There has been much discussion over the past 5 days about the 30 – 0 victory of the Barbados Labour Party over the for Democratic Labour Party government and other newer political parties at the General Elections which were held on May 24, 2018. It was a historic and resounding victory for the Barbados Labour Party as they not only received the mandate to govern unopposed but the first female Prime Minister of Barbados, Ms. Mia Amor Mottley was elected.

With the decimation of the main opposition, most persons resorted to the Constitution for guidance. The founding fathers clearly did not anticipate that such a situation would occur. Hence, the Constitution does not provide any guidance on this issue. It only states that the democratic process to produce a government would consist of the winning party which obtains most seats and an Opposition which won the remaining seats and that both would constitute the government. No exceptions are mentioned. There being no opposition, only members of Parliament of the current Administration can sit in the lower House of Parliament.

Some may be of the view that this 30-0 win is a constraint on the democratic system as there are no longer any checks and balances on the system or transparency and that the Constitution should be amended to make provision for some semblance of an opposition as the new government will do as it pleases without oversight. Most importantly there is a worry about the preservation of democracy if the island is a 2-party system.

The Constitution does not advocate the use of Senators in lieu of there being no Opposition elected as part of government. The Prime Minister was therefore very gracious to seek to amend the Constitution to allow Members from the Democratic Labour Party which polled the second highest percentage of votes to be appointed to the Senate. Another alternative that could have been pursued was to simply increase the pool of independent senators. Whether one likes it or not, this may end up being the case because for the majority of the population the credibility of the Democratic Labour ceases to exist and the majority of the people may not even want them to walk up the steps of Parliament again.

One can be of a different view that a unique opportunity has presented itself making the 30-0 victory a blessing in disguise. With over 50 years of self-governance behind us and going as far as we can with a 2-party system, the time as come to go to the next level in democracy. That is to empower the people to fully participate in the governance of Barbados.

It was indeed heartening when for the first time in history of electoral politics in Barbados that a draft Manifesto was presented to the people by the Barbados Labor Party for their thoughts, discussion, comment and input. One wonders why this never occurred before. Perhaps at the beginning of our independence when the majority were only educated to 7th standard they needed the government alone to decide their needs and what was best for the country. However, after 50 years of independence and the majority having obtained secondary education and a thousands of university graduates, one wonders why a Manifesto coming from the people was not on the table until this election.

It would be a waste given the heightened political discussions that emanated throughout the island since the dissolution of Parliament on March 6th, 2018 for most people to revert to lives void of politician participation. Without an Opposition, the responsibility also falls on the electorate to maintain the democracy. It is for the good of the country as we seek to rebuild Barbados not only economically and socially but politically as well.

A 30-0 majority further provides the opportunity for greater input of Barbadians in the process of governance; whether it be in oversight, checks and balances, in decision making and by referendum and constituency councils. Members were selected for the constituency councils under the previous Administration, but they have failed to perform.

To this end the Government Information Service can be used as a tool to provide a body of knowledge to educate all citizens and residents, preparing them for active participation by providing the training for the empowerment of the people. The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation and the Internet can be used as the medium to ensure that this becomes a reality.

One hopes that this 30-0 historic victory will signal the end of an era when the people only participated politically by casting ballots every five years and heralds the commencement of revolutionary changes as part of the rebuilding process making Barbados a participatory democracy. One can argue that with active continuous participation that not only will the people have a greater interest in their governance, participate more in the polls and reduce the numbers who do not vote but more importantly that we all can truly sing the part of the national anthem which states that we are “strict guardians of our heritage, firm craftsmen of our fate.”

300 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Historic 30-0 Win for BLP: Constitutional Constraint or Opportunity?”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Hal Austin
    May 30, 2018 1:19 PM
    I responded to you thus
    May 30, 2018 1:40 PM
    Hal
    Ease up nuh man.
    Certain things for certain folks in Barbados.
    It has always been so. iT WILL ALWAYS BE SO
    I learned that as early as AGE 10 in 1962 when I entered HC.
    BUT THE SAME OCCURS ELSEWHERE

Perhaps you have been away from Barbados too long.
    Let me tell you of a story that occurred 40 years ago at QEH
    There was a fellow WHITE student sitting in a Pharmaceutics class led by a WHITE Dr (now SIR HS FRASER).

The WHITE BOY was talking shite about the issue being discussed.
    A stupid black boy in the class (stupid because he should have said nothing) got up, went to the black board and confounded both the WHITE boy and THE WHITE DR….BECAUSE HE WAS VERY SHARP AT ORGANIC CHEMISTRY.

The black boy did not know that the WHITE DR was pushing the WHITE student forward for honours, SO HE MADE HIM LOOK BAD THAT DAY…….AND THE WHITE DR TOO

NOW IF THE WHITE BOY WAS ABLKE TO ANSWER LIKE THE BLACK BOY DID….IT WOULD HAVE BEEN OK.

THE WHITE DR PUNISHED THE BLACK BOY OVER AND OVER AGAIN ANON FOR SHOWING UP HE AND THE WHITE STUDENT THAT DAY.

Certain things for certain folks in Barbados.HAL

It has always been so. iT WILL ALWAYS BE SO
    I LEARNED THAT AGAIN THAT DAY

YA CANT STOP THE ADAMS FELLA…HE IS PRIVILIGED

EVEN NIGGERS WILL GO UP AGAINST YOU IF YA TRY

CANT YOU SEE THAT YET?

Ease up

2. David; The inescapable fact is that refusing to nominate 2 senators at this time CANNOT be in the best interests of the DLP going forward

You just don’t get it!!!

It is the only choice for them and everyone else.

The 8 Independent senators will be orders of magnitude harder to enlist than just 2 Opposition senators!!!

Those 8 who finally make it to senatorial appointment, if they consent, will eavery one of them Iguarantee, value their good names.

If there is even the slightest hint that they are there just to make up a number, they will thank the GG for the offer and walk away!!

Twenty one appears to be the number but as it becomes about of getting 2 more here or there the GG will be faced with a blank sheet.

Particularly since the issue of a one party state looms large!!

Any analysis that looks simply at the numbers and ignores the most important, human aspects of independence, integrity, and self respect, is a waste of time.

Bobby Morris has actually done the Nation a huge favour by verbalizing the issue and condensing it to its simplest form.

Thanks are due to Bobby!!

…. and I know he means exactly what he says!!

Remember the admonition to drugs, “Just say no”!!

3. Iggi Brathwaite Avatar
    Iggi Brathwaite

One day at the end of a BU lotta long talk, the chairman offered this challenge just before the man-from-the-hill gave his judgement. He said, bloggers give a cool story and conclude with a bumbaclot moral.

So hear de bloggers dem.

First up was a gal calling sheself, 999=666: “My fadder did own a farm in St. John and every Friday we would load up chicken eggs on a truck to drive into town to sell at Cheapside market and ting so. Well, one Friday just as we get close by de round-da-bout we hit a big-ass pothole and all the eggs get brek pon de road. So my tearful moral is dat ‘yah can’t keep all your eggs in one basket’.”

Next post was from a fella called Doc-doTee: “Wait, my dad owns a farm too, out in lower St. George. And every weekend we does take our chicken eggs and put them in the incubator as we prepare to sell the young chicks the next few week. Well, last weekend only eight of the 12 eggs hatch out. Steupse. So my moral is ‘yah can’t count your chickens before they hatch’.”

So hear Big Johnny. “Chicken and farms are so cheep-cheep. My father was a pilot in the WW II and on a fateful day for our family his plane was shot down over enemy territory. But my father was brave so as he jumped out before the plane crashed he grabbed his machine gun, a case of beer and a machete.

He told us that he drank the case of beer while parachuting down and landed right in the middle of 100 stinking Germans. As soon as his feet touched down he shot 70 with his machine gun. Bruggadung. But then bullets gone! So he pulled out the machete and killed 20 more. Whaplax. But then the blade broke, so my brave father just killed the last ten with his bare hands and broken beer bottles.

AND the moral of my story. “Don’t RH fuckaround with my father when he drinking. Nor me when I talking bare wrasseholery”.

LOLLLLLLL.

4. There is absolutely no certainty, given the mood that the Electorate is in, that the result of any new election will give rise to a different outcome

I guarantee you that if we go back to the polls there will be an opposition!

5. Georgie Porgie,

Got ya.

6. Of course it is in the best interest of Barbados for DLP party to become defunct, do you really want to see that gang or their like minded successors back in your parliament to wreak more havoc…I will certainly hope not.

That was said about the BLP in 1986 and 2008!!

7. And the DLP in 1976 and 1994… and you know what, we still got the two of them like albatrosses around our necks.

8. That is the reason I no longer read many posts…all the big argument about a constitution which turned out to be an experiment and which is more than likely not even real…lol

9. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Hants;

Surely an avowed DLP supporter like you, would not like to see the DLP disappear within the next 5 years, partially because it was too blind to see that it was being offered an escape plank to maintain some relevance by PM Mottley and stupidly threw it back in her face. They would truly deserve such an outcome if they relinquished that offer to the upcoming, but now similarly clueless, SB party.

Well Well might be right. Barbados might be better off without them but it would be a pity to see them wiped from the face of the body politic by a stupid uncalled for error that might be traced to a former PM and an otherwise brilliant Campaign Manager adding insult to injury by advocating the taking of such a course.

But who am I to say what is best for the DLP? The fickle finger of fate is probably in charge and directing a major reworking of Barbados’ political landscape. The 30-0 result being the first signpost followed by the refusal to accept 2 senate seats.

Looking forward to Jeff Cumberbatch’s promised post.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

My apologies.

I would say that your last post on the Rawdon Adams matter was more detailed than preceding ones.

Where you ended, de ole man would have begun – with a careful precis of each line of his CV, and its lapses, compounded by other visual norms.

One can easily say such normalcy attends many of the other Senators being suggested which would then pose the query “what is the singular quality by which our domestic senators have been or were selected in the pass?

Remember Senator Irene Sandiford Garner or Senator Jester Inches?

You therefore seem to be hinting at some birthright and lineage to the throne that has been accorded Rawdon cause uh he fadder.

Let me disavow you and him of this fallacy because AFTER MOTTLEY ALL DIS ELECTION AND THE WAY ELECTIONS WILL BE FOUGHT GOING FORWARD ACROSS THE WORLD going keep that thought process a fallacy in your head and his.

That is going to dead with your generation.

One Stoopid Cartoon about some imagined infelicity of any contender to the throne and all thst Adams currency dun wid amongst the man at the ballot.

With a 15 second attention span electorate what one has to do to win thst vote is completely different.

People ent give one bad word who you fadder is.

Dis is about how many lies you can tell in your manifesto or what you have done in my community

Consider my earlier ribbing to be Ambien tweets like Roseanne Barr

He has not been appointed for his lineage as much as for his BittCoin connections de ole man does see dese tings big like a breadfruit…

11. I am prepared to agree that no one contemplated a situation where only one party won all the seats but I don’t agree with the popularly held view that the constitution did not contemplate a situation where there is no leader of the opposition. Section 75 of the constitution states:

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

a.act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and
    b.act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition.

This seems to cover the various circumstances in which the leader of the opposition is required to do something under the constitution.

12. Hal Austin

Based on your criteria for appointment to the Senate, many should not be appointed. Yet you’re only focusing on Rawdon Adams. Hmmmmmm.

13. Enuff,
    You have either come late to my post on the subject, or just cannot read. It was Rawdon’s that seem to get idiots worked up. So there is no hhhmmmm.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

Earlier you wrote concernjng one of my posts at 12.17.

You thought

“…That post appears to be veering towards acceptance of the view, championed by John, that the 30-0 result in the house has occasioned an almost insoluble constitutional crisis…”

I had actually said in an earlier post that being I was not sure of all the matters that were clearly outlined I would, like you, wait on The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch.

Then I had a “moment” (some might say one akin to when you experience if you had some bad Pudding and Souse) and i added that suggestion to create the opposition WITHOUT MESSING WITH THE CONSTITUTION

Again I say thst I have not seen the thoughts of The Luminary so

And no the suggestion did not really examine the fine details of what it would mean to Charles Griffith’s career in future essays

Nor did it factor in in greatbfetail how BLP and DLP VOTERS could be persuaded to vote for the specific candidates

Nor did it factor in if Dr. leroy McClean won if he wojld tow the line and assist in resolving the crisis

Indeed Are We There Yet de ole man did not go this deep when I prayed for 30 seats to zero for the BLP

I will pray again for GOD to resolve this crisis

But can it not be that Sandra still does not decide to quit? Chawwww

15. You always come across as bitter. #RHaloes

16. Agree that Hal has an undue focus on Adams, these appointments are the PM’s prerogative and he/ she
    can appoint anyone who fits these basic qualifications.

(a) is a citizen of Barbados of the age of twenty-one years or upwards; and
    (b) has been ordinarily resident in Barbados for the im- mediately preceding twelve months,
    shall be qualified to be appointed as a Senator.
    It doesn’t mention CV or other qualifications, it doesn’t say the appointee has to attend a certain school or be the Governor of The Bank of England.

BTW there is a new Senator who doesn’t qualify under (b)

17. Roddy Adams has a contribution to make to his home country.He is well qualified in his own right.We look forward to his making his mark in the Senate where he can hone and sharpen his skills for the good of the economic,financial and political landscape of Barbados.

18. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

So we have a constitutional crisis because one party won a clean sweep of all seats in parliament. Everyone getting worked up, yet our so-called constitution was ineffective when faced with the bare-faced criminally corrupt DLP. Where were the so-called checks and balances that would have thwarted the DLP’s misguided ambitions?

Our constitution has to be rewritten and must ensure that all those actors from the previous administration are brought to justice and that our nation’s sovereignty will never come under threat by evil-doers.

As for those of you awaiting some miraculous intervention from J.C, more fool you!

Hal, boy; you hitting real hard!

19. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

I am in sympathy with Hal Austin re.his views on what might seem to be the grooming of an heir to the Adams dynasty. Just as I was re. the DLP’s Stuart selection of Mara for the St John seat over 5 years ago and the apparent grooming of her daughters to found a Thompson dynasty. Thankfully that all came to naught.

20. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

JHF’s intervention above seems to have put paid to any serious talk about a constitutional crisis. But still we await definitive input from Jeff Cumberbatch to dot the I’s and cross the T’s on it.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We you have debated most with blogger John in your resolutely clear manner as you generally are but you appear to be drifting into his ether zone of fancy high-steps with a recent post.

Why do you believe that the DLP are “too blind to see that it was being offered an escape plank to maintain some relevance by PM Mottley”. I refer to this to ask the other question: When has the Bdos Senate ever been a place of grave relevance on policy?

Morris’ position is fundamentally a sound one (politically): let the DLP go back to its roots and oppose this current govt from the major institutions in the community. We Bajans kicked them out of parliament and without a voice in the HofA I see no benefit or special advantage to them having two lonely voices as mere talking heads in the Senate…

Do Bajans pay attention to Senate debates? Does the Senate change the course of any Bills sent before them?

As you suggest it may appear to be overly prideful to “[throw] back in her face” the offer of Senate seats and give them to the “clueless, SB party” or UPP but what really are they relinquishing that they CANNOT exploit via social media, regularly scheduled constituent and periodic mass meetings? What exactly. Those senate seats are ineffectual (without a lower House presence).

Why n the world do you think PM Mottley was so quick to appear so magnanimous and stateswoman like! Let’s not get fooled here so early in this long five year blockbuster event!

Not only is “the fickle finger of fate […] reworking of Barbados’ political landscape” but so too has the thing called the internet done its rework magic….so refusing the two senate seats would make perfect sense to me.. There MUST be a comprehensive strategy to reclaim the faith of Bajans by the various other more effective means!

Re Constitution (Alas):

@Hal, your personal problem with Adams is unseemly…but you must know the reason for the burr n your backside.

” Sec. 37. Subject to the provisions of section 38, any person who at the date of his appointment-
    (b) has been ordinarily resident in Barbados for the immediately preceding twelve months, shall be qualified to be appointed as a Senator.” ONE CAN CHECK THE DISQUALIFICATIONS BUT HE APPEARS NOT TO FIT ANY. SO BASICALLY IT’S AS BASIC AS BASIC CAN BE!

@John. For what its worth in this STUPID Senate palaver please note (and assuming my copy of The Cont. is valid): Sec 52.2 states – “For the purposes of this section a quorum of the Senate shall consist of eight Senators besides the person presiding.”

REPEAT. A quorum of the Bdos Senate is EIGHT plus presiding officer…it does not say ANYTHING about eight plus two DLP members or that the eight must comprise two DLP members…just EIGHT senators must be present plus the presiding senator!

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Sargeant, so you couldn’t drop me a note to save me my copy and paste effort…Steeeupse …you cudda at least let me know you were going to post that at 5:24! 🙂 ,,,,Wise men…or fools we are… to mind Hal’s attack against the Adams scion.

As I am back here so soon, @Are-We, but how you could confabulate that Thompson-wife handover with Adams in the Senate? LOLL.

Seriously tho, the Adams folks scrupulously removed themselves from Bajan life after the death of Tom and this reemergence now is surely planned but also quite fortuitous with the BTT opportunity and this absolute God-send of a comprehensive election victory.

If Adams ascends politically in Bim then whom to fault other that those who elect him….why blame the man himself if he has the ambition.

23. @Hal Austin
    Although I enjoyed piece first response, I must confess that I share your opinion.

GP has accurately identified how we find square pegs to fit round holes
    Who yah fadda
    Who ya mudda
    Who ya friend
    Who ya know trumps the best resume.
    Ya will get nuff licks when you talk about a sacred cow
    Unless one of your progenies can pull a rabbit out of a hat, they will always play second fiddle to the heirs of Tom Adams

24. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

I love my fellow Bajans.
    You see dah
    ” Sec. 37. Subject to the provisions of section 38, any person who at the date of his appointment-
    (b) has been ordinarily resident in Barbados for the immediately preceding twelve months, shall be qualified to be appointed as a Senator.”

Leh dem go and pick up Mr Nobody son and you will hear them on BU bawl, but the heir apparent can sneak in at the minimum standard. I know somebody will rush to point out he has more than the minimum standard.,.

25. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

I am only speculating, but I came to the following conclusion..
    🙂
    DeMiller get such a good pick that he is too busy to come here. Enjoy Miller.
    Enuff get a pretty good pick and it keeping him off of BU..
    Artax get a pick, but it is not as good as De Miller or Enuff
    DpD trying hard to get a pick
    Mariposa did not get a pick,
    🙂

Murdahhh
    I does write this stuff fir myself

26. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

To @Hal and all on the Adams brickbat brigade can any of you advise why credible family fame and a positive historical repute should not be used to the beneft of an heir/heiress.

Particularly in politics were a negative brand can be rather bothersome why should an aspiring pol discount his positive brand recognition? The argument makes little sense to me.

If Hal Austin had a child who was interested in politics in UK there is absolutely no practical reason that he or she would not leverage the father’s career as a leading – or one of a few at the time – Black, well respected journo in the UK.

If our resident Doc had a child with similar political ambitions would not his/her father’s legacy in Bdos offer her/him a better entrez and glide path to the political elite with careful cultivation from the family unit?

In which country do ambitious political youth not piggy back on the brand of their family name…why is Adams being excoriated for simply being practical?

And why do we as big men and women attempt to couch serious debate topics in such ‘petite’ (paltry) verbiage?

If Adams has some stain against his name that disqualifies him to give his voice to issues in Barbados then so be it …and let us know… otherwise the crticisms appear quite unfair, unreasonable and just as discriminatory as the situation exploded on to that young doctor.

27. AWTY..Jeff has effectively outlined the scenario…as I said yesterday, it’s not rocket science and does not even take 3 minutes to read.

28. @Are-we-there-yet May 30, 2018 5:41 PM “Mara for the St John seat over 5 years ago and the apparent grooming of her daughters to found a Thompson dynasty. Thankfully that all came to naught.”

So how do you know that the Thompson daughters will not found a dynasty? They are yet young. There will be elections in 2023, 2028, 2033, 2038, 2043, 2048, 2053…

His daughters are all still younger than 25. In 2053 they will still all be younger than 60. There is still plenty of time for legacy building.

I’d bet anything that we have not seen the last of the Thompsons.

29. @John. For what its worth in this STUPID Senate palaver please note (and assuming my copy of The Cont. is valid): Sec 52.2 states – “For the purposes of this section a quorum of the Senate shall consist of eight Senators besides the person presiding.”
    REPEAT. A quorum of the Bdos Senate is EIGHT plus presiding officer…it does not say ANYTHING about eight plus two DLP members or that the eight must comprise two DLP members…just EIGHT senators must be present plus the presiding senator!

So, atleast I got somebody reading.

Now lemme see if I can get them thinking!!

In order for the senate to exist it must have a minimum number of seats filled, Lynette Eastmond opines 21.

Once it exists, then its meetings are only valid if 8 or more are present … your input!!

The lawyers call that a quorum and it applies to meetings only.

But first, it has to exist before it can meet!!

Same for the board of a company, it must exist first for which there are requirements.

A board is elected the senate is not ….. well atleast if you don’t consider the 14 members the elected PM and the elected leader of the opposition not elected but annointed.

The GG could in theory appoint the 8 and get a quorum too except the senate would not exist and could not meet although it has a quorum!!

Agree?

It needs the other members from the Government and opposition.

It is that simple, no?

So, let’s go the extra mile.

Suppose the people in disgust at the politicians decided to boycott the elections?

That I think is what is going on here … utter disgust.

The result would be a 0-0 tie, a dead heat!!

Would the GG be able to appoint 8 to the senate in the absence of a PM and leader of the opposition to get a quorum?

Wouldn’t she have to call fresh elections if she wanted a Parliament to even exist?

What would you do if you were the GG in such a situation?

… forget for the moment the constitution and think for yourself!!

30. Zero is indivisible

2/3 of zero is still zero.

31. I’d bet anything that we have not seen the last of the Thompsons.

… or the associated CLICOs!!

32. ” Sec. 37. Subject to the provisions of section 38, any person who at the date of his appointment-
    (b) has been ordinarily resident in Barbados for the immediately preceding twelve months, shall be qualified to be appointed as a Senator.”

Even Gearbox (RIP) and King Dial (RIP) qualified and were they alive today could be appointed by the GG if the PM and Leader of the opposition recommended them.

33. @Heather Cole “Perhaps at the beginning of our independence when the majority were only educated to 7th standard they needed the government alone to decide their needs and what was best for the country.”

Please do not make the error of assuming that a person in the 1960’s who had only a 7th standard education was lacking in intelligence and political savvy. I had a lively conversation with a 90 year old gentleman yesterday. He told me that in 1956 he had been on a 3 year work contract in the United States. he came back home to Barbados find that he had been taken off the voters list without his consent. He protested and insisted that his name be returned to the list and has voted in every election since then.

He is a 7th standard tradesman.

34. @Theophilius Gazerts 250
    Yours@7.46

Miller made a statement in one of his posts some time ago which led me to believe he is close to Mia, so he has hit the ground running.

35. @Heather Cole “Perhaps at the beginning of our independence when the majority were only educated to 7th standard they needed the government alone to decide their needs and what was best for the country.”
    Please do not make the error of assuming that a person in the 1960’s who had only a 7th standard education was lacking in intelligence and political savvy. I had a lively conversation with a 90 year old gentleman yesterday. He told me that in 1956 he had been on a 3 year work contract in the United States. he came back home to Barbados find that he had been taken off the voters list without his consent. He protested and insisted that his name be returned to the list and has voted in every election since then.
    He is a 7th standard tradesman.

All you need to say SS is that up to 1966, people got by fine without the Government …. regardless of education!!

36. @John May 30, 2018 8:33 PM “…or the associated CLICOs!!”

Thankfully by 2053 I’ll be dead, and so will all the people associated with CLICO.

And they will not get to take any money with them.

37. Wunna too love an argument about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin.

38. Offer the 2 Senate seats to the DLP, sure, but not to any ole member of the DLP. Look to see who in the DLP actually got real-real votes from real-real people.

Firstly offer one seat to Michael Lashley who got 2015 votes; and offer the other seat to Chris Sinckler who got 1991 votes. Yes Chris Sinckler.

Then go down the line:

David Estwick 1924
    Dennis Kellman 1789
    Donville Inniss 1674
    George Pilgrim 1598
    Adriel Brathwaite 1488
    Dennis Lowe 1315
    Nicholas Alleyne 1147
    Richard Sealy 1101

Until somebody is ready to accept on behalf of the DLP. After all these gentlemen all got more than 1,000 votes each from real-real people. I can’t think of anything more democratic.

39. @Georgie Porgie May 30, 2018 3:20 PM “Let me tell you of a story that occurred 40 years ago at QEH There was a fellow WHITE student sitting in a Pharmaceutics class led by a WHITE Dr (now SIR HS FRASER).”

He is white?

Ya cudda fool me.

Lolll!!!

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John…LOLLL my brother I did NOT go to Kolig. Your logic @8:29PM is at a scholarship level way above my skills. Phew.

I will apply my Waterpipe reasoning and step off cause we all have had more than enough fun and games with this.

@Are-We, I’m borrowing your template….not trying to plagiarize tho 🙂

In order for the senate to exist it must have a minimum number of seats filled, Lynette Eastmond opines 21.
    Once it exists, then its meetings are only valid if 8 or more are present … your input!!

NOT MY INPUT SENOR. THE CONSTITUTION SAYS SO. AS I AM THINKING AND YOU APPARENTLY NOT…A LIST OF 21 NAMES IS ALL THAT IS REQUIRED TO ESTABLISH THE SENATE. THERE ARE DEFINITELY 21 PEOPLE IN BARBADOS WHO WILL ACCEPT.

The lawyers call that a quorum and it applies to meetings only.
    NONSENSE. IT WOULD APPLY TO THE LEGAL ACCEPTANCE OF ALL DECISIONS OF THE SENATE. EVEN THE FIRST MEETING TO ESTABLISH ITSELF.

But first, it has to exist before it can meet!! SEE QUORUM ABOVE.

Same for the board of a company, it must exist first for which there are requirements.SEE QUORUM ABOVE

A board is elected the senate is not ….. well atleast if you don’t consider the 14 members the elected PM and the elected leader of the opposition not elected but annointed.
    ELECTED OR SELECTED SAME THING. BOARD ELECTED FROM VOTERS CALLED SHAREHOLDERS. SENATE FROM SHAREHOLDERS CALLED VOTING CITIZENS

The GG could in theory appoint the 8 and get a quorum too except the senate would not exist and could not meet although it has a quorum!! Agree?
    NOPE. SEE ABOVE. YOUR TALKING BUT NOT THINKING.

It needs the other members from the Government and opposition.
    It is that simple, no?
    So, let’s go the extra mile.
    Suppose the people in disgust at the politicians decided to boycott the elections?
    ELECTIONS ARE OVER. STOP TALKING TRIPE. YOU ARE EMBARRASSING THE STUDENTS FROM THAT LOVELY SCHOOL IN CRUMPTON ST.

That I think is what is going on here … utter disgust. I AGREE. UTTER AND TOTAL DISGUST AT A JOKE GONE TOO FAR.

The result would be a 0-0 tie, a dead heat!!
    Would the GG be able to appoint 8 to the senate in the absence of a PM and leader of the opposition to get a quorum?
    Wouldn’t she have to call fresh elections if she wanted a Parliament to even exist?
    NOPE. IS THIS TOO AN AMBIEN INDUCED SCREED?

What would you do if you were the GG in such a situation? I AM NOT. IF I WERE THO I WOULD ASK TO REVISIT YOUR SCHOLARSHIP AWARD. LOLLL.

… forget for the moment the constitution and think for yourself!! HOW CAN ONE FORGET THE SEMINAL DOCUMENT UPON WHICH THIS ENTIRE EPISODE IS BASED.

JOHN, I dun. You are having fun. I had mine too. Tallyho.

41. “THE WHITE DR PUNISHED THE BLACK BOY OVER AND OVER AGAIN ANON FOR SHOWING UP HE AND THE WHITE STUDENT THAT DAY.”

No it will not always be so GP…did you ever think you would see the day Bajans as a collective successfully staged a voters revolt…..

ok then..

Fraser and 99.9999% of the 7,500 minorities whites on the island are well known bigoted frauds, just useful in this day and age for putting in their place.

42. John and Hal. The 12 senate seats is the discretion of the winning party. The 8 Independents are made up of anti or pro iindividuals. These Independents can cast votes according to the situation. However, the 2 opposition position is clear – to oppose. So, stop the time wasting and let the governed get us out of our economic and health problems.

43. @Well, Well May 31, 2018 9:37 AM “Fraser and 99.9999% of the 7,500 minorities whites on the island.”

Fraser is not white. And neither are most of the other 7,500 “white” people in Barbados.

44. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Simple Simon at 11:14 AM

I hope you realize that the corollary, based on your argument, is also true for the other ( x – 7500) Barbadians.

What do these statements add to the issue under debate?
    We need to grow up.

45. Not only have I grown up Bernard, since last I met you, I have also grown old.

And no the corollary is not true.

What do these statements add to the issue under debate? They add the TRUTH.

Truth is good. Truth is ALWAYS good.

46. Simple Simon,
    You pose one of the continuing questions in moral philosophy – the unending battles of virtue ethics – which is at the very heart of popular Barbadian culture.
    Is it right to always tell the truth, no matter the consequences? If you knew by telling the truth someone might be murdered would you feel compelled to still tell the truth, no matter what?
    Would you lie even if it meant putting a treasured friendship at risk or would you prefer to remain silent? Professional people are often faced with these dilemmas.
    In British (European) culture, there is the white lie in order to preserve the wider good. In Barbadian culture it is common for people to say I cannot lie, not even for my child or other loved ones.
    This deontological dilemma was once faced by Immanuel Kant. Life is complex.

47. Complex indeed. But in this instance nobody was in danger of losing life, family, friend, status or even money.

And in British (European) culture the white lies are not always so innocuous, as the Catholic church is now finding out.

Today’s little which lie, sometimes matures into tomorrow’s major moral disaster.

48. The details revealed by the prime minister in her press conference contradicts any view that DLP members should b appointed senators. They should be marginalised from public life.

49. The details revealed by the prime minister in her press conference contradicts any view that DLP members should b appointed senators. They should be marginalised from public life.

I didn’t see the press conference but I agree, given what little I heard, saw and know from the past two terms, somebody(s) from the last administration needs locking up.

If Mia can get it done, do it.

If the Press Conference was all about attacking the DLP it sounds like campaigning has begun for the next elections.

If my understanding is right and elections are in the works, the DLP will hold their peace until they judge it right to let loose and if I am right Mia has given them all the ammunition they need for the fight.

But …. maybe they are all tired out from the past, ashamed of what they did and positively mortified at their actions.

Maybe they will retire from the field and lick their wounds but I doubt.

50. @John May 31, 2018 5:57 PM “If my understanding is right and elections are in the works, the DLP will hold their peace until they judge it right to let loose and if I am right Mia has given them all the ammunition they need for the fight.”

You really need to talk to your doctor about switching you to a more efficacious medication. The current medicine is causing you to have delusions.

There will be no elections until 2023. And if the DLP wanted to “let loose” they had ample opportunity in the weeks leading up to May 24th. Instead they fired a whole lotta blanks.

Elections what. Let loose what.

Stupseee!!!