David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados, Prsident, Clement Payne Movement

I have been informed that Prime Minister Freundel Stuart declared in the House of Assembly today (Friday the 16th of February 2018) that his Government has just instituted a measure to pardon all those Barbadian martyrs who were convicted of criminal offences in the People’s Uprising of July 1937.

Well I have news for Mr Stuart — he is approximately twenty-two (22) years too late!

You see, way back in the mid 1990’s the late Dr. Richie Haynes MP— political leader of the National Democratic Party (NDP) — laid a Resolution before the House of Assembly that called upon the Government of Barbados to “pronounce an official pardon of all of those patriots who were convicted of criminal offences arising out of the riots of 1937 and expunge these criminal convictions from the official records”, and not only was the Resolution passed by the House, but the Cabinet of the then ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) effected the authorized pardons.

And so, not only must the credit of engineering the pardons of the martyrs of 1937 go to Dr Haynes and the NDP, but it should also be noted that Dr. Haynes— speaking on behalf of the NDP—  also called for Clement Payne to be designated a national hero and for the establishment of “an appropriate public monument to commemorate the sacrifices made by the many Barbadians who gave their lives or were wounded or imprisoned or victimized in the 1937 riots” — two demands that came to fruition between 1996 and 1999 with the designation of the ten national heroes of Barbados and the construction of the “monument to the martyrs” in Golden Square in Bridgetown.

Indeed, I remember all of this quite well, because, as a then member of the NDP, I partnered with Dr Haynes in crafting these demands.

But this is not the first time that this Democratic Labour Party government has played the trick of repeating (and claiming credit for) something that had already be accomplished before. Why, just last month– in January 2018– Mr Stuart’s Administration made a big song and dance about appointing Anthony “Mighty Gabby” Carter a Cultural Ambassador of Barbados– something that had already been done as long ago as the year 2004 by  Mr Owen Arthur’s Barbados Labour Party administration.

This DLP administration seems to have bought in to the notion that “Barbadians have short memories”. That might be true of some of us, but I can assure Messers Stuart and company that it is not true of all of us.

106 responses to “Not So Fast Freundel | It Was Dr. Richie Haynes Who Engineered Pardons for the MARTYRS of 1937”

1. Dr Simple Simon. You definitely living up to your moniker, simply simple without the Dr. I should use the profession of A Historian since these people gives us an idea of what happened in the past. I could have asked you the question “Have you ever heard about any negro name BUSSA from Africa? If so, can you give BU where this negro BUSSA originated?

If you cannot answer the question, be a simple simon and shut up.

2. Bussa was an ancient capital in Nigeria.

Barbados needs a new Bussa. We need a purge. A big purge. We need a prosciption list and an ostracism for the black elite and their white donors from the construction industry.

3. What does it matter ? Those people are long dead and gone.What does it do for them? What does it say to the living? Stand up for right and only get justice when you are gone ? Justice is for the living.This is place is deprecating into greater and greater stupidity every day.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The british museum has documentation of a BUSSA, a slave from AFRICA, leading a slave rebellion in Barbados, just as it has documentation and names of slaves leading rebellions on other islands, Bussa is definitely one, all the nancy stories being told by twistorians does not come with any such documentation……the wannabe historians on the island trying to twist history to suit their ugly agendas have no such documentation..

…… the governors of those slave days kept explicitly written records and journals of ALL their crimes against Africans, all of which can be found in british museums, dont expect twistorians on the island to have any such records, their ancestors were just one level above slaves and had no access to that information.

What a useless minister of transport, a definite purge is needed.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/130782/coach

“Schoolchildren in Barbados could soon be travelling in the comfort of tour buses.

Minister of Transport and Works Michael Lashley confirmed this yesterday, pointing out the ministry had been approached by owners of coaches who were willing to assist in moving schoolchildren.

This is as a result of the acute shortage of buses at the state-owned Transport Board which has led to children being stranded at some rural schools for several hours on afternoons or on mornings, unable to get to school on time.

“We have to speak to the Ministry of Education first about it, but the Ministry [of Transport] feels safer with the coaches. That is the preferred option, Lashley said, as he explained that owners of public service vehicles were also given a proposal “and are supposed to get back to us”.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot…stop lying on Payne, he was trying to educate Black bajans to their plight so they would grow some backbone and have some dignity, learn to protest and stand up for their human rights and stop allowing the low class whites on the island to exploit their vulnerable, fragile conditions, steal their labor as was the norm back then and refuse to pay them decent wages, leaving them and their children to struggle and starve in poverty…you lying skunk.

People are still alive today to tell the truth, not everyone is dead from that era.

Simple…there is authentic documentation for Bussa’s existence in the UK, don’t mind these jackasses, they just like spreading false information around the island because they are still unable to accept certain truths about their own history, knowing full well that neither slave nor indentured servant had access to any documents back then. ..they still dont have access to many documents of that era, unless they visit UK museums..

Because they dont have access to the documentation, it does not mean none exists I have learned to take what a lot of people on the island say about their own history, of which they still know very little and care to know even less, with a spoon of salt….most times they never want to face reality but are comfortable with nancy stories.

6. stop lying on Payne, he was trying to educate Black Bajans

How long does it take to educate a person?

Clement Payne was in Barbados in 1937 for a month or two!!

7. Because they dont have access to the documentation, it does not mean none exists …

You are living in fantasy land.

I have provided all the documentation anyone could need to see that the origin of the name Bussa/Bussoe/Busso is not African.

It is all on the internet in the slave registers which were meticulously prepared between 1817 and 1834.

I’ll provide the evidence from previous postings here ….. AGAIN!!

8. Simple put it works like this.

In the population of 800,000 slaves freed at emancipation throughout the British Empire, tre African names can be found in all territories, from Barbados to Mauritius.

Bussa/Busso/Bussoe is a name peculiar to Barbados.

9. John July 17, 2012 at 8:04 AM #
    An easy way (but not necessarily definitive way) of checking if Bussa was an African name is to go to ancestry.com and search the 1817 register of slaves in British Colonial dependencies.
    http://search.ancestry.co.uk/search/db.aspx?dbid=1129
    Put in Keywords 1817 to restrict the search to 1817 otherwise you will get from returns of 1820, 1823, 1826, 1829, 1832 and 1834.
    I found two names, one in Barbados and the other in Jamaica.
    Then choose a name of undisputed African origin and see what turns up.
    I tried Quasheba.
    I found 1,162 in various places including Barbados, Jamaica, St. Christopher, Nevis, Antigua, Grenada and St. Vincent.
    Cuffy gave 670 instances, again distributed among colonial dependencies.
    While it is possible that very few slaves may have come from Bussa, I have tended to think that Bussa is not a name of African origin.
    If I try Busso, I get 15, all of them in Barbados.
    If I try Bussoe, I get 36, all in Barbados except one who was in St. Christopher.
    It is possible Bussa is a corruption of Busso or Bussoe but I feel these other names are Barbadian and not African in origin because they were not distributed among various other colonial dependencies.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

You are a liar Liesalot, you cannot provide me with any documentation I would believe….

from the OAS to british archives says the same thing, no descendant of indentured servants can change history….that is what he was called….what the hell do you know, you dont even know your own complete history outside of the fantasies you make up.

“BUSSA*
    (??? – 1816)
    Bussa

In history, he is recorded as Bussa, or Busso or Bussoe. But whatever his original and true name, there is no doubt that he is the most fascinating freedom fighter in the annals of Barbados.

Like thousands of his countrymen, he was born a free man in Africa, but was captured and brought to Barbados in the late 18th Century as a slave.

“Bussa’s rebellion (14–16 April 1816) was the largest slave revolt in Barbadian history. The rebellion takes its name from the African-born slave, Bussa, who led the rebellion which was defeated by British forces. Bussa’s Rebellion was the first of three large-scale slave rebellions in the British West Indies that shook public faith in slavery in the years leading up to the abolition of slavery in the British Empire and emancipation of former slaves. It was followed by the large-scale rebellion in Demerara in 1823 and by an even larger rebellion in Jamaica in 1831–32. Collectively these are often referred to as the “late slave rebellions”.

11. That article was submitted by Yardbroom way back in 2012.

Yardbroom posited that “It is best to tell you where I am heading, before you are taken on this short journey. I believe he, “Bussa” came from the village of Bussa which is between Birni Yauri and Jessao on the Niger River. Before you ask.

It is not simply a matter of choosing a place in Africa with the name of Bussa and supposing he came from there. So a few feasible pointers are required to support my conjecture.

It is believed a large number of African slaves who were brought to the Caribbean were Igbo or Nigerian. Why was he called Bussa? He could have wanted to stamp his identity by stating how he wanted to be called. . . that is my name Bussa. He therefore choose as a name where he was born. Africans saw themselves at the time as being from particular tribes and not just being from a large continent.”

In 2017, a couple of comments were added to that thread started way back in 2012!!

Uju August 1, 2017 at 5:14 PM #
    Bussa is in Niger state in Nigeria. I am Igbo and Nigerian, and Igbos/Ibos are not from Bussa, what is probable in my opinion is that Bussa was probably “Igbuzo/Ibusa” which is Igbo speaking and in Delta state, also close to the River Niger.

YAW FREMPONG September 19, 2017 at 1:44 PM #
    Bussa could have been BUSIA, a name among the Ashanti/Akan tribal group in present day Ghana.

Kelechi Agu December 10, 2017 at 10:12 AM #
    If he was indeed of Igbo origin as many believe, then the name “Bosah” is a more plausible explanation. It’s a name that’s still given to males especially amongst Anambra folks.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Despite the enormous significance of the role he played, mystery surrounds Bussa. There is no reference to him in the records of Barbados’ plantations and, until 1816, we did not know he existed. Then suddenly there is the 1816 Rebellion and Bussa becomes real and a threat to white powers in the island.

That Rebellion, which began on Sunday, April 14, 1816, was the first slave uprising in this island for 124 years; the previous taking place in 1692.”

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Though the governors of the day kept impeccable records….those records were sent off to the UK often and not kept as any part of plantation records, hence much of what took place will always be missing from any records on the island..

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

So how long would it have taken Payne to indoctrinate starving, overworked, exploited people who were still facing reenslavement……. with your communist lies?…answer that.

You love to tell lies on Black people, even though that era has passed,

15. “Schoolchildren in Barbados could soon be travelling in the comfort of tour buses.”

@ WW&C

Based on information received, I have to agree with your comment that it is the intention of Michael Lashley to privatize the Transport Board. I also mentioned this last year in a contribution to this forum.

The Transport Board recently acquired 6 tour buses, (two of which I have seen parked at Mangrove Depot…BM337 & BM338)………..

……….to compete with the privately owned tour buses that ferry tourist from the Bridgetown port.

And the TB’s management is boasting about having only 62 units in operation per day.

Could you imagine that a Mercedes Marcopolo, BM42, was parked at Weymouth in need of licensing and insurance. If you visit Weymouth today you will see that bus stripped and propped on four barrels.

The Transport Board needs to be investigated.

16. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service February 18, 2018 at 7:39 AM #

Though the governors of the day kept impeccable records….those records were sent off to the UK often and not kept as any part of plantation records, hence much of what took place will always be missing from any records on the island..

++++++++++++++++++++++

… and will need to be manufactured!!

17. In America there is Fake News

In Barbados there is Fake History!!

18. John February 18, 2018 at 8:22 AM #

In Barbados there is Fake History!!(Quote)

None more so than Barrow as national hero, the father of independence and the man who introduced ‘free’ secondary education. Whatever happened to secondary education in Barbados until Barrow introduced ‘free’ education in 1963?
    Myth-making is our national secret.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Art…the question is…how much will taxpayers have to pay for those tour bus rides for school kids, all the years of stupid talk abous the bus srides being free for school kids is now exposed fir what it is,

How many millions of dollars will these private tour buses suck out of taxpayers before privatization, what are the terms of the contracts, knowing the history of these numb skills of parliament and their lack of any intelligent skills in negotiating anything to benefit anyone except themselves and whichever minority would bribe them…..what will be the loss to taxpayers this time….with an expected onsided contract.

“and will need to be manufactured!!”

But not by you…a descendant of indentured servants, known for your lies.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lashley needs to be investigated thoroughly by any new government taking office…for criminal activities against taxpayers..

knowing the history of these numb skulls of parliament and their lack of any intelligent skills in negotiating anything to benefit anyone except themselves and whichever minority would bribe them…what will be the loss to taxpayers this time.

21. knowing the history of these numb skulls of parliament and their lack of any intelligent skills in negotiating anything to benefit anyone except themselves and whichever minority would bribe them…what will be the loss to taxpayers this time.

You are sounding more and more like Donald Trump!!!

So you understand now why a lot of the Private Sector don’t need to take risks!!!

The GOB and Taxpayers are there for the taking.

Risk taking involves a deep abiding faith.

It is based on “though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil…”

Faith removes fear.

That’s one of the fundamental reasons why Quakers were so successful in business, they literally “cast their bread upon the water” and it came back to them!!

I once faced a life threatening situation.

I had no fear!!

I walked away bloodied but alive and rejoicing and elated.

All I could think of was “thou prepares a table before me in the presence of mine enemies”

Then a buddy when he heard of my experience sent me Psalm 91 that curled my hair!!

” He will cover you with his feathers,
    and under his wings you will find refuge;
    his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
    You will not fear the terror of night,
    nor the arrow that flies by day,
    nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
    nor the plague that destroys at midday.
    A thousand may fall at your side,
    ten thousand at your right hand,
    but it will not come near you.
    You will only observe with your eyes
    and see the punishment of the wicked.

22. The only reason I walked away bloodied was because for one brief instant I tried to take matters into my own hands!!

23. … and I saw the perpetrator end up in Dodds, fearful that someone was trying to poison him by feeding him rat bait!!

His own mind is killing him.

Yet, he has a solution provided for him!!

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal Austin February 17, who posted : “de pedantic Dribbler …Please clarify why a man of your journo background and who has enough contacts in the money world cannot and HAS not pulled together the financial backing to support a group of journalism students (from UWI or BCCl and related professionals to complete just that project! (Quote)……Is this a joke, if it is I do not think it is funny.”

Why would it be a joke, senor.

It’s one thing to trade barbs here and encourage John with his biased interpretations but quite another to actually move beyond idle talk and engage. It’s one thing to palaver rather well in your ‘Native Son Notes’ or encourage students and young professionals during your various interactions in UK but again quite another to move to action on your key projects.

Surely you have done some active stuff (I can only presume) and I respect your career accomplishments so this is no attack on any of that but continually harping here on what you have proposed seems absolutely ineffective and ridiculous.

I have sat in meetings and heard similiar pronouncements and I can attest that they had absolutely no connection to your ideas…thus I can safely extrapolate that others had similiar ideas …so are you tying to stake out some ‘I told you so’ path! To what avail?

The old folks who saw the 37 riots are on the way out as you said so why not move to action.

To pompesette about your recommendations on projects which you yourself can actually work to facilitate is ridiculous at this point….because it’s not yet too late.

Lots of people think of doing great things…we record and recognize those who actually take part in doing them….if you want to remain a recorder then so be it as that is a nobel path….but surely the preambling chatter becomes rather strangely vain glorious as it is before the fact!

25. de pedantic Dribbler February 18, 2018 at 10:29 AM #

I am not sure why you are on about action. I am retired. I mean I am retired. No more work, voluntary or paid. I am retired, but not yet dumb. Just retired. No more work. Retired. Done working. Not even part-time or voluntary. Finished. Not even working around the house at home. Done. I am no mentor or worker or overseer or manager. Done.

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Liesalot…no I dont, trump is about to be impeached or go to prison for crimes, I have no such problems, my brain works just fine, I read way about the level of a fourth grader and write way above the level of a first grader …

…there goes your inexplicable fantasies and blatant untruths again.

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Any incoming government will have to use brain power and high intelligence……with NO CORRUPTION to successfully manage the country….that rules out the current government completely.

“News > Latin America
    Caribbean Should Raise Taxes to Fight Evasion: Global Groups

The Caribbean was one of the many regions implicated in the infamous Paradise Papers list of tax
    Published 18 February 2018

“The entire international community needs to eradicate tax evasion and tax avoidance,” World Bank president, Yong Kim, said.
    International and regional organizations say the taxes in the Caribbean should be raised to best assist their needs in public sectors and meet the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Tax systems in the Caribbean are ineffective, a collection of concerned international groups said Saturday, stating that the all-around domestic resource distribution should be revised to eliminate tax evasion and tax fraud.

Among the more vocal international groups are the United Nations, the World Bank, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and the International Monetary Fund.

According to the World Bank, in a region filled with developing countries, the Caribbean nations are faced with the challenge of raising sufficient revenue needed to provided public services such as road infrastructure, healthcare and public safety.

“Governments and relevant stakeholders also need to continue to work together on establishing a fair and efficient system of international taxation,” the World Bank said.

World Bank president, Jim Yong Kim, added that in order to fulfill the requirements of international concords such as the SDGs, which he described as both an economic and ethical imperative, the Caribbean must first be able to raise enough revenue.

“The entire international community needs to eradicate tax evasion and tax avoidance,” Yong Kim said.

The Caribbean was one of the many regions implicated in the infamous Paradise Papers, which listed tax havens where the world’s one percent stash their millions far from home and the native government’s hands.”

28. @Hal Austin
    I wish you could teach me the resolve that you have in accepting retirement…….”No more work. Retired. Done working. Not even part-time or voluntary. Finished. Not even working around the house at home. Done. I am no mentor or worker or overseer or manager. Done.”

I believe that men were put down here on earth to work, and I find it hard not to be doing anything at all. I am not criticizing you Sir. But having worked in some way from very small, I find not working or being able to work tough.

I have decided just to give thanks and to “run with patience the race that is set before ” me Hebrews 12:1…….but it is not easy.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The dumbing down of the Black man, woman, child.

“A Negropean or Afropean is a person who either deliberately, or unconsciously betrays their own group by participating in its oppression (claiming ignorance does not prevent one from being a Negropean or Afropean. In fact ignorance is one of the major causes of Negropeangitis.

Also see “House Negro” which refers to a house slave of a slave owner from the historic period of legal slavery in the US. During slavery, there were two kinds of slaves: “house Negroes,” who worked in the master’s house and “field Negroes,” who performed the manual labor outside. The house Negro having a better life than the field Negro, was unwilling to leave the plantation, and potentially more likely to support existing power structures that favor whites over blacks. Malcolm X identified with the field Negro…Negropeans or Afropeans are anti revolution.”

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal Austin, your quote “I am not sure why you are on about action. I am retired. I mean I am retired. No more work, voluntary or paid. I am retired, but not yet dumb. Just retired. No more work. Retired. Done working. Not even part-time or voluntary. Finished. Not even working around the house at home. Done. I am no mentor or worker or overseer or manager. Done.”

Kudos to you and congratulations.

I honestly thought that in retirement your intent here was not only to share your experience but move beyond keyboard BS….BECAUSE you now had the time, solid financial grounding and vast experience/knowledge.

Buddy if your stated purpose in life now (based on your writings here) is to berate Barrow and revisit the historical narrative surrounding him and that era; equally berate and revise Arthur’s tenure; encourage one more biased researcher cum historian; and wax poetically of the grand things you have recommended then proceed apace.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with being a curmudgeon … well not really…..of course if you have fitness and health and a well functioning brain and refuse to use them more meaningfully than being a surly critic there certainly is.

But enough. I get you bro. Enjoy retirement. You deserve your R&R. Not another nit from me.

31. The idea of living ones life as defined as a delimiter is myopic. The retirement mindset is a man made construct. Individuals, ALL, must endeavour to add value to the ecosystem until we die.

32. Until God is ready for me I hope to be fit and able enough to work.

33. … and sometimes work does not attract wages, just the pleasure of knowing you are doing something worthwhile!!

34. What Sir Richard Haynes pardoned who ?

Only His Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart can pardon any Barbadian .

Miller & Artax would be glad fuh a pardon but they are from Greece 🇬🇷 ??

35. Georgie Porgie February 18, 2018 at 12:07 PM #

Not just work, I have a house full of books – the attic, spare bedroom and garden shed – that I now want to offload. That is the painful bit. A lifetime of collection – even the book I got from JO Morris when I left St Giles.
    Kids have no interest in physical books. I would prefer to give them to a community library or Waterford on condition that they be used as a reference and not lend to individuals, but whoever gets them will have to pay for shipment.

36. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Fractured yardfowl…yall need to get out the peoples parliament.

just over 2 weeks to go until it has to close…trying to ride out an additional 4 months will get you nowhere, yall gotta go.

37. re Hal Austin February 18, 2018 at 2:19 PM
    I have a house full of books – the attic, spare bedroom and garden shed – that I now want to offload.
    Kids have no interest in physical books.

I can understand both of the above statements well.
    I gave away or sold my medical texts in the 90s, and sold some of my books on Bible to a seminarian before I left to go teach medical school in 2001. I collected these through the years because I love to study the Word.
    These days there are some of the good old Bible commentaries online. Lots of good info online……….along with lots of error.

When I entered HC, we had to read a book called Tanglewood Tails. In the flyleaf was a dictum which I have never forgotten, which said..a A GOOD BOOK IS THE PRECIOUS LIFE BLOOD OF A MASTER SPIRIT.

Some one also taught me somewhere along the line NEVER LEND YOUR BOOKS OUT FOR YOU WILL NEVER GET THEM BACK. I have found this to be true if you have really good books.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP February 18, 2018 at 2:06 PM

LoL! What a perfect joke for a real Sun day of sporty comedy!

Broken man, like the south coast sewerage line, you have to be a real go(o)d to make Rasputin look like a fool of the Russian royal court.

Are you really that supremely go(o)d as to turn a princely black monkey from Marchfiled in the Scottish zoo of Stuarts into a king clown of niggardly niggering fools?

Who else would be on the list for the award of the Bajan GCM which has become under King Fumble the hallmark of excellence in the art of incompetence?

Now let us see who are those in the running to compete meritoriously for such a golden crown of sapphire excellence bright enough to reignite and reincarnate King Midas into the creator of the philosopher’s stone to hide away the holy grail of King Arthur’s shining sword in an unexplored cave under the Ilaro court of a billion star-like recesses of pending Parliamentary abuse.

What about the lame duck(ing) MoF Stinkliar in his incomparably stellar management of the economy whose promises and performances have been nothing but innovatively international benchmarks in how to manage a small openly vulnerable economy and a nation (once punching above its internationally-envied social weight) and to take it from investment and credit rating from Assured to Junk and soon Zilch to be on the brink of economic and social chaos in less time than it takes a bad boy from the urban Farm or rural ghetto of a Parish Land to find a gun to shoot up an electoral storm of fear in true Garrison School-originated style.

What about the Pitbull from Eastwick and the Lowedown whose biting piffle from his blackened mouth would make the spitting poison from the mouth of a komodo dragon taste like virgin vanilla ice cream?

Aren’t these two muzzled pond flies displaying the flight of perfect nuisances equally deserving of the medals of merit of sh**thole Bim as the swimming political bullfrogs in the forms of the crying-eyes crocodile the clown king-in-waiting Uncle Look-up MoT and the stentorian the Big-mouth Mr. Muffet the MoH the barking calming voice of the swamp spider of the pending South coast calamity?

39. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@John February 17, 2018 at 10:07 PM “EWB was old enough in 1940 to volunteer to go fight Hitler so in 1937 he would have known what was going on. Manningheim was born in 1931 so would have been only 6 but at least he was alive!”

You are being disingenuous. Both Errol Barrow and Tom Adams were from relatively privileged families, and in 1937 may have been unaware of the suffering of the poor black labourers…the suffering of people people like my parents.

40. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

@Tron February 17, 2018 at 11:47 PM “an ostracism for the black elite and their white donors from the construction industry.”

The white donors are not donors. The don’t give. They take. To quote Pierre Elliot Trudeau they are “corporate welfare bums”

Like hogs at the trough sucking up the taxpayers money with their over priced goods and services.

41. Did the Barbados Labour Party in October 2017 affirm its current leader as the one to lead the Party into 2018 elections?

42. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

John February 18, 2018 at 7:28 AM “I have tended to think that Bussa is not a name of African origin. If I try Busso, I get 15, all of them in Barbados. If I try Bussoe, I get 36, all in Barbados except one who was in St. Christopher. It is possible Bussa is a corruption of Busso or Bussoe but I feel these other names are Barbadian and not African in origin because they were not distributed among various other colonial dependencies.”

You are a real poppit you know. (Sorry David, I know that i am not supposed to cuss other bloggers.)

But ask John to search: John. Johnny, Jon, Jon-Jon.

James, Jim, Jimmy.

Robert, Robby, Bob, Rob.

Or ask John to open today’s Nation at the obits and tell me if he does not see a good number of people with a formal name, and another name by which they are commonly know in their communities.

I recall a woman in my village and it was only when she died that I discovered her formal names. For my whole life I had known her to answer to a first name and a last name neither of which were on her birth or baptismal certificate.

And he wants to present a false argument about whether the name is Bussa, Busso, Bussoe etc.

Stupseee!!!

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…dont mind the idiot Liesalot, the ladies are about to dismantle the destructive old boys club.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/02/18/women-must-dismantle-old-boys-club/

“Women must dismantle ‘old boys’ club’
    Added by Katrina King on February 18, 2018.

Women still have more rights on paper than in practice, Organization of American States representative to Barbados Francis McBarnette has suggested.

And he today urged women to challenge male privilege and the ‘old boys’ club’ while addressing the opening of an advocacy seminar hosted by the Bureau of Gender Affairs, the National Advisory Council of Gender and the Institute for Gender and Development Studies to celebrate the Day of Women in the Americas.

“This battle is yours to fight. It is yours to call arms,” he told the gathering at the 3Ws Oval at University of West Indies, Cave Hill Campus.

Francis McBarnette, Organization of American States representative to Barbados.

The OAS representative to Barbados charged that the inability to close this gap was one of the biggest obstacles that democratic governments faced as they sought to attain sustainable development, effective governance and human security he maintained it was possible

“Closing the implementation gap on women’s rights will be accomplished by women leaders – with the support and engagement of men and women champions in all sectors,” McBarnette stressed”

44. And he wants to present a false argument about whether the name is Bussa, Busso, Bussoe etc.

… maybe you were asleep but these names are the names given by historians … not me!!

http://abolition.e2bn.org/resistance_51.html

“Very little is known about Bussa (also known as Busso or Bussoe). He was born a free man in Africa in the 18th century, captured and brought to Barbados as a slave.”

I figured the bit about being born in Africa is pure rubbish, nor you are telling me the whole thing is pure rubbish.

Maybe you should just keep quiet because you are way out of your depth!!

45. … and I am not cussing nobody … just pointing out facts!!

46. You are being disingenuous. Both Errol Barrow and Tom Adams were from relatively privileged families, and in 1937 may have been unaware of the suffering of the poor black labourers…the suffering of people people like my parents.

So how come EWB was made a national hero?

47. What Bushie What Avatar

It’s always great to read stuff from this halfwit! With all the exclamations at the end! Of every paragraph and often every sentence! That doesn’t make him look like a dullrd! Not at all!

He loves Venezuela!

Que lástima!

Will the halfwit love the mountain of dead Venezuelan children who will die in infancy during the next year because of his cretinous and unread half-wittery? Exclamation. Exclamation.

48. What Bushie What Avatar

Aren’t “martyrs”, by definition, people who die? Do half-wits who love the tragic tyranny in Venezuela self-dramatize much?

Exclamation!

49. “The British dependency of Montserrat was the 2017 top performer with a debt to GDP ratio of 6.1 percent. In fact, the other British dependencies of the Turks and Caicos Islands, the Cayman Islands, and British Virgin Islands round off the four territories carrying the lowest debt burden.” (Caribbean Life)

All turmoil in 1937, all independence in 1965 did not pay out at the end. Barbados is many miles behind the British overseas territories.

However, since 1965 cannot be reverted, Barbados needs to find a new path to survive.

What Barbados needs now is a good insolvency lawyer as new PM. If this person fails, the next PM will be a historian recording the tales of king OSA about his lost golden kingdom and the return of (economic) slavery.

50. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It has nothing to do with remaining dependent of UK…because of weak black leadership, the island remained dependent anyway, despite independence.

It has everything to do with weak, corrupt leaders…post independence and throughout the decades.

Leave a Reply to Dr. Simple SimonCancel reply