In the first part of this essay last week, I commented on the positive and negative consequences of the Prime Minister advising the Governor General to issue the writ for a general election to take place on May 24; the likely record number of parties and individuals contesting the elections; the prominent role that the offence of bribery was playing in early popular discourse and the relatively minor part that more substantive issues were occupying in the public domain.

With the launch of the campaigns of the major parties last weekend and the excitement of Nomination Day last Monday, the battle has now been well and truly joined.

What has been noteworthy about the approach of the so-called duopoly is their identical treatment of the launch of the campaign and the introduction of their respective candidates being two distinct events; a strategy available to the better-funded campaigns only, I presume. None of the others has followed a similar course, contenting themselves with traditional spot meetings and social media campaigns.

Having attended none of these four main events thus far, my commentary is based mainly on hearsay and the other secondary sources of media reports. The similarity in strategy between the older parties appears to have ended in the staging of dual meetings however, since the opening gambits appear to be diametrically opposed. For the Democratic Labour Party [DLP], the engagement strategy appears to be the one pursued so successfully by the all-conquering West Indies cricket team of the 80’s and 90’s, -that is, if we can prick the bubble of mystique that surrounds the leader of our opponent, then the battle is already more than half-won. It is a strategy better known in the Barbadian vernacular as indicating the importance of the brain (head) to physical soundness –“When de head gone, the whole body gone…”

While it is, of course, far too early to gauge the effectiveness of this approach, it is one clearly fraught with some degree of risk since the leader of the Barbados Labour Party [BLP] is female and it is not irrational to assume that its supporters might readily conflate what is intended to be a purely partisan political barracking with an attack on the female gender in general… even though a reasoning electorate should be careful to distinguish between the two by virtue of the content. In other words, a broadside against the political acumen and leadership ability of an individual -whether male, female, blackish, whitish, affluent or “scrunting”-, ought not to be melded into an assault on all those identically situated merely by virtue of the identified characteristic.

Nonetheless, to found an election strategy on a plinth that requires the appreciation of such a comparatively fine distinction by an impassioned local electorate appears in hindsight to be unarguably risky. The call is not mine to make, however.

For its part, the BLP appears to have adopted an equally risky strategy for its platform. While it is understandable that the promise of a better economic future for the citizenry would be an attractive sop for a jurisdiction and an electorate in deep economic “doo-doo”, the more cynical voter might be mistrustful and wary of promises of a soonest return to a former prosperity that would entail a revival of formerly available civic entitlements, an increase in a named social security benefit and the concomitant reduction of a much despised imposition.

In light of the actuality that an electioneering promise is not otherwise enforceable except as a matter of propriety, a party should be diligent to persuade an discerning electorate of its bona fides by reasoned argument and not merely by platitudes that require them to trust the word of the promising or representing entity.

I readily accede to any argument that I am not a politician, and it may be too that I am unfamiliar with how a local electorate reasons, if it does so at all. If I had my druthers, though, I would not have advised either of the strategic approaches adopted by the major parties so far as being too electorally risky.

As for the other combatants, I remain hopeful that a creditable platform will emerge from among them, one that is based on practicable policy as well as one that respects the guaranteed fundamental rights of citizens.

Just recently, I received a flier from one “third” party’s candidate in my constituency and I am forced to wonder whether a competent individual was allowed to vet the material therein by before publication. One paragraph speaks to “Charged Persons” and boldly indicates that “only the charges and court cases of those convicted will be published”. And, as if this threat to press freedom were not sufficiently chilling, it is further stated that publishing any such details of innocent and not-convicted persons will attract “defamation fines”. The material proposes to quantify these penalties on the loss of reputation and loss of earnings (suffered by the innocent party, I presume) owed to the publication.

This is surreal. While our neighbours are striving to abolish the offence of criminal defamation, we are attempting to apply it to a wholly inapplicable circumstance -one where there is no defamation- and further to impose monetary penalties therefor where there can be no likelihood of loss of reputation caused by the publication. Lord, put a hand!

72 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Anatomy of an Election Campaign II”

1. Yeah Simple..I have heard endless horror stories about the jackasses who are feeding off the taxpayers making up their own rules to torment the same taxpayers on a daily basis. who pay their salaries…when they have to go into taxpayer funded buildings to conduct business.

