Lowe_Stuart
Fruendel Stuart (l) Denis Lowe (r) – the buck stops with Prime Minister Stuart.

And there shall arise after them seven years of famine; and all the plenty shall be forgotten in the land of Egypt; and the famine shall consume the land King James Bible

For 7 years plus the Barbados economy has been contracting. The country has been running a deficit on current account. We have had to significantly reduce capex. And this is despite raking in unprecedented levels of revenue if the reporting from the relevant government agencies are accepted. There is a resignation by Barbadians to the fact those charged with managing the economy seem are unable to do so. The discussions everywhere is whether this is due to incompetence or other reasons.

If we are to buyin to the government’s mantra that we should strive to build a society not an economy, ‘recent’ developments in the country have served to challenge this objective.  As if carrying the weight of an nonperforming economy on their backs like the proverbial albatross has not been the greatest burden- there is the evidence daily of the country’s infrastructure crumbling before our eyes. The sick South Coast Sewage Plant has occupied the newsfeeds on the domestic and international front in recent months. The prime minister FINALLY addressed the issue frontally by informing the country this week a request has been submitted to the IADB and experts to assist Barbados in addressing the problem. Bear in mind the leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley had informed the prime minister this was a problem waiting to happen two years ago. Like how most issues are dealt with in Barbados the politically expedient decision was taken, she was ignored.

Can you imagine this is the government that was this close to foisting a gasification plant on an island nation the size of which had never been built anywhere on planet earth?

After 7 years plus of economic famine, 2 plus years of a leaky sewage plant on the South Coast- today the local US Embassy slap Barbados with an advisory.

Event: Recent tests at several U.S. Embassy residences revealed bacteria at elevated levels in the tap water.  As a precautionary measure, the U.S. Embassy recommended to its staff to boil their drinking water or use bottled water.  The U.S. Embassy will continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates accordingly.

Actions to Take:

Assistance:

We are a few weeks from a general election being called, clearly decision making by the government will be steeped in political consideration and antithetical to what is in the national interest. Even if the government by some miracle is able to fix the problem in the weeks before the general election there is the memory of a fatigue public to factor and anticipating how they will respond on election day.

The BU household cannot wait for election day to arrive!

194 responses to “Barbadians Suffering from Fatigue with a Capital F”

1. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar

Because it seems to be that the Americans who have nuff, nuff big guns, never want to fight with the Chinese.

So by my simple illogic the Chinese mussee the big gun fellas.

2. …or is it that the Chinese OWN the American guns?
    After all, they fund them …AND they supply many of the critical components…

3. https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/28/grenada-grenadians-to-vote-for-a-new-government-on-march-13/

Prodigirl

Read the link above.

At long last your anxious 😩 wait for General Elections in 2018 are over.

At a political meeting last night …..King Freundel Jerome Stuart announced that General Elections are to be held on March 13, 2018 .

Have a blast Prodigirl !!!!

4. Shit head yes i mean you Artax you do not have to remind me of nothing. However i will remind you that the blp initiate the process for the design of the pit toilet which was to last for thirty five years
    Yes this issue along with all the other problems left behind by the blp that govt have to fix at taxpayers expense
    This govt came into office five years later when the shit house had already had the blessings and approval and was built by a clueless and visionless blp bunch
    Get loss shit head there is nutting u can tell me. This election cycle would exposed the truth behind the failure of the shit house

5. I believe you meant to write the “shit house had the blessings and approval and was conceptualized by a clueless and visionless DLP bunch.”

If you and the DLP are HONEST………..why wait until “this election cycle to expose the truth behind the failure of the shit house,”…..which will be seen by intelligent people (not you of course) as the DLP trying to “save face” by playing politics……

………when you can expose the truth now?

6. Only a shit head would attempt to convince intelligent people that a previous administration should be held accountable for this inept DLP administration’s failure to maintain the sewage plant for the past ten (10) years.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 29, 2018 at 10:21 AM
    “This election cycle would exposed the truth behind the failure of the shit house..”

The only thing that would be exposed is you, the dirty lying pimp of a shit crab feeding from the same pit toilet.

Artax has told you and showed you and the rest of your deceitful lying party supporters over and over again that the same pit toilet you live and dine in was designed and funded under your damned destructive lying party.

Look crabby, just revert to the true louse you are and cuss out Mia for not having and LEC. You could get the other carrier of crab lice Maureen to join in the Choir of Liars and sing from the same LEC hymn sheet.

