After 10 years of economic hardship there is the reasonable view held by intelligent Barbadians that at the top of the pile of campaign issues should be a full ventilation of economic plans by contesting political parties during the 2018 General Election. Given the flat trendline on the national productivity graph for the last 10 years and beyond- is it reasonable for sensible Barbadians to prefer a campaign message that will engage voters on this subject?

During the last 10 years we have not significantly changed the supply or demand side of the food consumption equation. Is it a sensible for Barbadians to DEMAND a conversation about food security and how existing food consumption habits are negatively impacting foreign reserves AND the health of the nation e.g. non communicable diseases and obesity?

Given our status as a Small Island Developing State located a hop, skip and a jump from the Equator, should we not be more advanced in the production of energy from alternative sources?

Both political parties in the post Independence period have allocated billions of dollars to  education. Are we satisfied with the output from the investment i.e. profile of our industries, conditioning a relevant work ethic and psychology of our people, developing the physical  infrastructure of the country that is fit for purpose, protecting the environment, managing waste and waste to energy …

Have we focused enough on ensuring there is a relevant governance framework to deliver the people’s business? Surely the performance of key working committees of parliament like the Public Accounts Committee and Committee of Privileges to name two have plummeted to an embarrassing level. The lack of fiscal discipline to managing public finances and an indifference shown by all and sundry to government financial rules; inability to produce audited financial statement etc, exposes a level of unprofessionalism, incompetence that a sensible electorate should want to demand action from OURSELVES to address?

Theses are a few of the issues that are always top of the mind for the blogmaster. These are issues that should be of concern to all Barbadians. Given the unprecedented economic and other experiences of the last ten years the country has had to endure, there is reason for ALL Barbadians to change how we manage conversations with politicians when they come aknocking at our doors and in other interactions when presented with the opportunity. Change must start with the person reflected in the mirror, WE must be the change. WE must demand the change. Continuing to cede OUR civic responsibilities to members of the political class is lazy, ignorant, dangerous and assures that it will be business as usual.

The style of the blogmaster is never to be ‘longwinded’ on the issues. We live in the microwave age where the attention span of the audience rivals that of the bird, priorities and information are shaped by Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and other computer generated algorithms. The upside is that by being a small island there is the opportunity to create and coalesce behind a plan of action. By holding elected officials accountable this is an opportunity to begin the change process. We have to change the indifference to how matters that directly affect our lives are managed.

Every election cycle we have these kinds of conversations that are analogous to the ones we have about the 11+ or the minibus culture. Some positions need to be taken NOW to steer Barbados away from being a failed state. The politician is just a cog in the process, We create the process.

41 responses to “Politician a Cog in the Process”

1. “Given our status as a Small Island Developing State….”

Not anymore David. The Island is now in a state of regression, close to freefall, from which it will struggle to recover.

2. The billions for education were wasted taxpayer´s money.

Beyond the offshore financial industry, there are no qualified, private jobs for academics, but only subsidized jobs in the public sector where “eduacted” Barbadians play admin, courts and other institutions of their former British colonial masters.

If you look at all the small islands in the Caribbean, independent nations and overseas territories, and compare their GDP, growth and debt load during the past ten years, it is very clear that university education was extremly counterproductive for Barbados. There is no need for more lawyers, more economists and other socialist theorists who know how to spend the taxpayer´s money, but never raised any foreign currency for Barbados. What Barbados needs are more qualified craftsmen and more farmers, no more lazy lads with UWI diploma playing around in A/C cooled offices for 20 hours per week.

3. Well said Tron. It is much the same in the UK – thousands of layabouts with degrees in nonsense, and a huge sense of entitlement.The lawyers in Bim are largely crooked, and then they become judges and polikticians. What do we need, proof?

4. From the perspective of the economy a former Trinidad minister of government who worked in Barbados warned Barbadians it will take 10-15 years if we planned from last year to pull things back.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/94273/haul

5. This article from David Comissiong is still relevant. The stress on the NIS Scheme is of concern. The increasing number of vagrants homeless people etc.

http://www.caribflame.com/2016/01/the-fundamental-problems-facing-barbados/

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Yes, the country’s economy is not a good state. Yes, the level of taxation is high but these are problems which the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) inherited when they came into office.”

Sinckler is still lying and refuses to take responsibility for his ex government’s 10 whole years of incompetence, not one ex minister was able to fix anything on the island in 10 years, they sure as hell will not be able to convince intelligent people they will suddenly become competent to fix anything in another 5 years..

….the island, it’s infrastructure, supeme court, immigration etc…everything is wrecked and are complete and utter disasters.

7. “Both political parties in the post Independence period have allocated billions of dollars to education. Are we satisfied with the output from the investment“. Very relevant question when one takes into consideration that only this past weekend there was a notice in the papers advising that no suitable applications had been received for the post of General Manager of all places, The Hilton Hotel, and that application would be made for a work permit.

After having a university offering some of the highest degrees, BIMAP and The Hotel School all churning out graduates by the hundreds, we are still unable to find a suitable candidate to fill the position of GM at this hotel.

What does this say about our education system? We are training soldiers, not GENERALS. And be assured, this is taking place not only in the hospitality sector but across all areas of business in Barbados today.

There was a time long past when Barbadians could be found in key positions of leadership throughout the length and breath of the Caribbean and beyond, most without BA, MA, MBA and Ph.D behind their names. Maybe we have lost sight of the fact that education has become a business and like any business, it purpose is to make a profit. How do you make a profit in education? By marketing your product (education) in such a way as to create in the mind of consumers that they must have your product. Hence, even when there is no need, we have businesses demanding a degree for entry level jobs and a higher degree for advancement. Just go into any government office and see how many degrees are held by the rank and file…. yet most high ranking jobs are fille by expats and we import artisans. Go figure.

8. The DLP government did not vote itself a second term. What is the image in the mirror?

9. @ David April 30, 2018 5:36 AM

A local, native, very well known former CEO told me so FIVE years ago: 10 to 20 years IF Barrow´s party is voted out in 2013. Now it is 2018 and we suffered a second reign of economic terror.

Barbados will not recover before 2035. And then the population will vote for another Dem gov and the cycle of doom starts again … after the 1990s and the 2010s …

10. Unless we are successful in coaxing intelligent Barbadians the nobleness in contributing to public service what options do we have?

11. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

I hate those words “ coalesce BEHIND a plan of action…” merely because “behind” is where we have been for all these years of a a vascillating inept duopoly.

The new structure HAS TO BE ONE OF PLANNED NATIONAL SYNERGY where what ensues in our inefficient construct is the enablement of symbiotic growth of our country – a facilitation of meritorious service, rewarding sacrifice and tangible and meaningful parochial and national initiatives with meaningful and tangible rewards.

In the public service what this will mean is the dismissal of the indolent and their replacement with the mentally athletic and physically capable. We must revamp the Army of Occupation

For the private sector, those few that are seriously committed to rekindling our economy, by tangible investments, as opposed to their usual, systematic abuse and rape of the treasury, no one ent mention cow nor jerking ham nor de rest uh de big eight plantocracy, there should be a requisite support for such involvement, recompense in the areas that matter to that sector, tax accommodations and credits read increased profits.

For our youth, there has to be a much more meaningful entrepreneurship practicuum than those espoused by the visionless Lynette’s and Sandra’s whose only claim to fame is talking pretty while delivering waste foopism extreme.

And to the entire nation one must foster hope, real meaningful sustainable change which infuses us all with a real vision and unbroken covenant so that, in our collective position, that “action” of which you spoke ensues from “within” as opposed to the usual mendicancy and slothfulness which has accompanied that getting “behind an action plan…” like sheeple.

But then again i do acknowledge that this is pure semantics and (mis) interpretation of what you said

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster, grateful for your assistance with an item in suspense thank you

13. Fearplay… Your assessment is valid, but you are forgetting something. Having a piece of paper does not mean that college graduates posess the analytical, aptitude, or skills required for employment let alone career advancement. The mindset of many graduates is that “they have arrived” now they have “graduated”. So no need for professional or personal improvement. And when you combine lack of aptitude with piss poor attitude you see what you get.

14. There is a lot of truth in the post by David and in many of the observations.I have been convinced for many years that our state funded secondary education is a hoax,a stupidity,a big mistake.State funded pre school and primary are both where the emphasis should be and post secondary specialty training whether BCC/SJPP and the UWI revised to satisfy the needs of Barbados and the Region.I am still stuck in the federalist mode.What is the point of wasting time at secondary school to pump gas.Its creating confusion in the society giving the likes of Lowe and Jepter Ince a reason to think the budget is a tool for party largesse.

15. Which party promised at the last general elections: 500 houses in 500 days; 2500 lots in first five years; meaningful support for farmers; respect for youth and youth concerns; zero tolerance of crime and violence; revamped QEH with a fully staffed and equipped A&E; and a new health and pension deal for seniors?

16. Slave mentality at work. Bajans want everything free. Free education, public transportation, healthcare, but no taxation. (Of course how the taxes are expended is another issue). You get what you pay for. When everything is free or handed out, where is personal responsibility, good work ethic, tenacity, and accountability?

17. Jean @ 7:59 AM “Bajans want everything free.” Please don’t let the propaganda lull you or any of us into believing anything in Barbados is free compliments of the government. Every “free” privilege enjoyed by us is paid for, lock, stock and barrel through the highest taxation regime in the region and probably in the world. The problem here is that a large part of the tax take is diverted toward making the chosen few millionaires or multi-millionaires and hence, larger and larger tax demands are made in order to provide minimum services to the general population while the benefactors skim the cream and the milk. What is left? 2% milk. So my friend, everything we get “free” is already paid for.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

You are right Piece, no one is addressing the real destruction to the island in the last 52 years …of the black politicians once elected to parliament by the majority population, the very next day believing that they are masters of the people who elected them and servants to the bizzy’s, cows,,maloney’s, bjerkhams, both local and fpreign white thieves and then proceed to collude with and aid them in raping the taxpayers, the land and the pension fund..as I am convinced all the candidates now salivating to be elected are currently waiting yo continue that trend with their get rich quick mentalities. .

In saying that…both black governments created and kept intact the slave minded society for their own benefit, the reason why they only want a land of consumers, no food security and an outdated worthless education system modeled after british discrimination and disenfranchisement of the black population.

If the british establishment just recently got rocked to its very foundations….Its time to wipe the Barbados and Caribbean landscapes of easily manipulated, uncaring, useless leaders in whatever form they exist..

19. Barbados need a combination of Barrow and Adams to get this country back from the doom of Sinckler and Stuart two stupid JA’s neither of whom would admit to be clueless other than to stand up before a crowd of their supporters and talk about the sexual preferences of Cammie Tudor.Or is it Mia and Peter.

20. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service April 30, 2018 6:06 AM

“Sinckler is still lying and refuses to take responsibility for his ex government’s 10 whole years of incompetence, not one ex minister was able to fix anything on the island in 10 years, they sure as hell will not be able to convince intelligent people they will suddenly become competent to fix anything in another 5 years”.
    …………………………

You are so right.

I was saying on another thread that I was in a KFC last Friday and the service was so poor and slow and while waiting the guy in front of me and I began talking………..I said that this bad service is just like the way the country is in today……..everything is falling apart and I told him that is why we have to get out and vote. The man told me that if a person digging a hole you have to give them a chance to get out of it………..I asked him if he was mad…..this is how the DLP and their supporters think.

It is clear that Stinkliar takes no responsibility for the condition he has placed this economy in and his supporters believe it.

They still believe like the man in KFC that they can get us out of the hole.

Every year at every budget……….Stinkliar said……….the economy is on a growth path, we have turn things around……..and look where we are today and their chief rambler on Brasstacks, one Rawle wants MAM to tell Barbadians if she is going to the IMF.

You see how dems could lie……….why should he be asking that question if the economy is on a growth path??

Dems NEVER again.

21. Fearplay… Your responses are on point. I recently told someone that nothing is free and they retorted that the sun, sea and air in Barbados is indeed free. I shudder to think of others who have the same thoughts. Thank you for your analysis.

22. Let us hear what the Governor of the Central Bank has to say on Wednesday 02, 2018 at 11AM when he is scheduled to review Barbados’ Economic performance for first quarter.

23. Guyson Mayers and the DLP are at it again.

The Mayers led PSC has overlooked Oral Williams, who was acting Deputy Commissioner of Police for the past three (3) years, to promote Erwin Boyce in that post effective May 1, 2018.

Similarly to what he did to former CoP Darwin Dottin, Guyson Mayers replaced the list of officers nominated for promotion by CoP Tyrone Griffith…….. with his own candidates. Those officers overlooked for promotion have since then filed a law suit against the PSC.

“Politician a Cog in the Process.”

24. Guyson Mayers getting $300,000.00 for writing something that the Crown could have had done by a qualified public servant.And these asses got the gall to talk about Cammie Tudor sexual preferences,That is the man’s business,nothing to do with his work ethic or management of the resources entrusted to his care.If the man is naturally a Bee that is his business.You cannot choose which party he is inclined to be joined to.

25. Guyson Mayers was encouraged in his foolishness by the former dean his deputy…bloody criminals all.

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Prodigal…a political clean up is in order, too many of them are intellectually stunted.

I can still call too many names in the opposition party who should not be allowed anywhere near the parliament, just like all the current ex ministers, senators etc.

27. WE CAN EACH “CHOOSE TO MAKE BARBADOS GREAT”.
    IF YOU WANT CHANGE BE THE CHANGE!
    WE NEED TO IDENTIFY THAT THE ROOT CAUSE OF OUR ILLS “SOCIALISM” IS A SLOW PROCESS OF ROT AND DECAY.

YOU CAN’T SOLVE A PROBLEM WITHOUT KNOWING THE ROOT CAUSE…THAT IS LIKE TAKING PANADOL FOR A HEADACHE WHEN YOU HAVE A BUSTED BLOOD VESSEL IN THE BRAIN! AND YOU FEEL YOU FIXING THINGS!

MODERN MEDICINE TREATS THE SYMPTOMS NOT THE CAUSE. BECAUSE IF THEY GET YOU TO TAKE A PILL A DAY FOR YOUR LIFE THEY MAKE MONEY, IF THEY CURE YOU THEY WON’T GET ANY MONEY TOMORROW…

IF YOU ASK WHAT WE SHOULD DO, YOU CANNOT TREAT THE SYMPTOMS ONLY YOU HAVE TO USE THE SYMPTOMS TO LEAD YOU TO THE ROOT CAUSE… THEN YOU CAN FIX THE PROBLEM…I HAVE BEEN SPEAKING ABOUT THE CAUSE OF OUR ILLS FOR A LONG TIME AND SOME STILL DON’T GET IT… ESPECIALLY LEFTIES!!

WHAT SOCIALIST GOVERNMENTS ADVOCATE IS MORE GOVERNMENT TO SOLVE PROBLEMS THAT GOVERNMENT CAUSED IN THE FIRST PLACE!!

ONE VICIOUS CIRCLE THAT GOES ROUND AND ROUND AND WE END UP IN A SOCIALIST MAYHEM OF SEWAGE!!

WE NEED DESPERATELY TO REDUCE THE SIZE OF GOVERNMENT LEACHING OFF THE PEOPLE…WE EXIST TO FEED THEIR EDITS…HOW LONG CAN A PARASITICAL ENTITY LIVE OFF OF WE THE PEOPLE… WILL DEPENDS ON HOW MUCH IT FEEDS!

WHY HAVE A PARASITE AT ALL…I AM NOT ANTI GOVERNMENT…I AM ANTI BIGGGGGGG GOVERNMENT!

SMALL GOVERNMENT IS BY THE PEOPLE FOR THE PEOPLE…BIG GOVERNMENT IS FOR BIG GOVERNMENT…

THEY ARE NO LONGER SERVANTS OF THE PEOPLE THEY HAVE BECOME THE MASTERS OF THE PEOPLE!!

Oversized Government with its Ideology that is Rooted Socialism, has been such a Stealthy Culprit, that we have come to accept it without questioning. We need to understand that it’s all about Control, Control, Control with Endless Rules and Regulation that are incumbent upon the people.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=784946141704164&set=a.594263764105737.1073741830.100005663558154&type=3&theater

28. RE MODERN MEDICINE TREATS THE SYMPTOMS NOT THE CAUSE.

ARE YOU A WHOLE CIRCUS…OR JUST A CLOWN?
    WHAT DID PRE MODERN MEDICINE TREAT, YA IDIOT!
    MODERN MEDICINE IS MORE CAPABLE OF TREATING THE CAUSE THAN EVER BEFORE
    TRY TO BE ACCURATE!

29. Let me simplify this–we need a flexible workforce. In most circumstances, the degree or training course is not the issue.

30. @enuff

Given your CSME leaning the workforce can be sourced outside our border?

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

june naime

I TRY NOT TO no longer argue with medical or pharmacological illiterates ON BU!

BUT again !

WHAT DID PRE MODERN MEDICINE or ANCIENT MEDICINE TREAT, YA IDIOT!

MODERN MEDICINE IS MORE CAPABLE OF TREATING THE CAUSE THAN EVER BEFORE
    TRY TO BE ACCURATE!

THEY WERE FEW OR NO POTENT OR EFFICACIOUS MEDICATIONS PRIOR TO CERCA 1950

SINCE THEN Contemporary drugs are designed to interact with specific receptor sites.

YOUR MORONIC AND INACCURATE STATEMENT THAT MODERN MEDICINE TREATS THE SYMPTOMS NOT THE CAUSE INDICATES THAT PRE MODERN OR ANCIENT MEDICINE DID NOT TREAT SYMPTOMS AND ACTUALLY ACHIEVED CURES.. YOU ARE WRONG
    YOUR STATEMENT WAS INACCURATE AND NEEDED TO BE CORRECTED!@

32. David
    My CSME leanings say there is no border, and we can be the source outside and inside. lol

33. @ Georgie Porgie,

MODERN MEDICINE HAS BEEN A FAILURE…… AT POPULATION CONTROL. LOL

34. @enuff

Will leave you to Bushie.

35. @Georgie Porgie there is some truth in what you have said from the age of Penicillin onward there have been many strides to improve peoples health but the Pharmaceutical Company’s nowadays like most institutions have become Corrupt over the years and that is where what I have said come in. You fail to Recognize in the Modern Day to Defraud the world by the Pharmaceutical Companies however on the Horizon Treatment using Stem Cells, DNA and so on will HOPEFULLY break apart the Strangle Hold of Big Pharma!

@ Hants people like you are happy with Abortion and other forms of Sterilization and Eugenics… You would be happy with the Philosophies espoused with those like Mao, Stalin, Hitler, Pol Pot and the Biggest Culprit yet Planned Parenthood 61 Million Innocent Slaughtered since the Seventies in the Sanctuary of their Mothers wombs …And just in case you are wondering the world is better fed Now with 7 Billion than when they had 7 Billion.

Note… Margaret Sanger Taught the Nazi’s about Eugenics…

http://i2.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/facebook/000/958/764/a3f.jpg

36. Correction…And just in case you are wondering the world is better fed Now with 7 Billion than when they had 4 Billion.

37. David

I know Bushie coming fuh muh.

38. June Naime go off BU talking a lotta RH. The place for you is infowars and those far right crazy pages. Be gone !!

39. “There are two and only two ways that any economy can be organized. One is by Freedom and Voluntary choice—the way of the market. The other is by force and dictation—the way of the State…

The State obtains its revenue by coercion, by threatening dire penalties should the income not be forthcoming. That coercion is known as “taxation,” although in less regularized epochs it was often known as “tribute…

Taxation is theft, purely and simply even though it is theft on a grand and colossal scale which no acknowledged criminals could hope to match. It is a compulsory seizure of the property of the State’s inhabitants, or subjects.”

What Percentage of Your Income Equates To Serfdom

90%? 80%? 50%?

We must be able to have a System of Governance that allows Free Market Enterprise without all the Burdensome Regulations and Heavy Taxation’s.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=784989108366534&set=a.594263764105737.1073741830.100005663558154&type=3&theater