DAVID A. COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement
“And lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.”
 -Matthew, Chapter 5, Verse 13

FELLOW  BARBADIANS, my advice to you may be reduced to the following four words:-  “Don’t take the money !”

I implore you to ignore any agent of deception who sets out to lead you into temptation and evil with serpentine advice that you should “take the money” of political operatives who will soon be on a mission to seduce you during this Election season and to buy your vote.

Indeed, the vile practice of “vote buying” has become so widespread in Barbados that the agent of deception who advises you to “take the money” cannot but be aware that members and supporters of his own political party will in all likelihood be among those dishing out hundred dollar bills  in exchange for votes.

I say — “don’t take the money” — because if you take the money you will be devaluing yourself as a human being !

Please recall that back in the 19th and 18th centuries rich white people were actually buying and selling our ancestors as if they were mere animals or things. Why then would we want to allow any misleader to convince us to reduce ourselves to so low a moral level that — once again — people with money are made to feel that we are for sale?

I also say –“don’t take the money” — because it is against the Law!

Surely, the “Great Deceiver” must know that the citizens of Barbados CANNOT “take the money” without breaking the Law of the land as set out in Section 6 of the Elections Offences And Controversies Act as follows :-

(1) A person is guilty of a corrupt practice who is guilty of bribery.

(2) A person is guilty of bribery who, directly or indirectly, by himself or by any other person on his behalf

(a) gives any money…..to any elector or to …any other person on behalf of any elector…in order to induce any elector to vote or refrain from voting;

(5) Any elector is guilty of bribery who, before or during an election, directly or indirectly by himself or by any other person on       his behalf, receives, agrees to receive, or contracts for any money, gift, loan, or valuable consideration…for voting or agreeing     to vote or for refraining or agreeing to refrain from voting.

So, according to the Election Offences And Controversies Act both the buyer of the vote and the seller of the vote are guilty of having committed an illegal “corrupt practice”, and are liable on conviction to imprisonment for a period of six months.

And finally, I say –“don’t take the money” — because if you do take the money you will be helping to destroy your own country!

Indeed, the insidious and growing practice of “vote buying” has already resulted in thousands of young (and not so young) Barbadians forming the impression that many, if not most, politicians –including some men and women who get elected to Parliament and some of those who hold ministerial office — are no more than tawdry hustlers and con-men.

In other words, the people of our country are already rapidly losing respect for the men and women who are supposed to be their national leaders. And when a critical mass of a population lose respect for the men, women, and institutions that are supposed to provide national leadership, the nation is lost !

Furthermore, the vile practice of “vote buying” is gradually and sedulously stripping many of our youth of their idealism and moral values, and is also threatening to subvert the integrity of our electoral system, and by extension, our entire system of governance.

My fellow Barbadians, do not permit ANYONE to persuade you to become an accomplice in the destruction of your own native land. Always, set out to  do the right and moral thing !

69 responses to “DON’T Take the Money”

1. What law Miller? what law?
    Show me how it can be policed and I would show you the pellet that lick out Nelson eye. Remember find years hence our learned Attorney General reported that he witnessed vote busing and was investigating the matter
    what are the results of those investigations?
    Have there been any arrests?

2. Hal Austin March 29, 2018 at 5:31 PM #

So our to worst prime ministers were not teachers?

3. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

De ole man is not too bright so it is necessary to admit from get go that statements that affirm that vote buying, AMONG THE ILLITERATE AND THE ECONOMICALLY DISADVANTAGED is here to stay.

When a man is hungry he will take any so called sanctimoniously better than thou bribe dat David Come Sing Along is talking bout here.

I does really doan mind he too much with these noble pretentions that are part of his periodic “blog meat” submissions

Conversely all the chat about electoral funding by government is precisely the obverse side of the same argument where the state is going to shell out $9 million an that will then be augmented by bribes.

De ole man is a student of life who studies people and long before Cambridge Analytica was promoting the use of “corn beef and biscuits” as a tool to affect the outcome of elections.

So what do de ole man recommend to stop these bribes?

