Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

The Right Honourable former Prime Minister, Sir Lloyd Sandiford, was heard to ask, how this country got back to this point. Even though I do not consider myself to be a political scientist or analyst, I would like to offer my perspective.

Ten years ago, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) led by the now deceased David Thompson came to office promising heaven and earth. However, on the eve of the 2018 general elections, it would appear that they have delivered purgatory instead. Mind you, I do not believe for one minute that they intended to impoverish this country as they have obviously done. I believe that they have done their best; it is just that their best is not good enough and has fallen way short of what Barbadians have come to expect.

Government’s failures are so notorious that it would serve no useful purpose to detail the litany of woes that is this administration’s achievements. Rather, it would be more beneficial to examine, as Sir Lloyd pondered: How did the country get back to this point? Such an examination would reveal the pitfalls to avoid, in order to prevent any group, that is as unprepared as the present regime to govern, from ever achieving political office again.

Any right-thinking person would readily admit that the current administration is a dismal failure, but it did not happen over night. This second-eleven team, to borrow a cricketing expression, that now manages the affairs of this country resulted from Owen Arthur’s brain-draining Politics of Inclusion.

When Arthur became the Prime Minister, he set about unwittingly or otherwise to denude the DLP of much of its talent. They were easy pickings because the DLP that emerged after the death of the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow was a fractious party. Sandiford was somewhat able to keep his dissenters in check because he wielded the power of the Prime Minister and could dispense patronage.

Unfortunately, Thompson took over the party that when it was going into opposition. He had no patronage to dispense to force his lieutenants to pretend as though they were loyal and many defected to the Barbados Labour Party to benefit from the spoils of victory that Arthur was lavishing on key DLP people who switched sides.

Shortsightedly, Thompson was happy to see them go because it meant that his party would be able to settle down without those dissenters. He failed to appreciate or did not care that Arthur was taking away the cream of the crop. All that appeared to matter to him was that he was leader and would most likely emerge, as Prime Minister, as he did, when the DLP retook the government. The people that Thompson had available to him as candidates were the most dyed in the wool Dems or persons that Arthur did not want. Sadly, as it turned out, he did not have enough talent to form a competent government but he was forced to use what he had available to him. That was apparent since he found it necessary to co-opt persons from outside his party to shore up his cabinet.

Regrettably, two years into his premiership, Thompson, the brains of his Government, passed to the great beyond. Those that remained floundered about from pillar to post but everything that they did seemed to have come to nought. The country, in their hands, appears to be hurtling out of control from one crisis to another.

It is painfully obvious to all but the purblind that the current administration had the skills to win the elections but are totally devoid of any of the skills to successfully manage the affairs of this country. They know it but are too stubborn to admit their failings and have the unmitigated gall to seek to foist themselves on the people of this country again.

If this administration were a worker, the employer would be entitled to dismiss that worker for any reason related to the capability of the employee to perform any work, provided the employer went through the appropriate procedure.

The elected members of parliament are the employees of the people of this country. They have demonstrated that they are incapable of performing the work that they were hired to do. The appropriate procedure to effect a fair dismissal, in the form of elections, will soon be upon us. Take it from a practising industrial relations person, a dismissal in these circumstances would be fair to all concerned.

73 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – DEMS Now: DEMS NOT Again!”

1. Has anyone seen Dennis Lowe recently in public?

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Prodigal…it is said Lowe is in the hospital, another shallow reason Frundel & Co are delaying the election, waiting for him to recover, so suppose he does not.

What I am wondering, how does Mia own the Nationnews, according to some, they have to do what she says and yet, she sued them, this a a trial for this week.

Courtroom 4 The Honourable Justice Alrick Scott, Judge of the High Court (a.g)
    TRIAL
    T i m e No. Case No.
    9:30 a.m. 1 CV0217/2011 Mia A. Mottley v. The Nation Publishing Company Limited, et al

3. Prodigal
    Probably working feverishly at Vaucluse so he can put his name on the building on the official opening before the bell rings,as did nitwit braffit on the unfinished police station at Cane Garden.These barefoot hoes and golliwogs only interested in themselves and trying to perpetuate their nastiness.The QEH got more tablets than westbury most with the names of the only class that matters in Bim because we like it so.If I was empowered my first order of business would be take the sledgehammer to all those tablets. That at Vaucluse would get the steam roller treatment as well.Dust to dust for the big corruptor.

4. Poor soul……..what if he does not get better in time for the election date?

I detest this so called PM who only speaks to the dlp diaspora and the party faithful here……..every time he speaks, he seems to think that it is some feather in his cap or that it is cute for him to be snarky and condescending when referring to the rest of us who do not share his warp sense of importance.

