The eagerly awaited 2018 General Election is finally here. Unlike previous elections we have not had a CADRES Poll to ‘control’ the debate. The blogmaster’s view on polling in the days and weeks before an election can be found on BU’s pages- it compromises the process.

The blogmaster has grown cynical of late after observing how the majority of the citizens are satisfied with a process best described as ‘political musical chairs’ we love to play every election cycle. Today is the one day in the governance process Barbadians exert the power to dictate to the political directorate who they want to lead the country. The down side is that after exercising our civic duty the system is ‘hijacked’ by those elected to SERVE.

One of the most used words in the political lexicon is CHANGE. The use of the word reached a ‘crescendo’ in 2008 with the rise of Barack Obama. Are we the citizenry satisfied the change which has been promised every election cycle bar none was satisfactorily delivered?   At this juncture in our history what has to change? What can we the PEOPLE do to determine how members of the political class – who are elected to serve the us by the way – to force change to our governance setup?

Polling stations will open from 6AM to 6PM.

#voteforchange

#bethechange

128 responses to “2018 General Election BUzz”

1. There will be no 70% turnout.

Not more than 60% turnout, we judge

And most likely between 53% and 58%. Last time it was about 51%, if we rightly recall.

We are talking about small margins here. Margins with high potential to change most normal outcomes.

Three or four percent increase is a big, big deal.

2. We should not get too immersed with the arithmetic of voter turnout because the register is bloated and therefore % voter turnout will be irrelevant.

3. “I think that you are accusing Leslie Haynes wrongfully at this time.”

That is not what Haynes is telling those whose cases he got lingering in the Supreme Court..

Prodigal…..ah so glad ya said something so everyone can see for themselves, including the judges who may be thinking he is on the EBC as chairman..assuming you are wrong and he is on EBC.

lies and dishonesty have a way of biting …either way

4. Piece

We know that yuh geh de ting to MAM, or her surrogate.

But yuh power aint last long, after yuh cum!

Have you so quickly forgotten all the wrong of the last BLP guvment.

Do you really believe that the BLP is beyond anything this DLP has done.

Keep dreaming.

The next guvment, B or D, will be far worse

Like the one after them.

5. My experience..
    There was a man outside the polling room (not in the immediate vicinity) with in list in hand, within the confines of the drawn demarcation lines for non congregating, beckoning voters to some inquiry they were four persons with him, when I approached him his demeanor changed, he directed me to my correct polling station. On entering, I declared my name and surrendered my ID. The info was called out, was directed to another to be verified, then to another who gave me the ballot with instructions how to fold it (once)… after I made my selection and moved to cast the ballot, I was required to show the fold and was told to fold it a second time with the validation # exposed.

Of interest
    There were four youngsters (block type) in the line, their chatter alluded to them not being sure if they were at the correct polling station,… when the policeman approached them, one remained, the others made exit… behavior was somewhat strange.

6. “he was nominated to fill the position but up to this week his appointment was still with the GG…”

Besides…I got the information 2 days ago that he got through, came froths own mouth, so if he is lying to the court, how deserving that he got exposed..lol.

Ya see the problem for those like Haynes, they got their fingers into every damn rotten thing on the island and are never doing what their are actually being paid said to do, eg….like all those cases dormant in the Supreme Court for a decade or more, or less that he is denying closure, so he is getting attention for all the wrong reasons, just as he deserves for what he is doing to people who do not deserve it.

7. Besides…I got the information 2 days ago that he got through, came FROM HIS own mouth, so if he is lying to the court, how deserving that he got exposed..lol.

8. Social media is rife with reports of vote buying and dead people listed who have recorded votes. We will have to see if this is social media noise.

9. A high turnout favours the BLP, it means that people are motivated and want change whereas a low turnout generally favours the Party in power as it signifies that people are happy with the status quo.

10. @ David & Gabriel
    It is hard to believe that wunna could be concerned about ‘vote confidentiality’ in a system where your unique NID number is written on a stub that is numbered …and which is torn off from an identically numbered ballot paper – which carries your ACTUAL vote.
    In a world where Amazon knows which brand of toilet paper you prefer to wipe your donkey with, wunna have to be (illegally) drinking something with a kick today….to be so naive.

Some otherwise-unemployed old woman peeping into your polling booth should be the VERY LEAST of your concerns…

Of course if wunna don’t give a brass bowl (like Bushie and Firuz) …. then no problem.

11. Well, the vote buying could go have both majors culpable.

The dead people voting, has never characterize Bajan politics, though many dead people were always on the undated lists.

We however, see this as a bridge too far.

We have not known this ‘dead people voting’ thing to be part of the chicanery employed. The Bajan election system leaves no possibility to imagine such.

12. Lawd a people scared of another knowing how they voted.😐

13. Bushie

We were unaware that you were a voter.

14. @ Enuff
    Lawd a people scared of another knowing how they voted
    It is a thing about PRINCIPLE …. but yard fowls only worry about that when they are put out of the yard.

@ Pacha
    Why not vote?

Bushie votes AGAINST shiite….
    Be it BLP shiite, DLP shiite or third party shiite.

…to besides – you like you forget that Bushie rich as shiite… 🙂
    Bushie haffa punish someone for the shiite-tax; de NSRL; the tipping fee; fuh selling assets; for robbing CLICO; for bringing the CJ back from NY; fuh the effluent on Hastings soiling Bushie’s big ride….

Nah Boss….
    Bushie HAD to vote…

15. Caribbeansignal.com will be updating results from a live linkup with the Electoral Office.

https://www.caribbeansignal.com/2018/05/24/barbados-general-election-results-2018/#comment-665

16. @David

Is it true that polling has been extended to 8pm?

17. @Prodigal

The blogmaster is aware of a few polling stations which closed at 6PM on the dot. Security has started the process of collecting boxes.

18. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/160593/emergency-voting-hearing-underway-supreme-court

you mean after all of that these human rights violators still tried to violate these people’s right to vote…why don’t these illiterates stop with that…do they want to be put on a list of known human rights violators, when will they learn.

19. So glad to see Enuff exercised his democratic right.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

By the end of tonight the Emergency Powers Act will be invoked

This Voter List fraud has been designed to put the DLP back in power

50 more days of suffering for we until the international community is brought to bear on the enforced INCUMBENT administration…

I warned against the new procedures at the polling station

I will again warn about the transportation of the Ballot boxes and the actual counting procedures

21. that is polling stations…….

22. If the reports are true that dead people have voted, the officer from the EBC who hands the ballot to you and the one next to him marking off would have to be in cohoots.

Notice that the reports of the dead people voting are coming from St Philip South, the place where a box magically appeared in 2013………..also remember that the second man in the EBC is the MP’s buddy.

I cannot believe that this is happening again!

23. @ BU Community

You may wan to check out this site: http://www.caribbeanelections.com/ . It has elections data stretching back to 1951. Good for those who want to do math!

24. Apologies for the typos/ omissions!

25. Pachamama

Based on information. 2013 voters turnout was 62.2%and 2008 was 63.04%. Where you get 51%?

26. Pachamama. Your percentage is based on Party’s percentages. DLP gained 51.30% and BLP gained 48.22%. However, voters turnout which was the total amount of electors casting votes were 62.2%.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Again de ole man us asking wunna to pay attention to the situation with the way that the boxes are arriving and the procedures associated with their chain of custody and how they are being monitored

Boxes are coming from the polling stations how?

Using Tranport Board buses manned by who?

Travelling by what route?

And being delivered to who?

Under the monitoring of whom?

In short who is eyeballing these boxes continuously?

From what the chap just said about STMNW it appears to be some “dark areas” where there is no representative in the room with the boxes prior to the actual counting

28. Sorry.

We stand corrected.

