Twelve days before E-Day and the blogmaster anticipates the political temperature measuring the nasty will increase.

A noticeable feature of the campaign so far has been an ‘attempt’  by all the political parties to discuss issues. The DLP strategists have a right to determine the approach to win the general election. The plan to attack Mia Mottley we will see how the electorate responds. Overall the quality of debate coming from the political platforms has been poor.

As a keen observer of local affairs, it has become patently obvious the political class has been attracting individuals whose main reason for entering public life is to earn a salary and benefit from the influence and largess the political office will deliver for personal gain.  Listen to the contributions being delivered by many of the candidates on the campaign trail and the intellectual capacity of many comes into question. The observation is not to suggest political candidates aspiring to public life must be MBA trained. What the blogmaster wants to see is a healthy mix of individuals who aspire to political office who are intellectually strong AND driven by by an unswerving desire to serve the public. The quality of wanting to serve the public is important because it will bring integrity to public office and ensure the political class- an important stakeholder in civil society- can lead by example.

Given the declining state of the economy, physical infrastructure, decline in the social fabric and so on the blogmaster anticipated the quality level of the political debate would be off the dial. Instead we have had to listen to a rehash of conversations past. We do not have the maturity to conduct national debates between the political candidates and  parties. It is noticeable that a leading media house has created a forum for the parties to share their message with the electorate, for free, and the DLP has refused to participate. With two weeks to go the DLP has not shared its plans with the people to ensure there is a thorough discussion to inform final selection. The focus is on the politicking to inform strategy at the expense of ventilating the issues affecting the people and what is good to sustain success of a tiny island.

One useful discussion item that has emerged from the 2018 political campaign is the behaviour of political candidates. We have had to listen to David ‘pitbull’ Estwick calling the lord’s name on the platform. Steve Blackett calling Mia musty and so on.  Donville Inniss and Stephen Lashley have been quick to defend the party position as groupthink in local party politics demands. Is this the political theatrics we want to encourage on the Barbados political scene? Do we not anticipate where promoting party colours will land us in the near future?

When the dust settles we have to admit the behaviour of political candidates will ultimate be determined by what the public demands. Auditor General reports, questionable decisions by the Director of Public Prosecutions, dysfunctional working committees of parliament have confirmed the inability of the public to hold the feet of pubic officials to the fire. It stands to reason we have a scenario playing out in Barbados where the tail is wagging the dog if we are to appreciate the workings of how our system of government should work.

We have had public officials refusing to attend sittings of the Public Accounts Committee and those who attended feeling no fear of discipline by giving muddy answers. There has been the case of a member of parliament brandishing a gun within the precinct of parliament, a Speaker of the House ordered by a justice of the High Court to repay a wheelchair bound septuagenarian his funds.  The political class it is safe to conclude by the lack of urgency to advocate against matters mentioned and others are prepared to betray the basic tenets required of a public servant.

Another aspect of the landscape is the access to an abundance of cash by political parties to spread the ‘message’ in the silly season.   It clearly points to what is known and that is all political parties have masters they must serve. We continue to fool ourselves that the bastardized model of the Westminster System inherited from a colonial past is relevant. It bears repeating, several layers within a Westminster System must cohesively function to deliver as originally designed. So far on the campaign trail we have listened to a tinkering of the issues located on the fringe, with 12 days to go who knows what the morrow will bring.

66 responses to “12 Days to Go…it is the Governance Model Stupid”

1. @ Fractured BLP May 13, 2018 7:50 AM

You are in your rights to ask questions even if it is promote propaganda, likewise one can also counter with questions for what it is worth for unless one stands up to an allegation, it can take destructive root.

Why did Owen Arthur removed you as Attorney General of Barbados , at the time he did?

Q… Was it that she refused to tow the line?
    Q… Was the directive/content revealed?
    Q… Did it create a rift?

How many Boko Haram fighters are you accommodating at Fosters Fundland in St. Andrew ?

Q… Wouldn’t the authorities be aware of any such activity/numbers?
    Q… Wouldn’t they have to enter at a port? or if via illegal entry by sea?
    Q… Wouldn’t the RRS and coastguard be notified and aware of possible illegal entry by sea?
    Q… Would villagers not be in the know?
    Q… If there is any truth, wouldn’t the authorities be in the mix?
    Q… Who carries reign of power?

3.Did you issue directives to those Boko Haram fighters down at Fosters Fundland – to bring only the prettiest girls to you ?

Q… How many girls have gone missing?
    Q… Where are the Police records?
    Q… Where are the public service announcements to support such activity?

Did you receive Central Bank of Barbados clearance to bank the US $ 2 million that the Nigerian Benedict Peters gave to you ?

Q… Everyone is entitled to E-Commerce transactions, Does this exclude Ms. Mottley?
    Q… Should the minority 1% class declare contributions to any and all political parties?
    Q… Does Central Bank work for the BLP?

Finally , since the charge was made – why have you & the BLP not deny that the Nigerian Benedict Peters , is strategizing and funding your campaign ?

Q… Who has made the charge?
    Q… Have the “current government” had questionable services of consultants, contracts and strategists throughout their tenure?
    Q… Who is funding the DLP campaign.

Answer what?
    Answer those!
    Persons descending on Carlisle Park will be the paid canvassers from respective constituencies. an a few diehard members and few followers on social media.

Sunday the 13th May 2018 will be the reading of the Eulogy.

2. 90% of the land that Cow and those gang of minority crooks claim to own, was stolen from black elderly people and their beneficiaries, most of them without their knowledge and against their WILLS, helped by dirty black alive as well as long dead white lawyers, also helped by those in the judiciary and land registry ..they are the original land thieves on the island.

That land needs to be returned to their rightful owners and the thieves along with their treacherous lawyers still alive, locked the hell up…none of that land was attained honesty..

so when the frauds come on the blog with their hypocrisy and lies, they are trying to justify land theft for fear of losing what they stole….

…, that is why both old political parties need to be broken up and disbanded..because all ministers over the decades aided in the land theft to benefit minorities and disenfranchise the majority population who elected them, there has to be reckoning..

3. Fractured Fraud…ya sound scared with all these nonsensical accusations..lol

4. Freedom Crier Avatar

nineofnine May 13, 2018 10:39 AM
    “Land Grabbing in local parlance is having the capital, the connections and influence to buy up available and “not available land”. Is this covetous, greed?”

That is Industry and Commerce not covetous and greed… They had to start small to reach where they are at but you want to use the same Greed and Covetous and Teck All. I have told you that if you want land can you buy land in Barbados? If you want a Plantation can you buy a Plantation in Barbados? If you want to buy shares in Sagicor Co that owns a lot of land in Barbados can you buy the shares? The only thing stopping you from purchasing land is because (1) you do not have the Capital or (2) you think you are entitled to what other people own for Free. Both of those means will be Unsuccessful.

You are trying Race and Hate to Gin up Covetous, Enviousness and Theft!

I know your Ideology of Communism for it is the same Ideology put forward by the man to change the Constitution of South Africa so you can get the land by Tecking it. And By the way the Land that is being proposed to be stolen from the people of South Africa was Swamp land before it was drained and put to good use.

Nobody is saying that they aren’t injustices in the world but with more Freedom comes more opportunities…Have you not looked around at what happened in Zimbabwe when they did exactly what you are recommending? Have you not looked further to see who benefited in Zimbabwe? Haven’t you kept up with the news that the same person that expropriated the land, Magabe, is the richest man in Zimbabwe and the people were all still in Poverty? Have you not further heard the news of the overthrow of Magabe? The same people who the land was expropriated from were invited to get back to work the land and make it Productive once again.

Even in Barbados there is a program for “for the Landless” to work the land. But you do not want to say that because your aim like all Marxist is theft. You would be good company with Commie Song so go and join his Party if you have not already and sound like you’re trying to help people but all you want to do is to encourage Thievery.

I would go as far as to say that you were Never an Entrepreneur and that you have worked in Government and was in a Position of Authority and those like you who believe in coercion are part of the problem and not part of the solution. You have cornered yourself in your own ideology that is why people like you are so Dangerous that will Ferment Revolution, Death, Misery and Poverty all the while claiming that you helping people.

http://www.bruceonpolitics.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Capitalism.-Saving-the-poor.-650.jpg

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

Well Well glad to hear that you have all this Proof, Please pass it on to the authorities or that is called Slander which is your blueprint. Since Bajan’s have been in power all these years you are accusing them all. You have now made all Barbadian Leaders who we have ever had part in leadership and Law of theft by your accusatory remarks, but only you Well Well is capable of Righting the Wrongs.

Tell us I pray, Tell part of your History where you have Corrected these wrongs so we may have confidence in your Ability to right the wrongs! Even if you have not righted many Wrongs tell us of your Good Works? Cat Got Ya Tongue?

What we see coming from you is HATRED, Foul Language, Slander, Maliciousness, and on and on, are these the attributes that is in your heart and you want to direct others what they should do? Truly You are the Blind trying to Lead the Blind and thinking you have Sight.

Laughable Really…BU HUMOR Indeed!!

http://graphicsheat.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/inspirational-quote-humor-mark-twain.jpg

6. FreedomCrier.

You have a problem. You are exposed.
    For the record…an Entrepreneur YES…. MULTIPLE BUSINESS OWNER YES!. Working with Government is a two-way working relationship. (Not an employee of Government).

One can see through your agenda, your symptomatic accusations are your own and your identity. . another stealthy operandi.
    expect no further comments.
    enough said!

7. Freedom Crier Avatar

nineofnine May 13, 2018 12:58 PM’ “For the record…an Entrepreneur YES…. MULTIPLE BUSINESS OWNER YES!. Working with Government is a two-way working relationship. (Not an employee of Government)”.

I do not Believe you for No Man that has been in the Forge of life as an Entrepreneur would Advocate and Encouraging others in the Act of Theft. People like you Lie & Lie some More oftentimes Practicing Sucking and Whistling at the same time!!

https://static.quizur.com/i/b/5580628b35f7f6.487997115580628b1a60e4.00247635.jpg

8. The DLP manifesto out? I get a watsapp bout a fb post where a guy saying he refused a DLP manifesto from this rasta man that was delivering it. To which the rasta guy said he just delivering the manifesto because he getting paid and he voting for Mia too. So it out?

9. The DLP manifesto is not out, what they havedistributed at the Carlisle Park meeting is a broadsheet of achievements.

10. @Jeff
    Having attended none of these four main events thus far, my commentary is based mainly on hearsay and the other secondary sources of media reports.

I thought you legal scholars normally disavow “hearsay”! What stood about the launches is that the DLP seemed unprepared although they controlled the levers of power and the timing was under their command, whilst the BLP after a slow jog were off and running even releasing a “mini manifesto”, followed by the full document replete with talking points for their most ardent supporters. So far, the DLP’s manifesto is conspicuous by its absence which can be interpreted in many ways the majority of them negative.

11. Fractured BLP Avatar

Sargeant

The BLP manifesto offering raincoats for gas ⛽️ attendant workers !

Incredible don’t you think – given that our gas ⛽️ stations are very well covered !

Though in Nigeria 🇳🇬 quite a few gas ⛽️ stations are not covered !

You go figure !

12. Fractured J/A you do not tire talking shite,every one ofyour posts is about some trivial nonsense.I still do not understand why David do not ban your sorry ass off his blog with your constant rubbish talk.You believe you are speaking to 10 year olds that you can impress with this?Tell your party to come with their Manifesto so that persons can evaluate your plans,not this childish game you want to play.Bajans want to hear serious discussion not innuendo.Last Sunday,s launch was the worst Meeting I have ever heard off and you all were rightly condemn on Brasstacks and all over Social media,for such classless behavior from the useless Mr Blackett ,Dr Estwick,Mr Sinkler and the PM.I notice Ms Tudor of NISE was absent,good for her but the other females ,Mrs Sandiford -Garner ,Ms Depeiza and Dr Byer Suckoo should hold their heads in shame,and no female should vote for any of them.I wonder what Mr Broomes thought of their behaviour?

13. Mine @3.35 pm is in the wrong thread

14. Fractured where is this bombshell you were speaking of?You referring to digging up an issue from 1992 or so about Ms motley,s father is that it?IWhy during your 10 years you have taken no action on this matter?This is pure political grandstanding from the PM and Mr Sinkler,hoping for something to stop the Mia Express,but like all else including the cussing,nothing is going to help you.You can bring Pegasus Tapes ,cananoun Tapeswhat ever you like what I want you to bring is your record of achievement of ten years and defend it.By the way didn,t Mr David Thompson write off 9 million dollars for the wealthy Turf Club,why was this done?On top of that didn,t Mr Thompson take up 10 million dollars of taxpayers money and put into Clico.You ever hear the saying about glass houses?

15. Why you people bother with freedom crier is beyond me. Just tell her that a tief from a tief does mek God laugh and move on nuh.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply