Heather Cole
Open Letter to:
The Director, Tourism Product Authority
The Director, National Cultural Foundation
The Chief Labour Officer

Dear Sirs,

RE: Cane Piece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey

It is February and it is Black History month. It is the month when black people celebrate the little that we know of Africa, the persons who have paved the way for the rights that we enjoy today and the dignity of our people.

I was therefore horrified when I read an article which was carried in both local newspapers on the 8th of February, 2018. In Barbados Today the title was “From Canepiece to Cask” while in the Nation Newspaper the title was ‘Hard Life on Plantation.’ Both articles were with regards to a production of the Barbados Tourism Product Authority in association with the National Cultural Foundation. The production was entitled “Cane Piece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey.” In the production, several individuals are cast as slaves.

Quoting Barbados Today, the Director of the skit Allison Sealy Smith said the purpose of the re-enactment was “to tell the story of plantation life through the slave’s perspective.” It may have been cute because I was not there to see it but based on the debauchery recorded in the history books; this was nothing more than a distortion of the truth.

In 2016 one Elizabeth Dolson in Brazil had the same brilliant idea of using persons employed as slaves on a plantation in Brazil and it was a tourist attraction.

Just imagine that Barbados is re-opening the gates of hell to descend on us just as it did to our ancestors. Slavery was not pretty. That skit can never repaint it in another colour. It was cruelty to blacks beyond measure and stripped them of their dignity. The slaves were abused, tortured, ravished and worked to death from morning till night on the sugar plantations and lived under conditions not fit for human habitation.

How can we find the sorrowful plight of our ancestors entertaining? Something has to be fundamentally and psychologically wrong if we are going to parade our people under the word “slave” to get a tourist dollar. It is dehumanizing. The entire idea of this is so offensive. It is an affront to every black Barbadian. It was a painful part of our history and no one should be so insensitive as to try to bring it back to life. Some may wish to glory in that former heyday but it no longer has a place in modern Barbados as we are all equal under the law. There are no masters and no slaves.

What is bothersome about this skit is that apart from distorting history it is normalizing slavery and is repackaging it as culture. It is nothing more than labour exploitation disguised. If it is not halted now, it will take root and we may very well find ourselves in a situation similar to Brazil where persons are hired to act as slaves for their employment at a local plantation to the whims and fantasies of the tourist. Slavery was abolished by the Emancipation Act of 1834. It is therefore illegal for anyone to work as a slave; skit or otherwise in Barbados. Does the Chief Labour Officer know that persons were hired to play the roles as slaves?

I am therefore seeking to have the production halted and never again be enacted in Barbados. It is disturbing on so many levels.

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

242 responses to “A Heather Cole Article – Canepiece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey Must be Stopped!”

1. Ah boy, a new week, that means Rush Limbaugh for the next five days!!

I will catch him later on tonight.

Guess everybody needs the weekend to recuperate!!

2. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

i have read enough from everyone of the countries that benefited from slavery of Africans., they documented their crimes against Africans daily and very efficiently..every murder, rape, lynching, burning, branding…they did not leave out anything.

Daily journals were kept by governors in every island and all can be found in museums in each enslaver country….

…you demons on the island are trying to twist history with the help of house negros, but it will not work.

over the last decade they tried to rewrite history for the descendants of Africans in UK and UK…and it backfired..

3. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

over the last decade they tried to rewrite history for the descendants of Africans in UK and US…and it backfired..

more the reason to kick this repulsive, slimy, reptile government out of the peoples parliament, they are useless..there is not a half of brain between the 30 of them.

4. Found this pretty interesting

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Allison Sealy and NCF should have created a skit highlighting the racism in Canada as comic relief for racists….and add the racism practiced in Barbados.

It is mind boggling that after centuries a people claiming to be educated could be still that dumb regarding their own safety and wellbeing.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I see no one likes my brilliant idea but yall racists love the idea of revictimizing and disrespecting dead African African amcestors who cannot defend themselves and their living descendants too stupid to know any better, just to entertain and impress stinking white racists though…right?

