Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

Graduating from secondary school is normally an exhilarating time for our youth.  However, for those who have not found employment, or acceptance in an institution of further learning, the end of the summer holiday can be the start of a long period of hopelessness for them and their parents.

The longer that school graduates remain idle, the greater their disillusionment when they compare their situation to that of their more fortunate friends, and the greater the risk that they will be tempted to obtain money by illegal methods.  Selling stolen property, illegal drugs, and their bodies become viable income options.

As Solutions Barbados’ candidates interact with people in our communities, a common question is: “what is your plan for these youths?”  Our plan is to remove the hopelessness that so many of them currently experience.  Our youth will enjoy maturing in a Solutions Barbados administration.

Every young person will be able to realise their full potential by being trained to be independent, both while they are at school and after they have graduated.  For this to be realised, the secondary school curriculum needs to be improved.

Our secondary school curriculum was designed to prepare students to enter the major professions.  Our resulting professionals can successfully compete with professionals from any part of the world.  However, since the majority of graduates do not pursue such professional careers, our school system fails most of our students.

The simple solution is to arrange the secondary school curriculum so that it benefits everyone.  Everyone includes those planning on pursuing the major professions, business, artisan trades, arts, and those who entered secondary school with low common entrance scores and low aspirations.

The curriculum can be arranged so that the easier-to-learn and more exciting practical parts of subjects, that all students will likely find interesting, can be taught during the first three years.  This is opposed to teaching the more difficult-to-learn theoretical aspects first, and the more practical aspects after students have become frustrated and have lost interest.

This will mean that students will learn conversational languages, where they learn to speak the language before conjugating verbs; music by ear, where they learn to play an instrument before music theory; applied sciences, where the usefulness of the subject is understood, before science theory, where the usefulness of the subject is less clear.  With this practical knowledge, students will learn how to start and grow a profitable business.

The final two years will be spent preparing for the CXC examinations.  However, with students already benefiting from the useful knowledge of the subjects, they are more likely to exercise the discipline necessary to learn the generally more difficult-to-learn theoretical aspects.  They will learn the subject “Principles of Business” after they have a business to apply this learning to.

Every student will graduate with at least one marketable skill and feel useful.  If our students cannot graduate with being able to survive with some measure of independence, then we have done them a disservice.

Our political leaders should be held responsible for an educational system that has failed so many of our students.  Why?  Because it was a political decision to: mandate that our children attend secondary school; determine how students were allocated to these schools; allow secondary schools to be managed by different boards of politically appointees; determine the teaching, materials, and maintenance resources that each school would receive; and determine the amount of discipline teachers could enforce.

In a Solutions Barbados administration, we will make the political decision to manage all schools to the highest international customer-focused management standard available, ISO 9001, for the benefit our students and their parents.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

76 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Stop Frustrating Our Youth”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

FYI ….

“The Bill, which has already passed the Lower House, increases the statutory powers of the Attorney General, the Commissioner of Police and the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF), and has sparked fears among some members of the public and the legal fraternity about possible abuse of power.”

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I already warned Grenville on here about these husband wife teams, they are bad news for any government or potential government…they never work out, history is replete with horrifying examples.

The Weatherhead × 2 team is more than enough cause for concern, but when you have 3 or 4 couples, well I dont know if the electorate currently under seige by an incompetent, uncaring government will even consider or have the appetite for married couples and their destructive bullshit drama.

3. nextparty246/Solutions/GP

“Enuff’s (sic) role is to simply oppose everything that I write or do. If I healed the sick and raised the dead, Enuff would (sic) find fault. Why? (sic) He (sic) is too terrified of his political masters to think for himself. One day he will eventually get tired of being used, but for now, we must all tolerate him. Continue Enuff.”

Boss I know Alice in Wonderland policies when I see them–most of yours are and that’s why I “oppose” most things that you write. Regarding me being “too terrified of [my] political masters to think for [myself]…..[and] being used”, is the biggest RH joke of the year, and proves once again that you haven’t a clue about what you speak. If you were truly a policy guru as you purport, your ISO policy would be expanded to cover ALL businesses applying for government contracts. Don’t contractors and sub-contractors impact on government’s service delivery? What about the broader national agenda? If ISO is so messianic, then surely it should be made available to everyone, whether via market or command/control policies; but, like I have said repeatedly, you lack the lateral thinking required for sound policy formulation. In any case, while you are peddling ISO as the key to efficiency in the public service, persons that understand the complex nature of this issue see SCM and RPA as far better options.

4. @enuff

Are you ‘rubbishing’ his achievements as a Barbadian? He has done more by way of public service compared to 80% of the candidates slated to run this general election.

5. Things that make me go hum!! Avatar
    Things that make me go hum!!

David, students were leaving school for years – I talking more than 40 years now without a certificate to their name. Every year thousands of students leave school with little or no certificates, not even primary school level education and what have the authorities done about it. This problem had been festering into a crater for decades.

The problem with this country is that Sam couch and duppy all have the answers but not the will all to get up and do.

Teachers no longer work with the parents for the betterment of the children and vice versus. To understand the young you must first understand their culture, aka their home environment. We need more Ron Clark type teachers around here – mInd you; we had some in the past. I am now seeing an influx in young giddy head teachers that all they seem to care about is dressing hip and collecting a pay check. You also need a Mandatory parenting programme for some of these deatbeat parents. Taking their young to school, you can hear some of them calling 3 and 4 year olds – Big man!!

Lol, a magistrate in Barbados claimed they are no dead beat mothers in Barbados. I want to know where she lives.

6. Agree with your comment, our inaction to address because of lack of leadership in every sphere has come to bite us in the ass. We are up shitcreek in more ways than one.

7. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Things that make me go hum!! February 8, 2018 at 9:14 AM #
    David, students were leaving school for years – I talking more than 40 years now without a certificate to their name. Every year thousands of students leave school with little or no certificates, not even primary school level education and what have the authorities done about it. This problem had been festering into a crater for decades.

………………………………………………..

As I said: HIRE ATTITUDE, TEACH SKILLS.

What makes Bajan youth unemployable is not their lack of skills, it is their piss-poor work ethic and attitude bred into them by similar parents (or lack of).

Children primarily learn from example; in the home, in wider society and then in school.

Institute National Conscription and we may be able to save some of them.

8. David
    I have said nothing negative about GP’s or any of Solutions’ candidates professional achievements or public service. Saying someone will not win a seat does not equate to rubbishing their achievements. I have focused on the party’s policies, whilst he has labelled me a paid political blogger and a political slave. Again contradicting himself.🤣🤣🤣

9. Bernard Codrington February 7, 2018 at 12:32 PM #

Did you pass the 11+?

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Nextparty246:
    “This will mean that students will learn conversational languages, where they learn to speak the language before conjugating verbs; music by ear, where they learn to play an instrument before music theory; applied sciences, where the usefulness of the subject is understood, before science theory, where the usefulness of the subject is less clear. With this practical knowledge, students will learn how to start and grow a profitable business.”

What kind of “profitable” businesses would these students be able to “start and grow”? Importing Chinese-made goods and selling them along the streets?

So if every student would have his or her own business where would the workforce come from to supply the many foreign-owned and controlled businesses like Sandals, Massy and the banks?

It sounds as if you are not too keen on FDI and the hotel industry as the way forward for the future economic survival of Barbados.

11. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

a ten year old in the body of a 70 plus year old man…

i know people who never took the cursed 11 plus…many are scholars, many are geniuses.

what a question for an old man to be asking..

12. Things that make me go hum!! Avatar
    Things that make me go hum!!

FB, what are we doing about deat beat parents – giving them a “free house” and “free salary” – Sandals owner say so, and some a we cuss he! But the children seeing and following suit though.

Grenville, wayward youths become wayward waaay before Secondary School.

13. @enuff

And the established parties, are you happy they have slavishly adhered to manifestos? Why is it said the country suffers from an implementation deficit? Has this label surfaced under the ensconced duopoly?

14. David

When has the government become implementation deficient and how?

15. Going back to HRL and Greenland/Mount Stinkeroo you mean?

16. Was that implementation deficiency or more about “bad” site selection, and opposition by local “experts” and Prof Machel from over and away? By the way has Greenland slid into the sea yet?

17. The main issue fueling the Greenland debate was the possibility of leachate leaking into the aquifer? No doubt resident John will shed light.

18. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

David at 3 :53 PM

An aquifer in the Scotland District?

19. Leakage and clay? From my tour of a landfill as a student, I always thought the physical and chemical properties of clay soils made them suitable for lining and preventing leakage.

20. Anyone who was unfortunate to listen to the interview with Karen Best (Chief Education Officer) was appalled at the resignation in her voice in response to th Grantley Adams event. We are a society in precipitous decline.

21. Karen “Wigs” Best should never have been appointed Chief Education Officer. She was a primary school headmistress. We are paying the price for the Dems’ politically driven hiring/firing over the last ten years: NHC, UDC, RDC, SSA, BWA, RBPF, NSC, KOMI, Cultural Industries Development, Transport Board etc etc

22. Enuff February 8, 2018 at 5:33 PM #

Blenheim was a land fill; did it affect the Belle?

23. Hal

I didn’t even there was a landfill at Blenheim. s Blenheim known for clay soils?

24. Enuff February 10, 2018 at 12:03 PM #

When government first bought Blenheim from old man Fields in the 1960s they dumped household rubbish on the site for weeks. Neighbours suffered flies and mice for ages before layering the top with garden mould.

25. RE Enuff February 10, 2018 at 12:03 PM #
    Hal I didn’t even there was a landfill at Blenheim.

THOSE OF US WHO GREW UP IN THE DAY WHEN WE DIDNT TRAVEL THE LENGTH AND BREADTH OF THE LAND KNOW/KNEW SO LITTLE EXCEPT ABOUT OUR IMMEDIATE DISTRICTS WHERE WE RAN AND PLAYED.

I WILL NEVER FORGET THE FIRST SUNDAY MORNING WALK I ATTENDED WHEN THE LATE COLIN HUDSON EXPLAINED THE ORIGINS AND PURPOSE OF A CANE HOLE………OR HOW MUCH I LEARNED ON THESE “STOP & STARE” WALKS LISTENING TO TALKS ABOUT OUR FLORA, GEOLOGY AND THE LOCAL HISTORY OF THE PLATS WE WALKED ON EACH OCCASION.

26. Thanks for that Hal.