He thinks he can taunt the whole of Barbados by not calling an election date even when his time has expired.

Oh Freundel, Freundel………you have to call the election whether you want to or not and I know the day will come. We have endured your incompetence for 10 years ….what is another 83 days…..we have come so far, the end is in sight.

Your time will come, Mr PM!

5. 11 more weeks to go and then they are no more…

6. The prime minister says history is made by creating it hence the reason why he did not dissolve parliament.

7. Gabriel

If the PM is so sure that he will be re-elected why is he so hesitant to call the election which is overdue.

Alright, he said he was going down to the wire and taking all of the time the electorate gave him and that he is not throwing the time the people gave him back at him. I was at a function recently and one of his friends was saying the same thing defending him.

The man is unreasonable and stubborn beyond words……five years have gone since the last election and five years since the state opening of Parliament.

He is disgracing the constitution. Do you think that the dems would ever let a BLP pull a stunt like this?

Yeah…….continue to talk crap that you are not breaking any laws……Fumble.

8. He may be right, David………..he is creating history……..worst PM and government this country has ever had to endure.

9. Prodigirl

Go and rest your weary soul !!

You don’t realize you are the only nitwik calling fuh Elections ???

Barbadians – the rational thinking ones – ( minus you ) …….knows the law !!!

The PM is on sound legal authority !!

What bothering you & MAM is what he waiting on !!

The King 👑 Freundel Stuart knows !!

It is wunnah to find out !!

Stop there & sweat ……you SCALLYWAGS !!

90 days in wunnah arse !!!

10. Prodigirl

You & MAM continue to send the voters in the polling both with the cell phones 📱!!!

11. William Skinner you ask then what,i will answer for you Dem.The Country would start afresh with a proper leader in Ms Mottley who is 10 times the leader Mr Stuart will ever be.Once that happens most likely investors will begin to invest in the Country and things will start to pick up,whersby employment will begin to improve and the Reserves will hopefully begin to grow,even if they have to secure a loan from the IMF.On the other hand remaining with this Government particularly this PM and Finance Minister is a recipe for disaster,comprende Mr Skinner.

12. I’m a big fan of mafia movies, what I always found most interesting was the organisation structure, and how effective it was at getting information up and down the organisation and out to the streets/people and enforcing the will of the leader

I can usually find in any political party similarities but for some reason this DLP bunch under David Thompson and then Freundel has never made any sense. There is no clear message from the leader, the Consiglieres give awful advice, the Capos stink at their jobs and openly fight each other and the soldiers can’t get their facts straight and don’t seem to have clear marching orders.

A mafia organisation run like this, would result in chaos in the streets, infighting, loss in revenue and investors taking their money elsewhere……………but what do I know I just like watching The Sopranos and The Godfather I and II

13. DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) Radio & TV

Oh Lawdy…. Lawdy…Lawdy…..The Froon speaks!! Im beginning to think that Fumble is suffering from some degenerative disease that affecting his intelligence!!!!! From the way he talks his logic processing apparently is shot!!!! (or shite!!!). He doesn’t want to call elections because he wants to create history…Riiiigggghhhttt!!!!!!….My dear Fruendel YOU and the DLP have already created history!!!!… the decline of $1bn in foreign reserves in 5 years!!!…that’s history!!!!!,…..the decline of Barbados’ credit rating to near default.!!!!….that’s history!!!…taxation to the tune of BDS $22bn in 5 years and the people of Bdos has yet to see any benefit from it!!…… that’s history!!!…so Froony…you dont have to worry….but the best is to come….continue to talk drivel during this election campaign and your party will suffer the most historic defeat in Bdos’ history…and your miserable political career and leadership will be HISTORY!!!!!!

14. Poor fellow, the very thought of losing all the high life is so scary to Froons that he refuses to call the election.

If they are so sure that they are going to win, why is he holding out long past his time has expired.

He will be history all right!

Never again should a poor rakey PM be able to hold a whole country to ransom for his own ego………constitutional reform is absolutely necessary!

15. On CBC TV news tonight the DLP candidate for St Joseph was unfortunately filmed frothing at the mouth.I thought CBC could have edited out that section.

16. Gabriel I saw it as wellbut the nonsence he spoke about the DLP always having to fix things made me laugh,he is probably trying to be a comedian.I wonder if he remember 1994,when the BLP took over from the Dems with unemployment around 25%.and brought it down to 7%.Is this guy related to Maureen Holder?I noticed we saw the PM and Mr Holder but not a word from the BLP Meeting on the Taxpayers funded station,this is totally unacceptable and whoever is responsible should be fired for such blatant bias behavior.and to top it have to listen to the propaganda call in program Talk Ya Talk with the three Dem Moderators.

