There is a culture of secrecy in Barbados when it comes to explaining how taxpayers dollars are spent. The blogmaster listened to retired Director of Finance William Layne in a radio interview recently when he shared a view that much of government’s business can be made public except in a few cases where security considerations apply.

The Trinidad government took a decision in 2015 to inform parliament the amount of fees paid to lawyers and other entities for professional services rendered to government. By recording the names in the people’s parliament they were published in the media for the public’s information.   Although reports confirm some attorneys and others objected for fear of concerns  of personal and family safety, the practice continues.

One of many concerns for Barbadians were the outrageous legal fees charged by a select few lawyers for services rendered to government during the last administration.  Top of mind is the 1.5 million paid to Hal Gollop to review the BWA headquarters agreement. There the payment to Richard Byer of $766,855 to review a standard agreement by order of Caves Barbados. Guyson Mayers was paid $300,000 for fifteen months work to prepare a nondescript report supported by technical tools costing $224,000. Other lawyers like Michael Yearwood and Adrian King come to mind who have risen to millionaire status as a result of sweetheart deals at the behest of the last government.

The blogmaster does not advocate practicing long-knive politics, however, if Prime Minister Mia Mottley wants to send a loud message to the bevy of ministers et al she leads- many are lawyers- here is an opportunity to share with the public all legal fees and professional fees paid to individuals and firms that rendered services to the former government. It is our money, we have the right to know how it was spent.

In the not so eloquent words of the former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister Mottley must show the country that her mice are not without balls!

178 responses to “Make Legal (Professional) Fees Paid by Former DLP Government Public!”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ TheoGazerts

The fact is that that what you speak of as the grind of living in Murica or Englant for all dem years doing the most menial jobs under the constant overt and succinct racism is lost pun nuff uh we in Bulbados

So you gits to forgive those ingrunt statements emanating from the pit.

But leh de ole man tell you how dis going play out eh?

Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley will RESPOND (note the capitalization of that verb)

She will RESPOND to an official complaint as may be directed to the correct channels and copied to her.

She will issue a diplomatic response to any question levelled during one of the upcoming media encounters which will not pick any side but will be couched inter the transparency and integrity banner.

But here is where fellows like Sergeant who is not an inner chambers BLP man would be advised to watch Wise Pachamama’s words about deep fissures and de ole man’s tangents of thought regarding eradicating such fissures.

I wondered why Payne was given that Ministry of Housing. Brilliant. Because when you wish to trap a bear you give it honey.

This is going to be the catalyst for the eradication of Payne and will set in stone the Rule of Law which all other dissenters will be warned by permanently.

Everything is going to mysteriously? be done to facilitate the advancement of this woman’s matter.

It will be facilitated by various actors BUT THE OUTCOME WILL BE THE SAME.

PAYNE GINE LOSE HE MINISTER PICK

De ole man ent saying nuffin here dat is diluting thus action’s efficacy whu after all it makes perfect sense

But here the tea leaves get faint.

Will he be asked to demit office quietly. Or will he demit office quietly? Or should he be made an example of?

It would be in Edmund Hinkson’s interest if the whole affair could be so exploited to have the matter so engineered so that Payne is debarred

Dese tea leaves getting faint doah…

2. How can a matter that has not been heard by the High Court of Barbados be taken to the CCJ? This is only possible if the matter originates in its original jurisdiction.

#JA

3. There is already a precedent set in Justice Cornelius’ ruling, there should not be still elderly people being dragged through the court system or even having to be exposed to such thievery…without the accused lawyers being arrested forthwith and dragged before the courts just like any other garden variety thief.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

I gone after this….but David Mr Blogmaster re 12:01 you dun know that that blogger has a well respected reputation for accurate and reasoned posts 🤣.

And you know the CCJ does also have a function as a court of origination jurisdiction….soooo this standard fare attorney/client dispute has been elevated by the learned blogger to interisland dispute status and is eligible for CCJ adjudication sans local courts first step. The blogger is quite astute as you know…oh lawd. I gone.

5. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

…original jurisdiction of course NOT origination jurisdiction.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a recent submission

I know that you are committed to upping the volume.

Don’t misread my seeming repeats of the idea in various blogs as being designed to goad you.

We are on the same boat but you see its destination? DEM got nuff people out there who going fight um real hard.

So all i am doing is preparing the way plussing you fun know BAJANS slow to accept anything new so it is necessary to repeat repeat repeat..