Yall racist would enjoy the show and laugh all night at the stupid negros, right?

7. john
    thanks for posting this limbaugh video
    there is a lot of truth therein
    we see it even here on BU

8. WW&C
    There is a pic making the rounds on social media which alters the facial contour of Malcolm X,Barack Obama and Martin Luther King from negroid to caucasoid and suggesting in the year 2022 the lying albino would pass these altered faces as factual and correct.What a notorious bunch of liars and frauds.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They have done it before Gabriel…I akready saw the altered one showing Michelle Obama as a white woman, since last year, they will do it again..

,,,. these racists are extremely evil, always have been, always will be….and it is a shame that in this day and age, black people still allow themselves to be used to destroy themselves, that they are still agreeing with a grin.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Michelle Obama has degrees from both Princeton and Harvard universities and with tge same level of commonsense to match, the most intelligent woman to grace the WH, you know they will steal her identity…..decades from now, they already altered her appearance and will just put it down for another 2 generations, then bring it out.

11. Georgie Porgie February 12, 2018 at 5:19 PM #
    john
    thanks for posting this limbaugh video
    there is a lot of truth therein
    we see it even here on BU

The parallels are amazing!!

12. Fox News,Rush Limbaugh,Sean Hannity and others(I don’t watch that far right Murdoch crap TV)and all their admirers,ignorant and stupid alike,are all afraid of the success of the black man and the black woman.They can’t handle it.In another 50-60 years the fuchkers will all be outnumbered and will taste their own medicine of hate and deprivation.It won’t be long now.Retribution in allyuh ass.

13. @David

The Jews may not be acting out plays about the holocaust but they sure as hell recognise the HISTORY and they will not let anyone forget, anything but sweep it under the rug.

14. @Wily

Agree with your comment.

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Cant sweep these vile histories under the rug, it has to be kept in THEIR face, in the faces of the perpetrators and their descendants……but they must NEVER be given the opportunity to use it to amuse and entertain themselves and poke fun at.

The jews would take out millions of people before they allow that….why should African descent people allow such blatant disrespect of the memories of those who suffered, the Japanese dont, the Koreans dont, the Irish dont…and that was a famine…, and not a fellow can create a skit for the amusement of others at the expense of these people’s ancestors and living descendants..

16. @ David there is no email address on that site. Perhaps the link on that envelope is broken.

17. At the bottom of the page.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

When majority Black Bajans break away from their self imposed mental enslavement and stop vile racists in the minority community like John Liesalot from speaking for them, put an end to that centuries old practice once and for all……then and only then will they understand what it means to be mentally free of leaches, demons and parasites in their lives.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Just an example of other groups not tolerating any verbal or other disrespect of their victimized ancestors or living descendants…going so far as to sign a petition for verbal disrespect, Bajans better week the hell up and very soon and put these exploiters in the place.

“Japan occupied Korea from 1910 to 1945. Petitioners said anyone familiar with Japanese treatment of Koreans during that time would be deeply hurt by Joshua Cooper Ramo’s remark.”

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

It’s only Black Bajans tolerate insults of this magnitude to their ancestors and themselves,. ..intelligent people don’t.

“NBC removed Olympic analyst Joshua Cooper Ramo after he was criticized for comments he made about Japan and South Korea during the opening ceremony of the winter games, sparking a firestorm on social media after the fact.

Ramo, who is vice chairman and co-CEO of the Kissinger Associates consulting firm, described Japan as “a country which occupied Korea from 1910 to 1945,” adding, “but every Korean will tell you that Japan is a cultural, technological and economic example that has been so important to their own transformation.”

“IOC bans any demonstration of political or racial propaganda in the Games.
    NBC commentator’s praising Japan’s colonization of Korea
    it’s the same as advocating Nazi persecution of the Jews😡
    Shame on you NBC!@NBCOlympics @Olympics @iocmedia

5:33 AM – Feb 10, 2018

Maggie
    @MaggieJiwonKim
    Replying to @NBCOlympics and 2 others
    NBC,
    Your correspondent Joshua Cooper Ramo’s commentary regarding Korean history during the Opening Ceremony was simply unacceptable and downright rude. Twisting history and portraying japanese colonialism in this way hurt many people.
    I hope you understand what you guys did.”

