Submitted as a comment by BMcDonald to the The Grenville Phillips Column – I Know Who Helped Me

The well intentioned rule, that the candidates for the office of Bishop of Barbados are only known on the morning of the election, has clearly not prevented commentary and speculation about prospective candidates in the mass media, even in the Anglican newspaper. The rule is also being exploited by those who want to drive discussion of the contribution to the development of this country by Christians and the Diocese of Barbados from the public square. Much of the mass media contributions is thinly veiled support of a young candidate. Much of the reasoning in support of the young man is flawed, because:
(1) The regulations governing the process of choosing a Bishop impose a minimum age, which clearly says that age is a factor. The imposition of a minimum age in the regulations supports the view that age brings maturity, experience, wisdom and patience, attributes needed in the Bishop, as opposed to popularity, which is ephemeral. One may also ask, if the young man is so popular, why the coordinated and relentless effort to project him as the preferred candidate at the expense of the rules.

(2) Until the election of Bishop Rufus T. Broome, it cannot be said that the local Synod freely elected the Bishop of Barbados. Initially Bishops were appointed from London at a time when Barbados was a much larger Diocese, including the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands and there was no air travel at that time and the preference for younger appointees was natural. Thereafter, the government of Barbados had an important role in the selection of the Bishop and finally, the local Synod, free to choose for itself in 1969, failed in its first attempt and a choice was imposed on the divided house by the Provincial House of Bishops.

(3) There is ample evidence that a long reign by any administrator can end with loss of enthusiasm, often described as burnout. The prospect of a twenty-five year reign for a Bishop, in light of the history of the Diocese, must make every Barbadian concerned.
As the Friday 6, 2018 article in the Nation newspaper shows, three of the five bishops appointed under age fifty were the first three Bishops of Barbados. Even among these, as early as the appointment of the second bishop, Thomas Parry, there was already a preference for experience as he had already served as a senior member of the administration of Bishop Coleridge for 16 years. Among the 10 bishops of Barbados, after Bishop Herbert Bree established the Dean and Chapter of the Cathedral as the Guardian of the Spiritualities, only two were under fifty years of age. The first, Bishop Bentley, was already Bishop in Jamaica before he was translated to Barbados at age 45 and the second, Bishop Gomez was selected by the Provincial House of Bishops at age 35 when Barbadians in Synod could not choose one of their own as Bishop. Co-incidentally, the present Bishop of Belize, to whom the article referred, was also selected for that office by the Provincial House of Bishops.
Although personally popular, the young Bishop Gomez presided over the Diocese of Barbados during the Sintra Construction debacle and the Rev. Edward Gatherer affair which together cost the Diocese of Barbados hundreds of thousands of dollars. Money better spent on the mission of the church and the welfare of Barbadians.
The Sintra Construction debacle refers to the litigation that was pursued when it was claimed that the foundation of the Diocesan House at St. Michael’s row, Bridgetown had been the only structure in the area compromised by the construction activity of the Sintra Construction Company. The relatively new Diocesan house was condemned and demolished. The Gomez administration refused to compromise with the defendant construction company, went to trial and lost. Asquith Phillips Q.C., and his legal team for the defendant construction company were awarded significant costs.
In 1992. attorney at Law, Chezley Boyce took the case of Gomez v Gatherer all the way to the Privy Council in London and won a decision for Rev. Gatherer when the Privy Council reversed the Barbados Court of Appeal in a matter which turned on the age of the rector of St. Andrew’s Parish. Rev. Gatherer was restored as rector of St Andrew’s Parish Church by the court and awarded damages plus costs.

The above are included as a reminder that being Bishop of Barbados includes significantly more than preaching and ceremonials. Decisions have consequences. The 14th Bishop of Barbados must not only be a person of prayer, deep intellect and a track record of helping the poor, but also have demonstrable leadership, social and administrative skills and resolve. Flexible when compromise benefits the church, but not one who simply bends to the dictates of money and power. There is an urgent need for the Anglican Church, recently identified as one of the twin pillars upon which this country is built, to reclaim its rightful place amid the discourse in the public square and the leadership of that effort falls to the next Bishop of Barbados.

117 responses to “Replacing Archbishop Dr. John Holder”

1. Everyone you discuss this matter the names Rodgers and Clarke are on their lips.

2. The well intentioned rule, that the candidates for the office of Bishop of Barbados are only known on the morning of the election,
    ++++++++++++
    Well intentioned? Does this rule pertain to everyone or only members of the public? Seems to me that such a rule is a relic of the past and smacks of some sort of homage to Roman Catholic ritual where the Cardinals meet in secret to elect the Priest of Rome.

BTW do the electors release white smoke signals when a Bishop is finally (s)elected?

3. “By their fruits ye shall know them”……John Rodgers seem to have endeared himself to the congregations of the cures of St James where he served as Seminarian in his Codrington College training for the ministry,as well as his incumbency at St Lukes and now St George.He is well loved and admired by the young and the not do young.

4. The pertinent question is whether the criteria for selection is fair given what the author has shared.

5. There is a third matter that went before the courts of justice very recently in which a priest challenged his retirement.The Bishopric took the advice of the church’s legal adviser,himself an appointed officer of the Anglican hierarchy and guess what.As in the two hitherfore mentioned,they lost the case.A priest knew the law better than the lawyer who happpened to be a supposedly big up
    In the pay of the crown.Surely the lesson to be learned just in case it was either not taught nor inwardly digested in the first place,is to follow the free advice of one of Barbados’s legal luminaries,Errol W Barrow…..’.if you want justice,keep out of Coleridge Street’..
    There are rules and procedures to be followed.The Anglican Church in Barbados can boast of more scholars than most other institutions in Barbados perhaps with the exception of the Hill and the Courts of Justice.I recall the lead up to the successor to Bishop Gomez.The former Dean was forced to complain of the photography used by CBCTV to display his image as opposed to that used to display that of the other apparent front runner the Canon Missioner.In the end the latter rose,mitred.

6. David

i can tell you as an Anglican, neither will be elected.

7. @Prodigal Son

Why? The age rule?

8. We should revert to first principles

In doing so we should ask ‘what is this about in and of itself?’

We could never understand why the religion that enslaved Bajans should be central to daily life in an independent country.

Are these old houses of disrepute not been enough abandoned by the people, and should the new ones not be likewise?

If we are to have a goddess should She not look like us?

Are there any differences between the canvassing that is and will go on and the other palaver he expect soon?

What is this insatiable appetite to have one man as the head of anything, anyway? Has that type of thinking done us any good?

9. Prodigal
    There is a view that one not mentioned in the Anglican will be cast in the role of a John the Baptist.

10. Gabriel

We will have to wait and see what happens on April 25th. If they are ministers of God’s word and cannot compromise on what is best for our church at this time, they will have to live with any Bishop that who is sent in.

Yes David…….the majority of the priests do not want a Bishop for 25 years. He would run out of steam after ten years and whither the church for the next 15 years?

11. Rev. John Rogers is a very strong candidate for the post of Bishop.

12. Is the Anglican church in Barbados ready for a woman bishop?

Yes she is.

The majority of the congregation has always been female.

So why not?

13. With due respect to those few ordained females some of them think it’s a fashion parade and in typical woman fashion introduce petty jealousies and cliques in the Anglican Church.I declare my opposition to these charlatans.Truly they have missed their calling.Impostors!

14. Dont be so hard on the ladies, Gabriel. LOL

15. Fashion icons follow trends which originate in the ‘hoods’ or ghettos.There is more to this Natlee effect than meets the eye.

16. @April 12, 2018 10:29 PM “With due respect to those few ordained females some of them think it’s a fashion parade…”

Some people may call your statement fake news, but i will call it exactly what it is a big able stinking lie.”

Anglican priests male and female all wear the same priestly garments. How then do you consider those garments if won by a female and if worn by a male are correct.

I call you out for your misogyny.

Remember your grandmother, mother, wife, daughters and granddaughters are all female.

Remember too that all of these women have all served you well, starting with wiping your shitty bottom, and wiping your snotty nose.

