For those who have experienced several election cycles, it is tiring to hear career politicians alarming us that every General Election is critical to Barbados’ future.  It is now a standard claim that is used by all political parties to encourage people to vote.  However, the aftermath is the same.

After the election results are announced, and the jubilation had ended, the politicians normally gather around the trough.  They are surrounded by their political supporters who hope for spillage when the politicians feed, while the rest of us begin to realize that nothing would really change.

Since our independence 52 years ago, we have only had two political administrations, the BLP and the DLP.  They both made promises to properly manage Barbados’ economy, and we believed them.  However, all they have done is to bring us to the brink of economic ruin.  They have both brought us to where Jamaica and Guyana were before their currency was devalued – out of all good options.

With Barbados national debt exceeding 150% of GDP, which is significantly higher than the 40% GDP debt upper limit that the IMF warned us not to cross, we can expect the devaluation of our dollar.  Since we have no local banks, we can expect everyone who is paying a mortgage, and is not earning foreign currency, to lose their house within 3 years.  We can expect most of the middle class to be reduced to poverty.  That is only some of the austerity that they are promising us.

For the first time since our Independence, all politicians in Barbados appear to be telling the truth.  If we have the misfortune of electing any other party than Solutions Barbados, Barbadians will receive the severe austerity that they are promising.

After bringing us to the edge of the cliff of economic ruin, they are now promising to push us over.  They promise us that if they are elected, then we will be forced to take their bitter medicine and harsh austerity.  They blame us for living above our means, when it is them who have borrowed above our ability pay.  Why do we have to pay for their gross mismanagement?

Well, they can keep their bitter medicine for themselves.  In a Solutions Barbados administration, the only persons who will have to take bitter medicine are corrupt individuals, because they alone deserve this correction.  However, there is prosperity for everyone else.

Solutions Barbados is a group of Innovators who tend to improve whatever responsibilities they are given to manage.  They have an average of 20 years of managing through innovation and are offering to use their experience to the benefit of all Barbadians.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

39 responses to “The Grenville Philips Column – Crying Wolf”

1. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

How is Free Enterprise “Capitalism” better than Socialism?

The essential nature of Free Enterprise Capitalism is social harmony through the pursuit of self-interest. Under Capitalism, the individual’s pursuit of his own economic self-interest simultaneously benefits the economic self-interests of all others. In allowing each individual to act unhampered by government regulations, Capitalism causes wealth to be created in the most efficient manner possible which ultimately raises the standard of living, increases the economic opportunities, and makes available an ever growing supply of products for everyone. The free-market operates in such a way so that as one man creates more wealth for himself, he simultaneously creates more wealth and opportunities for everyone else, which means that as the rich become richer, the poor become richer. It must be understood that Capitalism serves the economic self-interests of all, including the Non-Capitalists. “And even if we were all magically made equal in wealth tonight, we’d be unequal in the morning because some of us would spend it and some of us would save it”. Lawrence Reed.

Contrary to widely held beliefs, capitalism is not a system which exploits a large portion of society for the sake of a small minority of wealthy capitalists. Ironically, it is actually socialism that causes the systematic exploitation of labor. Since the socialist state holds a universal monopoly on labor and production, no economic incentive exists for the socialist state to provide anything more than minimum physical subsistence for the workers except to perhaps prevent riots or revolutions. Exploitation is inherent to the nature of socialism because individuals cannot live for their own sake, rather, they exist merely as means to whatever ends the socialist rulers—the self-proclaimed spokesman of “society,” may have in mind.”

http://iblogwhatihear.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/failure-to-success-quotes-images-unique-images-people-don-t-see-what-matters-want-to-travel-the-world-for-cheap-of-failure-to-success-quotes-images.jpg

2. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

What is a Capitalist?

From a purely economic point of view, a capitalist is a person who buys in order to sell for profit. However, the productive role that capitalists and businessman serve cannot be overstated.

Far from being exploiters, the true function of capitalists and businessmen “… is to raise the productivity, and thus the real wages, of manual labor by means of creating, coordinating, and improving the efficiency of the division of labor.” By continuously improving the efficiency of labor, Capitalists and businessmen are responsible for raising wages and creating employment which serve to raise the standard of living of everyone.

Furthermore, by funding research and capital investments, corporations and capitalists make possible all of the modern day conveniences, from laser surgery to orchestra halls that most people take for granted every day. In fact, since capitalists make available so much life-saving and labor-saving technology to so many people, they should be regarded as some of mankind’s greatest benefactors. A few capitalists and businessmen have done more to help mankind live a more enjoyable life in a more fundamental sense, a capitalist is anyone (from a janitor to a millionaire) who lives solely by his own effort and who respects the rights of others. The best symbol of a capitalist is the trader. That is, the man or woman who only deals with other people on a voluntary basis. A capitalist is neither an “exploiter” nor necessarily a “greedy” individual.

“Free-market Capitalism is a network of free and voluntary exchanges in which producers work, produce, and exchange their products for the products of others through prices voluntarily arrived at…Man has rights because they are natural rights. They are grounded in the nature of man: the individual’s capacity for conscious choice, the necessity for him to use his mind and energy to adopt goals and values, to find out about the world, to pursue his ends in order to survive and prosper, his capacity and need to communicate and interact with other human beings and to participate in the division of labor”…

http://www.braintrainingtools.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/What-the-mind-can-conceive-and-believe-and-the-heart-Achievement-Believe-Heart-Desire-Mind-Quote-by-Norman-Vincent-Peale.jpg

3. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

What is the Opposite of Capitalism?

Statism, in any form!

Statism is the concentration of power in the state at the expense of individual freedom. Capitalism is the only system which protects individual rights and freedom, but the variety of political systems which violate individual freedom are numerous: Socialism, Communism, Fascism, Nazism, absolute Monarchies, Military Dictatorships, Theocracies, or the Welfare State are all systems which infringe upon individual rights, which means they institutionalize the initiation of force against their citizens.

It must be realized that there are only two fundamental political philosophies: those who are for freedom and individual rights and those who are against them. The types of political systems who are against freedom and individual rights are numerous, for there are many ways to violate the rights of man, but there is only one political-economic philosophy which upholds that the rights of man are absolute and immutable—Capitalism.

https://pics.me.me/statism-the-belief-that-you-require-permission-to-befree-27265477.png

4. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Mr. Phillips… How will Solutions Barbados implement more Free Market Systems like giving Small Businesses and not only Big Businesses Duty Free Concessions as a means of a Hand-up and not a Hand- out and by not continuing to suppress small Businesses as we have witnessed by the Cronyism Practiced in the Past by both the B & D Administrations?

We must be able to have a System of Governance that allows Free Market Enterprise without all the burdensome regulations and heavy Taxation’s.

“Free-market Capitalism is a network of free and voluntary exchanges in which producers work, produce, and exchange their products for the products of others through prices voluntarily arrived at…. Man has rights because they are natural rights. They are grounded in the nature of man: the individual’s capacity for conscious choice, the necessity for him to use his mind and energy to adopt goals and values, to find out about the world, to pursue his ends in order to survive and prosper, his capacity and need to communicate and interact with other human beings and to participate in the division of labor”…

Capitalism is a made up word by Communist to describe “Free Enterprise and the use of Capital”. Free Enterprise, for it to be Free, must be Free of all encumbrances that will control it. Crony Capitalism, uses the word Capitalism in an effort to change the language from the word Free-remembering Capitalism = Free Enterprise. What we have pre-existing in the world is not Free Enterprise; Crony Capitalism is an attempt to label the System of Free Enterprise by regulating it until it is no longer Free. Free Enterprise (Capitalism) = Free Markets

Cronyism is where big business and governments collude to give special favours to those entities to the exclusion of the ordinary person. Crony Capitalism is an attempt to label the System of Free Enterprise by regulating it until it is no longer Free.
    Consider that one of the Fruits of Socialism is Crony Capitalism. True Capitalism and Free Enterprise is good! What has developed is due to the bastardization of the two by Insane Taxes, Stifling Over Regulation. This has allowed Cronyism through Politicians and Big Businesses that are forced to “play ball”, to Commit Theft and Control in Such a Grand Scale that is Almost Unfathomable!!!!

https://www.facebook.com/turningpointusa/photos/a.376802782368444.77256.376776419037747/1375767105805335/?type=3

5. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Philips I understand there is tremendous burdens on your time presently in order to make things less Complicated please share Excerpts Barbados Solutions Manifesto, that would be most Appreciated.

6. These elections have been current for nearly a week now and beyond evidence that some third parties and independents have paid fees, to register, there has hardly been any signs that the neophytes will pose any challenge to the vicious duopoly.

No elements of third parties have thus far even been recognized by the two-party elected dictatorship seeking to take turns in charge.

Of course, we have long proffered that third parties, and even independents, in Barbados are nothing else but BLP/DLP rejects.

There continue, at their peril, to fail to see that a third party polity cannot coexist within the duopoly. Of course, it is possible for a third party, to at times, displace one of the two parties but in those circumstances the duopoly merely refreshes itself.

What is wrong with Barbados requires the total destruction of duopoly politics, not infusing it with new life.

Factions who could not get 100 people in the streets in a sustained manner remain misguided that ten of thousands will now vote for them, what self delusion!

The failure of so-called third parties to recognize the ‘active measures’ needed to overthrow a duopoly will consign them all to political obscurity. And deservingly so.

7. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Pachamama…The only purpose of Government would be to protect its citizens from Force or Fraud. The Constitution is the Established Law of the Land. Hence we have a Judicial System.

Any other function of government than those listed above, no matter what its intentions, would necessitate the violation of rights by initiating the use of force against the people it is supposed to protect. Taxation is not Voluntary it is taken by Force.

“There are two and only two ways that any economy can be organized. One is by freedom and voluntary choice—the way of the market. The other is by Force and Dictation—the way of the State…

The State obtains its revenue by coercion, by threatening dire penalties should the income not be forthcoming. That coercion is known as “taxation,” although in less regularized epochs it was often known as “tribute…

Taxation is theft, purely and simply even though it is theft on a grand and colossal scale which no acknowledged criminals could hope to match. It is a compulsory seizure of the property of the State’s inhabitants, or subjects.” The way is to legalize it that way you get everyone to go Along!

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/c3/f6/8a/c3f68a8f8d477b50a4de02ed5a92d65a.jpg

8. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Pachamama… I Hear You “The failure of so-called third parties to recognize the ‘active measures’ needed to overthrow a duopoly will consign them all to political obscurity”.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/71/f8/49/71f849914acac85104e4f9cefd4f4281.png

9. @Pacha

How can a fledgling third party overthrow the duopoly?

10. David

……..even the two “established” political parties are ignoring the “third parties.”

Note…. the BLP, DLP and their yard-fowl supporters are referring to and challenging each other……..as though UPP, SB, BIM or independents do not exist.

CBC aired a program moderated by Peter Throne, in which Stephen Lashley (DLP), Paul Gibson (SB) and a UPP representative discussed various issues.

Although Gibson was very aggressive, he was out of his depth trying to explain economic issues and gave erroneous information.

11. They will need the people, an educated electorate, to overthrow the duopoly.

12. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

Everyone knew that an election had to be called. May I ask why all of these newcomers whom I welcome did not start campaigning two years ahead of the fact like they do in developed countries? If we want to hit the bottom of the under developed nations in the world we are doing a GREAT job. How can any new players POSSIBLY make a difference two weeks before the election> I despair at the way I see people going about things in Barbados. I am a Bajan. Bur hey: look at all the foreigners that you all despise come in here and are able to start up businesses and become successes through hard work and industry. We cannot expect to just lay back on our laurels any more. They have gone through the eddoes. God is the only one that can help us now and all of you that know Him, I advise you to CRY OUT.

13. Yours is a reasonable query if we accept that the system we promote is based on representing people.

14. OSA said that he brought a ‘motion’ to overthrow the Sandiford regime, correctly so!

That is the established language in the political science literature.

That said, David, we have covered this ground several times.

And we have been urging these useless ‘third parties’ that the present economic crises presented many opportunities for a popular revolution not dissimilar to the type just competed in Armenia, and many places before.

So in the same way OSA overthrew the Sandiford regime, third parties could have sought to deployed popular, people’s, power, to do the same.

Previously we have suggested one organizational model shown to be effective and pioneered by Gene Sharpe and as deployed with near certianty by the CIA and others with different ideological currents. .

15. Freedom Crier Avatar

“The Worst Evils which mankind has ever had to endure were inflicted by Bad Governments.”Ludwig von Mises

In Times past we Needed a place like Hyde Park to let our voices be heard nowadays we have the Internet. We can warn and teach other almost instantaneously of the Perils that infringe on our Freedoms. This remedy is the power of the citizens; they have to prevent the establishment of such an autocratic regime that arrogates to itself a higher wisdom than that of the average citizen. This is the fundamental difference between Freedom and Serfdom…Whoever wants peace among nations must seek to limit the state and its influence most strictly….

The planner is a potential dictator who wants to deprive all other people of the power to plan and act according to their own plans. He aims at one thing only: the exclusive absolute preeminence of his own plan.

All rational action is in the first place individual action. Only the individual thinks. Only the individual reasons. Only the individual acts. The idea that political freedom can be preserved in the absence of economic freedom, and vice versa, is an illusion. Political freedom is the corollary of economic freedom. [E]conomic history is a long record of government policies that failed because they were designed with a bold disregard for the laws of economics.

Freedom is indivisible. As soon as one starts to restrict it, one enters upon a decline on which it is difficult to stop.
    This is the difference between slavery and freedom. The slave must do what his superior orders him to do, but the free citizen-and this is what freedom means-is in a position to choose his own way of life.

State interference in economic life, which calls itself economic policy, has done nothing but destroy economic life. Prohibitions and regulations have by their general obstructive tendency fostered the growth of the spirit of wastefulness.

However a gross darkness veils the minds of the people. A new type of superstition has got hold of people’s minds, the worship of the state. People demand the exercise of the methods of coercion and compulsion, of violence and threat. Woe to anybody who does not bend his knee to the fashionable idols! Depressions and mass unemployment are not caused by the free market but by government interference in the economy.

The main political problem is how to prevent the police power from becoming tyrannical. This is the meaning of all the struggles for liberty.

It is vain to fight totalitarianism by adopting totalitarian methods. Freedom can only be won by men unconditionally committed to the principles of freedom. The first requisite for a better social order is the return to unrestricted freedom of thought and speech.

http://www.azquotes.com/image-quotes/Quotation-Ludwig-von-Mises-The-worst-evils-which-mankind-has-ever-had-to-endure-20-14-93.jpg

16. We have warned ‘The Miller’ that Mia is not going to give him any of her political pokera

But his BLP leaning cannot stave off a political hard-on

That she will leave him, politically, with his dick slinging in the wind.

There are no fundamental differences between either parties or their leaders

Both imbued with the psychology of the deputy, as unessential as deputies are.

Do you prefer pepsi or coca cola, choose your poison?

In fact, there are many more similarities among them.

All these elections are about, at the end of the day, is to see which of the two dictators and their retinues will get to represent elite interests.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pachamama May 10, 2018 3:25 PM

Then MAM will be screwed with a politically limber dick. She will suffer the same fate as David T; except her turn at the wheel of political fortune would be even more short-lived.

Stuart was given a second chance to demonstrate his claim to integrity and transparency given his many prior utterances and stated commitments to good governance in the interest of the ‘ordinary man’.

He has been a total disappointment to whom history will be most unkind.

Let Mia try to pull a similar stunt of bullshit and chicanery and you will see how fast she would be removed from the helm.

She is being put there on a promise and a pact with the goddess Sekhmet. Should she fail to live up to her end of the bargain she will certainly have an urgent date with Anubis.

18. @Pacha

You are saying that OSA, a member of the duopoly, successfully removed Sandiford? Arthur had the powerbase from being part of the duopoly right? Wha are you saying Pacha?

19. Freedom Crier Avatar

“A people who depend upon a government managing personal needs, personal benefits, and personal responsibilities are owned by the whole instead of being a society of self-owned individuals. The law in a free society is only used for the protection of person and property—you cannot use the law as a tool for force and theft of property and labor, NO MATTER HOW GOOD THE INTENTION”—

This economic ideology of a “fair share” of anther’s labor is the foundation for Communism, Fascism, Nazism, Socialism…

Dependency on govt handouts, welfare equate to slavery We must say, Never Again!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B1HdHAdCUAAOZQi.jpg:large

20. Freedom Crier Avatar

Government cannot give anything to anyone without first taking it from someone else.
    If you are receiving “free stuff” from the government it is only because the government took it from someone else.

https://twitter.com/hashtag/welfare?src=hash

21. Freedom Crier Avatar

The fact is that, under a capitalistic system, the ultimate bosses are the consumers. The sovereign is not the state, it is the people.

Government spending cannot create additional jobs. If the government provides the funds required by taxing the citizens or by borrowing from the public, it abolishes on the one hand as many jobs as it creates on the other.

Welfare policies never attain those – allegedly beneficial – ends which the government and the self-styled progressives who advocated them wanted to attain, but – on the contrary – bring about a state of affairs which – from the very point of view of the government and its supporters – is even more unsatisfactory than the previous state of affairs they wanted to ‘improve.’

Socialism is not in the least what it pretends to be. It is not the pioneer of a better and finer world, but the spoiler of what thousands of years of civilization have created. It does not build, it destroys. For destruction is the essence of it. It produces nothing, it only consumes what the social order based on private ownership in the means of production has created.

Whoever wishes peace among peoples must fight statism. German Marxian’s coined the dictum: If socialism is against human nature, then human nature must be changed.

The interventionists do not approach the study of economic matters with scientific disinterestedness. Most of them are driven by an envious resentment against those whose incomes are larger than their own. This bias makes it impossible for them to see things as they really are. For them the main thing is not to improve the conditions of the masses, but to harm the entrepreneurs and capitalists even if this policy victimizes the immense majority of the people.

It is inherent in the nature of the capitalistic economy that, in the final analysis, the employment of the factors of production is aimed only toward serving the wishes of consumers.

The root of the evil is not the construction of new, more dreadful weapons. It is the spirit of conquest.

A wealthy man can preserve his wealth only by continuing to serve the consumers in the most efficient way.

The characteristic mark of economic history under capitalism is unceasing economic progress, a steady increase in the quantity of capital goods available, and a continuous trend toward an improvement in the general standard of living.

Government cannot make man richer, but it can make him poorer.

The entrepreneur profits to the extent he has succeeded in serving the consumers better than other people have done.

http://www.azquotes.com/picture-quotes/quote-but-let-me-offer-you-my-definition-of-social-justice-i-keep-what-i-earn-and-you-keep-walter-e-williams-50-2-0241.jpg

22. We are saying that any third party, or outsider motion, can only be lodged with the people in the streets, in their numbers, for an extended period of time.

That that power in the hands of a third party has to be even more potent in circumstances where you go up against the duopoly to remove its superstructure.

Power yields not unless confronted with a demand. A demand to vest practical power with the people.

The Arthur coup was internal to the duopoly, not aimed at changing the duopoly itself, but as a technician to make it more effective, as apposed to a effort from outside against the duopoly itself to bring the whole House down.

23. The Miller

We wish you well with this. But with all due respect there is no history in Barbados of this kind of internecine warfare amongst elite forces.

Mia’s crimes from last time in government seem already forgotten. Indeed, those of Parris et al may pre-date her own and therefore hers maybe more eligible for prosecution..

As would be the case were MAM to seek criminal charges against Parris el al. In any event there maybe some ‘statute of limitations’. It has been more than ten years, maybe 15 or so, no?

And that is a ready made excuse for MAM.

The point is that this kind of political retribution never happens in Barbados, not even for political murder. Close familial relationships, historical friendships, protection of the status quo, make your yearnings for ‘heaven’ even more unlikely.

Mia is never going to allow you transcendence to her political ‘heaven’ not even if yuh want um real, real bad!

And you may apply as many limber dicks as yuh like, yuh can’t do she a ting beyond putting in her friends in the DLP next time around, who will continue of prostitution of the people.

Both D and B will just be laughing at you, as you play their silly ‘game of thrones.’

24. Just heard a Ryan Straughan (sic) talking about the introduction of a reverse mortgage by a BLP government.

We can’t say why a government would so do. However, reverse mortgages are notorious as being official robbery. And rightly so.

It means that government would be in the real estate business. Benefiting from substantial equity held by the aged. This means more consolidation of wealth into fewer and fewer hands as government then sells valued properties or their mortgages (or titles) to speculators.

This is a bad idea. Worthy of reconsideration.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

“it is tiring to hear career politicians alarming us …..Since we have no local banks, we can expect everyone who is paying a mortgage, and is not earning foreign currency, to lose their house within 3 years.”
    Seems that rookie politicians are just as good as the career ones at alarming us???

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pachamama May 10, 2018 8:05 PM

Very good riposte there, Pacha!

However, my; mission is not to seek vengeance against any individual; not even Parris, for he has done nothing to me to warrant intervention from Above.

What is expected from Mia is a commitment to recover some of the millions bilked from the taxpayers over the years by the financial leeches sucking from the same trough which fed the fatted calf of this DLP administration at a time when the country- primarily through blatant mismanagement and wanton corruption- has been experiencing its most difficult fiscal period since Independence.

Barbados is too poor in natural resources to afford such blatant large scale graft and corruption. Barbados has been able to hold its economic head above water mainly as a result of good sound fiscal and monetary management by confident leaders.

This is no longer the case. Barbados has been brought to its fiscal knees and might soon find itself in the almshouse for the financially indigent.

There have been millions of hard-earned dollars stolen from taxpayers and which have escaped the tax net.

The only objective the Miller is seeking is the recovery of some of the loot via the tax rules; not through criminal charges.

You get back at crooks not by sending them to jail but hitting them where it hurts most; in their pockets.

So Pacha, that is the mode of justice that is being proposed; unlike the “antiquarium device” you so often recommend in order to bring swift and final justice to the wicked.

Financial Karma is the Miller’s only skin in the game. If Karma is a bitch running in the dog race then she has one big-ass bite waiting for MAM should she not do what she has to do to help finance the cost of giving a bit of relief to the old and indigent.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wait…Pacha you/we were watching cricket? Nuff drinks and food or you watching de game?

28. A RM is not obligatory, but an option. An option sought by BARP.

29. @ Enuff
    Trust you to support a bunch of mendicant old people looking to convert real estate into old age cruises and BMWs.

Real estate should be COMMITTED to ongoing generations – just as National assets such as the BNB, BL&P, BS&T and Almond should have been meticulously guarded in the interest of our grand children….

Social development is about GENERATIONAL continuous improvement.
    It is not about selfish, mendicant BBs splurging the birthrights of the next generation.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller…just look what the wicked, slaveminded jackasses fir exministers did with the taxpayer’s and pensioners hundreds of millions of dollars that should have been going to educate the island’s university age children and help expand black owned businesss..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/10/inniss-slams-business-sector-as-ingrates/

Now that he has his 3 additional apartment buildings and possibly a beachside Mall out of the scam against his own people …Dumbville confesses..

While I agree with confiscating all that the exministers stole away from their people and the minorities they gave it away to…returning everything to the people….. an example should be set so that any incoming government does not get it into their collective heads to be that treacherous, uncaring and thieving toward the majority population.

This is beyond criminal and disgraceful what the likes of Dumbville and his bloated belly partners in crime did to Bajans.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Not to mention money the government stole from the majority population by the hundreds of millions to give to minorities that could have instead easily fixed the island’s infrastructure, roads, national stadium, dilapidated buildings …AND particularly and most importantly, fixed or bought a brand new sewage system that is still spewing shit all over the place….that would have been the better investment, well worth starting over fresh from….

Now look at the condition of everything, the whole island is gone to hell, because of greedy corrupt ministers and their white shadow masters.

32. I must compliment those who introduce reverse mortgages to Barbados.

A few years behind the US, but you are not missing a trick to separate older Bajans from their cash.

33. Think we had this RM conversation before

34. The main parties contesting the election except BIM will be hosted by the Barbados Economic Society tomorrow where they will be probed on their policies. It will be streamed on fb and partially on VoB.

35. @Bush Tea May 11, 2018 12:07 AM “Real estate should be COMMITTED to ongoing generations – just as National assets such as the BNB, BL&P, BS&T and Almond should have been meticulously guarded in the interest of our grand children. Social development is about GENERATIONAL continuous improvement.”

You are so right.

After the banks and the government have sucked all of the cash out of this generation, they are now looking to suck cash out of the pockets of those yet unborn.

36. I don’t want a BMW.

I don’t want a cruise.

The thought of being shut up in a small space with thousands of old potentially sick people gives me the willies.

What if i caught the ‘flu while on a cruise?

37. @BEAUTIFUL BEIGE May 10, 2018 1:15 PM “Everyone knew that an election had to be called. May I ask why all of these newcomers whom I welcome did not start campaigning two years ahead of the fact like they do in developed countries?”

I don’t know of any developed country, except the USA that begins election campaigns two years ahead…and don’t the Americans complain that that has made elections very expensive? Has permitted time for Russian meddling? Has given them Donald Trump?

Stupssseee!!!

Damned if we do, damned if we don’t.

38. Why did Dr. Clyde Mascoll have to be so uncharitable to Grenville at the BES forum this morning by referring to Solutions economic proposal as voodoo economics?

What is the question Charles Herbert posed to Minister Darcy Boyce that had him stumped again?

39. @ David wrote “Why did Dr. Clyde Mascoll have to be so uncharitable?

Politics is war.