Hours after the Windrush story broke the UK Prime Minister May has been forced into damage control mode to apologize to Black leaders. Is this the opportune moment to force the reparations issue?

Here is a link to The Sun newspaper article –  Windrush generation – when did the children arrive, are they in the UK illegally and how many are there?

392 responses to “The Windrush Generation, NOT Welcome in England”

1. @David

In a world of DATA MINING & DATA GATHERING – why would the UK authorities “DESTROY” valuable INFO on its COLONISTS given this data is a goldmine to companies like ANCESTRY UK & others…

No wonder Cambridge Analytica’s dark deeds were exposed based on the powerful MISUSE of personal DATA!!!

David, this is a “COVER-UP” of Herculean proportions given the sinister reputation of the British GOV & their past atrocities & misdeeds around the world – 4 who in their right minds would believe anything these people say???

Those “MYSTICAL LANDING CARDS” have been scanned & microfilmed before being destroyed!!!

A nationality certificate for a client was found from 1964 in the NAT ARCH so any argument that these JOKERS have destroyed files is laughable at the least & down-right sinister at worst…

The HOME OFFICE does not “DESTROY” anything (and that’s from the horses’s mouth)!!!

2. As I posted yesterday, the british has documentation of every slave ship or any other ship’s manifest from the 1400s, every African they enslaved renamed they have in their national archives, they documented all their crimes against African and Caribbean people, meticulously and with clarity, they did not throw away not one piece of paper that should have the ability to hang them all…if ya look hard enough ya may still find a shrunken head or two from murdered Africans as you do in France’s museums…..now why would they throw away documentation of Caribbean people THEY INVITED TO UK AS UK COMMONWEALTH CITIZENS…from 1948.

the guillotine should be in use today.

3. @David

A quick check on Ancestry.com yields over 1000 Empire Windrush immigrants…

This saga in any other English speaking country would be the largest “CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT” ever, hands down!!!

Whether there are grounds for legal action against the UK GOV 4 financial compensation, amelioration & redress including the granting of immediate legal status to all 50K affected is being worked on by Shadow Home Sec.Dianne Abbott et al…

#StayTuned

4. @TB

Agree with you. This is data that could have been sold or shipped freight collect to the Caribbean countries.

5. @David

“FreeBMD is an ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records. It is a part of the Free UK Genealogy family, which also includes FreeCEN (Census data) and FreeREG (Parish Registers)…”

SEE MORE: https://www.freebmd.org.uk/

6. @David

WINDRUSH 2…

The current UK GOV sees the handwriting on the wall…

BREXIT has been a historical blip of Protestant proportions…

The National Health Service is in crisis with shortages to the tune of some 40,000 nurses…

There’s a deficit of some 10,000 doctors…

Research shows that there are some 100,000 vacant posts across the entire NHS which works out at ONE-IN-ELEVEN posts…

Some 15,000 beds have been cut from hospitals since 2010…

The added fuel have been “AUSTERITY CUTS” resulted in massive underfunding…

Now today, it is being reported that due to the 11,000 EU nurses who bolted since BREXIT – the NHS is looking to the Caribbean (again) to fill its deficits…

WHAT A CROQ!!!

#SMDHID

7. @Sargeant April 18, 2018 8:41 AM ” In my personal life I made the decision to become a citizen as soon as the mandatory waiting period was reached.”

All well and good Sargeant. i did the same for me and for my children. I am sure that most parents did the same as you and me. But what if a child had been migrated so early that they had no idea that they were not native born? And what if the “neglectful” parents had become estranged from their own children? What if the parents had become old and forgetful? What if they had died? Since it appears that there were upwards of 500,000 immigrants even if 99% of the immigrants had been compliant on their own behalf and on behalf of their children that still leaves up to 5,000 people in status limbo. How many is too many to be treated badly. To treat even one person poorly is a bad thing. The British government had/has the resources financial and human to create and maintain better records.

Sometimes we cannot look in the mirror, because the mirror has been smashed beyond repair. Sometimes the mirror is dead and has long been cremated.