When you age and become unable to feed, bathe and dress yourself, a woman will do those things for you. And she will do it with or without pay, and she will do it even when she knows that you are undeserving.

On your dying bed more likely than not a woman will be the last to close your eyes.

Respect due.

17. Rev. Gatherer was not a woman.

Rev. Goddard was not a woman.

The one they called father sexy, who it is believed murdered my innocent cousin as she was n her way to church was not a woman.

And some of the others who had to run from the church in Barbados because of their flagrant adulteries were not women.

You need to be-off, and know your place.

18. Judas Iscariot, he who betrayed Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ was not a woman.

Peter who denied our Lord, he Peter who said “I know him not” was not a woman.

19. Will certainly

On Wed, Apr 11, 2018, 8:17 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

> David posted: “Submitted as a comment by BMcDonald to the The Grenville > Phillips Column – I Know Who Helped Me The well intentioned rule, that the > candidates for the office of Bishop of Barbados are only known on the > morning of the election, has clearly not prevented c” >

20. Theophilius Gazerts 443 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 443

I was just was about to post here and my google crashed. Even I who stumble between religions and non-religion took that as a warning from “someone”. I will put it elsewhere.

21. “The 14th Bishop of Barbados must not only be a person of prayer, deep intellect and a track record of helping the poor, but also have demonstrable leadership, social and administrative skills and resolve”

We all for some reason seem to be deliberately avoiding mentioning that the book of Timothy calls upon those offering themselves as messengers of Christ to be beyond reproach morally and spiritually. In other words to be good examples for others to follow their lives must be without blemish.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Mr Skeete,

You seem to be referring to the qualifications of an elder or bishop or pastor(same office) as presented in both Titus 1:5-8 and 1 Timothy 3:2-9.

It is clear that such considerations do not matter in the Anglican church, if you go by the discussions elsewhere in the local press and here.

Below I will cite the relevant passages
    Titus
    For this cause left I thee in Crete, that thou shouldest set in order the things that are wanting, and ordain elders in every city, as I had appointed thee:

6 If any be blameless, the husband of one wife, having faithful children not accused of riot or unruly.

7 For a bishop must be blameless, as the steward of God; not selfwilled, not soon angry, not given to wine, no striker, not given to filthy lucre;

8 But a lover of hospitality, a lover of good men, sober, just, holy, temperate;

9 Holding fast the faithful word as he hath been taught, that he may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort and to convince the gainsayers.

1 Timothy 3
    For this cause left I thee in Crete, that thou shouldest set in order the things that are wanting, and ordain elders in every city, as I had appointed thee:

6 If any be blameless, the husband of one wife, having faithful children not accused of riot or unruly.

7 For a bishop must be blameless, as the steward of God; not selfwilled, not soon angry, not given to wine, no striker, not given to filthy lucre;

8 But a lover of hospitality, a lover of good men, sober, just, holy, temperate;

9 Holding fast the faithful word as he hath been taught, that he may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort and to convince the gainsayers.

23. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/151552/bishop-synod-adjourns

Prodigirl

Predicted earlier that neither these 2 candidates stood a chance !

It’s clear from his prediction…,,,why PM Stuart always outfoxes Prodigirl on his General Elections date predictions !

Poor Prodigirl !

A very poor judge of anything !

24. It appears from press reports the laity is supportive of Rogers and the clergy Gibson. No surprise that the reps from the rank and file prefers Rogers who they perceive as being able to breathe life into the Anglican Church which is losing membership.

25. Dean Gibson started strong among clergy and increased his support with every vote. He also increased his support among the laity on every vote, although only marginally. Rev. Rogers started strong among the laity and picked up few clergy votes when others dropped out. Rev. Rogers has been decisively rejected by the clergy. How can he become pastor of the pastors? He can do so by helping to unite the church behind Dean Gibson and seeking the top spot eight years later. Unlike the election that the Rev. George Knight conceded to Dr. John Holder thereby ending his hopes of ever becoming a bishop, Rev. Rogers will have a second chance at the young age of fifty-four, a more normative age for bishop. If it goes to the house of bishops, there is zero chance that a person will be chosen from this divided house. The bishops will chose the most recent bright spark over thirty years old in the province.

26. The clergy is more important than the flock?

27. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

David April 12, 2018 7:44 AM

“Everyone you discuss this matter the names Rodgers and Clarke are on their lips”

Prodigal Son April 12, 2018 4:14 PM

“David

i can tell you as an Anglican, neither will be elected.”

Fractured BLP April 12, 2018 8:37 PM

“Rev. John Rogers is a very strong candidate for the post of Bishop.”

Fractured BLP,
    After the Nation (April 25, 2018) reported that the Rev. Dr. Gibson and the Rev. Rodgers are the only 2 candidates left in the race for Anglican Bishop of Barbados, you said:

“Prodigirl Predicted earlier that neither these 2 candidates stood a chance !”

You are lying.

In actual fact, Prodigal Son predicted that neither Rev. Rodgers nor Rev. Clarke will be elected.
    If, finally, the Rev. Dr. Gibson is elected Bishop of Barbados, the pronouncement made by Prodigal son on April 12, will prove to be prophetic.
    On the other hand, if Rev. Rodgers is elected, then fewer people will listen when Prodigal Son opens his/her mouth, AS AN ANGLICAN, to tell them anything.

The lesson that YOU need to learn is that you SHOULD NOT expect to shape or influence people’s minds through the repeated use of lies and crooked thinking.

28. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Rev Rogers

29. I am not surprised. My old lady, a devout Anglican form birth until death (may she rest in peace) used to say that the priest want too much ‘omage.

Me, (a devout Anglican from birth until now [yes miller etc] I would say that a lot of them are way, way too full of themselves.

But I am still going to church and will still take communion on Sunday.

30. I would urge the fellas to remember that they were all born out of the ejaculate of a man and out of the privates of a woman. That they did not mek themselves.

And that little humility ain’t such a bad thing.

31. @Sargeant April 12, 2018 9:22 AM “BTW do the electors release white smoke signals when a Bishop is finally (s)elected?”

lol!! naughty, naughty Sargeant.

You know very well that herb is not permitted in the election room. And beside the Barbados Fire Service has a no burning/no smoke policy especially in the dry season. They can release the result via WhatsApp, we good with that.

32. @BMcDonald “The prospect of a twenty-five year reign for a Bishop, in light of the history of the Diocese, must make every Barbadian concerned.”

Just because a young fella is elected as Bishop doesn’t mean that he has to remain for 25 years. He can decide to resign after 5 years or 10, or 15. The Anglican church is a big place 85 million people in 165 countries, a youngish bishop can always move on to another place, tobesides a lot of the fellas bright as sh!te, well educated, many of them can go on to college/university teaching in any country where English is spoken, or even where English is not spoken. I can’t tell you the number of Bajans barely past their teens who have gone off to Japan to teach, and let us remember that the Bajans who built the Panama Canal were also barely out of their teens. A young bishop can give 5 or 10 years of energetic service then move on.

We would much prefer a Bishop who is not a barnacle, who feels that he has to stick to this little rock in the Atlantic

33. Gomez was 35 when he was elected.

And how old is the “young candidate”

I have had people on this blog tell me that Delisle Worrell is a “relatively young man” at 72. Until I pointed out that the life expectancy of a Bajan man is 73.1 years which would put people in that age group in the departure lounge, or at least on the road to that big airport in the sky. I should know. I am there myself.

Lol

Lemme ask a question. If 72 is relatively young, what is middle age? what is young? And when does old age begin? The data tells us that death comes to most Bajan men by age 74.

Over and out.

34. Lemme ask a question….A FEW QUESTIONS

wHERE IN THE NEW TESTAMENT IS THERE A DIVISION OF LAITY AND A CLERGY TAUGHT?

WHERE IN THE HISTORY OF THE EARLY CHURCH WAS THERE EVER A DIVISION OF A LAITY AND A CLERGY?

wHEN DID THIS DIVISION OF A LAITY AND A CLERGY ARISE IN THE CHURCH?

ARE THERE CHURCH GROUPS IN BARBADOS WHERE THERE IS NO DIVISION OF LAITY AND A CLERGY

WHY IS IT THAT THE ANGLICAN CHURCH SAID TO HAVE MAINLY ELDERLY MEMBERS, WHEN YOUNG PEOPLE ATTEND OTHER CHURCHES?

35. Simple Simon

Are you an Anglican?

There is a lot that you who are not Anglicans and who are not in the know do not know nor understand.
    John Rogers’ uncle has been Bishop for seventeen years……….now his nephew wants to be Bishop for 25 years. He only has been a priest for 15 years……age is not the factor………..it is experience….

Voting for him to be Bishop would be concentrating the church in the hands of one family for 42 years. To elect Rogers would be tantamount to giving a government up front FIVE …. FIVE year terms of office up front. We would never tolerate this in local politics ……why would a church concentrate authority in the hands of a priest for 25 years. What would be the future of priests of his age?

Those DLP priests who are leading the charge to put Rogers in place are themselves prime examples why no priest should ever be in the same position for more than 10 years.

……1) Austin Carrington who has been at Christ Church for 17 years now. He inherited a vibrant flourishing, rich parish with a very large congregation from Canon Ivan Harewood. He has completely destroyed the Harewood legacy. Look at the congregation today and you would see how incompetent he is.

2) Errington Massiah……….say no more than to look at his legacy of 32 years at St Joseph……the church is no more

3) Jeffrey Mayers……..over 25 years at St John………the place is in a dilapidated condition, his congregation has dwindled that he can only have one service on Sundays…….

Why would Anglicans want these three and the former Bishop’s lapdog Wayne Isaacs be king makers. Be not fooled, John Rogers will only be a figure head only……they are trying to make him a Bishop and they will control him and be the power brokers…..his uncle would still be “Bishop” as well.

As it is now turning out as was feared…..it is the DLP priests, the old guard, who are trying to put their DLP leaning priest in position.

36. Simple

As it happens Bishop Gomez turned out to be a huge failure here because of his inexperience. He alienated the local priests and brought in many from the region. In other words he was not ready for prime time………..even by God’s standards.

37. It is not the laity who have to deal with a Bishop on a daily or weekly basis…………it is the priests and the majority are indicating that they do not want John Rogers to lead them.

The Bishop does not preach at every church every Sunday so all of this talk about evangelism is bare fluff. The Bishop is there to manage the church, ensure that the church is built up and that its presence is felt in the country.

It is passing strange that these same acolytes of John Holder are now in effect saying that he failed as Bishop!……..but yet want to install his nephew!

38. @Prodigal Son April 26, 2018 10:10 AM “Simple Simon. Are you an Anglican?

Yes.

Have been an Anglican for nearly 70 years. In my youth a group leader. Taught Sunday school for many, many years also. In another place for many years volunteered in an Anglican Church Nursery while their parents’ worshipped. Cooked and baked, still cook and bake for the Anglican church. Clean up the garbage after Anglican fund raisers too [not scornful of getting my hands dirty] Brought my children up in the Anglican church. Did not send them to church or Sunday school, but TOOK them to church and Sunday school every Sunday. As soon as my pensions are deposited I write my check to the Anglican church. Just checked in the 4th drawer of my filing cbinet and there is an award form the Anglican church for my work and devotion. Outside of the clergy you will not find a person more devoted and more committed than I am (and the clergy get paid. i don’t)

I trust that i have answered your questions.

39. Please note that my service to the Anglican church is NOT, never has been political. It is service to human beings. It is my obedience to that part of the great command which says “love your neighbour as yourself”

I’ve never met John Rogers. Can’t recall ever hearing him preach a sermon. Can’t recall having a conversation with him. I must admit too that I was never enthused by the previous John.

Not enthused at all.

But I know that you, Prodigal, are a political animal. That you see every human action as political.

That however in not the whole truth.

Many Christians are, as they should be, motivated by LOVE.

40. @Prodigal Son

The Anglican Church needs a leader to draw people to the church. The traditional approach is shooing people away.

41. Walter Blackman Avatar

Education aside, there are at least three areas of human activity in which Barbadians had accumulated a reasonably high level of appreciation, understanding, and finesse. Those areas are cricket, religion, and politics. However, they have experienced so much decline and stagnation over the past few decades that today only a few old people attend monthly political branch meetings, attendance at church has dropped precipitously, and cricket is now being played before empty stands.
    There must be a common thread, a common factor, underlying and being responsible for the moribund state of these erstwhile popular pursuits.
    If we attempt to claim that the actions of the “BLP” and the “DLP” are the primary cause of the “death” of these activities, we will come up short. The BLP and DLP have nothing to do with the administration of local or regional cricket, yet cricket exhibits the same death throes as politics and religion.
    What is that common thread?

Could it be that a critical mass of young people have “disengaged” themselves from participating in activities and institutions which the generations before held dear? If the young people have lost trust and confidence in our various leaders and institutions, what is going to happen to this land of ours a few years from now?

42. It is the responsibility of parents to take their children to church. John Rogers being Bishop will not solve our Church’s problem. The matter of drawing people to the church rest with the parish priest.

43. Don’t agree Prodigal!

44. Thanks for the information, Simple. Good job. I’m not in your age range but I also pay my dues that is why I have a vested interest in what is happening.

By the way, l don’t think I am a political animal…… I just tell it as l see it.

45. @Prodigal Son April 26, 2018 10:10 AM “John Rogers’ uncle has been Bishop for seventeen years…now his nephew wants to be Bishop for 25 years. He only has been a priest for 15 years…age is not the factor…it is experience…”

15 years is a more that enough for a well educated, intelligent person to become highly competent at his job. What is it with us that we want to become a gerontocracy?

I say let the younger people rule. Yesterday I went to a doctor, young (about 26 or so), black and female. She treated me wonderfully. Diagnosed properly, treated me in a dignified and humane fashion, prescribed appropriately and sent me happily on my way. A couple of years ago I had surgery and the nurse (male) doctors, technicians etc. all treated me wonderfully. All of them were under 35 or so. How to I know? They were the little boys and girls playing in the public elementary and secondary school yards with my children,

I don’t want an elderly doctor.
    I don’t want an elderly bishop
    I don’t want an elderly Prime Minister.
    I don’t want elderly Cabinet Ministers.
    I don’t want an elderly Central Bank governor. Wasn’t Courtney Blackman a thirty something when he became the Central Bank governor.

46. I say elect a black, young female priest as bishop.

47. Some of the older priests come with this attitude that the people in the congregation have to do them obeisance.

De young people int ’bout dat.

Lol!!!

Young people don’t do obeisance to anybody.

Once the fellas, or correctly the woman elected understands that we gine be good.

48. @BMcDonald April 26, 2018 6:55 AM, “Rev. Rogers will have a second chance at the young age of fifty-four.”

54 int young. Where wunna coming from that 54 is young? 54 is well middle aged. Six more years pensionable old age begins.

We don’t want to be like the British family where the old queen seems determined to hold on ’till she is 101, and the young prince becomes a feeble old man. She was queen at the rightly age of 26. Nice and young. Now her son is a right old, old man of almost 70.

Stupssseee!!!

Blood gerontocracy.

49. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Simple Simon April 26, 2018 10:39 AM

“… I KNOW (emphasis mine) that you, Prodigal, are a political animal. That you see every human action as political.”

Prodigal Son April 26, 2018 11:09 AM

“l don’t think I am a political animal……”

Simple Simon,
    I congratulate you for putting a well-known fact so succinctly. I see that we are dealing with two different “types” of Christians here.

Prodigal Son is now passing through the phase I refer to as “smeller’s taste”. The alluring smell of the “spoils of victory” has become so strong and tantalizing that all she finds herself saying daily is “call the elections”. She has started to taste the smell.

50. Prodigirl a.k.a Reudon Eversley

You arguments are puerile as usual !

So the priests are going to preach to the empty pews ?

Simply because the elderly priests prefer to see the Anglican Church driven into the ground ?

The church community is demanding younger leadership .

What does that have to do with been a BLP or DLP supporter ?

Leave a Reply to Fractured BLPCancel reply