21. “IOC bans any demonstration of political or racial propaganda in the Games.
    NBC commentator’s praising Japan’s colonization of Korea it’s the same as advocating Nazi persecution of the Jews😡 Shame on you NBC!@NBCOlympics @Olympics @iocmedia

Funny world …. just after WWII there was the Korean War!!

North invaded South!!

UN stepped in.

You would have thought South and North were enemies forever!!

22. @ John
    You need help…..

23. That comment by Ramo is typical horse radish attributed to the notorious,worldwide hated,despicable’ugly american’.This is made worse by the scum that is now ‘leader of the free world’.Well I had no say in his SELECTION.The fact is he is not the popular choice of Americans.It is the sleight of hand politics originating with the founding fathers, so called,which made it possible for this hated and despised bastard scumbag to be named president.Imagine 3 million more people preferred the other candidate however under the pretext of giving less voters equal representation in the College of Electors this swine got pushed to the front of the parade.The ugly american is alive and well.

24. Occasionally one is reminded that not all American albinos are the same.Here is an example of one who saw a fellow human needing help rather than the official policy of his superiors in handling black offenders.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2018/feb/12/stephen-mader-west-virginia-police-officer-settles-lawsuit

25. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

John is just your garden variety racist, hanging on to the coattails of dead racist slave masters and the current low intellect racists now infesting europe and north america and doing the same.

they are ALL parasites and viruses on the earth forever looking for opportunities to live of the backs of and steal from other groups….primarily the Black race.

as things stand they got a major unwinnable battle on their hands because the world is on to them and will no longer tolerate any of them.

fortunately for Barbados and the Caribbean…there are only a few thousand of these demons existing among you…chase them out.

now we know why they were chased out of Africa thousands of years ago, but weak black leaders let them return and paid the price.

26. Bush Tea February 13, 2018 at 8:07 AM #
    @ John
    You need help…..

So, what’s your problem now?

How can I help?

27. John February 13, 2018 at 6:52 AM #
    “IOC bans any demonstration of political or racial propaganda in the Games.
    NBC commentator’s praising Japan’s colonization of Korea it’s the same as advocating Nazi persecution of the Jews😡 Shame on you NBC!@NBCOlympics @Olympics @iocmedia
    Funny world …. just after WWII there was the Korean War!!
    North invaded South!!
    UN stepped in.
    You would have thought South and North were enemies forever!!

Japan colonized the whole of Korea .. there was no North and South Korea.

After the second world war, Japan surrendered Korea to the US and USSR.

The split came here into North and South.

The Korean War arose out of this split.

Are we seeing a reunification?

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/north-korea-latest-tensions-nuclear-pyongyang-south-korea-unification-a8176871.html

Why the sudden change?

Is it sudden?

Is it unilateral?

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Same funny world also @John that Germany was partitioned by the USSR and USA.

Was there a sudden change when they reunited? Was it unilateral?

What exactly is your point beyond idle speculation?

Ah, rhetorical only!

29. Very strange thought process. Retribution is on the way. If it is coming for my white ass why would you expect me to have any sympathy in the near term for you who if and when the tipping point comes will attack me. WW I remember when the word racist meant something now it is just white noise you lefties have used it so much. Frankly I am more afraid of being called cheap.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson….smoke and mirrors will not work either, racists are in the spotlight and are being chased out of the society, they have become a blight in every land they infest…….. …baby steps.

I dont worry about the word cheap, nothing is cheap these days, you have to spend to get anything, unless you are 3 dollar store guy…and I shop there too.

The buzz words and concerns are, the broke ass tourists crowding into the islands, still acting all uppity and racist..

31. de pedantic Dribbler February 14, 2018 at 12:14 AM #
    Same funny world also @John that Germany was partitioned by the USSR and USA.
    Was there a sudden change when they reunited? Was it unilateral?
    What exactly is your point beyond idle speculation?
    Ah, rhetorical only!

I see you are thinking!!!

Good for you

32. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service February 14, 2018 at 4:22 AM #
    Lawson….smoke and mirrors will not work either, racists are in the spotlight and are being chased out of the society, they have become a blight in every land they infest…….. …baby steps

If you watch the Rush Limbaugh clip I posted you will see how that came to be in America.

America and Barbados as I have pointed out result from the same moving force, the Bible.

People made both countries based on this simple fact of History.

The Bible is the foundation of both countries.

What we see of Barbados today with the hate expressed by some is what America was destined to become before the advent of Donald Trump.

… but smoke and mirrors will not work, it is too easy to get at the facts of History and understand what is going on.

It is fear of religion and Christianity and the insecurity it instills in those who are afraid of them that causes the spewing of hate and invective against any one who is ….. well … to put it mildly … cool with their lives and accepting of its realities and the need to find God.

The insecure hate the secure because they cannot understand how anyone could be secure in this life.

Wealth vs Riches!!

We all know different because of our history, yet many are in rebellion and cannot find peace.

You would think that they would get on with their own lives and let others get on with theirs but that is not how human nature works.

Envy perhaps?

33. The clip was from when Ben Carson was a rising star and threatened the insecure with his quiet faith in God.

It was before Trump came to the fore.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot…I do not watch racists, particularly when they are less intelligent than I am and are known criminals…that is as much of your nonsense as I read, you are wasting your time trying to indoctrinate me with rubbish, you already have GP for that.

35. Rush Limbaugh and Ben Carson is less intelligent than well well but the world has heard about Rush Limbaugh…….who has heard about well well?

Can anyone tell us about the criminal activities of Rush Limbaugh and Ben Carson?

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…you proved my point about indoctrination. ….people do not have to be world famous celebrities to make a difference in life.

Are you world renowned??

Or do you consider yaself a nobody, like most brainwashed people do.

I know of people who keep the financial world and the security of countries on track….they are more important than any neurosurgeon or halfassed idiot like Limbaugh who is useless…and very few people outside their families and immediate employers know who they are….nor will they ever.

Neurosurgeons are a dime a dozen and so are general practitioners….niusances like Limbaugh can be found in any metropolitan country, only the uninformed hold these clowns in high esteem.

It’s ugly when grown black men display their mental enslavement.

37. i am a nobody but i not brainwashed or indoctrinated…….OR ENSLAVED .i just have a different opinion than you do. is that allowed?

Rush Limbaugh is a nuisance and halfassed idiot (what ever that is) but he is apparently listened to and loved by many. i am not a radio listener so I dont know

Dr Carson is world renowned, and deservedly so

Do you keep the financial world and the security of countries on trackTOO? or as usual YOU JUST KNOW PEOPLE WHO DO? LOL ARE YOU ALSO “more important than any neurosurgeon or halfassed idiot like Limbaugh who is useless…?”

WHAT DO YOU DO EXCEPT SPEND A LOT OF TIME ON BU TALKING SHITE ON A DAILY BASIS PERENNIALLY, PERSISTENTLY, PERPETUALLY AND POINTLESSLY ?

RE very few people outside their families and immediate employers know who they are….nor will they ever. CAN THE ABOVE ALSO BE SAID ABOUT YOU ALSO? LOL MURDAH

YOU PROVIDE BARE MOCK SPORT IN THE BU RUM SHOP WITH YOUR DAILY DRIVEL ah lie

38. Everyone on here has probably gone to a funeral, several, although not their own.

Invariably, the 23rd Psalm is said or sung.

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
    2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.
    3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
    4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.
    5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
    6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

For someone who doesn’t get it, such a frame of mind in a believer is incomprehensible.

Yet, it is simplicity itself, it doesn’t require much education or book learning.

The result in a believer is a calm assurance and feeling of security.

… and it drives persons who can’t or won’t get it bananas!!

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Well…unlike you, I am NOT a nobody, I have more self confidence and self love than to demean and degrade my own self worth and what I have already contributed to this world and this life…

….ya can call that a difference of opinion..

Idiots tend to follow idiots, Limbaugh is no exception…look how many followed Jim Jones, had he had another 5 years, he would have poisoned millions more idiots, 900 dead was a small amount and he was in a hurry after getting caught unawares by Congressman Ryan,….

Carson is a clown….does not mean he was not a great neurosurgeon, it just means he has reduced himself significantly into being a great nothing else.

I must send you my bills to make sure you are the one actually paying them..lol

40. JOHN
    THERE IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK ON PSALM 23 CALLED A SHEPHERD’S LOOK AT PSALM 23
    SEE IF YOU CAN GET A COPY VIA ALIBRIS.COM

THE AUTHOR EXPLAINS THAT THE PSALM IS AN ACCOUNT OF A YEAR IN THE LIFE OF THE SHEPHERD AS HE TAKES HIS SHEEP FROM THE COMMUNITY SHEEPFOLD A DESCRIBED IN JOHN 10, THROUGH THE HIGH HILLS TO FIND GOOD PASTURE

RE 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters

HE TEACHES THAT THE SHEPHERD COULD ONLY GET THE SHEEP TO LIE DOWN WHEN HE HAD OVERCOME
    FAMINE- HE HAD TO FIND FOOD FOR THEM
    FLIES– WHICH BOTHERED THE SHEEP SO MUCH THAT THEY COULD DIE BY BANGING HEADS TO GET RID OF THEM
    FEAR-
    FRICTION IN THE FLOCK

HE SAYS IT SHOULD BE “STILLED” WATERS INSTEAD OF ” STILL” AS THIS IS REALLY WHAT THE HEBREW SAYS
    APPARENTLY THE SHEPHERD MUST DIVERT THE WATER FROM RIVERS OR BABBLING BROOKS FOR THE SHEEP TO DRINK.
    SHEEP DONT LIKE THE NOISE OF RAGING RUNNING WATER

Thou anointest my head with oil;

THE SHEPHERD POURS OIL MIXED WITH SULPHUR AS A PROPHYLAXIS AGAINST THE FLIES THAT BOTHER THE SHEEP.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

NOTE THAT IT IS THE valley of the shadow of death…..not death

the author points out that when the sheep are led through valleys between very high hills these valleys are dark and the site for predators

the shepherd touches every sheep as they pass him at such dangerous spots……this comforts the sheep

he teaches that the shepherd would break the front legs of lambs that wander repeatedly and that this results in the shepherd having to carry these sheep
    the result is that after the legs are mended these sheep never leave the shepherd’s side

read guzik on Psalm 23 here https://www.blueletterbible.org/Comm/archives/guzik_david/studyguide_psa/psa_23.cfm

41. re Well…unlike you, I am NOT a nobody, I have more self confidence and self love than to demean and degrade my own self worth and what I have already contributed to this world and this life…
    ….ya can call that a difference of opinion..

what exactly have you contributed to this world more than any one else
    maybe at the white throne judgement your contribution will be considered as hay and stubble

here is the important opinion that I seek to follow

Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up. James 4:10
    Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time 1Peter5:6

42. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service February 14, 2018 at 12:29 PM #
    Well…unlike you, I am NOT a nobody, I have more self confidence and self love than to demean and degrade my own self worth and what I have already contributed to this world and this life…

The Bible has something to say about self love too!!

http://biblehub.com/2_timothy/3-2.htm

43. What de wrasse whole gine on in babadus?????

Elderly woman stabbed to death. “The victim is 73-year-old Shirley Rogers of no fixed place of abode.
    It is believed that Rogers, who frequented the Bridgetown Fisheries Complex, was asleep at the bus stop opposite the complex when she was stabbed to death sometime this morning.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/129690/update-city-vagrant-stabbed-death

44. Hants

It is as simple as this.

Bajans have learnt how to hate!!

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply