easterThis is the season of Lent and this weekend represents the highlight of the season when willl Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Some Barbadians are justified in their argument that Barbadians have shifted from traditional values with an anchor in a Christian upbringing that have served us well up to recent. This is debate for another time.

The blogmaster is of the view that traditional values with its Christian underpinning should be manifested in how individuals that subscribe to the faith treat with their fellow man on a 24/7 basis. It was with great interest a statement credited to Minister of Youth Stephen Lashley’s resonated with the BU household.

Indeed I believe that we need to spend more time in the media highlighting more of the good work that they continue to do. I think there is an overbalance or excessive commentary in print and electronic media and now on social media, which seeks to highlight every possible negative activity of some of our youth,” he said…

I think that it is a national scandal and it gives an embellished reflection of our young people. I have a lot of confidence in the ability of our young people to rise above an over reliance on negativity.

• Minister Stephen Lashley

Here is a simple point we want to share with the minister. Nothing wrong with his statement if taken at face value. The blogmaster is also concerned about the malicious and ignorant use of social media. However as leaders, the blogmaster is of the view, we must practice what we preach to achieved positive outcomes.

Surely Minister Stephen Lashley is aware that some of the most vile communication shared in the social media space is perpetrated by ministers of government, Senators, parliamentary secretaries and surrogates from the political class (political parties)? The blogmaster can produce the evidence in a heartbeat to support but we will compromise our position- demonstrated for the past 10 years- that what is shared with the blogmaster, stays with the blogmaster.

The BU household extends best wishes to the BU family for the season.

If you would convince a man that he does wrong, do right. But do not care to convince him. Men will believe what they see. Let them see.
― Henry David Thoreau

84 responses to “Christian, Lent and Hypocrisy!”

1. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU at 11:45 AM

We do love the heathens and the unenlightened.
    To embrace them is a bit risky and could result in our committing a presumptuous sin. That is exposing ourselves unnecessarily to spiritual, physical and psychological death.

2. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Pachamama at 11:45 AM

In our book of myths , Judas also believed that he was not motivated by lust for money and power.

3. @Bernard

That is a little cold isn’t it? One can only surmise what you would have said to the men about to stone the prostitute!

Do you recall what was said to them by Jesus?

4. BernardC

Ye liken us to your Judas.

We don’t understand the connection

In any event it matters not for all of these actors, including your jesus, are as fake as a three dollar bill.

But you are right about one thing – it’s all myths, from cover to cover

5. @ Bernard
    A limited mind can never understand the infinite..
    Bushie knows that only too well – from personal experience.

The intent is not to get Pacha to understand, but just to recognise the fragility of the logical stance being championed against the bible….. and frail it is….

Pacha is unconsciously using the actions, misdeeds, weaknesses and even the strengths of his nemesis – the white enslavers – to throw out the baby with the bathwater …. or in this case, the actual REAL truth with the lotta religious dogma that abounds.

Normally Bushie just would just let such an attitude fly, …but Pacha is so naturally talented intellectually, that there does exists a slim chance, – out of pure academic interest perhaps- of a briefly open mind for an honest review of the facts….

The rest would be history…. 🙂

6. LOL @ Pacha
    But you are right about one thing – it’s all myths, from cover to cover
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Actually it is more than myths.
    It is downright unfathomable, confusing and perplexing…. to the uninitiated.

Don’t you get it Pacha – it is NOT intended for you to understand, and more importantly, you do not possess the attribute needed to understand it.
    You are therefore only confusing yourself unnecessarily.

Imagine ac seeking to make sense of the Prologue to the Canterbury tales ….
    or of War and Peace?

Is it not possible – as you suggested to the mock doc SS above,- that you are simply dealing with something beyond even YOUR pay grade?
    Can you seriously expect to understand the thoughts of an entity that would put ‘eggs’ into place – JUST so that Bushie can enjoy omelette?

…..or that could caused water to (unlike other liquids) expand just before freezing – thus allowing fish to live in frozen lakes etc?

You are bright Pacha…. but not THAT bright…

7. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 12:21 PM

I do not understand the connection of my retort at 12 :06 PM and your submission at 12:21 PM. I have not reached the point of stoning Pakalaka yet.

8. Bushie

Thanks for what of your remarks maybe be kind

However, you also do an injustice to distill our master narrative to enslavement and throwing our some baby with nasty bath water.

These are always your conclusions.

Both are misguided, and have always been.

What we are really about, is throwing out the baby ………… and saving the bath water

And on the matter of enslavement as your other conclusion

If that has any credence

Then you would have to explain our insistent that this planet would be better off without any humanoids at all.

Please square these circles.

9. @Bernard

See the comment in the context of the need to embrace the heathen.The onus is on the enlightened like yourself to do so, no?

10. @ Pacha
    Where is your plan to save anything?
    Bushie always heard you to be for a Planet X type reset of everything.

Last we checked you had ordered the guillotine for BOTH the baby and the bathwater

Please square these circles.
    …now we are getting to the point about brass bowlery…
    The interjection of squares and circles…
    Unexplainable idiocy at large…. it is the only explanation.

11. Bushie

BTW this fiction –

…Actually it is more than myths.
    It is downright unfathomable, confusing and perplexing…. to the uninitiated.
    Don’t you get it Pacha – it is NOT intended for you to understand, and more importantly, you do not possess the attribute needed to understand it.
    You are therefore only confusing yourself unnecessarily…….

Bushie this is not true. No book written by man or mammon could escape normal meanings. There are much more complex manuscripts written than your book.

Every time we have you on the ropes you resort to all kinds of tricks to deflect, to obfuscate.

Not this time. We intend to nail you to the cross, pun intended. LOL

We want to find out if you can rise again on the third day, like the Sun

12. Bushie

Yuh see the stigmata

We driving in de nails

13. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 12 :49 PM

I should be flattered to be included among the enlightened ,but that is an accolade which I do not seek nor accept. I am in a perpetual quest to find the light. I have no intentions to arrogate to myself the claim of having the light. It is a journey which we all have to take individually.

I think though that there is a problem of semantics. What do you mean by embracing the heathen? In my belief system there are no heathens. They are people who worship other gods.
    In the story you cited the prostitute was a Jew,the same religion as Jesus and the potential stoners.

14. @Bernard

The point here is that you are a believer and the analogy was to demonstrate that the stone throwers were also believers who were willing to stone the prostitute . However, it took the intervention of Jesus to halt them in their tracks by the statement, that he without sin should cast the first stone. This was in reference to your comment that embracing a heathen is risky business? It seems Jesus response to the situation embodied kindness and forgiveness, a willingness to reach out to sinners. If the reference to your earlier statement was misunderstood please accept an apology.

15. May I enter the fray with an opinion on the religious aspects of matters Christian as it’s lent season/festival. Am no believer … Christian Jew Muslim or any other religious denominations. Religion is the opium or these institutions which can have a good bad or ugly influence on it’s faithful. Am also not anti religion per se…but am certainly anti it’s doctrination/obessions

Extremism is religion gone Mad 😡

On Sat, 31 Mar 2018 at 18:59, Barbados Underground wrote:

> David commented: “@Bernard The point here is that you are a believer and > the analogy was to demonstrate that the stone throwers were also believers > who were willing to stone the prostitute . However, it took the > intervention of Jesus to halt them in their tracks by the st” >

16. 1700 Palestinians injured, 17 killed by Zionist sharp shooters on the Gaza border

Happening on easter for Christians, and passover for jews, this news will not make the headlines.

It never does

Palestinians are merely holding a peaceful demonstration to remember their expulsion from their home 74 years ago.

It is time for the Zionists of all stripes to be given a hard slap in their faces

That slap should be delivered in the form of a nuclear weapon at their centres.

17. The proof of the pudding is in the eating. Since becoming a Christian I have learned to love and respect my black self and my origins more. I am no longer seeing life and the meaning of a successful life through the white man’s eyes. I have turned their history books upside down and rejected their jaundiced view. I am not cowed into silence or inaction on matters of social justice. I am committed to improving the lot of my brothers and sisters no matter how mentally enslaved they might be. I do not rely on the opium. I believe in fighting for change now. Also, dogmatic bathwater was never my thing. Like Simple Simon, I keep it simple. All things can be used for good or evil. Religion is no different. I may not be perfect but I am much improved. I would say that Christianity has humbled me and empowered me at the same time. Works for me.

18. So much for being enslaved by Christianity. I guess it depends on the person. I have been made free.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Donna March 31, 2018 at 5:19 PM
    “Like Simple Simon, I keep it simple. All things can be used for good or evil. Religion is no different. I may not be perfect but I am much improved. I would say that Christianity has humbled me and empowered me at the same time. Works for me.”

That’s rather meritorious of you to follow in the footsteps of the Son on the way to be with the Father (Abba) who art in Heaven’.

But you are overlooking one vital milestone along the way. Let’s see if you are prepared to become the ‘Simple’ Saint Donna of Assisi.

You, along with Simple Simon, must first shed yourself of all’ earthy’ desires and materialistic trappings and without fail meet the necessary requirements contained in the following injunction:

“Just then a man came up to Jesus and asked, Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?

Why ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. But to answer your question–if you want to receive eternal life, keep the commandments.

Which ones? the man asked. And Jesus replied: You must not murder. You must not commit adultery. You must not steal. You must not testify falsely.

Honor your father and mother. Love your neighbor as yourself.

I’ve obeyed all these commandments,” the young man replied. What else must I do?

Jesus told him, If you want to be perfect, go and sell all your possessions and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.

But when the young man heard this, he went away sad, for he had many possessions.”

20. The Miller

Where were you today

Please know that we nailed Bushie to the cross, today

He has been buried and a large stone has been placed in front of the cave while we wait for three days to see whether he is really the Sun of Man or merely mammon.

Check above to see the licks shared this day. LOL

21. @ Pacha
    Any rumours of Bushie’s crucifixion at your hands are definitely exaggerated.

Your ‘coup de grace’ was….
    “No book written by man or mammon could escape normal meanings.”

But Pacha, Bushie was at PAINS to explain that, while penned by mammon, the book in question was NOT written by man.
    The question of your understanding it, is not even a consideration….and finally, there is no other book that comes even close to the bible. If you want some fun, do some research on the bible codes…..

@ Miller
    What took you so long getting back from the Crane beach….?

22. @Pachamama March 31, 2018 at 6:13 AM “Simple Simon These matters are beyond your competence.”

Know ya place do!!!

People like you want followers, so have to engage in elaborate pretenses that truly simple things are complex.

They are not complex at all.

People do not professors, priests, pastors, preachers nor popes to understand and practice love god and love your neighbour.

Simple.

Simon.

23. @millertheanunnaki March 31, 2018 at 6:27 PM “You, along with Simple Simon, must first shed yourself of all’ earthy’ desires and materialistic trappings and without fail meet the necessary requirements contained in the following.”

Why?

Stupseee!!!

What has shedding earthly desires have to do with me loving god and my neighbour?

I don’t believe in the celibacy thing, not the fasting thing.

Celibacy and fasting was invented by miserable men such as you Bushie and Pachamama.

I love my food, drink, sex, dancing etc.

I have some salad put forward for tomorrow, and as well as some ham, flying fish, sweet potato pie and cassava pone.

Going to fix up the chief now.

And if I should die before I wake I would love for my neighbours to eat the food which is already prepared.

God sent lovely food and loving companions because he wanted us to be happy.

24. Question
    Was not Satan gods buddy ..until they went seperate ways.?😇😈
    Religious zealots astound me with their belief in the supernatural.👽
    Religion has divided our world no opiate is gonna fix that. Everyone is entitled to their belief so please stop
    trying to “force feed” the goose
    with your religious fantasy.
    Did the crusaders not kill in the name of their god. Did pagans not sacrifice animals and children to appease their god.Did the romans not adopt the gods after conquest to subjicate their
    subordinates/flock.
    Do jehadists not kill in the name of their god ? Come on…get real
    believe what you will and let others do the same.
    Viv la Vida

25. Bushie

You still up and about

About these ‘codes’

Yuh really catching at straws now

Saw the history channel doc many years ago, soon after 9/11

From the looks of the Jew who came up with it, he seemed like a conman

A sick conman seeking notoriety

In any event, almost any book, of some length, will give the same kinds of useless codes.

Come on Bushie, this is beneath you!

26. Jesus and judas were buddies.
    Enter the “money tree” bribe for betrayal. If Jesus knew of this why
    not take the neccessary action.
    Remove/replace Judas.
    A bit naieve ?
    Slap my cheek will slap yours.
    Kick my add will kick yours.
    The do gooder of the planet are
    useless trough suckers.
    Religious parasites ….zealots that will
    believe any good story.
    Fake news !

27. Happy Easter all.

28. @ Simple Simon
    Celibacy and fasting was invented by miserable men such as you Bushie and Pachamama.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Count Bushie outta dat….
    Fasting – yes…
    Celibacy – not for shiite!!!
    …ask Islandgal… 🙂
    …better yet… have you checked to see if Bushie is not the ‘Chief’…?

@ Pacha
    Stop grasping at straws do!!
    Bushie said IF YOU WANT SOME FUN check out bible codes – and you make a big song and dance… LOL

From the history of the document; its origins; its sales; its promulgation; its legacy; its poetry ….these ALONE put the bible in a class all of its own.
    ….nothing to do with the spiritual ramifications.

Like it or not, yuh gotta admit – it is SUPER SPECIAL.

29. Bushie

We are at a loss as to how you were able to escape the eternal punishment inflicted

Again today you are contradictory

Yesterday you argued how your book so special that only the few could understand

Today you now contend that it is some best seller.

Both these can’t be right at the same time.

The only thing about the bible that could be special is the hundreds of years this piece of propaganda has been imposed on your brassbowls.

Any other book given such dominant marketing, positioning, will do just as well.

We suppose the Koran is just as popular, if not more so.

But that will be unlikely to be granted that same ‘credence’, we presume

But, gallop on.

30. Yesterday you argued how your book so special that only the few could understand
    Today you now contend that it is some best seller.
    How are these positions mutually exclusive?
    Which one is not true?

The very ‘battle’ between the Bible and the Koran reinforces Bushie’s point about the supernatural status of the Bible.

Most Muslins read the koran in the original Arabic – which most do not understand….
    Most christians have multiple (average of four in the USA) bibles at home (apart from access on computers, iPads, smartphones etc) and yet do not know squat about it (many Americans think that Billy Graham gave the sermon on the mount)

The bible is unstoppable – and its distribution has only been accelerated by competition from the Koran….. and YES – HARDLY ANYONE understands heads or tails what it says…

not even GP,
    ..who is still struggling with the fact that Jesus spoke in parables – PRECISELY in order to ensure that those brass bowls listening DID NOT get the message…
    …or that the ‘Trinity’ is diametrically OPPOSITE to what the bible ACTUALLY says…

But if you have any genuine questions – feel free to ask Bushie – who can ask a friend on your behalf….

31. Miller, what merit? I said I am not perfect but much improved. You make that seem negative. No problem giving up possessions because they mean less to me than people. Have always
    given my all in my imperfect way and am preparing myself to give more. I am happiest that way.

32. But also one can serve humanity in many ways. We are not all required to be wandering preachers. Paul set up churches with Christians who stayed put and owned possessions and used them for good.

33. @Bush Tea April 1, 2018 9:06 AM “…better yet… have you checked to see if Bushie is not the ‘Chief’…?”

My eyes were closed.

Bushie was that you?

If so you get 10/10.