Heather Cole
Open Letter to:
The Director, Tourism Product Authority
The Director, National Cultural Foundation
The Chief Labour Officer

Dear Sirs,

RE: Cane Piece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey

It is February and it is Black History month. It is the month when black people celebrate the little that we know of Africa, the persons who have paved the way for the rights that we enjoy today and the dignity of our people.

I was therefore horrified when I read an article which was carried in both local newspapers on the 8th of February, 2018. In Barbados Today the title was “From Canepiece to Cask” while in the Nation Newspaper the title was ‘Hard Life on Plantation.’ Both articles were with regards to a production of the Barbados Tourism Product Authority in association with the National Cultural Foundation. The production was entitled “Cane Piece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey.” In the production, several individuals are cast as slaves.

Quoting Barbados Today, the Director of the skit Allison Sealy Smith said the purpose of the re-enactment was “to tell the story of plantation life through the slave’s perspective.” It may have been cute because I was not there to see it but based on the debauchery recorded in the history books; this was nothing more than a distortion of the truth.

In 2016 one Elizabeth Dolson in Brazil had the same brilliant idea of using persons employed as slaves on a plantation in Brazil and it was a tourist attraction.

Just imagine that Barbados is re-opening the gates of hell to descend on us just as it did to our ancestors. Slavery was not pretty. That skit can never repaint it in another colour. It was cruelty to blacks beyond measure and stripped them of their dignity. The slaves were abused, tortured, ravished and worked to death from morning till night on the sugar plantations and lived under conditions not fit for human habitation.

How can we find the sorrowful plight of our ancestors entertaining? Something has to be fundamentally and psychologically wrong if we are going to parade our people under the word “slave” to get a tourist dollar. It is dehumanizing. The entire idea of this is so offensive. It is an affront to every black Barbadian. It was a painful part of our history and no one should be so insensitive as to try to bring it back to life. Some may wish to glory in that former heyday but it no longer has a place in modern Barbados as we are all equal under the law. There are no masters and no slaves.

What is bothersome about this skit is that apart from distorting history it is normalizing slavery and is repackaging it as culture. It is nothing more than labour exploitation disguised. If it is not halted now, it will take root and we may very well find ourselves in a situation similar to Brazil where persons are hired to act as slaves for their employment at a local plantation to the whims and fantasies of the tourist. Slavery was abolished by the Emancipation Act of 1834. It is therefore illegal for anyone to work as a slave; skit or otherwise in Barbados. Does the Chief Labour Officer know that persons were hired to play the roles as slaves?

I am therefore seeking to have the production halted and never again be enacted in Barbados. It is disturbing on so many levels.

Sincerely,

Heather Cole

242 responses to “A Heather Cole Article – Canepiece to Cask: Stories from Nicholas Abbey Must be Stopped!”

1. Is this the same Light which shines today in Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs, Shintos, Taoists, Jains, and even black Jews calling themselves Rastas?
    Is this the same Light of Ra which shone in Egyptians, Zoroastrians, Hebrews, Greeks Romans and all other pagans on Gaia too?

A simple solution to your dilemma!!!

Which of these groups ended slavery?

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Is it not amazing that he murdered all whites, only one Asian child got caught up.

The white supremacist group were just like you, boasting about trump reversing Obama’s gun laws …..and about the murders until they found out no Blacks or Latinos had been murdered…now they are trying to reverse their stance because…whites only dead.

The kid has behavioral issues, not mental issues according to his family, maybe you can treat him, you know as a fellow trump supporter.

3. John February 16, 2018 at 11:21 AM #
    Is this the same Light which shines today in Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Sikhs, Shintos, Taoists, Jains, and even black Jews calling themselves Rastas?
    Is this the same Light of Ra which shone in Egyptians, Zoroastrians, Hebrews, Greeks Romans and all other pagans on Gaia too?
    A simple solution to your dilemma!!!

Simple answer, none, all owned slaves, as did the Quakers.

…. but …. Quakers ended slavery.

4. Many believe in Karma … I could call names but I won’t.

Here is what a belief in Karma leads to in one of the groups mentioned.

“Buddhism. The Buddhist belief in karma and reincarnation has been used to justify slavery, reasoning that a person’s enslavement must be a result of punishable actions in a previous life. But the eight-fold path of Buddhist beliefs actually teaches explicitly against the trade in living beings.”

Google!!

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Watch your back for any one of these 75,000 or more guntoting crazies GP….lol

“According to estimates from the previous administration, had the Obama-era regulation gone into effect, an estimated 75,000 individuals with mental illnesses would have been added to the database. These individuals would have been notified by the Social Security Administration of their possible restrictions to buy firearms but would have the opportunity go through an appeal process.

Although the rule was made effective days before Trump took office in January 2017, compliance was not required until December 2017.

At the time, the optics of the bill’s signing seemed to be downplayed by the White House despite the president’s busy, public schedule that day — he addressed the Joint Session of Congress later that evening.

The White House has not responded to ABC News’ request for comment.”

6. So if you believe in Karma, chances are you use it to justify slavery!!

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Liesalot…you are the only ass on here with ya 2 slaves justifying slavery…no intelligent person would justify slavery..

Ya can always try to justify all those murders of whites…most of them 14 year old children, by another white in Florida…no one is stopping you.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 16, 2018 at 11:33 AM
    “A simple solution to your dilemma!!!
    Simple answer, none, all owned slaves, as did the Quakers.

. but …. Quakers ended slavery.”

No! Just another outburst of bullshit racist propaganda from a quaking mouth of hypocrisy and deceit!

Economic realities ended slavery. Not any humanitarian propaganda hiding behind the veil of the prosperity gospel of Christian convenience.

Christianity and Quakers were at the beginning of slavery in Barbados during the harshest periods of its brutalizing regime and taking praise for its economically unsustainable end.

Why didn’t the same Quakers kick up a stink about the payment to the slave owners for the loss of their ‘human’ property?
    What you ought to be researching is how many Quakers were in receipt of such handsome settlements?

What role did the Quakers play in ending Apartheid in Rhodesia and South Africa?

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 16, 2018 at 11:36 AM

Aren’t you explaining in Far Eastern philosophy the Judeo-Christian belief in the principle of the sins of the father(s) being visited unto the third and fourth generations?

Isn’t the curse placed upon Ham of similar magnitude?

How else do you explain the lot of the black race (sold by their own ancestors) in Western societies?

10. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

FINALLY…just a few more indictments to go..lol

` More than a dozen Russian nationals were accused Friday of violating U.S. criminal laws in order to interfere with the 2016 election, according to the Department of Justice.

A federal grand jury in the District of Columbia indicted 13 Russians and three Russian entities and charged them with trying to sway the election in favor of President Trump, according to court documents.

The indictment was sought through special counsel Robert Mueller, who has been tasked with investigating Moscow’s efforts to interfere in the election and any possible ties to the Trump campaign. `

11. …no intelligent person would justify slavery..

No intelligent person would espouse Karmic beliefs which justify slavery!!!

Yet, you do!!

12. Aren’t you explaining in Far Eastern philosophy the Judeo-Christian belief in the principle of the sins of the father(s) being visited unto the third and fourth generations?
    Isn’t the curse placed upon Ham of similar magnitude?
    How else do you explain the lot of the black race (sold by their own ancestors) in Western

No, I am not!!

In the Old Testament, if you look carefully you will see the sins of the fathers are only visited on the children for those who hate God!!

“You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, on the third and the fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing loving kindness to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.”

For those who love God and keep his commandments it is a different story.

Translated into a language you can understand, Love of God and obedience to His commandments overcomes any weird concept of karma you may have.

Espousal of the concept of Karma allows the espouser to justify slavery as being deserved.

The karmic high priests on BU thus are actually admitting they can justify slavery through their beliefs!!

The more they publicly espouse karma, the more they public admit they see nothing wrong with slavery!!

Tell us what you think about karma!!

13. You need to read the fine print in the contract/covenant God made with his chosen people, the Jews!!

.. otherwise you will make a bigger fool of yourself than you normally do!!

14. Then the king’s countenance was changed, and his thoughts troubled him, so that the joints of his loins were loosed, and his knees smote one against another. Daniel 5:6

MULLER THE MENDICANT IS COMING! MULLER IS COMING!

Hi am shaking in my boots……..the joints of my loins are loosed and my knees are smiting one against the other ………l threw away my lunch ——and now am hiding under my bed
    i suspect trump is doing the same…….let me give him a call and tell him that MULLER IS COMING! lol

15. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Liesalot is definitely and deservedly brain damaged, now that is the Karma i can definitely justify…and feel good about.

GP…of course you are shaking in ya long johns…..no pun…there aint a thing any of you can do about Mueller, not unless ya want FBI breaking down ya door..lol..ya can only stay there and grumble….a toothless tiger, hahaha.

16. MULLER CAME FOR TRUMP AND TRUMP FLYING OUT TO FL THIS AFTERNOON
    I THINK HE RUNNING FROM MULLER
    I WILL GO AND SEE HIM AND PLAY A LIKKLE GOLF

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 16, 2018 at 2:44 PM
    “In the Old Testament, if you look carefully you will see the sins of the fathers are only visited on the children for those who hate God!!
    “You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, on the third and the fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing loving kindness to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.””

Is that why the same OT god chose the first born of his flock as an offering from Abel the sheep farmer (meat eater) over the equally acceptable fruit of the ground from Cain a tiller of the land and vegetarian?

What did Abel do for your god that Cain could not do?

Or was it that Cain was the ‘illegitimate’ offspring, not of Adam, but from a being with a bigger snake?

By making such a statement you are doing nothing but turning your euhemerized
    ‘perfect god’ Yahweh into a being no better than one of his frail weak sinful creatures made in his own image of abject imperfection.

Why are you anthropomorphizing your desert god Jehovah by turning him into a mad man beset with the Satanic-like traits of jealousy, vindictiveness and prone to sudden fits of maddeningly unexplained violence?

Is that why ‘He’ commanded Moses to wage wars of ethnic cleansing involving not only mass murder but also the rape of women and children?

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Jokes aside re Mueller, the facts remains that the US elections were fired up or otherwise effed up by Mr Putin’s intelligence service guys….that should be a really big deal for all Republicans and Democrats because it simply means 1- either the election process is too open to manipulation (as folks have been saying for years now in a different context since the big money donations were allowed hidden behind PACs) and 2- that the US intelligence services are not as awesome as they freaking think.

Those are problems.

Simply stated the same could (WILL) happen in BIM…not by the Russians of course, why would they?… but by a group invested deeply in the outcome to sway opinion with massive BOT attacks and all sorts of underhand actions on social media, at public meetings and with new Police Acts.

We ain’t got no Muller types to investigate this crap after the fact so we better listen to the Pieces’ of this world and get our expletive act together NOW !

19. Trump going to Fl. to get in a little golf and make a side trip to the school that was just shot up. He will promise to MAGA with an AK47 in every home.

20. S/B an AR 15 in every home

21. re Trump going to Fl. to get in a little golf and make a side trip to the school that was just shot up. VERY TRUE
    He will promise to MAGA…….NO DOUBT…..BUT he cant MAGA at all
    God made America great but God has no plans to MAGA……with or without Trump! ah lie?

22. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They dont want that lying, hypocrite fraud there..children are akready protesting the repugnants.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/vice-mayor-broward-county-calls-trump-hypocrite-article-1.3824976

“The vice mayor of Broward County, Fla., where 17 people were killed in a school shooting this week, called President Trump a “hypocrite” ahead of the commander-in-chief’s anticipated arrival in Florida Friday.

“I can speak only as a Broward County commissioner and vice mayor, I speak for myself, and him coming here to me is absurd,” Vice Mayor Mark Bogen told CNN Friday.”

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP….keep dreaming, blacks like you trump uses as doormats, remember Omarosa..lol, top idiot, Carson will soon get his.

24. Let’s see now, who was the President under whose watch the Russian interference was happening?

O – one
    B – Big
    A – Ass
    M – Mistake
    A- America!!

And what did he have to say?

What did he do?

Cut it out!!!

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Liesalot…you have no power…only lies.

26. Q. Let’s see now, who was the President under whose watch the Russian interference was happening?
    A. SHITBAMA THE OBAMA-NATION! ah lie?

27. de donald just gone de road………..muller running he dung! run donald run ……dont let muller katch ya boy. murdah ma belly a hut meh

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Keep parroting retarded Liesalot…oh ah fforgot, you are one of 2 of his slaves..lol

Stable Genius…yall are some real geriatrics, how quickly ya forget…Obama deported over 100 diplomats and prompted the still ongong investigation, which as resulted in:

“Trump Accidentally Admits Russia Investigation Isn’t A Hoax During Meltdown Over Mueller Indictments

February 16, 2018

Trump Accidentally Admits Russia Investigation Isn’t A Hoax During Meltdown Over Mueller Indictments

Until now, Donald Trump has always referred to the Russia investigation as a ‘hoax’ but sh*t got real when dozens of indictments were handed down on Friday by special counsel Robert Mueller. 13 Russians and 3 groups were among those indicted. Previously, Trump national security advisor Michael Flynn pleaded guilty and is cooperating with Mueller; former foreign policy advisor George Papadopoulos (guilty, and also cooperating), former campaign aide Rick Gates (who is negotiating a plea deal), and former Trump campaign manager Paul Manafort were all also indicted.

That’s quite a list, and Mueller’s team of investigators has not yet finished its probe into whether members of the Trump campaign conspired with Russia to disrupt and influence the 2016 presidential election. According to a source, the investigation will likely take months.”

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Maybe Mueller needs to put Liesalot and GP in handcuffs too to finally make it all turn just as real for them,…lol

How is demonizing Obama working out for yall now, yall followers of evil.

30. You must listen to Rush Limbaugh yesterday to appreciate the comedy of the indictments!!

31. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

32. Listen to Rush Limbaugh on that fallacy!!!!

33. Here is Obama’s legacy, the destruction of the Democratic Party.

Now it has to be rebuilt!!

34. RUSH: The special counsel, in breaking news, has indicted 16 Russians. I didn’t know there were any Russians in this scandal. We have this Russian-collusion scandal; I didn’t know there were any. Mueller has indicted 16 of them for “supporting the presidential campaign of then-candidate Donald J. Trump … and disparaging Hillary Clinton.” What the heck is that? I’ve never heard of anything like this. How can it be a crime to disparage Hillary and support Trump if you’re Russians? Supporting…? Well, they’ve been indicted for interference, but it’s not detailed how.

It’s a Grand Jury thing. It’s a ham-sandwich indictment, and that’s just pretty much all we have on it right now. “The special counsel’s office said today a federal grand jury indicted 16 Russian nationals and three Russian entities in the probe into Russian interference in the 2016 election. The indictments say that the defendants allegedly, by early to mid-2016, were supporting the presidential campaign of then candidate Donald J. Trump … and disparaging Hillary Clinton.”

Have you ever…? (laughing) They get indicted for this? I know there has to be more to this. But of all the things that were forecast and predicted that Mueller might do, I don’t remember anybody ever predicting that Russians would be indicted. We don’t have any names yet. I wonder if they’re some of the Russians that lied to Christopher Steele about his dossier. If you indict the Russians, how do you not indict Steele? You know what this sounds like to me, it sounds like this is as close as they can get to implicating Trump. “Here are some Russians! We found the Russians working to elect Trump.

“They committed offenses and we’re indicting them.” No evidence that they work with Trump, but that’s not going to matter. If “no more guns” works to advance a political agenda, well this can easily be converted. (interruption) No, they’re not going to… (laughing) Snerdley asked if they’re going to depose Putin, give Putin a subpoena. “An announcement from Mueller’s office said that the government accuses all the defendants of conspiracy to defraud the United States.”

35. Mueller can’t bail without indicting someone!!!

…. anyone, for anything!!!

Too much money and time spent!!

36. Theophilius Gazerts Snr. Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts Snr.

What search terms does a Bajan white use to find Rush? Racist white-talk show host?

I think you’ll love this Rush quote (stick quaker somewhere in it and make it your own)

“I mean, let’s face it, we didn’t have slavery in this country for over 100 years because it was a bad thing. Quite the opposite: slavery built the South. I’m not saying we should bring it back; I’m just saying it had its merits. For one thing, the streets were safer after dark.”

37. Theophilius Gazerts Snr. Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts Snr.

I saw one of your pelaus on FB. Seems as if he had a conversion and accepted his blackness…

38. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

really inspiring rants from a little killer racist, he sounds just like Liesalot,.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/nikolas-cruz-younger-brother-committed-psych-facility-article-1.3826321

39. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

racist rants about minorities gays and women who date outside their race and wanting to keep black people in chains, does that sound familiar..

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/florida-high-school-shooter-shared-desire-kill-group-chat-article-1.3826093

40. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

lol…just look how great it all is now.

41. Theophilius Gazerts Snr. February 17, 2018 at 9:58 AM #
    What search terms does a Bajan white use to find Rush? Racist white-talk show host?

All you need to search on is “right 99.8% of the time”

That about says it!!