In hindsight, retrospect, or what some in the US refer to as “Monday-morning-quarterbacking”, it is now quite clear to see why the Barbadian electorate so categorically rejected the Democratic Labour Party [DLP], the party that comprised the governing administration for the past decade, in the recent general election on Thursday last.

For a gallimaufry of factors, none of which may be decisive, but all undeniably relevant, some; perhaps because of unfortunate happenstance, others; caused by culpable conduct on the part of the administration, the electorate almost vengefully swept the government and party from power with an unprecedented defeat that, in one swoop, gave the island its first female Prime Minister in Ms Mia Mottley; created a looming constitutional crisis; and, possibly, thereby effected the demise of the losing party, at least under its current leadership.

The degree of the rejection also serves to provide some insight into the Barbadian cultural-political ethos. There were many who wondered at the restraint shown by the populace in the face of some of the happenings to be highlighted, ascribing it to an innate Bajan conservative docility or, even more mistakenly, to acceptance. But, as Mary, the mother of Jesus, is reported to have done in Luke 2:19, the citizenry simply kept these things in their heart and pondered them unto the day when they could signal their true feelings under the cover, not of darkness, but in the relative secrecy of the ballot booth.

I propose first to describe these factors by category and then to give some suggestion as to their elements. It bears reminder that these arise from my personal and uninitiated observation and are not intended to provide a learned analysis of last Thursday’s outcome.

Pride –A principal factor, in my view, would have been the affront that many Barbadians felt to their individual pride in their country. It is not for nothing that our national motto emphasizes “Pride and Industry” and our achievements over the years have apparently imbued the national character with an arguably justifiable sense of pride. Hence, for more than a few, for this island to be relegated from “punching above its weight” to the doldrums of a degree of an economic growth measurement below that of some of our less developed neigbours, must have cut the national sense of value like a knife. Into this category we might place too, the plurality of downgrades to our international credit rating under the last administration. While it may be true, as we were assured, that these did not downgrade Barbados (the country) itself, this would have provided cold comfort to a people thitherto proud of their international creditworthiness but now reduced to a dangerous level of mendicancy in the eyes of the world. “How dat go look?” some must have queried.

Legalism- In my years of dalliance with the law and legal principles, I have come to recognize that these do not resonate with the uninitiated listener if they do not comport with that individual’s long-held beliefs of what is instinctively right. Thus, if you will forgive the digression, I encounter much difficulty in trying to persuade my students in defamation law that it is no less a defamation to repeat a defamatory imputation, even if it is prefaced by such phrases as “it is rumoured that “ or “it is alleged that”. The citation of the applicable authority does not serve to convince them either until after most have read it for themselves.

In this regard, for the former Prime Minister to have clung tenaciously to what many regarded as “crass constitutionalism” in his insistence that his administration was entitled to and desirous of serving the full term of its constitutional tenure resonated scarcely with an electorate anxious to be afforded its own constitutional entitlement of franchise to assess the government’s performance Given this popular sentiment, partisan assertions that no law was being broken in the process naturally rang hollow. The action thus appeared dictatorial especially given the substantial period of parliamentary interregnum when the Cabinet would function without collective responsibility to any body.

And the fact that nary a peep of objection came from within the administration, perhaps owed to the “…and not a damn dog bark” theory of leadership as asserted by Dr. Eric Williams of Trinidad & Tobago, merely marked them as complicit and thus equally guilty. Undue legalism in a different sense would have also played a role when, in the latter days of the campaign, Mr Stuart made the ostensibly unilateral decision to withdraw from the appellate jurisdiction of the Caribbean Court of Justice, not on any cogently argued constitutional ground, but merely in a fit of pique over some report of disrespect to Barbados by a single justice of the Court during a refreshment break. A few only would have been in agreement that so momentous a decision should be unilateral and even fewer that it should be based on such a slender thread. Again, the absence of comment from his fellow Cabinet members would have been instructive and Mr. Stuart would have seemed dictatorial in his decision.

Economy- The dire state of the local economy was always going to be a relevant factor in the ultimate decision of the electorate, and not simply for reasons of pride or feelings of induced mendicancy, but more so that, at a personal level, it was becoming increasingly difficult for the so-called “average Barbadian” to keep money in his or her pocket, wallet or purse. When allied to the ostentation displayed by some Cabinet members, the inadequately justified reversion of their voluntary ten percent abatement in salary and the dog’s breakfast made of the individual taxation system as concerned refunds, the popular sentiment became one of “them against us”. That these fiscal efforts were made in order, as it has been put, “to keep the [buses] running” might have satisfied the electorate, had it been persuasively explained to them, but alas, communication was never one of the fortes of the last administration, a fact that became eminent in its latter days. Even so, by some quirk of fate, the expression used above –“to keep the buses running”- became more of a cruel joke what with the public disgust at the national transportation service and the woes with household garbage collection.

When we add to the equation the consequent deterioration in social services, the thorny industrial relations with the unions and private sector, its electoral platform strategy and the painful disappointment endured by some UWI students, the result seems less of a surprise.

POSTCRIPT -I must stop here for today and continue this at a later date, God willing. Unfortunately, I was unable to broach today the issue of the looming constitutional crisis. The essay appears so far to pinpoint solely the reasons for the emphatic rejection of the last administration and to minimize the role the incoming one played. This is not my intention. I believe that the Barbados Labour Party’s campaign was a brilliant admixture of the exploitation of the national disgust with the DLP’s missteps, the excitement of making local history with a female leader, and the crying need for an attempt at trying fresh ideas. I should wish to offer my sincere congratulations to the party and to our new Prime Minister, Ms Mottley. I wish you well.

78 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – General Election 2018: A postscript”

1. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Gabriel;

Yes! There is significant expertise available from experts on Cave Hill. These can be used in various fields to quickly assist the Government to make required sensible decisions in many areas via the consultancy or joint project routes.

Yes! It was very good to see, on my TV, the EC PMs attending and enjoying the swearing -in ceremony. Mia can tap a reserve of goodwill towards Barbados that was drying up. One other thing about the Ceremony is that it was super well managed and planned and executed with precision in record time and it was DIFFERENT from all that went before. I think it presages the high quality of innovation that Mia and her team will bring to the management of Barbados and screams:

“THE ROT HAS STOPPED, BARBADOS IS OPEN FOR BUSINESS AGAIN”

I think she has the drive and foresight to actually surmount the huge challenges we have ahead.

2. You may recall that Owen Arthur resorted to a stable of consultants as a workaround to the bureaucratic civil service. Is Mia going the same route? Was the approach successful?

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

I am not too knowledgeable about Owen’s consultants nor their success

All I know is “do you have any skin in the game”

This model of hourly compensation or salaried positions and even lowest bid carries the day for services to be rendered hs been unsuccessful for many moons

It is time for deliverables based compensation

Simply put

You come to me claiming that you can do the impossible e.g. get Paradise Beach properties sold

I tell you my sale price and We agree on your fee IF YOU GET IT SOLD. End of speculation.

You don’t get one cent until the place is sold unless I am getting a kickback from your prepaid fees.

Soooooo for all these new ministries and ministers and senators who ent prove themselves yet mek dem sign a performances and deliverables contract for 6 months

Dem and the cuntsultants who are waiting in the offing

And I hope dat an eye is kept on dem two non performing leeches the one is a minister and de next one a senator.

If dem is left unattended at the chicken coop this is definitely going to be a one term government

A word to the wise is sufficient…

4. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

I see that the PM has already taken the step of requiring her Ministers to agree to a 10% cut in salary. That is a huge step in the right direction and will give Mia and her ministers some political cover to effect other more substantive but unpalatable changes . The next step might be for her to use her constitution-proof majority to temporarily roll back the situation re. agreed deductions in salaries in the public service to the conditions of the Sandiford era when the 8% cut that saved Barbados was made. Such a cut will likely have to be made again since it will be necessary to significantly reduce the wages bill and that methodology is tried and tested and is the most palatable of the means that could be used to effect the required reductions. A 9-10% or so universal wages cut in the Public sector is infinitesimally preferable to cutting a large number of posts. Such a policy could be attended by one of attenuation of the wages bill by scrupulously leaving posts unfilled which might have become vacant for a variety of natural reasons. Such a policy would have been (albiet passively) carried out. by the Stuart regime, but by itself would have been inadequate to significantly address the problem..

5. The garish looking Westbury Cemetery wall should now be restored to a more sober colour.It is the height of the arrogance displayed by a drunk-with-power DLP administration that authored the change of the colour just before the 2013 General Election.It’s in matters such as this that brings out the low life,bag blind culture of that party’s appeal to the lowest of the low in what they think is a popularity contest for the vote at any price to the psyche of the nation.

6. “One other thing about the Ceremony is that it was super well managed and planned and executed with precision in record time and it was DIFFERENT from all that went before. I think it presages the high quality of innovation that Mia and her team will bring to the management of Barbados and screams:

“THE ROT HAS STOPPED, BARBADOS IS OPEN FOR BUSINESS AGAIN””

I think you need to get out more. Even a partisan like youself must see that this is a bit of a stretch.

7. According to Sir Ronald Sanders in his most recent column in which he took to task the comments of Freundel Stuart regarding the CCJ,he suggested that the statement that the Court delivered 2 judgements only in 2018 is far from the truth. Sanders says the Court delivered 13 judgements so far in 2018,has another 9 cases heard, with judgements pending and another 8 cases to be heard before its current term ends on July 31st.That by all standards is a decent record for a Supreme Court of the Caricom Caribbean.

8. @Are-we-there-yet May 28, 2018 8:42 AM

Go on like this and we are soon very best friends … 🙂 I like deregulation, flexibilization, privatization, global trade and free markets.

The next step should be the abolishment of all duties on imports so Barbadians can buy more cars to make up the announced 25% duty in the US 😉

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

You post at 8.42 a.m was an excellent idea

I must admit I was grappling with how she has to lay off thousands of public service workers

Let me set the stage for Lucille MoE minister of information broadcasting and public affairs

After you fire all of the DLP Reporting Lies management committees and disband all their under the cover contracts you need to get a few videos prepared that outline The State of The Nation

I can get the grandson storyboard it for you

But what you have to do is create a series o 4 15 mjnute storylines about what you have found in the various ministries

Snippets of the dire state of affairs in the most critical of the ministries

And in each case have a lower thirds banner show a ticker tape of the monies involved

Run these for about a week and have 45 second excerpts sent to all whatsapp and sms recipients

Then have Madamoiselle Prime Minister come on t.v. and bring the determination to the 15 second attention span bajan people

Game over… sorry if I am so crass about this but…

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please…

11. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR

Sounds good to me.

12. “Such a policy could be attended by one of attenuation of the wages bill by scrupulously leaving posts unfilled which might have become vacant for a variety of natural reasons.”

We need some Ebola in Barbados.

13. It was reported by David Ellis today that two DLP politicians walked out of a meeting held at George Street today, pray tell who were these politicians?

14. It is my fervent wish they all keep walking.For the past 10 years Barbados has regressed and we are back to about 1960’s in our stage of development.We have lost hugely.These latter day Dems know zilch about responsibility and accountability.With corruption and deal making even by those in professions among them.Greed and robbery best describe these morons.Good riddance you sums-beeches.May you never more be seen in any public office in Barbados.Gaul bline wunna,one and all.Chop sutters and bag bline hoes.

15. @Gabriel

Happy with the faces that appeared in CBC TV news tonight?

16. Lots of work and an awesome responsibility defines the decisiveness of the PM and the team.We look forward to better management of the country as promised.

17. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Tron;
    You live in the First world and have acclimatized yourself to that ethos, Yes?

18. If you call Barbados first world, yes.

19. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

OK, You live here!

So either you are a furriner or a self hating Upper Class Bajan. In any case you must be a Masochist. How could you wish Ebola on us, even in jest, after we’ve gone through the slow lava-like depredations of the Stuart regime?

I take it dat Yuh know Ebola has reared its ugly head again, along with a new similar epidemic disease in India.

20. Trim loves to pump a lot of bile on the blog. We are Barbadians first!

21. @ Are-we-there-yet May 29, 2018 6:34 AM

Sorry!!! “slow lava-like depredations of the Stuart regime” agree 1000 % ! No more English jokes :(( How could I even equate Stuart and Ebola … no way to cover up the reign of economic terror … no way …

However, you owe me something immaterial for campaigning for you for years 😉 I spent many days constructing and coining names and phrases which were all over the media/island plus plotting narratives.

22. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Tron;

OK. You do have some good instincts.

But that immaterial debt is not to me but to the BLP politicos. I am not a member or even follower of any Political Party.

23. Same here.

All I want is Barbados BACK AS IT WAS IN 2007.

24. There is clearly a problem with the drafting. If the constitution provides for an Opposition and Leader, then the electoral system, through the constitution or custom, should provide for that. In the UK, for example, no one opposes the Speaker of the House, no matter which party s/he comes from.
    One of the principles of legal drafting is “what if”? What if the electorate returns 100 per cent of any single party, as it has done? The architects of the constitution have made a big mistake.
    The only constitutional threat is that the governing party has enough MPs to change the constitution without proper debate, but that is one of the risks of a parliamentary democracy. The people have spoken, so if the ruling party wants to change the constitution then they have been given the power to do so. That is no crisis.
    The real crisis, again is in the constitutional drafting, allowing a ruling party to dominate the appointment of Senators. This negates the role of the Upper House – reviewing, expertly challenge, etc, not rubber stamping. But what we have seen since Friday does not give us any reason to believe there will be principles governing any of these appointments.
    Pigs and troughs come to mind.(Repeat)

25. David @9.58am
    Yes and yes and yes..all present and correct.This is so nice to see after the electorate dealt with the riff raff. Barbados and the Region will be the beneficiary of this kind of inter governmental relationship.Lo and behold!

26. @ David
    Yours @8.58am May 29

The photo reminded me of the first meeting with the members of the “Social Partnership”, there was so much hugging and kissing that I was tempted to sing “Love is in the air”.

27. @Sargeant

True, then David Thompson died and Stuart entered stage left.