There has been much discussion over the past 5 days about the 30 – 0 victory of the Barbados Labour Party over the for Democratic Labour Party government and other newer political parties at the General Elections which were held on May 24, 2018. It was a historic and resounding victory for the Barbados Labour Party as they not only received the mandate to govern unopposed but the first female Prime Minister of Barbados, Ms. Mia Amor Mottley was elected.

With the decimation of the main opposition, most persons resorted to the Constitution for guidance. The founding fathers clearly did not anticipate that such a situation would occur. Hence, the Constitution does not provide any guidance on this issue. It only states that the democratic process to produce a government would consist of the winning party which obtains most seats and an Opposition which won the remaining seats and that both would constitute the government. No exceptions are mentioned. There being no opposition, only members of Parliament of the current Administration can sit in the lower House of Parliament.

Some may be of the view that this 30-0 win is a constraint on the democratic system as there are no longer any checks and balances on the system or transparency and that the Constitution should be amended to make provision for some semblance of an opposition as the new government will do as it pleases without oversight. Most importantly there is a worry about the preservation of democracy if the island is a 2-party system.

The Constitution does not advocate the use of Senators in lieu of there being no Opposition elected as part of government. The Prime Minister was therefore very gracious to seek to amend the Constitution to allow Members from the Democratic Labour Party which polled the second highest percentage of votes to be appointed to the Senate. Another alternative that could have been pursued was to simply increase the pool of independent senators. Whether one likes it or not, this may end up being the case because for the majority of the population the credibility of the Democratic Labour ceases to exist and the majority of the people may not even want them to walk up the steps of Parliament again.

One can be of a different view that a unique opportunity has presented itself making the 30-0 victory a blessing in disguise. With over 50 years of self-governance behind us and going as far as we can with a 2-party system, the time as come to go to the next level in democracy. That is to empower the people to fully participate in the governance of Barbados.

It was indeed heartening when for the first time in history of electoral politics in Barbados that a draft Manifesto was presented to the people by the Barbados Labor Party for their thoughts, discussion, comment and input. One wonders why this never occurred before. Perhaps at the beginning of our independence when the majority were only educated to 7th standard they needed the government alone to decide their needs and what was best for the country. However, after 50 years of independence and the majority having obtained secondary education and a thousands of university graduates, one wonders why a Manifesto coming from the people was not on the table until this election.

It would be a waste given the heightened political discussions that emanated throughout the island since the dissolution of Parliament on March 6th, 2018 for most people to revert to lives void of politician participation. Without an Opposition, the responsibility also falls on the electorate to maintain the democracy. It is for the good of the country as we seek to rebuild Barbados not only economically and socially but politically as well.

A 30-0 majority further provides the opportunity for greater input of Barbadians in the process of governance; whether it be in oversight, checks and balances, in decision making and by referendum and constituency councils. Members were selected for the constituency councils under the previous Administration, but they have failed to perform.

To this end the Government Information Service can be used as a tool to provide a body of knowledge to educate all citizens and residents, preparing them for active participation by providing the training for the empowerment of the people. The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation and the Internet can be used as the medium to ensure that this becomes a reality.

One hopes that this 30-0 historic victory will signal the end of an era when the people only participated politically by casting ballots every five years and heralds the commencement of revolutionary changes as part of the rebuilding process making Barbados a participatory democracy. One can argue that with active continuous participation that not only will the people have a greater interest in their governance, participate more in the polls and reduce the numbers who do not vote but more importantly that we all can truly sing the part of the national anthem which states that we are “strict guardians of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate.”

300 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Historic 30-0 Win for BLP: Constitutional Constraint or Opportunity?”

1. What the hell is Bitt – a cryptocurrency firm with Marla, Rawdon Adams and Abed, the Lebanese businessman?

2. @Sargeant

Did you hear Bobby’s Stuart like quote yesterday?

He said something to the effect that with the ‘efluxion’ of time the DLP will regain the government.

3. @ Well Well.

Rawdon Adams is her boss. I am sure he will do what is best for the BLP.

4. @ Angela May 29, 2018 3:48 PM

Do you mean the last or the present one? MAM will have lots to do to clear out the male mediocrity in Barbados. Be aware that lots of judges, bureaucrats and academics sided with the reign of economic terror during the last ten years.

Angela, You need to work on that issue!

No “social inclusion” for any former minister. No posting as ambassador for any former minister. No appointment as judge at the Barbados Supreme Court for any QC appointed after 2007, nor for the present registrar or any magistrate appointed after 2007.