At such times we have a reasonable expectation that the state to be a better record keeper that we as individuals have been.

8. Simple Simon April 18, 2018 3:09 PM

There is an estimated 50000 people. The point is why didn’t they try to regularise their status? Do they have siblings who regularised theirs? Have they ever had driving licences, mortgages, social housing, job and education records? There are important questions to be asked, without defending the Home Office..

9. @Hal Austin April 18, 2018 8:59 AM “Remember the average age of the Windrush generation..”

Thinking of my siblings now whose average age was 19 when they migrated to the United Kingdom in 1955, 60, and 69, and whose average age is now 76.

My mother was a wise woman, therefore also a cynic. She told me once that when a mother has young children who need to have their piss, snot and sh!t cleaned nobody likes being around her, not even her husband, and oftentimes especially not her husband.

The truth is that many people, and no state likes old people, especially the old-old those older than 80 who need to have their shit, piss, and dribble cleaned, who may need to be spoon-fed, who may need to be told to “swallow” after each spoonful.

Old people are expensive, time consuming, ugly and contribute little to any economy.

I can see why the British state would find it desirable to get rid of as many old people as possible.

But that still does not make it right.

The average age of the Windrush generation is now 75, and there are 500,000 of them, getting ready to suck the MONEY out of the British National Health Service.

But aren’t these the same people, many of them who worked hard their whole lives for the same British National Health Service?

10. Simple Simon April 18, 2018 3:30 PM

Although the UK press is using the shorthand Windrush generation (the Windrush arrived in June, 1948) most of the 50000 are people who arrived in the 1960s, that is why the average age is younger.
    Right and wrong are moral judgements, I am asking why have these people, all now mature, not stabilise their status until now, given the publicity which surrounded the 1971 Immigration Act, Thatcher’s ITV interview in February 1978 and her election victory the following year, the rise of UKIP, the 2010 changes in regulation and the 2014?
    One man, who has become the poster boy for the campaign, arrived in Britain at age eight and is now 60, what happened to him in all that time? One woman arrived in 1973 aged 13 and is now 58, what happened over the last 45 years? I can go on.
    Have they been on the electoral register? Have they had loans? Bank accounts? Drivers’ licences? Travelled? Apart from the landing cards, there must be a trail of their presence, what went wrong?
    We can get emotional and make political points, but something must have happened. I want to know what? Cutting and pasting or watching the news on BBC World or reading the websites of failed newspapers would not provide the answer.

11. After the Windrush generation gave the best years of their lives to UK and paid taxes, it was fine for them to help enrich UK, now in their twilight years, UK has no right sending them back to be a burden on social services in the Caribbean, they benefited from their stay or they would never had invited their parents, they wanted cheap labor…no one can start over at age 76..that is time for the departure lounge….the UK knew this from 1948, they knew what they planned to do…this sabotage of the Windrush generation was decades in the making.

12. @dreamstarworld April 18, 2018 2:42 PM “Now today, it is being reported that due to the 11,000 EU nurses who bolted since BREXIT – the NHS is looking to the Caribbean (again) to fill its deficits.”

Yesterday Zimbabwe fired 10,000 nurses.

So…

13. When will Caribbean governments learn the British are users and abusers, their only interest for centuries has been getting rich at the expense of Black people….I am sure they have another traumatic scam in the making to use another generation to enrich themselves, then discard them like garbage seeing as their economy is bordering on worthless with health services in the toilet…….the next batch to be discarded could be the very ones who got pieces of manmade paper saying they are citizens…..what will they do, sue, not when they devise some vicious scam to force you out…good luck.

I have relatives who are entitled to British status and refuse to subject themselves to that country and it’s ever changing nasty policies toward Caribbean people.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    and they were “nurses on strike”…..

15. @Hal Austin April 18, 2018 3:17 PM “There is an estimated 50000 people. The point is why didn’t they try to regularise their status? Do they have siblings who regularised theirs? Have they ever had driving licences, mortgages, social housing, job and education records? There are important questions to be asked, without defending the Home Office..”

No doubt many regularised their status.
    No doubt some have siblngs who regularised their status.
    Many have driver’s licences, including those who gained commercial driver’s licenses. I have a friend who spent years driving refrigerated containers of produce to USSR/Russia, and good Russian vodka to the U.K. Lol.
    Many bought houses. Certainly all of my siblings did. No doubt many rented, especially when they were new migrants. No doubt many rented with written leases.
    The child migrants certainly went to school. Some of the young adult migrants also returned to school. One friend of mine who had been a “clerkist” on Swan Street, became a fine neuro-surgical nurses. Many of the men who had been labourers went into the skilled/licensed trades.

And of course many, perhaps most of the 1950’s – 1960’s migrants married and/or had children. These marriages and these births were compulsorily registered by the U.K authorities

Indeed the questions which you have asked are important. However there is a saying “if it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck.”

It looks like the British Home Office made a “big foot move”

16. Simple Simon April 18, 2018 4:45 PM

‘Probably’

17. What Bushie What Yall o dat ilk Avatar
    What Bushie What Yall o dat ilk

An den de lawd did come unto we sayin, “thou shalts be commanded by de word o de lor’! What goats, what?

And there came unto them a goatherd, a phuquwit of that ilk, of the Low tribe, who hated joos an’ homos an’ wimmen, an de CSME. He were a man o’ de Lawd. And a laughable halfwit. But he did say unto we …. what Bushie what? What?

18. @Hal Austin April 18, 2018 Hal Austin April 18, 2018 3:46 PM “Although the UK press is using the shorthand Windrush generation (the Windrush arrived in June, 1948) most of the 50000 are people who arrived in the 1960s, that is why the average age is younger.”

I know.

I know when children disappeared from my classroom, from my church, from my village, because their mothers and fathers had ‘sent for them”

They went to England on the Sorriento.

I remember a few years earlier, it was the week before my second birthday, when I hid behind the bedroom door and was inconsolable because my big sister had “gone to town” and she hadn’t come back. I had no idea then that “town” was London and that I would not see her again for 14 and a half years.

I know when other siblings disappeared from my home.

I know schoolmates who never saw their mothers or fathers again.

And I know a lot of elders who never saw their sons or daughters again.

19. What Bushie What Yall o dat ilk Avatar
    What Bushie What Yall o dat ilk

Really, simple? Any evidence? Just the tiniest shred would be good. Anything?

20. You mind fraudulent Ha, Ha…he has no inroads into what happened with the usual theft of Caribbean’s Windrush generation labor as is normal for the British and he has no clue what will happen next, he would have us stop reading the news or stop listening to BBC to listen to his mindless uninformed nonsense.

21. Simple Simon April 18, 2018 5:17 PM

I remember a few years earlier, it was the week before my second birthday, when I hid behind the bedroom door and was inconsolable…(Quote)

Really? You remember from before your second birthday. You must be a genius. It is a generally accepted in educational theory that age 3 is the point at which we start remembering. May I pass your details on to the Institute of Education?

22. Most adults remember little before their third or fourth birthdays, and the thinking has been that prior to this age children do not have the cognitive or language skills to process and store events as memories.(Quote)

23. @What Bushie What Yall o dat ilk April 18, 2018 5:20 PM “Really, simple? Any evidence? Just the tiniest shred would be good. Anything?”

What do you want me to provide? Living people’s baptismal certifites? Their marriage certificates? Their trade or professional licenses? Their telephone numbers? Well you are getting none of the above.

But I am sure that the British government–excellent record keepers that they are —don’t they have Shakespeare’s birth certificate, and his will? I am sure that the British government has the passenger manifests of the Windrush and the Sorriento and I know that my siblings names are there.

Siblings still alive, so you get lost.

24. @Hal Austin April 18, 2018 5:51 PM “Really? You remember from before your second birthday. You must be a genius. It is a generally accepted in educational theory that age 3 is the point at which we start remembering. May I pass your details on to the Institute of Education?”

Yes you may.

There are always exceptions to every rule. I am one.

