Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

Solutions Barbados is the only political party that has published a workable economic plan that does not require IMF funding.  The BLP and DLP have embraced development philosophies that no longer work when a country is in this level of debt, and have taken us to the brink of economic ruin.  That is why many economists recommend that borrowing from the IMF should be part of their economic plans.

Should voters choose to elect Solutions Barbados candidates in the upcoming general election, then they can finally experience well-managed government services and a fair economy in which all participants can benefit.  Since we are not following the BLP/DLP failed development philosophies, every resident can become healthy, wealthy and educated if they choose to, without being politically favoured.

If Barbados has the misfortune of electing any other Party, then as soon as the election results are announced, they should prepare for the worst, because within one year, they will likely be living their nightmare.  Mercifully, they may only have to survive the 5-year term of the nightmare that they voted to experience.  Some useful post-election advice follows.

Those with cars need to ask their mechanic to replace every part that will likely need replacing within the next 5 years, especially the wheels and shock absorbers.  If persons cannot afford to have them installed now, then they should at least purchase the parts while they can still afford to.

Persons should not apply for home mortgages, and those who were recently approved for a mortgage should not take it.  Those with houses need to complete any outstanding maintenance projects such as power-washing and sealing concrete driveways, painting external walls and roofs, and installing new tiles and faucets.  Everyone should consider purchasing a new computer, cell phone, camera, TV, microwave, washing machine, and any other device or home appliance that may need to be replaced within 5 years.

All employees in an export related sector should try to protect their salaries.  Such employees should request that the basis of their current salaries be in US dollars, but paid in the equivalent Barbados dollars.  If the company claims that it only exports say, 50% of its products, then the employees should not expect to have more than 50% of their salaries protected.

Persons in this ‘export’ category include maids and gardeners in foreign-owned villas, all employees in the tourism and international business sectors, and all employees of those who directly export goods or services.
Persons who can access their pensions should try to protect them before they are worth less.  Those who do not qualify to access their pensions should weep for their dependents and join their fellow Barbadians, who recklessly decided to suck whatever is left after the salt that they voted to suck has gone by not voting for Solutions Barbados candidates.

All of this will be necessary because the IMF has one main role – to protect the country’s foreign currency earnings from the country’s residents.  They are well-aware that if you have access to foreign currency, you will spend it.  They are there to ensure that the foreign currency is used primarily to repay those from whom we borrowed – it does not belong to us.

To prevent us from using foreign currency on our needs or wants, they will likely devalue our currency to make the foreign currency very expensive for us.  They will also significantly increase income taxes so that we will have very little money to spend.  Finally, they will increase sales taxes so that after we have spent our remaining money on our bare necessities, there will be nothing left.  So the foreign currency will be protected from us, and we will basically be working for nothing, like slaves.

In an IMF program, we should not expect our politicians to represent our interests.  That is because the IMF has learnt a very important lesson of slavery – feed the overseer and he will beat his fellow slaves.  Therefore, the only persons who normally do well during an IMF program are politicians, who are rewarded for carrying out the IMF’s instructions without mercy.  It is instructive to note that when the IMF doubled the income tax rates on Guyanese, their politicians offered no meaningful objection whatsoever.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

77 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Prepare for the Nightmare”

1. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

whats the old saying about dogs and their vomit again…well here it is in live and living color…

Pacha…the awakening worldwide is now seeing arrogant, lying, obnoxious world leaders no matter how big or small, well and truly hated by the populi.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/02/02/going-the-imf-route-is-an-option-sinckler-says/

Government appears to be softening its resistance to seeking the support of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to turn round the economy. Two…

2. Wily estimates that BARBADOS $ at best is worth 0.12US$, this means a devaluation of some 400% is in order.

Wily is not an economist, however Wily is an avid reader of IMF Articles, LEADING economists analysis(ie: Marla Dunkharan), Scotiabank, RBC BANK, etc. which are all in general agreement that the BARBADOS $ is worth between 0.10 and 0.14US$.

Devaluation itself is not thing that will lead BARBADOS back to prosperity, however devaluation will result in the necessary mental correction to the BAJAN perspective. Prosperity as BARBADOS has known in the last few years will likely NEVER RETURN.

3. Wily Coyote February 3, 2018 at 11:17 AM #

Don’t worry. The economists themselves do not agree what they are talking about. In macro-economic policy government’s objectives are threefold: managing domestic monetary policy, managing the exchange rate, and control of capital flow.
    We have ceded the exchange rate to the Federal Reserve, there is no inward capital flow and domestic monetary policy is chaotic.
    In short, government has lot control of the economy. Taking back control of our exchange rate is not the worst that can happen, since that is our sovereign right; to put the brakes on inward and outward capital flow we can start by outlawing the use of the Greenback as legal tender in Barbados. And, finally, the irresponsible credit-driven monetary policy is a catastrophe waiting to happen.

4. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

used to be the BBD was worth 0.35US in the early 90s….that is a long free fall, they are lucky to be still anchored to US.

5. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

Also not an economist
    But would prefer to keep my money in my pocket and not have a “necessary mental correction to the BAJAN perspective.”

Can someone tell me the benefits of devaluation and why we must devalue the Barbados dollar. And please, I begging you please don’t tell me “we already devalue”. If we are already devalued why do we have to do it again?

6. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

BTW: An excellent column by Grenville
    He has shown you the future
    Make and live with your decision. You will have only yourself to blame

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…dont mind Ha, Ha Austin ya hear, let the Brits devalue the pound and you will hear him squeal like a pig…

….., the pound dropped to just about 2 bucks in Barbados last year, ah bet he he did not travel out of UK at all.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Theophilius Gazerts 261 February 3, 2018 at 12:02 PM
    “And please, I begging you please don’t tell me “we already devalue”. If we are already devalued why do we have to do it again?”

The decision to ‘officially’ devalue the already de facto devalued Bajan Mickey Mouse currency has already been taken out of the hands of the impotent local authorities.

They have failed miserably to take matters in their own hands by earlier stroking the economic bishop while belling the monetary cat.

It’s just now a matter of the Bajans ‘begging’ between being screwed in the fiscal mouth or up their monetary backside.

Either swallow their pride and take the slippery wood of major lifestyle adjustments in their big mouths or expect to feel the impact of a large piece of iron where the sun does not shine.

As the donkey told the pig on the way to the market: ‘Sweet life ain’t long life’.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller…ya friend Stinkler NOW sees IMF as an option, huh..lol

Just remind him that HE SAID…if there is any devaluation. …he will resign.

Of course with a little over 12 weeks to go before the government is forced to call election….his tail will be out of parliament before IMF negotiations.

10. @ Miller
    Boss…
    You like you acquired Bushie’s whacker yuh…..
    but…
    Ease off de throttle a bit though….
    unless yuh looking to kill a fella…?

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson….#YoMemo….lol, haha ha, lol.

12. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

This was simple…
    Reflected what many of you were saying but it did not mention the hocus pocus magic that some think comes with devaluation. It also mentions inflation, I did not see anyone talking about inflation. Suspect the tourist will get a rise in cost as well….
    Tell me what does Barbados export???

https://www.thestreet.com/topic/46324/devaluation.html

13. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

Doing it from first principles… not what is bad for the D. What is bad for the D is bad for all of we.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea February 3, 2018 at 2:12 PM

Bushie these vagabonds have outdone the BLP when it comes to doing shite; both figuratively and literally. You have a lot invested in Barbados (including your genetic future) and you ought to more concern about what is taking place as the conditions required to produce the plague are beginning to build up, rats and all.

It’s all your fault for reading up the Devil with his pitchfork on the Garrison.
    Since you put your mouth on Froon and his goons, things have gone from ‘pissy’ poor to shitty worst.

How could this pack of nincompoops make light of the shit on the South coast by trying to blame others and by cussing people who dare to express serious concern.
    Just look at how the MoH described one of his community-minded constituents, Adrian Hockey Donavan an “Up and On” fellla from the old Mafiosi!

You need to get rid of this lot or else all economic and social hell would break loose as the gates of hell are opened like the sluice for the Grame Hall swamp.

Even Solutions Barbados would do, just to see the back of this lot of jokers from hell.

15. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

Don’t misread and think I have some kind of alliance for the Demonic party.
    They need to be removed
    But we are not going to cut off our nose to spite our face
    Barbados first …. party second

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Theophilius Gazerts 261 February 3, 2018 at 2:51 PM
    “Tell me what does Barbados export…”

Tourism services (sea, sand and fun) and rum.

Devaluation could act as a major stimulus to the production of more local molasses for the rum industry and locally-grown fruits and vegetables as the western world (source of tourists to Barbados) becomes more vegan in culinary fare.

With every ‘dark’ crisis comes a set of golden opportunities. Don’t let the pending devaluation crisis go to waste.

17. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

I don’t see Tourism as getting cheaper, the hotel rooms will stay the same Us price.
    Vegetable will be sold to the hospitals at the same going rate. Is a pound of patoatoes cost $2 BDS and the the exchange rate becomes 7 to 1 the pound of potato now cost $7.00. Nothing get cheaper for the tourists…

The only impact I see is that even those who are not locked into the tourist industry will be paying more..

We need to think this through.

18. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

My state of mind…
    “BU is not qualified to say if to devalue or not- clearly we need to address government spending, increase productivity in the country especially in the export sector, address debt servicing challenges and a dose of private sector investor confidence. How will a devaluation attack these systemic problems we have failed to effectively address in the last two decades?”

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Theophilius Gazerts 261 February 3, 2018 at 3:00 PM
    “But we are not going to cut off our nose to spite our face
    Barbados first …. party second”

Good call for placing patriotic ѱ altruism before narrow political party expediency.
    But is the ♯ rat boxcy ♯ listening?

How can the measures necessary to stop the country from falling over the cliff of devaluation be implemented without a fresh mandate from the people, the employer of the political class?

Why is the main jokey doctor in the dlp pack allowing the patient to purposely deteriorate knowing full well the longer the delay of the necessary radical surgery the quicker would the Devaluation undertaker be at the door.

20. Theophilius Gazerts 261 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 261

My last comment on this.
    We have to be patient with whoever inherits this mess as I doubt if this mess can be fixed in one term.
    No one word policy can fix this.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

TG###….it takes two words….lower expenditures.
    It is coming at the Nth hour.
    The signals have been out for some time.
    Now one hears from the MoF, he has received a report from the IMF on SOE’s. Dr JR a few weeks ago addressed T&S, which involved many of these SOE’s, at a DLP Friday lunch and learn.
    Appreciate, the Ministry and the CBB have equally qualified individuals, who could have told us what is within the IMF report, years ago. But now, they have an external body to blame the forthcoming expenditure decreases on. And you can bet, it will be spun better than I ever can.
    This will hopefully not alienate the faithful on ‘social economy’, otherwise known as ‘compromising political capital’
    We will be reminded the real reason is the revenue shortfall, [not expenditures] all the private sector operators and others who have failed to remit VAT and pay other taxes. No mention will be made of tax refunds owing. In other words, “it en we fault”. We did our best and were true to the party values.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Theophilius Gazerts 261 February 3, 2018 at 3:16 PM #
    “I don’t see Tourism as getting cheaper, the hotel rooms will stay the same Us price.
    Vegetable will be sold to the hospitals at the same going rate. Is a pound of patoatoes cost $2 BDS and the the exchange rate becomes 7 to 1 the pound of potato now cost $7.00. Nothing get cheaper for the tourists…”

What you mean to say is that the impact on the tourists spending locally would be neutral when their foreign currency is converted to Bajan dollar.

With a ROE of 2:1 moving to 7: 1 the tourists would still be able to cover the cost of 1 pound of potatoes.

If we take your argument to its logical conclusion then Jamaica should be having much less tourists than Barbados.

You are missing one other factor from your analysis.

That increased cost of $7.00 for the pound of potatoes might just be sufficient to push the lazy Bajans to switch to the use of locally-grown potatoes, tomatoes lettuce cabbage etc instead ofconsuming the imported equvalent sprayed with chemicals to make them look fresh in whichever foodcshop owned by overseas interests.

Same thing applies to the increased cost on imported fossil-based fuels.

Now that would be a real stimulus to the alternative energy sector.

23. miller with deals like sandals has you may have eat local but the tourist wouldnt. hookers would cost the same as usual for bajans … but WW … the cost of antibiotics could cut into your profits and put you in the poor house. If you have your fellas make their condoms out of local sheep intestine you could save a few bucks ..but if you raised your own sheep that would be even better. Time to brush off that old taxi license for the hard currency… no mam we dont have meters in our cars ..we are highly educated and can tell time. I always wondered why there was such a charge to get rid of the nelson statue till it became obvious when I would see it six times on a taxi ride to the harbor.

24. Devaluation is not about TOURISM, it’s about forcing a mental, physical and schycological adjustment on the BARBADOS populace. In other words it’s to FORCE Bajans TO LIVE WITHIN THEIR MEANS.

Tourism costs will adjust itself over time. BARBADOS Economy cannot survive on tourism alone, a different direction is required and a disciplined approach to implementation.

Devaluation will essentially result in……. reduction of civil service, adjust employment levels, reduce SOE’s, etc., etc. These necessary adjustments will be taken out of government hands.

25. @Wily

Notwithstanding the noble expectation you have posited the real reason a devaluation is on the radar is about rapidly diminishing forex. If we can’t defend the peg we will have to go cap in hand with no bargaining chips on that table with the IMF.

26. David February 4, 2018 at 10:25 AM #

DEVALUATION will solve the FOREX problem and would have prevented the FOREX problem.

Devaluation and floating currency or realistically pegged currency will insure the HORSE IS ALWAYS PULLING THE CART and not the cart pushing the horse and the government will be forced to fall inline accordingly.

27. @David February 4, 2018 at 10:25 AM #

DEVALUATION will correct the FOREX problem and would have prevented the FOREX problem.

Devaluation and a floating currency or realistically pegged currency will insure that the horse is always pulling the cart vs the cart pushing the horse. Pegged currency is well outside the capabilities of SMALL(poor) THIRD WORLD countries.