17. The following information was taken from a paid advertisement in the press, dated Sunday, January 1, 2006:

CHARTER FOR CHANGE

As the country contemplates the beginning of a new year, there are some of us who continue to preoccupy our thoughts with how we can lend to the process of advancing our democracy to the further reaches of social and economic justice for all. It is true that while we have come a long way in this country, there seems to be a general MELTDOWN of the STANDARDS that GOVERN our POLITICAL, SOCIAL and MORAL conduct. This all leads to the escalating levels of crime, social and economic injustice, and a GROWING PERCEPTION of a LACK of TRANSPARENCY and ACCOUNTABILITY AMONG THOSE INDIVIDUALS and institutions that DIRECT the POLITICAL AFFAIRS of this great nation. As a result of these observations, Citizens for the Advancement of Democracy and Good Governance, feels compel to recommend the following principles to further advance the Charter For Change:

 We will advocate for the setting up of a National Commission On Integrity And Transparency as an act of parliament, that would be RESPONSIBLE for INVESTIGATING and/or MONITORING the ACTIONS of politicians and all government officials that GIVE RISE to ALLEGATIONS of CORRUPTION, and would further seek to ensure that the people’s business be done in a manner that REFLECTS DECENCY and HONESTY.

 We will strongly support the call for a LIMIT of TWO CONSECUTIVE TERMS be set as the LENGTH OF TIME a Prime Minister (PM) can OCCUPY office, and that the SAME individual could only be selected as PM by any political party AFTER a five year ABSENCE from that post.

 We will advance the call that requires a political party that succeeds becoming the government to fulfil the FULL five years of its term in office and that the DATE of the succeeding elections be SET for the EXACT DATE when the five year term is ended. The only exception to this would be where recalling the government becomes necessary and the appropriate constitutional provisions to do so are activated.

 We will advocate that it becomes MANDATORY for ALL politicians seeking elective office to DISCLOSE all their ASSETS prior to the time of the elections.

 We will advocate for the preservation of the strongest expressions of religious faith to remain at the heart of the consciousness of the nation and all its socio-cultural and educational institutions.

 We will support the call for STRICT political campaign financing rules and regulations to be put in place to ENSURE transparency, full disclosure and fairness.

Paid for by:
    Citizens for the advancement of Democracy and Good Governance
    Dr. Denis S. Lowe, Chairman

++++++++++++++++++++++ +++++++++++++++++

For the past 22 years and 2 months, it seems as though Dr. Denis S. Lowe has CHANGED his “position” on the “Charter for Change” since becoming a parliamentary minister.

Lowe has remained silent on the issue of Stuart twice “invoking” the extended 90 day period after the dissolution of parliament, before calling the general elections. And he is ACTIVELY CAMPAIGNING to ENSURE Freundel Stuart secures another term in office (without the “five year absence from the post”).

The suggestion of establishing a “National Commission On Integrity And Transparency” to investigate the actions of politicians “that give rise to allegations of corruption and ensure that the people’s business be done in a manner that reflects decency and honesty……………

………….seems to have “gone through the window.” Perhaps Lowe is scared that he and a number of his colleagues may come under investigation if the Commission was actually established.
    The allegation that Lowe and Michael Lashley have been driving SUVs owned by Trans Tech Inc., created some suspicion or conflict of interest issues because the vehicles owned by the SSA, which falls under Lowe’s “portfolio,” and buses owned by the Transport Board (which falls under Michael Lashley “portfolio,” are repaired by the said Trans Tech Inc.

There have also been allegations of corruption level against other members of Freundel Stuart’s Cabinet………..

…………and since Lowe became an elected member of parliament, he has not mentioned anything from his “Charter for Change” to his colleagues, in parliament, at constituency branch meetings or at DLP annual conferences.

Under these circumstances, surely it would be in the interest of Lowe and his colleagues if they were “to disclose all their assets prior to the time of the” upcoming general election.

This is a perfect example of the hypocrisy of politicians.

18. William Skinner Avatar

“millertheanunnaki March 12, 2018 at 8:28 AM #
    @ William Skinner March 12, 2018 at 6:07 AM #
    “@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service
    “Kick them all out, vote them out, not one seat.”
    Question : And then what ? Watch as thirty Bees destroy what little is left ?
    Talk to me my friend ………….”

WS,
    You seem to be conflicted while behaving like the ‘see no evil-hear no evil-speak no evil’ Marching monkey.

On the one hand you promote actively the replacement of the BDLP (the same-sex-six-is-half-dozen-bibby-dibby’ party) with some third party or parties.

On the other hand, you seem to have given up all hope of any third party replacing the current DLP administration?

Why do you see the “Bees” as the electoral Hobson’s choice?

