Our educational system is currently designed for those whom we label early learners. The only difference between an early learner and a late learner is that one understood taught material earlier than the other. However, both types have the same aptitude for learning. If different material was being taught that the ‘late learner’ understood first, then the labels would switch.

Since our children are taught and examined only on what our early learners are expected to understand, then our late learners will consistently score lower, and can get frustrated and disinterested in learning. If they believe the lie that it takes an exceptional brain to understand the information, and that they do not possess such a brain, then they tend to give up, and a slavery mentality is perpetuated.

How can we improve our educational system so that we do not perpetuate a system that assigns privilege to some and hardship to the rest? How can we improve the system so that all of our students can benefit and our early learners can excel? How can we make the system fair to all? That is the subject of this article.

The primary school is a time when children develop a foundation of learning. They can learn anything that they want to the breadth and depth of their interest. The more time that they spend learning something, the better they may perform when tested.

When children enter the secondary school, they should have the capacity to understand and record information to the level of a children’s novel, and perform basic calculations to the level of purchasing items in a store.

While our early learners may be capable of understanding advanced information in a newspaper and performing complex engineering calculations, the Common Entrance Examination should be limited to the basic foundation information. Therefore, the test should fairly examine basic knowledge and attitude – those who are careful will likely score higher than those who are careless, but all should understand.

In secondary school, the students should learn the easier-to-learn and fun practical aspects of subjects before the more complex theoretical aspects. Therefore, they should first learn conversational language, where they learn by building up a vocabulary of words, much like how everyone learns to speak when they were infants.

Those who are very interested in the subject will spend more time learning many more words than those who spend their time on another subject that interests them more. But they will all build a vocabulary that they can use. They can then learn the more complex verb conjugation in later classes.

In music, students should learn music by playing an instrument. Those who are more interested in an instrument will spend more time practising, and will become better. But all students will have a basic foundation on which to build a career if they choose. They can then learn the more complex music theory in later classes.

In home economics, all students should learn to cook by cooking. Those who are more interested will try a wider range of recipes and be better than those who are more interested in another subject. But everyone will have developed the skill of cooking. They can learn the more complex chemistry of vitamins in later classes.

Why do we insist on teaching the more complex and harder to learn theoretical components of subjects that only our early learners will grasp? Why have we resisted, for the past 2 decades, first teaching the easier to learn practical aspects that all of our students can grasp?

The reason appears to be our mistaken belief that some students will never understand complex information. Therefore, the early teaching and testing is intentionally made difficult in order to identify these dull students so that they can be mercifully reassigned to less challenging intellectual work – to serve the privileged.

Grenville Phillips II is the President of Walbrent College who has trained over 1,000 late-learners across the Caribbean region. He is also the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

80 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – A Fair Educational System”

1. @Ping Pong April 6, 2018 12:31 PM “Maybe if we consider the tremendous cost of 80 to 100 000 vehicles stuck in traffic for about 2 hours, twice a day, 5 days a week for about 40 weeks a year then is it possible that the money for a revolutionary reorganization of the school system may be found?”

How about we do something entirely unrevolutionary.

Instead of poor great poppets driving themselves and their children everywhere.

How about we invest in decent sidewalks so that our little johnnies and susies can do something entirely old fashioned…walk to school.

How about investing in a decent bus systems–and the only revolutionary thing we would add is solar powered air conditioning.

How about if we include decent as RH bus shelters? With air solar powered air conditioning. And decent as RH passenger terminals, Decent as the airport terminal.

I bet that this would cost a lost less than 100,000 cars.

And our little johnnies and susies would not be little fatties.

And neither would we be.

2. @Ping Pong April 6, 2018 12:31 PM “What about the other benefits of having no primary and secondary schools only schools for children age 4 – 15”

There are good reasons why in the U.S. there is:

Elementary school, for those aged 6 to 12, grades 1 to 6.
    Junior high or middle school for those aged 13 and 14, grades 7 and 8.
    And high school for those aged 15 to 18, grades 9 to 12. At this age these students can reproduce, their hormones are raging as the saying goes, most of them are old enough to marry. Best to keep some physical and social distance between these older teens and the little ones.

3. @ De Ingrunt Word aka De Pedantic Dribbler.

I will forgive you for your seeming miscomprehension with this concept.

First things first.

No 2×4 island like Barbados has enough resources to deliver a harmonized curriculum for all our students whether they are primary or secondary school attendees.
    With a fiber optics ring across the entire island the T1 lines are a non issue
    What I said earlier and what I will repeat again is not the curriculum that should be taught at the schools in Barbados but the martrix that MUST BE SO PERVASIVE THAT IT ALLOWS THE EXISTING TEACHERS WHO ARE MAKING IMPACT AT WILKIE CUMBERBATCH TO BE PRESENT AT LAWRENCE T GAY.

As usual you miss the forest for the trees.

I am speaking about ground zero OR THE BEGIN POINT FOR ANY HARMONIZATION of a more pertinent education system for Barbados and while de ole man acknowledges that the disparate parts exists, as probably the cure for the common cold exists, I suggest that, given what was posited by Bush Tea and Ping Pong, per the pervasive issues, we must synthesize all available assets to address their points and try, as hard as it is for some of us, to move from Stonehenge log to locomotive

I know that it will be hard for you to grasp the concept or to advance to a point where for example, said system auto-galvanizes the non performers at Alma Parris, whether they be teachers or students, to up their game to that of St Leonard’s BECAUSE DE BRIGHT TEACHERS AT THE LATTER SCHOOL TEACHING DE ONES AT PARRIS VIRTUALLY.

But the again you are not an educator so you can’t understand the dynamic that will drive underperforming teachers at St Margarets to try to compete with Harrison College’s crime de la crop or Vice versa

But, as harsh as it will be, you appear to be saying the same thing like the rest, namely, “distance learning already deah and T1 lines already deah so why improve pun dem”

That IS NOT THE POINT DPD.

The issue is reconvening the constituent parts like how Steve Jobs did with the iPad and streamlining it so that fewer bubbles comes from the old design when it is emerged in an aquarium

But then again Jobs was a white man and dem have innovative genes but you and I is niggers and according to John we is a godforsaken backward people who his people liberate from our dark continent depravities.

Your remonstrations and reliance upon the “20 years ago crutch” excuse only goes to reinforce my point about us niggers being hewers of wood and drawers of water heheheheheh

Doan mind dat I have called you out as being part and central parcel of the holders rather wallowers in the status quo of BIM, I going still come visit you in the summer, Deo Volens

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@Honourable Blogmaster, a comment has stuck and I’d be grateful if you could retrieve it for me. Thanks

5. I was told that we are all equal in the sight of God.
    Perhaps as newborns that equality still exists.
    But as we grow older the differences between us begin to appear.
    We can talk till the cow come homes, but there come a time when we cannot treat every one in exactly the same way.
    And the debate begins again

6. Simple Simon

The USA is not a model of schooling that I would follow.

In Finland, basic education is provided from age 6 until age 16 in the same school.

Your “biology is still destiny” would be an argument for single sex schools and for sharia styled schools where the teachers must be same gender as the students.

Systems can be devised to reduce contact between the “primary aged” category and the “Lower secondary aged” category. In Trinidad there is a secondary school complex, Trinity College East, where the boys and girls schools are on the same compound using the same canteen and games facilities yet are separated during the school day.

While I have no data on sexual activity among Bajan children, I really wonder if the claims of hyper sexualised pre and early adolescent students are not a just another urban legend but you are probably a teacher so I will defer to you.

Finally I am proposing small schools which hopefully will allow for greater supervision of students by teachers.

7. @ Ping Pong
    You know and understand lots of things. However you do NOT use ZRs or mingle with the ordinary plebs of society like Bushie and Simple Simon do, so it is indeed best to defer…..

Finland (and places of that ilk) do NOT (repeat – DO NOT) suffer from the level of “testicular inclinations” that places whose ilk tends more to that of Barbados…..
    TRUST BUSHIE (and Simple Simon) on this….

Those fellows can (and do) safely put the girls and boys together – even to sleep – without fear.
    Bout here, the teachers only need to blink…. in fact – according to Caswell, you even have to watch the teachers….

Shiite boss …. yuh can’t even trust Bushie with Islandgal or Simple Simon den….

EDUCATION DESIGN MUST BE FIT FOR PURPOSE.
    One size does NOT fit all…

8. de Pedantic dribbler

I must admit my ignorance of the Westminster system and the “political system that govern us,” hence the reason why I asked Bernard to enlighten me.

If you or anyone believe that is a crime, it makes me less of a man or makes me perform my duties incompetently or unprofessionally………..so be it.

However, likewise quite often people who profess to be associated with a professional organization from its inception until their retirement, come to this forum to make erroneous statements about that organization’s role in disciplining member organizations, thereby demonstrating they do not fully understand its disciplinary procedures.

Much ado about nothing.

9. @Bush Tea
    Finland (and places of that ilk) do NOT (repeat – DO NOT) suffer from the level of “testicular inclinations” that places whose ilk tends more to that of Barbados…
    +++

This is utter sexist and racist nonsense. The inclinations are not testicular, they are cultural, emotional, and cognitive. When we make excuses for sexist and abusive behavior among adolescents we simply breed another generation of fools that we will be making the self same excuses for throughout their lives. Finnish kids are just as horny as Bajan kids, but they are taught how not to be governed by their procreative instincts to the detriment of every other aspect of their personal development. If an adult male cannot trust themselves to behave with dignity, decorum and respect in the company of persons of the opposite (or same) gender, then they have been catastrophically miseducated.

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok….first Mr.Shaking My Head In Amazement …. my friend, iI presume that like me you left our Bajan school class before much of the ‘new fangled’ data points listed as part of the current CXC curricula, so likely course work under their operational Social Studies cohort or Critical Thinking was not done specifically by either of us or the many here, BUT…

… I covered governance and critical thinking at school in different ways.

As I understand current processes the school curriculum actually starts students with a social studies cohort which then dove tails to more direct work under History and too Geography. In my day we started and ended with those subjects and learned about governing processes as part and parcel of that course work.

Similarly in my day critical thinking was importantly developed in maths word problem solving, analysis of tomes like House of Mr Biswas and others from Shakespeare, Sartre, Golding etc.

So that led to my remark about common sense. I certainly don’t expect all students to do the literature work I did but surely they will all do quite a bit of reading analysis and must be exposed to the maths stuff; just as surely they are exposed to social studies and thus matters of local governance and the like.

That sir would fall under your “mandatory requirement for students…” and as such I must expect that YOU also “had the privilege of taking [ exams] within those foundational elements!

We are as “intelligent” as we intend to be at any given moment by our careful analysis of the data we read.

11. Shaking My Head In Amazement Avatar
    Shaking My Head In Amazement

“just as surely they are exposed to social studies and thus matters of local governance and the like.”

Unfortunately, unlike you, I was never taught matters of local governance and the like at school and quite frankly I was not interested, but this did not prevent me from learning.

I find that some of you people, more so you and Hal Austin, seem to derive great pleasure and satisfaction from trying to belittle other contributors, when from time to time you both post nonsense that questions your ability to carefully analyze the data your read, which is often highlighted by Bush Tea and Georgie Porgie.

Barbados Underground should be an environment where people could learn from each other, share and discuss opinions on various issues. The way you and Austin behave is a true representation of keyboard warriors. It makes me think your objective is to run those who you believe to be less educated than you are, off BU.

You guys need to relax and accept you don’t have the patent on knowledge.

12. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

…And that leads to Mr. Pieces…senor, you don’t generally misr-ead comments so perpexingly to then construct a retort that responds to a concern NEVER offered so you have me confused with your remarks at April 6, 11:10 PM.

I suggests that the “miscomprehension” rests with you my friend.

I have already agreed with your premiss that the ethos for a more profound technical awareness is needed. I disagreed on where the thrust of the technology can be most meaningful (which of course is about execution and where disagreements always show up).

You are too savvy to conflate my remark about T1 lines to the perplexing retort: “With a fiber optics ring across the entire island the T1 lines are a non issue.”

I said in part “…and with the proliferation of whatt used to be called T1 lines “.

You of all people would surely realise that fibre optics/multi cable (wifi) is synonomous with ‘what used to be called T1…” so of course T1 are non issue! The entire point was to clarify that a cumbersome and expensive process of another time (but in our recent past) has been supplanted to a now very connected society well past that era.

Your sentence therefore seems a non starter and unneccessary.

So not to rehash your entire broadside; suffice to say I agree with you in principle on the need for better technological use and deployment within our educational system (your ground zero) but we disagree on some (likely very few, too) details for how best to implement same.

If in that regard I have missed the trees and only see the forest then my critical thinking is truly amiss here.

To close, until we can get each school on a Min of Ed network that offers a FUNCTIONAL web portal allowing parents to follow their kids homework, schedules, interface with teachers as needed and all the other freaking basic things other proactive school systems now offer then the solid idea for interchange between a HC and St. Margarets (?? Who be dat BTW) or Willie and St.Lawrence is just that… a great idea!

Incidentally, teachers compete professionally more than we realize…just saying!

And too..lets agree to disagree on aspects of your remark to wit…”…the concept or to advance to a point where for example, said system auto-galvanizes the non performers at Alma Parris, whether they be teachers or students, to up their game to that of St Leonard’s BECAUSE DE BRIGHT TEACHERS AT THE LATTER SCHOOL TEACHING DE ONES AT PARRIS VIRTUALLY.”

Alma Parris was there for a reason…yes one can interface to St Leonard’s for key programs but frankly the teachers at Alma SHOULD BE the BRIGHT ones on specialized learning techniques etc as that was the population intended at Alma (underperforming teachers abound all over…some at the best schools, actually).

So AGAIN, I fully accept your main thrust but implementation and execution will differ based on our different backgrounds and awareness coming in.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Shaking My Head In Amazement… dude are you freaking serious!

I post a very bland, non attack response on governance which then linked in to other posts on school curricula and now I am being accused of “…find that some of you people, more so you and … seem to derive great pleasure and satisfaction from trying to belittle other contributors, when from time to time you both post nonsense that questions your ability to carefully analyze the data your read, which is often highlighted by Bush Tea and Georgie Porgie”.

Brother, if I post nonsense then respond to it with facts and debunk my nonsense…that’s life.

Cut this crying game folly; because you disagree with my position that does NOT mean mine is nonsensical.

Good Lord can’t anyone accept a differing view, a clarification or even a warranted critique without getting their lipstick all smeared from angst.

And incidentally, changing the handle but keeping the same line of attack is rather poor form…😁..Quite transparent and not good critical thinking !

14. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David, awaiting moderation..oh dear…🤣😁

15. Dee Word

Sometimes you have to allow balls to pass outside the off stump.

16. @TheGazer April 7, 2018 7:51 AM “we cannot treat every one in exactly the same way.”

We may not be able to treat everyone is the same way, but we MUST treat everyone in the BEST way, and what was done to the Alma Parris students for example, was NOT the best way. They [and they know who they are] would not have done anything thing like that to the Harrison College students.

17. de pedantic Dribbler April 7, 2018 10:39 AM “without getting their lipstick all smeared from angst.”

Not lipstick man. It is de fellers who always getting their sliders in a knot.

Lolll!!

18. @Bush Tea April 7, 2018 8:16 AM “Finland (and places of that ilk) do NOT (repeat – DO NOT) suffer from the level of “testicular inclinations”

In Finland it is nothing to do with “testicular inclinations” but rather to do with the cold white north fact that in those climes one has to wrap the testes and associated parts in about 10 layers of clothing during all of the school year. From September to the end of May it is very likely that exposed parts may freeze and fall off.

When the thing put way in about ten layers of cloth, it hard for it to get anyone in trouble.

19. @ PLT
    If an adult male cannot trust themselves to behave with dignity, decorum and respect in the company of persons of the opposite (or same) gender, then they have been catastrophically miseducated.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

Mis-educated???!!!
    Is not that what we have all concluded about Brassbados long ago….?

You rant and rave … only to conclude (as Bushie and Simple Simon has long ago) that education MUST be FIT FOR PURPOSE, and that the CURRENT REALITY is that one size DOES NOT fit all
    …. and CERTAINLY the local status quo is not transferable to Finland, Norway, Canada etc… or vice versa.

You spent too much time working for those lukewarm international agencies …and clearly have become overly ‘touchous ‘ about certain ‘politically incorrect’ taboos….

Bushie would not even touch your dismissal of ‘testicular impact’.
    You probably think that albino-centricity is also cultural, emotional and cognitive .. and you could even be right…(but you are not) 🙂

20. @ Simple Simon
    In Finland it is nothing to do with “testicular inclinations” but rather to do with the cold white north
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie is surprised that you have erred in the same manner as PLT in interpreting “testicular inclinations” as some kind of CAUSE….. or other racial or cultural characteristic….

Read the statement again and you will see that it refers ONLY to the REALITY of what occurs, and where…. not why? when? or if…

It may well be mis-education….
    It may be temperatures….
    It may be cultural…
    It may be magic…

The POINT is , that IT IS…..!!!
    Out education system MUST respond to what IS….!!!

Note also that Ping Pong (to whom the comment was directed) has not responded (as yet)… since he is probably analysing his best response to Bushie’s response three iterations down the thread…..

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word aka de Pedantic Dribbler

Your response is Noted and I think we are on the same page (even though you ent invite me to you house in summer lol)

The next iteration to be addressed is the curriculum which HAS to be updated but that is a whole other subject altogether

The critical point is that virtual instruction will permit delivery of information to all students anywhere in BIM and the delineation of advanced or intermediate or beginner level then becomes a matter of the user name and password prescribing the subject matter.

Of course we can expect all the political spies who are looking in on BU to come and teif the idea, I did not say Grenville nor Lynette.

Fortunately Prime Minister Mottley is the progenitor of Edutech so credit for the idea can only go to her party and WHEN SHE ASSUMES POWER she should seek to implement what would be a logical successor to what she introduced before.

De ole man would humbly suggest that no incompetent sector company be engaged to effect the solution (like last time) in fact no company should be allowed to supply any equipment until a comprehensive needs analysis is done by a reputable independent 3rd party entity.

Some critical provisions to said supply

(1) international warranty enforcement, if Dell gives 3 years for their free equipment warranty, then Barbados wants 3 years for any equipment it receives IN ANY SUPPLY CONTRACT, from the date of our receipt
    (2) with regard to any potential virtual education matrix expansion project, the supplier must deliver ALL OF THEIR EQUIPMENT BY THE AGREED DATES FOR EDUTECH 2019 rollout.

Failure to do such must be penalized cause we want our equipment, on island, and in the schools and not in a wharehouse rusting OR AS USUALLY HAPPENS, DELIVERED 3 years later

Surround yourself with advisors who first of all (1) love Barbados AND (2) WHO ARE COMPETENT because anything else WILL fail!!

22. @Grenville

Listened to your earnest intervention on the Brasstack program today. It appears those in the lead on economic matters do not give your economic proposals a passing grade. What piqued the blogmaster’s curiosity was your response that if Solutions Barbados is elected you will defer the finance ministry to another. Is it reasonable to ask why was that person not encouraged to call in today or on other occasions to fully ventilate SB’s proposals?

23. David

Do you recall Scot Weatherhead represented Solutions Barbados on VOB’s “The People’s Parliament” and I have a video of him articulating SB’s economic policies.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea

Dat “Piece” who posted at 3.13 pm ent me, just so that you know …..

I like I going have to change my name to something like “I is not Fumbles” or “WeJonesing is Muh Faddah”

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Lolol alrighty Bowman you go girl….

26. So just how widespread is the deception in Canada? We obtain a secret list of about 800 Canadians who could have bought a degree from the world’s largest diploma mill in Pakistan. Engineers, legal clerks, CEOs, politicians, teachers…

http://www.cbc.ca/marketplace/episodes/2017-2018/fake-degrees-exposing-canadians-with-phoney-credentials

27. @ Hants
    At lease wunna have journalists with some level of balls… to put such scammers on the spot.

Bout here our shiitehounds just get together to snigger and whisper among themselves – while genuflecting to the guilty ..
    and probably exploring how they can quietly enrol themselves….

28. If we had these journalists here the fog about Denis Lowe’s PhD would have been cleared long time.

29. @ Bushie and David,

If CBC Barbados was more like CBC Canada.

They are both government funded broadcasters.

30. @David April 15, 2018 7:46 PM “If we had these journalists here the fog about Denis Lowe’s PhD would have been cleared long time.”

What fog David? There is no fog. Below is the Bible of American universities. Can you find Dennis Lowe’s university there? Can anybody find it?

https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/
    The Database of Accredited Post Secondary Institutions and Programs

Brought to you by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Post-secondary Education (OPE).