Click Barbados Today image to read article
David Comissiong Responds to Barbados Today story – BLP PLOT – see this February 2012 PEP Press Release:

PEOPLES EMPOWERMENT PARTY

AFTER SKEETE’S BAY, BROWNE’S BEACH IS NEXT IN LINE!

As a result of a protest launched by Mac Fingall, Stedson Wiltshire, and other residents of St Philip, the eyes of the Barbadian people are fixed on Skeete’s Bay!

But the Peoples Empowerment Party (PEP) wishes to warn the citizens of Barbados that an even more prominent and culturally important beach is in danger of being taken away from native Barbadians and turned into an enclave for wealthy, white North American and European tourists! We refer to none other than Brown’s Beach – the world famous Browne’s Beach that extends across the length of Carlisle Bay in the parish of St Michael.

All Barbadians know Browne’s Beach. It is reputed to be one of the finest beaches in the world, and, along with Brandon’s Beach, is the beach of choice of the black, working-class people of Barbados.

It is also a beach that is famous in the native literature of Barbados. Our very own national poet laureate – Kamau Brathwaite – virtually grew up on Browne’s beach, and was so shaped by this experience that Browne’s Beach became the spiritual and cultural source and centre of a number of his most important poems.

Go to Browne’s Beach any time of the day and any day of the week, and you will find hundreds of black Barbadians communing with each other, and enjoying this magnificent and priceless component of their birth-right. Indeed, many Barbadians will tell you that Browne’s Beach is their health spa and doctor combined together, for it is the place where they escape from the stresses of life and rejuvenate their spirits.

It is against this background that we in the PEP were recently shocked to learn that one or more business consultants are currently engaged in developing a plan to offer up Browne’s Beach as the location for a number of foreign, brand-name hotel companies to construct opulent five star hotels on this most loved of Barbadian beaches!

The President of the PEP has actually spoken to one of the consultants, and heard the same type of unedifying and self-serving rationalizations that the Canadian capitalist – Paul Doyle – has advanced in relation to the Skeete’s Bay project. According to these people, we Barbadians should be willing to let go of national assets like Browne’s Beach because we are dependent on foreign exchange, and foreign companies are well equipped to market their properties internationally and to bring additional thousands of precious tourists to our shores.

All of these capitalist businessmen talk as though the people of Barbados only exist on the material plane – as though we Barbadians are similar to pigs whose only purpose in life is to be fattened! They all seem to overlook that we are human beings with spiritual, cultural and psychological yearnings and needs!

Well, before this private sector driven idea of turning over Browne’s Beach to “foreign brand-name hotels” gets any further, the PEP is hereby firing a warning shot across the bow of our Ministry of Tourism, and indeed, across the bow of the entire Cabinet. And we are telling them that Browne’s Beach is much too sacred to the native people of Barbados for us to stand idly by and permit it to become an alien zone that is effectively off limits to us.

As it is, we Barbadian people are already sharing Browne’s Beach with a sizeable number of North American and European tourists. And we are happy to do so. But a balance must be maintained, and Browne’s Beach must never be permitted to become one of your typical West Coast beaches – beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them!

Furthermore, the time has come when we Barbadians must consciously set out to take firm control of our nation, and mould it in accordance with our own ideas, needs and predilections.

We have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based in the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians.

Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Browne’s Bay, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Brown’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!

DAVID A. COMISSIONG

President

72 responses to “Foolish Freundel and the Ridiculous Barbados Today Story”

1. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Dr. Simple Simon,

This is what i mean when i say that Bajans are not particularly bright.

Why are you attacking me? I’m a simple foreign apostle bringing the truth to a people who have developed hard ears.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/03/01/dont-close-the-south-coast-business-owner-say/

2. @ Simple Simon
    It is good that you put no money into CLICO. Hopefully you invested in other sound areas.

It is good that you do not invest in a car.
    Presumably you also do not have a cellphone, microwave, TV, modern roof or a solar system ….. and you obviously borrow a computer to blog when the owner is asleep…

Do you grasp the message of the talents?
    How was it of any value to have buried the talents in the sand ?

If you understood your TRUE status as a human being – especially of the original black race, you would NEVER feel overwhelmed by having the best possible of things….or of your ability to EARN the right to enjoy such.
    It is an ingrained slave mentality that drives such feelings of guilt in our minds….and lead us to do as little as possible …and to expect the bare minimum for ourselves.

Princes and Princesses EXPECT to enjoy the very best that life has to offer, because they have what it takes to EARN it.
    It is a natural mindset….
    Slaves do not.

3. @Dr. Simple Simon March 2, 2018 at 5:58 AM #

Simple,

Working in a public office is WAR. The boss is the general and must lead his army by example. Barbados had to suffer this soft approach with weak men on the top by far too long. To reform the public service, you need drastic measures. The soft way with many consulants, absent and/or weak and/or incompetent bosses, 20 working hours net per week and many commissions and lots of paperwork did nothing good to Barbados.

The Barbados civil service failed under every aspect for the last decade. It is time either to fire people or to make them work.

As the grand Machiavelli said: “From this arises the question whether it is better to be loved more than feared, or feared more than loved. The reply is, that one ought to be both feared and loved, but as it is difficult for the two to go together, it is much safer to be feared than loved, if one of the two has to be wanting.”

4. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Tron at 11:06 AM

Your Machiavellian approach to governance is doomed to fail. So I hope you have little or no input to policy formulation going forward. A far more productive approach is to get buy- in from all stakeholders.
    Massa Days Done.

5. Dr. Simple Simon March 2, 2018 at 6:27 AM #

The truth is neither you nor Hal know whether using Culpepper for recreation is an excellent idea or not. We cannot know until environmental/social/economic studies are done.(Quote)

Dr Simple,
    I am sure you know this, but I will say it anyway. Before undertaking a major policy programme, you have a series of discussions, including public discussions. You also undertake a cost/benefit analysis (in this case, across generations) before going ahead.
    You do not just pluck an idea out of the sky and introduce it. I know that in Barbados policy is determined by which party is in power. My ideas for implementation are a bit more rational.

6. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Bush Tea March 2, 2018 at 10:04 AM “It is good that you do not invest in a car. Hopefully you invested in other sound areas.”

It is good that you do not invest in a car.

A car is NOT an investment, ya poppit.

Of course I made sound investments in other areas. Said investments are paying huge dividends. HUGE.

7. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Talking Loud Saying Nothing March 2, 2018 at 10:01 AM “I’m a simple foreign apostle”

I don’t like missionary positions, foreign or local.

Lol!!!

8. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Bush Tea March 2, 2018 at 10:04 AM “It is good that you do not invest in a car.
    Presumably you also do not have a cellphone, microwave, TV, modern roof or a solar system …and you obviously borrow a computer to blog when the owner is asleep…Princes and Princesses EXPECT to enjoy the very best that life has to offer, because they have what it takes to EARN it.”

Have a TV but haven’t turned it on in years. Do you want to buy a lightly used second hand tv?
    Have a solar system (yes that IS an investment), and man you must be peeping over my shoulder, because you know what, this computer IS borrowed. Why should I buy one when I can borrow one for free?

I am no prince or princess. I have no wish to be a prince or princess. Don’t have much respect for princes and princesses. Do you know of any prince or princess who actually earns a living? As far as I can see most of them are bloody parasites.

No. I don’t want to be like them.

They are NOT my role models.

9. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Tron March 2, 2018 at 11:06 AM “…the grand Machiavelli…”

Machiavelli, the second rate princeling.

Stupssseee!!!

10. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Tron March 2, 2018 at 11:06 AM “Working in a public office is WAR. The boss is the general.”

No it is not.

No he or she is not no darn general.

Tobesides war and warriors are too highly venerated.

Where has all the warfare got the world?

11. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

Dear Bush Tea:

Sorry that I could not respond sooner.

But I was in my counting house, counting out my money.

Lol!!!

A blessed night to you.

12. Some of these CLICO voters and dead and won’t come out to vote. Some are dying and won’t be able to come out.

We are dealing in 10’s of thousands I believe from what I read!!

Some may indded be dead but their relatives benefit from the payouts to their estates of monies invested with CLICO to benefit from the astronomical interest rates promised …. that’s a multiplication factor.

So Froon gets $$ to voters …. entirely legally … and just when it matters!!

Now we wait to see if it is just another promise or for real!!

BTW, just to keep things in perspective, how does Al Barak’s payout compare with the promised CLICO payout?

I presume since he is quiet he got most.

13. Al Barak probably made more noise than all of the CLICO “voters” combined!!!

Who do you think Al and his kinfolks will vote for after the payout?

14. Before the payout we can safely say who commonsense would indicate they would not support!!!!!

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington March 2, 2018 at 1:33 PM

So how would you describe the Singapore ‘model of success’? Machiavellian or “buy-in from all stakeholders”?

Would you say the Bajan ‘social partnership’ model is succeeding?

How can there be success when the ‘partners’ are untrustworthy of one another with one of them with the pathological disposition to lie to your face and disregard commitments with impunity?

16. @ Dr. (Mock) Simple Simon
    Dear Bush Tea:
    Sorry that I could not respond sooner.
    But I was in my counting house, counting out my money.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Dear Mock Doc.
    How would you describe someone with enough money to fill up a counting house, and that takes forever to count …but who:
    – take up space in poor peoples ZR vans when the day comes…
    – borrows, (and types a lotta shiite into) someone else computer every night when the owner goes to bed
    – exists off soup and fishcakes for the most part… ?

Shiite SS
    The only thing worse that being poor and destitute ….is being rich and destitute.
    Your talents are buried in the counting house.
    You will be found wanting when the boss comes back…

Besides which, if you ever took a ride in a benz
    …you will see why Froon don’t want to leave office….
    …and why he wanted to outdo the bushman with the latest model.

17. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Miller, I would offer the hybrid model of the buy-in after the leader has instilled overwhelming fear is often in use!

Many examples seen around the world : Putin, Jinping and Duterte spring to mind with Trump not far behind.

We rightly bash Stuart for his disposition to lie and disregard for commitments but every political empire practices those principles diligently.

The burden must fall to us voters to curb political misbehaviour with an affirmative vote for a viable opposition…whenever that opposition offers solid change. In turn they too can be voted out.

This DLP regime must be dismissed and reduced to three or so as the BLP was several years ago. The country needs that cleansing.

18. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Bush Tea March 3, 2018 at 9:22 AM “exists off soup and fishcakes for the most part.

Soup–Yes.
    Fishcakes–No.

19. Was a big fan of DC. But the stance he took concerning the young women who chose to protest the appearance of Ralphie suggests that though we may share similar opinions on some things, we consider different cows as sacred.

20. @ The Word aka the DpD

Start back over again is going to be rough is an old song that is playing in de ole boy’s head as I try to catch up reading what has passed here for roughly six months.

It is a long time that we have not spoken for various reasons but I noted that you recently said and I quote

“…The burden must fall to us voters to curb political misbehaviour with an affirmative vote for a viable opposition…whenever that opposition offers solid change. In turn they too can be voted out.

This DLP regime must be dismissed and reduced to three or so as the BLP was several years ago. The country needs that cleansing…”

In just 5 lines you have said what De ole man has been saying in 30 lines …

But tell De ole man why dem ent jump pun you like dem jump pun he?

Could it be that it is because you left three seats for the Demonic Lying Party while De ole man sees them losing, and hopes they do lose EVERY RH SEAT?

The tree of democracy needs pruning periodically.

In the face of the malfeasance that is what the DLP has been subjecting Barbados to, it is only reasonable that they be dislodged from the Parliament of Barbados conclusively and MADE TO NEVER INFECT ITS HALLS EVER AGAIN FOR 25 YEARS

They were a failed experiment and proved that they only knew how to win and artful election campaign with billboards that emoted votes then with a cuhdear dem only had five years addendum.

That train has left the station.

It is time to move on

21. Fractured BLP Avatar

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.trinidadexpress.com/news/local/not-so-fast—archie-convinced-to-defer-sabbatical/article_a72cfefa-23b1-11e8-8583-8f4e0ba0364d.amp.html

I sincerely hope that MAM destroyed all the photographs -,with she and her ” girlfriends ” !!!

Oooopps …..I forgot Well well gave me a bag full of more photos this morning !!!!

🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈

22. This latest uproar over the usage of cell phones in cars makes the clear case that these idiots should have left the corridors of office long, long time.

The Police interpret the law one way and were adamant in their interpretation at a press conference……… all of Barbadians then got upset and then all kinda things flying around social media.

Brasstacks becomes hot with people asking for clarification and then enters the clown called Michael Lashley. He was so out of his depths that to cover his incompetence he took to laughing as if it was all a joke. Ellis, so as not to further expose the fool, laughed along.

Heaven help if it were a BLP minister being found so incompetent………Ellis would have done the dog!

We can all see what happens when laws are rushed by a bunch of wildboys……..