Then to top it off we got clowns on the blog calling me crazy…when their crazies are loose in the government offices…and even in their parliament.

the people on the island really need a wake up call…it might save them in the long term…where do all of them get this brutal, vicious mentality from, it is like a battlefield…lol

As I said, some things I much prefer not know, because I can see how mentally unhealthy knowing will be.

I can’t for the life of me figure out how someone can have a constituency office in Warrens, complete with billboard, just paid again to try and reclaim the constituency and yet ya hearing all these excuses like if it was a phantom running around pretending to represent the area…bajans really got foolish patience.

2. Well Well I too can open an office, I too can put up a 20 foot billboard, but if I am not elected by the people i don’t get to collect one red cent from the taxpayers, and a good thing too, otherwise on a road near you you will soon see a sign

VOTE SIMPLE SIMON

and I would be laughing all the way to the bank.

Don’t get confused.

You have been corrected by David , by Enuff, by Georgie Porgie and by me.

Now please be a good girl and stand down.

3. See why I don’t want to know everything now…the people in the area should chase Hinds away permanently.,besides me seeing it for myself at least in the last 3 years, someone told me that billboard has been there for years.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Simple…am telling you, people who live in the area believed Hinds was their representative for years…it is not my scam, it is somebody’s scam….and somebody should investigate to make sure he has not collected money on that scam…he can’t collect my money.

5. Tell me the names of those people and i will ask to have them struck off the voters list, because clearly they are brain dead and should not be voting.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Have you seen the area where I said Hind’s constituency office is, ya can get the cops called on ya if ya look like ya should not be up there, it is not a depressed area, more the reason to investigate what was up with him.

what the residents said is all they see him doing is driving around and want to know what kind of representation was that…but they honestly believed him to be their representative, these are not crazy people…and I believe them.

7. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

Well Well what a real jackass, for your reference I live internationally not in small minded Barbados where you would fit right in with your CONSTANT drivel.

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Whatever…yall are well known thieves and money launderers and always have to be covering ya tracks.

9. “Tell me the names of those people and i will ask to have them struck off the voters list, because clearly they are brain dead and should not be voting.”

Simple Simon

Perhaps they are imaginary “people” (figments of someone’s imagination…..created to justify an error, rather than admitting they are wrong). And an individual would have to be similarly “brain dead” to believe those “people.”

It is impossible for “people who live in the area (to) believe Hinds was their representative for years,”……

………. when they would have known that Rolerick M. Hinds contested the 2013 general election as the DLP’s CANDIDATE for St. Thomas. The BLP’s candidate, Cynthia Forde won the “seat” with 3,660 votes (65.40%) to Hinds 1,919 votes (34.40%).

As such, Hinds is NOT the DULY ELECTED REPRESENTATIVE nor is he eligible to receive a salary/stipend from Parliament……..and is ludicrous to suggest this.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

I read your article in a slightly different vein and arrived an what methinks is a provocative variant of part of what you requoted

“One paragraph speaks to “Charged Persons” and boldly indicates that “only the charges and court cases of those convicted will be published”.

Such a comment galvanized de ole man to think of an application of such a variant for the legal fraternity much in the vein of the visual carousel of Lawyers in the News here on BU

Would you be one to support a system which effected a similar monitoring of all the brethren of the legal fraternity?

Suppose that a mechanism which effected the following functions were to be established for your fraternity

A tool which would function as an “interlocutor” for your fraternity to ensure that there is an equitable exchange of services rendered for the compensation proffered.

A platform and impartial facilitator for consumers to guide their choices of Lawyers for matters of “public” transactions requiring legal expertise.

More specifically what if that platform operated in a small way like Solutions Barbados proposal and made public those reported situations where a lawyer was not ammmmmm above board in his dealings eith the public

Suppose further that platform provided such Due Diligence Monitoring like

Listing the records of Lawyers involved in untoward incidences in protecting client monies, commingling escrow assets and/or other legal duties for ghe public
    Providing Performance ratings and Integrity Monitoring for lawyers, track record of delivering timely services to the general public

Would you be supportive of such a system?

A tool that woyld disseminate ratings of lawyers adherence to ethical business practices and their observance of desirable industry standards?

I was just wondering if yu might be “chilled” by that mechanism which would seek to use such public broadcasts to keep lawyers and former speakrrs of the house honest.

De ole man genuinely would like to know your stance on mechanisms that seek to keep others in your fold who are not honest and principled like you on the straight and narrow path

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

12. Fractured BLP Avatar

Fart Tax a.k.a Artax

You got the whole of Barbados 🇧🇧 laughing 😂 !

You claimed on this BU blog a few weeks ago – that George Payne & Edmund Hinkson shook hands and men up !

Yet up to noontime today – the matter is still before the Supreme Court of Barbados 🇧🇧 !

Oh what a LIAR bout those 2 theives mek up

13. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 13, 2018 10:49 PM “Have you seen the area where I said Hind’s constituency office is, ya can get the cops called on ya if ya look like ya should not be up there, it is not a depressed area.”

I have for very many, many decades lived within ten/fifteen minutes walk of where the sign is located. Nobody in my area, including my family, friends, neighbours, schoolmates, church members, children’s friends and schoolmates, professional associates, service people etc. believed that Hinds was their Parliamentary representative.

Because he has NEVER been elected to anything. He trying a t’ing again this time, and Cynti will whip his @ss again this time. I know because I am on the ground. Not Underground. Lolll!!!

When you are wrong, just admit that you are wrong, and move on.

14. @Artax May 14, 2018 2:50 PM “The BLP’s candidate, Cynthia Forde won the “seat” ”

CORRECTION: Ms. Cynthia Forde EARNED the seat. Proper woman. Proper representative. She ain’t no laggard.

15. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 13, 2018 10:49 PM “ya can get the cops called on ya if ya look like ya should not be up there, it is not a depressed area.”

And in many decades, nobody has ever called the cops on me. And I have never called the cops on anyone, although once i had to escort a bad john from my home because without invitation he was lurking deep in my backyard.

But when I see him in town, which I do at least once a month I still give him a shout out.

16. So…..which is more important………….

…….a court case between Edmund Hinkson and George Payne……

………..or a CIVIL SUIT filed against the drunkard and DISHONEST lawyer MICHAEL CARRINGTON for with-holding the funds of the wheel-chair bound senior citizen, John Griffiths…….and with-holding funds from and overchraging Ajax Construction?

Who has “the whole of Barbados laughing” more………….

……….me posting to BU that I HEARD the case between Payne and Hinkson was discontinued…….

……….or rather than admonishing dishonest Michael Carrington for stealing the funds of a senior citizen and refusing to answer his request for payments and removing him from the post of Speaker of the House for this dishonest deed……..Freundel Stuart advised him to “get a lawyer?”

And….by the way…….up to noontime today – the Civil matter of Ajax Construction versus Michael Carrington is still before the Supreme Court of Barbados.

17. “…….although once i had to escort a bad john from my home because without invitation he was lurking deep in my backyard……..”

Simple Simon

You did borr Bushie’s whacker to escort dah dude?

18. “Simple…am telling you, people who live in the area believed Hinds was their representative for years…it is not my scam, it is somebody’s scam….and somebody should investigate to make sure he has not collected money on that scam”

It may be a different scam. He may not have received a cent of government money, but a simple citizen may have attempted to get help from him because of the sign and was the citizen was soon parted from some of his money. All angles should be explored

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Would you be one to support a system which effected a similar monitoring of all the brethren of the legal fraternity?

Suppose that a mechanism which effected the following functions were to be established for your fraternity

A tool which would function as an “interlocutor” for your fraternity to ensure that there is an equitable exchange of services rendered for the compensation proffered.

A platform and impartial facilitator for consumers to guide their choices of Lawyers for matters of “public” transactions requiring legal expertise.

More specifically what if that platform operated in a small way like Solutions Barbados proposal and made public those reported situations where a lawyer was not ammmmmm above board in his dealings eith the public

Suppose further that platform provided such Due Diligence Monitoring like

Listing the records of Lawyers involved in untoward incidences in protecting client monies, commingling escrow assets and/or other legal duties for the public
    Providing Performance ratings and Integrity Monitoring for lawyers, track record of delivering timely services to the general public

Would you be supportive of such a system?

#Piece, Yes I would, but you should note that SB wants to punish the newspapers and other media for reporting that someone was innocent and not that he or she was guilty!

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

Thank you kindly for you answer

But you did not have to subject me to so unkind a remark by referring to the non comments of Solutions Barbados heheheheh

You may not be aware of the deep regard I have for the I-SO-SIMPLE-IN-9001-WAYS CREW but I will share that while I do have a respect for Greenville and his integrity his ideas are disturbingly infantile

As he has proven once again with this statement

21. It will be interesting to listen to the DLP platform message tonight post Elliot Mottley’s press conference.