I recommend “a state sponsored bribe” to counter these political party bribes which shall be enshrined into law and shall read

“Any citizen who shall before or during an election, knowingly take a bribe from a candidate or agent of said candidate AND SHALL RECORD SUCH BRIBE BY SAID PARTY IN SUCH A FORMAT TO DEFINITIVELY ENTRAP A BRIBER, that citizen shall be exempt from any prosecution and shall be awarded a sum of $500 for any such instance of bribery…”

De problem of bribery is solved causing all de nasty politicians ent stupid enough to risk getting lock up know dat people looking to collect 5heir bribe AS WELL AS COLLECT $500 ON TOP OF THAT BRIBE

DE OLE MAN ENT TOO BRIGHT SO FORGIVE ME…

4. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Grateful if you retrieve an item on this subject now in suspense, thanks

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin March 30, 2018 at 10:31 AM

Here is a rather ‘short’ answer given by George B. Shaw:

“Those who can, do; those who can’t, teach”.

6. “De problem of bribery is solved causing all de nasty politicians ent stupid enough to risk getting lock up know dat people looking to collect 5heir bribe AS WELL AS COLLECT $500 ON TOP OF THAT BRIBE.”

lol..

7. David

We see you pointing, promoting, how some votes are ‘priceless’

This quaint notion has no credence within a system which is more and more based on so-called free market capitalism.

Should heath care not be priceless too, yet it is being privatized, monetized, daily

Is air not priceless as well, yet by its pollution the cost rises daily

And so on …………….

Everything is Barbados, which was once seen as ‘priceless’ has been sold, is being sold

Have you considered that this well-meaning appeal will have a desperate impact (LOL)

8. @Pacha

The message is about awareness and not to focus on the vote per se. You will not PUDRYR creative is being promoted on Facebook.

It is about educating the masses to act as a catalyst for change.

9. David

There will be no ‘change’

Except, change of personalities in charge

Nothing more

So yuh might as well give up

And let the brassbowls make a little change …………….. for their pockets. LOL

10. How will anyone prove that a “gift” is a “bribe” ?

11. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Hants

A “gift” for which there is an express communication that this money or reward is for a specific choice and voting outcome FOW WHICH THE COMMUNICATION IS RECORDED IS A BRIBE!!

12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

To completely break the bonds of the DLP – the most deleterious government administration Barbados has had, here is a suggestion for consideration.

With regard to the blatant teifing the DLP is purported to have effected by its ministersde ole man suggests a Barbados WhistleBlowers Act and the Bussa Freedom Fund.

THeir purpose is to (i) provide monetary awards to persons who provide incontrovertible evidence of the ministerial theft in addition to (b) ensuring citizen protection with (c) most assuredly, the guarantee of anonymity to recipients of the fund

https://i.imgur.com/wDbVCNG.png

13. can’t say you dont know, the hardest thing is to know. I knew Cambridge Analytica interfered in Barbados’ election in 2013…vote Fruendolittle and all his ministers out, they are dishonest and toxic.

http://wp.caribbeannewsnow.com/2018/03/22/commentary-external-interference-in-caribbean-elections-is-real/

‘SLC was also evident in Trinidad and Tobago, acting for persons in the United National Congress party, and in the 2013 general elections in Barbados, where it claims to have worked for the Democratic Labour Party. Alexander Nix, the now suspended chief executive of SLC’s, subsidiary Cambridge Analytica, was known to operate in the Caribbean.’

It was clear in the campaign for the March 21 Antigua and Barbuda general election groups like SLC and Cambridge Analytica were hired by firms with a vested interest in controlling the country’s citizenship by investment programme (CIP). The objective was to ensure that the Gaston Browne-led government did not return to office since, as with other cases, it had refused to allow enterprises to operate in ways that deprive the national treasury of revenues.

If Antigua and Barbuda did not have snap elections and a very short campaign, it is likely that external forces might have succeeded in influencing the elections result. There would have been no way in which the ABLP would have been able to counter the expensive tactics of these rich organisations.

SCL is the prime suspect as the organisation hired to carry out the objectives of external agencies. It has operated secretly in the Caribbean for many years.”

14. Blogmaster..I posted a link with added info and it disappeared, can you find it?

15. Thanks.

16. Say what ? channeling grandaddy ?

17. A PM should advice people to keep the laws of the land.

18. Can the paying of income tax refunds from three years hence just mere days from the impending election be regarded as vote buying