5. I feel two interesting candidates in the 2018 Election should be appointed to the Senate. I am looking at Crystal Austin and Natalee. Crystal is very articulate and is young whilst Natalee will bring the grassroot side to politics. Forget Morris, he seems to prefer to strangle the members of the last administration. An emergency general meeting should be called to elect a new President in order to rebuild the party.

6. Tell Me Why,

I fully agree. Cristal because she is highly intelligent, ambitious and committed, and Natalee because she represent the marginalised.
    Good call.

7. David

The use of the same word by both Fruendel and Bobby was not lost on many………….effluxion of time.

Yea right ……with the effluxion of time the DLP will regain the government…..once MAM and her cabinet performs, it will take at least 3 terms before people even look at the DLP again…….the BLP will always hold this lost decade up in their faces.

8. Hal Austin
    May 29, 2018 3:40 PM

Bernard,
    You certainly appear not to fully understand the role of an Upper Chamber. I am not sure what you mean by a second look, but the role of the Senate is to review, to expertly challenge, provide checks and balances, etc. It is not just there to approve government proposals.

Are we confusing Government and Parliament?

If there is no opposition in Parliament then two seats in the senate are perhaps not going to be filled as the Leader of the Opposition needs to advise the GG on who should fill them.

There is no leader of the opposition.

If the senate needs 21 seats filled to exist there can be no senate.

Two thirds of zero is zero.

The senate through its silence and because of its non existence is thus utterly obstructive of Parliament.

So can there be a Government?

Are we for the first time seeing just how important the senate is in preventing a one party state in a two party system?

9. No No No……. Tell Me Why………….let the dems wallow in their shame and destruction. They are still in shock and acting strange as if they cannot believe that the people of Barbados would have ever turned their backs on the dlp in such a savage way.

They forgot the albatross around Barbados’ neck …….one Freundel Stuart.

10. Her Majesty’s loyal opposition did not appear.

How can there be a boxing match if only one boxer appears?

Will Mia be “shadow boxing”?

11. The target may be large and easy to hit but try as she might, she will never be able to knock it out!!

12. Hants…they might all have to take a pass and let Mia handle the situation cause if things go sideways for whatever reason, Mia will get burned, have to hold the responsibility and it will reflect on the island,, but not in a good light…. remember I did not accuse Marla or Rawdon of anything……..trust me on this.

13. Three…throw in Sandra Corbin, also young, with lots to offer, and whopped Fruendel in his own constituency…lol

14. My gut tells me this can’t work!!

There can’t be only one party in what is designed as a two (or more) party system!!

15. John,

Wai and see. It calls for integrity and objectivity to work. If we get nepotism and corruption it will not. Why is Rawdon Adams in the senate? What is he bringing to the table?

16. In a football match it is possible to red card and send off 10 out of the 11 players and still have a game.

But if the 11th player gets sent off the game cannot continue.

This situation in Barbados is a farce.

Changing the constitution to accommodate a farce is not the answer.

If the words in the Constitution prevent the farce they are there for that reason.

Perhaps one or two MP’s could resign, have by elections called and hope to get an opposition that way.

Monkeying with the constitution is not a good idea.

My gut is this may have to do again!!

17. Do we have a senate with 21 seats filled?

18. Here is a list of previous senators from Wikipedia.

Who are the opposition senators going to be this time around?

Does the GG on her own appoint them?

Government Senators[edit]

Senator Kerryann F. Ifill (President)
    Senator the Hon. Maxine P. O. McClean (Leader of the Senate)
    Senator the Hon. Haynesley Benn
    Senator the Hon. Arni B. Walters
    Senator the Hon. Darcy W. Boyce
    Senator Peter Gilkes
    Senator Derek Alleyne
    Senator Andre Worrell
    Senator Rev. Peter Millington
    Senator Mrs. Irene Sandiford-Garner
    Senator Patricia Inniss

Independent Senators[edit]

Senator The Very Reverend Harold Edmund Crichlow, GCM (Deputy President)
    Senator Sir Cardinal LeRoy Trotman, KA
    Senator Sir John Stanley Goddard, KA
    Senator Rashid O. Marville
    Senator Mrs. Velma Eudora Newton, SCM
    Senator Dr. Frances Louise Chandler
    Senator John Hutson
    Senator Prof. Emeritus Henry Fraser

Opposition Senators[edit]

Senator Santia Bradshaw
    Senator Kerrie D. Symmonds

19. It calls for integrity and objectivity to work.

So it can’t work.

We know this lot already cannot get this integrity/objectivity thing done.

It is just foreign to them.

Been there done that!!

20. Better follow the constitution to the letter and don’t monkey around with it!!

21. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

We have an interesting constitutional case here.

The electorate did not elect any members from opposing parties to the H of A

The Senate cannot be fully constituted since it requires two members to be selected by leader of opposition.

Since there is no leader of opposition there can be no nominations.

Therefore no need for opposition in the senate.

Nomination by any other body is a frustration of the will of the Electorate.

Is it mandatory for these two seats in the Senate to be filled.

If they cannot be represented in the lower house they should not be represented in upper.

Just thinking aloud. Trying to move away from the “cuddear” syndrome.

22. @Bernard

Have you read the Constitution at 75 (a) and (b)? The GG has the power to select and for the avoidance of doubt the first sitting of parliament will amend the Constitution?

23. Bernard,

There is an issue, but you appear to miss the point. If the constitution provides for an Opposition in the lower House, and a mandatory two seats in the Senate, then it should have provided for that. The drafting was at fault – and not for the first time.
    Under a first-past-the-post electoral system, the architects of the constitution could not predict that there will always be Opposition members of the lower House.
    But as I have said before, we have a political system overloaded with lawyers, but there are not legal theorists. To meet our constitutional obligations, the prime minister can get two of her colleagues to resign, call a bye-election and let the DLPs stand unopposed.
    She could also pass on the number of senators she is entitled to appoint, and let them go to the various opposition parties so that we have political balance.
    These are some of the challenges facing the nation, yet, there is no national debate – and we talk about an educated people. Is Rawdon Adams going to provide this intelligent opposition in the senate, knowing full well some of us think he is a potential Brutus, waiting to stab Mia in the back?

24. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Wuh Loss these two practitioners of logic trying to elevate a theorem to an axiom.

25. The drafting was at fault – and not for the first time. Under a first-past-the-post electoral system, the architects of the constitution could not predict that there will always be Opposition members of the lower House.

Maybe the purpose of the constitution is to ENSURE there is ALWAYS an opposition in the lower house!!

Maybe the constitution is as clear as a bell!!!

Amending the constitution for this political purpose is in my view, completely wrong.

Follow it.

So for the moment, Mia has selected 12 senators but no senate exists until the GG creates it!!

Does anyone know of any precedent in any other country ……. besides places like China or the Soviet Union.

26. So in a parliament of 51 members, the government has got 42?

27. Hal

What you know bout Rawdon Adams? #onlyponBU

28. Grenada.

29. Grenada…twice

Bahamas…once

It is not rocket science and it can work..

30. Enuff,

Nothing, apart from what is public knowledge – the son of a lawyer/politician, the grand son of a lawyer/politician, the great grand son of a headmaster.
    My question is a simple one, which seems to offend some people: what qualities does he bring to public policy in Barbados? What is his record of public service?

31. Hal Austin
    May 29, 2018 6:03 PM

So in a parliament of 51 members, the government has got 42?

You see the flaw in your logic.

Parliament is completely separate and distnct from the Senate.

32. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Hal

I do not think like you fellows. So help me here. Do the sections state that the GG can appoint two persons to represent the opposition parties in the lower house, when there are no members of opposition parties elected to the lower house?

We have to be very careful how we tamper with the provisions of the constitution.

Yes. We may have power; but we must be careful how and when and where we exercise it. It must be in the spirit of the constitution. Just a word to the wise from this clairvoyant.LOL.

33. How are the Senates in Grenada and the Bahamas constituted?

34. y Youri Kemp
    Caribbean News Now associate editor
    youri@caribbeannewsnow.com
    ST GEORGE’S, Grenada — After the March 13 general election in Grenada, which saw the incumbent New National Party (NNP) win a consecutive clean-sweep at the polls, winning all 15 seats up for grabs, under the leadership of prime minister, Dr Keith Mitchell, who won his fifth non-consecutive term as prime minister, all senate seats are arguably within his nomination, since there is no elected parliamentary opposition, with the second-place finisher, the National Democratic Congress (NDC), being invited to fill at least one of those seats up for grabs.
    The Grenada constitution reads as follows:

The Senate
    24.-(1) The Senate shall consist of thirteen members (in this Constitution referred to as “Senators”) who shall be appointed by the Governor-General in accordance with this section.
    (2) Of the Senators-
    a. seven shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister ;
    b. three shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition ; and
    c. three shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister after the Prime Minister has consulted the organizations or interests which the Prime Minister considers the Senators should be selected to represent.
    During the last parliamentary session, the senate seat made available to the NDC was filled by NDC leader, Nazim Burke, who was also the minister for finance in the previous Tillman Thomas administration that eventually lost to Mitchell and the NNP in 2013.
    This new session has, however, been met with controversy as some people within the NDC are considering whether or not to pick someone from their ranks to fill the senate position, or to allow to continue with whomever he wishes to select under his prerogative.
    Divisions within the NDC are apparently torn between both camps, being further fuelled by sentiments of election irregularities, prompting one faction to reject the senate seat offered as a matter of protest.
    The side in favour of accepting the offer from Mitchell feels that the principle is larger than the 2018 general election results, and that the NDC should welcome the opportunity to serve its country regardless of the circumstances.
    One name that has again been tipped to fill the position offered by Mitchell to the NDC is current party leader, Burke.
    Other names being mentioned for the seat are Tevin Andrews, NDC candidate for Petite Carriacou; Franca Bernadine, NDC candidate St George South East; and Ray Roberts, NDC candidate for St George South.
    Due to the fact that the NNP has all the seats, and there is no leader of the opposition, there is arguably no numerical reason that would prohibit Mitchell from nominating who he wishes to be seated in the senate.
    The governor general must be advised by the prime minister on the makeup of the senate by April 1, 2018, the first day of parliamentary proceedings for the 2018 session. However, the parliamentary session can begin without the full complement of senators being met.

35. The people are saying through their constitution “come back to us”!!

36. John,

Parliament is bicarmeral ie the lower House and the Senate. But on their own one is called the House of Assembly and the other the Senate.
    In the US they are both called Congress, but on their own one is called the Senate and the other the House of Representatives. In the UK parliament is the House of Lords and the House of Commons.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De ole man can’t wait until the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch speaks again about this issue

Based on what Mr Bernard Codrington has presented in almost logframe format, it becomes clear to even an ole rock like me what the situation is.

Sans the emotive.

Then the Honourable Blogmaster added a second tier of provisions that may be utilized

So what the two of these scenarios mean to my simple self is that i got to wait and see how this going pan out and keep my ingrunt mouf closed about these ecclesiastical matters

38. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Power is like fire. It can be used wisely or unwisely. Plagiarizing aloud..

39. Go read what has happened in Grenada!!!!

Mia Mottley has appointed 12

The GG gets to appoint 8 independents

That makes 20.

Still short 1!!

Google controversy swirls in Grenada over vacant senate seat!!!

Same exact sh!t, just different numbers!!

It is no accident that there are two constitutions which result in the same thing,

They both ENSURE that there ALWAYS is an opposition in the lower house.

Mitchell decided to carry on regardless.

Hopefully, we won’t be a part of the farce!!

40. Logic says it is back to the polls!!

41. THE OATH OF POLITICAL OFFICE
    I ……… do swear that I will be faithful and bare true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth 2, Her Heirs and Successors, according to law, so help me GOD.

If the Constitution and oaths reflects the component of British subjection by allegiance and omits the allegiance to the Sovereignty of Independence state/nation, a right in itself, then a national discourse of minds must engage this rather peculiar situation to make clear the definitive principle.

42. So in a parliament of 51 members, the government has got 42?

So lets go down the logic of Parliament being bicameral.

In order for it to be bicameral, there needs to be 51 members.

It can’t exist with 42!!

It needs 51.

20 don’t count, 42 don’t count, got to be 41!!

The ball is in the GG’s court.

Looks like Marston is the boy!!

Sandra gone and run!!

Eight independent senators won’t cut it.

At least one Opposition senator is a MUST!!

It means the whole swearing in ceremony and meeting with the social partners today is a farce!!

The BLP is beginning its term in a bad way if elections get called again!!

Real bad, because it is misrepresenting Parliament’s existence to the people from the start!!

All sorts of dignitaries come in to help trick the people!!

43. There is NO OPPOSITION, majority electors comprehensively voted BLP, no DLP or any of the others party won any constituency… There is no opposition, neither none of the losers can sit anywhere unless The PM requests it of the GG , out of courtesy, and to ALLOW a voice for those who failed voting otherwise.

The constitution can be amended.

Any opposition should be pulled from Civic Bodies and not any trojan horse from any of the other parties which contested the recent elections.

Some would want a re-election, but Bajans out of spite will take the 2 boxes that alluded them…. then what? a 3rd?

Amend the Constitution.

44. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ PUDRYR at 6:27 PM

I agree. I too want a legal opinion . I hope we are not preempting his second installment of Sunday’s column. A constitution is a semi-sacred document. It must not be changed willy nilly and unnecessarily.

Nor should the conventions of an elective democracy be undermined. Political parties do this at their own peril. Better than that, they create history.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“…..then a national discourse of minds must engage this rather peculiar situation to make clear the definitive principle.”

Nine…it’s the ugliest thing I have ever seen, apparently none of the leaders so desperste to reach high office for the last 52 year ever bothered to pay attention to those demorializing and demeaning words when they utter them, they all puff their chests up all dizzy with false pride and have no problem not pledging allegiance to the very people who elected them….they never question a it, which is frightening.

Maybe those in the reparations movement can explain why allegiance is still being pledged to a monarchy that still seeks to oppress and criminalize Caribbean people. ..I doubt any of those dumb ass politicians know why…or even care.

I dont know if to call it a disease. ..I can’t quite figure out why this demeaning and degrading allegiance to hateful racists is still happening. ..in 2018, they all owe this and future generations an explaination…that’s for sure.

46. Neither the DLP nor its supporters on BU will frustrate the will of the people.The constitution mandates the GG to appoint 7 senators who in her own judgement represent a cross section of interests vital to the economic,social,spiritual and political well being of the country.The same constitution provides for the GG to appoint 2 senators who opposed the now government in the just concluded election.The constitution does not say those senators are to be from the pool of the Dems or from any other group which traversed the length and breadth of Barbados criticizing the Bees.Common sense informs every solution to be made.What would a reasonable man or woman do in the circumstances.One johnny wants to see the just held election declared null and void and the people elect an opposition.JA.You should be marched out to the parade square at 0600 hrs and hear the famous last words…..platoon..fiuh in yuh wiuh.
    The GG should go on ahead and appoint 2 intelligent persons from the array of opposition parties which participated in the just held election.This should be viewed as national service and a platform to one of those fledging getting-to-know-you parties.

47. Who formulate the Constitution/
    Were they Bajans? Or was it thrust upon us by the clever pursuits?
    A Sovereign Nation must know what it takes to move a their Country forward making sure that ALL RIGHTS are spoken to ALWAYS. Some scenarios presents themselves to raise the bar when needed…. Juxtaposing… we have embarked on what is termed “the Blue Economy”, uncharted waters, you might say…

What if a scenario presented itself where access to a very large deposit of Natural Gas or rare mineral deposits at close proximity to the surface were found within the confines of a Reserve Park just offshore…
    Should the Country…
    (1) make the necessary adjustments to law
    (2) reclaim the Land for safety and control purposes and
    (3) move to mine the valuables despite it lies in a restricted area by law, sitting along the prestigious west coast?

Any document can be changed.

48. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Gabriel….now it’s making sense, I heard all the white noise all day an none of it made sense, they are trying to create drama where none exists, there can always be found simple solution which is always the best solution.

49. @Gabriel
    The GG should go on ahead and appoint 2 intelligent persons from the array of opposition parties which participated in the just held election.
    ++++++++++++
    Isn’t this contrary to the wishes of the PM? There are many misinformed and uninformed people on BU sometimes it is better to ignore them.

50. Well Well,

I have submitted an article to this effect… waiting on the Blogmaster.
    What baffles me is that our Ancestors suffered tremendously at the hands of the Colonists and their Leaders .
    Yes, there was the Abolition of Slavery.. yet its contempt initiated Apprenticeship to Emancipation to Independence and STILL there’s allegiance?

Come, come… This one MUST be made right.

Barbados moved away from the Privy Council which in itself is an advisory body… but by office and definition how does advice = judgement?
    Why are we (A FORMER TERRITORY) still tied to the Commonwealth and its assets in 2018.

See the confusion in the recent elections?

A resort to the CCJ after traversing our law courts.. which I believed the CCJ ruled on the Constitution, while the EBC stood grounds on its regulations or directives… a conflict of interpretation or misrepresentation/ploy?

I wonder if the last administration was pushing a point?

TIME TO GET IT STRAIGHT.

Leave a Reply to Are-we-there-yetCancel reply