Submitted as a comment by BMcDonald to the The Grenville Phillips Column – I Know Who Helped Me

The well intentioned rule, that the candidates for the office of Bishop of Barbados are only known on the morning of the election, has clearly not prevented commentary and speculation about prospective candidates in the mass media, even in the Anglican newspaper. The rule is also being exploited by those who want to drive discussion of the contribution to the development of this country by Christians and the Diocese of Barbados from the public square. Much of the mass media contributions is thinly veiled support of a young candidate. Much of the reasoning in support of the young man is flawed, because:
(1) The regulations governing the process of choosing a Bishop impose a minimum age, which clearly says that age is a factor. The imposition of a minimum age in the regulations supports the view that age brings maturity, experience, wisdom and patience, attributes needed in the Bishop, as opposed to popularity, which is ephemeral. One may also ask, if the young man is so popular, why the coordinated and relentless effort to project him as the preferred candidate at the expense of the rules.

(2) Until the election of Bishop Rufus T. Broome, it cannot be said that the local Synod freely elected the Bishop of Barbados. Initially Bishops were appointed from London at a time when Barbados was a much larger Diocese, including the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands and there was no air travel at that time and the preference for younger appointees was natural. Thereafter, the government of Barbados had an important role in the selection of the Bishop and finally, the local Synod, free to choose for itself in 1969, failed in its first attempt and a choice was imposed on the divided house by the Provincial House of Bishops.

(3) There is ample evidence that a long reign by any administrator can end with loss of enthusiasm, often described as burnout. The prospect of a twenty-five year reign for a Bishop, in light of the history of the Diocese, must make every Barbadian concerned.
As the Friday 6, 2018 article in the Nation newspaper shows, three of the five bishops appointed under age fifty were the first three Bishops of Barbados. Even among these, as early as the appointment of the second bishop, Thomas Parry, there was already a preference for experience as he had already served as a senior member of the administration of Bishop Coleridge for 16 years. Among the 10 bishops of Barbados, after Bishop Herbert Bree established the Dean and Chapter of the Cathedral as the Guardian of the Spiritualities, only two were under fifty years of age. The first, Bishop Bentley, was already Bishop in Jamaica before he was translated to Barbados at age 45 and the second, Bishop Gomez was selected by the Provincial House of Bishops at age 35 when Barbadians in Synod could not choose one of their own as Bishop. Co-incidentally, the present Bishop of Belize, to whom the article referred, was also selected for that office by the Provincial House of Bishops.
Although personally popular, the young Bishop Gomez presided over the Diocese of Barbados during the Sintra Construction debacle and the Rev. Edward Gatherer affair which together cost the Diocese of Barbados hundreds of thousands of dollars. Money better spent on the mission of the church and the welfare of Barbadians.
The Sintra Construction debacle refers to the litigation that was pursued when it was claimed that the foundation of the Diocesan House at St. Michael’s row, Bridgetown had been the only structure in the area compromised by the construction activity of the Sintra Construction Company. The relatively new Diocesan house was condemned and demolished. The Gomez administration refused to compromise with the defendant construction company, went to trial and lost. Asquith Phillips Q.C., and his legal team for the defendant construction company were awarded significant costs.
In 1992. attorney at Law, Chezley Boyce took the case of Gomez v Gatherer all the way to the Privy Council in London and won a decision for Rev. Gatherer when the Privy Council reversed the Barbados Court of Appeal in a matter which turned on the age of the rector of St. Andrew’s Parish. Rev. Gatherer was restored as rector of St Andrew’s Parish Church by the court and awarded damages plus costs.

The above are included as a reminder that being Bishop of Barbados includes significantly more than preaching and ceremonials. Decisions have consequences. The 14th Bishop of Barbados must not only be a person of prayer, deep intellect and a track record of helping the poor, but also have demonstrable leadership, social and administrative skills and resolve. Flexible when compromise benefits the church, but not one who simply bends to the dictates of money and power. There is an urgent need for the Anglican Church, recently identified as one of the twin pillars upon which this country is built, to reclaim its rightful place amid the discourse in the public square and the leadership of that effort falls to the next Bishop of Barbados.

117 responses to “Replacing Archbishop Dr. John Holder”

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THAT “It is the responsibility of parents to take their children to church” as posited by Prodigal Son at April 26, 2018 11:06 AM is the teaching of several Scriptural injunctions.

He is also correct when he asserts that “The matter of drawing people to the church rest with the parish priest” Such a view is supported by several NT Scriptures. the NT teaches that each local church is expected to minister first locally, then regionally and then beyond..

2. Dean Gibson needs to assess his position in this race .

It is time for him to consider dropping out.

He does not enjoy 2/3 support among the laity or clergy – following yesterday’s vote .

Whereas, Rev. Rogers enjoys 2/3 of the support of the laity following yesterday’s vote.

Dean Gibson needs 30 more members of the laity support – to confirm 2/3 support amongst the laity.

Rev. Rogers enjoys more than 1/2 of the required 2/3 support among the clergy – at this stage following yesterday’s vote.

Interestingly, at the end of the final ballot ( 4th ballot) last night – 4 of the clergy had withdrawn their support for Gibson – and gave it to Rev. Rogers.

The voice of the people is the voice of God.

3. The Rev John Rogers comes highly recommended by the laity because he is the consummate parish priest we were accustomed to for all the years Barbados was partially governed by the Bishop of Barbados who was number 3 in the protocol of eminence after the Governor and the Head of the Legislative Council.
    Rogers as a seminarian endeared himself to the congregation of St James and his appointment to the cure of St Luke and his subsequent appointment to the parish church of St George have both served to confirm his love and devotion to his primary role of serving the pastoral and spiritual needs of his community. St George has been awakened by his energy and dynamism such that it is ‘operating’ on all fours.Rogers is very much the parish priest visiting the homes and caring for the shut-ins.He is known for high quality sermons delivered without reference to paper unlike Steve Blackett the dumbass failure in the wild boy’s parliament.
    I am of the opinion that Rev Guy Hewitt put this whole election in perspective this morning.The laity put their confidence in Rogers because they see him as being a valued asset in the Anglican Church,now experiencing dwindling numbers and one who by his youth,dynamism,charisma and engaging personality among other positive attributes not the least of which is an unblemished reputation of one whose love is his church.One the other hand Hewitt said he thought the clergy was being pragmatic in supporting Dean Gibson out of self interest as Rogers would put an end to many of those including some of the women who are not thinking of their service to the church but what power and prestige the church can offer them.
    It appears that some of the old duffers like mene mene and Willy of Croydon are stirring the pot in the background

4. The Laity has spoken.They have chosen their next Bishop of Barbados.Commonsense tells us that Gibson does NOT have the popular vote and should withdraw gracefully.

5. Contrary to popular mis-perception that the Anglican church is a church of dying old people the Anglican church in Barbados is mostly fairly youthful, that is there are 30,231 Anglicans who are younger than 50. But only 3,777 Anglicans who are 50 or older.

So the Anglican church is mostly youthful and mostly female.

Make of that what you wish, but it seems to this simpleton that the reign of the old boys will justly and shortly come to an end.

Census here: http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf

6. Or we can do like the Canadians who select a Governor General for 5 years only. The GG knows that an the end of year 5 he or she has to demitt the nice trappings of Rideau Hall and go back to the real world and his or her real job.

The more that i think about it the more i like the idea of a maximum term or 5 years for any bishop. The fellas would know that going in, and on demiting office they can always carry on being parish priests or school teachers or whatever their real real jobs are.

7. I don’t know why we seem to be stuck in these medieval structures.

Change de ting do, if it ent working.

8. Simple
    Some things are beyond our understanding and we have always been taught by saving precepts and following divine instruction that God is the same yesterday ,today and forever.Hymns Ancient and Modern are still the favorite hymns of the Anglican Church never mind the various attempts to produce an updated version.Those hymns we were taught to sing in primary school still form a huge part of our memories of an innocent age of an era long gone…’.Hushed was the evening hymn,The temple courts were dark,The lamp was burning dim before the sacred ark,When suddenly a voice divine rang through the silence of the shrine.O give me Samuel’s mind,A sweet unmurmuring faith obedient and resigned to thee in life and death,That I may read with childlike eyes,Truths that are hidden from the wise’ and…….’,Heavenly father send thy blessing on thy children gathered here,May they all they name confessing be to thee forever dear,May they be like Joseph loving,dutiful and chaste and pure,And their faith like David proving steadfast onto death endure’…..memories of singing treble and later alto at primary school..

9. My dear Gabriel. My statement that the Anglican church is largely young, and largely female still stands. We must always be guided by TRUTH.

10. gABRIEL,

wHAT IS WRONG WITH HYMNS ANCIENT AND MODERN?

THE HYMN TUNES IN HYMNS A& M ARE DEFINITELY WITHOUT COMPARE, FOR A START.

IT CONTAINS MANY GREAT HYMNS WRITTEN BY PERSONS WHO SEEM TO HAVE HAD SOME UNDERSTANDING OF THE WORD OPF GOD

A GOOD EXAMPLE IS…….”ONCE ONLY ONCE AND ONCE FOR ALL”…….WHICH ADRESSES THE TEACHING OF HEBREWS ON THIS SUBJECT

OR “OH SAVIOUR PRECIOUS SAVIOUR WHOM YET UNSEEN WE LOVE”… WHICH ADRESSES THE THOUGHT OF 1 PERTER 1:8

HUSHED WAS THE EVENING HYMN IS A GREAT SUMMARY OF THE CALL OF SAMUEL IN 1 SAMUEL 3

I CAN THINK OF ONLY ONE HYMN WHICH IS CLEARLY UNSCRIPTURAL………….I WAS MADE A CHRISTIAN WHEN MY NAME WAS GIVEN. THIS DOES NOT ACCORD AT ALL WITH ANY BIBLICAL TRUTH.

BOTH OF THE HYMNS YOU CITED CONTAIN WONDERFUL TRUTHS FOR CHILDREN TO EMULATE.

THE PROBLEM IS WE LEARNED THEM BY ROTE OR REPITITION WITH NO KNOWLEDGE OR UNDERSTANDING OF THE RELATED SCRIPTURES

BY THE WAY THE TENET OF hEBREWS 13:8 THAT JESUS that God is the same yesterday ,today and forever IS STILL AN UNCHANGEABLE TRUTH IN A CHANGING CRAZY CORRUPT COSMOS.

11. One of my favourites for the end of a day or the end of a life”

The day Thou gavest, Lord, is ended,
    The darkness falls at Thy behest;
    To Thee our morning hymns ascended,
    Thy praise shall sanctify our rest.
    We thank Thee that Thy church, unsleeping,
    While earth rolls onward into light,
    Through all the world her watch is keeping,
    And rests not now by day or night.
    As o’er each continent and island
    The dawn leads on another day,
    The voice of prayer is never silent,
    Nor dies the strain of praise away.
    The sun that bids us rest is waking
    Our brethren ’neath the western sky,
    And hour by hour fresh lips are making
    Thy wondrous doings heard on high.
    So be it, Lord; Thy throne shall never,
    Like earth’s proud empires, pass away:
    Thy kingdom stands, and grows forever,
    Till all Thy creatures own Thy sway.

Reference: Psalm 42:8
    8Yet the Lord will command his lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

note that the lyrics of this children’s hymn is rubbish even though though the rest of the hymn is acceptable theology

Christ, who once amongst us
    As a child did dwell,
    Is the children’s Saviour,
    And He loves us well;
    If we keep our promise
    Made Him at the Font,
    He will be our Shepherd,
    And we shall not want.

Clearly a baby can not make any promises at the font

Clearly also the only serious reference to the scriptures in the Day thou givest is in the lines
    Thy throne shall never,
    Like earth’s proud empires, pass away:
    Thy kingdom stands, and grows forever,
    Till all Thy creatures own Thy sway.

These lines refer to the millenial kingdom as prophesied in Isaiah 9:6-7

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

7 Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the LORD of hosts will perform this.

13. Prodigirl. a.k.a Reudon Eversley

@ 10:00 pm on April 26, 2018

You say Rev. Rogers has only 15 years experience …..age is not the factor !

Then how come your candidate – Dean Gibson – with all his years of ” experience ” trailing Rev Rogers in the vote to become Bishop of Barbados ??

How come Rev. Rogers was able to secure 2/3 of the laity support , whilst Dean Gibson has neither 2/3 support of the laity or clergy ??

The other comments in your said post is filled with malice & jealousy……..as is your usual modus operandi !!!

Joker

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE How come Rev. Rogers was able to secure 2/3 of the laity support , whilst Dean Gibson has neither 2/3 support of the laity or clergy ??

i DONT KNOW EITHER OF THESE MEN NOR DO I WANT TO, BUT THE FACT THAT Rev. Rogers DID NOT GET 2/3 support of BOTH the laity AND clergy ON THURSDAY, IS THE REASON WHY HE IS NOT YET THE BISHOP
    …………AND IF HE CONTINUES NOT TO GET 2/3 support of BOTH the laity AND clergy WHEN NEXT THEY VOTE, Rev. Rogers WILL NOT BE THE BISHOP THIS TIME EITHER.
    WE WILL HAVE A 1972 SCENARIO AGAIN! ANOTHER BISHOP FROM ELSEWHERE! LOL

BRIDGETOWN BRIDGES ARE BEING BROKEN DOWN!

15. GP
    Let’s hope that these men of the cloth do the honourable thing and one of them decline to go further and lend his support to the other.What is clear is that the laity has selected their bishop and that is licence for Rev Rogers to stand up and accept the confidence reposed in him by the church and prepare for pressures from the backers of the now Dean but not to give in at all.The church is the people represented by the laity.Notwithstanding the important role of the clergy,all the work in the church is done 90% by the laity so there should be no frustrating the will of the people.

16. Nah.

The rule says that if the candidate does not receive 2/3 votes by both clergy and lay people, then the Arch Bispop of the Province of the West Indies must impose a bishop on we unruly Bajan Anglicans.

Rules are rules. And the rules are clear and well known.

i am praying that Mr. Gibson will step down.

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Where do you get the definition that …”The church is the people represented by the laity.”

If the clergy is paid, and not the laity, why is it that ” in the church is done 90% by the laity so there should be no frustrating the will of the people.”

What happens in churches where there is no clergy….and all members are laity?

18. @Georgie Porgie April 29, 2018 9:00 PM “What happens in churches where there is no clergy…and all members are laity?”

Those churches have their own established rules.

19. Sad to say, these are all men and there is a lot of men with unclean hearts trying to dictate who is Bishop. In addition there are the trustees who hold positions of honour and are backing John Rogers so that they could still control the church’s finances and sit in the high places.

As an Anglican it pains me to see what is going on. The dlp leaning priests seem to be afraid and wants their man in place. I contend that no man should be put in authority for 25 years……..it is just not good for the institution.

20. A decent man would retire/resign long before 25 years has passed. People can jump, they do not have to wait to be pushed.

21. Prodigal
    That is not on.The rules allow 40 years

22. Wunna could spin a coin for all it is worth…
    Um is de same shiite as the political catch 22 that we also have…

…and as to the chance of someone ‘having 25 YEARS in place’ …
    Murduh!!!
    oh Shirtttt!!!!

…MONTHS …..maybe….!!!

23. Prodigirl

You need to stop the DLP / BLP narrative about the priests in the Anglican Church .

Have you seen or did anyone of them ever told you whom they voted for – politically ?

Your candidate Dean Gibson – with over 20 years of experience – cannot get 2/3 support from the clergy !

So how come the clergy does not support his ( Dean Gibson ) experience or maturity ?

How come the laity does not support his ( Dean Gibson ) experience or laity ?

Why does Dean Gibson support persons calling priests & laity on his behalf ” promising ” them gifts of promotions ?

Why does Dean Gibson not denounce Canon Haynes claim that monied people are prepared to donate $ 3 million dollars to the Anglican Church – if Dean Gibson is voted in as Bishop ?

So is the church for sale Dean Gibson ?

Why don’t Dean Gibson step down gracefully – now that it’s clear that he is trailing Rev. Rogers – amongst support from clergy & laity – 87 votes to 65 , respectively .

24. experience & laity ?

Correction: experience & maturity ?

25. Fcuktured BLP

Did you not learn at DLP Yard-Fowl School that punctuation marks are placed at the end of a sentence?

In other words, there should not be a space between the last word of a sentence and the punctuation mark.

So is the church for sale Dean (Gibson ?) [INCORRECT]

So is the church for sale Dean (Gibson?) [CORRECT]

Why does Dean Gibson support persons calling priests & laity on his behalf (” promising ”) them gifts of promotions ? [INCORRECT]

Why does Dean Gibson support persons calling priests & laity on his behalf (“promising”) them gifts of promotions? [CORRECT]

But then again……..you are “fcuk(up)tured.”

Hahahahahaha

26. Reverend Charles Morris is doing the morning talk show by touching on this issue. In summary his point is that the Laity does not run the parish church, it is the clergy.

27. FARTHOLE a.k.a Artax

Punctuation marks – wherever they appear – does not alter or negate the facts of a matter !

Deal with the facts & questions I presented !

28. Yard-fowl….you NEVER…… EVER…present facts……..just DLP political yard-fowl rhetoric.

29. Rev. Charles Morris is a corrupt priest !

The said John Holder & the Anglican Church had to take up $ 20,000.00 of church funds to settle a defamation lawsuit brought against him by a parishioner from St.,Saviours Church, St. Andrew.

And to know that Charles Morris is the campaign manager for Dean Gibson in the current race to Bishop.

Charles Morris has no class nor credibility !

Shame on him and those who join with him !

30. Charles Morris is a priest whose forte seem to be controversy wherever he goes.A pretender and one whose long association with the church did not earn him an installation ceremony after almost 50 years.Sumtin wong.Any incumbent should admit that the laity constitute the workhorse and financial support in the affairs of the church.

31. Was not aware candidates for Bishop have need of a campaign manager.

#lord

32. Georgie Porgie Avatar

INDEED!

33. “And to know that Charles Morris is the campaign manager for Dean Gibson in the current race to Bishop.”

Perhaps the above comment will definitely convince people in this forum that Fcuktured BLP is a donkey.

34. FARTHOLE – Artax

You need to start paying attention to the ” unpalatable, hard to digest ” truth that will soon be exposed about your tainted BLP leader & party !

5 more years of grief fuh the BLP …….coming soon !!!

35. I hope I don’t read the May 25, 2018 Nation’s headlines “Well known DLP yard-fowl found hanging after DLP defeated by UPP”

36. The announcement by the Administrator Canon Isaacs that the nominees will only be known on the day of the meeting of the elective body is sufficient to disqualify Dean Gibson because he unwisely was canvassing widely with a manifesto of promises and offering incumbents promotions when and wherever.He too like his ‘handler’ Morris should be defrocked.By Gibson’s action he has politicized the process of the elective assembly and Canon Isaacs should disqualify him.What a shock the dean got when the laity backed Rev Rogers to the hilt.

37. @Gabriel

You must have heard the VOB 5:30 news? Babb didn’t hesitate to give Morris’ opinions about the ongoing process to select a bishop.

38. I heard it.He continues to embarrass the Anglican Church in Barbados.My information is that the Dean indicated an intention to withdraw on Wednesday and Morris along with some retirees advised him not to do so.I hope commonsense prevails and Rev Rogers goes forward.

39. Rogers just happen to be a popular, hardworking, well rounded parish priest well liked and admired by his parishioners.The envy generated by his family connection to the former bishop is a huge factor in the proceedings.The fact that he was chosen to deliver the sermon at the last Diocesan Service at the Gymnasium appear to be one of the reasons for the drawn daggers.

40. @Gabriel April 30, 2018 7:35 PM “I heard it.He continues to embarrass the Anglican Church in Barbados.”

I am not embarrassed.

Knew Morris from the time he was a boy in short pants, a fine fellow.

41. Rev . Morris as Dean Gibson campy manager in this race needs to get a bush bath !

His public display of crude & erroneous remarks on Brasstacks today , has done nothing to promote Dean Gibson candidacy in the race to become the 14th Bishop of Barbados 🇧🇧

Even Artax would had done much better – I believe .

Artax , how yuh like my punctuation marks now ???

You need to stop trying to be Mia Mottley – nitpicking bout everything – else – except the correct things !

42. As a lapsed Anglican I am disappointed that the Election of a Bishop is now in the political arena but there is hope yet, folks of different political persuasions are in agreement of who should be Bishop. I blame it on Barrow who set the ball rolling when he disestablished the Anglican Church but the die was really cast when Dean Crichlow started to preach his brand of liberation theology from the pulpit of the Cathedral.

43. @David

“Was not aware candidates for Bishop have need of a campaign manager”.
    ……………………………………………

Dont believe that yardfowl………….he is a LIAR. There was or is no campaign manger for the Bishop. Charles Morris is no campaign manager for the Dean…………….that is a bold faced lie. Charles speaks his mind…….he does not have to front for a fellow.

Why are dems such liars………..they put lies on the BU and people actually believe their lies as gospel.

44. Gabriel

I love you as a fellow blogger but I do not know who is feeding you with your information…………not true what you have written about Dean Gibson……….there is nothing in the Canon rules and regulations that said that one cannot put out an agenda before the meeting…….no names are submitted until the day of the election.

Did your sources tell you how hard the Rogers’ camp were campaigning……how do you think they got the laity to back John? …………..because they knew that they had to lock down the laity as they were not going to get the clergy. Austin Carrington of Christ Church was cavassing hard and openly, Mayers from St John, Oneal from St Philip and the same Canon Isaacs who should have been neutral……..did you not see Massiah who destroyed St Joseph campaigning in his Friday columns for the past month……he even had an extra column on Wednesday…….and all they were doing is making promises just like the DLP.

By the way, who ever said that the Dean was going to withdraw is dreaming. I dont want to say anything about my priests.! If only people knew the truth…..so sorry Charles went on radio today. Sad day for us Anglicans.

45. When is the next vote scheduled? Was it supposed to be announced yesterday by Cannon Issacs?

What is this accusation leveled by Morris about the finance people resigning for good reason?

46. Not sure who believes, it is why the comment was highlighted. He is mainly a JA who litters the BU forum to distract and trivialize.

47. If you think logically the Anglican Church has been losing its share of the congregation, there is a crumbling physical infrastructure, obvious financial issues. Rogers has been able to attract people to the parishes he has presided. The laity is with him, the clergy should support.we know that it is the silly season and like 2009 when the country had to settle for a compromise candidate in Stuart, the same is likely to occur with the election selection of a Bishop.

48. Fractured BLP Avatar
    Fractured BLP

You are always shown at times to stooge pigeon for Prodigirl.

Dean Gibson allowed Charles Morris – his campaign manager – to go on VOB but it …..backfired !

Prodigirl a.k.a Reudon Eversley was campaigning in the press also !

Didn’t he write articles pushing Dean Gibson ?

Prodigirl knows that Charles Morris pushed this ” corruption ” talk about the Anglican Church before and had to face s defamation suit of some $ 20,000.00 which the church had to settle out of it’s funds.

Let Charles Morris or Prodigirl….. deny that !

49. Prodigal
    Like you I have my sources,impeccable, and while I cannot vouch for the campaign manager lark,I know Isaacs declared on TV that nominees will only be known on the day of the elective assembly so when I read otherwise in the Anglican I challenged a synod reoresentative of long standing and was dressed down for repeating the article in the Anglican.The election of a bishop might morph into a selection process to save the Anglican Communion from ridicule which is what is manifesting itself in Barbados.Too much damn politics in the church.Btw what is the truth or untruth on the ordination of Morris by Drexel.

50. 15 May 2018 is the next date for electing the Bishop. If there is no withdrawal it will likely go to a selection process to avoid one being imposed from outside.

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply