy in the period 2008 to 2018 is unprecedented. We can debate if the current state of the economy was caused by Arthur’s injudicious spending under his fourteen year rein, whether it was the incompetence if the former administration that was unceremoniously booted from office last week or both. We are at a point, we have to fix it. This is where the more academic writer writes that this is a seminal moment for the country.

Relevant Article:

The link to the above NY Times article was forwarded to the blogmaster by longtime BU family member Jah Ras Jahaziel Tafari. The article paints a picture of what happens to a country – Britain in this case – when it seeks to manage by the numbers to reduce its debt burden and deficit. It is a long article, worth the read.

• Historic building are being refashioned, sold, razed to convert state assets to cash
  • Open public spaces community spaces sold to developers
  • Budgets of state entities aggressively slashed (this includes to welfare department)
  • Rapid downsizing with ‘itinerant jobs replacing full-time positions’ and ‘voluntarism outnumbering paid staff’

Read the article for more.

The thesis of the article is about the debilitating impact of austerity measures on a society. In Barbados we have experienced similarly.

• Sewage on the street
  • Infrequent collection of garbage because the SSA is unable to buy garbage trucks
  • Deep potholes on our roads
  • Unreliable public transportation
  • Increasing number of vagrants and homeless people
  • Unavailability of drugs on the formulary because government is unable to pay suppliers
  • 40% reduction in enrollment at tertiary institution
    etc

The article ends with an the ominous warning that austerity is here to stay!

This is Britain, this is Barbados.

73 responses to “The Effect of Ten Year Austerity”

1. South Coast Sewage Issue Deemed A National Crisis

Joy Springer May 30, 2018 banner, Top Stories

Charles Leslie (right), Director of Engineering (BWA) briefing Prime Minister Mia Mottley and members of her Cabinet (from left), Wilfred Abrahams, Peter Phillips and Kerry Symmonds, during this morning’s tour of the south coast. (C.Pitt/BGIS)

Prime Minister Mia Mottley today deemed the continuing sewage problems on the south coast a national crisis and has ordered that a Cabinet Paper be prepared in time for tomorrow’s meeting of Cabinet outlining options to resolve the issue.

After a tour of the area, accompanied by management of the Barbados Water Authority, Government officials and members of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers, the Prime Minister declared: “It is our judgement that this is the most important thing nationally, outside of the stabilisation of our economy, for us to deal with and that’s why we are here and that’s why the decisions will be made.”

She told members of the media that tomorrow’s Cabinet Paper would present options aimed at ensuring that the sewage was kept off the street; that the lines were repaired; and that long-term solutions were found to make sure that there would be no recurrence of the problem.

The Prime Minister revealed that a sub-committee, chaired by Minister of Energy and Water Resources, Wilfred Abrahams, had been established, and once Cabinet approved the plan, this committee would be meeting two or three times a week to ensure that the project stayed “on time and on target”.

One consideration being proposed, she revealed, was for two outfalls to be built, – one an eight-inch main from the Graeme Hall Swamp and the other a 16-inch main from the Sewerage Plant, both of which, she said, would go beyond the outer reefs so as to ensure minimal damage to the nearshore waters.

Ms. Mottley said she had asked Minister of Foreign Affairs, Senator Jerome Walcott, to approach the Canadian Government for technical assistance, which she said the Barbados Government would pay for.

Every effort would be made, she said, to get all the equipment and materials necessary into the island as soon as possible so the work could be carried out in the shortest possible time.

A second Cabinet Paper will be prepared by the Ministry of Environment and National Beautification for the consideration of next Thursday’s Cabinet meeting, she disclosed, which will address the impact of the sewage problem on the Graeme Hall Swamp and how that wetland can be regenerated.

The Prime Minister reported that the Ministry of Transport and Works had also been charged with preparing a Cabinet Paper which will deal with the repaving and the rebuilding of the south coast corridor to ensure greater integrity and sustainability. “This is how we have to get on top of this urgent situation…We have had more travel advisories on this issue than we have ever had on any other issue.

“All Bajans will roll up their sleeves and we will deal with this now. If it means that we can’t do some other things because of the unavailability of funds, so be it. But we must have life first and this is what gives us life, in terms of public health and in terms of our economy,” Prime Minister Mottley maintained.

joycspring@gmail.com

2. So more shit what does a secondary white paper detail that previuos has not. Mia yesterday all but concluded what Dr. Estwick stated that going forward a new plant would be necessary
    So all this photo op would be of naught when the reality of further spending is needed to correct and in the interim build a new plant

3. @Tron May 29, 20186:56 PM “… tourism does not pay SUVs, big houses and imported food.”

But why does anybody need a big, gas guzzling, heart attack inducing SUV?

Why does anybody need a big house, when the birthrate is about 1.6 per woman? Don’t we understand that when the birthrate was 6 per woman we lived in small houses?

Some imported food maybe, although today I am eating some locally grown breadfruit, pumpkin, spinach and green banana with a little locally caught fish. Tasty, cheap, delicious, nutritious. Haven’t we noticed that most of the people who live to be 100+ and who are still active in good health have eaten a lifetime of locally grown food? Dietary austerity is good. If all of the fast food places locally and worldwide closed tomorrow I would not miss them one little bit.

4. https://medium.com/world-economic-forum/this-is-the-country-with-the-most-centenarians-per-capita-9b714b8e1146

Note that none of the countries with the highest percentage of centenarians are those countries which we so love to envy and emulate. My question is why do we envy and wish to emulate those countries where the people suffer serious illness and early death?

Here are the countries if you do not wish to click the link:
    Japan
    Puerto Rico
    Italy
    Uruguay
    Chile
    France
    Cuba
    Hong Kong, SAR
    Dominican Republid
    Vietnam

Barbados must be somewhere close to there except that only countries with more than 1,000 centenarians were counted.

5. @ Simple Simon,

I will be eating a piece a dolphin ( Imported by Costco.) and plaintain for lunch.

You are fortunate to be able to eat locally caught fish.

6. Barbados needs to up its local food production. Every little bit of food grown counts. We have been seduced into believing that a farmer is only “successful” if he is farming 1,000 acres or 10,000. But as we can see from the election on Thursday every little vote counts, and so it is that every little bit of locally grown food counts. Every breadfruit counts.

Minister of Agriculture I am looking at you.

Minister of Fisheries (blue economy) I looking at you too.

But while I am looking at you, I am not looking to you. I am busy growing my own food.

7. @Hants May 31, 201812:11 PM

Enjoy.

Even though I would like to see exports go up, still I believe that we have to strive to feed ourselves first. Feed our visitors next. Export the rest. Glad that you can get some dolphin at Costco.

Enjoyed a piece of your Canadian salmon recently, as a special treat. Lol

8. @ Simple Simon May 31, 2018 11:51 AM

Exactly! The greed caused the present malaise. All for foreign food, SUVs and villas.

9. Pray tell me what Dog dung Mia trying here.She was told over and over and over that there was no money to buy buses and garbage trucks,give the Union increases,give increases in pensions,UWI Tuition fees etc etc etc Yet she went ahead saying it will be done.

She now trying to cover her a** s**s with this press conference.

I hope Chris Sinckler will call a Press conference to refute any lies she may be telling or to explain what needs explaining.

She is acting like she is still on the platform.I have never seen any incoming prime minister doing this politicking after the election.If there is wrong doing prosecute them but how does all of this help advance anything.You win the election 30 – 0 so all at you now.

Can you imagine this she calling out a press conference to read out about waiver of duties for a huyandi coupe for the director at a hotel steupes.Well,well,well.Bare theatrics.

Get your popcorn people.

10. I really thought we were going to hear something substantive.Extension of contracts before elections – really Mia – let the people know what you all did in January 2008.

I can see it already this is going to be an administration of charges,inneundos,exaggeration,public relations stunts and confusion.

Yes so you find a situation worse than you anticipated according to Clyde Mascoll? Weren’t you reading the reports from the Govenor of the Central Bank – past and present?

Didn’t you listen to economist Michael Howard?

Didn’t you listen to even Outside persons like Marla Dukkeran ?

11. The press conference was informative. If the Hyatt was on stall why give away taxes? Why let the sewage plant collapse?

12. Avinash Persaud to be the new governor of the central bank.

13. Is that true Hal or speculation?

14. I am hearing something about Artherley crossing the floor.Hmm

15. Do you remember either late last year or early this year David Estwick said they had gotten a grant or something from either United Arab Emirates or Qatar for some environment grant in the amounts of 3 or 7 million dollars and that was to be used to fix the Soth Coast Sewage plant – so why are we not hearing any thing about that?

16. See this is what happenn when greed takes complete control of the mind. Mia averious insatiable appetite to become PM took over the reality as how she would confront the social and economic problems while delivering empty promises
    Now she holds a press conference which is more like a pity party to draw sympathy from the guillible population in case she fails to deliver
    Isnt this the same Mottley who said barbados economic situation was worse than Haiti.

17. Mia is pretending as if all that she is revealing is new to her years
    Question which the media ought to ask is given all that she has revealed how could she and where is she going to get an extra 8million to feed her expanded cabinet
    This woman is truly a deceitful b.tch lies to the people and now runs to the people to cover her a.ss
    Another page out of the Trump playbook.

18. Mia told the country she would turn water into wine. Now she holding a press conference telling the people that there is not enough bottles.
    Wuhloss

19. Mia your best bet is to sit yuh a.ss down and stay away from the media because everyime yuh open yuh move to cover yuh a.ss yuh nose gonna grow longer

20. Mariposa that must be why Sturt’s nose looks like it does,