Why NOT Solutions Barbados or UPP or even Bim, all the same thing with the synonym AMB (Anti-MAM Brigade)?

Why aren’t you playing your cards straight by laying them on the electoral betting table?

Why not try your luck in the anti-MAM race by backing a specific third party horse of your choice as the ‘Solution’ to the BDLP (Bee-Dem long-playing) tweedling problem or spread you wager (odds) behind any No. 3 ‘dark horse’ in the Hobson’s race?

Skins man, jump off your imaginary fence and declare the true ‘colour’ of your ‘skin’ in the upcoming electoral game!”

I have long declared in this blog and in both public newspapers that our country has no futureunder the BLPDLP. If you really read this blog, you would note that i am often reminded, much to my amusement, that i lost my deposit as a candidate for a third party National Democratic Party (NDP) almost 27 years ago. To me it is a badge of considerable honour.

So, i really can’t see where you going with this. i have already endorsed every third party and independent and they have my support. If that is sitting on the fence , I plead guilty.

Now uh gine ask you the same question: After we give de Bees all 30 seats what next.

Barbados deserves more than thsi musical chairs democracy.

#enuff

19. The SSA refuse collector passed the neighbourhood for the first time in one month and I noticed the truck was a smaller version than customary, a vehicle that is about 15-20 years old.I wondered where that old MTW compactor truck came from however it was working well enough to remove the 4 weeks of garbage piled up at the roadside.

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ Gabriel

Apparently they still left some LOL.

#enough

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Caswell Franklyn

In response to your cry Dems Now DEMS NOT AGAIN de grandson send you this

He had suggested that you put it on your Facebook page or on your Whatsapp and send it to all your contacts but de ole man said dat that might not be the best thing for you to do as a Credit Union man because they might only seek to lock you up for formenting civil disobdience

https://i.imgur.com/gOnENrY.png

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ William Skinner March 12, 2018 at 9:07 PM

William, we are glad to hear you are no longer sitting on the fence.

So where are you now with your political knickers in a twist other being completely in the midst of the third parties’ kerfuffle?

Where do your loyalties actually ‘lie’ with these third parties?

Unless these varying third parties come under one coalition of Opposition to replace the governing party (BDLP) then the opportunity for change is as elusively magical as OSA becoming PM under a UPP government.

You just cannot place your bet behind each competing third party vying for the same top dog position. You are either for one or none at all. You just cannot serve two ‘third-rated’ masters.

Here is a tip to point you to the right ‘third party’ betting booth:

Go for Solutions Barbados

They appear to be the most viable of the ‘third-parties’ lot.
    At least their spokesperson on economic and financial matters, Scott Weatherhead, spins a convincingly good yarn. The guy Scott has a sharp intellect and is able to spot illogicalities, bullshit partisan waffle and downright lies from early.

He just needs to thread his intellectually fine-tuned needle to sew’ you over to his side.

23. William Skinner Avatar

“millertheanunnaki March 13, 2018 at 3:03 PM #
    @ William Skinner March 12, 2018 at 9:07 PM

William, we are glad to hear you are no longer sitting on the fence.

So where are you now with your political knickers in a twist other being completely in the midst of the third parties’ kerfuffle?

Where do your loyalties actually ‘lie’ with these third parties?

Unless these varying third parties come under one coalition of Opposition to replace the governing party (BDLP) then the opportunity for change is as elusively magical as OSA becoming PM under a UPP government.

You just cannot place your bet behind each competing third party vying for the same top dog position. You are either for one or none at all. You just cannot serve two ‘third-rated’ masters.

Here is a tip to point you to the right ‘third party’ betting booth:

Go for Solutions Barbados

They appear to be the most viable of the ‘third-parties’ lot.
    At least their spokesperson on economic and financial matters, Scott Weatherhead, spins a convincingly good yarn. The guy Scott has a sharp intellect and is able to spot illogicalities, bullshit partisan waffle and downright lies from early.

He just needs to thread his intellectually fine-tuned needle to sew’ you over to his side.”

Quite frankly, I like Lynette Eastmond but I can’t get a clear picture of what is happening on the ground with the UPP. Grenville is making some head way and I have also heard the economic spokesman. I notice that whenever all the parties are on brasstacks etc, the BLPDLP spokesmen make less sense.
    I am also hoping that my Comrade and friend,Randall Rouse, independent candidate in St. Joseph, pull off what will be the biggest upset in our post independence era.
    However I can openly state that Ian Edghill (BLP) and a former NDP Young National , will be an asset to the House of Assembly.

I can now state on BU that I am endorsing Solutions Barbados to be the next government of Barbados and Grenville Phillips as Prime Minister.