“Can you please make public these two articles in the interest of all Barbadians” – Mark Jones

The Barbados Bar Association has been recently getting itself involved in a number of matters that have caused us to question whether it has now become an official arm of the BLP!

It is significant that the past president Wilfred Abrahams whose election to office as a junior lawyer was orchestrated by former BLP Attorney General and Chief Justice David Simmons and and the present president, another junior lawyer Lissel Weekes are colleagues in the same law chambers and the Association under their leadership has shown a recent eagerness to mount challenges to legislation passed in our Parliament. The matter of the registration of non Barbadians by the Electoral Department has come up before the law courts for determination and the matter has ended up before the Court of Appeal where the decision has been reserved; in the language of the law the matter is SUB JUDICE.

But to the amazement of many Abrahams along with his political allies from the Bar convened a press conference at  no less a place than the headquarters of the Association in Perry Gap to discuss the matter contrary to all the conventions of the legal profession. It was significant that in a story appearing in one of the newspapers where he and his colleagues were photographed at their conference he was quick to point out that the event was not political; one wonders if a question leading to that response was posed by the press.

However, it must be a cause for concern that the Bar Association’s facilities could be used by a politician to mount an exercise that is against the very practice which the Bar should be promoting,  refraining from entering into public discussion in matters which are before the law courts. The general membership of the Bar should therefore be calling on its president and executive to give an account of this willful break from a tradition that has been respected by members of the legal profession all these years. In addition the executive must be called upon to respond to the concern of many among the profession, namely that Abrahams with the concurrence of his associate has been dragging the Association into the realm of party politics in this country.

It is also noticeable, that like the BLP, the Bar Association has not lifted its voice in concern of the problems that have been plaguing its members in their day to day experiencing in that work building because of its faulty structure and general lack of facilities that go to make the practice of law comfortable in any court.

The Bar Association has certainly lost is way and its membership should be duly concerned.

################################################

A notable feature of the Supreme Court building fiasco is the conspicuous absence of ANY comment from the opposition BLP or its leader on the matter.

This is significant because the BLP never lets slip an opportunity to expose the alleged ineptitude of the DLP Government in maintaining its buildings and other projects even though they were conceived and built before they took office.

One glaring example is the South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant which had the BLP wallowing in the sewage in order to criticise the Government for its lack of adequate maintenance.

Of course recent disclosures have led to the conclusion that sabotage has been one of the main reasons for the the problems of the   plant after all kinds of foreign objects that cannot be flushed by any known toilet or sink or drain were used to sabotage the system.

The items range from sheets and pillow cases, to beach towels and concrete both in the poured form and concrete the block form.

All of these items are still being being plucked from the system.

Barbadians should therefore be made aware why there has been such a marked silence about the matter at the Supreme Court of Barbados.

The facts are as follows.

It was planned and built under the tenure of Mia Mottley as the Attorney General ( even though she does not own a LEC ) and her cousin David Simmons Attorney General and later Chief Justice of Barbados.

And you would not believe it that the project manager was one Arnold McIntyre the Godfather of David Simmons’ son to whom the whopping salary of Bds $ 40,000.00 per month was paid to manage a project that has all the faults we have been hearing complaints being made about.

If this is not nepotism and downright CORRUPTION at the highest level we don’t know what is.

Simmons has been having a very loud voice in public affairs recently!! maybe he can speak out on the involvement of his cousin Mia Mottley and friend McIntyre in the disaster at White Park Road for which the burdened tax payers now have the responsibility to put right.

Let him speak up on this matter ! let the opposition also speak up.

The public is eagerly awaiting to hear from them.

117 responses to “BAR and BLP Politics”

1. @ Artax
    “Bitter medicine” comes in various flavours.

Austerity is the obvious flavour preferred by the simple minded and the ‘talent-challenged’.
    (Have very little food, – tighten belt; eat much less, and conserve your energy)

The more astute among us look for more innovative and creative ways of balancing the equation…
    (Have very little food, – plant more; find alternatives; be more collaborative;; be more efficient; cut out graft and waste…… )

Perhaps David intends that ‘bitter medicine’ includes the conversion of brass bowls into creative, productive, community-centric, merit-driven citizens….

In any event…
    It is now TOO LITTLE and too LATE…
    GP is right about our predicament…

2. @Bush Tea

No need to be prolix, we have exhaustively discussed the issue in this forum. To use a wellworn expression- it can’t be business as usual, a mindset change is required to how we live our lives whether the economic, political and social models which have brought us thus far. It is surely not sustainable place we currently find ourselves. What Grenville et al have done is to try to be disruptive in their positions. We can debate the facil and impractical nature of their solutions but the overarching point is that we need fresh voices to emerge even if they serve to inspire others to do same.

3. Bush Tea

…….as a member of the “BU Elite,” it is obvious you would be inclined to defend the blogmaster.

The term “bitter medicine” is defined as “an UNWANTED or UNPLEASANT situation someone is forced to accept and is a shortening of the phrase…….. ‘a bitter pill to swallow’.”

“Have very little food, – plant more; find alternatives; be more collaborative; be more efficient; cut out graft and waste”…….are EXCELLENT examples of innovation and creativity……..which ultimately enhances productivity…….

…………and should be considered by all standards……as a favourable situation that is “WANTED” and “PLEASANT.”

Please enlighten the ““simple minded and talent challenged” among us……. how the “sweet” alternatives you presented could be reasonably and rationally juxtaposed with “bitter medicine?”

Unless you’re suggesting that Barbadians are of the belief that innovation, creativity and productivity are “unwanted or unpleasant situations they are forced to accept.”

4. @Artax
    Don’t let the bushman down now…

If you think that being innovative, creative and productive are ‘favourable’ and ‘pleasant’ situations for brass bowl clowns
    ….whose main claim to fame so far is the fact that we have begged and borrowed our way to irreparable debt;
    …who have handed all the family silver passed down by foreparents over to foreigners;
    ….and who think that life revolves around some shiite reggae festival….
    Then it is no wonder that you enjoy jousting with ac, angela and mariposa (or whatever the hell she now calls herself…)

Birds of a feather…?
    …Bushie was hoping it was a case of opposites attracting….

Surely you know that the biggest mountain to climb …is for a fool to be wise.

5. Walter Blackman Avatar

Artax April 26, 2018 11:05 PM

“Walter

I was just have a bit of fun……..however, putting the sport aside…..I stand by a comment I previously made in this forum…..that is……

…….. anyone who knows me will confirm that Walter Blackman and Dr. Don Marshall are two individuals I admire and always try to encourage youngsters to emulate.”

Artax,
    That’s fine. Whilst we are all having fun, you must remain determined not to drop your standards. That was the source of my disappointment.
    Are-we-there-yet and The Pedantic Dribbler do not possess your thinking ability, so you must guide and teach them. You will soon realize that, in certain circumstances, you are better off disregarding some of The Pedantic Dribbler’s comments altogether because some of his offerings tend to skate along the lines of the unintelligible.
    Now that the election date has been set, my sojourn here on BU is coming to an end. I am confident that the choristers who are singing for their supper will make sure that a miasma of crooked thinking envelops this blog.

Until a new government has been installed and Barbados has inched closer towards the doorsteps of the IMF, I will remain in voluntary exile. I have seen enough. No political meetings, radio or tv shows for me.
    Take care, my friend.

6. @Walter
    Now you gave me something to look forward to..
    What words or who will wake the slumbering bear and draw him from his cave.
    Enjoy the exile..

7. Let me get in the first poke…

Needless to say, I frown on Walter’s decision to impose exile on himself.
    In our small island we have already divided ourselves into at least two major camps. We can assume that the the ‘brains’ of Barbados have divided themselves in the same way. This mean that at most times, the island is using half of its brain power, at the most.
    For men like Walter to also excuse themselves means that we are further weakened in their areas of strength.

8. By definition those with ‘brains’ shouldn’t be divided along a partisan political fault line.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman April 29, 2018 10:16 AM
    “Until a new government has been installed and Barbados has inched closer towards the doorsteps of the IMF, I will remain in voluntary exile. I have seen enough. No political meetings, radio or tv shows for me.
    Take care, my friend.”

Please Walter, please don’t leave us “this way”.

If you have to retreat to your self-imposed exile in the intellectual wilderness then let us know why it has taken you so long to see the light of wisdom contained in your fait accompli statement of Barbados ending up (as a matter of emergency) in the surgery of Dr. IMF?

Why did your friends in the DLP’s sanctum sanctorum refuse to heed your advice when it was given liberally and timely to avoid this point of no return?

Are you now doing a post mortem like the ‘doctoring’ Deliar Worrell on the Dems or are you attacking your ‘friends’ with a fistic bout of yellow and blue 20/20 vision?

Are you running away (again, déjà vu 1994 and all that) from the battle now that Barbados has multiple downgrades under Stinkliar’s belt and is on the cusp of a Devaluation to bring the value of its Mickey Mouse currency in alignment with real economic market forces?

Why have you given the BLP a ‘free’ pass to be forced to take the very, very sick Barbados to Dr. IMF the same way you have dropped in their lap the task of recovering the taxes owed on that $3.3 million heist by Ali Baba (aka Greenverbs Leroi de Paris) and the Thompson thief?

Good luck, my friend! It’s always good to have two homes of dual citizenship.

10. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David April 26, 2018 11:30 PM

“@Walter

What will be interesting in the days and few weeks ahead is how the various political parties craft their messages to the public.”

“If you start me up
    If you start me up I’ll never stop”
    The Rolling Stones.

In my humble opinion, pragmatic though ye maybe, you are thinking “old school”.
    I find it more interesting to wait and see how the various political parties craft their response to the messages that have been sent by the public.
    Please forgive me for being prolix, but I will offer three low-hanging examples to give you an example of how I am thinking.

Firstly, from the standpoint of governance, Mara Thompson continued to be a natural face of the CLICO debacle. CLICO policyholders were given a deadline to confirm all of the information related to their policies which were to be transferred to the new insurance company established by the government. If I remember correctly, the very next day after that deadline, Mara Thompson announced to Gercine Carter of the Nation that her life in parliament was now coming to an end. Politically, she had “false-started” and obviously was advised to claw back the announcement.

The government of Barbados officially transferred the assets and liabilities of CLICO to a politically contrived new insurance company. If my memory serves me correctly, immediately after that event, Mara Thompson announced her retirement from politics and handpicked George Pilgrim as her “successor”. She had decided to “take the money” and not run. The deal had been sealed. No need for any clawback this time. As a former Office Manager of Thompson & Associates, and Deputy Speaker of the House of Assembly, Mara Thompson now saw how easy it was for the political class to callously transform the wicked actions of evildoers into a financial burden of billions of dollars, and then to deftly place that burden upon the back of docile Barbadian taxpayers.

The CLICO scandal is extremely nasty business. It represents a large crimson stain on the white table cloth of our national psyche. Not too long ago, I submitted a poem to BU entitled “The Walrus and the Carpenter”. Hopefully, discerning BU readers can now see the similarity in the roles being played by the oysters in that poem, and by CLICO policyholders in real life.
    The public’s message that has been sent to the political class is that we want the wrongdoers in the CLICO scandal to be punished, and that we want our regulatory system to be tightened and strengthened so that politicians, civil servants, and the whole range of a company’s management team cannot band together and collude to raid and destroy a corporation again.
    It should be easy to see, which party crafts a response to this public demand.

Secondly, the Land Registry and the Town & Country Planning Dept. have a database of all politicians and civil servants who own and have developed property in Barbados. Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) has a database of the income which these people have claimed to receive over the past decades.
    I am sure that Balaam’s most prized possession, his female ass, is intelligent enough to line up the public salaries of civil servants and politicians with the properties they own and have developed. If an ass can do it, why can’t we? All sensible Barbadians are now calling for those civil servants and politicians who have misappropriated public funds, or who have laundered money, to be identified and punished as criminals.

Have you heard any major political party promising to take these elementary steps to deal with the corrosive influence of corrupt public officials in Barbados? Why not?

Thirdly, Tom Adams, arguably the most brilliant (despite his recklessness) Finance Minister that Barbados has produced to date, possessed enough confidence and political maturity to seek out and attract the talented Owen Arthur, who eventually became PM of Barbados.
    On the other hand, the “Cammie Tudor installed PM” Erskine Sandiford, lacking training and expertise in the areas of economics and finance, had to get rid of Dr.Richie Haynes from his cabinet because the electorate had already begun to show some confidence in the Doc’s ability. In a similar vein, David Thompson, all style and no substance when it came to matters of economics and finance, had to get rid of Clyde Mascoll.

Having joined forces with others to rob CLICO policyholders, despite being Prime Minister of Barbados and Minister of Finance, David Thompson then had to push Dr. David Estwick, his former shadow Minister of Finance, to the perceived outer peripheral ring of his cabinet. Through his last-minute pronouncements, it became crystal clear that all of David Thompson’s preoccupations, in life and death, had now morphed into one concentrated goal: to make sure that details of the CLICO grand robbery never reached the eyes and ears of the Barbadian public. He and his co-conspirators, not to mention the Financial Standards Commission (FSC), failed miserably in that regard. God does not like ugly. All we can do now is to fervently pray, that one of these days, millions of years from now, the tormented soul of David Thompson will be finally released from purgatory.
    Ryan Straughn, not recognizing that he has a bull’s eye on his political back because of his training in economics, attempted to give Barbadians a comprehensive and analytical view of the various options open to us a country when it came to making a decision on the Transport Board. Of course, privatization of the Transport Board is an option that merits discussion, and the young economist correctly included it in his analysis. With an eye towards destroying Ryan’s stature in the political arena as an economist, before he even got a chance to build it, political agents and his own colleagues immediately jumped into the press and advised members of the electorate not to pay any attention to the mouthings of Ryan Straughn. “This is a subject our party has decided to hide from the public. Ryan is a political rookie, an educated fool, a naïve ‘wet-behind-the –ears’ candidate who has now broken the rules of engagement with the public which the BLP has secretly established”, they effectively declared.

Given the fact that, in the absence of “divine” intervention, the Barbadian economy is about to crash (with thousands upon thousands of resulting fatalities), the Barbadian electorate wanted every serious-minded political party to invite decent, honest-minded Barbadians with backgrounds, training, and expertise in the areas of business and finance, to run for public office. These criteria effectively disqualify 99.9% of lawyers.
    Nevertheless, despite the fact that Barbadians have lost their trust and confidence in lawyers, and are now clamouring to see corrupt practices eradicated from public life, the major political parties still persist in foisting lawyers upon the electorate?
    We shall wait and see what excuses the major political parties are able to come up with for disregarding this public demand.

I haven’t even mentioned FATCA and the opportunity that that imposed legislation creates for us to produce a list of politicians and civil servants with hefty unjustified and indefensible foreign accounts. Such a list should be read out in parliament.
    Have you heard this message being preached by our political parties?

I can go on and on……

Hopefully, we shall reconnect after the General Elections are over.

11. Thanks Walter, the blogmaster will title this ‘Walter’s Last Post before…’

12. Walter Blackman Avatar

millertheanunnaki April 29, 2018 3:28 PM

“Are you now doing a post mortem like the ‘doctoring’ Deliar Worrell on the Dems or are you attacking your ‘friends’..?.”

Are you running away (again, déjà vu 1994 and all that) from the battle now that Barbados has multiple downgrades under Stinkliar’s belt……………..?

Why have you given the BLP a ‘free’ pass to be forced to take the very, very sick Barbados to Dr. IMF the same way you have dropped in their lap the task of recovering the taxes owed on that $3.3 million heist by Ali Baba (aka Greenverbs Leroi de Paris) and the Thompson thief?”

millertheanunnaki,
    Barbados is cheaply producing so much false prophets and religious charlatans that I am quite prepared to partially play the role of a modern day Jesus. Please feel free to lay all of your political troubles, accusations, and burdens at my feet, and at my door. At the end of the day, I will ask my heavenly Father to forgive you, for “you know not what you do”.
    However, when it comes to stringing up a “sinless” person and nailing them to a cross and crucifying them, you will have to find a different kind of dummy.
    I offer you Pachamamum.

13. TheoGazerts WROTE ON April 29, 2018 AT 10:38 AM

Needless to say, I frown on Walter’s decision to impose exile on himself.
    In our small island we have already divided ourselves into at least two major camps. We can assume that the the ‘brains’ of Barbados have divided themselves in the same way. This mean that at most times, the island is using half of its brain power, at the most.
    For men like Walter to also excuse themselves means that we are further weakened in their areas of strength.

ANYONE IN BARBADOS WITH “BRAINS” IS WISE TO IMPOSE EXILE ON HIMSELF
    I WELL REMEMBER THE AFTERNOON WHEN MY BROTHER- WHO DID NOT HABITUALLY VISIT MY HOME- CAME TO INFORM ME THUS
    “YOU BETTER LEFT BOUT HERE, THERE IS NOTHING BOUT HERE FOR YOU”
    BEING A SILENT MEMBER OF THE ELITE IN CERTAIN POLITICAL CIRCLES, HE WAS REPORTING WHAT HE WAS TOLD.

THIS SORT OF ATTITUDE EXPLAINED BY WALTER IN HIS POST ABOVE HAS IN THE LAST 3 DECADES BEEN THE NORM IN BOTH POLITICAL PARTIES AND IN OTHER PARTS OF OUR SOCIETY. THE RESULT IS NOW STARKLY APPARENT AS WE REASONABLY ASK IN THE WORDS OF THE OLD SONG….” WHERE HAVE ALL THE GOOD MEN GONE?’ ah lie?

WALTER IS RIGHT!
    IT IS POINTLESS TO CAST YOUR PEARLS BEFORE THE SWINE.
    READ JOHN CHAPTER THREE
    There was a man of the Pharisees, named Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews:

2 The same came to Jesus by night, and said unto him, Rabbi, we know that thou art a teacher come from God: for no man can do these miracles that thou doest, except God be with him.
    WHAT IS NICODEMUS REALLY SAYING HERE?
    RABBI…..THE BOYS KNOW EXACTLY WHO YOU ARE………..BUT THEY DONT WANT YOU !

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, you said “Thanks Walter, the blogmaster will title this ‘Walter’s Last Post before…” May I ask , “thanks” for what exactly?

This will fall under Walter’s file of the unintelligible so I’ll be brief. First the platitudes, sincerely offered.

I like this gentleman Walter Blackman. He has been blessed with intelligence and he is at heart a man of the people with a seemingly strong sense of integrity. He is supremely self confident and speaks truth to power despite the strong blowback. All good.

But when you have unlocked your talents (like the Doc GP too) and present yourself for leadership in the public space then of necessity you MUST be held to a higher standard than very regular dribblers …so at this stage What-thebadword is Walter been thanked for? His lovely prose? Havent others detailed similiar, times a plenty.

Rather, should we not expect Mr Blackman to use his expertise and brassy persona to fully ventilate the malfesance of this CLICO debacle and in so doing explode the cabal of terrible actors in the political and power elite in Barbados!

Where would we have been as a nation if sharp folks like Blackman, in the guise of Barrow, Tudor at al did not boldly go where others feared to thred!

And if we take everything Walter said above about Straugh, voila it’s an autobiographical plea!

So give me a freaking break…self imposed exile looks more like the Bulldog retreating to his kennel wiimpering because his master muzzled him (no radio unless I suppose it’s obsequious BS…how could he do that). Steeupse!

A truly raucous Bulldog a la Barrow or Adams would be barking and creating a cachopony of painful noise and the master would have to banish him back to that Atlanta dog pound….or he would have started/joined a third party and kicked those crooks out….but 3rd parties don’t work, right! Longer steeupse!

A tad unintelligible Walter I suspect, with all the mixed metaphors. I hope you get back your growl soon enough. I gone.

15. @Dee Word

Highlighting his last post will give him the opportunity to ruminate on the issue during or after the general election. Hold tight!

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

What is always interesting, is to see WHO exits the rock after elections, especially if there is a change in administrations.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE A truly raucous Bulldog a la Barrow or Adams would be barking and creating a cachopony of painful noise and the master would have to banish him back to that Atlanta dog pound

WHY SHOULD A REJECTED PERSON be barking and creating a cachopony of painful noise SUCH THAT the master (who ever dat is ) would have to banish him back to A DOG pound?

IF THEY DONT WANT YUH……THEY DONT WANT YUH
    WHY SHOULD ANY ONE WITH ABIKITY CAST THEIR PEARLS BEFORE THE SWINE?

I OFF COURSE NEVER OFFERED MYSELF FOR NOTHING, I JUST WORKED HARD AT ANYTHING I WAS GIVEN TO DO AND INNOCENTLY SOUGHT TO APPLY WHAT EVER I HAD PREVIOUSLY LEARNED TO THE SITUATION AT HAND, EXPECTING NO MORE THAN MY MONTHLY SALARY