YMy teacher’s noted it from early. My employers noted it also, and except for the first 5 or 6 years of my working life I have always been paid way above my formal educational level, including when for many decades I worked in a private sector non-union establishment. I had always remembered the events which took place during the period of my sister’s migration, but it was only recently when I was speaking with another sibling who is 8 years older that she told me the year and month that the event took place. I had not remembered the month nor year. I had always assumed that the events took place 4 months later when I would have beeen almost 2 1/2 but my sibling corrected me. She too found it hard to believe that I remembered.

I remember that our parents held a party, we were poor so this party was a remarkable event, I remember that one of our neighbour’s came and he played “God be with you until we meet again” on the concertina. people remember music especially. When my first grandchild was born long before she learned to walk at 11 months, she was “dancing” in her playpen to music that her mother had listened to during pregnancy.

There is a lot that the experts have yet to document.

25. Simple…dont mind that idiot, many small children were put on boats to UK by themselves, no parents were there for whatever reason, there were minders on the boat looking after them, of course most would never see their babies again, these people knew no better, believed the skunks in UK had their children’s best interest at heart, despite the brutality against their ancestors.

Being just out of slavery the people from that era in the Caribbean were unable to reason or analyze as we are able to today…that is why UK got away with their deceitful Windrush plans…they took advantage of the people’s brainwashed love for the fraudulent Union Jack and their simplemindedness as trusting, mostly uneducated formerly enslaved..with no future prospects because they were still colonized by UK….and lack of jobs.

the UK should be made to pay these Windrush survivors reparations.

26. Simple….as I said, uninformed….though rare, eidetic memory in children is a reality, you lose it when all the distractions of life intervene in your early 20s but decades later when the distractions of life have faded, it returns like a explosion and it is genetic…no use talking to people who have limited knowledge.

27. Actually in our family we have good memories from early childhood, up to our 80’s, 90’s and to 100 and beyond. I do believe that it is indeed genetic. It may yet hapen but I’ve never seen dementia in my family. Just good luck I guess.

For examplethe average person cannot run 100 m: in 9.58 seconds, but Usain Bolt can.

The average human male is about 5 feet, 8 inches, but just last week at a fast food place I saw a giant, a young man who is exceptionally tall at 6 feet, 8 inches.

Exceptional.

Note that I am not claiming to remember everything before my second birthday, but this particular event was traumatic for my less than 2 year old self so I remember.

28. @ Simple Simon
    For example the average person cannot run 100 m: in 9.58 seconds, but Usain Bolt can.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    But also remember that the average person can eventually figure out when they are talking shiite… Hal can’t.
    The curve is a bell. It goes both ways.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Despite all the goading, I really thought Ha, Ha would know better than to come out and make a damn fool of himself…and all day too.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

May is too evil to even be prime minister…she lies too much, they know they keep plots in place to disenfranchise, discriminate against destroy and steal from the black race, they revise these plans to keep Caribbean people in particularly in poverty and mental enslavement as a permanent generational fixture…all british governments do, have been doing for 500 years…without fail..

“Theresa May ‘Misled Parliament’ In Trying To Blame Labour For Windrush Fiasco
    Within minutes of PMQs, No10 admitted it was officials’ decision
    By Paul Waugh
    X

“Theresa May has been accused of misleading Parliament over the Windrush fiasco after she suggested Labour had junked migrants’ identity documents.

An embattled May told MPs during Prime Minister’s Question Time that “the decision to destroy the landing cards was taken in 2009 under a Labour government”.

That prompted loud cheers from Tory MPs, given the Home Secretaries that year were Labour’s Jacqui Smith and Alan Johnson.

The PM’s broadside was designed to derail Jeremy Corbyn’s own questions probing her role in the saga which has seen Commonwealth migrants treated like illegal immigrants and threatened with deportation.

But within minutes it emerged that no Labour minister had actually been involved and that officials from the UK Border Agency had made the decision to destroy the landing cards on data protection grounds.

Labour MPs Chuka Umunna and Paul Sweeney both suggested May had mislead MPs with her statement.

Pressed by HuffPost UK on the issue, the PM’s spokesman admitted it had been an “operational” decision rather than a ministerial one.

“What the Prime Minister said was that the decision was taken in 2009 when there was a Labour government. But the decision that was taken was an operational one by UKBA,” he said.”

31. Only good system
    is a sound system

Dual citizenship is every ‘foreigners’ right in brexit UK

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Upon reflection and lawyers versed in international law can decide, but given the ages of the Windrush generation, victims of british deceit, I do believe an expedited case can be made that they and their parents were lured by the british governments in 1948, under false pretences to usurp their labor to benefit UK…these people were misled to believe that they were british citizens born under the blood soaked union jack…in the Caribbean.

UK should never be allowed to get away with not paying these people for their criminal plot against them and their parents in 1948.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Just as I thought…the Windrush generation has grounds to sue the UK…under the 30 Articles of Universal Human Rights…..ratified in December 1948…for the british crimes against Caribbean people born under the union jack.

“The Universal Declaration was adopted by the General Assembly as Resolution 217 on 10 December 1948.

Universal Declaration of Human Rights – Wikipedia”

34. Sillier and sillier.

35. This is my kinda gal….many people are awake and actually contributing significantly to the necessary changes.

https://youtu.be/cSoZArRXYLw?t=4

36. Ain’t going to happen. Everything is in lethargy !

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Physical manmade slavery ended, did it not, well anything possible since man is here only for a time and cannot leave the earth with anything they stole from other people.

38. @ Kiki
    Only good system
    is a sound system

Good pun….but, how have you not posted the words of the prophet Bob on this specific issue?
    Have you given up too…?

Guiltiness… pressed on their conscience…
    …..
    Woe to the downpressors:
    They’ll eat the bread of sorrow!
    Woe to the downpressors:
    They’ll eat the bread of sad tomorrow!

39. @ Bushman

I have built many systems and my inside knowledge expert opinion is all systems are shite

But you do speak True

Music got the teach them one lesson

here’s a Bob Marley playlist 4U

40. The Caribbean people who moved to the United Kingdom in the 1950’s to the 1980’s were not Caribbean citizens, since none of the Caribbean countries were independent and so could not offer citizenship nor passports to the people born in the Caribbean. These people, including 3 of my siblings, genuinely believed that they were going to the Mother Country. They believed that they would be welcome. Remember the British government had sent recruitment agents to the Caribbean, these people did not move illegally and uninvited to the United Kingdom. In Barbados specifically the recruitment was done at “Herbert House” on Fontabelle, opposite Kensington Oval, the building still stands and is now called Cricket Legends. Many of the migrants discovered that even while their labour was desperately needed in post-war Britain, their black selves were not particularly welcome.

It is little know that the British government still recruits healthy, smart, young labour in the Caribbean. Less that ten years ago I was on a LIAT flight going from island to island. I was seated next to a man and in conversaiton he told me that he was in the Caribbean recruiting for the British military. Truly I was surprised. Maybe he was not supposed to tell me this. And I know personally of some young men from the region who have joined the British military, including the son of my next door neighbour.

It makes me wonder now how the British government will treat these 20 something soldiers when they become shaky 75 year old men.

41. Simple..every blog and newspaper is trying to pound that into the heads of idiot that these victims of the UK left the Caribbean as BRITISH CITIZENS, that’s why the UN should become involved, the UK stripped them and still is of their british commonwealth citizen status, that also goes for the 16 or 17 generations of Caribbean people who UK once owned as chattel slaves aand born under the Union Jack…who really should have had dual citizenship. if the islands became independent of UK, those days the local leaders did not have that level of reasoning or skills of negotiation, probably still dont…as we know.

Maximum pressure has to be put on the UK.

“Real brits see it for what it really is, the nastiness of british racism stripping black Caribbean people of of their rightful UK citizenship.

It wasn’t until I spoke to Elwaldo Romeo, who lived in Britain for nearly 60 years before being told he was here illegally by the Home Office, that I started a petition calling for the government to give Windrush children “amnesty” – recognition that they are already British citizens – and a fund to help them get urgent legal advice.

The Windrush shambles is another episode of Britain’s history of racism. People forget the climate this comes in: in the 1940s, black people were banned from buying or renting houses, paid far less than their white co-workers and discriminated against and bullied in the workplace, as well as harassed by the police, which led to Learie Constantine taking Imperial Hotel to court for discrimination. This “colour bar” was the catalyst for riots in Notting Hill and Nottingham in the 1950s.

in the 1960s, Paul Stephenson organised a boycott to force the Bristol bus company to stop discriminating against black people and Asquith Xavier took British Rail to court after being refused a job at Euston Station. That is why, since 1965, we have had a series of legislation and government bodies tackling structural racism and discrimination due to the campaigning efforts of the Windrush generation.

By the 1970s, black men were regularly stopped and searched, despite not being suspected of any crime, simply because of their race under “sus” laws; the toxic legacy of this continues today”.

42. So in reality…under the 1948 Nationality Act…all people born in the Caribbean were british citizens.

43. BU is an excellent forum for subjects for discussion censored in western hemisphere by the powers that be
    such as continuous dubious wars and propaganda spins like in Syria shenanigans.

But there is a time lag of several real time news cycles for our resident radical subversive to make a submission and (s)he needs a prompt from the universe to gather thoughts to write up biting chomsky-esque breakdown of semantics and nuances of various factors and faction in matter involved.

calling for pitchy patchy mamma to get on the hypothesis case about War Ina Babylon (It Sipple Out Deh)

https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=iM-q7zQFpuI

44. As I said, it’s time for the UN to get involved in this, there is no telling how many born UK citizens and Windrush citizens have been deported by that witch and her predecessors, because of the color of their skin and we are only now hearing about it. This youngster was born in UK, therefore he holds a british birth certificate, yet he is stateless.

what makes this even uglier…they have been doing it for years, who knows how many other young people born in UK they have as stateless. That is why people on certain blogs kept saying we have not heard half the story of what they do to black people born in UK with Caribbean heritage. All I can tell people is stay out of UK, it’s a pit, never fancied it, no country with dark, grey, ugly, cloudy weather and wet snow appeals to me….I like my snow dry and packed tight.lol

“The son of a Windrush immigrant has been forced to declare himself as “stateless” after he was threatened with deportation despite being born in the UK.

Jay, now in his twenties, has been repeatedly denied a British passport because of a lack of clarity over his mother’s status after she came from Jamaica as a child. He was forced to become a stateless citizen after the Home Office threatened to remove him from the country in 2016.

Speaking to The Independent, Jay said he had been fighting a “constant battle” to be recognised as British, spending hundreds of pounds and sending dozens of letters in failed attempts to secure his status.”

His case reveals the devastating effect the government’s “hostile environment” policies have had on people who arrived as part of the Windrush, as well as the negative impact on their British-born offspring.

In 2016 Jay received a deportation notice from the Home Office after applying for a passport for the third time. He was told he was not eligible and that in order to remain he must declare himself as “stateless”.

“They said they were going to send me back to Jamaica. I’ve never been to Jamaica,” Jay said. “In order to stay here I had to declare myself as a stateless person. It feels embarrassing to be classed as a stateless person. The word alone – it’s very degrading.”

Now a university student but unsure on his prospects for the future, Jay said the Home Office’s refusal to recognise him as British has left him feeling “stuck”, and at times driven him into a state of depression.”

45. Old Daily Mail new story “Keep This Man Out of Britain” by Hal Austin. The man being Rev. Al Sharpton. The things you see when you scavenge the net.

46. lol..oh lord, the old slaveminded negro …Hal Austin is good to keep very far from, because of my distrustful instincts, I did not pay to learn that, but you can guarantee he is not someone that can be trusted.

The Empire Windrush was a slave ship…the Caribbean people obviously never knew they were passengers on one of the last slave ships to enter UK via the Atlantic.

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply