Ten days ago, on April 26, the Honourable Prime Minister of Barbados advised Her Excellency, the Governor General to issue the writs for a general election on May 24, thereby immediately bringing to an end the lamentations of all those who were devoutly wishing for this event. It also ended, at least for now, the intriguing constitutional issue of whether the Prime Minister does in our law possess the exclusive power of determining the date of the general election even after Parliament has been dissolved by effluxion of time and the related question of whether Cabinet government may constitutionally subsist for a substantial period without parliamentary oversight.

Given that there is a likelihood of the recurrence of such an eventuality, Barbadians should seek now to have an authoritative determination of these issues, but the sense of relief and euphoria felt at the fact that the proverbial bell has been rung, added to the arcane nature of that debate will probably quell any such initiative…until next time. “Que dire [Cuddear]”, I can hear Barbadians say, “the matter has been resolved, what more do we need?”

And so, for the next few weeks, the island will be consumed by events from the mundane such as the occasion of payment of the deposit into the Treasury by prospective candidates, to the much more significant nomination process on May 7, the enthusiasm, entertainment and revelry of public and spot meetings and the nail-biting tension of the night of the count.

Most remarkable about the current campaign has been the number of political groupings and independent individuals that have declared their intention of contesting the various constituency elections. Indeed, one recent Barbados Advocate editorial has not inaccurately described it “a party of parties”.

This phenomenon is understandable. While the closeness of the result in the 2013 general election might have been considered by some to be owed to a popular indecision to choose between the two major political parties, there are equally those who regarded it as a rejection of both parties (the duopoly) with the less objectionable grouping being ultimately successful. Into this presumed vacuum of popular choice, should naturally come the alternative grouping that we collectively dub a third party, no matter the number or provenance of them.

The road for these new groupings has not been all smoothly paved. Along with the potholes of an expulsion and enforced defection, one such third party has been forced to contend with the rather unfounded allegation noised abroad that its sole purpose is to ensure a negative electoral outcome for one of the traditional parties. Another, founded on the arguably simplistic premise that every local public ill might be cured by a business management application, has also sought to enforce the loyalty of its prospective candidates by having them agree to be mulct in damages for what appears to me to be an unenforceable penal sum, in the event the party should form the next governing administration and he or she should resile from any one of a list of scheduled policies, notably formulated at a time when none of its members has any experience in public office. Might this not serve as a deterrent to probable success?

Another incident of the campaign is the degree of attention being focused on the corrupt practice of bribery, already criminalized locally under section 6 of the Election Offences and Controversies Act, Cap.3. The Honourable Prime Minister himself would scarcely have assisted the national clarity on this matter when, with tongue firmly fixed in cheek, I feel sure, he counseled voters to take any money offered. Subtlety is oftentimes lost on an unwitting audience, and the advice was always liable to be taken literally. Perhaps Mr. Stuart needed to explain himself further.

Incidentally, he appears to be in good company. Last week, while researching material for my column on Clennell Wickham’s fate at the hands of the jury in the 1930 Bailey libel case, I encountered the following in Sir Hilary Beckles’ “A History of Barbados”. The setting is the 1951 general election–

“[Grantley] Adams advised workers not to corrupt their newly won franchise by accepting the bribes of money and rum from the Electors’ Association, while [Wynter] Crawford urged them:

On Election Day, vote right. If money is offered to you for your vote, TAKE I, You need it. They owe it to you!! But don’t let that prevent you from VOTING RIGHT. Remember the ballot is secret No one can know how you vote except yourself and God! [Emphasis added]

In pursuit, no doubt, of its mission to suppress the commission of crime, the Royal Barbados Police Force understandably has publicly declared its intention of vigorously preventing the commission of this offence. Nevertheless, as I have argued in this space previously, the local statutory provisions governing this offence are largely ineffective, unless one should wish selectively to prosecute solely the transaction involving money and that on election day only. It would equally be a corrupt practice under the relevant statute to transfer any form of consideration outside of that day, like now, and with the identical likelihood of compliance by the elector to boot.

Already, political scientists, both trained and uninitiated, are seeking to isolate the issues destined to form the agenda of the respective platforms. This, I suppose, ids premised on the thesis that most Barbadians remain neutral until they are apprised of the various party positions on the economy or on the prevention of corruption, let’s say, and then dispassionately compare and distil these to decide whom they will support. I doubt this very much.

The general election, [in essence, thirty [30] constituency by-elections] is not at all comparable to a high-school debate. It is more critical by far. For it involves the populace choosing first, the individual and, second, the administration that they would want to be the other party to the social contract between the state and themselves for the next quinquennium at least.

76 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Anatomy of an Election Campaign”

1. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Apart from June Naime and Freedom Crier and myself,

@BB, {Bush Tea would love your initials!] Great minds thinking alike?

2. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

Mr. Cumberbatch we all Sin every day, it is not that Fools Seldom Differ but in our Imperfections we can Strive For Greatness and this Striving Defines us. God did not save us in our Sins he came to save us from our sins on Condition that we Change!

https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3329/4594793999_4dd1bb92ea_b.jpg

3. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Most BLPites never get it right with General Elections crowds !

In 1971 Tom Adams was heard to lament , ” The crowds followed us in the THOUSANDS but only voted for us in HUNDREDS ”

Moving past that humbling BLP ” CROWD ” experience of 1971

We saw large BLP crowds for General Elections 1986

The voter results DLP – 24 seats

BLP – 3 seats

At the BLP Haggatt Hall meeting of General Elections 2013 – BLPites reportedly stated the crowd topped 20,000

The voter results DLP – 16 seats

BLP – 14 seats ( though before the Parliamentary term ended Arthur & Agard left )

Here we come to Weymouth pasture General Elections 2018 the BLPites report a crowd in excess of 10,000 ( Nation newspaper May 6, 2018 )

Well we Dems always rely on the Biblical teaching ,

” where 2 or 3 are gathered , there is God in the midst ”

Never underestimate the POWER of doing things in a small way ….!!!

The Dems way !!

Tonight, the Dems caravan comes to town !

4. Jeff
    The gem…..Que dire…..maybe introduced to Bim by our St Lucian brethren and creolised to bajan ….”cud dear”…..what can I say! Similarly ….”wooo beck” …..creolised from the English horse owning community…..go back…go back…whilst guiding the horse into the shaft.In the 50’s The Goddards provisioning Co on Broad St used horse drawn carts as the method of transport.One handler had charge of this horse named Dinah.Anytine he had an argument with his bosses he would place Dinah in the middle of the street and nothing could pass and Dinah won’t move unless this handler gave the order.Old JN and son in law Patterson has to give this handler ‘satisfaction’ or de dawg dead.

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Hants, that is a gem of a discovery!

6. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

Hey Georgie Porgie and June Naime. God bless you all hear? All I can say is God Almighty is in control and Barbados will get the Government it deserves. Now that will entirely depend on how many committed Believers in the Lord Jesus Christ of Nazareth decide to intercede instead of complaining and murmuring. It is in God’s Hands now and don’t let me hear you all getting on stink when you get the Government you deserve ok????? Next thing the VAT will go up higher, the handling charges at customs will go up and the debt will go up and the foreign exchange continue to plummet and the tourists “Tourism is we Business” (up for sale)!!! Don’t talk about other laws which will be enacted that will change Barbados so that even YOU won’t recognize the country we were all born and grew up in and Remember God Almighty is not only a God of Love. He is a God of Judgement. Be blessed.

7. @ Jeff,

I was trying to follow your ” “Que dire [Cuddear]”, and googled “cuh dear” and the first heading was Bajan slang.

I treat your writings as free continuing education. lol

8. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

Hey Blogmaster: Are you censoring my comments?

9. Was watching the DLP’s campaign……. tuned in during the final minutes of Patrick Todd’s “performance.”

After Todd spoke, Bobby Morris said that tonight is about leadership and Mia Mottley…..other issues pertaining to the economy, society, etc, would be discussed later in the campaign.

Stephen Lashley is now into his “performance” of bashing Mottley.

10. Minister Estwick has made a serious charge that the screw lift pump was sabotaged. Isn’t there security at the plant.

11. Distasteful politics, a global televise event has ushered in more “downgrades” of our people and country. To see monies spent on such lavish staging to bash political opponents is merely mockery of the governance construct.

This launch could have been spent on at least the party performance in benefiting the average man , but to state that issues of policies going forward will be address in platform campaigning going forward is to deny a greater audience of their plans.

How strange the commanding of silence by FJS on the audience … you can hear a pin drop

DISAPPOINTING INDEED.

12. nineofnine

I heard the crowd cheering on as Sinckler made references to David Ellis, Dennis Johnson, Corey Layne, Sanka Price and Peter Wickham (at first calling him “Wicker”) ……..

……comments on the DLP’s distasreful performance last night are best suited for “Politics of Bombast and Bombshells.”

13. This Magistrate wants to prosecute people who videotape Police when they arrest people.

Is this the same Magistrate that Pilgrim had harsh words for after he made a ruling that Pilgrim didn’t like?

I take back all the criticism that I directed towards Pilgrim for that episode, the man is a complete jackass.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/154984/magistrate-prosecute-videotape-cops

14. Art
    Nothing new except the declaration of the “real issue” on the sewerage fiasco..(then again), listening to their reasoning.., the end product is pumped out to sea yet it was not an option to the fix, injection wells was the preferred route….wonder who got that contract?

Questioning Mia as to where to put millions of gallons of sewerage was totally foul and will cost him dearly.
    At the end of the day, all are Bajans, and despite an “issue” of “Bloodlines” was raised, in this small village of ours, we are all seem to have connections to most families.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Obviously that magistrate Bannister is very much a big part of the problem in the court system as people have been saying for a very long time, he appears to be very low on fairness and commonsense as it relates to the public who pays his salary and believes he has some right to be as vicious as he knows how to his own people.

..the ones in the rotten system like him with their swollen heads and their fraud christianity always tend to forget that they are paid by the same black people they brutaluze and not by some imaginary white god in the UK called the crown.

16. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Artax

You ain’t here nothing yet !

Wunnah did calling for the Dems to speak !

Now we speaking yuh bawling !

We won’t like Mia Mottley – promising and over promising the world :

In an economy she & her RH followers claim is BROKEN

• Increased Non Contributory pension for pensioners !

• New SSA trucks !

• New TB buses !

• Free UWI tuition to students !

• Fix the sewage problems on the South Coast !

And on top of all of that …,. Mia Mottley removing NSRL !

Real Rat Botsie economics !!

17. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

hear

18. WW
    Remember election of ’08 when Bannister was a student at Codrington College and was punished by the then principal Ian Rock for disobeying orders,leaving the College and went to the DLP meeting at Independence Square decked out in DLP shirt and so forth.The matter took on legal implications and as I recall he was represented by a group of DLP lawyers headed by Keith Simmons.Bannister is a strong D ….so don’t be fooled.He is also a priest in the Anglican Church and was a curate at St Peter with his fellow curate…..the same Ian Rock!😏😏

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Gabriel….all of that just makes him your garden variety yardfowl….nowhere as special as he thinks he is, just another house negro pledging allegiance to the invisible white crown in his head….anf using the little powers taxpayers pay him to apply to be fair and just on their behalf…..to destroy his only people instead,

Another black judas, nothing special at all.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fakeass christian that he is…they are blasting Bannister good on facebook.

21. All we need to know is if it is ILLEGAL to videotape POLICE on any device including cell phones in BARBADOS.

22. @ Sargeant,

I prefer to use the term ” wrasse whole idiot ” instead of ” jackass ” .

I am a fishing enthusiast and wrasse is a fish. lol

23. “This change is to allow the presiding officer to see that voters are not using any concealed electronic communication

devices,” he explained. However, he gave voters the assurance that they would have privacy, and the secrecy of the vote would be maintained.”

24. Well come voting day.. if there is a serial # on the ballot and a corresponding # on the stub… then what privacy is there?

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ nine of nines

The step by step process that Brother in Arms Bush Tea explained to de ingrunt word is exactly the process that Miami Vice Johnson and Fumbles have used to arrive at the Voter Prediction Software that the DLP has contrived.

This was used in conjunction with the surveys that David Estwick demanded were filled out for the Water Authority forms households received

The counter foil which I part of an untouched ballot generally is kept at The archive section of the Royal Barbados Police Force for a period of time determined by statute.

The “concatenation” of records which Bushie provided IS NOT TO OCCUR UNLESS A RECOUNT IS REQUIRED e.g. TO ASCERTAIN THE VALIDITY OF ELECTION RESULTS As MAY BE OCCASIONED BY THE BALLOT BOX STUFFING Miami Vice Johnson has planned