Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

“Next to doing the right thing, the most important thing is to let people know you are doing the right thing”.John D. Rockefeller

The several guaranteed rights and freedoms in our Constitution are each directed towards a more substantial democratic existence for the individual citizen by the preservation of his or her dignity and autonomy. While those such as freedom of association and freedom of expression are perhaps integral to this thesis, no less so are the rights to freedom of movement and freedom of assembly, for examples. Each of these treats the individual as a person with an equal role to play in the construction of the on-going democratic experiment in which the country is engaged.

So that while the freedom of expression would permit the uncensored utterance of views antithetical to or in support of the official dogma, and while the freedom of association allows the individual to form alliances with those who he or she believes will advance their interests and to bring meaning to his or her life (autonomy); the rights to freedom of movement, to assembly and that not to be discriminated against regard the individual as a human being with the entitlement to be treated with respect and concern by the state (dignity).

Indeed, this point may be reinforced rather than weakened by the fact that these rights are not absolute through the injunction that restrains the state from infringing them unless the infringement is reasonably required in the public interest or reasonably justifiable or, as more pointedly stated in some regional Constitutions as “reasonably justifiable in a democratic society”.

In any future local constitutional reform however, it is my considered view that the democratic experiment may be further enhanced by the inclusion in the charter of another right or freedom, that of the right to know or, as it may be more familiarly styled, the right to freedom of information.

This right will permit the individual elector to be fully apprised of the reasons for governmental action and, to the extent that it will serve to treat the individual with the dignity and respect that should be accorded to a civic being in a democracy, it bears more than adequate comparison with the other existing fundamental rights.

What has occasioned this musing, you may ask. It all stems from last week’s column “Emergency powers and good governance” that analysed the official attempt to enact the Police (Amendment) Act 2018. Even though I did comment unfavourably on some aspects of the proposed legislation then, my greater concern was with the absence thitherto of any public disclosure by the current governing administration as to the contemporary necessity for these measures, a point buttressed during the past week in the speeches of some non-partisan members of the Upper Chamber of Parliament who called for more public consultation on the amendment. The need for explanation is also reinforced to some extent by the justificatory claim that the provided police powers already exist. If so, then the purported legislation would require even more public justification under the constitutional doctrine of occupied field, that is, that the matter is already and adequately provided for elsewhere.

Some claimed not to understand the subtlety of this argument. Inured to seeing most issues that might have the slightest element of partisan politics in black and white only, and since I had neither condemned the governing administration for its legislative intendment nor perhaps praised it, some commented that they could not decipher what argument I was trying to advance. If it needs restatement, it was simply this. The legislation is restrictive of civic entitlements and the citizen is in my view, entitled to know clearly why such legislation is reasonably required or is reasonably justifiable in our society at this time. And this is not as a matter of information only, but it also requires what I choose to call a “democratic conversation” in which the government will be obligated to listen to, consider seriously and cogently to counter any alternative views before having the legislation brought into force.

Some jurisdictions have enacted (or have promised to enact) freedom of information legislation in the form of an ordinary statute. It is doubtless an alluring electoral representation since it evinces an intention to enhance the dignity and autonomy of the individual citizen by having him or her becoming (or having the means of becoming) more informed about his or her democratic existence and thus a more useful citizen.

Under the current dispensation, the ordinary citizen is treated as a mere recipient of information that might be deemed worthy of official disclosure and is thus left to base his or her electoral choices on such trivial considerations as whether the candidate is perceived as particularly generous or has been seen in the constituency since the last general election or is rumoured to be deserving of a chance, whatever this last might mean.

This state of affairs belies the value of the vaunted educational system that is supposed to exist here. While true democracy does not demand that every citizen makes an intelligent electoral choice, it ought not to be the case that we should prove right Churchill’s pejorative tongue-in –cheek dictum that “the best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter”.

It would be gratifying to have the freedom of information statute enacted at least. However, I consider this civic entitlement as being of the very highest priority and am thus arguing that it should be identified rather as a fundamental obligation of the state to the citizen, a form of state action to be infringed in the public interest or where reasonably justifiable in our democratic society only.

80 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Fundamental Right to Know”

1. Wait @ GP

How come you not in church brainwashing the old morons about your joke doctrines?

Don’t tell Bushie that some of your bible class read BU, and having realised that, not only do you not know squat about the bible, but that your mouth needs a good rinse with clorox and soap…. fired your donkey from the teaching pick in de church?

Now if David were to ban your donkey for a while from BU …..
    what would you do for self-esteem?

Oh WAIT….
    Cuss Bushie …..cause he got eva thing that you ever dreamed of having….?
    ….and he knows eva thing that you ever dreamed of knowing…?

Murda!!!

2. Bush Tea wrote “Cuss Bushie …..cause he got eva thing ….and he knows eva thing.”

At long last Bushie admits that “he knows eva thing”.

3. At long last Bushie admits that “he knows eva thing”.
    Never said that Hants

Check again…. Bushie said that is why GP will cuss Bushie…..

Bushie does NOT know everything, but knows someone (personally) who does….
    So answers come easily…. 🙂

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, just as you have free will to affirm that “However, I have a choice to spend my money how I want to…..obviously, I would buy the Advocate if it appeals to my “political likings,” or if I love Donald Trump, I would obviously forego the other stations and watch FOX News.”….

You surely have the free will to label yourself ”
    ……you dun know I are uh idiot..”.,😂

You offer sterling commentary otherwise so I dun know yu smart…

I’ll leave all other interpretation about you to YOU. Knock yourself out.

5. Bush Tea February 11, 2018 at 12:22 PM #
    Wait @ GP

RE Don’t tell Bushie that some of your bible class read BU,
    NOW TELL ME WHY WOULD MY CHURCH MEMBERS READ THE SHITE ON BU? WHY?

RE having realised that, not only do you not know squat about the bible,ACCORDING TO YOU ONLY
    fired your donkey from the teaching pick in de church?

HOW COULD THEY FIRE ME FROM A TEACHING PICK THAT I DO NOT HAVE. IDIOT.
    DID YOUR DADDY THE DEVIL TELL YOU I HAVE A TEACHING PICK? WELL HE LIE.
    DOES YOUR DADDY THE DEVIL NOT KNOW THAT OUR CHURCH GROUP HAS NO PAID TEACHERS OR CHURCH LEADERS?

RE Now if David were to ban your donkey for a while from BU …..
    what would you do for self-esteem?
    WHAT DID I DO BEFORE BU?

BU IS A SOURCE OF RELIEVING BOREDOM WHEN THERE IS NO INTERNATIONAL CRICKET TO WATCH OR WHEN THERE IS NO GOOD TELEVISION TO WATCH
    IT IS PURE ENTERTAINMENT

..cause he got eva thing that you ever dreamed of having….? DONT KNOW WHAT YOU HAVE THAT I DREAMED OF HAVING OR KNOWING

I AM VERY CONTENT AND “RUNNING WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE ME” AND SEEKING ONLY TO KNOW HIM and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death; If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead. Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.en, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

William…ah know some of yall still brainwashed sheeple are dead serious about allowing wannabe slavemasters and thieves to rule the lives of the majority population on the island and their present and future generations..

……it is very difficult to take what some of you say as tongue cheek…too many like pimping for minorities without a care for the wellbeing of the majority population.

7. Bushie

Yours are a heap of internal contradictions.

You can’t on one hand argue that 99.9999% of people are brassbowls, and we agree.

And on the other contend that these brassbowls are some voice of a god of magical thinking. A god created by man.

Then you go on to rightly state the influence of marketing, public relations. Its ability to make brassbowls believe anything. Leaving out that the biggest pack of lies ever told was no more than mass propaganda.

All of these are highly incompatible.

And this so-called god consciousness holds no fear for us.

So sure are we that it is a fiction that we would be willing to recognize you, Bush Tea, as God Almighty.

Certainly, if the voice of the people is that of ‘god’, then Bushie like any one of us is a god. But to corrupt perfectly sound logic with magical thinking and the presence of a BBE must certainly be the work of your devil, no?

Only that in your abject ignorance you will then demure.

8. Pachamama February 11, 2018 at 2:14 PM
    fOR YEARS YOU HAVE COME HERE AND SAID UNKIND THINGS ABOUT GOD & THE BIBLE, BUT NOW YOU HAVE GONE TO FAR! SIR WHEN YOU SUGGEST THAT we would be willing to recognize you, Bush Tea, as God Almighty. AND Bushie like any one of us is a god.

BUSHIE IS ACTUALLY AN ARIAN SON OF SATAN HIMSELF.
    HE IS THE DEVIL INCARNATE

YOU AND MILLER DOES TALK UNKIND THINGS ABOUT GOD & THE BIBLE, BUT BUSHTEA PRETENDS TO HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS…BUT DENIES THE POWER THEREOF! HE IS THE DEVIL INCARNATE!

9. Unkind!

We give not a fuck whether they are unkimd or not

Are they true? And can that truth be independently proven beyond a shadow of doubt.

That is the basis on which we make judgements.

Christians like you have for too long expected and continue to expect people not buying into your shiiite must still pay fealty, still

Last week this writer was in a court and refused to take a Christian oath and was prepared to go to raaasooooul jail, if necessary. We merely promised to tell the court the truth and argued with a Christian judge. And refused his entreaties several times. He was adamant and so were we.

This war on western Christendom will not cease until the furnaces are boiling over.

And our divine judgement does not come under the preview of your fictitious White god

10. LOL @ Pacha

When we of “the voice of the people being the voice of god” …. it is NOT the voice of God as in BBE.
    The saying (or truism) that ‘the voice of the people is the voice of god’ has NOTHING to do with the bible, or with GOD, or god – (white or otherwise), or any such religiosity.

IT ONLY means the collective will of the people, which should be the determining factor in their fate….IF they are “real real” people indeed.
    It is why a people always get exactly what they deserve. If 99.9% are brass bowls then it is only obvious what they will get …(and if it was NOT obvious, just look at Barbados…)

So can you kindly stop cussing Bushie (and even GP)
    We are saying the same thing.

…on second thoughts, feel free to cuss GP….

Yuh got Busie here wondering what you were doing in court…
    Did they catch you in the process of building a Guillotine …?

11. Bushie

You are the only ‘body’ in this world with whom we are prepared to engage on these issues.

Though we are unlikely to ever agree on the critical matter/s you have distinguished yourself as a holy man who is not an idiot, like the rest – Georgie Porgie el al

For the sake or argument, let’s say your point is valid. It does have some credence with us,

Then you will still have to explain an ethos where ‘the voice of god’, the people, give up their rights to a man like stinking Donald Trump, who your co-religionist Georgie Porgie has said was appointed by god, explain how such a godly voice has been kept in eternal subjugation by nearly every leader to walk this earth.

12. Bushie

A court thing is just a civil matter, a counter suit.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie February 11, 2018 at 2:38 PM
    “YOU AND MILLER DOES TALK UNKIND THINGS ABOUT GOD & THE BIBLE, BUT BUSHTEA PRETENDS TO HAVE A FORM OF GODLINESS…BUT DENIES THE POWER THEREOF! HE IS THE DEVIL INCARNATE!”

So you want the miller’s son to believe in a man-made mock god called Yahweh which is not only a incompetent failure by making a defective being called mankind but also a mass murderer?

Why would you want the miller to worship a mass murderer that makes the likes of the child killer King Herod, Herr Hitler and Pol Pot look like loving babies in their mothers’ arms?

The only GOD the miller believes in and worships is the ‘LIGHT’ of GAIA. The source of all life on Her.

God commanding Moses to kill:
    “They fought against Midian, as the LORD commanded Moses, and killed every man……..Now kill all the boys [innocent kids]. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man. (Numbers 31:7,17-18)”

Kill everything that “breathes” from humans and animals! Deuteronomy 20:16

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This government is very callous and hateful of its own people, I know there has been some tension between Douglas Trotman and others, but it appears this government has no soul.

I did hear Adriel Nitwit downright refused to even discuss medical marijuana as it pertains to treating those, like Trotman’s wife who is in dire need because her cancer has returned, although Adriel Nitwit said something completely different in the nation newspaper last year.

when people got prescriptions from their doctors and tried to order the medical marijuana through the drug service as Adriel Nitwit advised, they were told they did not know anything about that….

…..not many people can just move to marijuana friendly countries, am fortunate I can pick up and roll up to North America anytime and access necessary treatment, most cannot.

Another reason not to reelect this government.

The Nitwit Adriel AG is very deceitful and a liar.

15. @ Pacha
    Then you will still have to explain an ethos where ‘the voice of god’, the people, give up their rights to a man like stinking Donald Trump, who your co-religionist Georgie Porgie has said was appointed by god,
    Bushie already explained that ethos. The people are brass bowls. They are driven by selfish, materialistic greed and would give up their rights to the Devil himself if offered the right bribes.
    Just like many Bajans will still vote for either the DLP or BLP – two shiite parties that have brought us to the brink of chaos and poverty….

…also Georgie Porgie is NOT Bushie’s “co-religionist”. He is just a fraud who seeks to defend a bunch of stupid religious doctrines that he TOTALLY does not understand; Cannot defend; and which makes NO logical sense to anyone – including him…

Bushie is just an innocent ex-brass-bowl – who was adopted by extra terrestrials (who happen to have designed and created everything that we know) and was handed a big-ass whacker…. which used to wuk sweet as shiite yuh… 🙂

LOL…
    GP thinks that God put Trump there to accelerate his treasured ‘end times’ ..when he expects to be ‘raptured’ …and go off somewhere to enjoy milk and honey and sing hymns and watch cricket for ever and ever….

But in fact, Trump is president for the same reason that Mia will put women in charge of eva shiite bout here when she is elected…. cause top leaders always put their disciples in positions of influence when they tek over…

Satan running things on this earth now ….and his demons (like Trump and Froon) licking cork…..

16. Preach Bushie! Preach!

17. We have decided to open a church, as a business

If Bushie and Miller would act as principal pastors or god ‘themselves’ if they prefer. LOL

18. There seems to be a minority of person against the bill. I’ve read Commisiong comments and beyond the lack of public consultation I am not certain what he is on about.

19. Adrian the issue is that the COP with the AG can arbitrarily shutdown an area. Also after the Act as proposed is invoked there is no opportunity for anybody on the ground to exercise discretion.

20. Even at this time of great distress that crazy man can still make me laugh. Bushie, thanks man. I needed that. Sorry it was your expense, gp.

21. Still laughing.

22. Adrian Hinds, glad to see you back. Are you still in Mass?

23. Donna February 11, 2018 at 9:54 PM #
    they once mocked and scoffed at Jesus too
    but now we sing things like
    LORD ENTHRONED IN HEAVENLY SPLENDOR……AND
    JESUS IN THY HEAVENLY TEMPLE….AND
    THE HEAD THAT ONCE WAS CROWNED WITH THORNE…AND WE READ IN HEBREWS 4,,,,,,,,,THERE REMAINS A REST FOR THE PEOPLE OF GOD…AND IN 1 THESSALONIANS 4
    But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.

14 For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him.

15 For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep.

16 For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:

17 Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.

18 Wherefore comfort one another with these words.

AND IN 1 CORINTHIANS 15:51 ET SECQ

51 Behold, I shew you a mystery; We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed,

52 In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: for the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.

53 For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality.

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It will be difficult for some to understand the ramifications of a Bill that violates their rights, the constitution etc, until they, their children or grandchildren are scooped up by police and beaten, shot to death, or set up with drugs and guns and imprisoned innocently, then reality will sink in.

25. Word Press should do like Facebook and add other types of buttons … “Like” is not enuff… Ha ha ha Some of these jackasses too blasted funny . MURDA

26. HERE IS SOMETHING TO LAUGH ABOUT FRIENDS

27. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Jeff,

I have always said that we need to study and learn from those smaller countries that are governed well.

” Principle of transparency
    Finland has had a freedom of information act, stating that everyone has a right not just to access government documents but to copy them, since 1766. Documents are public unless ruled otherwise. Restrictions to the general rule must be legislated by parliament, and refusal to make documents public can be challenged in the courts. ”

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/feb/12/finlands-10-great-innovations

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/feb/12/safe-happy-and-free-does-finland-have-all-the-answers

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@TLSN, precisely!

29. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Thanks Jeff. It is a pity that you do not reference other countries when you write your weekly columns. Barbados is a backwards country and Barbadians need to be aware of this. By referencing other countries and giving examples you will open the minds of your fellow Bajans in the vain hope that they will pressure their leaders to adopt credible and valid foreign systems and ideas which may be suitable for Barbados.