Hypocrisy rears it’s ugly head again in Barbados. When a DLP leader is spoken about in the worst way none of the sanctimonious hypocrites from the BLP or otherwise have nothing to say in fact they embrace the comments. The DLP launches an attack on the BLP leader who happens to be a woman and these people want to rush back to a moral code. In all of this the question is was the current BLP leader in charge and responsible for the projects that were identified during the presentations?

James Paul (DLP Candidate for St. Michael West Central)

The day after the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) delivered a stinging rebuke of Mia Mottley’s leadership  at their kickoff political meeting, it has been interesting to monitor the feedback. Although anecdotal, the blogmaster senses there are many who were turned off by the torrent of invective hurled at Mia Mottley from the DLP platform on Sunday night.

Why should Barbadians be surprised? Politics is a blood sport some say and clearly the DLP will devise the strategy they determine is best suited to win the upcoming general election. If Mia is able to withstand the assault then it will make her worthy of the position she holds as leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP). The blogmaster has no issue with the DLP focussing on the capacity of Mia Mottley to lead or on her record of achievement in public life. Attacking the leader is an established tactic adopted in team sport with good result. The fact that Mottley is a woman will encourage the irrelevant emotional argument.

In a press interview with the Prime Minister after he was nominated to contest the St. Michael South seat, he expressed satisfaction at the  level of response the DLP kickoff meeting has aroused in the population. Clearly a key plank in the DLP’s strategy is to focus the campaign on Mottley.  To state the obvious, it will be up to the voters to decide on the 24th May 2018 its effectiveness.

The blogmaster noted the excuses proffered by campaign manager Bobby Morris at the DLP kickoff meeting on behalf of Denis Lowe and Kim Tudor. Denis Lowe is reported to be recovering from a knee operation AND Tudor was said to ‘under the weather’. Inquiring minds want to know if there is a possibility Tudor – the woman – didn’t have the stomach to be present on the DLP platform during an attack against the woman Mottley.

It will also be interesting to observe how the campaign develops now that the kickoff meetings of the weekend are out of the way. So far the BLP has to be given more points for engaging in a lower level of vitriol. However, for the sensible among us, we will be listening to how Mottley and the BLP plan to stabilize and restore prosperity to Barbados in the coming days, the same for the DLP. The DLP will also have the task of defending its record in office for the 2008-2018 period. An incumbent running for a third term is always challenging. Doing so having presided over an extended period of austerity moreso.

In summary, we will have to determine if the government has managed the affairs of state satisfactorily given the hand it was dealt. It will have to be careful in its explanation why it has not implemented Integrity and FOI laws after ten years in government. The blogmaster notes the BLP has promised to make this a priority on the first working day of parliament should they be elected to government.

What is the state of its waste management program? Although Lowe can boast of a spanking new SSA headquarters located at Vaucluse, the island continues to manage waste collection and disposal in the same way its predecessor did prior to 2008.  When the Cahill Energy deal crashed…. Interestingly, the Barbados Water Authority finds itself in a similar position with a spanking new headquarters, BUT, unable to efficiently distribute water to parts of the island. A situation that gave rise to the ‘water warriors’. This is a ministry which also has responsibility for waste water management. Enough has been recorded about leaking sewage on the South Coast.

Other big ticket items is the inability of government to adequately maintain the infrastructure- roads, buildings, vehicles to name a few. Why has Barbados not been able to earn Cat 1 aviation status for the country given its majority holdings in LIAT. An unhealthy NIS Scheme. An unsatisfactory transportation system.

Of course there is the economy stupid where there has been negligible growth in the economy in last decade supported by plummeting foreign reserves and skyrocketing debt. All the above however are symptoms of the lack of vision the country has not been able to benefit from in the last 20 years by implementing a relevant governance framework.

This is not an exhaustive list.

120 responses to “Politics of Vitriol”

1. @ Simon, after one of my neighbours took a fall and fractured their foot, after 2 surgeries, he went from a fit ‘elderly’ man with size, to a frail person who was a shadow of their former selves. He eventually passed 6 months after his nasty fall. When you are a certain age, even a fall can have dire consequences. Peoples bodies react differently. Lowe seems to be on the mend, and bouncing back. He didnt fly to Miami for treatment and then came home to die in a hospice as was stated in other blogs and elsewhere.

2. When it comes to politics it seems as though some people exhibit high levels of immaturity and stupidity, while common sense suddenly becomes “uncommon.”

During the “silly season” Sinckler mentioned Mottley met with a Nigerian billionaire at the Hilton Hotel, suggesting, in innuendo, that the BLP is “courting” the militant Jihadist group, Boko Haram.…….

……….and this was enough evidence for Barbados Today and Kaymar Jordan to write an editorial based primarily on shiite talk, without investing or researching any information relative to the individual in question.

Barbados Today, the DLP and its yard-fowl operatives are essentially implying that ALL Nigerians are members of Boko Haram.

Perhaps we should go a bit further and encourage Barbadians not to watch those Nigerian “Nollywood” movies……….. because actors/actresses such as Emeka Ike, Patience Ozokwor, Nkem Owoh, Rita Arum, Chizzy Alichi, Ofia’fuluagu Mbaka and Mona Lisa Chinda are all members of Boko Haram.

We should also deport all those Nigerians living in Barbados…….and at the next CARICOM heads of government meeting, we should encourage the other islands to deport Nigerians as well………

…………because they are members of Boko Haram.

What Sinckler should tell Barbadians is from whom he receive the funds to distribute in his constituency on Monday, April 30, 2018. There were reports that people received as much as $500

3. The DLP Disgusting Propaganda Machine (formerly CBC TV & Radio) Avatar
    The DLP Disgusting Propaganda Machine (formerly CBC TV & Radio)

@ Frac-turd DLP…. you want the truth exposed!!! You can’t HANDLE the truth!!! But here it goes… …You, like this gov’t, is a waste of time and a waste of space. Piss poor like this gov’t…..and like this gov’t what you say is mostly ignorance and people just don’t care. BTW how wunna could do poor Leroy so in St. John!!! I betcha wunna didn’t anticipate he would have ran as an independent!!…..all that would do is divide the vote for yuh all DEMS!!…given Charles the best opportunity t bring home the bacon for the Bees!!!….What would happen to Froonsy if he loses St. John!!! the first leader preside over the loss of St. John!!! i anticipate he would get flayed by his own party which is usual for wunna DEMS. But then again…is it a last minute scheme to run TWO DEMS in one constituency…I really hope the people from St. John finally reject wunna jokers for once and for all!!!!

4. If Barbadians were of paramount importance to the DLP, that party would use any and every opportunity to articulate their policies and defend their tenure in office during the past 10 years.

What is equally disgusting and disturbing…….is the fact the DLP is USING state owned agencies, namely CBC and GIS, to broadcast their campaign and propaganda…….AT THE EXPENSE of Barbadian tax payers……..

………and against the background of owing CBC $109,609.

5. I did not listen to Brass Tacks in its entirety today, but from what I heard, I was very impressed with the UPP’s representative. She was positive and handled herself excellently.

I also loved the “plug in” she gave of Lynette’s success as minister of industry & Commerce….and the fact that her ministry was never mentioned in any of the Auditor General’s reports during her tenure as a minister.

6. Fractured BLP Avatar

Artax @ 11:02 p.m

I thought you were the expert on grammar & the use of language ??

The correct word is INVESTIGATING !

Not – investing !

But then again since your head is so far up Mia’s FARTHOLE !!

You thoughts were on ” investing ” the billions you Bees 🐝 negotiated with the Nigerian Boko Haram – agent !

Benedict Peters !

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

What Fractured Fraud is not mentioning is that with a DLP election loss, which is inevitable…their Kutappa-Harris barbadostoday mouth piece will likely have to focus more on his investments in Mumbai, India ..land of his ancestors. ..which he never neglected, ignored or disowned..and will finally be forced to ease off his decades long parasitic bloodsucking of bajans for financial gain .

…..unlike the white minded negros now standing outside the vacant parliament begging the people to be let in again … who do not even consider themselves of African stock, rarely think or talk about the land of their ancestors unless it suits their purpose to get reparations off the backs of their enslaved African ancestors, whom they barely acknowledge or recognize at other times.

132 candidates is a major shake up for the minds of those who have been accustomed to the same 60 like minded, programmed, self absorbed retards revolving in and out of the parliament for 6 decades….it is a defining moment for those who never thought they would see a challenge to the same numbered train wreck of election candidates over and over….quite an achievement to see that change now happening, that was long overdue….

…no wonder they got on the campaign platform, screeching, screaming and carrying on like wild banshees recently, it is a shock to their systems to see a different election landscape from that of 2013…in only 5 years….it obviously was unexpected.

The electorate now has options to vote for individual candidates as opposed to voting along party lines, I look forward to seeing most of the old tired looking faces from both worn out political parties…gone, the day after election.

More importantly, the question to Sinkler should be, was he the one gave Natlee 100,000 dollars to run against Bostic in the city…just asking,.

8. @ Hants
    Dig up de pitch fork at de Garrison
    You are much more perceptive than most….

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP May 8, 2018 11:50 PM
    “You thoughts were on ” investing ” the billions you Bees negotiated with the Nigerian Boko Haram – agent !”

According to the poem “Desiderata”, we ought to be ‘patient’ with people manifesting intellectually- deficient minds like you and the editor of the BarbadosToday electronic rag-sheet.

Don’t you know that “Benedict Peters” is a ‘Christian’ Nigerian with an ‘Anglicized’ name?

How can he therefore be a ‘known’ supporter of Boko Haram an Islamic fundamentalist terrorist group?

Don’t you think the local authorities and the United States CIA agents would have been onto Benedict Peters in a flash?

Who says the ‘Christian-minded’ Benedict Peters isn’t prepared to invest in the long overdue DLP promise of ‘energizing’ the offshore oil drilling business to save the economy from pending collapse?

Why can’t ‘poor’ Benedict be here to provide the finance to get your long-promised Hyatt off the ground?

Wouldn’t those foreign investments represent a real benediction on the country which has been cursed by DLP-invoked evil forces for the last 8 years and whose portents are clearly portrayed by Bushie’s pitchfork?

We think you are mixing up your “Benedicts”. You have to be referring to the real Englishman Benedict Cumberbatch whose filthy rich ancestors used to own your enslaved fore parents from whom you have inherited their minds.

We are certain that if you trace your genealogy you will be in for a shock to find out that both you and the same politically-controlled editor of that tainted rag sheet share the same matriarchal lineage enslaved on the plantation owned by the Cumberbatch family in St. Andrew and St. Peter.

Do you think the film “12 Years a Slave” was just a figment of your infertile imagination? Why don’t you pay a visit to the St. Nicholas Abbey great house to see the evidence for your stupid slave-minded self?

Who says the real Englishman Benedict- not Arnold but Cumberbatch like the DLP candidate for St. Peter(s)- is not prepared to pay for his forefathers’ sins by bailing out the financial sorry ass of the country from which they made their ill-gotten fortunes?

10. @Hants
    Dig up de pitch fork at de Garrison
    +++++++++
    Don’t you realise that Bushie has a 16th century mindset of good and evil spirits? He would fit in with the crowd that burned Jeanne d’Arc at the stake and cheered the hanging of the “witches” in Salem. Note that these trials and sentences were carried out by supposed Christians. Somewhere along the line he must have had a bad experience with an Obeah man so it is natural to look at some symbols as instruments of evil.

11. Socialism used to be something that only extremists talked about, but now the message is mainstream…

Think this could happen here Barbados?? Think Barbados Think!!

https://www.facebook.com/theblaze/videos/1842033642500634/

12. @ Sargeant 8:18 am
    …or perhaps Bushie knows something of which you are totally ignorant..

You do know that NCO’s often have a very limited ‘picture’ of the battle plan.
    Yours is not to reason why…
    yours is but to do and die…

Sometimes, sergeants will be unable to follow the thinking of the commanding officer….

13. ” After years of waiting, people living in The Belle, Licorish Village and surrounding St Michael areas that sit on the Zone 1 water table, are being promised relief by the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).”

““They need a sewerage system. They need a reverse osmosis [system] . . . . That is a technical and engineering thing ”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/155961/mia-vows-ease-zone

I look forward to the expert opinions of the BU maguffees.

14. Hants your fellow Canadians did the study and offered funding ent?

15. Hants May 10, 2018 8:52 AM

But these are squatters.

16. @Hants
    If I was a politician I would be very careful about promising folks (BTW aren’t some of these people squatters?) a sewage system given the issues around the South Coast

Did Mia make a backhanded stab at Owen when she indicated that a paper was presented to the then Cabinet by Jerome and nothing was done?

This is a strange election cycle: Gov’t minister promising 15,000 new jobs; the Opposition (odds on favourite to win) trying to seal the deal with outlandish promises and last but not least a reformed hooker with a heart of gold.

17. Clearly I was not clear ( lol ) that you should click the link and read the nationnews article. If you read the article you would see that everything I wrote that was in ” ” were MIA’s comments.

read and come again. lol

18. Heard the hyprocrite Trini Dem and the J/A ms Decided trying hard to justify the disgraceful behavior of Sunday Night,s DLP Meeting.However kudos to Lisa Gale for her handling of the Trini Dem,who most Moderators allow to rant and rave without challenge on Brasstacks.Ms Gale asked her directly if she agreed with the appalling behavior and she dilly dallied saying she was neither agreeing or disagreeing with the behavior and Ms Gale rightly told her she felt sorry for her.Imagine a female agreeing with that nasty behavior,But obviously she is a Dem yardfowl so she could not be critical of the Dems,Ms Undecided,would obvo=iouly agree nothing better is expected of the simpleton,just spouting rhetoric she hears in George Street,The three female candidates Mrs Sandiford-Garner ,Ms Depeiza and Ms Byer Suckoo,should hold their heads in shame and should not get any female votes,neither Mr Blackett,Dr estwick or the PM,in my view.Noticed Ms Tudor of NISE was absent probably could not take the planned approach good for her.The most disgraceful Meeting I have ever seen or heard.Where are the women,s group in all of this?

19. I guess the people in Licorish Village etc currently have toilets in the air. #passmewiththebs