Submitted by Doc Martin

Congratulations to Ms. Mia Mottley, Prime Minister and to the BLP on their victory in the 2018 elections. As other commentators elsewhere have stated, democracy is alive and well in Barbados.

Well, the operation to remove the Freundel Stuart led DLP government has been successful but the patient has suffered complications and so an amputation was necessary to remove opposition to the flow of blood. At least that is the imagery that came to mind when CBC showed us for a few fleeting seconds, a red Barbados, after it was clear that the BLP has made a clean sweep of the election.

A much subdued Freundel Stuart, in the wee hours of Friday morning, conceded defeat but, as some commentators observed, was not gracious enough to mention the incoming PM by name.

Ms. Mottley is credited with saying that she was going to make history but I doubt even she had more than winning the election and being the first female Prime Minister of Barbados in mind when she said that. She certainly may not have had in mind a clean sweep of all thirty seats, including the St. John constituency, which for the first time in about 60 years, has fallen into BLP hands.

For weeks and months to come, pundits and analysts will ponder the complete “redwash” of the DLP and many hours will be spent analyzing the mistakes made and the lessons to be learned. While the dust is still settling, I wish to offer summary comments on three matters: [1] the defeat of the DEMS, [2] the absence of an opposition and [3] the need for a system of PR (proportional representation) to replace the current system of FPTP (first-past-the-post).

Defeat of the Dems
The defeat of the DEMS can be attributed to several forces, one positive, several negative.

On the one hand, the BLP must be credited for executing a very cleverly integrated marketing campaign that addressed the strategic marketing issues of stakeholder research need analysis, product configuration, positioning, segmentation, promotion and messaging. I have explained how some of these apply to political marketing elsewhere in this blog. As a marketing professional myself, I must also complement the BLP for sheer brilliance in using both traditional and digital media.

The “negative” force is threefold:

1. The failure of the DLP to do as well on marketing as the BLP. Too much of their manifesto, for example, focused on philosophy and the distant past. I have long ago said that Barrow and Tom Adams are no longer relevant to everyday life in Barbados. But the presence of at least two historians in the DLP just will not let the ghost of Barrow rest. Presumably the people of St. John have now exorcised his ghost!
  2. Their failure to recognize the hazards of the ‘martyr complex’ which they induced in the electorate on behalf of Ms. Mottely through their communications strategy. Ms. Mottely cemented the martyr complex when she declared, “I have a broad back”. Elsewhere it is known as turning the other cheek, something Mr. Stuart should have done himself. It is a pity that he is not half as good at psychology as he is at history! The DLP started their campaign with the obvious goal of demonizing MAM, presumably in retaliation for her demonizing of the PM. This and their bad timing of the Mottley “tax waiver” bombshell, did not do them much good. When it was dropped, I remarked that the “tax waiver” bombshell was dropped too early. Had the DLP dropped the bombshell say, on the Tuesday before the election, they might have had a more lasting impact on the electorate and pressured the Mottley-BLP campaign. So another of their errors is that they forgot that most Bajans have short memories!
  3. Finally, the association of the DLP brand with the spent and vindictive force of Owen Arthur served to cement Ms. Mottely’s victimhood and seal the DLPs fate. So, even though defending their policies was going to be a hard sell, the DLP, in fact, committed political suicide, although they had been holding the noose around their necks long before the election.

Opposition Dead
The second issue that has emerged from this election is the “death” of the parliamentary opposition. This means that the BLP, with an absolute majority can theoretically “do anything it wants”. As if in recognition of this, Ms. Mottley promised, in her acceptance speech early this morning, to consult all stakeholders and even hold referenda on crucial topics.

Notwithstanding her promises, the Barbadian population, in its overreaction to the DLP malfeasances, has unwittingly robbed the parliament of a lawful opposition to prosecute the business of those who did not endorse the BLP and, who are, therefore, in the minority. This means that the third parties which have not won a seat (as well as the population as a whole), must now be the surrogate opposition. So that far from being demolished, these third parties now have a responsibility to be the best extra-parliamentary opposition they can be.

Proportional Representation
In her concession speech, the leader of the UPP has suggested a system of proportional representation (PR), something I have been trumpeting on this blog since the start of this election. As should be now clear, had there been such a system in place, the DLP would have gotten some of the seats and we would have a formal opposition. Without the benefit of the final overall distribution of votes, I cannot say whether any of the third parties might have secured any of the seats because, in most PR systems, there is a minimum threshold of votes a party must obtain to be eligible for seats in parliament.

The first order of business then is for the “extra-parliamentary” opposition and all right-thinking members of society, to call, sooner rather than later, for a referendum (if that is the appropriate mechanism) on a change from the FPTP system to one of proportional representation. Ms. Mottley certainly has the votes to make such a constitutional change and therefore, her handling of such a request would tell us her true intentions for the Barbados which she claims she will be putting first.

In the meantime, all I can say is: “Barbados, looka wuh yuh gone and do!”

84 responses to “Elections Results 2018: Democracy Alive, Opposition Dead!”

1. Serious indictment on the former Fruendel government in that link …Tron

Mia is left to clean up that really bad image of the island on the world stage…and that includes the sewage mess left by Fruendel…

That should be the only focus of the new government, along with creating a thriving economy, progress, productivity and enrichment of the majority population..

2. @David May 25, 2018 3:27 PM

++@Bernard
    Please forgive if this is a facile inquiry- how does one conclude that an effective government is determined more with a fist (sic) past the poll system versus proportional? Bear in mind the representative does not have to wave predetermined qualifications for the job.++

Good question David; a veritable academic can of worms! For starters, one has to ask: what exactly is the dependent variable, in this case “effective government”? How does one measure that?

Academics can “prove” almost anything, especially in the social sciences. All you have to do is justify your hypothesis (assumption), for example, using Ranks method of persuasion or obtain some supporting case studies or produce statistics. After a point, “academic enquiry” in the social sciences becomes more about form (=methodology) than substance (=fact).

So, would Bernard care to provide some supporting references?

3. @de pedantic Dribbler: May 25, 2018 4:37 PM

+++@Pieces, I can agree that the abysmal tenure of the DLP was the main reason for this thrashing , however as a professional in the field in these your very senior years you cannot dismiss the impact of the awesome impact social media/slick integrated marketing yet played in the comprehensive destruction.+++

Agreed! The absence of an effective campaign might have given rise to more abstentions from the poll; more voter apathy. The BLP’s campaign motivated people, especially the youth, to vote (=the purchase decision in marketing). This is the ultimate purpose of good marketing; to get the sale!

4. @David May 25, 2018 2:29 PM

++Mia promised to release the IMF Article IV Report today the DLP held from the public, where is it anyone?++

I quoted from the Article IV reports in my article entitled: The Barbados Economy and Voter Choice. https://barbadosunderground.net/?s=Barbados+Economy+and+Voter+Choice

IMF Article IV Reports for any country are always available online. The latest one for Barbados is 2017 (I assume this is the one to which she is referring) and is available at the link below. This appears to be a preliminary report so the Government may have the final one.

https://www.imf.org/en/News/Articles/2018/01/30/pr1833-imf-executive-board-concludes-2017-article-iv-consultation-with-barbados

The interested reader should compare those of 2015 and 2016 from the same source.

5. @ Well, Well May 25, 2018 9:23 PM

Let us pump all the sewage to:

Kennington, George Street, Belleville,St. Michael, Barbados

It is time to stop this strange Barrow-cult. Let us erase his face from the bank notes and let us delete him from the list of national heroes.

How can a man be a national hero who founded the DLP? Just asking a question.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Tron

You asked and I quote

“…How can a man be a national hero who founded the DLP?”

In all fairness to founders or inventors you question is like asking how can one ascribe any honour to the tireless campaigners for freedom or the discoverers of some medical or scientific solution cause a fellow subsequently abuses that item

This is why bajans say “…such and such a person must be turning over in their grave…”

Whu dat would mean that a feller who invents a knife to cut meat must be condemned to death cause one uh dem ingrunt volatile murderers we got in Barbados used dat meat knife and stab up he girlfriend or wife in a moment of passion

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Tron…really wish they would stop copying the hero worshipping of long deceased politicians, from other countries, showing respect to their contributions in whatever form is one thing, but the destructive hero worship used as a tool to trap the minds of a vulnerable population into still voting for decades ago deceased prime ministers and politicians gotta go, it is counterproductive to progress and future movements, a stagnating force.

Even better, redirect the sewage flow to the homes of all the exministers who are now private citizens, see how they like that.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As I rose this morning de ole man gave thanks to the Almighty God for my sentience.

The shell is challenged BUT my mind and spirit are still embued with His Hope.

So I wondered what other thing I might do to honour Him in the time which remains

“…For e-participation to blossom, governments should do more to promote citizens’ demand for e-government, bridge the digital divide, and promote more open and transparent government…” sourced from the internet from a Participatory Democracy initiative

As I continue to be seized with the errant hope that BAJANS must improve our circumstances I wondered how best we, a subsection of the Fourth Estate, can ramp up the impact of our collective contributions

Dr GP from time to time admonishes us for congregating uselessly? In this cyber RumShop but a serious examination of our actions here puts what he says on the pedestal it deserves

Let me explain

The Honourable Blogmaster and family maintain this blog AND HAVE done so for years

What if he passes tomorrow? Or what if AG Dale Marshall renews attempts to close down BU, what then?

What happens to the many worthwhile ideas? In fact what happens with the e-participatory democracy thrust that we are barely scraping?

So what if, instead of ambitiously pursuing a Transparency International designation BU, or some derivative thereof, sought to champion Barbados first e-participatory democracy gateway?

A place where citizens can come to submit and debate national topics

The thing is that whereas 18 years ago when said topic might have been first floated, that might have been an innovation but at today, there is nothing new about the idea and many functioning robust and tested models are available for replication

“E-services are a tangible output of e-government, which help to effectively manage the interaction between the state and its citizens. E-Governance Academy helps governments develop state e-services built on experience gained in Estonia and abroad…”

We need to bump up the volume of the RumShop else we lose our relevance, like the Democratic Labour Party, against whom some of us have campaigned so successfully and who have been shelved for 25 years

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

555…and then some..lol

10. @Doc Martin

Thanks, the links you provided are to IMF Executive reports. It is the detailed staff report the outgoing government refused to release. It gives more detail. Check latest blog.

11. @PUDRYR

Tell us more, the blogmaster is prepared to work with all and sundry to updting within the constraints we have to operate. MAM has seen the error of her ways regarding social media, she is no fool. Agree you however that we need to grow our position to more effectively increase advocacy..

12. @ Piece & David
    So what if, instead of ambitiously pursuing a Transparency International designation BU, or some derivative thereof, sought to champion Barbados first e-participatory democracy gateway?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Typical Bajans we are….
    Don’t you see that BU already does that? You mind GP?

BU has been a MOUNTAIN of strength to the concept of education and democracy in Barbados over the past decade.
    David has been an innovator of ‘Bill Gates proportions’… and has done it with a degree of CLASS and professionalism that rivals Obama’s two terms in office.

What we need to do is;
    – RECOGNISE the value of what we have
    – Take steps to ensure its continuity
    – and continue to pioneer NEW avenues of public education and democracy.

Bushie some time ago proposed that David launch a “Public Review and ratings” section on BU – where the public can rate the quality of all kinds of Public Services.
    This is now common on eBay, Amazon and all serious eSales platforms…. including our own tourism plant.

Anyone who understands the POWER OF INFLUENCE that such ratings DO HAVE on the operations of these entities will immediately see the potential IMPACT on public service standards…. (just access service in one of our top hotels to experience the impact…)
    This approach is WAY PAST the now dated ISO9001 concept….

….and the software technology is easily available.

Bushie recommends David /BU as the first national Hero under a Republic.
    Come on David – Find a way to access public funding nuh….
    🙂

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, one person put it this way:”…what constitutes “high turnout” depends very much on which country you’re looking at and which measuring stick you use.”

Bdos voter turnout based on the ECBs data does put us in the lower half when compared to folks in Antigua 90%, Belize 72%, Jamaica 48% (arbitrary recent elections chosen) etc.

However, our 63 percentile involvement still allowed Bajans to make a very expressive political statement in 1999 (2 DLP seats only). Accordingly, in 1986 when only 3 BLP politicians where elected the ECB detailed that there was a 77% turnout.

Contrasted to 1971 when supposedly 82% of registered voters came out to vote we really have not done badly in having our voice heard!

Why have we fallen by almost 10 points from an average of around 76% turnout between elections from ’71 to ’86 is a question the social scientists can define. However, its clear that a sizable majority of Bajans are engaged enough in the political process to shout loudly when needed: We dun wid you!

Incidentally the voter list had an amazing increase between Barrow’s win in ’71 and his defeat in ’76 when it jumped 17% points. But amazing is based only on a comparison to the following periods where the growth in the registered voter numbers was around a 7% change cycle over cycle except for one period when it saw a decline.

So to say it another way : the impact of a high or low voter turnout to major election change is always the focus of the voters and not on arbitrary % ratios!

14. @Dee Word

We have a couple issues to consider. There is the need for the bloated voters list to be culled. More important, there is a more pressing need to have leaders emerge with a captivating and compelling message that will energize the population. A successful country will be achieved if the majority of people are in a ‘good’ place between the ears. The apathy is thick!

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeha Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeha Right

I shall try my best since i have a little knowledge of using the little that one has to attempt to do the seeming impossible.

Recently I made a commendation of what you do here at BU and a feller accused me of badword licking.

Few here realize what you contend with on a minute by minute basis and fewer understand that this challenge that you face is not only specific to you but is a global phenomena.

An internet excerpt follows “…Government-sanctioned attacks against activists, journalists, and opposition politicians who expose corruption and abuse in repressive regimes are on the rise, according to a new report on internet freedom released Tuesday by an American pro-democracy group…Freedom House [which] detected cyberattacks against regime critics in 34 of the 65 countries studied in its 2017 Freedom on the Net report, marking a nearly 40 percent increase from 2016…’

Barbados Underground IS NOT NAKED DEPARTURE, your content is not (for the most part) salacious (looka de ole man doah dat ole hypocrite who has championed many a vaginoscopy discourse).

BU is about enabling positive e-enabled public/civic engagement for the benefit of our country.

The task of spawning that chasm between frank public commentary about governance issues and creating an environment where the public feels safe to comment IS A TASK OF HERCULEAN PROPORTIONS.

Few know and fewer care about how you customarily HAVE TO DENY THE REQUESTS OF ENTHUSIASTIC LAWYERS and Attorneys General who seek to prosecute bloggers here on BU.

I try as often as possible to remind others of the keyboard warriors here of what your responsibility has been, IS AND WIL CONTINUE TO BE as long as you remain with us.

But in the same breath, much like de ole man is chanting LEGACY for the incoming leader I TOO RECOGNIZE that a similar, even more important process MUST TAKE PLACE here else BU and the precepts it represents WILL DIE.

All that gibber aside let me attempt to ADUMBRATE (I teif dat word from Pachamama) the idea while not being prolix (I teif that one from The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch)

!. The use (as opposed to the development) of a tailored “Open Source Platform” (euphemism for free) to expand BU’s multi-tiered role to promote online, country building debate, education, facilitation and (measurable) participation in our country

Main objectives – Access to Information under a reformed Freedom of Information environment, 100% Transparency and (legally enforced) Accountability as defined under a legal established Integrity Legislation regime
    Which one? I dont know yet but there are thousands of tools that can be used and adapted for the purpose e.g. https://www.cyberciti.biz/open-source/awesome-opensource-collaborativesoftware-groupware-software-suite/. The thing is not so much the tool as much as it will be its functionality, robustness AND EASE OF USE FOR OLE MENSES LIKE ME
    Who will Fund it? Places like the European Union and IDB and DFIID and other development agencies might be disposed to underwriting an e-governance tool of this type and have such an effort become part of their “LEGACY” for meaningful Citizen Participatory Government
    Who will run it? There should be a process that will facilitate its external administration NOTE CAREFULLY THAT THE OLE MAN DID NOT SAY internal administration which must be a viciously safeguarded as that of BU so you dun know who would be best suited to replicate that part, however, it would be a process that would be defined as part of the Scope of Reference document with the underwriters as well as the citizens who take interest.
    Creating a Pilot.

This is a new thing for Barbados oh Honourable Blogmaster. E-Participation.

De ole man suggests that for any agency would be better appreciative of said concept there is a pilot which would be launched here first and for which there would be simultaneous outreach letters to identified stakeholders OF WHOM THE PRIME MINISTER Mia Amor Mottley would be the first.

Indeed, de ole man believed that whoever the Opposition Party is going to be, it might be of some administrative use TO THE INCOMING GOVERNMENT to have said party “linked” to the tool if not only to show that it wishes to promote a new construct in Barbados.

These are my preliminary thoughts

16. All For One One For All

We’re going to mash down Principalities and Wickedness

We all have an eye so we all can see

We all a mouth so we all can speak

We all have an ear so shout it out

for we’ve suffering great tribulations

17. Freedom Crier Avatar

You Know I bought into this article almost completely until… Well better sooner than later as the Writing was on the wall which Doc Martins further Articles so Cleverly Reiterates …

Excerpts and Comments on …The Barbados Economy and Voter Choice
    Posted on May 15, 2018 Submitted by Doc Martin

Freedom Crier May 16, 2018 3:10 PM
    “@ Doc Martin…What you said in your Article and your response that a Coalition is the best thing we can do to curb the power of either the DLP or BLP is all well and good. But you cannot Suck and Whistle @ the same time by Proposing the UNIMAGINABLE to be PARTNERING with those that caused the problem in the first place…that is a Recipe for Devastation and Destruction…”

Excerpts and Comments from…Sale of the Barbados Hilton and the Parallel Universe Phenomenon
    Posted on May 20, 2018 Submitted by Doc Martin

Doc Martin
    May 21, 2018 12:17 PM
    @ David re. Doc Martin May 21, 2018 11:39 AM

“The line” A political philosophy of socialism” should read: “A political philosophy of DEMOCRATIC socialism” Can you make the change?
    Many thanks to the comments made by Freedom Crier May 21, 2018 11:49 AM re Venezuela because we have to recognize the not-so-subtle difference(s) between “democratic socialism” (the espoused philosophy of both BLP and DLP), and “pure socialism” / communism which is the philosophy driving Venezuela at this time.”

Freedom Crier May 21, 2018 5:47 PM
    “Doc Martin you asked What is the Solution?

Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leads to Prosperity and Freedom while Socialism leads to Poverty and Bondage! Capitalism doesn’t come with a warranty or “money back” guarantee. Yet, it encourages individuality, creativity, opportunity, risk taking, ambition, pride, dignity, and a sense of accomplishment, promotion, and provision. As much as Socialist professes their disdain for capitalism, they’ve yet to offer a better system. The reason is simple; it doesn’t exist.”

Elections Results 2018: Democracy Alive, Opposition Dead!
    Posted on May 25, 2018 Submitted by Doc Martin

Doc Martin says, “AS A MARKETING PROFESSIONAL MYSELF”…

I Know exactly what your Skills and Marketing Strategies are here and have Observed that depending on how the Wind Changes (Government) you bend accordingly because there are no real Difference between one and the other of the Governing Parties…

Doc Martin further Stated “I have long ago said that Barrow and Tom Adams are no longer relevant to everyday life in Barbados. But the presence of at least two historians in the DLP just will not let the ghost of Barrow rest. Presumably the people of St. John have now exorcised his ghost!”

What Ghost is Doc Martin inferring to as he stated quite Blatantly, “I submit, has been the outworking of our own home grown version of democratic socialism in Barbados and the understanding of both major political parties… It is the reason why we often complain (accurately so) that we can see no (philosophical) difference between the major political parties!”

Please allow me to refresh the Memories of those on BU who may be Willing Supporting your cleverly Professional Marketed Ideas or Beguilingly so…

Doc Martin May 23, 2018 1:42 AM
    @Tee White May 22, 2018 10:02 AM

“++ Marxist Model++
    You do your readers a disservice by not telling the less erudite of them that you are using a Marxist model to interpret Caribbean history and society. As you know (I hope), this model interprets society as being in a conflict that will only to be resolved when the proletariat (“the masses”) overcome the bourgeoisie (“wealth owning capitalist class”)…more or less! Those who have had to read Sociology and Politics for any of their Social Science degrees know that there are other approaches to the interpretation of the society e.g. consensus theory as postulated by Emile Durkheim et.al.

Freedom Crier… Have we been Experiencing this Lately?

https://gosouth.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Lenin-quotes.jpg

18. Freedom Crier Avatar

That should be a Dog Whistle to recognise where his deep rooted ideology is based and what he supports in spite of his Craftiness to make none the better wise…

Doc Martin Continues… May 23,

Into this political milieu entered the Barrows, Manleys and Burnhams. How were they going to transform their newly independent countries? Those who have done some West Indian history know that Jamaica and Guyana gravitated towards a socialist/communist model while countries like Barbados and Trinidad gravitated towards a democratic socialism model.
    There is ample evidence of the ideological battle fought by Barrow. For example, this from his first budget speech:
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

To avoid confusing the issues we need to make a distinction between pure socialism/communism and democratic socialism. It is not true that they are exactly the same! …. So, in a Real World HOW ONE ATTEMPTS TO TRANSFER THE WEALTH FROM THE HAVES TO THE ‘HAVE-NOTS’ CAN BE DONE IN DIFFERENT WAYS….

This, I submit, has been the outworking of our own home grown version of democratic socialism in Barbados and the understanding of both major political parties, as well as third parties that have come and gone over the years. It is the reason why we often complain (accurately so) that we can see no (philosophical) difference between the major political parties

So this imminent May 24 election is not going to be fought on ideological grounds, NEVER MIND THAT THE DLP MAY WANT THE SOLE OWNERSHIP OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST that has been fashioned over the years. Rather it will be fought on the practical grounds of what combination of people and policies can best continue to implement and manage our version of democratic socialism WITHOUT making us poorer (by reversing the economic gains made over the years) while at the same time, stamping out corruption and waste as well as refraining from embarrassing us!”

Freedom Crier
    May 23, 2018 9:14 AM

@ Mr. Doc Martin I am acquainted which that which is written. ‘The Straight and Narrow’. You have attempted to paint a picture of walking a very fine line between all the different Variance of Socialism. You are like a young tree in the wind and saying this level of bending in the wind is perfect and we shouldn’t bend any more or we shouldn’t bend any less.

May I remind you that your Masterful Master (Barrow) who found the perfect Solution that is Democratic Socialism of bending in the wind just so much and no more is Dead. And the Current Crop of Benders in the wind have not found that supposed sweet spot if it ever existed.

If there is a Conclusion to be made from this Discussion it has been made quite Clear who the the Communist/Socialist Democratic or otherwise that Stand Revealed in the Noon Day Sun…Names only Change to Suit the Times…

https://slberg.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/531790_198861386893259_157506157695449_317211_1354716989_n.jpg

19. It seems that election was real and not fake news as it is posted on BBC
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-44254140

Is the 1st lady PM a BU blogger she looks familiar

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

You remarked earlier “…We have a couple issues to consider. There is the need for the bloated voters list to be culled….”

A document dated 1998 (that fell off a truck) submitted to the said EBC is purported to read, in part…

“…Household Electorate Data – the names, the current addresses, NRN, etc of all citizens and eligible residents.

*** will facilitate online queries and permit real-time receipt of “validation information” for voter IDs

Such validation would include, but not be limited to, electronic images of birth certificates and other “lateral” secure Registry/repository documents, updates on death certificates, overlays for Immigration entry and departure data etc.

*** also reconciles continuous domicile issues and would provide independent “trails” for 3rd party Election Reviews.

That was 20 years ago oh Honourable Blogmaster.

So you see why

(i) people not knowing where to vote on election day in 2018 underscores our Banana Republic status?

(ii) so you see why “dead people being allowed to vote” confirms that Barbados IS A BANANA REPUBLIC?

(iii) so you understand why de ole man permanently stuck in derogatory mode of calling we niggers “hewers of wood and drawers of water” when, in 2018, there could be accusations of “false ID produced and provided by Miami Vice Johnson, being approved by polling station clerks?”

21. @David May 25, 2018 8:46 PM “Let us sheaf the long knives.”

What knives David?

On Wednesday night some of us slept in bed with our sweet “D”

Went out and voted “B”

And on Thursday night went to sleep again with our sweet “D”

What knives, what?

22. @TheoGazerts May 25, 2018 6:32 PM “…you can become the mother/father of the nation.”

Please note that a lot of us are not into this mother of the nation, father of the nation thingy.

When politicians start plying that game the inclination is that the electorate, all hard backed MEN and WOMEN start behaving like hard ears little children.

I have been plenty mothered already.

I have been plenty fathered already.

I DO NOT want a mother.

I DO NOT want a father.

I want Ms. Mottley to do the WORK that she has been elected to do, and that we are PAYING her well to do.

Those are my expectations.

23. @Lorenzo May 25, 2018 8:01 PM “Ms Holder who was calling for God for guidance”

So how do we know that God did not answer Ms. Holder’s prayers?

Maybe he did.

Lolll!!!

24. @Prodigal Son May 25, 2018 8:08 PM “@David. “Ithe last census was conducted twenty years ago.”

Not true.

The last census was conducted during May of 2010. That is exactly EIGHT years ago.

Here it is for your edification:

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf

25. @Tron May 25, 2018 8:32 PM “In need somebody to clean the water tank in my local residence. However, I regularly use high loads of biocide and lots of chlorine to kill bugs, so it is a bit dangerous … I have also to offer jobs as gardeners and so on for 1 USD per hour. Working time is from Monday to Saturday 6 AM to 6 PM.”

i see now why you want to see 15,000 unemployed civil servants…so that you can find somebody to exploit.

Because otherwise why are you offering garden work in the 30 degree heat and 100% humidity at $2 BDS per hour. And how do you expect to get and keep any workers, when I a pensioner pays $25 per hour?

Looka, go and do your own dangerous, hot sweaty work yourself.

26. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 26, 2018 5:30 AM “…the hero worshipping of long deceased politicians.”

I call it “duppy politics”

Instead of finding out what are the expectations of those people born after June 1,1987 the day Barrow died; and none of whom “know” Barrow, and some of whom voted for the THIRD time yesterday, the DLP unfortunately spent wayyyyyyyyyyyy too much time worshipping the long, long dead Barrow.

The man is dead. Let him stay dead.

Moving forward…

27. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Simple Simon

I see that you are getting forgetful like de ole man in your old age

The “sheath the Long Knives” reference is with regard to the content of Lorenzo’s threat and a previous blog containing “the Night of the Long Knives” that this ole man remembers well making.

He hints at the pending retribution that the incoming Attorney General may have shared that he proposed to undertake against the anonymous BU bloggers.

With regard to Tron, you have missed the joke that Tron passed at the intended targets of his jibe regarding a pittance wage for these people who have raped the economy for so long….

What is the matter with you though?

Normally, even though you might have come in late from a shift you ALWAYS USED TO BE ABLE TO PICK UP THIS nuances and innuendos.

I hope that the “Sheaf” of the “D” that you mentioned sleeping next to before the GE has not so “discombulated” your reasoning to result in this “missing of the ball” literally speaking SS

Far be it from the ole man to be hinting at anything other than what you have written!! heheheheh

28. “I want Ms. Mottley to do the WORK that she has been elected to do, and that we are PAYING her well to do.

Those are my expectations.”

That is all the electorate ever wants, anywhere.

They need to stop invoking the dead and let them rest, they have no clue what spirits can be manifesting when they disturb those who are long gone and the only thing they do it for is political gain.

..it is the living need them to do what the are being paid to do by the people , work in the best interest of the entire population.

29. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right May 26, 2018 12:54 PM “the pending retribution that the incoming Attorney General may have shared that he proposed to undertake against the anonymous BU bloggers.”

Me getting old and foolish in truth.

If our Honourable Attorney General has our best interest at heart, and just yesterday he swore to just that. He would spend the next five years going after murderers, rapists, and thieves of all kinds.

More than enough of that going on to keep him real, real busy.

30. lol…remember what happened to the iast lot who went after bloggers, instead of doing the taxpayer’s work, they spent all their time on the blogs to see who was talking about them and trying to figure out their retribution…that did not end well..

…so the new AG will be better off…fixing the Supreme Court, getting rid of the backlogs, reining in and punishing dishonest lawyers who are destroying the integrity of the Supreme Court, the ones who are destroying the lives of and abusing the elderly, destroying the lives of the injured, stealing from their clients, giving the island a bad reputation and which will bring those rotten practices to the attention of human rights organizations…eventually

That is what Marshall should now start to do…his job.

The bloggers will always have something to attract their attention, if he is doing his job, they will appreciate it and forget about him.

31. Based on Irene Sandiford’s move of criticizing MAM’s large Cabinet, can we consider that she is challenging for the leadership of the DLP?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/26/outspoken-dlp-candidate-reacts-to-mottleys-cabinet-announcement/

32. Well a surprise to some, but by Monday I knew it was going to be a clean sweep! Poor old George Pilgrim will get back re naming two opposition Senators…don’t hold your breath it may take him until year end, says he was in meetings all day and did not hear the announcement! He cannot make a decision to save his life so his response is also not a surprise! The people spoke and wrote their X’s and PM. The Hon. Mia will show everyone that once again the Phoenix will rise from the ashes.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply