The first quarter review of the local economy by Governor Haynes paints a bleak picture. After almost 10 years of belt tightening Barbadians have not been given any indication by the top central banker that there is light at the end of the tunnel.  The negative report of the economy could not have been delivered at a worse time with a general election 22 days away.

The Governor’s review comes a few days after reports that the south coast sewage mess has reared its messy head once again. #sewagerush@accra.

CBB Quarterly Economic Review – Jan-March 2018.pdf (text)

127 responses to “Governor of the Central Bank Delivers 1st Quarter Review of the Economy”

1. David

You must know that the intervention of Justin was political. To skew the debate towards perceived strengths, favouring the ruling regime.

2. At least the young people who aspire to be candidates for election are hopefully following the way Robinson made a complete idiot of himself and if they are conscious and awake it will dawn on them that is what happens when you kowtow to, please, appease and end up disenfranchising your own people in favour of a minority community of corrupt business people on the island..

3. 15,000 new jobs is easy to do
    Fire, then rehire and call them new

Abracadabra, we fool you

4. Run when the heat turns on???? What heat???

What is the difference between you and Fcuktured BLP or Mariposa, for example?

Fcuktured BLP and Mariposa cuss contributors because they oppose the DLP, while you cuss anyone that opposes Solutions Barbados.

All of you are yard-fowls.

5. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Well Mia Mottley’s ” Lift Off ‘ really flew !

Imagine in light of the most recent Central Bank report

Mia Mottley was defiant in declaring the following once the BLP is elected:

• Removal of the NSRL !
    • Increase Old Age pension to $ 225.00 !
    • Re institute free UWI tuition !
    • Fix the South Coast Sewage project – one week after being elected !
    • Give public officers a salary increase – one month after being elected !

Well what a miraculous economic plan !!

6. “while you cuss anyone that opposes Solutions Barbados”
    They say “to a hammer, everything looks like a nail”
    Like I said yesterday… I will leave you be…
    HAGD

7. JA

8. Get it out of your system…
    🙂 HAGD

9. What a big political blp fiasco last night on Weymouth grounds. Mia Mottley tells the people how much she can do but the big truth which she did not reveal where are the finances coming from

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP May 6, 2018 7:59 AM

Weren’t similar promises made by your deceitful lying party in 2008 and 2013?
    Now where can we see the results of their fulfillment?

Have those ‘special’ public sector workers received their duty-free cars yet or the country a brand new hospital (QEH) in Kingsland?

Where are the garbage collection trucks and equipment you promised the people to buy out of the NSRL since 2016? Was it spent on the South coast sewage injection wells that the dye testing proved to be leading right into the sea?

We will not even mention what you had to say about poor Owen Arthur and his privatization promises; not even the return of the public sector workers 8% salary cut.

BTW, the money will be found in the same place the money was found to repay the Cabinet members their 10% savings plans (retroactively).

11. Tonight’s event at the National Stadium will be equally a “big political DLP fiasco.”

Perhaps you may attract a larger crowd.

Saw the “lackluster” Ronald Jones motorcade driving through Vauxhall yesterday……….a truck with 4 people at the back and 5 cars following….wearing yellow “T” shirts with “We still Jonesing.”

……..was that all the people Jones could muster on a Saturday evening????

(Hope you don’t pull a Donald Trump and lie about the size of the crowd….hahahahahaha)

The BLP & DLP spending “big money” to host these “big political fiascoes,”………..

I wish Lynette could get that type of financial support.

12. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

You are spot ac !

Mia Mottley poor policy framework last night even caused the infamous ARTAX to declare :

JA

When you see ARTAX comments on BU reduced to 2 letters

The we all know that ARTAX is truly

a JENNY ASS !

13. Shiite, yuh mean yuh wun learn how to use punctuation marks correctly?

Daily Nation, Friday, May 25, 2018 Headlines

“UPP wins 2018 General Elections”

“Suspected suicide. The body of a man, affectionately known as “Fracture BLP,” was found in 5th Avenue Belleville. Police suspect the man ingested a pesticide.”

“Several known DLP yard-fowls found hanging”

“Police are seeking the public’s assistance in locating two missing persons…..Angela Cox_Skeete, also known as “ac”…….. and Carson C. Cadogan. Both individuals are known to frequent George Street area…..and were last seen wondering and wandering in nearby Belleville.”

Hahahahaha
    Wuh loss!!!!!

14. Speaking at the Weymouth pasture during the party’s campaign Lift Off,

Mottley said the South Coast Sewerage Project problems, a shortage of Transport Board buses and Sanitation Service Authority trucks, and free tertiary education were issues that would be solved immediately should Barbadians vote the Bees back in on May 24 when they go to the polls.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/154689/mottley-blp-fix

15. Yes we have issues to deal with
    Issues that deal with character and integrity.
    Can any blp yardfowl say honestly that favours gained because of privilege rise to the level of good character
    Then how can any one in good conscience vote for the leadership of the blp Mia when time and time again her character and integrity has been scruntized because of gain sake due to privilege

16. Straight outta T&T

"companies must agree to repatriate a suitable amount of their foreign exchange earnings" 

Read more about suitable amount below.

Until the people of this country throw out the UNC & PNM and the corrupt, dirty, and evil campaign financing, this nation will never recover and will sink further into poverty & hell. UNC, PNM, same thing, same people – mostly the 1% & a few contractors – giving money to both sides, no different.

SUNDAY EXPRESS May 6th 2018

"companies must agree to repatriate a suitable amount of their foreign exchange earnings" 

LOL! what is "suitable amount" ? who determines that? dais how you create corruption, by being vague, no effective implementation….

All yuh read this too, OK, see below? After you do, ask yourself if you really believe more than 95% of this money will go to the favored 1%, and if you really believe there are systems in place to ensure the forex goes to those who meet the "conditions"….. BTW, what has EXIM bank achieved ? anyone in the media has looked at and investigated their plans, reports, money spent, achievements during their existence? ditto for investtt etc and all those other parasitic companies that are merely channels to eat food….

New source of forex for exporters

Eximbank’s Forex Facility, which was launched yesterday at the Hyatt Regency in Port-of-Spain, has been capitali…

17. Hants May 6, 2018 10:11 AM

Mottley said the South Coast Sewerage Project problems, a shortage of Transport Board buses and Sanitation Service Authority trucks, and free tertiary education…..(Quote)

The promise of so-called free tertiary education is wrong in principle, bad in terms of policy and suicidal in terms of economics. The principle is that we cannot continue to compel ordinary working people to provide higher education for aspiring middle class professionals who, in almost every instance, will go on to earn more than the average person. This is morally wrong.
    It is bad in terms of policy since any public spending should by definition b more focused: what is the medium and long-term vision of a state-funded higher education policy. Suh a scatter gun approach is meaningless. All it will do is fuel the brain drain.
    Our policy makers must sit down and decide what they want to achieve through public spending on education; this has never been the case in Barbados. We are still entrapped by the Barrow narrative of ‘free’ education; it was a political slogan when it was first voiced, and remains so.
    And it is economic suicide because the nation cannot afford it; a much better policy will be a loan scheme, or the imposition of a graduate tax. In that way the funding of future generations will be guaranteed.
    At the same time we need to review how we award national scholarships. Has there every been an audit of the cost/benefit of national scholarships?

18. A brilliant 3:16 pm post by Hal Austin…

…yet another sign that the end is near….
    LOL…

19. Listen bro loan schemes are already in place. The problem being that some who have gained from the loan scheme has refused to repay
    Over the years govt has bern calling for defaulters to repay the loans borrowed

20. ac May 6, 2018 4:01 PM

Is this the Bajan disease? The problem is solvable. To get a loan there must be a guarantor, if borrowers default on loans then they will either be taken to court and bailiffs put on them. Borrowers will also have their passports marked and will not be able to leave the country to settle elsewhere unless adequate plans have been put in place to repay the loans. Defaulters will not get jobs in the public sector.
    There is no free lunch.

21. @BT
    Hal has moment of inspirations.
    At time he borders on brilliant and I enjoy his posts.
    At other times he is an irritant

22. Hal Austin barbadians have a mentality of entitlement. The word free means free for life. Reason why MIa Mottley is willing to put the economic interest of the country into depression freefall to buy votes.
    In essence that is what her so call free give aways add up to

23. ac May 6, 2018 5:00 PM

I don’t agree. Once Bajans get out of Barbados they are some of the hardest working people on the planet. At home they feel entitled. Something is wrong with the home culture. Sort it out.
    Look at the ordinary returnee: men and women without any particular qualifications, apart from their ambitions, leaving the country to work overseas and then return with decent material possessions and a different sense of self-worth.
    I have said her before, but it would be interesting for our politicians to read the governors’ reports on the Bajans who left to go to Panama at the time of the building of the Canal.
    I| was fortunate to have access to the library at the Foreign and Commonwealth office; it made for interesting reading.

24. “Issues that deal with character and integrity.”

I was also wondering “how can anyone in good conscience vote for” MICHAEL CARRINGTON……..when time and time again his CHARACTER and INTEGRITY has been scrutinized……..?”

25. My comment was reference to those who lived im Barbados since the politics of Mia mouthings was that of addressing free education in barbados

26. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

ARTAX

Michael Carrington’s character & integrity is way BETTER than that of Mia Mottley !

So go and wheel & come again !

27. Fcuktured BLP

I’m sure John Griffiths and Ajax Construction do not share your opinion about the dishonest drunkard, Michael Carrington, who collected and converted their funds for his personal use.

By the way……… if you were to peruse BU’s “Lawyers in the News,” you will find there are articles highlighting the deeds of four (4) other dishonest lawyers that are associated with the DLP, namely Michael Simmons, Richard Byer, David Thompson and Hal Gollop.