Submitted by Doc Martin

The DLP has dropped its promised bombshell and the revelations of Mr. Owen Arthur in his press conference given yesterday are like shrapnel! Conspiracy theorists and sensationalists will have a field day not only with Mr. Arthur’s revelations of the alleged malfeasances of the Mottleys but with his motivation for the expose.

But Mr. Arthur also painted a sombre picture for the economy of Barbados. Not that we needed him to do this. Any Barbadian who is willing to understand what is really going on in the economy can do so by perusing at least three readily available official documents: (1) the Central Bank Reports (2) the Annual Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals of the Minister of Finance and (3) IMF Article IV Consultation reports on the country. (See selected links at the end). Of course, these documents need to be studied together if enlightenment is to occur.

The Annual Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals of the Minister of Finance are, of course, tinged with partisan political perspectives and the Central Bank is a creature of the government, as the recent firing of Dr. Delisle Worrell illustrates. The IMF Article IV Reports on the country are less subject to local influence and, therefore, offer a more unbiased assessment of the economic state of the country.

The Issues
I would like to address two issues emanating from these documents: (1) what they tell us about the state of the Barbadian economy and (2) what are the implications for the incoming government and by extension, current electioneering.

State of the Barbadian Economy
In summary the documents listed above tell us three things that we need to truly understand about the finances of Barbados Plc:

(a) As a country, we have over borrowed and are now nearing “insolvency”
(b) On a recurrent basis, we are spending more that we are earning.
(c) Government institutions are highly inefficient and this obviously means we are spending more on and in them than is necessary.

Together (a) and (b) are tell us that we are living above our means! That conclusion is not new. In all fairness to the Mr. Stuart, he has said this on more than one occasion. It is also true that the Government has tried to rein in expenditure.

What is most important for Barbadians to understand is that all three of these things are interrelated. We have borrowed to help finance capital expenditure e.g. for infrastructure such as schools, roads etc. (on a household / personal level, this is equivalent to borrowing to build a house or buy a car). But we have also borrowed to help finance current expenditure e.g. paying salaries of government workers, paying utilities etc. (this is like our taking a loan to buy food and clothing, paying the electricity bill etc).

We are also using up our savings (namely national insurance) to finance both of these types of expenditure, so much so that the NIS is under pressure! And worse of all, when we do get money, we channel it into government departments and statutory corporations (e.g. Sanitation Service Authority, Barbados Water Authority, QEH, Corporate Affairs) that are highly inefficient and unproductive.

All of the above are reflected in the 2016 Barbados Article IV Consultation No. 16/279 of states:

The fiscal situation remains challenging despite ongoing government adjustment efforts. The [Financial Year] 2015/16 budget deficit was broadly unchanged at about 7 percent of GDP. Revenue measures, though raising revenue by 1 percent of GDP, fell short of target due to implementation delays.

Within that last sentence lies the culpability of the DLP government viz. “implementation delays”, sometimes referred to as the “implementation deficit”. This general characterization continues in the latest (2017) Barbados IMF Article IV Report which, inter alia, states:

With the growing financing challenges and falling reserves, the government introduced an ambitious budget on May 30, 2017 aimed at significantly reducing the fiscal deficit and shoring up international reserves. However, exemptions to the NSRL, lower-than-expected non-oil imports, shortfalls in some other revenues, and high transfers indicate that the government is likely to fall short of its target…
The adjustment strategy should focus on addressing the high transfers, containing other current expenditures and maintaining a strong revenue effort… Reforms of state owned enterprises should include improved management, cost recovery, reduced services, mergers, closures, and privatization…
A concentrated effort to improve implementation capacity, including by providing clear direction and clarifying expectations, is also needed.

Again, that last statement shows the problem facing the Freundel Stuart administration: lack of capacity to implement. This translates into managerial performance (or non-performance) and therefore, critics may feel justified in charging the government with mismanagement.

Ironically, however, the government could justify its implementation behaviour by claiming that it has been trying to soften the blow on Barbadians. In fact, that is what it is arguing in this current election. The problem is that not many Barbadians are likely to accept this. The man-in-the-street will only be concerned about whether he (or she) is employed, the size of his pay packet and the cost of living. He is not concerned about “fiscal deficit”, “external debt”, “implementation deficits” and concepts of the sort. Life is seldom fair; political life unforgiving.

It should also be noted that these IMF reports support the criticisms levelled by Mr. Arthur and others at the BLP’s pie-in-the sky manifesto. The reader should also note that the Leader of the Opposition is included in IMF Article IV consultations:

The [IMF] mission met with Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler, Acting Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes, Minister of Industry Donville Inniss, the leader of the opposition Mia Mottley, senior government officials, and representatives of the private sector, labor organizations and academia.

Implications for the Incoming Government
I doubt I could a better job of addressing this than Owen Arthur, notwithstanding his penchant for melodrama. According to him (Nation Tuesday 15 May p.14):

The next government will have to dig Barbados out of an economic black hole…What is facing the next government cannot be fixed overnight…It might take three years or even more to even stabilize it…before we can think of giving out benefits to the Barbados society”.

We can liken Barbados Inc. to a family that has managed its finances badly and now finds itself up to it neck in debt, cannot feed itself consistently, pay bills etc. It has several choices, none of them pleasant: if it is renting it needs to find cheaper accommodation; if it has the privilege of having its own home it might have to sell off the property to pay back the bank; it may have to beg for handouts etc!

From time to time, we have seen articles warning Barbadians about their spending and personal finances. Successive Barbadian governments have led us to believe that it is OK to spend and to expect Government to provide a range of free services. The ready availability of credit cards has not made it any easier for Barbadians to exercise personal financial discipline. We have now come to the end of our financial tether and, as I said in my previous submission, there are no pain-free ways out of this mess.

Implications for Voting
Barbados now needs a mix of people to steer the ship of state away from the rocks. As the IMF reports show, the DLP has failed to manage the process of restructuring in a timely manner. They have also engaged in several corrupt practices themselves; for example, they have restored the 10% ministerial cut in salaries at a time when we cannot afford it yet would have us tighten our belts.

On the other hand, the BLP, as the most recent events have shown, appears to be very much out of touch with fiscal reality.

Regarding the UPP, one of their former candidate, Linda Field, has painted a picture which is quite revealing:

Unfortunately, I have come to realize that the UPP is not a serious political organization. It has no structure [and] communication with the leadership is limited to WhatsApp and Facebook. Frankly, I don’t think that Ms.Eastmond has what it takes to lead and I want to make a difference”. (Barbados Today, April 5, 2018).

Solutions Barbados has some good ideas for dealing with efficiency in the public institutions (badly needed according to the IMF) and the issue of integrity. However, their fiscal measures announced in January this year by Scott Weatherhead, are inconsistent with what we know about the needs of the economy:
“Complete removal of the 10 percent NSRL in its entirety; complete removal of the 17.5 percent Value Added Tax; complete removal of the 2 percent foreign exchange commission; reduction of personal Income tax from the range 16 – 35 percent, to a 10 percent flat tax; no taxes on public workers salaries, a removal of import duties, taxes and levies on healthy foods, and a reduction in land tax through our agricultural incentives.”
(Loop News [online] 23 January, 2018)

Unless the party has subsequently come up with brilliant measures for raising replacement revenue above and beyond the current amount required to reduce the fiscal deficit to about 4% (as advised by the IMF), as well as reduce the national debt, then the party is making the same mistake as the others. However, to its credit, and unlike the UPP, the party has strong leadership and highly committed candidates.

Voter Dilemma
Despite what the commentators have said about third parties, a desperate Barbadian electorate has opened a space in its mind for a viable third party. A third party is a new product, an innovation and regrettably, like most people who do not understand what marketing is, the third parties have failed to perceive themselves as new products and therefore, apply well known strategic marketing management principles and practices to this new product. This includes product configuration (ensuring the party has mix of people with different backgrounds e.g. lawyers, economists, strategic management specialists, other professionals), targeting (addressing the needs of multiple stakeholders), positioning (Solutions Barbados for example, is perceived as a party of technocrats) and finally integrated communications (messaging, advertising, promotions, public relations etc. etc).

All of this poses a real dilemma for the voter looking for a real change. However, I do hope that the election will NOT be won outright by either of the main parties and that a coalition will be needed. This would help at least one of the new parties to gain some parliamentary experience, some “first hand” knowledge of fiscal issues and hopefully prepare them for the next election.

My ideal coalition would be made up of the DLP and Solutions Barbados candidates. Given their track record so far, I would not trust UPP candidates NOT to cross the floor!

Selected References
2015 Barbados Budget:

66 responses to “The Barbados Economy and Voter Choice”

1. @David: “You are aware that the citizen votes for a member of parliament and not party?”

Technically, David; but certainly not psychologically!

@Are-we-there-yet: “You seem to be unaware that you need to have a Proportional Representation (PR) system in place before you can use it to facilitate a coalition Government”.

This is simply not correct. Check your “facts”. By definition, proportional representation (PR), especially simple proportional representation – as practised in Sweden – will always lead to some form of coalition government; however, the latter (coalition government) does to require the former, that is, PR.

2. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right re. “How can such a “collaboration” be achieved in Barbados where people rather the majority of the electorate are fickle persons incapable of discoursing on the most basic of requirements?…..”

If you are right! But, what about yourself? If you were the MOF what would you do?

3. Meanwhile the DLP is yet to release a Manifesto

4. “How can it be silly season eight days away from a very important general election? How does one define silly season?”

Come off it, my friend…….you are being ridiculous and childish!!!!

Your above comment is an example of what journalist do during the “silly season.” You did not have anything important to contribute, and as such, you used the space to dwell on a frivolous issue.

Because you are perhaps aware that, in the UK, the “silly season” is a few months during the summer when journalist who would normally report on political matters, “run amuck” reporting unimportant and frivolous issues, because, for example, parliament is in recess and there isn’t anything political to report………

……….you are juxtaposing that with the Bajan custom of referring to the general election campaign period when politicians talk shiite……. as the “silly season,”………….. to basically imply we are ignorant of the term.

However, in the US, the “political silly season” is normally defined as a period of time when politicians and their lackeys “do or say things that are not sensible or serious.”

“Much ado about nothing.”

5. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Doc Martin;

Now I see how you des cafuffle yuh students wid inaccurate information. You seem a trifle confused yourself.

In an established PR system (like Guyana) Parties compete against one another and parliamentary seats are divvied up in a preestablished ratio based on the total number of votes cast for the party in the whole country as compared with total votes cast for the other parties. In an FPTP system like in Barbados and practically all the other Anglophone Caribbean territories people vote for an individual candidate and each individual candidate can claim his own seat, depending only on the party for facilitation of all his requirements for winning. If Barbados had a PR system most of our elections would have been extremely close based on total votes cast and would have often given rise to 15-15 or 16-14 pluralities (but note that the total seats are typically odd integers not even ones) whereas such votes in our FPTP system here has often seen significant differences in total number of seats earned even with very closely matched percentage votes. In Barbados a PR system would have made essentially no difference in the relative proportion of the votes cast, and hence seats won, as compared with an FPTP system. Indeed, 3rd parties in Barbados would not have received enough votes to merit even 1 representative in the last 40 or so years under either system.

If the 3rd parties get stronger of course there would be a greater likelihood of them achieving a sufficient number of votes to qualify for one or 2 seats and, as the system matures, even more. But that time is not yet here from all I can see or hear from my friends who run the gamut in terms of party support in Barbados. There is a possibility that that time will come fairly soon when voters are more aware or conditions get really bad. But the current BLP or DLP parties would have to actively go to parliament to set up and pass a system that would likely lead to their own demise It might even need a constitutional amendment to change from FPTP to a PR system. Yuh can’t just change to a PR system just so! You can’t just declare dat yuh changing to a PR system just so!

6. PERFECT TIMING

For the first time ever, the Orbis Flying Eye Hospital has landed in Barbados.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/158073/flying-hospital-arrives-barbados

7. “We have borrowed to help finance capital expenditure e.g. for infrastructure such as schools, roads etc. (on a household/personal level, this is equivalent to borrowing to build a house or buy a car).”

It is widely recognized that government spending on public infrastructure and the provision of basic education and medical services raises the economic potential of an economy…..i.e. provide a positive boost to economic growth.

Could you please explain how is this “equivalent to borrowing to build a house or buy a car?”

8. Less than a week after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) released its May 24 election manifesto in which it explicitly states that it has no policy on same-sex unions, the party’s St Thomas candidate, Cynthia Forde, is assuring that if elected, the BLP will not be pursuing any gay agenda.

“Nobody in the Barbados Labour Party is interested in any same sex marriage. We have neighbours that believed in same sex. They were discreet, both man and woman, we tolerated them, we have learned to tolerate people, [but] I am not interested in any man marrying a man or a woman marrying a woman. That is their private life. Do what they feel like in their bedrooms, but do not bring that as part of the Barbados Labour Party’s agenda.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/16/no-gay-push/

9. oops!

Ahead of Thursday’s manifesto launch by the incumbent Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leader Mia Mottley took Barbadians by surprise on Wednesday night, as she pulled out what was said to be a copy of the DLP’s promissory election document.
    The unexpected development came during a BLP meeting at Clevedale, St Michael.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/16/mia-unveils-dlp-manifesto/

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght

https://i.imgur.com/RTEw26u.png

@ Doc Martin

I am not too sure if this supports your subject matter

ooops! ( I think that i will blame Brother Hants for this ooops thing lolol)

11. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

12. Are-we-there-yet May 16, 2018 8:45 PM

“Now I see how you des cafuffle yuh students wid inaccurate information. You seem a trifle confused yourself…Yuh can’t just change to a PR system just so! You can’t just declare dat yuh changing to a PR system just so!

Please quote me the sentence where I said that we can use or change to a PR for THIS election? You can’t, because I said no such thing!

On Bloom’s taxonomy of intellectual skills, you have not yet demonstrated competence in the lower order skill referred to as COMPREHENSION. Consequently, I am not sure you will reach the higher order skills of ANALYSIS, SYNTHESIS and EVALUATION….before the election!

So, here is what I said to you at May 16, 2018 12:19 PM:

“If we had such a system in place AND providing the third parties received a reasonable amount of votes, then we would not be HOPING that the character of the new government would be different! I think that is a change that Barbadians need to demand going forward. Are you there now?”

Did you see that “if”…(and the minor premise?)

Did you also see the statement, “I think that [PR] is a change that Barbadians need to demand going forward”; Hello! “going forward” can’t refer to the current election!!! It makes no sense! We DO NOT currently have PR! See why you would have failed my test? Come on, man! Let’s see if we can think clearly here!

As I said before, this is a high stakes election and the only way we can break the duopoly is if there is a coalition, that is, if one of those third parties gets six to eight seats (and of course neither of main parties gets more than 15 seats). At least, this is how I understand the constitution. Why is this so hard to understand…and accept? Will you help make it a reality?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Interested readers are invited to check out coalitions in the UK, our “parent democracy”: N.B. . the UK does NOT have PR. It uses the same system we do – FPTP.

http://www.parliament.uk/site-information/glossary/coalition-government/
    http://www.parliament.uk/site-information/glossary/minority-government/
    https://www.parliament.uk/site-information/glossary/proportional-representation/
    https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/apr/15/coalition-governments-what-are-they-and-how-are-they-formed
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Number_of_Westminster_MPs
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/news/3742623/coalition-government-general-election-2017-result-dup-conservatives-deal/

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Doc Martin

Me fears de ole man falleth right in that cusp and simian taxonomy you spoke of before

And I shall ask you to work with me here not as to what a coalition government is composed of that is your 12:12:6 but the how

Where would BAJANS obtain an insight as to which of the intellectual geniuses like Patrick Toad, or Adriel Nitwit, Minister of Edyashun Ronald WeJonesing or Chris Decimals Bond Stinkliar we would vote for in your suggested coalition?

Suppose the results was a 14:14:2 and dem two was Patrick Todd and Ronald WeJonesing?

I is a simple man with even simpler reasoning skills so I ent even get to the coalition yet I jes at the how would it become a reality.

I am not seeking to frustrate your reasoned submission but only wish to point out that what you are actually suggesting is even more frightening than the existing structure.

Such a coalition would mean that we would have to do something with our political gene pool to begin with , like eradicate 71.9% of the barely intellectually read simplistic candidates

Just as an asidewatch how these 3rd parties disappear from the landscape after the 25th.

They will not remain and build anything that shows where their real commitment is

They are just along for the short term

14. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Doc Martin

I think both of us did not try hard enough to understand the other’s point or points.

I was concentrating on what I thought were the main points of your chapeau article and the heresy of strategically forcing an implicit coalition now, perhaps by use of a PR system in Barbados while you were reacting to simple and perhaps even simplistic points I had made. Even though the “fine print ” of your allusions to coalition and PR had exculpatory weasel words, the overall thrust of the article appeared to be that your vaunted “coalition” and “PR” system were suggestions for the “now” and not for the near future otherwise why make proposals that could not work in the current or past political system and climate of Barbados.

But this is essentially a barren discussion that has no real utility at 7 days before the next elections.

But really, I agree totally with a coalition as the best bet for us to move away from the stranglehold of the DLP and BLP parties outside of a pachamama guillotine system. But how do we realistically get there from here? If you search the archives here under the pen name Checkit-out you should find that I proposed such an idea prior to the last election. What are the conditions that would allow the possibility of achieving such a system? How can politicians or people like you, or a plurality of the “People of Barbados” as a group, strategically force it? Its important to clearly elucidate the steps for dullards and older folk like me long past their 3 score and ten.

Uh gone.

15. Are-we-there-yet May 17, 2018 8:59 AM

It’s OK my friend! I know where your heart really is. I am really hoping that Barbadians will surprise us and help us turn the corner.

Cheers!

16. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Doc Martin;

Its young people like you who can make Barbados great again. Even if your mind is made up already. Spend a night or two going through the streamings of the main speeches for both the DLP and BLP and look for the UPP and Solutions Barbados Youtube offerings and use your intellect to weigh the differences. The choices are not as easy as you might think. A strategic decision now that places Barbados’ needs first and foremost, and nuff work later to change the overall system is, imho, the best way forward.

Leave a Reply to ArtaxCancel reply