Submitted by George Brathwaite (Ph.D)

“A politician thinks of the next election; a statesman thinks of the next generation.” James Freeman Clarke.

The announcement of May 24th, 2018 as the date for the next general election in Barbados has come as a relief for most. The May date signals a ‘mayday’ call and it has churned out possibilities and probabilities for those likely to govern the country in the aftermath of economic failures and societal decline. High taxation and high crime rates have added immense suffering to the lives of Barbadians; this fact is given the numerous episodes over the lost (last) decade. The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) through its political leader and other surrogates are suggesting that the party will be returned to the seat of governance with a bigger majority.

Noteworthy, there remain doubts about the DLP’s full slate of candidates with Dr Dennis Lowe sidelined for health reasons while the nation’s health is in a compromised position with garbage build-up negatively impacting upon communities across the island. There is speculation that Dr. David Estwick, after having repeatedly labelled the DLP’s economic policy framework as a dismal failure but voted for such, may jump over board at the last minute. Dr Estwick’s decision is also said to be tied to the persistent overflowing of sewage on Barbados’ south coast which reached crisis proportions since 2017 and continues to the present moment. The shock effect of Estwick withdrawing at the last minute brings back memories.

Quite frankly, the DLP seems adrift in terms of its readiness to contest the elections despite Donville Inniss, another critic of the DLP’s ‘silent’ leader. Inniss insists that the DLP’s machinery attracted problems for itself because of poorly communicated expressions that would amount to a prosperous Barbados. It appears laughable that PM Stuart would say “a date has been set, and the battle has now begun in earnest” when in fact, there is a glaring absence of energy from the DLP’s candidates and political machinery. The clouds are hovering over the DLP in what has been described by some, to be an election that forever will determine future governance in Barbados.

The political climate after the announcement prompted one of the most foreboding statements in the immediate days following PM Freundel Stuart’s forced call. George Payne of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is mulling over the incredulous approach of the ruling DLP. Payne noted that the DLP campaign team, planners, candidates, and blind-supporters will “have to buy the election,” or that “they plan to steal it or they plan to disappear.” This statement is relevant in the context of the popular discourse and it mirrors much of the uneasiness and distrust that has developed throughout the DLP’s years in office.

The electorate’s ignorance on corruption is the power holding together the DLP. Nonetheless, the DLP’s credibility has sunk to an unenviable low against the several pieces of real evidence pointing to what was once described by Mia Mottley and the BLP as a politics of stealth. The politics of stealth revealed secret deals and signings, significant concessions to business entities such as Sandals which only became known by leaks. There was the CLICO debacle, the peculiar relationship with a local business magnate, the Cahill fiasco, the sales of the Barbados Hilton and the Blue Horizon hotels which all left speculation of infelicities, malfeasance, and corrupt practices on the streets of Barbados.

In addition to the problems presenting real issues of trust for the Barbadian electorate when it comes to the DLP and its candidates, the many veiled attempts to shut up citizens complaining of the austere measures and practices of deception by the DLP have given new zeal to those believing their rights have been trampled. Ordinary citizens are mindful that a Speaker of the House refused to recuse himself in circumstances wherein the said Speaker was accused by an elderly member of the population of misappropriating the man’s funds and then failing to immediately comply with a court judgment.

Moreover, with the arbitrary attempts followed by legal challenges to deny Commonwealth citizens from registering to vote, represented another indication of a callous and mischievous DLP. The paltry performances of the DLP over the last 10 years coupled with the desperate rhetoric to serve yet another term, prods the citizenry to become suspicious of the DLP’s tactics. Prime Minister Stuart on numerous occasions has refused to show the empathy that any other leader would show when the plight of the poor has worsened, the burdens on workers and their unions have become unsustainable, and the neglect in the provision of services has been abominable.

Under the leadership of Mia Mottley who has grown in the position of Leader of the Opposition and in her attempt to pull all aboard for a better and prosperous Barbados, the BLP is nascent. The annual BLP picnic on National Heroes Day, the biggest since inception, suggests that it can only be by wickedness in high places should the DLP mount more than a handful of seats. The BLP’s vitality is for safeguarding today’s people and the generation of Barbados to come. On the weekend, Mottley asserted that: “I want to do right by the people of this country, but we can only do it if we join forces to bring the best Barbados possible.” Undoubtedly, the BLP-inspired hope is an emerging light capturing the attention of vast numbers of the electorate.

Anything short of the BLP attaining a commanding and overwhelming victory, suggests that the ballot box would have met with undue interference of some sort by those in positions to act selfishly and undermine the very institutions that Barbados has been prided – free and fair elections under the People’s Representation Act. The DLP objectively has situated itself in history as the worst-performing administration in the annals of Barbados. So, will the DLP attempt to buy or steal an election victory, or will that botched party do as most Barbadians now hope, and disappear?

(Dr George C. Brathwaite is a part-time lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, and a political consultant. Email: brathwaitegc@gmail.com)

85 responses to “Buy, Steal, or Disappear?”

1. They are all still doing it…waiting for senior citizens to die so they cannot get their money, or property or compensations, MOST of the lawyers are still doing it, abusing senior citizens whether they are their clients or not, so are the insurance companies, abusing senior citizens who are suffering with injuries, because the Supreme Court is enabling them to continue the abuse of waiting for older people to die from their injuries or from complications or from other diseases and illnesses, prolonging their cases and have them lingering for over a decade, so their cases will die with them….but they don’t know how I am waiting for them..

…I have never encountered such evil minded people, they all want exposing worldwide and suing for that type of abuse of the elderly and everyone else they refuse to conclude their cases….

had I not seen it myself, I will never believe how callous ad coldhearted the lawyers and Supreme Court process could be, hence the reason many are hoping the building would kill most of the lawyers who have been engaging in this willful practice for decades, for their evil ways, that would be Karma at work.

2. Prodigal Son Avatar

Artax

Thanks for reminding us of the gross arrogance, incompetence and stupidity of these morons and we remember how crooked they are.

Was it not leaked after news of Hal Gollop’s 1.5 million dollar invoice to BWA that Michael Carrington was allegedly paid over a million dollars to do legal work for the sale of a building in Newton Industrial Estate?

Who could spend one million dollars while still draining a big salary with per diems and allowances and not pay a debt which was causing him such embarrassment? These people are real big spenders after being in the wilderness for 14 years1

3. @ David who wrote ” The modus operandi of some of the lawyers about here is to frustrate the client if a senior citizen by waiting fro them to die.”

I hope you are wrong but you are probably right.

4. They are all thieves, was that not a conflict of interest, speaker of the house, minister of government, double dipping in the treasury…with a side job of still thiefing from clients and waiting for the client to die.

5. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Lorenzo

You need to ban George Payne from giving the Dems information on Mia Mottley!

Banning me from BU is not the solution for you or the Bees !!!

Get loss yuh monkey 🐒!!

They are now requesting s price hike fuh your head !!

$ 50.00 fuh a monkey 🐒 head !!

6. Fractured…ah heard even diehard yardfowls are jumping ship, they are afraid to put their lives and that of their children and grandchildren in the hands of Fruendolittle, Sinckler, Dumbville, Lashley x2 and all the ex-ministers, senators etc who only sucked taxpayer salaries and gave away the people’s money in a multitude of scams with Maloney etc for 10 years …ya can’t argue with that, right?

ah heard ya have empty parties, the crowds are missing, yall are pariahs, only the most dumb las aves de corral are still hanging on because no o ne wants them, I guess you are one, cud dear..lol

7. Natalie rocking elegant casual.

Nationnews video titled Natalie Harewood pays deposit

8. Fractured if this blog was mine your ass would long be grass,but the blogmaster seems afraid of you or is he your relative.Your insults do not scare me ,in fact nothing you say frightens or impress me,so do not go there.I do not care if Mr hinkson and Mr Payne are friends,or if Ms motley and Mr Payne are friends,.Tell me is Mr Sinkler and Dr Estwick friends,was mr Kellman and Mr Thompson friends?These trivial issues you bring to serious issues leave a lot to be desired and if you are the best the Dems can find on here,along with CCC and Ac,addiing Ms Undecide,the Trini Dem and Maureen Holder on radio then you all in big trouble.Bajans what to hear about polictie for their well being not innuendo and fake news leave that for George Street ,in order words bring your record and come ,something most of you Dems seem to want to avoid I guess because you cannot defend it.Put that in your pipe and smoke it yardfowl.Still awaiting a response from David BU on why he has not banned you of his site.