I am going to send you something else confidentially in a few

7. They are taking this abuse of the elderly for a joke, they all want suing for elder abuse and if they still take it for a joke…take it up to the CCJ level, make it a regional and international matter and make a prime example of all of them…by setting precedent.

I can’t for the life of me understand why government ministers and a then prime minister, a lawyer no less, would IGNORE the ruling from a judge in his own Supreme Court, a judge if I am not mistaken….he also appointed to the Supreme Court 5 or six years ago, just as he appointed, both him and Thompson, the current Chief Justice…then ignored his own CJs appeals court ruling in the EBC case.

So it is fair to say that those who are supposed to uphold the rule of law, those responsible for upholding the law, being paid by taxpayers to uphold the law…are not inclined to, neither do they have any respect for decisions handed down in their own local Supreme Court….it’s a free for all.

Until that changes…they should all be exposed every day.

8. It seems that the DLP is continuing to blame everyone, other than themselves……..even for last Thursday’s defeat at the polls.

I just heard Robert “Bobby” Morris on VOB’s 12:30pm news blaming the trade unions, press and private sector for the DLP’s defeat.

9. @PUDRYR

Wondered about Payne’s appointment given his ‘closeness’ to the Barrack building transaction.

10. Expect you David to stand vanguard in the face of any trouble some allegations to protect the new govt.
    Already you have seek to induce all legal clap trap against the lady indicating she should produce documentation in light of the fact she has stated openly on video as way of record what she knows
    If what she says is untrue then she have to be a fruit cake especially knowing the legal ramifications which would be held against here

11. lol…Piece, I was not planning to say a word, too much theatre involved in that one…I like my fun.

12. Not only are you a yardfowl, you are a JA.

What some commentators have suggested here is in order to take the matter forward, the woman has to be document using a more structured approach via the official channels- yes supported by social media advocacy.

Your hignorance knoweth no bounds.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re it took me 4 years to hear about BU…some still don’t know.

SO WHAT ARE THEY MISSING?

IT TOOK ME 16 YEARS TO REALLY UNDERSTAND THAT JESUS DIED TO SAVE MY SOUL. ……..MANY STILL DONT KNOW……..AND MANY WHGO NHAVE HEARD DONT CARE CARE

BEFORE BU, PEOPLE LIVED AND MOVED AND HAD THEIR BEING….THEY STILL DO ah lie?

14. GP…my dear, before BU…the victims of lawyers got robbed even more…ah lie?

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Tell me how many folk that have not been robbed even more, or at all because of BU…TELL ME?

HOW MANY FOLK IN THE TEN YEARS OR SO OF BU’S EXISTENCE HAVE NOT BEEN ROBBED BECAUSE OF BU?

DO YOU KNOW THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHOM I HAVE INTRODUCED TO BU AND ASKED THEM TO CONTRIBUTE, WHO AFTER A VISIT OR TWO, RECOILED AT THE LACK OF QUALITY OF THE DAILY DRIVEL DEPOSITED THEREAT?

16. What you David does not understand is where i took exception to your intervention is that most of what you say is laced with a by product of protectionism in favour of those with you associate
    Certainly the lady in the video would know of the high risk she is taking when she opens her mouth on video without having the documentation as proof
    It always amazes me that a person who profess to have higher learning would stoop to a level of expletives to be dismissive of alternative opinion
    No wonder your frustration got the better of pachaman and he told you to F off

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mariposa

You are a liar. And we’re it not for the fact that the job of Creation’s biggest liar was already taken, it would be yours.

You said and I quote “…Expect you David to stand vanguard in the face of any trouble some allegations to protect the new govt…”

One thing that I can affirm to be true is that, as long as you have the verifiable authentic documents to confirm you assertions BARBADOS UNDERGROUND WILL, given its content, and congruence to The Cause, publish it.

Furthermore the Honourable Blogmaster will take time and make sure that if the submitter inadvertently sent something that reveals a source IT WILL BE REMOVED BY HIM OR HIS TEAM

You really don’t understand why dem and your DEMs hate de man so do you?

18. GP…enough have not been robbed since the advent of BU…have you seen the corner dedicated to lawyers only…that is enough to make them recoil and think twice about robbing the elderly or anyone else.

BU is not a kindergarten class, so your buddies will find it difficult to deal with reality in the raw.

instead of whining, just ask the blog master to kindly run a blog where yall can talk cricket and jesus freakiness all day long, that way, the main stream bloggers will not bother you/..

ya welcome.

19. de pedantic,

You seem to misunderstand my position, and you are not the only one. A law degree is basically a vocational qualification, which is finally certified by the Wooding law school (in the Eastern Caribbean).
    It is not in itself an intellectual nor academic qualification. However, it can be, if the user so wants it to be. In Europe, most people with law degrees are not lawyers. They are sociologists of law, philosophers of law, legal theorists, etc. Many work at jobs such as civil servants, teachers, business people, journalists, politicians, preachers (theology is a favourite subject for retiring City lawyers), etc.
    Construct a knowledge tree and you will see how people can become interested in subjects. For example, as a young Barbadian, taught by Frank Collymore, you become interested in Barbadian literature, and so other Caribbean authors.
    You develop an interest in cricket, so you read histories, biographies, not only of West Indies players, of other top test players. I was taught by Karl Broodhagen, so have a passing curiosity in back art, sculpture and boxing (in fact I am a boxing fanatic). As a school boy I had an interest in athletics, an interest I have maintained. Many school children also learn to play musical instruments.
    Growing up in the black power era, you become interested in anything black out of the USA (culture, politics, music, etc); as a young person during the 1960s movement in the UK and Europe, you become interested in what was going on, in the people giving leadership to that movement (Herbert Marcuse, the Frankfurt School, Stokeley Carmichael, Rap Brown, Malcolm X, Angela Davis, Ronnie Dworkin, Sartre, etc; you become interested in other disciplines, etc. You develop an interest in black history, in the history of mathematics, geography, Africa (in particular West Africa), of architecture, etc. And, according to your craft or trade, you develop an interest in the history of that craft. You get my drift.
    That, in short, is how people learn and build private libraries..

20. Look only pon BU. No further comment.🤣🤣

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BU is not a kindergarten class, so your buddies will find it difficult to deal with reality in the raw.

“My buddies” served in this country for 40 years or more faithfully… and reached senior positions….so I would think that they have witnessed the reality of Bajan life in the raw…..after all, such is all around us.

I dont whine, I say it as it is. BU has given a space for you and those of your ilk to talk shite all day, and night with venom and bile……..and as you say raw. Some like you think that you all can, or will change Barbados.

BU wont change anything. THINGS WILL CONTINUE TO GET WORSE AS PREDICTED IN THE WORD. YOUR RANTS AND RAVES ON BU WILL NOT CHANGE A THING

re just ask the blog master to kindly run a blog where yall can talk cricket and jesus freakiness all day long I DO NOT WANT ANY CRICKET BLOG…………A BU BLOG ON CRICKET WONT COMPARE WITH CRICINFO OR EVEN CRICKET WESTINDIES.

A BLOG ON BIBLE WOULD NOT WORK FOR THEY ARE NONE HERE WHO CAN RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH.

I WILL JUST OBSERVE AND MAKE MY COMMENTS AS I DEEM FIT BUT AS I WAS SAYING IN RESPONSE TO YOUR NONSEQUITUR, RE it took me 4 years to hear about BU…some still don’t know.

THE MANY WHO HAVE NOT HEARD OF BU HAVE NOT MISSED ALL THAT MUCH, IMHO. AND I THINK I AM ALLOWED TO HAVE AN OPINION, EVEN IF IT DOES NOT ACCORD WITH ALL AND SUNDREY HEAR

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE A law degree is basically a vocational qualification, which is finally certified by the Wooding law school (in the Eastern Caribbean).
    It is not in itself an intellectual nor academic qualification. However, it can be, if the user so wants it to be. In Europe, most people with law degrees are not lawyers. They are sociologists of law, philosophers of law, legal theorists, etc. Many work at jobs such as civil servants, teachers, business people, journalists, politicians, preachers (theology is a favourite subject for retiring City lawyers), etc.

IN BARBADOS FOLK WITH LAW DEGRESS USE IT TO PURSUE THE VOCATION FOR WHICH THEY ARE QUALFIED.
    WHY SHOULD THEY SEEK TO DO OTHERWISE?

NOW PLEASE KINDLY DEFINE FOR US WHAT ARE Intellectual or academic qualifications.

23. See artaxerxes comment above @ 12: 44 p.m. that after 10 years and 3 months the DLP did not introduce Integrity legislation.- big lie.

The DLP did introduce and passed the legislation but did not proclaim it because according to Adriel Brathwaite they had to go back to the drawing board with some amendments based on objections from certain quarters

That is what happens when you have been repeating a lie for a long time you eventually start calling it truth – but remember facts are stubborn things.

24. @Enuff
    You should be relaxing.
    Not ‘enough’ has happened for you to respond to.
    But at least you could try to keep Mariposa company.
    The girl taking it real hard.

25. It you agree that it was never proclaimed how is it a lie to say that it was never passed? We understand passed to mean that the law has been implemented. Why do we try to take people for fools?

26. Mariposa (Hiroo Onoda)
    The last DLP soldier to come out of hiding and surrender, almost 30 years after the end of the second world war was Mariposa a DLP lack of intelligence officer. Mariposa caused a sensation when she was persuaded to come out of hiding in the BU jungle in 2022

Mariposa’s five years spent in the jungle – initially with three comrades and finally alone – came to be seen as an example of the extraordinary lengths to which some DLP soldiers would go to demonstrate their loyalty to the then emperor, in whose name they fought.

Refusing to believe that elections was held and lost on May 24, 2018, Mariposa drew on her training in guerilla warfare on the page of BU to bore as many as 30 people whom she mistakenly believed to be enemy soldiers.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

that is called splitting hairs and engaging in semantics

28. I can feel the pain and emphatise with that lady because those hardworking bajans especially in England have been cheated out of their hard earned money and no administration Bee or Dee does anything about it Sigh..This is the state we are in with lawyers in this country.

However the new PM. Mottley might not be able to correct him because if what I heard about another old lady with a similar story is true then; – satan cannot correct sin.

29. Why would anyone in their right mind send sensitive documentation to a social media website where fair and balance can be observed as an abnormality
    The correct way should be by legal tender hasnt the woman in question via video done enough to show some semblance and produce verbally into the public domain her allegations towards Payne
    Why should she pursue a path where documentation can be otherwise tampered

30. @T Innis
    The DLP did introduce and passed the legislation but did not proclaim it because according to Adriel Brathwaite they had to go back to the drawing board with some amendments based on objections from certain quarters
    ++++++++++
    Looka here, some of us have been in in town too long for you to come here with that bit of truth bending. Since when did objections prevent a Gov’t with a majority in Parliament from passing legislation if it wanted to? Unless of course the objections were from the Governing side, but if they weren’t most likely they were looking for any excuse not to proclaim it.

31. When all is said and done
    Mia would not even as much as censor Payne. Cause as the old folks say one hand washes the other
    Even her recent pronuniciation of having ministers assest sealed until the coming of Christ speaks to her deceptive nature

32. GP…you will whine at everything cause ya never satisfied..good luck

“The DLP did introduce and passed the legislation but did not proclaim it because according to Adriel Brathwaite they had to go back to the drawing board with some amendments based on objections from certain quarters.”

That’s the same Adriel Nitwit AG who created a draft legislation to rein in lawyers, sent the draft to the bar association…for their approval…and complained bitterly that he never got it back..lol…

..yall really expected to get that integrity legislation proclaimed by that gang of fools, they were probably waiting for the same crooks in the government, their fellow ministers, to approve the amendments to rein them in from tiefing public funds…

33. David

Artax said they did not introduce Integrity legislation but that is not true.Introducing legislation and passing it in the house is a different thing from having it proclaimed by the GG.

I can understand if they are criticized for not proclaiming it – although they give their reason for that- nonetheless Integrity legislation was introduced and passed by the Dems.Just trying to correct the record.

34. A good prime minister will put their foot down, have the damn legislation proclaimed, no matter who does not like this or that…that is what leaders do..lead, not appease those with no ethics.

The same will apply when it is time to rein in thieving lawyers and corrupt ministers…just do it and to hell with who dont like it, fire them if they complain…this nasty practice in Barbados of not wanting to offend criminals in government and in the bar association…has to cease.

35. Sargeant see my comment above to BU

36. Mia is known to be an ardent observer of social media i am not willing to believe that those allegations about Payne was not brought to her attention
    Yet she closed her eyes as usual out of self interest not to interfer
    However got the nerve to say out loudly that among her many goals would be that of weeding out corruption even after she had made a sworn oath on the bible
    Then why de hell has George Payne being giving any ministerial post after such dammning allegations have been levelled against

37. I have never seen such an uncaring, useless, incompetent, indifferent government as the one recently stripped, they were the final result of the callousness to the plight of the majority citizens practiced by both governments for 52 years and culminated in their richly deserved humiliation at the polls..

How could successive governments made up of primarily males, lead by all males back then:

allow their Supreme Court to degrade to a level of non functionality rendering the entire judiciary useless

allow their lawyers to rob the elderly and everyone else

allow their government ministers to break every law imaginable without consequences

allow their island’s infrastructure to degrade

why did none of them think of the ramifications of those clearly destructive practices which now have a negative effect on their abilities to attract new investment from those investors who do not have shady characters and reputations.

