DAVID A. COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement, Citizen of the Caribbean, and Lover of West Indies Cricket

How  shameful  it was to witness the gleeful rejoicing of the members of the West Indies cricket team in the wake of their fortuitous and totally undeserved victory over Scotland — a non- test status, associate member team of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

These men — supposed heirs to the  great West Indian cricketing tradition of such immortals as George Headley, Sir Frank Worrell, Sir Garfield Sobers, Clive Lloyd, and Sir Vivian Richards — seemingly had no qualms about celebrating the fact that it took  a manifestly erroneous umpiring decision, the intervention of a shower of rain, and the complicated calculations designed by Messers Duckworth and Lewis to “gift” them a 5 run victory over a Cricket team that is regarded as a minnow in international cricket!

But, as hurtful and shameful as this experience was, it should not have come as a surprise to any of us.

Let us recall that less than a year ago – on 20th June 2017 to be precise – Darren Sammy, our former West Indies cricket captain, prophetically warned us as follows:-

“I am very scared for the future of West Indies cricket …………I am scared that we might be relegated to the league of the Irelands and Scotlands, playing against these guys which is very, very sad — if something doesn’t change. And at the moment, the guy (Cricket West Indies president, Whycliffe “Dave” Cameron) has just been re-elected for another term. I can’t see it happening for us. It’s very sad for us.”

(Published in the Nation Newspaper of Barbados on 21-06-17)

At the time, I came out publicly and stated that I totally agreed with Darren Sammy . West Indies cricket, I felt,  would go nowhere but DOWN under the immature, self-centered, and self-righteous leadership of current Cricket West Indies president Whycliffe “Dave” Cameron and the social class that he is a representative of.

I also took the opportunity to renew my call for the resignation of Mr Cameron – a call that I had first made when he presided over the backward decision to remove the Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC) team from our regional one day cricket competition on the most ridiculous and frivolous of grounds, and I repeated the Call when his irresponsible and self-centred actions led to the abandonment of the West Indies cricket tour of India.

As far as I was concerned, the honourable and responsible thing for Mr. Cameron to do – in his capacity as President and leader of the WICB – was to publicly accept a considerable measure of responsibility for the Indian fiasco that had taken place; to publicly apologize to the Indian Cricket Board; and to resign from office.

Needless-to-say no such resignation was forthcoming then, and none ever will! And the reason it will not happen is not because of any special peculiarity of Mr. Cameron’s character or personality! Rather, it will not happen because the members of the Caribbean social class that Mr. Cameron belongs to simply do not behave in that manner!

The sad reality throughout our Caribbean is that a new bourgeois class has taken over the key leadership positions in Government, in the professions, and in important areas of national and regional life such as Cricket Administration. And it is such a self-absorbed class that its members find it extremely difficult to accept personal responsibility for anything, or to recognize that there are causes or institutions whose interests take precedence over their own personal individual interests.

These social elements have capitalized on the relative apathy and marginalization of the working class, and have constituted themselves into an entrenched elite or in-group, equipped with their own narrow group interests, and with a narrow, self-serving value system. Furthermore, many, if not most, members of this “class” have convinced themselves that they are entitled as of right to positions of privilege, wealth and comfort in our societies. This, in turn, is manifested in their unceasing jockeying for and pursuit of positions of status – privileged “jobs” – in national and regional political and Administrative structures, not least of which is the leadership and administrative structure of the WICB.

Many, if not most, of them are contemptuous of the working class base from which they have sprung. As a result, they possess no substantial roots in our region’s history of race and class struggle, and are therefore incapable of truly appreciating the value of the fruits of such struggles – whether such “fruits” are the sacred cultural institution of West Indies Cricket or — in the case of my island home of Barbados — the famous Barbadian system of free secondary and tertiary education!

The same social element that is incapable of perceiving that the interests of the people’s institution of West Indies Cricket dwarfs their own personal interests, is the same social element that – in national governments throughout our region – is incapable of recognizing and defending the precious social-democratic gains that generations of Caribbean sufferers struggled so hard to achieve.

We, the masses of Caribbean people—the so-called ordinary citizens of the Caribbean– therefore cannot simply sit back and expect these supposed leaders to act responsibility and selflessly, not even where our beloved game of West Indies Cricket is concerned. Left to Cameron and his ilk, they will complacently look on while the once mighty West Indies Cricket team is reduced to a genuine and certified “minnow” in contemporary international Cricket, as long as they –the so-called Administrators– can continue to enjoy an elevated social status and the financial rewards that go with that status.

Some form of determined mass activism has to emerge from the base of our societies if our Caribbean Community is to get back on track with its historic liberatory struggle!

If we truly want to preserve the WICB, West Indies Cricket, “free” education, public health care, welfare provisions, worker rights, national sovereignty, and the list goes on – the people at the base of our societies and such working class-based institutions as the trade unions and the grass-roots cricket organizations (like the “Barbados Cricket League“) will have to bestir themselves and unite around a concrete people’s agenda.

151 responses to “Our West Indian Cricket Shame Only Deepens”

1. I see a little 16 year old boy from Afghanistan skin out the West Indies.

No surprise here!!!

2. Certainly it cannot be only the fulcrum of the sugar factory which acted as the launch pad for West Indian cricketing greatness?

Steam was introduced in Barbados in the last half of the 19th century.

The British Army was garrisoned here from 1780.

Before the advent of the sugar factories the British Army was here!!

3. The sugar industry fostered the spread of cricket in the West Indies … the British Army give birth to it!!

4. Does the average Barbadian care about if West Indies win or lose?

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John March 25, 2018 at 1:35 PM

So what fostered the spread of the same game in South Africa? Apartheid?

There is one common denominator here and that is the impact of British colonialism; whether through the presence of a militia or a civil army of occupation called the British bureaucrats. Not sugar or its steam-driven factories.

Perhaps you would also want to argue it was the dominance of the same sugar in Brazil which gave rise to the dominance of blacks in football given the amount of trash they had to kick around to find joints of cane to take back to the favelas to survive.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes David Blogmaster. Sports is a true aphrodisiac …it generates great excitement when there is success…just as there is great disappointment with failure.

We all do care and reflect it with blasé attitudes for this extended bad patch.

If we ever rediscover our WOW factor then I expect average Bajans will rediscover our excited selves!

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@miller
    I wonder what fostered the spread of the game in Afghanistan?

8. @Dee Word

Cricket is dead. It is a reflection of our struggling societies both on the social and economic.

9. Northern

It’s next to Pakistan

Tribal society with people coming and going over porous borders.

Even in eternal wartime there is still space for such

10. What’s new about Aussies and cheating? It’s in their DNA. Never saw an Aussie team that didn’t cheat. Surprised the umpires even called them out. They usually get away with it. As for West Indies cricket, there is nothing to discuss.

11. NorthernObserver March 25, 2018 at 2:37 PM #
    @miller
    I wonder what fostered the spread of the game in Afghanistan?

… de Talibans!!

12. Donna March 25, 2018 at 2:47 PM #

A nation with an heritage in criminality.

13. de Talibans brek up de WI!!

All that is wrong is we have forgotten why we play cricket!!

Study Sobers

14. You lie and lie and lie on the blog. You are giving Pinocchio a bad name.

15. My brother- a newly minted teetotaler told me he was going to “get up” at 3.30 am to watch the WI play Afghanistan. I fear the WI may yet drive him back to the “demon” rum, if so can we sue somebody for the ill effects to his health?

WI cricket supremacy- done like Xmas dinner.

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Pachamama March 25, 2018 at 2:42 PM #
    Northern…It’s next to Pakistan”

Naturally. Based on the names even a few Indians. You may want to google Mujeed and watch, he can bowl the sweetest googly. The Zimbabwe match has a few excellent examples.

Another new’ish thing, a spinner was bowling in over #5??
    Afghanistan beat the WI, TWICE in the month of March.

17. Wherever the Brits went cricket was sure to follow, a few years ago I saw a well- tended field in Corfu and Wiki noted that the game was established there since 1823. If nothing else Philip of Corfu could discuss cricket with the future ER11.

Just waiting for Greece to beat the WI and it could be said that Afghanistan helped greased the skid (and I ain’t apologizing for that one).

18. Watching scotland play cricket would be like watching a barbadian playing the pipes

19. NorthernO
    Our second man tells us that he’s said to be the best spinner in the world, currently

Have not seen him, ourselves.

Well, we should expect the Indians to have the ICC declare him a pelter soon

20. Sri Lanka understands why they play cricket, just as we once did!!

Look at their results since they were admitted to Test Cricket.

Even been world Champions!!

Their top performers have come and gone and their game goes on, they continue to be good.

Afghanistan also understands.

That is why a 16 year old school boy could mek a mess of big able men with their heads full of air and no understanding as to why they are on a cricket field!!

That’s why the schools were once in first division cricket in Barbados, they understood why they played cricket and a 14 year old could be as good as a grown man.

…. and that’s why there is a Sobers …. we understood why we played cricket and he got the message too.

Cricket is not dead, how could such a wonderful sport ever die!!

It is the half ass people who pretend to be cricketers … that is the problem.

Why are we ffing around with Gayle and Samuels and many of the others with heads full of air?

21. Well, we should expect the Indians to have the ICC declare him a pelter soon

Doesn’t matter if he gets banned.

The mere fact that a 16 year old can compete at the highest level is what counts.

Besides, I don’t think the Indians will worry too much over half ass West Indian batsmen getting defeated!!!

It’s when their guys get defeated that all hell will break loose!!

22. https://www.amazon.com/Nation-Imagined-Hilary-McD-Beckles/dp/9766371628

A Nation Imagined!!!

Professor Beckles is trying to create a Nation/Country called West Indies so it can be like all the other Nations/Countries that compete in Cricket.

What he fails to recognize is that Cricket does not need to be about a country.

Sobers competed for the Rest of the World against Australia and produced an innings that is still remembered with awe.

There was no “Nation Imagined” where the Rest of the World was concerned.

This was a team of individuals who played together to make something special.

In the case of the West Indies, Bajans, Trinis, Jamaicans, Guyanese “Small Islanders” are all from individual countries!!!

No amount of imagination can create a single Nation regardless of what the professor claims.

Cricket however can create a team of individuals who are capable of producing something special.

That team is playing the game for the sake of the game.

Each has skills not many of us possess and the game allows these 11 people to produce a product none of then singly can produce.

WI are unique in this regard, we are unlike the other countries … but we can compete and win.

We have something extremely special to offer the world of Cricket.

It is difficult to remember many instances where West Indians have pulled sharp practices because none of them really want to bring themselves or their countries into disrepute.

West Indies is just too important.

Suppose a West Indian Captain were to admit he had authorized the youngest member of the team to change the condition of the ball.

Not only would all hell have broken loose but whatever country he came from would have been “black balled”.

“You see dem Trinis or Bajans or whatever, dem does teef would be the call”!!

Cricket is not about teefing.

We have completely forgotten why we play cricket because we have allowed ourselves to be brainwashed.

Winning and losing take second and third place to the production of something special!!

… and the production of something special will often lead to a win as a consolation!!

Listen to Bedi on Sobers.

We stopped playing cricket with love and replaced it with hate.

That’s why we are the losers generally nowadays … we forgot why we play … we no longer produce anything special!

The last time was when Carlos Braithwaite struck 4 sixes to win the T20 World Cup.

I remember remarking on his interview here on BU …. it bowled me over given the standard crap we get from the various airheads.

23. “Why I’ve got some sticky near my Dicky”

The above is the headline in the Northern Territory news (Australian newspaper) when one of their players was caught red handed shoving sticky tape down his underwear after an attempt to alter the condition of the ball.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John when you step outside your area of scientific expertise your logic is amazenly flawed.

I would completly agree with the Blogmaster…in fact I would offer that you make Gepetto look bad 🤣.

25. @John when you step outside your area of scientific expertise your logic is amazenly flawed.

You can’t spell!!

26. David March 25, 2018 at 2:03 PM #
    Does the average Barbadian care about if West Indies win or lose?

Precisely, winning or losing was never the issue!!

It was all about seeing your team play hard honest cricket in the firm knowledge and expectation that “the glorious uncertainty” would produce something glorious!!

… however, winning is better than losing!!

27. millertheanunnaki March 25, 2018 at 2:07 PM #
    @ John March 25, 2018 at 1:35 PM
    So what fostered the spread of the same game in South Africa? Apartheid?

Yo will find the British Army in South Africa from I think the 1600’s!!

Like Barbados South Africa had three things going for it before the discovery of precious stones and gold!!

Location, location and location.

It was the way to India for the British …. and the Dutch East Indies for the Dutch.

Needless to say they fought over it from the beginning!!

28. How shameful it was to witness the gleeful rejoicing of the members of the West Indies cricket team in the wake of their fortuitous and totally undeserved victory over Scotland — a non- test status, associate member team of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The shame is felt by people of the generation who came along and instinctively understood why WI played cricket.

29. David March 24, 2018 at 9:12 AM #
    Agree with you Hants. Then money flowed into the game and we didn’t integrate a relevant operating model to sustain the success. Since the Lloyd and Richards era we are still playing catch up.

The funny thing is the Lloyd/Richards era caused the decline!!

Wonder if any sharp tacks can figure out why!!

I’ll explain later!!!!

30. Looks like the Australians should be ashamed.

Who knows how many times this thing has happened before.

Ban Australia from international cricket for 5 years.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

“That team is playing the game for the sake of the game.”

John that happens on Saturday afternoons. At the upper echelons they are all professionals.

32. Scotland is not offended by barbados display, we are kindred spirits, I see it every time I go to the beach….HOG MANY

33. John that happens on Saturday afternoons. At the upper echelons they are all professionals.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/story/_/id/22916100/why-australia-outraged-steven-smith-team

The difference between West Indies Cricket and the other teams is that simple identifier, country!!

There is no country called West Indies.

Our cricket is entirely unique.

We are constant losers at the moment but it isn’t because West Indies cricket is inferior.

Steve Smith may have done world cricket a huge favour.

He may have exposed what really goes into “Reverse Swing”!!

Pakistan was the major exponent of the art but maybe there was always a bit more to the art … artfulness.

Maybe the skill in reverse swing is the ability to avoid being caught tampering with the ball, a skill West Indies never mastered!!

The English team mastered it in 2005 and beat Australia after years of dominance by the team from down under.

But if you cast your mind back to when Waqar and Wasim burst on to the scene, the English were convinced there was cheating but could never prove it.

They then learnt the “art” and suddenly became world beaters themselves.

Maybe, just Maybe, Smith is exposing what goes into cricket these days … what it means to be professional!!

It is like doping in athletics, that’s why human records keep getting shattered.

… that’s the difference between amateur and professional!!

It is involvement in sport by countries that make sport professional!!

Countries divert some of their budget to sport to “enhance” the sport.

Central contracts are given to top cricketers so they don’t have to worry about income, just perform “for their countries” … for a fee!!

The GDP of the “West Indies” … Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad Barbados … and the “small islands” …. is less than the GDP of the smallest cricketing nation … and that GDP is not under the control of one government ….. hence CARICOM is a joke.

The uniqueness of West Indies cricket makes it extremely difficult to compete in cricket, or for that matter … any sport!!

Athletics is about the individual … cricket is about a team …. and cricket at its highest level demands members work together for five days.

The hundred metres dash is over in 10 seconds.

Football is over in 90 minutes.

Cricket is a different sport.

For the brighter sparks on BU, it should be evident by now how the Lloyd Richards era destroyed West Indies Cricket long term!!

34. Could you please explain what India’s GDP has to do with their cricket?

35. Resources!!!!

People can’t understand how such a small population as exists in the West Indies could produce such world beaters in cricket.

The answer is any where can produce a world beating team because of the nature of the game.

Their reign at the top however will be brief if opposing countries subsidize sport as part of a national goal.

India is at the top not by accident, but by design.

https://www.icc-cricket.com/rankings/mens/team-rankings/odi

Afghanistan at the bottom can leapfrog the West Indies once they play their cricket as it should be played … which means there is hope for the WI too … and any bottom ranked team!!

36. What are the significant differences between people from different Caribbean islands tolerating each other or “working together for five days” and a team such as South Africa in which white cricketers are forced to tolerate and work with black cricketers “for five days,” especially if you take into consideration South Africa’s underlying mentality of apartheid?

Although black and white South Africans may play for the same teams, there are vast differences in the culture and mentality of both races…….. yet they worked together to make South Africa’s cricket team #1 on the ICC Test Rankings and they are currently at #2 on the ICC ODI Rankings.

Your comment re: “It is involvement in sport by countries that make sport professional,” may be true at the domestic level.

England’s cricket, for example, is controlled by the ECB……and NOT the state. So your reference to the size of a country and GDP as it relates to sports, is more or less…..questionable.

“The ECB is responsible for the financial direction and commercial exploitation of England’s cricket. It raises revenue from the proceeds of sales for tickets at One Day International and Test matches in England and Wales. The ECB is also responsible for the generation of income from the sale of sponsorship and broadcasting rights, primarily in relation to the English team.”

Although you may consider India to be one country, there are a number of “ethnicities” with different cultures that come together to create “one” Indian cricket team.

There may not be a country named “West Indies,” but there is a region called “West Indies,” where the underlying cultures are similar.

37. You seem to be suggesting that India’s cricket has developed as a result of country’s resources and its high GDP. This demonstrates your lack of knowledge of the administrative structures of cricket in that country.

Maharaja of Patiala Bhupinder Singh, who had an instrumental role in bringing international cricket to India in 1926, convened a meeting of representatives from various Indian provinces/states which had their own cricket teams, such as Sindh, Rajputana, Alwar, Patiala, Delhi, United Provinces, Central India and Baroda,…… and they agreed creating a board that could represent India at the ICC. As a result, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was created in 1928 and is recognized by the ICC, as the official representative of India’s cricket.

Unlike most sports bodies, BCCI does NOT fall under the CONTROL of the government or the Olympic Committee. BCCI does NOT RECEIVE FUNDS from the government of India nor has it applied for recognition by the government.

“Technically, the Indian Cricket team represents only the BCCI, since the government of India has not formally recognized its official status. But empirically, the Indian team represents the whole of India, since the Indian government is ready to accept it without complaint.”

“BCCI is not a recognized sports federation and the sports ministry only grants clearance to host international matches in India and to participate in international events abroad at no cost to the government, subject to clearances by the Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of External Affairs.” Source: Sportskeeda

However, if the ICC bans the BCCI from participating in international cricket, the Indian government or Indian Olympic Association can formulate a governing body for cricket in India and seek recognition from the ICC.

And the members of the Indian cricket team do NOT play for India…..they play for the BCCI.

38. John March 26, 2018 at 9:28 AM #

The talent pool is very important. For example, China is using its vast wealth to buy UK public school franchises. I have argued that this is not because of the quality of UK education over Chinese, it is not. China scores higher on STEM tests than the UK.
    What they are buying is the public school ethos: rugby union, cricket, etc. Once this generation of school children go through the system you will find a growing number of world-class Chinese rugby players etc. The same will happen with cricket.
    It is one reason why public/grammar schools produce such a high number of UK rugby union players and northern working class towns produce so many rugby league players.
    I know someone of Barbadian heritage who went in to a fee-paying school as a keen young cricketer, his number one game now is rugby. The school he went to is know for its rugby playing and he was slowly turned in to a rugby player. He still plays cricket, but that has given way to rugby.

39. GDP is a measure of economic activity.

Cricket sponsorship does not have to come from Government alone!!

Where does the finance/seed money come from to start say the IPL?

How do cricketer become millionaires?

How many cricketing millionaires exist by country?

40. The size of the talent pool is important but it is not the be all and end all of success.

Access to education is important but not everything.

There will always be room for individuals who may not be especially talented or gifted mentally or physically to excel at Cricket simply because the sport requires the ability to see and perceive at the same time and that ability trumps all others.

Sobers walked to the wicket at Lords in 1966 with England in control, WI 95 for 5, and the commentators extolling the qualities of the English swing bowlers.

Sobers took one look around and decided the fielders were too close so he set about “moving” them!!

He talked Holford through the sessions and WI declared at 365 for 5.

Sobers had the gifts even though he never went to public school and developed any ethos.

In todays world his skills would be dissected and countered using resources that require much investment.

41. All the video analysis and dissection in the world cannot help where an individual has the ability to see and perceive.

That’s why there are armies of coaches attached to a team, many of the players are not gifted that way they just know the mechanics of the job and are very good at them.

42. For example …. remember the Shell Shield … sponsored by … you guessed it … Shell.

And C&W also sponsored cricket in the West Indies.

Are there any such sponsors today?

Economic activity!!

GDP!!

43. … or is it they get no bang for their bucks

44. “Where does the finance/seed money come from to start say the IPL? How do cricketers become millionaires?
    How many cricketing millionaires exist by country?”

GDP is the total dollar value of goods and services a country produces during a specific period of time….usually one year.

However, the above questions are irrelevant and do not substantiate your original point re: “The GDP of the “West Indies” … Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad Barbados … and the “small islands” …. is less than the GDP of the smallest cricketing nation … and that GDP is not under the control of one government ……..”………and your other comments, which suggested you were implying the governments of other cricketing nations are involved in financing cricket.

You guys make one point and when challenged, you “dilly dally.”

45. “For example …. remember the Shell Shield … sponsored by … you guessed it … Shell. And C&W also sponsored cricket in the West Indies.”

You are essentially trying to intellectualize a simple issue, making us believe you conducted a “superior psychological analysis” of West Indies cricket that was never undertaken by anyone.

I gave the following information: “The ECB is RESPONSIBLE for the FINANCIAL direction and commercial exploitation of England’s cricket. It raises revenue from the proceeds of sales for tickets at One Day International and Test matches in England and Wales. The ECB is also RESPONSIBLE for the GENERATION of INCOME from the SALE of SPONSORSHIP and broadcasting rights, primarily in relation to the English team.

Similarly, it is the responsibility of CWI to solicit sponsorship (financial and otherwise) for regional cricket and the WI team.

When WI cricket was at its highest, I’m sure the then WICBC and (subsequently WICB) did not have any problems soliciting sponsorship, because businesses like associate with winners……..it’s a marketing strategy. Obviously, with WI cricket at its lowest, obviously, CWI will experience difficulty in soliciting adequate financial sponsorship.

46. he t a

47. John March e26, 2018 at 1:27 PM #

The talent pool is very important since it is from that pool that you get your players. .. But, as you .say, it is not the bee all and end all of selecting talent.
    Formal education has nothing to do with playing cricket at a high level; however, good cricketers .are hugely bright. Jut think of a batsman: bat, pad, thigh pads, helmet, bat n hand; a bowler bowling at 90 miles an hour, bouncing the ball over .a 22 yard pitch.
    The batsman must see the ball sthe moment it is delivered, get him/herself in position to make an attractive stroke and bat on for a long period of time.
    I am not a neurological scientist, but the eye contact, the eye-hand coordination, the level of concentration. All that calls for genius at .the very highest level. Don’t underestimate it.
    You are also talking about the business side of cricket, which is different to the playing. I remember when David Beckham joined Real Madrid, I went to a conference on the business of football and the presenter from Real Madrid told the audience that by just signing his contract they had already made millions – through merchandise.
    At about the same time I wrote a long essay about the business side of cr icket, which I am not prepared to regurgitate now, but that is a side of our cricket .that needs closer attention.

48. GDP is a measure of the economy, its health and more importantly it size.

C&W sponsored Cricket when it was effectively operating in the economies of the Caribbean as a monopoly.

It is no longer rolling in money … it has competition now, Digicel which appears to have supplanted it.

49. Yes, GDP is an indicator used to gauge the “health and size” of a country’s economy and represents the market value of the total goods and services that country produces over a specific time period…..usually one year.

But you’re “jumping all over the place” and not making any sense……perhaps this is where I should leave the “discussion.”

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply