Submitted by David Comissiong
THE  FIRST  QUESTION we must confront is this :-   if an economic crisis exists in Barbados, as it undoubtedly does, who and what is responsible for it ?
Let us start with the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) governmental administration! After the DLP came to power in 2008, the international economic recession caused the opening up of a 500 Million dollar deficit in Government’s finances. And to their everlasting shame, the DLP Administration sat idly by for nine long years and did nothing of substance to correct the fiscal imbalance.

Indeed, rather than take meaningful steps to correct the fiscal imbalance, they initially pretended that it was no big deal and would automatically correct itself in the near future. And when this facile pie-in-the-sky approach to governance came to nothing, they commenced upon the irresponsible and unsustainable practice of borrowing money from the National Insurance Scheme to pay  monthly salaries. They also blissfully and irresponsibly indulged  in reckless spending that further exacerbated  the situation!
Furthermore, not only did they permit the fiscal rot to gradually worsen year after year, but they also failed to devise any new ideas or measures for promoting growth and diversification in our economy.

Indeed, Stuart and company spent ten long lazy years telling the Barbadian people that our nation is a small and helpless nation and that there is nothing of consequence that we could do about our predicament of economic malaise other than to wait for improvements in the international economy ! And while they were feeding our people this diet of “learned helplessness” so many other countries (many of them with less resources than Barbados) were positively forging ahead. 

You see, having failed to take effective measures to restore the soundness of Government’s finances, they ended up saddling our country with a thoroughly dysfunctional and crisis-ridden governmental administration that was in no position to take up the critical Mission of leading a national effort to extricate our country from recession and to restore the economy to an upward trajectory. 

Almost alone among the CARICOM countries Barbados continued to suffer economic decline year after year, and to have its international credit rating down graded time and time again 
The sad truth is that Messers Stuart and company exhibited little or no energy, imagination, intelligence, initiative or leadership in tackling the festering fiscal and economic cancer, and thereby became the chief authors and manufacturers of the current, extremely dangerous foreign exchange, debt and economic crisis that our country is facing.
Truly, the combined David Thompson / Freundel Stuart Administration has been a “know nothing, do nothing– except fatten themselves” Administration!
Yet, in spite of the fact that they are the one who bear fundamental responsibility for the sad state that Barbados is currently in, their shameful attitude is not only to greedily reinstate their 10 per cent increase in salary, but to also callously settle upon the scapegoating and savaging of public servants and statutory corporation employees as “their” solution to the crisis.
As far as these political miscreants are concerned, they need their 10 per cent salary restoration in order to live, but it is okay to throw thousands of low level public servants on the dump-heap of unemployment without a concern as to how they and their dependents are to survive.
THE  DEEPER  MEANING  OF  PRIVATIZATION  AND  RETRENCHMENT
But the truly critical point I would like all Barbadians to appreciate is that when the DLP political directorate tells you that the way forward is to divest and privatize state enterprises, abandon social welfare programmes, and retrench public sector workers, it is in effect informing you that it is ABANDONING  any aspiration that the future of our country will be based upon the educated and trained masses of our people owning and controlling the major institutions of our nation.
And if the future of the nation and its economy is not to be based upon the empowerment of the masses of people, then the plan must be to base it upon a continued and enhanced empowerment of the traditional white Barbadian economic elite and the predominantly North American, European and French Creole (Trinidadian) “foreign investor” entities that they are wont to align themselves with.
But none of this should come as a surprise to any of us! We already possess stark and painful evidence of the shameful way in which the current Governmental Administration has prostrated itself before the likes of Mark Maloney, Bjorn Bjerkham, Bizzy Williams and the Da Silvas, and has conferred a series of outrageously privileged governmental contracts on these and other members of the traditional business class.
There is no doubt that Barbados is in a state of serious economic ctisis, but the way to solve that crisis is NOT to treat trade unions as “the enemy” or to savage public sector workers and their jobs. Nor is it to dismantle the critical educational, health and social welfare mechanisms that are required to produce a mass of trained and empowered citizens who are capable of appropriating and undertaking responsibility for the development of their nation.
The way forward for Barbados CANNOT be to go backward to an era in which ownership and control of our nation’s economy was firmly and squarely in the hands of a traditional white oligarchy !
On the contrary, we must continue to hold on to the notion that the economic and social development of Barbados has to be based on the foundation of a highly educated, cultured, healthy, employed and empowered mass population.

THE  WAY  FORWARD
The economic situation that faces Barbados is severe but it is not insoluble. The first order of business is to re-establish the soundness of the finances and credit of our Government, and this can be achieved, but only if the public sector trade unions are treated with respect by the Government and are permitted to use their extensive and intimate knowledge of the Public Service to craft appropriate strategies. Nobody knows better than the public servants  and their  trade unions where the waste, duplication and inefficiency resides in the system . They are therefore much better equipped to craft sensible and humane strategies of change and improvement than clueless Government Ministers!
We all need to remember that when the “Movement” for the upliftment of the Barbadian masses started in earnest in the 1940’s, it was a “Labour Movement”, with the political party (the Barbados Labour Party) and trade union (the Barbados Workers Union) working together, hand in hand. The spirit of this Movement needs to be revived, but this can only happen if the trade unions are given the respect that they are entitled to.
The other major item on the national agenda has to be the devising of economic strategies to grow and develop the economy. And here again, this is not beyond us! But first of all we need to jettison the self-negating idea that either the traditional white Barbadian businessman or the so-called foreign investor is required to be our saviour. (There is a place and a role for the traditional elite Barbadian businessman and the foreign investor but it CANNOT be a place and a role of primacy!).
Secondly, we must commit ourselves to the notion that we — the tens of thousands of Bajans –will assume the primary responsibility for establishing and developing productive enterprises in our own country, and that we will do so on the basis of elevated standards of education and training for our people in general and our youth in particular.
In other words, our nation’s economic development must arise from our people’s human development, and vice versa. These two spheres of development must therefore be symbiotic and must mutually propel each other. And none of this will be possible if we demolish the “human development” of tens of thousands of our citizens by throwing thousands of public sector workers into unemployment, or if we dismantle or disable the critical human development programmes and structures that public servants man.
Indeed, the Clement Payne Movement and its sister organization, the Peoples Empowerment Party, long ago outlined the parameters of such a developmental strategy :- the development of the Education sector as a foreign exchange earning industry; the construction of a Manufacturing industry comprised of a  cooperative, centralized domestic sector and a high technology export sector; Cultural, heritage, health and sports tourism; cultural or Arts-based industries; the development of a cooperative or people’s sector of the economy; a public / private sector partnership in the development and commercialization of unique, indigenous national assets; and the list goes on.
The ideas are numerous and powerful, but their validity and potency will only become clear if one is philosophically committed to the construction of a truly democratic and egalitarian Barbados that is owned by the masses of the Barbadian people.
This was the original vision and mission of the Labour Movement. And this must be the vision and mission that we fight for when we line up behind the new , presumably Barbados Labour Party, government and our trade unions in the  months and years ahead.

39 responses to “Analyzing Barbados’ Predicament and Looking to the Future”

1. The descendants of African slaves, black men and women who polluted the people’s parliament for the last 52 years right up until last month, should be ashamed of themselves.

2. Let us start with the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) governmental administration! After the DLP came to power in 2008, the international economic recession caused the opening up of a 500 Million dollar deficit in Government’s finances. ….(Quote)

This is a rather bold statement. Where is the macroeconomic evidence for this? How did the global recession cause Bds(?)$500m deficit?

3. PoorPeacefulandPolitePensioner Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolitePensioner

I agree with Bob Verdun that the leader of a country with a fragile economy should never relegate to another person the authority for steering its financial matters. Stuart didn’t care for the responsibility. The buck stopped well short.

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

whereas it might be smart that ” the leader of a country with a fragile economy should never relegate to another person the authority for steering its financial matters,” it is also true that FUMBLE is not smart, nor would he know what to do in this area……..after all, this is not about making useless quotes.

Not only did Stuart not didn’t care for the responsibility….he was incapable.

And by the way was not Bob Verdun convicted in the Canadian courts for some malfeasance?

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

Commie Song why didn’t the Maduro plan which is your plan of taking over all the means of production work? Venezuela has an educated class too and they are running things through the Government. That is what you are proposing, go and ask Maduro how it is working and the people are eating out of the garbage and the army is deserting because they cannot get food to eat. The People are pouring out of Venezuela to Columbia, Brazil and are even flocking to Trinidad.

My recommendation for you is that people Rush to a Place when things are going good and Run from a place when things reach despairing levels. Please go and help Maduro work his Socialist/Communist Magic you have the same goals as him…I beg you go and if ya en got de money somebody will pay your way even Maduro himself to help him take the full blown Socialism to Communism. Should you return in twenty years to retire we would then see how good your plans are working by implementing Socialism more perfectly. But Please, Please do Not lead Barbadians to the Maduro Trough.

You have to be detached from reality what you espouse is Collectivism where the Mob Rule and individual Sovergenity does not count. Your idea of Individual rights is a fallacy and a lie. It is incredulous that you would use your brain to want to make people of Barbados miserable like the Venezuelan Citizens are. I have noticed when they are burying their little children who have succumbed to starvation that other children carry their coffins and at their wakes they bring morsels of supplies to the grieving mothers and fathers. May God Have Mercy. Now their monthly salary is 2$ US.

Typical of all leftist you also promote Divisiveness and expect a country to prosper. You Promote Envy and Covertciousness. Tell me which country has prospered dividing its country into tribes?

The only Ideology that is so stupid is Socialism/Communism and that is what you believe in and uses your brain to promote and deceive others. One of the main things that Socialism/Communism believes is that the Wealth of a Country is fixed and they decide how to Chop it up.

Apple the most Valuable Company in the world created wealth from their humble beginnings in a garage. Socialism/Communism creates Misery, Desperation, Crime, Starvation and has no philosophy of wealth creation only Division. The road of Socialism is the Road to Suicide.

Although you Spout your Ka Ka from the rooftops and have a few accolades, your path is a path to Hell and that where you want to take Barbados.

These days we know the Story of the Pied Piper Mr. Commie Sing Song. We have your number and we know your Song and we are not following you. That is why I am inviting you to go to Venezuela and Play your fiddle and Sing your Song.
    You are inviting people to Commit Suicide and you are playing the part of the Pied Piper. We have seen your kind before and they leave Destruction in their wake. One only has to look at Guyana, how long did it take Guyana to Recover from Forbes Burnham and Cheddi Jagan. How Long has it taken Jamaica and it is still reeling from Norman Manley?

And your favourite places of Utopia and Paradise destroyed by the late Chavez whose daughter is the richest person in Venezuela and his successor Maduro and last but not least the Castro’s. Wow what an Aspiration to Desire to achieve.

Even the mighty Owen Arthur during his last term in office in order to reduce level of unemployment expanded the size of Government. That army of occupation is what is strangling us now where everyone wants to live at the expense of another.

Take your Crack Pot Communist Ideas when you go through the door to Venezuela. I see through you like a pane of glass with all your fermented verbiage, you are inflating yourself to secure a position in Government. Your Formula is built on Hate and Divisiveness with no real ideas only creating chaos, and as soon as people like you acquire power their True Dictator colours emerge.

The way to Judge is a clear as night is from day…By their Fruit you shall know them

https://www.brainyquote.com/photos_tr/en/r/randallterry/381763/randallterry1-2x.jpg

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dr. GP

That is precisely the point, one that de ole man has been making for months.

Neither Fumbles nor any of his (previously David Thompson’s “Dream Team, were or are capable of managing the affairs of Barbados.

Every one of them was and is and ever shall be a misfit for the competent administration of the affairs of government.

This is what the IMF has been saying as diplomatically as possible when they speak to Implementation Capacity Deficit

And it was the reason de ole man spoke of them in the unflattering way that I did earlier this week.

Bless their souls Dr. GP none of them ent mek themselves but when you tek de village idiots and the dredges of society and put them in the so called highest offices of the land, WHAT CAN ONE REALISTICALLY EXPECT?

All disciplines have some sort of qualification exams for one to pass if one is to practice the substantive discipline, architects, lawyers doctors.

Yet here we put the veritable village cretins to run the affairs of the rest of us and then throw our hands up in the air WHEN THE EFFERS FAIL!

Steupseeee

7. I have lost all respect for the former BLP leader who seems to be tormented from his lost of leadership. But seeks to destroy the very person he put in a position to lead, Come on A W take a final bow now you had your chance let Mia have hers. Is he suffering from paranoia induced by alcohol? That is serious !!!!!

8. The comment on A W Barbados former Prime minister is meant to be Owen Arthur and not AW, its a typing error

9. Fractured BLP Avatar

Louise

For you to come back a second time – to amend your first comments

Indeed confirms – that you are the ONE affected by paranoia induced by ALCOHOL 🍺 !!!

Wuhloss !!

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured Fowl…3…2…1…..OUT..lol

11. Why are my comments awaiting moderation.
    David u need to stop playing silly games

12. Time and time again i have noticed that any of my comments that states negativly towards commissiong articles David place them in moderation
    In my previous comment on this article my commentary direct a favourable response to Freedom Crier stating ” well said” and the comment is thrown to moderation
    Is Commissiong articles exempt to negative comment

13. Stop whining you mendicant yardfowl..my comments get moderated too.

14. So what so wrong by making a fovourable response towards another commentator in three word by saying “well said ” what so offensive in those words

15. FC. comments obviously does not tow the BU line even when the truth is being told. Shame on you David

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Freedom Crier May 18, 2018 8:43 PM
    “Socialism/Communism creates Misery, Desperation, Crime, Starvation and has no philosophy of wealth creation only Division. The road of Socialism is the Road to Suicide.”

So how then do you explain Communist China? Aren’t the capitalist countries of the West some of its biggest trading partners?

What about the many developing countries with capitalist-oriented economies that are so dependant on ‘Foreign Investment’ out of the same ‘communist/socialist’ China?
    H
    ow come there is a Chinese embassy in your fair capitalist land called Little England?

‘Freedom Crier’, you need to check for the ‘intelligent’ variable to help you solve the equation in order to bring a sense of balance to your arguments.

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Because ya are not a fellow commenter, ya are a yardfowl looking for attention, just post the damn comments already, until they show up.

18. Yardfowls come on to BU and show no respect by attacking the blogmaster.

What RH’s!

It is is like a man coming into my home and insulting me…….cant happen. As far as I am concerned, David is too tolerant to the yardfowls!

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They dont like to move on is why, yardfowls stuck in whine mode, you post a comment, it gets moderated, it might show up or not…move on to the next comment, but no, these want to rant, and ya can bet the comment is in keeping with yardfowl philosophy…totally useless.

20. Comissiong certainly you have been reading the facts as stated by Mr. Mottley wherby more than a million dollars in taxpayers money when the blp was in power was erased on monies he owed to the IRS
    Now with such croonism when the blp was in power how can you in good faith put pen to pencil to criticize .
    The blp has left barbados in massive debt to the point where Mia has declared in the blp manifesto that the IMF might be the blp choice of helping barbados tackle the massive debt accumulated when the blp was in power

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa May 19, 2018 12:25 PM
    “The blp has left barbados in massive debt to the point where Mia has declared in the blp manifesto that the IMF might be the blp choice of helping barbados tackle the massive debt accumulated when the blp was in power”

Does that “massive debt” include the borrowings accumulated from 2009 to 2017?

But we can expect such arithmetic accuracy from a donkey called ac who like her idol Sinckler can arrive at the following solution:

$ 6 billion borrowed by the BLP +$ 7 billion borrowed by the DLP to payoff the $ 6 billion borrowed by the BLP = $14 billion accumulated by the BLP for the DLP to pay back.

Now where does the debt to the NIS fit into that equation?

22. Mia says don’t waste your time with 3rd parties.

Someone else said, they are either card carrying members of either DBLP..lol

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/18/dont-waste-your-time-with-any-third-parties-mia/

23. Well yes debt is debt. But when factors negates no other alternative then the path which present govt embarked of more borrowingmight be one influenced for the national interest and security of the nation.
    The blp reigned in times of plenty at a period of time when they could have afforded to lay the groundwork with a foundation that would have lessen our debt and secure the national interest in sustainable ways for the future.

24. Election clerks and poll clerks are being warned to be very careful when ID cards are presented.

Word is that these morons do not intend to go away by a clean ballot.

I heard a man on Brasstacks saying that he has received election circulars for relatives who have been dead for many years………

My postman had circulars with names he have never come across in all his years on this route…..

John King said on Thursday night that many names have been added to St Philip West……two persons in the same house with the same first name and last name but with a different middle initial and a different date of birth.

They may not be able this time around to round up the block people and put them in vans to go to the polling station as phones cannot be taken into the booths……. so out comes another plan.

But tell me how are they going to match the pictures of these bogus ID cards to the information on file? Do they know that the actual files for each polling district are taken to each polling station so that the suspicious ID card picture must match the one on file?

25. We all need to remember that when the “Movement” for the upliftment of the Barbadian masses started in earnest in the 1940’s, it was a “Labour Movement”, with the political party (the Barbados Labour Party) and trade union (the Barbados Workers Union) working together, hand in hand. The spirit of this Movement needs to be revived, but this can only happen if the trade unions are given the respect that they are entitled to.

What you fail to realise is that after the second world war Barbados economy was booming like many others in the world.

The world supply of sugar in 1945 was 15 million tons, down from 30 million tons at the beginning.

The war had destroyed the sugar industries of many countries in the pacific and had lain waste to the beet sugar industry in Europe.

The world could not get enough sugar … prices were high.

By 1957, Barbados’ output had reached a figure of over 200,000 tons, repeated again in 1967.

Money was flush.

Increases in wages could be absorbed easily in the short term but the socialist policies of the Government and ever increasing demands for wage increases of the union were unsustainable.

The failure of the economy was preordained by the Government and the Union.

Unfortunately a provable simple fact.

Socialism at work if you like …. predestined to fail!!

…. sucked de bubby dry!!

26. So, if socialism caused the problem the last thing we want is more socialism.

27. BTW the world sugar demand is many times greater than what it was after the second world war… and growing.

After all, the population worldwide is growing.

So the question one would need to ask is why aren’t we still in the market?

… because we have priced ourselves out of it.

28. This is an interesting documentary about the Dominican Republic and Haitian labour.

Very, very sad, an extreme.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ prodigal Son

You said and de ole man quoteth

“…But tell me how are they going to match the pictures of these bogus ID cards to the information on file?

Do they know that the actual files for each polling district are taken to each polling station so that the suspicious ID card picture must match the one on file?…”

I would ask the following questions and await your answers

I take it that you are saying that actual picture laden ID files are taken to each piling station correct?

So if the ID issuing authority is complicit in a scheme to falsify the base set of records by what means is it possible for any party to gainsay the authenticity of any ID?

As a procedural aspect of ID issuance is it not a fact that the agency that issues IDs and the Electoral Boundaries Commission are both housed in the same department?

My simplistic point being, if false ID is issued, procedurally, recourse to ascertain, and thereafter, gainsay the accuracy of said ID, is a timely and nebulous process

Add the immediacy of calling the outcome of the count of the votes the same night and what one has is a collosal cluster bad word which will take weeks to resolve if not months during which time Barbados will have an INCUMBENT INCOMPETENT ILLITERATE ILLEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT which can and will frustrate the reconciliation process ad infinitum

Then, DURING THE ENSUING UNREST, they will invoke the Emergency Powers Act and drive out the new Defence Force truck “crack some heads and kill some people…”

Niceeeeee…..

30. David Comissiong writes, on May 18, 2018:

“… and the list goes on.”

But the list, quite obviously, doesn’t go on. The list hasn’t even started. You haven’t outlined a list of practical things. You’ve assembled a collection of t-shirt slogans and bumper stickers, expressed in an impassioned political rhetoric that is quite literally child-like, littered as it is with infantile exclamations and bafflingly random capitals.

Not one single practical suggestion, in Hundreds! of words.

I can match you.

We should develop a cooperative, mass-based satellite, launch it, and then lease it to the Canadians.

We should Immediately! get our Educated masses to find an Arts-based cure for cancer, and make trillions!!

And the list goes on.

31. John May 19, 2018 9:09 PM

Dominicans are some of the most racist people in the Caribbean, which is why they find it convenient identifying as Latinos. Look at how they treat Haitians? For those who talk about nationality and citizenship, the Dominicans have resisted for decades giving citizenship to those of Haitian heritage born in the Dominican Republic.

32. HOPEFULLY YOU WILL BE REWARDED FOR YOUR LOYALTY.

David Comissiong has taken to the stage at the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) Splash Rally in Silver Sands, Christ Church.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/159727/comissiong-backs-blp

33. ” within the first year of a Solutions Barbados government, there would be a billion-dollar surplus.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/160073/solutions-government-knight-owen

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

“there would be a billion-dollar surplus.” They (SB) struggle with finance. Maybe decimal challenged like the current MoF.

35. Mash Up and Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up and Buy Back

You haven’t read a book since you left school, have you, David? You haven’t.

The “comprised of” is a tell. In a field wherein even the placement of a COMMA can make the difference between life and death, your failure to distinguish between “comprises” and “consists of” is interesting.

If I ever needed a laywer in Barbados, you would be my last choice.

36. To err is human don’t you know?

37. Our government working for Barbadians!

COUNCIL OF LEGAL EDUCATION
    HUGH WOODING LAW SCHOOL
    NOTICE
    ECONOMIC COSTS BARBADIAN NATIONALS
    The Council of Legal Education’s Regulations for Professional Law Schools 2016 provide as follows in Regulation 13 as follows:

Fees
    (1) (a) The fees payable by students admitted to the Law School, as referred to in Article 9 of the Treaty, mean the amount required to be paid by each student calculated on the basis of the per capita economic cost but shall be reduced based on the contribution made by the respective Governments to the economic cost attributable to each student.

(b) The economic cost shall not be fixed, but shall be based on the per capita cost of maintaining each Law School for the previous year.

(c) The Council may from time to time increase the fees.
    (3) (a) A student admitted to a Law School from a territory which at the time of admission is in arrears for a period of twelve (12) months or more in its contribution to the budgets of the Council, unless the Council permits payment by the territory to be deferred for a specified period, shall be required to pay the economic cost so long as that territory is in arrears but shall be reimbursed the difference between the normal fee and the economic cost for any period in respect of which that territory ceases to be in arrears during the student’s course of study at the School.
    (b) A student admitted to a School from a territory which, subsequent to his admission, falls into arrears in its contribution to the budget of the Council shall pay the normal fees during the year in which the territory falls into arrears but

in any subsequent year of study may be required to pay the economic cost.
    (c) A student who is required to pay the economic cost under subparagraph (3)(b) shall be reimbursed the difference between the normal fee and the economic cost for any period in respect of which that territory ceases to be in arrears during the student’s course of study in the School.

On September 6, 2013, the Council of Legal Education agreed as follows:
    Where the defaulting territory has not cleared off those arrears or the student does not pay the full fees, that student will not be awarded the Legal Education Certificate or will not be allowed to register for a subsequent year while the fees are outstanding as the case may be.

BARBADOS NATIONALS

The Government of Barbados is in arrears for a period of twelve months or more in its contribution to the budgets of the Council.
    New Students

If this position remains unchanged at the time of admission in September 2018, then, pursuant to Regulation 13 (3) (a) (new students) in order to be registered for the academic year 2018-2019, Barbadian nationals will be required to pay the full economic cost of TT$97,546 plus compulsory fees of TT$820.
    Returning Students

If this position remains unchanged at the time of admission in September 2018, then, pursuant to Regulation and 13 (3) (b) (returning students to Year II), in order to be registered for the academic year 2018-2019, Barbadian nationals will be required to pay the full economic cost of TT$94,704.61 plus compulsory fees of TT$570.

May 17, 2018