Rememberd the wrong number

29. Let’s hope the votes are counted tonight.

30. The blogmaster is receiving reports that the management of the post voting process tonight. We agree an official announcement should be forthcoming 2 hours ago!

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

These Foreign Service and Special Polling Bay boxes are of some concern to de ole man

Who has been eyeballing them?

32. That’s the thing, in countries with millions of voters, not less than 200K like a tiny island …you get announcements 2 hours after polls close..

…they are making a production out of this because they know they are up to no good…no Cambridge Analytica to help them tief the election, so they have to stumble around..

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

AS de ole man asked and BEGGED thst an examination of the lists and the procedures associated with with the electoral process

If there was one box in each of the stations it means that the was this fraud is being effected is in the combination of (a) mixed up lists and (b) fraudulently replaced boxes

There is NO WAY ANYONE CAN CONTEST THE COUNT IF 750 R ORE NAMES ARE NOT IN THEIR STATED BOXES BUT INCREDULOUSLY TURN UP IN OTHER AREAS

REMEMBER THAT THE VOTE COUNT WILL NOT BE A STATING OF THE NAMES OF THE PEOPLE WHO VOTED BUT JUST THE BALLOTS’ PREFERENCE

AND NOW CHRIST CHURCH WEST DISCLOSES THAT A BOX WAS TAMPERED WITH

Hard ears won’t hear own way going feel

The switching will happen in the Transport Board Buses

34. barbadostoday got a live stream going.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

People are being warned to stay away from the counting stations

It is being shared that there is going to be trouble because of the results

36. According to Vic ballot boxes for St. Leonard’s school counting centre have not arrived yet, they only just started counting at the St. Michael school counting centre.and so on..

37. @Piece

A reporter just mentioned that boxes from St Michael North were stored up at Dodds…….what the hell????????

I just do not trust John Haynes, he is a hardcore dem from St John……a dlp pimp who went from a Registering Officer head of the EBC, thanks to the dead king.

38. @Gabriel May 24, 2018 12:11 PM “I again complain that my vote is not “in secret”….this morning there were 2 people sitting at a right angle to the voting booth who were there to see where I placed my X on the ballot.”

So haven’t you learned yet to put your body in the way so that you block nosy people. Do you let people read your cell phone when you are in public places too?

Stupseee!!!!

Big men and women shouldn’t need so much nannying.

39. This whole fiasco just shows how incompetent this government has been from day one until the end.

What a cock up!

40. @Well, Well May 24, 2018 1:06 PM “Why did they not make provisions for the elderly, disabled and frail…we know the government is inconsiderate…but the elderly and disabled are not only there to be robbed of their land, money and properties,,they should be accommodated and should not have to stand for 2 hour.”

At my polling station there was a very nice young man who was escorting disabled people to the head of the line.. And there was a ramp to the building, a ramp to the toilets, and a wheelchair accessible bathroom.

So at least at that station the disabled were being accommodated. Most of the people in line were fit elderly

41. Piece
    Left up to you the dlp would get zero votes lol

42. Jonny B Good. Avatar

WTRH…
    The RH election eff up too?
    Unbelievable!

43. The blogmaster has no sensible words to describe what is unraveling in Barbados at this time.

44. Bush Tea May 24, 2018 5:29 PM “Some otherwise-unemployed old woman peeping into your polling booth should be the VERY LEAST of your concerns.”

Wha’ unemployed old women do you?

45. @David May 24, 2018 10:33 PM “The blogmaster has no sensible words.”

Bare wrasse whole (RH) sh!te!!!

46. An unconfirmed report that BLP reps are on the bus with ballots, DLP not allowed.

https://www.facebook.com/sian.pampellonne/posts/10156150063260801

47. Maybe they were just curious to see if you actually could make an X

Leave a Reply to ArthurgoxCancel reply