Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

‘Emergencies’ have always been the pretext on which the safeguards of individual liberty have been eroded. Friedrich August von Hayek

It seems unlikely that I should be personally affected by the operation of the proposed legislation. After all, I am essentially a homebody and scarcely to be found on the road at “ungodly” hours so as to be inconvenienced by a traditional curfew and it is at least doubtful that my neighbourhood would be subject to any police cordon as a designated area as is provided for in the Act. Yet, as a fairly liberal thinker so far as human rights are concerned, there are more things than a few that trouble me about the provisions of the proposed Police (Amendment) Act 2017. Too besides, I am a fan of Martin Niemöller’s celebrated poem. You know; “First they came for the socialists…”

Permit me to concede from the outset that the use of emergency powers by the modern state is and has been since time immemorial a widely accepted aspect of constitutional governance. In a brilliant article titled The Law of the exception: A typology of emergency powers published in 2004, Professors Frerejohn and Pasquino of New York University argue:

When the public safety is seriously threatened, there may be a need for quick and decisive action that cannot perhaps, wait for the deliberate pace of ordinary constitutional rule…

They posit further that this is a central dilemma of a liberal constitutional government in that the rights and protections it provides and preserves can prevent the government from responding efficiently and energetically to enemies that would destroy those rights and perhaps even the constitutional order itself. Indeed, as they note, this has been the case since Roman times, for in cases of emergency the Roman Senate could direct the consuls to appoint a dictator for a temporary period of up to six months. This dictator was authorized to suspend rights and legal processes and to marshal military and other forces in order to deal with the threat of insurrection or invasion.

Further, the mutual trust and confidence that ought to subsist between the citizen and the State should entail, whenever a substantial limitation of rights is proposed by the State, as full a briefing to the citizenry, as may be practicable without compromising state security, should be provided before the institution of such a regime.

Section 25 of our Constitution reflects this thesis to some extent though, of course, unlike the ancient Romans, the concept of a dictator is antithetical to our ethos of constitutional governance. The section provides for the circumstances when a state of emergency is deemed to exist; namely, when Barbados is engaged in warfare or where there is a proclamation by the Governor General, subject to certain stipulated conditions, that a state of public emergency exists or where there is in force a resolution of each House supported by the votes of not less than two-thirds of all the members of that House declaring that the democratic institutions in Barbados are threatened by subversion.

Moreover, where the state of emergency exists as a result of a gubernatorial proclamation, as in Roman times, there is a six month period to which this may be limited though it is subject to extension from time to time for further periods of six months by resolution of a majority of all the members of the House of Assembly.

It seems clear then that our system contemplates the legitimate erosion by the Executive, with Parliamentary approval, of certain fundamental rights in times of national emergency. The actuality is, however, that in our system, there is no concrete separation of power between the executive and the Parliament. It might be for this reason therefore, that the relevant section requires not merely an ordinary, but a special majority in both Houses for the effectiveness of any parliamentary resolution that democratic institutions in Barbados are threatened by subversion.

There is little doubt that the proposed legislation, even though not titled emergency powers legislation, approximates to this by enlarging the police power, with a concomitant loss of liberty on the part of an affected citizen. For instance, clause 19A (2) provides as follows:

The Commissioner may, with the written approval of the Minister impose either a curfew for a period not exceeding 2 days, or a special investigation period in a designated area in Barbados, in order to preserve and promote peace, public order or public safety and investigate where

(a) an incident of serious violence has occurred in any (sic) area in Barbados; or

(b) (b) an incident of serious violence may occur in any area in Barbados”

During this period of curfew, police powers are significantly enhanced. A member of the police force, under the supervision of an officer of the rank of Inspector or above, will be able to, inter alia, between 5 am and 8 pm (scarcely ungodly), search any premises in the designated area without warrant where that member of the force (the constable and not necessarily the supervising officer) has a reasonable suspicion that an offence has been committed, is being committed or is about to be committed on the premises; to stop and search any person walking or sitting in the designated area where that member of the Force has a reasonable suspicion that an offence has been committed, is being committed or about to be committed; and to search any item or anything being carried or held by that person for an offensive weapon, any illegal drugs or stolen property and to stop and search any vehicle in or any vehicle entering or exiting the designated area, its driver or passenger for an offensive weapon, an illegal drug or stolen property where that member of the force has a reasonable suspicion that an offence has been committed, is being committed or about to be committed.

It is to be noted that the threshold of “reasonable suspicion” is perhaps the lowest form of justification for police action. It has been determined that it may arise from information that is different in quantity or content from and less reliable than that required to establish probable cause, a more favourable threshold to the accused. Furthermore, the existence of “reasonable suspicion” is to be determined after the impugned event and not at the time of or prior to the police action.

It seems clear that the local authorities are contemplating a period of substantial social disruption. Existence of the mutual trust that I referred to earlier would ordinarily require that the populace be taken into the confidence of the authorities, unless this may lead to a compromise of the strategic initiatives necessary to combat this imminent threat to the social order.

In the absence of such information, people are liable to ascribe all sorts of nefarious motives to the government on the enactment of the proposed legislation and worse, to become increasingly fearful of the impact on them and their families of whatever might ensue from the anticipated insurrection. Silence is clearly not golden here. There is a clamant need for conversation.

190 responses to “The Jeff Cumberatch Column – Emergency Powers and Good Governance”

1. William Skinner Avatar

Question Time:
    1. Is Guyston Mayers the Chairman of the Police Service Commission ?
    2. Is Guyston Mayers a member of the Democratic Labour Party ?
    3. Was Guyston Mayers a candidate or prospective candidate of the Democratic Labour Party?
    4. Was Sir David Simmons the Chief Justice of Barbados?
    5.Is/was Sir David Simmons a member of the Barbados Labour Party?
    6.Did Sir David Simmons, on leaving Parliament , as a sitting member of the Barbados Labour Party, become Chief Justice of Barbados?

If the above are answered in the affirmative, is it not conclusive evidence, that both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party, are known/guilty of appointing their party members , to high and influential office, relating to law and order ?

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

With the likes of Fractured idiot, ac Yardfowl, Carson Yardfowl, Ha, Ha Austin, many others too numerous to mention on BU….and even you John Liesalot, you just made an ironclad case why the 11 plus nonsense should be upgraded to real education…it is that time.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And I did not even get around to the idiots in parliament, in the judiciary, in the civil service….in ever facet of Bajan life..

….the island is infested with the failed british experiment that is 11 plus.

4. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bust Tea

Please quote me correctly. I said:”The Common Entrance Examination is one of our biggest contributors to crime and social deviance.” Operative word: “one”. I did not jump any where.

The primary level of the education system is where we have to start the reform. The Common Entrance is the bedrock or foundation. If that remains , all the ills you speak of would remain.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…good one Fearplay.

Everyone seems to forget that post slavery, the brits were experimenting with ideas on how to get rid of the responsibiliy of caring fir once enslaved people without having to compensate them, british flavored education with a heavy dose of brainwash was the popular conclusion drawn and seemed like the best idea at the time.

Worked out great for UK…

But…

It is still destructive to the majority population on the island….who are way too reluctant to change their degrading situation and curcumstances,…useless, archaic education system included.

They are even reluctant to create a human rights organization to protect themselves, their children and their future generations from government abuse. ….so, we see the problem…dont we?

People run just at the idea…that is not a well educated, well informed population.

6. We have to support vulnerable family units exposed by the rise of the impersonal heights and terraces.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John February 4, 2018 at 4:16 PM #
    “The Common Entrance Examination is one of our biggest contributors to crime and social deviance.
    It existed when I was a boy and there was no crime and social deviance then ….. did it change or is it something else causing the crime and social deviance??”

So why were there a Police Force headed by white men since the 1830’s, Glendairy and Dodds and the regular hanging of black men?

You John, the quack of a Quaker, must remember that your sweet innocent Jesus was not only chosen by your Jewish friends to be prosecuted instead of a known troublemaker named Barabbas but also found himself being ‘crucified’ between two convicted criminals.

8. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

those uncaring blacks who now populate the heights and terraces should e the head ones leading the charge to pressure on uncaring governments to upgrade to an inclusive education system, that will benefit the population as a whole…

…and will only realize the selfish errors of their ways, when they can no longer afford the heights and terraces and they and their grandchildren are once again reduced to experiencing the conundrum of the masses, nothing lasts forever.

both administrations have had the last 30 years and billions of tax dollars to upgrade the rot in the education system to a progressive system…but never did, they are still comfortable in the failed british experiment and got the nerve to question parents who are cognizant enough to seek alternative educational arrangement for a better education experience for their children.

take another good look at the current conditions of the island, those are not the actions of well informed, well educated governments.

i must say though, the current deterioration was not that evident in 2004 but nevertheless, there should have been upgrades within the last 30 years, the money was available.

9. William Skinner
    Can a bajan anybody, barring a known criminal or lunatic be appointed Chairman of the Barbados Police Service Commission?
    Can a bajan anybody barring a known criminal or lunatic be appointed Chief Justice of Barbados?
    I have heard of silly arguments but William the Conquered of St Michael Central who was mauled at the polls,take the cake.William,the tuppence hapeny political wannabe.

10. Are we not a little curious how long those captured in the dragnet of an emergency powers event how long will the poor suckers have to be on remand have their cases heard?

11. It seems to me that the people of Jamaica,Trinidad and Tobago and of Guyana know only too well the strictures of gun violence and what it has done to those countries.Let it not happen in Barbados.Go after criminality in accordance with the law as it is now.Upping the ting will not only cause more division and mayhem in the society,it will run the investor class and likely take Barbados back to the turn of the 20th century,only this time there will be no sugar cane to pay our bills.
    Btw what ever became of Alvin’Boots’ Cummins?

12. Is curfew law still being invoked in Montego Bay? We have truly lost our virginity as a nation.

#packajas

13. Mia Mottley is the caused of Barbados 🇧🇧 problems.

Poor , Owen Seymour Arthur tried his best to get her to change her DESPOTIC persona.

But is too far gone .

The BLP under her control has … has LOST it’s SOUL .

14. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Donna,
    Excellent point about the education system. Interesting developments coming out of Kenya.

http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2018/02/classroom-revolution-curriculum-kenya-kids-180203151511888.html

According to the BBC, President Zuma is toast and is likely to be forced out of office. They believe that it is highly probable that he will soon be appearing in court on corruption charges.

Stuart and company should be relieved that they are not South African citizens!

15. Fractured BLP February 4, 2018 at 3:54 PM # Said

Blame Mia Mottley

Police must be given more power to rein them in and their cronies !!!

Fractured, so, you do want to use extraordinary powers to prevent and collar any opposition!?

Nuff said!!

As yuh man said, time longer than twine, be careful what you wish for.

16. The guvment want extra powahs tuh apparently addess more common daily activites than emergency situations.

Barbados has been in economic emergency for the past six or seven years.

Why no urgency about fixing that??!!!

Jokers.

17. Mia Mottley is the most devastating hurricane to hit Barbados 🇧🇧 since hurricane Janet !

• Edutech …… $ 90 million in damages !

• Crab Hill police station….. $ 10 million in damages !

• DOODS prison…….$ 700 million in damages !

Just think how this reckless spending has added to Barbados’ national debt .

Really , who wants MAM back near our treasury ????

18. David February 4, 2018 at 4:24 PM #
    The family and the support for the family unit has changed.

That is where the major problem lies.

The problem is that since the 1960’s family has been the target of destruction of the political class.

19. When you drive up My Lord’s Hill, look at the road names on the left and right.

Mayers, Jones, Proute and Licorish were once families from that area.

Families make communities and communities make the country.

The family determines the strength of the country.

It would be interesting to know what families exist in the area now.

Membership of a family usually means an individual will try to uphold the family name and not besmirch it.

It also means that an individual will be accountable to its senior members.

Control is thus natural.

If a bunch of individuals is all that exists in a country, control is really problematic.

It is like school in the old time days, if you were flogged when you got home you were flogged again just for being flogged!!

You brought the family into disrepute.

Individuals do not feel they have that responsibility to a family and without families, communities don’t exist and where there are no communities there is no country.

I suspect that’s our problem.

20. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Jeff Cumberbatch “It seems unlikely that I should be personally affected by the operation of the proposed legislation…and it is at least doubtful that my neighbourhood would be subject to any police cordon as a designated area as is provided for in the Act. Yet, as a fairly liberal thinker so far as humbesides, I am a fan of Martin Niemöller’s celebrated poem. You know; “First they came for the socialists…”

I am glad that you remembered Rev. Niemöller, because as we well know oppressive governments like to come FIRSTLY for the intelligencia. And YOU Brother Jeff are a bona fide member of the said intelligencia.

Maybe the bell of the Police (Amendment) Act 2017 is ringing not for the “bad boys on the block”, not for the gun runners, and drug traffickers, maybe the bell is ringing for you.

21. Pick any area where many people lived before the turn of the 20th century.

You will find family names attached to streets.

If you go on most plantations and look at the field names, you will see the same.

Many of those family names attached to fields were from the year dot.

Family from earliest times was one of the basic core values of Barbadians.

Where ever you see a signpost with a family name on it ….. think core value!!

Like CHOYCE, ROCK, HOPE, CONTENT, HARMONY, FRIENDSHIP, UNION etc etc!!

22. If common core values exist, people can do anything!!

Individuals = Entropy

Hit or miss, no control.

23. Here comes the liesalot man to hijck the thread.

24. I would not be personally affected by the operation of the proposed legislation.

I live in Canada

However I have friends and family who live in areas that could be targeted.

It makes me angry to think that Barbados may no longer a place I want to live or visit.

Those of you who live in the Heights and Terraces probably have family who were not as fortunate as you.

It is unfortunate if Barbados becomes a de facto police state.

25. John February 4, 2018 at 9:09 PM #

You continue to be one of the most interesting contributors to this blog. Don’t allow the keyboard warriors to drive you away. I grew up in that area and know exactly what you are saying. I remember the extended families living in those areas all with family names.
    In fact, in London I was talking about a former permanent secretary of that background and the person I was talking to reminded me I was talking about his cousin. I had forgotten after all these years they were related. He agreed with everything I said.

This brings me to another pointed. The political class now pressing for repressive legal measures to control the boys on the block are two, at most three generations away from great grand parents who worked on the plantations.
    It was education that provided the ladder for them to escape the Heights and Terraces – first Grantley Adams, then Errol Barrow. Now, instead of defending the poor and marginalised, they are even more brutal than the Executive Council ever was. But this is part of our history: watchmen, Island Constables, foremen, police, to G4S and the privatised police masquerading as so-called security guards in every shop and office – put a Bajan in a uniform and they become little Hitlers.

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/126691/speak

The people who live in the heights and terraces should be speaking out the most, be their brother’s keepers instead of believing themselves special, untouchable and invincible…because of the government created economic disaster Barbados has become, you are very likely to not be in the heights and terraces indefinitely,

After a whole week and being made aware, Comissiong should not have to be begging Bajans to speak up to protect their own human rights, the outrage in the society at the arrogance of Adriel Nitwit and the house negros of parliament should be palpable, an alive and tangible movement should have already emerged to send a message….to a dying and dangerous government.

Many of those on BU, with lots of big talk who love to use that useless talk to upstage and attack each other, wasting precious time, should have already mobilized and contacted Comissiong, Pilgrim and other human rights attorneys for pointers and tips to form groups in their neighborhoods, mobilize the people and close ranks against government….to send that message.

Why should Comissiong and only a few other attorneys have to do it all….each and every time, get on up off your asses.

“The privacy and legal rights of all Barbadians, and working class ones in particular, are under attack, says attorney David Comissiong.

And he is calling on all citizens who treasure their rights to speak out against what he termed was the injustice Government was seeking to inflict on them through amendments to the Police Act, now before the Senate for debate.

Under the proposed legislation, the police may, with the written approval of the Attorney General, impose a curfew in designated areas, and restrict people to their homes during the curfew hours for up to two days, to promote peace and public safety. The police will also be able to stop and search individuals and vehicles without a warrant, as well as search houses without a warrant if they have reasonable suspicion that any offence, no matter how trivial, has been committed or is about to be committed.

Comissiong said if these amendments were enacted, those likely to be targeted were people who lived in working class districts like Deacons Farm and Black Rock in St Michael; Haynesville, St James; The Pine, St Michael; and Silver Hill and Gall Hill in Christ Church. (SP)”

27. Why don’t David Come – along go to the South Coast and use his MOUTH 👄 and clean up the overflow from the South Coast Sewage project ??

His mouth 👄 would be put to better use , then.

A perennial humbug – he is .

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

That is the job of yardfowls and government ministers, using their lying mouths to suck up the raw sewage on the south coast, a situation they themselves created with neglect of the sewage system for 10 long years.

The job of the people is to mobilize and get rid of the sewage coasted yardfowls and all the repulsive, sewage coated government ministers out of the people’s parliament in the coming weeks ahead.

Tick, tock…tick, tock

29. Well well

Go back to sleep 😴

You & other BLP minions are making the same mistake now as in 2013

30. Frivolous comments will be removed.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

How do we get Bajans to understand the GRAVITY of their present situation and remove themselves from their comfortable cocoons and SAVE themselves, before this becomes irreversible and every government after this destructive lot decides to use these laws to violate human rights on the island.

How do we get a people who were never taught and never understood the urgent and dire situational issues in regard to other people , to understand their own?

32. maybe thats why they are doing it……they do understand their own…….

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, a blog post is interesting for any number of reasons so surely those from @John ping an interest because of inherent bias, amazing depth of research, lack of thoughtful balance, nuggets of brilliance…the list is varied…good and bad.

You too sir display similarly.

You make grand statements (“put a Bajan in a uniform and they become little Hitlers”) and attribute them to Bajans as if we are the original man.

Blogging by its ubiquitous nature automatically drives us to be brief and those with some measure of knowledge and solid experience like you two, owe a duty of care to be as stridently honest in those remarks as space and interest would allow.

For example the power hunger ‘three degrees of separated’ political behaviour of which you speak is manifest so comprehensively throughout the world that it’s maddening to hear you describe Bajans as if we created the damn thing. Yes we too fit the damning description but were we expected to be constituted of some unique psychological traits vastly different from all others in humanity!

Haiti is heralded as the first Black nation to be freed from slavery. What is not heralded is that it was Haitian descendants of those impressive soldiers that defeated a mighty European army who then reenslaved their people during a despotic tenure. That is true generational disgust and has basically made the nation the underdeveloped problem it is today.

And BTW maybe you and John can explain the statement : “The problem is that since the 1960’s family has been the target of destruction of the political class”.

HOW exactly have pols executed that destruction?

Do continue to ‘interest’ us all…. good and good, ideally.

34. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“maybe thats why they are doing it……they do understand their own……”

Government ministers and politicians in this instance and in every area or island do understand the limited mental powers to be found in the populi they lead, because they too have the same issues, but are able to manipulate and deceive the population only because they are at the controls, that is what power does to governments, particularly abusive governments, no matter how small the island..

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, with ROFLMHO reference to your “Frivolous comments will be removed”, then we would all be in trouble…not just the ducks and fowls.

The remark, “How do we get a people who were never taught and never understood the urgent and dire situational issues in regard to other people , to understand their own?”….

… Is quite frivolous in my view. Absurd actual.

But surely then you would have to remove this comment too for its frivolity, alas, 😁

36. @Dee Word

You know the message the comment is meant to convey, some of us don’t know when to stop even with some latitude is given.

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Define frivolous…..pedant,..

Can you truthfully say that Bajans understand the predicament they now find themselves in and are reluctant to even protest, that they are aware of their current dire situational position and are still loathe to rise up….. . ..a frivlous analysis..without being a hypocrite.

That they have been told that THEIR government is about to violate all of their human rights, while you sit in your comfortable cocoon in Cabada knowing that it will have to be Canadians or US citizens marching for the basuc human rights of Bajans as happened with St. Vincent…..

….while you stay hidden behind your computer. .

So please define frivolous. ..I am willing to learn,

38. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Hal Austin February 5, 2018 at 3:55 AM Hal Austin February 5, 2018 at 3:55 AM “they are even more brutal than the Executive Council ever was.”

Do you mean the same Executive councils which presided over the enslavement of your fore-parents and mine [but not John’s] in Barbados from 1627 to 1938?

39. As Minister responsible for the Public Service of Barbados 🇧🇧, I , King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart will decree the 1st March , 2018 as the day of JUSTICE for over 3,000 hardworking public officers.

On that great day they will receive their much deserved letters of permanent appointment.

This is all compliments of my Dear Loving Party…. DLP

40. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@John February 4, 2018 at 10:05 PM “Family from earliest times was one of the basic core values of Barbadians.”

This is NOT TRUE John. How can family be a basic core value, when for 211 years the families of the 5% white Bajans could sell and separate the families of the 95% black Bajans.

How can family be a basic core value when for 211 years black Bajans were forbidden by white Bajans to marry?

How can family be a core value when black men were encouraged to “breed” black women as though those back women were sow pigs?

How can family be a core value when white men could at will “breed” their enslaved young black girls?

How can family be a core value when the white Executive Councils entrenched the notion of bastardy, and white married men had no legal, social, practical oor financial responsibility for the children which they “bred” with black women?

How can family be a core value when these same Executive Council made laws permitted, indeed commanded white men to leave their estates to the children of their white wives while their half black children walked about barefoot, chigger foot?

41. Dr. Simple Simon February 5, 2018 at 9:16 AM #
    @Hal Austin February 5, 2018 at 3:55 AM Hal Austin February 5, 2018 at 3:55 AM “they are even more brutal than the Executive Council ever was.”
    Do you mean the same Executive councils which presided over the enslavement of your fore-parents and mine [but not John’s] in Barbados from 1627 to 1938?

Our foreparents were enslaved in Africa (where there was no executive council) and shipped to Barbados.

As I have said before, thank God for that because had it not happened they would have been sent east with the consignment for the Arab slave markets and lost their ability to procreate!!

So we would not exist!!

As it turned out Christianity ended the practice!!

42. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

For hundreds of years in Barbados it was not family, but profit which was the defining core value of this society. And that profit was dragged from the bodies of black people through their productive labour, and through their re-PRODUCTIVE labour.

Profit NOT family is what has ALWAYS defined Barbados. And John is mad at that loss of profit. Profit from other people’s labour. Profit from other people’s bodies.

If John wants profit, then let him use his own body, let him use the body of his wife, his children, his grandchildren, his great grand children.

And if they have brains let him use those too.

Profit will come to him. But this time, he and his have to do the WORK.

43. Holy Matrimony is a sacrament of the Church dispensed to its adherents.

You became an adherent through CHOYCE!!

… but marriage alone does not make a family!!!

I know members of several families whose parents are not married.

In fact, back in 1979, a fellow student researching Barbados came to me and asked me how come Barbados had a 70% illegitimacy rate!!

A family comes into being as the result of a choice.

44. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

in putting it all into perspective, civil service appointments should never be used as leverage to extort votes from 3,000 civil servants, who should have been appointed 10 years ago….this is blackmail.

just as withholding 1400 deeds from NHC tenants to extort 1,400 votes, should get the government no votes, those deeds should have been handed over at least 8 years ago and not used as leverage to blackmail tenants to get votes..in this election

this political party should be permanently disbanded and never allowed in politics again, the weakest political minds ought to stop with the sentimental, inherent stupidity that Barrow is somehow driving this government, no he is not, the government ministers are demon possessed and power drunk.

the current Bill before parliament to violate citizens rights, drives home that analysis.

45. … and if we accept that family controlled most people in Barbados prior to the 1960’s then it follows it was alive and working for centuries.

All we need to understand is how and why it was destroyed!!

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler February 5, 2018 at 8:03 AM
    “You [‘Hal Austin the Great] make grand statements (“put a Bajan in a uniform and they become little Hitlers”) and attribute them to Bajans as if we are the original man.”

DpD, this is all coming from a “Native Son” (aka a black Bajan living overseas in a white uniform) who claims to have the solutions to all of Barbados’s economic, social and governance problems.

But we must forgive the silly old boy behaving like Captain Mainwaring from Dad’s Army. At least we can say he is an equal opportunity armchair critic.

First he was a rabid xenophobe who wallowed in cussing back to the high hinterland the “Guyanese-born DPP” leading to the poor man’s early dispatch to the Fire where everyone is nothing but a nugget of carbon.

With the dead DPP now out of his way his xenophobia has turned into a brilliantly reflective case of Eisoptrophobia (for the sake of the semi-literate, the fear of seeing oneself in the mirror).

Now he is focusing his sights on the locally born and bred (‘vulgar lot’) beneficiaries of EWB’s failed experiment in trying to make a meritocracy out of a plantocracy and ended up with a ‘big-able’ ‘mediocracy’.

How else would one describe what Hal (the Bajan black knight in shinning verbal armour) wrote (as repeated below) if not a perfect case of loathing of his black self and a textbook example of critical self-analysis?

From Hal Austin on February 1, 2018 at 5:22 PM
    “Look no further than BU, a nation over its head in debt, mortgaged out by this government to the Chinese, an attorney general that is not only out of his debt, but is fast introducing a police state in Barbados, a prime minister who was a former attorney general who does not seem to care, the Leader of the official Opposition, also a former attorney general, again who has chosen to remain silent, school children stabbing each other on buses, a senior magistrate clearly in need of counselling……yet with all these and more, all you can get on BU are vulgarities, semi-literate party propaganda as the general election approaches. The people have been betrayed.”

47. Steupsss

Wunna stop being frivolous do!!!
    Hal is just being Hal.
    He was always so….

Can a lime tree produce mangoes?

48. Bushie
    If grafted or budded

49. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

` And that profit was dragged from the bodies of black people through their productive labour, and through their re-PRODUCTIVE labour.

Profit NOT family is what has ALWAYS defined Barbados. And John is mad at that loss of profit. Profit from other people’s labour. Profit from other people’s bodies. If John wants profit, then let him use his own body, let him use the body of his wife, his children, his grandchildren, his great grand children.

And if they have brains let him use those too.

Profit will come to him. But this time, he and his have to do the WORK `.

and that is the reason black people are so hated today, most refuse to allow themselves to be misused and abused as they ancestors were…

and that is why black people everywhere MUST close ranks to protect themselves and each other, particularly from abusive black governments..

….this becomes particularly easy for majority Black countries like Barbados to do, in countries where Blacks are in the minority, it is a brutal uphill battle…..which makes black people on the island having the upper hand as the majority and should be in control of their own destinies and those of their future generations..

use the unique opportunity as a majority Black population to close ranks and beat back those demons with extreme prejudice, if you help yourselves, you will get the international assistance you need.

50. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

Governor General Dame Sandra promises to closely monitor what’s going on in Barbados ......

Fine, but how much power does she have to act against any human right abuses against citizens, besides sending an urgent message to UK and praying for some type of answer let alone action, seeing that Barbados is sovereign and UK got bigger problems of their own.

the citizens have to mobilize and resist any infringement of their rights, dont attend any political meetings government is hosting, you already know what they plan to do.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply