When the sewage breach on the South Coast first surfaced social media was accused of being irresponsible by giving it maximum airplay. Two ministers – John Boyce and Richard Sealy – felt motivated to jump smackdab in the affected area. Subsequent events have graphically illustrated that there was validity in concerns expressed at this relatively early juncture.

Further, it is reported that leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley sent an offline request to the prime minister two years ago to request a meeting, the objetive to discuss how a potential crisis could have been averted. In true bonehead style the request was ignored-  history is replete with narratives to support the political polarization that characterizes how backwater locales manage the affairs of state.

If there is one learning that should be taken away by ALL Barbadians is that there is benefit to working together in the national interest. If we cannot collaborate when the national issue is under threat then the question must be asked – why spend millions to educate ourselves?

The following videos were posted to Facebook and shared by Barbados Underground in the public’s interest.

#sewagerush

95 responses to “#sewagerush@accra”

1. John May 2, 2018 2:43 PM

About 1000 Quakers will be meeting this weekend to discuss the issue. I am also told that there is a Professor of Quaker Studies at a British university.

2. As part of a temporary measure, the BWA said its Wastewater Division has erected a sand bag barrier to contain overflows near the Rockley Beach facility.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Sand bag barrier, berm or …. dyke!!!

I guess the idea is the same.

Sandbags are often used in the reinforcement of levees.

So we now may have four highly technical terms in play in Barbados.

3. I am a bit baffled regarding the pump opposite the Bank in Worthing by that hotel that is being renovated. Is that sewage water coming from the pipes and being directed by sand bags into the gutter? Where does this gutter run-off goes? Hope it is not channeled through the same sewage system? If you seal all those sewage covers, don’t you feel that the sewage water will escape through the weakest link(s)? Also, those iron grills are not solid, thus, the leakage.
    We also have to realise that this is our country and everyone must be concerned regarding this national problem smacked within our Tourist Season. I have doubts about the reliability of these retainer wells which might collect more sea/swamp water due to the closeness of the sea and our land below sea level.

4. Did Boyce not say the sandbagging is a temporary fix and septic tanks will be put in place?

5. The mind boggling apathy and stupidity of some Bajans is shocking.

SHIT FLOWING IN THE STREET AND OR ON TO A BEACH IS A CRISIS.

6. @Hants

This recent breach is likely the final straw. Bajans are embarrassed and have made up their minds.

Where is Estwick?

7. @ David,

I am waiting to see the BLP manifesto which should have a paragraph stating

” WITHIN 30 DAYS WE WILL CONTAIN THE SEWAGE LEAKS and will ensure that the Sewage Treatment Plants are

functioning effectivelyin 120 DAYS.

8. typo

effectively in

9. @Hants

Such a promise is not possible. What the BLP is on record as saying is that businesses in the worse affected areas be closed and work begin to stabilize those areas. The injection wells idea is taking long to implement. The country needs to hear Estwick and Stuart. This is a crisis!

10. @ David who wrote ” The country needs to hear Estwick and Stuart ”

What do you expect to hear other than more spin ? The sewage pipe didn’t bust last night.

They have had at least 2 years to fix the problem and it will not be their problem 23 days from now. lol

11. Just had a great wonderful time on jammin sorry to say we won’t be back to you get your act together and clean up this place

12. A whole tourism island was shut down to fix a problem

13. You have to love the fact that shit flowing and the people responsible are not embarrassed.
    Out there campaigning and showing their face,
    Those are some big balls.

14. I would love to put Hal and John in a room. Soft music and candlelight dinner.
    A hole lot of quaking and shaking….

15. Lawson…am so happy you did not fall overboard.

16. Shit flowing in streets and people still lining up at kfc mind boggling

17. Bajans like nuff shit that is why the economy and the country in general in shit

18. I don’t think 1000 Quakers will change much what are individual beliefs.

19. Think GRANTS.
    Fester problem
    National ISSUE
    UN > Water Management
    Dig.
    Notification>
    W H O
    Secured?
    Problem solved?
    Where=
    WWG1WGA

20. I am a bit baffled regarding the pump opposite the Bank in Worthing by that hotel that is being renovated.

If you look at the pump, there is a pipe run along the sidewalk to the Restaurant at the corner, … is it called “The
    Stream”?

I think that is the output.

It then crosses the road under the steel plates in the corner and looks as though it ends up on the Bridge and goes into the channel leading to the sluice gate.

This channel appears on old maps as “The Stream”.

My guess (and it is only a guess) is that the stretch from the Bank in Worthing to the corner is blocked, collapsed or whatever and the pump allows the sewage coming from the Bridgetown side to be put directly into the swamp.

I have not looked at what happens to the pipe after the Bridge … it is possible it may run up the cartroad to the plant .. will need to look see.

Sealing the manholes may have put a larger load on the pump than it can move so the mess ends up around the pump and is sandbagged, dyked, bermed, leveed to prevent it spilling onto the road.

That is a guess, I will need to look closer as clearly things have changed since my last detailed look.

21. Prodigal
    Did you see that fellow that say he had a fall and damaged nuff ligaments.Denis Lowe looks like how David Thompson looked when Evelyn Greaves dragged him to Pickerings to formally get that Project off the ground.Incidentally,it still grounded and the investors in court.
    That man Denis Lowe look he ready to leave this world.The man face look sallow and his upper lip is swollen big.The man was forced to come out with the “St Michael crew” which could only muster 3 including Stuart and not counting the city man.Stuart make a serious miscalculation and called the election at a time to coincide with the 1st Quarter Central Bank Report,a disaster by any and all standards.If he had Hartley Henry or Peter Wickham or George Belle to advise him they would never allow the fool to so delay the election date that it would coincide with the Q1 Bank Report,11 Plus Examination, CXC. Cape and UWI upcoming exams.Even BIM saying the Dems in worth debating.Wuhloss!

22. […] The Governor’s review comes a few days after reports that the south coast sewage mess has reared its messy head once again. #sewagerush@accra. […]

23. John. I read your submission and I have an observation. Since the construction of Sandals, all this sewage problem started. The same way various business were cut off from the system. Why Sandals can’t be temporarily cut-off. Also all businesses connection to the sewage grill should be measured and priced according

24. As raw sewage continues to run onto one of the South Coast’s most popular beaches, the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is looking at possibly installing fiberglass tanks to contain the flow of the effluent.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/153750/plan-install-tanks-hold-sewage

25. The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) wishes to inform the public of a mechanical failure to one of the two screw lifts in operation at the South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant (SCSTP).

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/153717/screw-lift-pump-fails-south-coast-sewage-treatment-plant

26. If there was not the embarrassing sewage overflow would the BWA have bothered to share info about the screwliftpump breaking down?

27. Sewage woes on the South Coast were there long before Sandals was constructed.

Check 2010 GHNS report occasioned by the failing sewage plant.

28. David

Why do you have confidence in any story from the BWA ?

29. First it was “Wells” now it is Septic Tanks, not any tank mind you but high class “Fibreglass Tanks” presumably to hold the high- class excreta that is flowing through the streets on the South Coast. But first they have to get “quotations”, “then the money”. This whole saga reads like a dystopian novel set in a third world country but perhaps Barbados is on the verge of becoming that turd world country.

This collection of bozos should appear in face paint next time they appear before the cameras, they couldn’t even manage a snow cone cart on Kadooment day. Soon to appear at GAIA “Welcome to Smelly Barbados”.

30. @Sargeant

For the same reason we drink the water?

31. David
    I have no respect for that unqualified-for-the-position JA they call a GM at BWA neither for that dribbling old duffer for a chairman who should have been sent home long ago with his huge gold medallion for a chain looking like a thug from the hood. He should be about saving his breath to cool his porridge and reminiscing of the good ole days at the Upanon college with Harold de mene.

32. @David
    For the same reason we drink the water?
    +++++++++
    The US Embassy warned its personnel about drinking the water and the BWA/Gov’t dismissed the claims, given all that’s gone on where does your faith lie?

Remember when visitors to Mexico were warned of Montezuma’s revenge? The Barbados one-step or Barbados belly (one step from the bathroom) may not be too far off.

33. @Sargeant

Your advice is noted.

34. The public is advised that until further notice, persons should stay out of the sea at Worthing Beach, Christ Church, from 6 p.m. to noon the following day.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/153982/authorities-recommence-sluice-gate

35. Maybe John can tell us what he suspects is going on here.

36. JOHN: Yesterday I gave my observations on two subjects regarding issues on the South Coast. I mentioned at 2.49 p.m about the pump in Worthings that spewing water into the gutter which is visible to the eyes. I stated that this water running into the gutter and maybe finding its way into the sewage system. You gave an engineering perspective that this pump is connected to a pipe and finds its way into the swamp. That is part of the two problems. Water in the gutter contained by sand bags and the major one of sewage going into the swamp.
    I said that the construction of Sandals might be another problem based on capacity along with various renovated properties which is overwhelming the system… What is needed are five pipes strategically placed to take the sewage far out to sea Barbadians are eating to much grease and stooling too much. We use over two gallons to flush a glassful of urine; We use another two gallons to flush less than a pound of stool; We use over a gallon of water two wash two plates and glasses. That’s why we have so much watery sewage running into our streets. If we don’t be careful we will have to go back to the pit toilet and throw the solids to cane plants as fertiliser and wash our utensils in a bucket of water. Wanna goin’ to wait fuh Bushie tell wha to do.

37. Don’t discount the full moon, 29th April!!

I’ll see if I can take a look over the weekend and see what’s what.

38. Minister David Estwick is being reported as promising to address the South Coast problems on the campaign trail.

39. @ David,

” Burdened by mounting financial problems, including $500 million in loans it cannot service, the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) today announced it was considering a rise in water rates to help it cope.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/03/drowning-in-debt/

40. @Hants

The BWA has to apply for an increase to the FSC.

41. @ David,

The reason the sewage problem is not fixed is patently obvious. Government has no money and can’t borrow any.

$500 million in debt.

42. That’s roughly $ 2K per Bajan, if you include pensioners and babies.

43. Minister David Estwick how long has the South Coast leaking mess been going on? You only now writing letters to people? Given the seriousness of the matter you don’t think the government should be acting with haste to remove illegal connections from the sewage plant?

Illegal HOOKUPS a challenge |

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/illegal-hookups-challenge%C2%A0

44. @ David,

It will be the MIA and the BLP problem. They will have to DISCONNECT the illegal systems, repair the sewer pipes and rebuild the Sewerage system.

The enormity of the problems facing Barbados is staggering.

45. The beaches were deserted yesterday when I passed, Accra to Miami, Seaweed.

There remains the sewage problem but what I saw yesterday was predominantly seaweed.

At the time of the Crane Beach Chair noise, the seaweed problem was there.

Suspect the discoloration will clear up in a few days …. but if it doesn’t ………….!!!!

Leave a Reply to TheoGazertsCancel reply