Submitted by Fatimah Mohammed

There is an ongoing controversy on the ban of the OJT Muslim trainee-teacher for wearing a hijab headdress at a Maha Sabha Hindu school.

Nafiesa Nakhid was told to remove her hijab in accordance with the school rules of the Lakshmi Girls’ Hindu College in St Augustine on Monday.

As a Muslim woman with a Hindu husband and two multi-religious children, I am the best authority to adjudicate on this matter.

In its Facebook page, the Centre for Indic Studies led by NCIC’s Dr. Arvind Singh and Aneela Bhagwat, has condemned Sat Maharaj and the Maha Sabha for their action. Singh and Bhagwat have described the Maha Sabha’s ban as “disappointing and indeed shameful.”

Why were Singh and Bhagwat silent when mainly Hindu and Indian lecturers were fired from the Afro-Christian dominated UTT on May 11, 2018?

These paper-based organizations rise from the dead only to attack Sat and the Maha Sabha.

Mr Haripersad Maharaj of the IRO, Dr??? Mahant Deochand Dass of the Kabir Panth, and

Pandit Mukram Sirju of the Academy of Hinduism all came out of their coma to attack Sat when he said that Patrick Manning was a racial prime minister.

Obscure organizations like these do not utter a word when Hindu students are sent home from Muslim schools for wearing rakhi on their wrists and traces of abeer on their skins after Phagwa.

What do Arvind Singh and Aneela Bhagwat have to say about a brand-name Muslim jewellery store in a mall that refuses to sell or repair Hindu and Christian pendants?

What do these meek organizations have to say about a Muslim-operated stationery shop in Aranguez refusing to photocopy anything with images and/or text of Hinduism or Christianity?

24 responses to “The Hindu Ban on Muslim Hijab”

1. I dont think business should be forced to cater to clients if they dont want to if they want to turn business away thats their loss, but to take a job knowing the rules and complain because you dont want to adhere to them that is different, Was she wearing her hijab when she was interviewed : Was nothing said at that time ? Do the rules apply to all equally?

2. Lawson..that is Trinidad, expect anything, along with shooting, stabbing and myriad destruction of life and limb.

3. I did not no where it was… but if the govt has not made it clear of what or what not, any rules that a institution or business can make then they should be forced to to pay for a plane ticket to a country that the offended person would feel more comfortable in

4. Wow! We are dealing with forces here, which in the main, have made the earth a worse place since the invention of their wicked gods.

Hinduism represents the most perverse forms of religious bigotry known to man. To this day it maintains a caste system which viciously oppresses hundreds of millions darken skinned peoples on the Indian sub-continent.

Christianity, cannot be convinced that everything about their dirty religion is either false, stolen from elsewhere, or propaganda devices.

Islam seems well-intentioned but remains embroiled in a millennium old, irreconcilable, conflict reverberating across the earth.

All of these petty jealousies and grievances characterizing those so misguided about getting into some line to go to a non-existent heaven somewhere in the clouds or on a renewed earth, at the end of the day, is anathema to all of mankind.

None of these pretenders are the original people of the earth or see any connection thereto or include in these dogmas a reverence for the owners of the Pachamama.

That issue is much more important than these trivial considerations about what is important and what is not.

5. how is that snake handling thing going

6. Is wearing a Hijab central to being a Muslim? If so, where in the Koran does it say that?

7. Don’t want Barbados overrun by fanatics. I fanatical bout DAT. Secularism. Christianity as they mainly let you get on with having fun in a bikini on the beach aid a bottle o rum, even the fanatical ones.
    Love freedom we had in ole BIM where Muslim didn’t expect to order me bout like when recently home. Made it hard to laugh with ole time Muslim mates. Remember mixing wid all sorts. TnT can keep de bullies, and fanatics, and let Barbados get back/forward to being Barbados. A lot of freedom or rights seekers only seeking to put you in chains .

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“None of these pretenders are the original people of the earth or see any connection thereto or include in these dogmas a reverence for the owners of the Pachamama.”

Therein lies the problem, they are none of them the original people…mere carbon copies, but the very worse, hatefilled and destructive to be produced from the loins of the first humans through the millennia. .so they pollute the earth with their nastiness and unfitness to be human, revel in their subhamnan roles, then weakest minds in the original people of the earth follow them all the way to destruction.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

revel in their SUBHUMAN roles, then weakest minds in the original Black people of the earth follow them all the way to destruction.

10. @Pacha

This is a very complicated matter do you agree? Especially in a multi ethnic society like Trinidad. We have to respect the religions of the citizenry which is detailed in the Constitution but at the same time there are the realities which have to be managed. No following your position, if you can break it down for the lesser mortals?

High Court to resolve hijab ban

Published: Friday, May 25, 2018

Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi will seek High Court’s interpretation of the issue concerning the on the job trainee teacher who was recently asked by Lakshmi Girls’ Hindu College administration to remove her hijab before starting her assignment.

Education Minister Anthony Garcia confirmed the move at yesterday’s post-Cabinet media briefing. He said reports from the principal of the school and Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) have been sought on the matter. These will be turned over to the AG who will seek a court ruling on it.

The trainee Nafisah Nakhid was told to remove her hijab before starting her assignment on Tuesday. The SDMS reportedly said it will no longer accept trainees from the Ministry as they “dress how they want and make trouble”.

News

11. David

The notion that people’s religious ‘beliefs’ must be respected in settled law, practice.

That is the formal. The informal says that some ‘higher’ law is to be obeyed.

Regardless of the irrationality of tenets.

People who have no religion are becoming a dying breed within these schemas.

However, for people who have many basic precepts in common, however expressed, little convergence has occurred over time, led to social disharmony.

Everybody wants a monopoly over this non-existent god, however conceived.

The best solution maybe the disinventing of god

But that is hardly likely, we feel.

12. The school, receives funding from the public’s purse, including from the purses of Muslims and wants to infringe on the teacher’s freedom to practice her religion? Stupseee!!! It is not as though the woman hates Hindus, She is married to a Hindu and presumably spends every night in bed with him.

If the school wishes to be arch conservative, and wants to deny others their constitutional right to practice their religion, then it should stop taking the money of Muslim and Christian taxpayers.

Stupssseee!!!

13. @Pachamama May 26, 2018 12:04 AM “Hinduism represents the most perverse forms of religious bigotry known to man. To this day it maintains a caste system which viciously oppresses hundreds of millions darken skinned peoples on the Indian sub-continent. Christianity, cannot be convinced that everything about their dirty religion is either false, stolen from elsewhere, or propaganda devices. Islam seems well-intentioned but remains embroiled in a millennium old, irreconcilable, conflict reverberating across the earth.”

All male-centric religions.

Men are so weird.

Lolll!!!

14. @Hal Austin May 26, 2018 2:33 AM “Is wearing a Hijab central to being a Muslim? If so, where in the Koran does it say that?”

“tell the believing women to cast down their eyes (from indecent looks) and guard their modesty and refrain from revealing their adornments save those that are (naturally) manifest and cast their veils over their bosoms and not reveal their adornments save for their husband, father, husband’s father, sons, husband’s sons, brothers, brother’s sons, sister’s sons, their fellow women (in faith), their bondservants, their dependants (such as dullards) who do not have sexual desires, or children who do not know of women’s private parts; and they must not stomp their feet in order to reveal their hidden ornaments.”

The Prophet Mohammed, Peace be upon him knew how wuffless wunna men is. We who wuk-up pun Spring Garden on Kadooment Day know it too. Note that women are also advised not to stamp their feet. Soon as a woman stamps her feet or wines her waist some lustful man watching she bubbies or she botsie.

Ah Lie?

15. @beautifulbarbadosblog May 26, 2018 3:58 AM “Love freedom we had in ole BIM where Muslim didn’t expect to order me bout like when recently home.”

You let a man, any man order you ’bout?

How come none o’ them try that stunt wid me?

Wha’ the Jamaicans say” “high wind know where old house live”

Look woman. Stand up for your self. All the time. All over the place.

Mek de men know dem place.

It helps if you get up when the morning come and work for yourself. Don’t be one of those women who always putting out your hand and saying gimme, gimmee.

16. they probably dont try that stunt wid you because you look like a man

17. Sending you a selfie right now.

18. The school is going to lose the case when it goes to court. If I was an ethical lawyer instead of a simple simon I would advise the school to save themselves a ton of legal fees by withdrawing the case now.

Of course the school can be even more ethical and stop taking the money of Muslim, Christian, Rastafarian, Unbelieving and Jewish taxpayers.

But I guess all money sweet.

19. got the selfie …whats with the adams apple

20. Niala Maharaj

LIFE IN LEGGINGS (AND HIJAB)

—————————————–

Yesterday in Amsterdam, a flock of girls in hijabs flew past me on bicycles like birds of paradise. The two layers of their chiffon head-scarves were in deep, striking colors that picked up shade accents in their other garments. It was studied style, an adornment to the city, elegant individuality imposed on standardized western fashion. These girls had to conform to the traditions of their elders as well as display the markings of their secular peer group. They had found delightful ways of doing so.
    They reminded me of the now-famous Trinidadian vlogger whose advice on make-up and fashion didn’t get hits till she said she was discriminated against because she wears a hijab. Not a breath-taking hijab like those of the girls yesterday, but better than most I’ve seen in TT. There, muslim women once loosely draped their heads with ‘ohrnis’ -gossamy white veils that softened the visage. But now they have adopted something looking more like a ‘saphi’, a thick, graceless piece of beige or grey cloth, which they wrap tightly round their heads so their faces bulge out like overripe breadfruits.
    Apparently, this is the purpose of the hijab: to make women unattractive. According to hijabistic doctrine, Muslim women must hide their beauty, confine it to their husband’s enjoyment. Allah gave you beauty only as a gift to your husband. You’re just a channel for his erotic usage, you and whatever other wives he might possess. Muslim women have to be ‘modest’, which seems to translate as ‘dowdy’. They must display no individuality, be interchangeable. This sounds to me like discrimination, suppression, oppression… a recipe for depression.
    Shortly before suffering discrimination from Sat Maharaj, our now-famous TT vlogger made a video saying she was suffering from depression. Is it any wonder? When your religion demands dowdy but you want Victoria’s Secret, you’re between a rock and a hard place. Her vlogs were incoherent – a bit on the wonky side. While promoting ‘modest fashion’ in the form of hijabery, she was wearing pink leggings that showed off all the assets she had South of her waist. Getting discriminated by Sat Maharaj was the best thing that could have happened to her. It saved her from the drift towards terminal contradiction. She had a subject at last, could take off her false eyelashes, be a victim on actual TV, and become a Joan of Arc to the anti-Sat masses.
    It’s not her fault. She’s just a victim of current affairs. In the past, Islamic societies had a deep reverence for beauty. The echoes they left behind were of filmy garments, graceful architecture, vibrant poetry, sensuous painting, honeyed sweetmeats… Islam brought to Trinidad the elegance of the St Joseph mosque, the silkiness of the paratha roti, traditions of charity and tolerance.
    But in the version that has recently come to prominence, women are insisting on their right to uglify themselves, to embrace sameness and uniformity and abandon independence. Donning a hijab may be a protest against Trini decadence and Western hypocrisy, but it’s also a form of self-abnegation, a testament to the confusion that has turned Caribbean societies into headless chickens flapping around in panic. While the Chancellor of the university tries to get reparations for slavery, ordinary Jamaicans say they’d rather return to colonial subject-hood, thank you very much. Trinidadians travel round the world to join ISIS because it fetishizes self-destructive violence as the solution to low self-esteem. Self-destructive violence is something they have a talent and a taste for.
    I’d support the right of people in Europe to wear the hijab since it’s their tradition. But in Trinidad it is a rejection of tradition. Wearers cite their constitutional right to religious freedom yet go all the way to Iraq to help kill other people for exercising that right. They cherry-pick amongst the laws of western society to gain as much advantage as possible, practicing bigamy and Allah knows what other forms of exploitation. One of the two largest criminal gangs in TT is called ‘The Muslims’. As Derek Walcott put it:
    “Is carnival, straight Carnival that’s all,
    the beat is base, the melody bohbohl,
    all Port of Spain is a twelve-thirty show,
    some playing Kojak, some Fidel Castro…”

21. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Interesting. Twenty comments and not one of them has shown empathy towards the subject matter. What does this tell the reader?

22. The real question is: why would a trainee teacher in a hijab want to work in a Hindu school?

23. When ever these type of people approach me it is usually palm up, what will they owe her who knows

24. The Danes have banned the Hijab and Niqab. How illiberal of these liberal Danes..