9. @Lorenzo

Commenters directing insults at the blogmaster reflect on the originator of the insult for everyone to assess. So many commenters have passed through BU doors after they became irrelevant, self censorship has done the job for the most part. In some cases the blogmaster will exercise judgement when it becomes overbearing. It is the silly season!

BTW, the majority of those who plan to vote 24 May have made up their minds already.

10. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Lorenzo & David

Get lost !

The pending BLP defeat have both of you in panic mode !

23 more days and wunna gine be calling fuh 2023 General Elections !!

2018 General Elections results gine leave wunna with a ………GRIEF LUMP !

11. Prodigal Son Avatar

The headline on Barbados Today is ….Still No Returns…………

The people have awoken, they know that this government is trying to pull wool over their eyes. People have been waiting on the returns which were :being stuffed into envelopes as I speak” and that was some 2/3 years ago.

And the PM thinks he can win a third term?…..dream on Fumble………..not even all the votes you all are going to have to buy will save your sorry tails.

12. @Hants May 1, 2018 6:19 PM “@ David who wrote ” The modus operandi of some of the lawyers about here is to frustrate the client if a senior citizen by waiting fro them to die.”

Sometimes I think that the lawyers forget that the senior citizens have children, and grand children, and great grand children, and dozens of nieces and nephews and great nieces and nephews, all of who have a claim on grandpa’s/grandma’s estate.

When we die, our estate does not die with us, and a lot of us are sensible enough to include our children and grandchildren in EVERYTHING that we do.

Slimy lawyers beware.

13. Still waiting for my 2015, 2016, and 2017 returns. I will let you know as soon as the money shows up in my bank account, but I checked 5 minutes ago, and it ain’t there.

14. “Still waiting for my 2015, 2016, and 2017 returns. I will let you know as soon as the money shows up in my bank account, but I checked 5 minutes ago, and it ain’t there.”

Simple Simon

You can check your bank account every 5 minutes for the next 5 years…….you will never receive your 2015, 2016 and 2016 income tax returns.

Why????………because you have already filed those returns and they are not “returnable.”

I believe you’re looking for your income tax “REFUNDS”…….

Hahahahahaha

15. @Kevin May 1, 2018 9:36 AM ” Old ladies love PM Frenduel.”

I know nuff, nuff old ladies, and none of them love Freundel.

16. It does not matter what dirt anybody got on Mottley, we still done with DEM.

17. Artaxerxes May 1, 2018 11:00 PM “I believe you’re looking for your income tax “REFUNDS”

All right Artax. Thanks for the correction. Unlike you I am not an accountant and may not always get the lingo right, but I know how to count dollars and cents and how to reach my bank statements.

And I would love to have my money as much as de next fella

18. A bunch of fornicators and adulterers and they got talk fah someody?

Stupssseee!!!

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Simple…the lawyers in Barbados will spend another decade frustrating the beneficiaries of your exstate too, I guess you missed that memo..

if the lawyers handling your estate dies, you go to another lawyer and that dirtbag just continues the frustration until you or they die and the new dirtbag lawyer frustrates your beneficiaries…until your whole family line dies off and the lawyers tief your estate and money, keep it or sell it off to minorities..

… niggas will always be niggas no matter their fake titles and fake QC designations, they are still niggas to their core, who will rob you, in a never ending cycle of evil, doubt me, see for yaself…even the dirty DPPs are in on it, this new one is no different to the last corrupt deceased one….it is a scam that has been ongoing for over 30 years

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/153019/son-justice-mum

“Andre Thomas’ life has been on pause for the last ten years and five months. Those who know him best related how he is now a shell of himself. He’s no longer the fun-loving personality who enjoyed laughing, chatting and having a good time. Indeed, they said all the….”

There is a pattern of evil that has been in progress from the lawyers of the bar association in collusion with the office of the DPPs, either now deceased or retired and the court system for decades….former CJ Simmons and others were famous for these crimes against bajans unable to fight back.

you cannot get justice or any work done when both governments have been staffing these entities with their yardfowls….office of the CJ, DPP, GG…etc, they cannot function….that is why the court system has ground to a complete halt, too much corruption has made the court and its process toxic.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It also has something to do with all the lawyers belonging to the same filthy repulsive cult lodge, you cannot find one good lawyer to trust on the island…not if they are a Lodge member, which most of them are and are also sell out niggas to their empty souls.

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

So stop pinning your hopes on the probate system and dirty lawyers, I know of one case where Caroline Herbert, deceased lawyer was trying to steal some prime property from a deceased lady in Mount Standfast by forging her will, someone stopped the probate before she succeeded, her beneficiaries who were still alive who were about to be robbed took the case to David Thompson, now deceased….. he barely lifted a finger and what he did only created a situation to cause the matter to continue lingering indefinitely.

since then all the immediate beneficiaries on and off island are deceased, they were elderly to begin with…of course the matter is still tied up in the supreme court just waiting for the thieves of the bar association to rob the estate….and that is but one example.

I sincerely hope the young beneficiaries of all the deceased beneficiaries may be gangbangers from NYC or wherever and goes into Barbados and teach these extremely dirty lawyers a lesson….they will bite off more than they can chew and meet their match some day and they will all end up dead, before any sick building can kill them.

22. No question about it…
    Well Well &Cut etc knows Bajan lawyers to a TEE…..

The absolute SCUM of the earth…

..and the ones to whom Bajan Brass Bowls are looking to save this country…

ha ha ha ha
    Shirt!!!

23. Choose to Make Barbados Great! “If You Want Change Be the Change”…

True Leadership…“Leadership is the Ability to get Extraordinary Achievement from Ordinary people”

I believe that this quote goes into servant leadership because you are there for the people and you want to help them achieve their goals and that a group with higher spirits towards their leader will be more likely to follow and be inspired to achieve great things…

Unfortunately in Barbados Civil Servants have become the Masters of the people and their Example to Raise Nation to Higher Heights is Not what has been the Fruit of their Labour. Instead they have Fattened themselves and Sucked the Life Blood out of the Multitude!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=785393441659434&set=a.594263764105737.1073741830.100005663558154&type=3&theater

24. We know that you know we know.
    Repeal?
    Cover
    C-flight
    Public Accounts Committee?
    First Order.
    Future proves past.

25. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Come Sunday May 6 , 2018

The National Stadium will be shook like it has never been before

That’s when the Team DLP caravan hit the road

Come and hear why Mia Mottley cannot be trusted with the reins of government of this country

https://youtu.be/DXOA43ysP6I

Come and hear a riveting testimony from MAM former boss

Wuhloss

I could feel the heat already

26. Simple Simon Avatar

@Fractured BLP May 2, 2018 7:32 PM “Come Sunday May 6 , 2018”

Th last time that you issued an invitation to dlp meeting claiming that Owen Arthur would be there, there was no meting and no Arthur. Why don’t you stop telling lies.

27. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

Simple Simon

Clearly you are misleading yourself !

And blaming me !

You can do better than that , surely !!

28. Simple Simon Avatar

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 2, 2018 4:25 AM “if the lawyers handling your estate dies, you go to another lawyer and that dirtbag just continues the frustration until you or they die and the new dirtbag lawyer frustrates your beneficiaries…until your whole family line dies off and the lawyers tief your estate and money, keep it or sell it off to minorities.”

We like the thing, more thsn we like money, so there are 21 descendants so far. All smart. All young. All well educated. We made a decision to outlive the lawyers and their lodge buddies, and their children, and their children’s children.

We have already won the cradle war.

29. Simple Simon Avatar

@Fractured BLP May 2, 2018 8:57 PM “Simple Simon Clearly you are misleading yourself !”

No I am not.

Let me jog your memory.

You claimed that Arthur would be present a a meeting at the Alexandra school.

All fake news, you liar.

30. Fractured BLP Avatar

Liar Simple Simon !

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    one must learn to how to READ what political operatives WRITE
    “Come and hear a riveting testimony from MAM former boss”
    Fractured never said OAS would be there? Come and hear vs come and SEE. They will likely play the same video he posted, and has posted umpteen times. It is in the public domain.

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“We made a decision to outlive the lawyers and their lodge buddies, and their children, and their children’s children.

We have already won the cradle war.”

Lol.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

On the topic of “lodges”, they are a bariffle listed in the Paradise Papers.

34. Is this party propaganda or sound political analysis?

35. Ms. Mia Amor Mottley, Leader of the Barbados Labour Party has it all, knows it all, Being responsible for the Public Accounts Committee has been prepared to right the wrong.