Submitted by Joseph

I am a little taken back by some of the things being said by some voters in the present election campaign. I do not normally involve myself in these political matters. I however have had to ask myself to try to make sense of what I have been hearing from some persons in the public.

I have heard on the TV and also read in the newspaper that some persons are strongly suggesting that voters and political speakers should stay away from attacking political candidates based on their past. As novel and poetic as this may sound, it is totally ridiculous. Doing just that is what gives rise to a President Trump in the USA, or other persons who became notorious as tyrants and despots in history. Being truthful and accurate about a person’s track record is the requirement.

The Social Scientists (Psychologist, Sociologist, etc.) all argue that we are the product of our past, where we came from, the values that we were taught and developed, the good or bad things we experienced and did. Now we are being told that on the verge of selecting a “King” or “Queen” to rule this fine intelligent nation, that we should select a prime minister on their ability, education, or some other nice things, but certainly not on their character which is formed from their past. One author defined character as the sum of our thoughts and feelings which lead to values formation, and values to actions. It is therefore what I think and value and do. Then on what basis do you elect someone to high office?

We do not now live in the future. We live in the present and that past is who we are. Why should we suggest that the prime minister or parliamentarian should be voted for based on who they could be and not on who they are? On what basis will they form and sign new policies and laws into existence. Do these laws represent our values or theirs? Voting must be based on who they are, as defined by their past and present characters. Would I vote a past mass murderer, rapist, thief, etc. as prime minister. Unlikely. But for me to even consider it…have they shown that their values or lack of values, their “bad behaviour” has changed by demonstrative proof and that they are now ready to receive my cherished vote?

There is a saying that “righteousness exalts a nation but sin a reproach”. This statement is not only true but it is powerful. The laws of Barbados confers significant powers on the holder of the office of the prime minister. Some say that such a person becomes legally more powerful than the USA president. A person’s tenor of life is who they are. It is important. His/ her character, values, habits, are important when it comes to my vote… not whom they are telling us they are planning to be.

Therefore if your character is very checkered even if you are competent, then step away and let better characters with competent minds lead. Remember all persons make decisions from the content of what they have accepted as their own values. These decisions become policies, laws and sometimes a new culture is created. Otherwise accept the fact that if you would be “king or queen” in the democratic “kingdom” of Barbados, then along with unemployment, economic crisis, taxes, crime, corruption, inter alia, your character, your past and present must be debated. Now that is dealing with the issues.

59 responses to “If I Should Be King”

1. @ Cresoe.

“Go back two years before the election, when I asked about a Manchurian candidate. If you do not know what that is, read up on it.

My opinion is that Trump is a frontman, the question is for who, what group?”

I will ignore the implied slur of ignorance in your first sentence, and tell you categorically that while The Obamination is a frontman for Soros, Trump is a frontman for the American people, who have been sold out, robbed blind, and ignored by a succession of crooked politicians in the un-democratic Democrat Party.

2. @ de moronic dribbler – Obama is a historical president you think? I don’t, he is still working away with his Deep State placements to thwart the will of the people, circumvent the Constitution, and deny democracy. HE is responsible for the deaths of the Hamas patsies in Gaza, …

Hamas Rioters Paid $100/Day to Attack Israel, Funding Came From Obama..

https://www.westernjournal.com/ct/hamas-rioters-paid-attack-israel/

3. Are we going to have serious policy discussions before next week?

4. pedantic,

I am saying that Trump is directly attacking institutions that protect the US.

That is concerning and one should ask why!

Hence my reference to a Manchurian Candidate.

@45. No slur intended, sorry. I disagree fully. The proof is in the result and who benefits. Currently, tenets of US independence and checks and balances are being attacked.

That cannot in any way nor manner be beneficial to the US or the citizens. It is highly alarming.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am not familiar with the Manchurian candidate devoid as I am of these sensibilities.

Tsun Tzu sounds like the sound I make when I am in company and sneeze and have to use my hands because I ent got a handkerchief.

So de ole man ent as wise as wunna fellers.

What de ole man sees in every single one of Trump’s actions is an unerring attempt to create some sort of situation which, be it internal to the United States of Murica or external, causes some sort of disruption to the mechanism that is the engine of his nation, to stop

It does not take a rocket scientist to comprehend therefore what he is doing.

It is like being 5 years again and your fadder comes and catches you in the shirley biscuits can and you have been warned not to interfere with the biscuits UNLESS he or your muddah gives you some biscuits and you start to ask him, if he saw that the doberman is running loose in the yard.

The man is infantile in his actions being caught with his hand in the pokey, or his weiner in golden showers or up in that Stormy Daniels

And as soon as it becomes evident that he WILL BE KICKED OUT OF THE WHITE HOUSE he approves the status of some nation, or authorizes the shfting of an embassy, makes another nation pay for a wall, or sets up a feller who is paying his bill for people’s fronts.

However when a feller friends also unfaithful dem is doan say anything bad about a philanderer in arms

6. Piece

…”What de ole man sees in every single one of Trump’s actions is an unerring attempt to create some sort of situation which, be it internal to the United States of Murica or external, causes some sort of disruption to the mechanism that is the engine of his nation, to stop”….

All in the effort to rid the scourge of the Deep State worldwide.
    Trust the plan.
    Starting with the DOJ, CIA and FBI …a clean house is necessary.
    Watch the unfoldment of indictments, firings, demotions, resignations and Corporate closures.
    30 000 in the USA, 200 000 worldwide.

Follow Q.

7. de pedantic Dribbler

…” a sitting president illegally demanding that his Postal Service commissioner invalidate a contract with Amazon”…

Do you really understand the brevity of that statement?
    Trump directed the Port Authority… Who controls the Port Authority?
    Trump on top of the game and knows the who, what, when, where of the controllers.
    Amazon does not contribute fairly to the US economy.

8. I hope MIA will rescue wunna from de Mexicans!

One of the five commercial Banks in Barbados has sold its portfolio of overdue mortgages to a Mexican company that will be pursuing Barbadians for the money with an added charge.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/21/bajan-mortgages-gone-to-mexico/

9. Don’t get tie-up… A mortgagee signs a contract with a Bank.(and that really IF the bank signed it).. NO ONE OTHER THAN THE SAID BANK can come to you demanding A, B or C UNLESS you are in a contractual binding agreement .

IT IS CALLED EXTORTION.

Banks run from and are humbled to CLASS ACTION LAWSUITS and many errors can be found in their operations.