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

A real life super man

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/may/28/spider-man-of-paris-to-get-french-citizenship-after-rescuing-child

38. @T.Inniss

We all understood what Artax meant.

39. This is what real governments and authorities do…they lead by example, particularly when there are thefts against the people.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/may/28/kenya-authorities-detain-50-anti-corruption-drive

“Kenyan authorities have detained more than 50 top officials and executives after widespread public anger prompted by allegations of the theft of more than $100m (£75m) at government agencies.

After more than a week of front-page stories in Kenyan newspapers and a flood of hashtags on Twitter, the prosecutor’s office announced on Monday that prosecution would begin of all the suspects named in a file prepared by the police’s criminal investigations department.

The suspects include the head of an agency, dozens of senior officials and four members of the same family, involved in business.

President Uhuru Kenyatta, who pledged to stamp out graft when he was first elected in 2013, moved swiftly to deflect public resentment. “We are not going to tolerate unethical people. People with responsibility must be ready to serve and not to be served,” he said on Monday.”

40. Maybe an opening , the PM sees to oust Payne

41. Maybe in the best interest of the country you should forward a copy of that article to Ms. Transparency the Hon Mia Mottley
    It just might serve its official purpose to do the right thing

42. You the people are being given the opportunity because there is no opposition in government to play the role of the opposition..it is in your own best interest, so when the occasions arise turn up and ask the ministers the hard questions, do not wait for minorities to do it for you and then complain you are not being represented.

..you are now the Opposition Party….you are now responsible for keeping checks and balances in place in your parliament., this info should be shared and WhatsApp to everyone.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/28/pm-mottley-warns-cabinet/

I specifically copied these few lines so that no one can say later, they did not know.

“We will also consider the introduction of ‘Question Time’ where members of Parliament would respond to pertinent queries not only by members of Parliament but submitted by members of the public.

“The checks and balances function that is expected of a parliamentary opposition can be carried out by you the people of Barbados,” she said and pledged of her government “the highest standards of transparency and accountability, discipline and fairness”.

43. exyardfowl…sure, cause Mia still gotta do an audit to see how may millions are missing per the auditor general’s report and have the DPPs office do it’s job and along with the help of outside agencies, find the money and arrest the thieves…all those sudden millionaires.

44. Sure Mia can doo whatever she wants but still hsve to do with that cancerous leper. GP sitting among her group

45. I say to give Mia a chance.
    You are behaving as if it is pre-election.
    The people voted. It is over.
    What could not be done in 10 years cannot be done in 4 days
    Be a good Bajan.

46. Here is something we probably know, if the mail is sent to Prime Minister Mottley, it will be responded to unlike when Stuart was in office. Do you know he did not have a press secretary?

Here is what you need to keep up top, 70% of voters did so for the BLP, that is the regard the electorate had for the Stuart administration. It will be recorded in history as the worst!

47. If the main steam media in Barbados are serious they would track down this woman. With their lawyers in tow a thorough investigative journalistic story should be done. The media house that does it for example the Nation their sales would go through the roof. More importantly it would bring to light the truth. If this woman is for real then George Walton Payne must face the music as many crooked lawyers have done in recent times.

Edmund Hinckson told us what he thought of Payne and Payne put him in court. Hinckson’s charges are in line with the woman in the video. Payne has been in the public eye as a lawyer and politician for ages. Most people don’t seem to trust him and there are many whispers about him including the Barrack affair, his firing by Owen Arthur, etc. Perchance the msm find the lady’s story to be authentic Mia has to act if not the DLP can easily mobilize the public who are in the most militant mood ever seen in Barbados. It will be interesting to see where we go from here or will this sordid affair wither and die.

48. So am i supposed to follow the BU narrative. I rather not
    I prefer to focus on the leper George Payne and his indiscretions since Hon Mia said she would clean the swamp and GP is part of the swamp

49. One can tell your agenda, you want the matter investigated and in the same breath it is a sordid affair. Deceit will always shine through.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

As far as I am concerned, there is a serious charge brought against George Payne. Mottley in leading from the front and showing that she will not tolerate any minister whose behaviour brings her party into disrepute would remove George Payne from any ministerial and public portfolios pending the outcome of this matter. She has her first test to show that she intends to lead from the front and show the people that elected her that no one will get away with wrongdoing regardless of who they are.

Leave a Reply to Sunshine Sunny ShineCancel reply