This extract from one of the local newspaper is currently bouncing around the local social media space. The blogmaster found it funny and at the same time created the opportunity for a long pause – David (BU)

62 responses to “Voting Checklist to Assist With Placing Your X”

1. @ David

I was reading the 2018 manifesto of Keith Mitchell’s New National Party (NNP) and he was able to brag the following:

Your NNP Administration has put Grenada FIRST by ensuring greater participation by all the people of Grenada, Carriacou and Petite Martinique in their Government through:

Passage of Integrity in Public Life Legislation
    Passage of Anti-Corruption Legislation
    Passage of the Ombudsman Act
    Passage of the Public Procurement and Contract Administration Act
    Drafting of the Freedom of Information Legislation
    Full liberalisation of the mass media, making Grenada the only country in the Caribbean in which the Government does not control a media house
    Establishment of the Multipartite Consultative Committee
    Establishment of the Sustainable Development Council
    Support of process of social dialogue
    Establishment of the Labour Advisory Board
    Participation by the Prime Minister in continuous “face to face” and “touching base” meetings throughout the country as well as organised Breakfast Meetings

The DLP dedicated 3 pages of their 2008 manifesto to “Good Governance” and explained how they planned, immediately on being elected, to introduce ITAL, have minister sign a “code of good conduct” and declare their assets………

………..and what do they have to show after 10 years?

On another thread I posted excerpts from a January 1, 2006 advertisement in the media, entitled “Charter for Change,” (apparently paid for by “Citizens for the Advancement of Democracy and Good Governance,” of which Dr. Denis S. Lowe was listed as Chairman) that made a “passing reference” to integrity in public life:

“We will advocate that it becomes MANDATORY for ALL politicians seeking elective office to DISCLOSE all their ASSETS prior to the time of the elections.”

But I guess that was not worth discussing.

2. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Artax March 13, 2018 at 9:10 PM ““Citizens for the Advancement of Democracy and Good Governance,” of which Dr. Denis S. Lowe was listed as Chairman) that made a “passing reference” to integrity in public life:
    “We will advocate that it becomes MANDATORY for ALL politicians seeking elective office to

I haven’t been keeping up with things, so can you please tell me if Denis S. Lowe has DISCLOSED all his ASSETS prior to the time of his election?

And if he hasn’t done so can you ask him why not.

3. Dr. Simple Simon March 13, 2018 at 9:22 PM #

“I haven’t been keeping up with things, so can you please tell me if Denis S. Lowe has DISCLOSED all his ASSETS prior to the time of his election?”

Dr. SS

Dr. Lowe’s organisation made those suggestions in 2006……at a time when it politically advantageous for him to do so and for purposes of political expediency.

Now the “shoe is on the other foot” and his DLP is now being challenged, as it is usually with politicians, perhaps he has changed his mind………and may not find it necessary to declare his assets.

Uh mean……after all his paid advertisements in the press, Dr. Lowe DID NOT declare his assets PRIOR to the 2008 or the 2013 general elections………

………..yuh really feel dat de man gine declare he assets now…….especially after driving ‘bout dah SUV Beemer?

4. millertheanunnaki March 13, 2018 at 9:05 PM #

“It would be more interesting if Scott (and by extension his boss Phillips) can expatiate a bit more on the pragmatic enforcement and collection measures of SB’s proposed flat tax regime.”

Miller

I agree with your above comment 100%.

How would SB ensure corporations adhere to the tax laws under a SB administration? And also I heard Weatherhead mentioning taxing Barbadians owned corporations registered in other jurisdictions.

Would they employ a number of “Revenue Tax Auditors” to perform field audits of businesses and corporations to ensure the collection of taxes when due for remittance…….. and compliance with tax regulations, polices and laws, as is done, for example, in the USA in states such as Louisiana?

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax March 13, 2018 at 9:50 PM

Moreover, is SB planning to repeal the IBC tax legislation?

Would they also be creaming off 10% of the IBC’s international revenues?

That should put an end to Barbados’s foreign exchange problems?

Just another airy-fairy proposal poorly thought out by a man whose way is his own piss-poor highway or no way at all.

Barbados requires an ‘eclectic’ array of taxation policies and their competent enforcement; not some pie-in-the-sky simplistically impractical proposal conceived in some infertile Petri dish of social engineering.

6. Miller

Solutions Barbados seems to have “copied” policies that may have worked in European countries, where the socio-economic circumstances are compelely different. I read a comment in which one of their candidates made reference to social policies in Sweden.

However, I’m not hearing any of the political parties’ policies on issues such as:

………….immigration, illegal non-nationals squatting and securing land for other illegal non-nationals, for example, in Rock Hall, St. Philip (Adriel Brathwaite’s constituency) and illegal non-nationals illegally vending in Bridgetown.

A number of illegal non-nationals have built stalls on the compound of the old Fairchild Street Market, while Barbadians who occupied stalls in the demolished market where transferred to Golden Square market, which is on the site where the Plaza Cinema was once located. Unfortunately for the Barbadian stall owners, Golden Square closes at 6pm during the week and 8:30 pm on Fridays & sometimes on Saturday (if the staff allow it), but the non-nationals have unlimited time in the old Fairchild Street Market compound.

They are permitted to sell produce outside the Cheapside Market, while Barbadians have to RENT marker space inside the market.

This can’t be fair, especially with the political parties saying they are concentrating on entrpreneurship (but for whom).

And how will a Solutions Barbados administration ensure these non-nationals “pay their fair share” of taxes.

Antigua, under the Gaston Browne administration, had to take drastic action to address the issue of illegal non-nationals that “established” themselves during the tenure of the former United Progressive Party administration.

There are several people from Guyana, Jamaica, Santa Domingo and China residing in Antigua. Several stores and mini supermarkets located in St. Johns and the surrounding environs are owned by the Chinese. And each time I travel there, it seems that more Chinese stores are opening.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    “I believe SB’s taxation policies require a bit more discussion.”
    How delightfully polite of you.
    Dr SS told us she had calculated under SB her tax would double. That may not be totally accurate, because apart from the flat 10%, we don’t know what else is involved. Deductions, thresholds etc etc However, it will be spun “you gine be paying more tax under SB”.

@Dr SS
    “i hope that wunna know that 15 second orgasm fells do NOT get a second date”

is a lady of your christian background and morals suggesting any such interactions take place on the FIRST date? The young ladies can’t be letting it go like dat?

8. @Artax

There is a lack of interest by many that frequent BU regarding regional matters. There is a preference to discuss Trump and news associated with the US. It is symptomatic of how many have been influenced by Western media. And yes many in the forum live in North America but a listen to the talk shows support our position. We prefer to navel gaze.See the lack of discussion when we post Afra Raymonds, Rickford Burke articles as another example.

We look down our noses at the goings on in the EC but in many respects that sub region as shown itself to be open to implementing progressive policies compared to Barbados.

9. @Artax

It is the Internet and people with all kinds of agendas will post positions to BU. You have to operate with a filter. Some comments are no different to what you have to listen to on the talk shows or other places around the country. It is why some question the right of all individuals to vote given that many do so based on the most frivolous of reasons. But it is the only system we have if we subscribe to the right of all individuals to vote or express themselves.

Further, we are now in what is referred to as the silly season, expect the political operatives from both sides to spin their yarns. It is the downside to the political system we have. A read of forums in the UK, USA and other places support that we are not alone with the problem.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mitchell was confident of a return to government, Fruendel is not, he is wishing and hoping for a miracle that is definitely not coming.

11. […] is the discussion waiting to be had on the campaign trail highlighted in an earlier blog -see  Voting Checklist to Assist With Placing Your X.  One can take the position that if we have waited 5 years what is a another 90 days. BU subscribes to […]

12. FOR WHAT IT IS WORTH… A POST from the CHASE FILES
    Election Watch – I made it my business to go to the Electoral Boundaries Commission this morning where I was met with the utmost level of efficiency & professionalism. I was given a number & form and told to sit. I sat and completed my form . While waiting I checked the voters log to make sure that I was registered to vote. Upon doing that I realized that even though I completed change forms on three occasions my address was still wrong. In less than 10 minutes my number was called and I went to see the officer who was extremely informative as I fired off questions. He informed me that no citizen of Barbados should be refused to vote because they did not have an ID. On voting day an officer is present at each polling station with registered voters information from that constituency. He said they have the info so if an ID is stolen, lost or tattered they are able to cross reference the owner’s information. He also checked the system and informed me that the reason my current address is not in the voters log was because the log was printed in January and my update would have been entered after the publication. I was pleased to learn the changes were made which allows me to vote in the constituency where I reside. In 8 working Days I will have my new ID. Once you present your old ID CARD you do not have to pay. Without the old ID the fee is $25. There is also a $1 charge per document (Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Decree) if you do not bring photocopies of your documents. I paid $2. If you have any queries it is advised that you visit the Electoral Boundaries Commission which is located on the Ground Floor of Building #2 Warrens Tower, Warrens, St. Michael. Don’t get caught off-guard on Election Day. BE PREPARED! #thechasefiles #allaboard #electiontime #nopassport #nodriverslicense #barbadosidentificationcardonly #EBC #ElectoralBoundariesCommission