Submitted by DAVID A. COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement

AS  BARBADOS remains in a state of governmental stasis and political limbo, yet another national facility / institution has broken down — the Supreme Court and Registry of Barbados.

Our broken down Supreme Court and Registry joins a long list of national facilities and institutions that have “broken down” in one way or another  over the ten year reign of the current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration :- our National Stadium, the South Coast Sewage system, the state of repair of our national road network, our Queen Elizabeth Hospital, the Cave Hill Campus of UWI, our Sanitation Service Authority, our Barbados Water Authority,  the image and morale of our Royal Barbados Police Force, and the depressing list goes on and on.

And, of course, towering over and above these institutional and sectoral “break downs” is the break down of the national economy of Barbados itself, with the international rating agencies inflicting some 23 downgrades on the measure of our nation’s international credit-worthiness.

Ordinarily, in a situation such as this, we Barbadians would look to our country’s Parliament — our House of Assembly and Senate — for some discussion, clarification, and rectification of this recent and additional manifestation of national “break down”, but for the past six weeks or so our nation has NOT had a Parliament!

Section 48 of our nation’s Constitution tells us that Parliament is the institution that has the responsibility to make laws for the good government of Barbados. But the political administration that is currently reigning over our country determined that they would permit our Parliament to be dissolved, and that they would subject us to a prolonged period in which our country would be devoid of a national Parliament .

It is — to say the least — unconscionable for the Freundel Stuart administration to throw Barbados into this state of governmental stasis and political limbo : and it may very well be un-constitutional as well.

Section 62 (1) of our national Constitution tells us very plainly that “after every dissolution of Parliament the Governor- General shall issue writs for a general election of members of the House of Assembly returnable within ninety days from the dissolution”. Well, the Parliament of Barbados was dissolved as long ago as the 6th of March 2018 !

Section 32 (1) (b) of the Constitution also tells us that our Governor-General does NOT have to wait upon or to be advised by the Cabinet or the Prime Minister in relation to “any function which is expressed (in whatever terms) to be exercisable by (her) in (her) discretion.”

A plain and literal reading of Section 62 (1) of the Constitution suggests that this duty of our Governor-General to set the date for a General Election is a duty that is exercisable by her in her own discretion.

What — therefore — is Governor-General Sandra Mason waiting for?

Is it that she has some doubt as to whether the wording of Section 62 (1) of the Constitution gives her the right to exercise her own discretion in this matter of setting a General Election date?

And if indeed she has some doubt, wouldn’t the correct course of action be to approach the Supreme Court for an interpretative declaration on the issue ?

What is currently happening in (and to) Barbados is just not good enough !

It is time for us to break out of this depressing state of governmental stasis and political limbo !

We Barbadians need to raise our voices and insist that our Governor-General bestir herself and take action either to set an election date or to seek clarification from the Supreme Court.

94 responses to “Time for the Governor General to Take Action”

1. David

We putting some licks in yuh crutch!

Well, if we are generally illogical you should say that.

What ‘line in the sand’? Has the BLP not been in a similar position circa 2008?

And has the DLP not been here in 1994?

And so on

What you and Comissiong would like to so describe is really no ‘line in the sand’, per se, but mere escapism. Escaping to the BLP, as a national, emotional response to severe pain.

If your own illogical position wins out, as we are sure it will, we will be back to this new status quo of malaise within a year. After the usual honeymoon for your incoming political lovers.

The truth is not at all as simplistic as you would want to believe. We know that your default position has always been to perfect the existing order. That is no longer possible.

The problem is that what you have been educated to believe as truth no longer holds.

The truth is that whether the BLP or DLP were in office at these times none of the problems we now see manifested could have been avoided. The truth is that when your favoured BLP gets in, within 60 days you hope, the trajectory will continue in the same direction.

We judge that five years from now Barbados will be in a worse position and both you and Comissiong will be DLPites. What a country!

The merit which may be so exposed of DLP failures, and rightly so, cannot support a logic which says the BLP is the answer. That is a case for political lackeys and yard fowls.

A blind man could see from this distance that the BLP lacks any answers at all. It will be an even bigger failure, so will be the next DLP government after it.

2. There are some people in this country who have lived off the fatted calf under the blp govt wants to tell this govt what to do and it is NOT GOING TO HAPPEN
    So sit wunna backsides down until PM Stuart calls the election.
    In the meanwhile remain like dead fish hang out on a reel to be hauled in.

3. The difference which escapes patches is that when the bees are in there is more confidence in the country as a whole,more investment,more jobs,more progress.There is more emphasis on accountability.This has been the history of the Bees since Grantley.The Dees made significant progress between ’61 and ’76 a lot to do with the confidence reposed in the quality of the leadership and the quality of the candidates. Post ’76 the Dees have struggled to become a force to reckon with.Most supported the view that Thompson had the attributes to deliver.

4. You’re right! We lack confidence in this thing you called ‘leadership’

And that is a bedrock principle for us.

However, not even the best of ‘leadership’ this country has produced would have been capable of navigating this here, the unknown.

In these desperate circumstances, we long called for a national unity government. Besides us it was only Sir William Skinner who made such an appeal.

In fact, after the last election when the people of Barbados suggested such.

But the culture is such that neither the Bees nor the Dees would sanction that

If there is to be a case for ‘leadership’ this was certainly it.

5. Will the fishy mouth 👄 Commisiong be taking the GG & PM to Court for not calling the general elections in 2018 ?

A Blasted blight – David Come – Along !

6. The Dems have not accomplished one shyte since Parliament dissolved. The sale if BNTCL, Hilton etc still unfinished. Apart from drawing a salary, what has the government achieved? Further confirming that they are incompetent and do not deserve another term. Let Dem continue until day 90, it is causing Dem more harm than good. For example, by the time Lowe recovers frim his “knee surgery” it gine be time to vote.🤣

7. We are sure that the Bees is ‘accomplish’ all of this unfinished work

The selling out of Barbados must be well accomplished, no!

8. lol…knee surgery in modern times is non invasive and does not require months of hospitalization, not even when you have an accident with two broken legs… lol

9. let us stop talking and do something about it..I for one believe the the current economic environment is responsible for the upsurge in violence…. Mr Commisiong, if you was serious you would gather a team and get at least 15 000 petitions calling for the Governor General to step in or at least address the matter. Post the petitions online and to the international newspapers. Force this ludicrous situation to stop. History will be very kind to you for taking a hands on support. Show us that you are different to the everyday politiciaon

10. Mr Commisiong instead of putting so much energy into the Hyatt debate. Barbadians would be confident in our leaders again if we see some of them do prison time and seizure of assets. Watching Patrick King bring evidence the way he has on facebook and none of you are taking him seriously makes me wonder if you all are serious.

11. So what the blp do in fourteen years
    1. Left a fractured and dilapidated infrustructure pot holes and holes
    2. Left a decaying watersystem with corroded pipe lines busting out at the seams
    3. Left uncontrollable debt for the taxpayers to own
    4. Left lingering lawsuits that amassed to million of dollars upon which court judgement had order the blp govt to pay but they refused
    5. Left a faltering and failing sewage plant which beyond a shadow of doubt started out with an inefficient plan for long term usage
    6. Left the anger of the Alexander debacle to boil over and cause pain and anguish to children and teachers
    Oh before i forget the billion dollar reserves which were suppose to take care of all these problems.Including payment of all govt employees for the ten year period .What a sham.Now these nitwits want to start the cycle all over again

12. Mariposa

So what the DLP do in ten years……..continued where the BLP left off by leaving:

a fractured and dilapidated infrastructure pot holes and holes
    a decaying water system with corroded pipe lines busting out at the seams (due to a lack of an adequate, efficient maintenance program by the DLP, we have shiite overflowing in Hastings)
    uncontrollable debt for the taxpayers to own (the DLP incurred more debt in five years than the BLP in 14 years)….and let us not forget the 23 credit rating downgrades and economic policies that failed to achieve the desired objectives)
    a faltering and failing sewage plant which beyond a shadow of doubt started out with an inefficient plan for long term usage (remember, the south coast sewage plant was an initiative of a former Erskine Sandiford led DLP administration)
    anger of the Alexander debacle to boil over and cause pain and anguish to children and teachers, and Stuart engaging a commission of enquiry at the expense of taxpayers
    Public sector employees having to do without an increase in earnings, while the DLP ministers took an “artificial” 10% pay cut and retroactively reimbursed themselves.

What a sham. Now these DLP nitwits want to start the cycle all over again.

same shiite…..different day!!!!

THESE ARE THE REASONS WHY WE NEED A REPUTABLE “THIRD PARTY.”

13. Mariposa

Is it true that Donville Inniss purchased Carlisle Bay Centre in Bay Street from Edwin Worrell of Budg-Buy fame…..and is now in the process of renovating those facilities?

Also, is it true that the Weatherheads purchased buildings along the stretch from the Copacabana to the Boat Yard?

If this information is true, were these purchases undertaken in anticipation of the Hyatt Hotel being built on Bay Street?

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

LOL…Artax loves that his friend “ac” is back

15. The blame game is also being practised in Hal Austin’s Foggy London town.Theresa May was Home Secretary in 2011 when the Windrush deportations gained currency and an articulate black Englishman David Lammy lambasted Amber Rudd on the matter.Labour blamed the Tories for the debacle.While admitting guilt May suggested the toffy nosed Tories were not the party which originated the decision to destroy the immigration evidence of 1948 vintage, but it was Labour that made the decision in the first place in 2009.Then a Labour asked of May…..who signed off on the order to destroy the documentation?It was May in 2011.It’s all a trick of these politicos everywhere especially with the rise of Trump in the US.He is said to lie everyday ‘as god send’,so does Putin and Lavrov,Netanyahu,Macron,Sinckler,Ince,Stuart and Darcy.What May did not divulge was her husband’s role in BAE and its major stock holdings in that company which also holds major stock in Lockheed Martin and the cost of one of those missiles dropped on Syria had a price tag of £800,000.and BAE stock appreciated significantly in the last week, post the Syria missile attack.We all pray that gaul bline awlodum and dey burn in hell for lying and playing with people’s lives for the sake of money.

16. MariSopa could not stay hidden for long..lol

17. The Mariposas/ac of this world act like borrowing started in 1994 and ended in 2008. They also speak as though problems in Barbados started sometime during 1976-1986 and then again during 1994-2008. The DLP government of 2008 to present is the first to inherit debt, confront issues etc. The apologists don’t speak of the infrastructure they inherited, the housing projects, programmes, foreign reserves and low unemployment. Notice that the housing programme has come to a screeching halt since the BLP readymade projects at Fordes Road, Coverley, TweedsidecRd etc have dried up. If they weren’t so inept, pompous, partisan and lazy we would not be in this position. A real fatted calf mentality, just take a look at the piece ah lawyers that get government work–Guyson Mayers, Dribbles, Michael Yearwood–and QC status–Monique Taitt, Stephen Lashley, Dribbles, Yearwood, Allsopp. Stupse!!

18. Though no one with commonsense will ever understand this moron we call the PM, my take is let him have his fun with the people of Barbados.

I have long concluded that these are selfish conceited ignorant people (all of those words). They do not love this country or its people and if any of them ever cross my driveway, I have a few choice words for them.

Be patient, maybe the plan is to get us irritable and get agitated to go out and start protesting……that is when their plans would kick into action.

Patience, my fellow Barbadians!

19. DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV

I think people should not be sidetracked by the “legality” of the the Govt going into this 90 days grace period. Simple reason is that the constitution allows for it.The real discussion is why the DLP has to do it and what happens when the 90 days expires. I was a little surprised the DLP allowed the automatic dissolution of parliament….but if they did this there is reasonable expectation that they MAY not call elections within the 90 days either!!!! The GG is a lady with vast judicial experience…she will know what the constitution allows her and the govt to do. The convention is that the PM advises the GG as to when to call elections. Usually the ruling party would prepare its political machinery and call it on a date that suits them. Obviously the DLP isn’t ready and for Ms Mason to call elections by herself may be seen as an act that will not benefit the govt…the DLP will try to “milk” it for what little political mileage they can get from it. It is best for Ms Mason not to put herself in the limelight that way….all eyes are on the DLP right now..Barbadians are waiting. they have waited for 5 years and can wait for 3 months more…but not past that. I believe Ms Mason would wait until the 90 days are up and the ball would be more in her court..it is then that Bajans would urge her to call elections and she will have little choice but to do so.
    The way i see it, the DLPs political mileage sharply declined when they allowed parliament to automatically dissolve….Bajans are asking what is really going on!!!!….they are increasingly suspicious of the DLP’s actions…what are they doing outside the public view????. The CBB has yet to release the 2018 first quarter economic performance report. What is the state of the foreign reserves??? is the report bad as many people expect!!!….I cannot believe what the DLP is doing is only to allow for a change in candidate in St. John. Listening to DLP yardfowls on Brass Tacks defend what the their party is doing is both laughable and pitiful at the same time. To Dr Don Marshall who wants to defend the govt…just put a sock it in!!!!….The only strategy i see the DLP trying to employ is that they hope to burn out the campaign machinery of the BLP. By not setting a date they are not setting a target for the BLP to build up their campaigning to!!!!. Really, the DLP is like a bad behaved child that knows it is going to get its ass cut!!!!!….stop hemming and hawing!!!!….set the date and tek wunna licks like the children yuh all are!!!

20. @Kevin April 18, 2018 9:13 PM “No laws are being broken.”

My Dear Kevin: When your ancestors and mine were enslaved from 1627 to 1838 in Barbados no laws were being broken either. Slavery was quite legal.

But slavery was always wrong, and it is wrong for the Prime Minister, and former Parliamentarians to be taking our money every month even while refusing to call the election.

And since voting cannot now take place before May 1, and since the Examinations of the Caribbean Examinations Council will be taking place every Monday to Friday from May 1 to June 30, and since the schools are used for such examinations and since the school are also used for elections…

21. @DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV April 19, 2018 9:11 PM “I think people should not be sidetracked by the “legality” of the the Govt going into this 90 days grace period. Simple reason is that the constitution allows for it.The real discussion is why the DLP has to do it and what happens when the 90 days expires. I was a little surprised the DLP allowed the automatic dissolution of parliament….but if they did this there is reasonable expectation that they MAY not call elections within the 90 days either!!!!”

There are countries that were democracies, and are no longer democracies…

22. Do we know that the Governor General is not a DLP sympathiser?

23. @45govt April 19, 2018 4:46 AM ” white benevolence!”

And when did this white benevolence! thingy take place?

You may not know but there can be white spitefulness and black spitefulness.

The Prime Minister has already told us that the DLP can be a dangerous party.

We believe him.

24. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service April 19, 2018 6:18 AM “a mold infested supreme court building + a vacated clico building sitting right next door”

I wonder how much of the taxpayers money will be paid to the owner of the “CLICO building?”

And I wonder who owns the CLICO building?

Is it still owned by Leroy Parris, the man who is not a leper. The man who is the Prime Minister’s friend?

25. @Redguard April 19, 2018 9:09 AM “like the school bully who used to pat down your pockets for money, he knows its against school rules but he also knows most students will not report it and will do nothing so long as you leave them with enough money to still get something to eat.

The school bully tried that RH sh!te with me and I cut his head open with a broken plate. I was only 7 or 8, but NOBODY, NOBODY has ever raised a hand at me again.

Butter can’t melt in my mouth, but I am not afraid to use violence to defend me or mine. And I make no excuse for that.

26. Nearly 60 years later the school bully greets me courteously when he meets me.

27. @Redguard April 19, 2018 9:09 AM “9 times out of 10 is NOTHING.”

And the 10th time???

I think that too many people (and I trust that neither the PM nor GG have forgotten) have forgotten that Barbadians have used violence at multiple times in their history.

If democracy should fail. what else is left, except violence?

Do you know how many times that school bully had annoyed me before I exploded in violence?

28. @ Simple Simon
    …..but I am not afraid to use violence to defend me or mine. And I make no excuse for that.
    Shiite!!
    You sounding more and more like Bushie’s little sister….
    Murdah!!!

29. Simple…Leroy Leper is not supposed to own the CLICO building, it is supposed to be CLICO assets, read, owned by policyholders…of course ya never know from whom they stole the property in the first place.

30. @Prodigal Son April 18, 2018 10:22 PM

Do you really expect the said person to act who was not good enough for a job at the CCJ ??? Not me!

31. If our democracy is under threat then the time has come to stop arguing about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, time to stop arguing about constitutional minutiae.

Nah. The people of Barbados will not let anybody highjack their democracy.

32. @ DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV April 19, 2018 9:11 PM

Do not worry. More mould, more sewage, more downgrades, more political prostitutes will do the business.

33. “The people of Barbados will not let anybody highjack their democracy”

Please @Simple Simon

Younger ppl (18 – 25) only care about their cellphones, Reggae on the hill and their cruises on MV dreamchaser

Young ppl (25 – 40) only care about their car, their clothes and material stuff, all inclusive crop over fetes and the yearly shopping trip to dolphin mall

Middle aged (40 – 60) only care about trying to one up each other, they buy crap they don’t need to show off to people they don’t know to make them think they are living the life. But the truth is they are drowning in all kinds of debt.

Retirees – Care bout their pension and hoarding money, they brag about how much money they save by catching ZR, unfortunately when the dollar devalues all that money saved catching ZR will be for naught, should have bought a car and avoided skin cancer and added a few years to life… (lol I jest)

None of these groups will give a crap about democracy until it takes away what they care about

Sorry last group the money class only care about profits, monopoly on government contracts and free access to the NIS ATM

34. lol…cant wait to see what will happen when the minorities access to the parliament is cut off and all those millions they took to get control of the parliament and all the powers it brings that will allow them to commit more crimes, without fear of arrest…has to be repaid.

35. All we have been hearing for the last ten years is Jada and Mark Maloney.

Is Jada that great a construction company? They are supposed to be the top construction company and has accumulated great wealth off the taxpayers of this country. Should they not fix this problem with the Judicial Centre if they care about their brand? But there again they seem to be always at the receiving ends, what about fixing this problem……..after all…..Barbados is suffering from lack of a functioning court system as it is.

This alone should disqualify them from ever getting a government contract again.

36. @Prodigal Son

Do we know what is causing the problem?

37. One of my friends work there…….from what I understand there seems to be a serious problem with the roof which was not sealed and as a result there have been serious leaks and the resultant mold which has led to respiratory problems. In addition the air conditioning is a problem.

38. Did the two top people in this country meet today?

39. Good assessment by Redguard @ 10.08 pm

40. @ Redguard,

Black Bajans have always wanted to improve their lives by aspiring to own material goods.

Nothing has changed since the 60s other than mo betta cars,clothes and mo imported food.

Barbados is a capitalist country.

41. @Redguard April 20, 2018 10:08 AM “Retirees – Care bout their pension and hoarding money, they brag about how much money they save by catching ZR, unfortunately when the dollar devalues all that money saved catching ZR will be for naught, should have bought a car and avoided skin cancer and added a few years to life… (lol I jest)”

Jest or no jest.

Some people catch ZR’s not to save money, but to ensure that there is one less nasty polluting foreign exchange wasting car on the road.

And what skin cancer are you talking about. Have you ever personally know a single black person with skin cancer?

Even one.

Lol!!!. We including me work in the fields and live to be 90+ and some of us 100+ and retain our black, beautiful, healthy skins

What skin cancer what?

You know that skin cancer is a white people problem right?

And beside some of us are not saving the money that we save by catching ZR’s. Some of us are investing that saved money in the younger generation. It is foolish to be putting money in the bank when a young person, any young person needs a hand up.

We know that we cannot take anything with us. Naked we come into the world, and naked we shall soon leave it.

42. LOL @ Simple
    Bushie wondered if Redguard’s cap would fit with the ZR reference…
    We all know that you are special… so
    It does not detract from his point.

@ Hants
    Black Bajans have always wanted to improve their lives by aspiring to own material goods.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, you just encapsulated ALL that Bushie has been trying to say now for 10 years (by using all kinds of shiite language), with your usual HC flair and style. …and in a single, clean, well-grammared sentence.

Trying to improve black lives by ‘aspiring to material goods’ is the epiphany of brass bowlery;
    it is pandering to albino-centricity – a FOREIGN philosophy;
    It is counter-intuitive;
    it is contrary to our natural instincts….so
    It is a GUARANTEE of failure … even WRT material goods… far less the REALLY important stuff.

It IS …… shiite
    It IS …….brassbowlery.
    Thanks again Skippa….

43. Today at 4 pm His Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart will address his loyal subjects from Government Headquarters via a press conference.

His main topic of discussion will be the upcoming Reggae Festival and where he will publicly thank the faithful organizers – FAS entertainment and the loyal patrons – who year after year support this wonderful festival.

Those who have questions about the pending general elections can attend the press conference and ask their questions.

See you Government Headquarters at 4 p.m , today

44. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Fractured

Wha’ happened at de press conference?

I ent hear nuttin yet so you shudd tell we wha’ happn.

King Freundal miscalculated?

E now fine out dat he out? dat it is de GG dat have to call de election …. not he? Dat all he power gone?