Submitted by DAVID A. COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement

So, the would-be “Emperor” of Barbados has finally deigned to set a date for General Elections after subjecting our country to a seven and a half week demonstration of utter contempt for our system of governance — the system of Parliamentary Democracy.

Barbados — as Mr Freundel Stuart well knows is a Parliamentary Democracy.

The Constitution of Barbados makes it clear that Parliament (comprised of the House of Assembly and the Senate) is the fundamental institution around which the office of Prime Minister and of every other cabinet Minister revolves.

Section 64 of our Constitution makes this clear when it asserts that “the Cabinet shall be …..charged with the general direction and control of the government of Barbados and shall be collectively responsible therefor to Parliament”.

As does Section 65 of the Constitution which establishes that the very existence  of the Prime Minister is based solely on him being the person who — in the judgment of the Governor General — is best able to command the confidence of a majority of the members of the House of Assembly.

So, in light of the foregoing, how was it possible for Mr Stuart, his Cabinet colleagues, or our newly appointed Governor General for that matter, to consider it permissible to rule over Barbados for an extensive seven and a half weeks after the dissolution of Parliament, without setting a date for or decreeing a General Election to establish a new Parliament ?

Who — in the absence of a functioning Parliament — was Mr Stuart and his fellow Democratic Labour Party ministers accountable to over the past seven and a half weeks?

A proper respect and regard for the principles of Parliamentary Democracy would have impelled Mr Stuart, his Cabinet colleagues, and our Governor General to recognize that where a governmental administration has permitted the life of Parliament to run its full course and to be dissolved, that they were under a duty (established by the Constitution and owed to us, the people of Barbados) to IMMEDIATELY set a date and issue writs for a General Election.

In other words, the period of time during which the country was required to operate without a functioning Parliament should be kept to a minimum, and–after the dissolution of Parliament– the Citizens should NOT be kept in a state of prolonged suspense over when new and critical General Elections will be held ! No doubt the Governor General has a discretion in all of this, but her discretion should always be exercised in the best interest of us the Citizens of the country and in keeping with the nation’s fundamental interest not to be deprived of a functioning Parliament for any extensive period of time.

That Messers Stuart and company (and seemingly our Governor General as well) did NOT appreciate this, and instead, subjected our country to seven and a half weeks of unaccountable Cabinet rule was unconscionable!

Mr Stuart, his Cabinet colleagues, and indeed their party — the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) — thoroughly discredited themselves over the past seven and a half weeks in the eyes of all right thinking Citizens who believe in the tenets of Parliamentary Democracy.

Indeed, their contempt for democracy has become so obvious and offensive that perhaps they should now do the decent thing and remove the word “Democratic” from the name of their political party!

ONWARD  TO  GENERAL  ELECTIONS fellow Citizens, and let us ensure we elect thirty Members of Parliament who understand what DEMOCRACY entails and who truly appreciate that we — the people of Barbados — are the real and permanent owners of the country, and that the temporary political administrators that we vote into office are merely there to serve us and must always be accountable to us.

194 responses to “Please Remove the Word "Democratic" from the Name of the DLP!”

1. The Meaning Of Capitalism…
    We Each Are Responsible For Outcome By Our Own Efforts!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=783730711825707&set=a.594263764105737.1073741830.100005663558154&type=3&theater

2. Wuh los the blp yardfowls talking about a one day “disruptipn” when they have been behind and supporting any call for teachers to strike at ay given time for any amountbof unlimited periods
    The higher the monkey climb . The more his tail can be seen
    These blp clowns think barbadians have short memories as the election gets into high gear the blp tails and skeletons would be exposed for all to see

shock and awe

3. Where is the BLP manifesto 2018 ?

4. @Hants

The BLP manifesto will be released next week.

5. The DLP manifesto is their performance over the last10 years.Signed,sealed and delivered by a bunch of wild boys led by the most incompetent procrastinator for a Prime Minister the country has ever known.Staurt a dreamer,a true true rip van winkle…..’1929 law covering corruption does not require updating’..quoth he in 2018.

6. Gabriel

I was half listening to the idiot Glyne Murray…………trust David Ellis to bring in detractors. Murray has not been heard on this programme for months and as soon as elections are called, Ellis rolls him out to bash Mia……..while Murray continues to see nothing wrong with the moron Freundel Stuart.

7. @David
    The BLP manifesto will be released next week
    +++++++++++++++
    Next week? What happen to hit the ground running? It was no secret that an election was coming and the same way my phone got filled up with a message from Mia, the manifesto should have been available as soon as Freundel made his announcement. Perhaps they are making last minute changes but one would have thought they had enough ammunition to sink the DLP’s battleship.

BTW one of the usual suspects is missing, is he working on that manifesto?

8. At least the youngsters sitting exams who may be at voting age can make their way to polling stations after exams, the loitering ministers cannot lock them in a room and stop them from voting without violating their rights.

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, I suggest the remark you cited from Ellis should be like a conjoined twin to another comment further in your post…to wit:

“Ellis just made a reasonable comment, the nature of discussing politics in Barbados is about personalities. .. Here we have repeated [philosophic] arguments which history has shown does not add enough value to forcing change.”

WHEN are personalities NOT a key, ofttimes paramount, aspect of the hurly burly of election time. The remark is simply a truism of political electioneering, period.

10. @Dee Word

Context dear man!

Not at the expense of discussing the issues.

11. @Sargeant

Suspect this is about strategy. To create noise in the period leading into E-Day.

12. These clowns are way too petty and trifling for my tastes, they have no vision beyond the low, lack of progress for their own people kind, will never vote for any of them. waiting to see if new candidates present themselves, there is still an opportunity to change some faces.

13. @ Sargeant who wrote ” What happen to hit the ground running?

In Barbados you need a few weeks to plan how to hit the ground first, then another few weeks to start running . lol

14. Now a general election date has been set, it would be nice if the chairman was to direct discussions to the important issues and away from the trivial.
    There is a real risk the electorate may return a DLP government – remember Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump?

15. Fruendel and his gang really believe someone want them in parliament again though, they no longer have a functioning Supreme Court and no one knows where Barbados Immigration is located anymore because they do not have a functioning Immigration either, no one answers the numbers called from the phone book, the island has been wrecked.

It is nearly summer, people travel in droves and they do not know where immigration is to renew their passports.

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Enuff, are you taunting anyone with this article? Immediately I started to read this commented jumped out:: “After sitting back, listening to their almost cut-and-paste comments, I hold back from rolling my eyes. ” 😁

@n Hal, a return to govt by the DLP would be more stupendous than Trump winning in US…not impossible but would simply be the most stunning political Houdini act in modern history….maybe Enuff’s third party concerns would be the catalyst for such history being made!

17. Real Real Bajans speaking.

18. @enuff

You read the article you presented one must presume? Does the BLP or DLP have the varied view points segments within their bosom to compare with the Republican and Democratic parties? Ours are more homogeneous in ‘thought’ not so?

19. de pedantic Dribbler April 27, 2018 4:29 PM

@n Hal, a return to govt by the DLP would be more stupendous than Trump winning in US…not impossible but would simply be the most stunning political Houdini act in modern history….maybe Enuff’s third party concerns would be the catalyst for such history being made!(Quote)

Not at all. The country is fed up with the ten years of DLP misrule, that is taken for granted. But what is the alternative? The BLP is assuming they can win by default, by sitting and waiting and voters will turn to them.
    As a result of this misconception, they have spent ten years of negative Opposition: just opposing the government, rather than spelling out their vision. What people want to hear from any opposition party is what they are going to do to drag the country out of the mess it is in.
    The UPP with its so-called creative economics is like a sixth form debating society with mish-mash economics; Solutions Barbados is a one-man band with a leader who has a high opinion of himself and the notion that ISO9001 can save the world. BIM is irrelevant.
    When voters get in the booth they may well decide better the devil they know, which is a real possibility. It is not as if we have had dynamic leadership over the last 52 years. We have not. Throughout our independence we have under-performed the regional and global economies.
    The economic policies of the main parties are the same: the regurgitation of outdated orthodoxies based on the classical ideas that followed the birth of the Bretton Woods organisations and an over-dependence on a mediocre business class that is happy to milk the taxpayer. Since then there have been any number of alternative economic policy paradigms which our public intellectuals and political leaders seem not to be aware of.
    As our politics are based on personalities, I suggest that voters quiz the candidates and vote according to the personality – ignore the party.

20. TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN…

It Is Said That, We Need To Learn From History Otherwise We Are Damned to Repeat It!

Here are Examples to which I am referring…REDUCE THE SIZE OF GOVERNMENT…PRACTICE MORE FREE MARKET PRINCIPLES WITH LESS BURDENSOME REGULATIONS…

Oversized Government with its Ideology that is rooted Socialism, has been such a stealthy culprit, that we have come to accept it without questioning. We need to understand that it’s all about Control, Control, Control with Endless Rules and Regulation that are incumbent upon the people. The American Constitution is 15 pages long compared to what they have now with no End in Sight!

Tao Te Ching

The more laws and restrictions there are,
    The poorer people become.
    The sharper men’s weapons,
    The more trouble in the land.
    The more ingenious and clever men are,
    The more strange things happen.
    The more rules and regulations,
    The more thieves and robbers.

Does the above by Tao Te Ching lead you to believe that what we are witnessing now with the intrusion of Big Government in our lives is in any way well meaning?

This is what President Trump is Working Steadily on Reversing!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=783683851830393&set=a.594263764105737.1073741830.100005663558154&type=3&theater

21. April 26, 11:41 pm – “in an attempt to help his cousin satisfy her almost insane quest to become Prime Minister of Barbados;”. We have tried a “reluctant” Prime Minister who had no ambition beyond drawing a salary and being chauffeured around in a Mercedes and that did not work out too well, did it? Maybe its time to elect someone with an insane quest to be Prime Minister for a change. Never employ someone to do a job for which they do not have a passion.

22. David
    The opening sentence is the centre piece. Barbados is 166 sq.m.

23. Gabriel and Prodigal nothing Mr Ellis does surprises me.For Months the Dems diss VOB and mr Ellis still entertaining Straker,s Tenantry,Arthur ,the old returning national who was claiming that the moderator was unfair to Mr Connoly who is not in Cabinet ,then my friend why was he sent to represent the Party?,Ms Decided,,The trini Dem,the small business man and Rawle,consistently on Brasstacks and giving them all the time in the world to talk crap.Imagine the idiot Ms undecided call in to say Mr Wickham is miserable because Mr Wickham asked the PM to explain the delay.,and the trini claiming that some document says the Opposition should provide ideas and yet her pal Mr David Thompson stated that they were not there to help the Government prior to 2008 and that was fine with this hyprocrite but surprisingly mr Ellis pulled her up as a stranger to the truth.Lastly Mr Wickham seems to be sidelined from hosting the program,i will monitor this closely since Mr Ellis seems to be the PRO for the Dems,in my view.

24. Does anyone know where Barbados’ Immigration is now located or if any immigration office exists anymore?

this is damn ridiculous, the whole place is a train wreck, nothing works.

25. Heard Sinckler who says he is the Minister of Finance on CBC TV tonight demanding to know the plans and programmers of the opposition BLP! Who this JA think he is.Instead of busying himself with the tremendous task he has justifying all the crap he, Stuart, Jester and Quisling did to the economy in the last 5 years in particular and 10 years in general,he is seeking answers from Mia as to her plans for the running of the country for the next 5 years.Damn fool!

26. Gabriel

I heard the jackass………..these men are dangerous though!

Who could ever imagine that after this moron presided over this country’s economy and because of his ignorance and arrogance caused it to receive 23 downgrades by international rating agencies, he should be ashamed of his performance but has the nerve and guts to face the electorate.

The man has no shame at all…….he looks as bad as ever, his lies have really taken its toll……..after all the allegations of corruption by these morons who went into government piss poor and are now filthy rich off of a minister’s salary………he has the nerve to say that the BLP dont have any programmes or policies to take the country forward………after he destroyed it…….but that the BLP only wants to get in to see what they can get from government.

What a lying, deceitful, arrogant SOB!

27. Interesting that the call is made to remove the word DEMOCRACY from the DLP.
    What is Democracy?
    Democracy is defined as “the rule of the people” or sometimes referred to as “rule of the majority”…

How do you interpret “the rule of the people/majority”?

Why is it that the electorate has no participatory role or input of governance except only at General Elections to select or choose a representative of party which does not guarantee that their successful candidate BECOMES part of the elected party majority which by record, shows that current Democracy RULE THE PEOPLE rather than a system of RULE OF/BY/FOR THE PEOPLE by participation other than ONLY at General Elections.

DEMOCRACY MUST BE CLEARLY DEFINED AND UNDERSTOOD BY POLITICAL ASPIRANTS, any other format is Demonic rule.

28. DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV

@ Gabriel I also listened to Mr Glyne Murray today on Brass Tacks and sad for me to say of someone who was part of a BLP administration….He is a foolish ass!!! Where he come from all of a sudden!!! His rambling about the BLP making the election date an issue. If it wasn’t an issue why did it become a major discussion point for Bajans then!!!. I will tell you that as one caller on Brass Tacks said, Bajans are “sick” of the DLP. The election date is probably the LAST thing Bajans really wanted to know from this inept govt. They can put a deadline on which this nightmare ends. People ain’t what to hear the plans the DLP have for the next 5 years.or see their manifesto!!!! …For one thing if public servants ain’t see a pay raise in two terms of a DLP govt you think they will risk putting back that same govt and see a further 5 years of no pay increase!!! that would be 15 years of no salary increases and every year some sort tax put on added to the inflation in prices !!!! not one bit of that!!! that would be just unconscionable!!!

29. I was in a bank when a lady in front of me looked back and asked if I had heard the news……I asked what news?

The lady said the election date has been announced……..a guy over heard and said……it is about time. Another guy said ….man I am so happy, I would like it to be tomorrow. I am so excited I could vote twice…………I said…….vote but only once…….we all laughed…….

DLPTV……dont worry with Glyne, he is still carrying OSA’s water……I have noticed George Griffith, Tyrone Barker and even John Williams around BLP meetings and functions and they sure were OSA choir boys! But Glyne ……..I wish him well!

30. When I tell people that the dems have really messed up this country, I get called a political animal.

The PM gave GIS directive to announce the date of the elections yesterday. It appears as if he pretty much seem to have put nothing else in place to make sure that things run smoothly.

At 11 pm as I type………..on the day after he announced the date……….the EBC has not received the writs yet……..they were told yesterday that the Solicitor General was the hold up…….now late tonight they are being told that they are still with the GG………..come back tomorrow.

Unbelievable……..this man wants to make history and it would appear as he desperately want chaos so that he can delay the elections. My source said that this has never happened before. The election date is announced and the writs are issued forthwith.

All the more reason to kick these bastards to the curve!

31. @Prodigal Son

What is the documented process to issue the writ?

32. @Prodigal Son April 27, 2018 11:13 PM “When I tell people that the dems have really messed up this country, I get called a political animal.”

It was me who called you a political animal. And I agree with you that the DEM’s have made things really hard for the average person, average small to medium business, but even though I agree with you you and still a political…avid supporter of the BLP then. Lol

My dear Prodigal: When I use the term political animal, please know that it is NOT meant as an insult. It is meant to describe a person who is consumed by politics, and loves his favourite party dearly–which is not a bad thing.

This is the first time in my nearly three score and ten that I have heard black people, white people and indian people complain. All complaining about the same things. Bajans all, and all of them fed-up and frustrated with a moribund economy and way too heavy taxation.

People ain’t stupid. Although I expect that the DLP is hoping that they are.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

We better dont hear that any files that are being “cleaned” go missing from the supreme court, oh how I would expose that to no end.

None of the incompetent lawyers in the Bar Association can be trusted, they all collude to sell out their clients and everyone else and from what I found out today, that is a play, but I will be more than happy to call names.

34. @ David, Some of these wrasse whole lawyas are real badasses. lol

“Well do that nuh. If you are man enough come out here and order it. You think that someone out here afraid of you?

Think a*******gain,” Pilgrim said near the open door to the magistrates’ chambers before he stormed out.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/152189/magistrate-disrespectful-behaviour

35. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Well Well

Mark my words. Mia Mottley is not going to do one shite to improve the various avenues that politicians get their corrupt money. Imagine, she knows all that is said about the corruption on the island and the way in which bajans have branded the two political parties as advocates of corrupt activity. Have you heard her once canvassing for changes in the way government operations have facilitated corruption? Or that she will make changes in legislation to increase the power range of the Auditor General to conduct investigations that can lead to incarcerations. Or that she will take the PAC findings to a logical conclusion. Looka, do not get tied up with this rogue here. Mia Mottley is going to do similiar shite to Stuart, the pretensive deceiver. The only difference is that she is going to do it trying to appear that she is in touch with what is hurting the people.

36. Her is a chance to remove al lawyers from parliament. If we elect lawyers we cannot complain about corruption.

37. Bajans continue to fascinate me. In the home of the Westminster system, the election date is fixed. Last election, the date of the poll was 8 June; the Labour party launched their manifesto on 16 May and the Tories on 18 May–a 3 week window in a country of 66 million people. However in an island of 300,000, we want a manifesto months in advance of an election even though most of us don’t read the document.

38. Blp holds first press conference yesterday a day after general election announcement and who presided as the spokeperson . Jerome Walcott
    Where is the leader in a time when her leadership for the party should be given top priority

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

SSS…I know, the corruption will still persist due to that old breed of politician being intellectually stunted, that is all the politicians from both political parties want to know, how to be selfish, greedy and corrupt..

…unless Mia starts by making changes from the old dead constitution back down, enforce current corruption laws by investigating and locking up these outgoing ministers who she knows are cirrupt, who she said are corrupt and who are trying to once again force themselves onto the people and into the parliament to wreck more havoc and destruction on the island, it will just continue to be more of the same under any government she may preside over and for that she will deserve only 5 years, if elected, any other party elected, the same applies..

There should be a limit to the amount of lawyers allowed into parliament, they have singularly done more damage to the people island and it’s reputation than can ever be imagined.

In saying that, I feel Andrew Pilgrim’s frustration with the whole court system, the commissioner of police can’t make a decision within a 6 week period, the attorney general cant control stupid corrupt wicked lawyers who work very hard to destroy their black clients and collude with each other, insurance comanies and anyone they believe git the money to bribe them to destroy people’s cases and their lives, the chief justice cant control the idiot members of the bar association and prevent them from fouling up and demeaning the court process. The magistrates and judges say one thing in a session and next court date, they say the exact opposite, they are all inconsistent like they got brain damage, it is frustrating. .

40. DLp holds first press conference yesterday a day after the general election announcement and who presides as the spokeperson . Stephen Lashley Where is the leader in a time when his leadership for the party should be given top priority

41. @SSS

You have to admit that Mia has to consolidate her leadership position within the party. She does not have the powerbase we assume. There are factional elements she must pander to ensure objectives are achieved. The blogmaster holds no brief for any boy or girl but one must be discerning in reading the tea leaves. To say Mia must do this and that is fine but understand the reality that prevails operating within the party machinery. Bear n mind Freundel had to put down the Eager 11 attempted mutiny.

42. Rumour has it that wiser heads,if you can imagine that there are such In the DLP,are reading the mood of the public service,the private sector,the unions and the wounded middle class,all lining up for revenge against the DLP and rather than have the party savaged at the poll, is putting forward a plan to allow Stuart to lead the party into battle but do the same that was done to Theo Brancker in ’61 and replace Stuart by Donville Inniss as Prime Minister.The thinking is that both Stuart and Sinckler are ‘touched meat’ and not fit to be PM in a possible DLP victory at the polls.

43. The dlp leadership the rght Hon. PM Stuart made the announcement of the election date he did not send a surrogate. A date which Mia was clamouring for and wanted to hear.
    It is not if or maybe thst Mia step up to the forfront and galvanize her members. It should be upper most of importance that she carries the blp banner projecting herself as the leader instead of sending her surrogates and footsoldiers to play the role.
    Jerome Walcott role standing in place of Mia tells a whole lot of what to expect of Mia leadership in those times when matters of importance critical to the nation performace overwhelms her expectations
    It would have been better if Jerome Walcott had said nothing because his utterances were nothing more than smoke and mirrors complied from the voodoo economic play book.
    Lashley made a choice to speak out if a concern when the blp took it upon itself be crtical of the election date .

44. Mia strategy is a losing strategy if she continues not to be transparent to the public on her intented policies for the economic and which the public would be left to belive that she is hiding something which is not good towards their better interest.

45. Gabriel. Flooishness that not going to happen.

46. @ prodigal
    The PM gave GIS directive to announce the date of the elections yesterday. It appears as if he pretty much seem to have put nothing else in place to make sure that things run smoothly.
    You must have realised by now that there can be only two possible explanations for the performance of the DLP over the last ten years.

1 – Total and complete incompetence.
    2 – A dark spiritual curse.

No one can be THAT incompetent. Not even people who had a plan to buy an old abandoned hotel for $100M; pay millions more to demolish same; borrow hundreds of millions to rebuild the hotel ….. and then give it to a foreigner who pissed all over Paradise beach.

ALSO…
    Bushie has explained AT LENGTH about the ONLY project that has been concluded ‘successfully’ by the DLP …. the monument at the Garrison…. the one with the pitchfork emerging from the ground.

…what more evidence do you need?
    …the unexplained increase in gun violence? traffic deaths and injuries? nuff people up and ‘deading’ just so…? the downgrades? the frigup weather?

Skippa…
    Our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

Perhaps you and your new Bishop need to PRAY for whoever finds themselves to be ‘rulers’ of Bim…. and also of the USA and rest of this damned world – while wunna at it….

47. The problem with you is that you always have your head up the DLP’s ass that you need to withdraw it for air to observe what is happening around you. Minutes after the GIS press release here is Mia Mottley’s response. Note the prime minister did not make any announcement, it was done via a GIS release.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosLabourParty/videos/1266403160169730/

48. Mia strategy is a losing strategy
    What strategy…?
    Mia’s strategy is to allow the idiots in the DLP to completely self-destruct…led by the demons that possess them.

If a sick fowl were to run against the DLP now, the fowl wins hands down.
    Froon is a national embarrassment….. a regional joke and, since the prostitute woman came after his job, an international symbol of incompetence and idiocy…. all the way to Russia.

Chances are that Mia and the BLP will be EXACTLY as incompetent as the DLP has been …only starting out MUCH poorer.
    Barbados has sunk to the point where, rather than choosing between the better of two political options, we are like a drowning man, clutching at flimsy political straws.

So Mia has NO NEED for any strategy – she just has to wait and find out how overwhelming are the “spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms”.

If she was smart, she would FIRST OF ALL…
    – Bulldoze the shiite monument and restore the Garrison to a field….
    – Then lead a National period of reflection – with sackcloth and ashes…

But such ‘thinking’ has long departed our national agenda – with appropriate consequences.
    Yet we keep on digging…..

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dumbville is even more tainted meat, we are still waiting to hear to whom he sold the island and people and now has all these millions to throw around, as soon as they lose the election, we will know.

I just hope the people want back all their money, every nickle.

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply