Five days to go to the 2018 General Election in Barbados and the speculation is rife who will win and the margin of the victory. The platform discussion has not ignited hope in the blogmaster that there will be significant change to how a new government will improve the lot of the people. What is certain is that the state of the economy will possibly get worse before it improves, IF it improves.

What factors will influence how the blogmaster cast his X on Thursday?

How have the key economic indicators moved since 2013?

• international reserves
  • domestic borrowing
  • foreign borrowing
  • amount of fossil imports
  • unemployment
  • deficit
  • exports
  • imports
  • inflation
  • food bill*
  • greater sector integration

What about the crime situation since 2013?

• murder rate
  • violence crime
  • drug related

Has the infrastructure improved since 2013?

• state of the highways and byways
  • stadia
  • public buildings (health and safety)

Small island developing states because of the size must have an efficient waste management and policies attuned to a maintaining a pristine environment. Have we seen advancement in this space since 2013?

• adequate number of garbage trucks
  • frequent garbage collection
  • effective public education about waste disposal
  • effective policing
  • management of sewage

Have we observed change in the Governance model since 2013?

• effectiveness of the working committees of parliament
  • adherence to financial rules
  • delivering justice to all citizens
  • holding public officials accountable
  • term limits
  • republican system
  • etc

Last but as important is whether the confidence of a people is higher (or lower) compared to 2013.

How can we create a more relevant regional and international outreach to sustain quality of life for citizens?

There are many other issues the blogmaster could have listed to point to the fact- if one is honest- that there has been a deterioration in the Barbados space since 2013. We can debate if the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) and the 3rd parties are ready to led the country if elected. Clearly based on performance the DLP has fallen short by the simple measure if the questions posed are answered honestly.

The electorate will have to decide if despite a poor performance by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) whether it merits a third term when compared to the alternatives. Does the electorate have the capacity to logically weight the issues to inform the vote?

91 responses to “Thursday’s Vote”

1. Gabriel
    Ashton Turney is all over Facebook sharing DLP public meetings and opposing Mia. However, Barbados Today promoted that story as if the man’s only interest is the Credit Union and is therefore impartial. How can Kaymar write or talk about integrity and transparency?

2. @enuff

What is the BT agenda? Is it OSA?

3. More egg on Barbados Today face! The Credit Union distancing itself from Turney’s comments. A reputable newspaper would not have carried that story, thecway it was presented.

4. You can’t be closely associated with a financial institution and be so naked in your biase. It makes one wonder the quality of management decisions taken.

5. Vote DLP. Only party with any sense . BLP is making foolish promises

6. Does David Ellis and company understand how Rh painful it is to have to listen to 20minutes of Arthur or Straker’s Tenatry simple because it satisfies some yardstick they have to measure what is fair and balanced? Does it not matter the feelings of the listeners? Lord almighty!

7. David ellis is a gatekeeper for the DLP,in my opinion.Cast your mind back to the Moderators he hired,Ms McClean,Dr Marshall.Ms Hinds-Layne,Mr Marshall,Ms Watson ,Ms Holder,Mr Husbands Mr Jemmott,Mr Corbin,all known Dems,this could not be a coincidence,and on one occasion calling in to defend Mr Thompson for some unknown reason.I have heard callers claiming they have seen him at several DLP events which he did not dispute.He has done his upmost to keep Mr Wickham of the programme,in recent weeks.Therefore do not be surprised tht he gives these Dems like Arthur,The Trini Dem,The old returning national ,Rawle and most disturbingly this guy Straker,s Tenantry who adds nothing of value to the programme and should not speak for no more than five minutes,in my opinion.,The hyprocrite Trini Dem rants and rave every day about Ms Mottley she too needs limiting to five minutes,adds nothing to the programme and should stick to Ms Holder on Talk ya Talk DLP.

8. MIA speaks,

“Let us dream my friends of brighter days, but the only way that dream is possible is not in our head as we sleep, but to make it real we need you to come out on Thursday and we need you to claim your destiny, we need you to create your own future, we need you to sculpt the Barbados that you want and to do that you have first to accept the first responsibility of being a Bajan and you have to vote,” Mottley said to loud applause.

“And I am asking you to vote for the team that has plans and that has a vision. I am asking you to vote for my team because I believe that I have put together for you a group of people that reflect your dreams and your aspirations. And we have taken what you have said to us, as we have rubbed shoulders with you…we are asking you to help us to build the best Barbados together.”

9. CAN WEATHER INFLUENCE THE ELECTIONS?

Remember TOMAS, that “out of the Blue” anomaly? Last night the island experience a sudden downpour of rain that equal a torrential episode.
    clear skies
    https://www.star.nesdis.noaa.gov/GOES/GOES16_FullDisk_Band.php?band=GEOCOLOR&length=48
    then this spike
    http://tropic.ssec.wisc.edu/real-time/mimic-tpw/global/anim/20180426T000000anim72.gif
    followed by a dump and excessive downpour

10. Peter Wickham a very smart move not to publish an opinion poll. Wickham you know your credibility got shattered in 2013 with your wobbly polls. You do not want to further tarnish your reputation and your career as a pollster.
    Evidence is suggesting a comfortable Democratic Labour Party victory comes Thursday.
    Analyzing your article on the swing analysis, the DLP is in jeopardy of only losing three seats, whereas the BLP has five to six seats to lose based on the data presented.
    This is a very interested elections that could go either way, but it looks like the DLP peak at the right time and the BLP ran out of steam.
    Mia Mottley and the BLP have made some glaring errors in this campaign that I believe thwarted the momentum of the party. (1) The BLP projecting her as the maximum leader with posters of her in every constituency. That is an overkill. Mia Mottley having a copy of the DLP manifesto before the DLP officially release the document. A very foolish move.The unrealistic pledges of relief within the first three months of gaining office. Barbadians are not stupid.
    A Democratic Labour Party is on the cards.
    Three love>

11. Negroman I did not know you were still in Barbados .how come you now resurface was it the disappointing performance of your Dems.You have been silent as a church mouse and now reappear talking about a DLp victory,based on what?Forget Mr Wickham tell me of five things this Government has done to merit returning to office,i think you are still in dreamlandThe Dems treatment of the civil servants ,the Unionsplus the 23 downgrades ,lack of Buses,lack of Garbage Trucks ,Bad roads,the South Coast mess,and you are telling me they will be returned to office,give me a break.

12. Let the record show that no entity stepped forward to pay for a CADRES Poll this time around. Wickham said they thought about trying to source financing but thought better of it.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Negroman

I am wondering what svelte and cloth taste like causing IF DE DLP WINS THIS RH ELECTION de ole man going got to eat his hat.

I doubt if what you have been saying about the posters is true I.e. Prime Minister Mottley being on every poster irrespective of the constituency

If you are speaking of “insets” that is understandable and desirable since it links the substantive candidate to the leader PM MAM

De ole man fears that Peter Wickham has read this one wrong notwithstanding his expertise.

The critical thing that will decide on this election IS FUMBLES.

He has singlehandedly diminished any currency the DLP may have had

And though the ole man is not in the BLP control room it would have been over them to have concurrently run a 5 point derogatory campaign which focused on

Fumbles, Stinkliar, Pornville, Bulldog Estwick and Michael Lashles

The message directed against these 5 would have highlighted Fumbles as an unapproachable leader, Chris Stinkliar as a bungling minister of finance, Pornville as a drunken mouth giant Estwick as a two faced so called economist interested only in his pension and Michael Lashes as an uncaring nuff teets minister of transportation who, as long as he had his leased Mercedes could not care about average BAJANS having no buses

Note dat de ole man said concurrently

This aspect of campaigning would appeal to 80% the easily distracted Bajan electorate

Watch and see how many BAJANS coming out pun de 24th

And barring de invoking of the Emergency Powers Act all the ID falsification plans Fumbles and Miami Vice Johnson got plannedMia will be Prime Minister

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

15. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR

I was wondering why the BLP has not been attacking Stuart and the Finance Minister and Estwick in a strategic, concerted manner myself about seeming misfeances publicized on BU. Unless they plan to do so tonight, tomorrow and / or Wednesday night, they would have lost a good opportunity. Mia doesn’t have to do it herself. Barney Lynch and Anthony Wood and Lovell, the funny Chairman (I forgot his first name) and perhaps Liz Thompson could carry the brunt of that attack……. and a lot of material seems to be available. I noted one of the posters here is teasing about a Toronto waterfront condominium. That could be devastating if good reliable documentation has been or could be found.

16. Tyrone Lovell

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

“…Wickham said they thought about trying to source financing but thought better of it…”

De old man is intrigued by the remark from CADRES

It is understandable that the DLP WOULD NOT SEEK A POLL since its results would be most unflattering heheheheh euphemism for dem going get dem RH tar

But IF IT IS TRUE THAT THE BLP DID NOT COMMISSION ONE nor did any third party OFFICIALLY do so then this might present the following interpretations

De ole man knows that Wickham has called this wrong. And I’d go so far as to suggest that people that he unofficially polled are afraid to state what their intention is

Why is That? Merely because CADRES has unfortunately been tainted as an informer a la Wikileaks and BAJANS are afraid of his or any polls.

The more reasonable explanation is that it has been determined that a poll at this time “is not the wisest thing to do” given the climate of the elections locally in addition to people’s fears.

And I concur with that since a poll can become a reagent with deleterious effects as opposed to being a non reactionary catalyst

The 25

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

That is clearly visible in this campaign

And de ole man agrees with you that it has been kept on hold BECAUSE THE ONSLAUGHT IS GOING TO COME TONIGHT OR TOMORROW NIGHT AND CERTAINLY THE NIGHT BEFORE THE ELECTIONS (even though that won’t be as effective as tomorrow night)

What is going to be released IS GOING TO HAPPEN SIMULTANEOUSLY and the DLP will be taken by surprise.

They are not going to have a comeback for it

De ole man has a few suggestions but heheheheh dem ent axe me nuffin.

I do hope that it achieves the objective of making sure every sure EVERY SINGLE DLP CANDIDATE LOST DEN RH DEPOSIT

Ammmmm a feller called Robert and a British called Hal Doan like de ole man nor other people here to use dem two letters together but you dun know how much de ole man wants dem incompetents gone

19. @PUDRYR

Clearly the BLP is wary and weary of using a Cadres poll considering from 2013. Mia and her strategists clearly do not want a repeat. It is interesting how Wickham has been shielded from the public by VOB. What is your view PUDRYR?

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

To understand the shielding of which you speak one must understand the bajan psyche.

Let de ole man illustrate this psyche to you by using this example

Suppose de ole man was to announce in a loud voice “I is a lesbian- I like woman real bad” that would elicit much mirth among us red blooded males here assembled since the concept is logical

However if I was a woman and I said that among the Bible thumpers and sanctimonious amongst us, many of us would first grimace and then there would be a barrage of Sodom and Gomorrah intonations forthcoming.

You by now are getting the drift here aren’t You?

The issues being debated and the arguments being levelled are various and diverse YET CENTRAL TO ALL OF THESE IS A SPECIFIC ISSUE which would muddy the waters and therefore LEST THAT HAPPEN it is strategically wise to make it a non issue by not contending AT ALL.

If Lowdown was to dead tonight you dun know that, in the face of all the weight de man loss, it will be one ting dat kill he.

AND THIS IS WHY HE IS BEING “SHEILDED” from any encounters with the public that expose him as he is.

This has been a very carefully crafted encounter with the public and VOB is in one corner and CBC Reporting Lies in the other

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please WIGH my recent response

22. ” Toronto waterfront condominium.”

Why would a Bajan politician buy a condo in Toronto knowing that Canada has a FOI and Investigative reporters waiting for a phone call ?

23. pieceuhderockyeahright,

My Lesbian Leader is on the campaign trail today and will be every day until Election day.

24. @negroman
    Time will tell

@Lorenzo
    They don’t deserve it. But did Trump deserve his in 2016? Or Sandi in ’94? or Stuart in 2013? Or Clinton in 92?
    Time will tell

He’s shielded because he’s biased AND a stretcher of the truth. There should be no shortage of financiers for polls (even if not national) in this cycle. Peter knows that all too well and he knows that at least two polls have been commissioned. Standard election operating procedure. What has everyone confused is that the polling isn’t fully supporting the narrative. Time will tell.

@Piece
    Too bad they didn’t take your advice. Now it’s a toss up. Time will tell.

@Awty
    This week will make little difference. The dice have been cast. Time will tell.

Just observing

25. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Hants, re. your 6:38 pm post

“Why would a Bajan politician buy a condo in Toronto knowing that Canada has a FOI and Investigative reporters waiting for a phone call ?” Good question! The answer might be “because the subject really aint too smart”.

Anyhow the next 3 nights will show if there is anything to the mooted and muted rumours which, if there is any documented evidentiary truth to them, could be quite explosive and even game changing..

Observing;

The die should have been cast months ago. A strategic BLP counterattack would merely be the dotting of the “I’s” and the crossing of the “T’s”, especially as the effects of the heavy frontal attacks on Mia seem to have fizzled out except for the strongly committed DLP base.

26. A country with an economy in the pits, no confidence in the people and what is the expectation from political parties?

Bombshell politics!

27. @ David,

Bajans are in for a rude awakening if they think things will get better after the elections.

Barbados is in deep shit but they can enjoy the victory fetes and crop over.

After that a decent into financial hell.

28. spell check “descent”

29. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Hants re. your 8:24 pm post;

I suspect we have now been led to the gates of Hell. The election will give us a choice of a slow painful ascent from the gates and eventually back up to normalcy or a swift and brutal entry through the gates down to the bottomless pit. Freundal’s track record suggests that he will take us downwards from the gate to the pit. There is still a chance that Mia might slowly and painfully lead us upward, imho.

David;

The DLP gave us “Bombshell politics on steroids” from its opening salvo until now. The BLP has not engaged in such so far. I was merely suggesting that there seemed to be some bombs that could be used on the BLP side over the next 2 days or so after which that window of opportunity closes.

30. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Oops!

Should be “by” the BLP side rather than “on” the BLP side.

31. The BLP has done a great job pushing their “LIVE NOW” videos on You Tube.

They obviously have You Tube savvy IT people.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You are absolutely right about the awakening which must come

We have 3 months within which THERE MUST BE IMMEDIATE ACTIONS THAT SHOW THERE IS A RESTRUCTURING PLAN TO THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY else it is going to be cat piss and pepper…

33. Thursday’s vote is a referendum on the integrity of Barbadians. Would we fall for the razzmatazz,glitz & glamour as well as the vulgarity exhibited by opposition who will still be in the opposition comes Thursday or the stability,leadership & guidance of the government who will still be government after the general elections?
    Arrogant,conceited,haughty and self-righteous people who believe they have a right and entitlement to be leaders of Barbados are the members of that despicable organization – Barbados Labour Party.
    Noel Lynch the former Minister of Tourism said that his dogs eat better than many of the people who lived in the Bayland.
    Elizabeth Thompson insulted almost all the Black people of Barbados by saying that Prime – Minister,Freundel Stuart is a pit toilet Prime -Minister.That was the lot of almost every Black Barbadian at some period of time in this country’s history.That statement implies also that only persons from a particular social class should aspire to be the Prime – Minister of Barbados.
    I know Barbadians will do the right thing on Thursday and vote for the winning party.
    Three love

34. In this article by Barbados Today
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/21/chris-blp-tapping-our-cellular-phones/
    the former MOF alluded to wiretapping being done by a “dirty tricks division” of the Opposition in woods of a St. George plantation effecting surveillance of some members of this party and others.

It is suspect that this surveillance is present by way of concealed operations IN PLATFORM TECHOLOGIES not in woods in St. George but by an allege offshore company based in the city.

Another comment on another platform alluded to…””Foreign interests who are being harbored here”…
    @ 3:43 in this video..
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLc76QL7rWo )

The question are..
    By who?
    How long has this company been operating here?
    Who facilitated it?

How many of you have received “Google Alerts” alerting you of a breach of login protocols on your devices?
    How many of you has been notified that the breach originated from Cave Hill St. Michael?
    Where is the cell tower that covers the city located?
    Would you count it STRANGE that an ad to apply to UWI is affixed to the Barbados today article?
    Is this a gateway?
    DO NOT CLICK THIS AD!
    How many of you have received anonymous phone calls from “distant lands” purportedly offering investment opportunities seeking confirmation of name and telephone number?

As Mr. C.S said .. “a lot of people are asleep”…

35. Btw they are more registered dlp voters than bees
    How so interesting that Cadres has not release its current poll

36. Btw they are more registered dlp voters than bees

37. Btw they are more registered dlp voters than bees

38. The Dems have the silent majority.That majority will win the elections come Thursday. We are not into the glitz,glamour & razzmatazz.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your assistance please with one more

40. @ 9;00 pm Live stream viewers on YouTube

DLP….281
    BLP… 3639