8. Neither you two blp shit hounds can tell ac Shit.both of u are long arms of a decitful blp who took the politics of the day and sold the public a shit house.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 29, 2018 at 9:48 AM #
    “At long last your anxious wait for General Elections in 2018 are over.
    At a political meeting last night …..King Freundel Jerome Stuart announced that General Elections are to be held on March 13, 2018 .”

Sounds like a good date for your deceitful lying party to die on.

So what would it be?

The Estimates presentation not reflecting the 7th version of your moving average recovery plan in early February before announcing an early ‘Ides of March’ for your DLP?

Or would those Estimates reflecting your IMF sanctioned recovery plan of abject harshness and social woe be deferred to be implemented by a different administration with the MoF a woman?

You guys have painted yourself into a corner full of south coast shit.

Should have struck the bell when the iron was hot with foreign reserves still in the furnace by calling the elections in September 2017 and before the shit on the South coast had hit the tourism fan!

10. Miller

We have enough ammunition to call the elections anytime.

So you worry about that !

We can call it any day and your group would still be the loser !

We are not in a hurry

The General Elections would be about MORALITY!!

Barbados may be ready for a female PM

But not a …….WHICKER !!!!!

Pick sense from that ……,,

11. The following is an example of the logic of a DLP yard-fowl.

In 2000, a man and his sister inherited a house their father built in 1995. They decided the man would reside in the house because his sister owned her own property.

In 2015 the house began to show signs of deterioration mainly because the man did not adequately maintained the property. He called in a contractor to give an estimate of repairs, which came to $200,000.

His sister asked him why during the past 15 years, he allowed the property to deteriorate to such a level that the repairs are so expensive.

He replied it was his father’s FAULT because 20 years ago he “initiated the process for the design of the (house) which was to last for thirty five years,” ………..thereby absolving himself of any responsibility for maintaining the property.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 29, 2018 at 12:31 PM

What’s the difference between a MaM wicker and a Fumbling bulleress?

So if one can be the primate into Parris the other can also be a ‘femina’ primus inter pares.

All the primates inter PM have been married so why can’t the future be like the present?

Your ass is grass this time around.
    The only Morality talk the people want to hear this time is when are you incompetent jokers going to ka ya asses from bout the place and stop dipping wunna dipstick of incompetence in the South Coast shit?

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 29, 2018 at 12:31 PM
    “We have enough ammunition to call the elections anytime.”

Those who are without sin cast the first stone. Now where is your big rock?
    The only ammunition in the DLP arsenal is shit.

Now what is the timetable given to you by the IMF to get your fiscal house in immediate order or Devaluation in your shitty ass.

Should the Guv of the CB try to pull any MoF politically enforced stunt by fudging the foreign reserves numbers like his predecessor you can expect the IMF to call for his head.

Not like that of John the Baptist but more like that of the French King Louis XVI. Now ask our BU Pachamama what that means.

Where are the forex proceeds expected from the sale of the BNTCL and Hilton hotel?

14. Listen ole goat Artax. You can come wid all the analogies in the world. The facts say differently.The pit toilet was suposed to be effective for thirty five years. The facts say that volume and the inability of the pit toilet to be effective in its operation to handle the waste was the main problem
    The govt said it has already over the eight years spent more than 4million on the pit toilet. Now go figure if 4 million was not a part of mainteance which now has proven to be an exercised in futility at tax payers expense
    You and the leadership can wiggle all you want but the long and short lies in the visionless govt of the day not to factor expansion and commercial growth within the area

15. “Barbadian Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim is leading the defence in the case where a 23-year-old former model had been hospitalised at a mental institution while a magistrate decides on the arguments presented in court regarding the acceptance of a report from the psychiatric hospital.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/124683/andrew-pilgrim-leading-defence-yugge-farrells

16. Yesterday the PM laid out the Facts about that pit toilet go listen to him Artax and shit hound miller

17. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Fractured BLP January 29, 2018 at 12:31 PM “The General Elections would be about MORALITY! Barbados may be ready for a female PM. But not a WHICKER. ”

Morality my @ss.

We have happily had fornicators in high office.

We have happily had adulterers in office.

Some have said that we have even had wife beaters and bi-sexuals in high office. Bullers too. Miller etc. had indicated that we have even had tri-sexuals in high office, although he did not explain what is a tri-sexual.

We have no problem with having a wicker in high office.

Morality my @ss.

18. @Simple Simon

Agree with your scornful response to the yardfowl. Morality as defined by these foggies is defined differently by the youths.

19. The more you comment, the more you EXPOSE remarkable ineptitude displayed by this DLP administration and more so your STUPIDITY.

You feel PROUD mentioning “government has already over eight years spent more than 4million on the pit toilet.”

………….“which now has proven to be an exercise in futility at tax payers’ expense….”

…..BECAUSE after spending $4M……….sewage CONTINUES to FLOW FREELY in the streets along that area of the south coast since 2015…….. and now has REACHED “unmanageable proportions,” resulting in Canada, the UK and USA issuing travel advisories warning their citizens to be careful of the sewage………..while the US advised their citizens to boil water because of contaminants…….

You are essentially ADMITTING Stuart, Estwick, Boyce and by extension, the DLP………. DON’T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING.

20. The money was spent after the problem manifested itself, nothing to do with maintenance.

21. Why would I listen to and BELIEVE a Prime Minister that only finds it necessary to address the gullible members of the DLP?

Freundel Stuart’s “FACTS” would have more CREDIBILITY if he were to articulate them in a PUBLIC FORUM, rather than during events hosted by the DLP.

Stuart CHOOSING to speak ONLY at DLP events ………. to gullible DLP yard-fowls that would accept his shiite as gospel, without question…….is a sign of a WEAK POLITICAL LEADER.

22. Oh . David get your facts right before opening yuh mout to spew shit

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dr. Simple Simon January 29, 2018 at 2:35 PM
    “Miller etc. had indicated that we have even had tri-sexuals in high office, although he did not explain what is a tri-sexual.”

How come a person’ who has been through the long horn pipe doesn’t know what is a tri-sexual?

A tri-sexual is a person (including some women, to be an equal opportunity classifier of perverts) who would ‘Try’ anything including yard fowls and other ‘domesticated’ animals like sheep cow and horse.

Ask Bush Tea, he was raised on a farm.

PS: Vincent Haynes, where are you man?

24. Dr. Simple Simon

Show me a politician who has a pure heart and is free from sin.

According to “Your Dictionary,” morals are defined as “the rules that govern which actions are right and which are wrong,”………. and it goes on to list 25 “examples of morals in society.”

Of the 25, and because of specific reasons, 12 immediately came to mind…… (1) keep your promises, (2) do not cheat, (3) treat others as you want to be treated, (4) be trust worthy, (5) be dependable, (6) respect others, (7) have integrity, (8) be accountable and take responsibility, (9) be loyal, (10) have humility, (11) serve mankind and (12) do not vandalize property.

Michael Carrington is the Speaker of the House and a dishonest lawyer who illegally with-held the funds/property of his former client….. a wheel chair bound senior citizen named John Griffiths, and repeatedly ignored Griffiths’ requests for payment. Carrington was subsequently ordered by the court to refund Griffiths the funds with interest.

Michael Carrington’s SINGLE ACT of with-holding Griffiths’ property/funds, saw him breach 11 of the 12 morals I listed above.

He did not keep his promise to pay;….. he cheated his former client;….. he was not trust worthy, dependable or loyal;….. if he had humility or was prepared (as a lawyer) to serve mankind, he would not have dishonestly with-held the funds; ……..

………..and if he had treated Griffiths as he want to be treated and wanted to be held accountable and take responsibility for his actions, he would not have repeatedly ignored Griffiths’ request for payment and would not had to face a civil suit.

25. Your hignorance continue to know no bounds. Here is an extract from a Barbados Today report. The 4 million refers to monies spent last year of which 2 million is the gift from BTII spent to purchase two pumps that failed to work and had to be replaced, a second time.

#ja

He revealed that after learning of the south coast problem the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc had “advanced to the relevant agencies, about $4 million to invest in a piece of technology that it was thought would resolve that problem.

“We were assured it would. We got the specs, we got the invoice and that money was paid, the equipment was bought, it was installed, but the problems would continue,” he said.

“While we are not casting any aspersions on the people who were dealing with it at the local level, perhaps this problem is a little bigger than it is being imagined,” he added.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

@miller
    “PS: Vincent Haynes, where are you man?”
    The Blogmaster posted a FB exchange between several, and VH was there, Likely taking a BU break. Can’t blame him.

27. Vincent appears to be too thin skin for the hurly burly of BU.

28. David why dont you read with clarity and by all means avoid regurgiating what is stated in the local media as gospel

29. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

Ah!!

Like Ras Putin. Was he an early rasta man?

https://genius.com/Boney-m-rasputin-lyrics

30. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Artax January 29, 2018 at 3:56 PM Dr. Simple Simon. Show me a politician who has a pure heart and is free from sin.”

Alas, I can’t. For we have all sinned and come short of the glory of God.

Romans 3:23

31. A reminder to all, here is your reference to the 4 million- inferring the government has expended sums to maintaining the sewage plant.

Listen ole goat Artax. You can come wid all the analogies in the world. The facts say differently.The pit toilet was suposed to be effective for thirty five years. The facts say that volume and the inability of the pit toilet to be effective in its operation to handle the waste was the main problem
    The govt said it has already over the eight years spent more than 4million on the pit toilet. Now go figure if 4 million was not a part of mainteance which now has proven to be an exercised in futility at tax payers expense
    You and the leadership can wiggle all you want but the long and short lies in the visionless govt of the day not to factor expansion and commercial growth within the area

32. David BU has once again highlighted your IGNORANCE and DISHONESTY.

It is you, ac DLP yard-fowl that should “get your facts right before opening yuh mout to spew shit.”

You will obviously question or disbelieve any excerpts taken from articles printed by Barbados Today or the Nation………. because they view these newspapers as anti DLP.

As such, the following excerpt was taken from the Thursday, January 25, 2018 edition of YOUR news paper…….the BARBADOS ADVOCATE:

“His (Stuart) remarks came as he EXPLAINED that an ATTEMPT was PREVIOUSLY made to rectify the problem with the plant, and though all indications suggested it would work, IT FAILED. He EXPLAINED that the EFFORT involved the PURCHASING of TECHNOLOGY, ACQUIRED with the help of the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. which ADVANCED $4 million to the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) to pay for it. He said it was then on Independence Day last year that he received a “panicked call” that the problem recurred.”

So, according to the Advocate’s report of his speech, Stuart admitted the BTII ADVANCED $4M to the BWA on Independence Day LAST YEAR (November 30, 2017)……….

…………..hence, your comment re: “The govt said it has already over the eight years spent more than 4million on the pit toilet,”………..IS NOT TRUE.

However, you were correct by your comments admonishing the actions of this inept DLP administration re: “……which now has proven to be an exercise in futility at tax payers’ expense”………………

………….because Stuart also ADMITTED “that an ATTEMPT was PREVIOUSLY made to RECTIFY the problem with the plant, and though all indications suggested it would work, IT FAILED.

33. You are suggesting that, during the past nine years this inept DLP administration DID NOT maintain the plant or “factored expansion and commercial growth within the area”…………..

……….because, according to you, “the pit toilet was supposed to be effective for thirty five years.”

And this makes sense to you?

Surely you must admit your comment re: “You and the leadership can wiggle all you want but the long and short lies in the visionless govt of the day not to factor expansion and commercial growth within the area..”

…………..is “justifiably applicable” to the DLP.

BOTH the BLP & DLP have to share responsibility for the south coast sewage crisis.

Galileo Galilei said: “I have never met a man so ignorant that I couldn’t learn something from him.”

ac, why do you take pleasure in proving Galileo wrong?

34. Further more taking the excerpts at face value and with due consideration. Where in the article does it state or make mention by the PM that the technology sought for repair was necessary because of poor maintenance
    I would continue to say that all the talk about poor mainteance by the blp leader and operatives is a one way street to cover the lack of vision and poor planning for the pit toilet by the blp in their all out effort to buy political opportunism via votes at the tax payers expense

35. “I would continue to say that all the talk about poor mainteance by the blp leader and operatives is a one way street to cover the lack of vision and poor planning for the pit toilet by the blp in their all out effort to buy political opportunism via votes at the tax payers expense.”

++++++++++++++++

The following links have already proven that your above comment and those similar in content are LIES.

Read and weep!

https://idblegacy.iadb.org/en/projects/project-description-title,1303.html?id=BA0036&page=15

https://www.iadb.org/en/project/ba0036

And I gine keep reminding yuh……

36. Furthermore in his adress yesterday he outlined the main reasons for the deteriorating conditions with an emphasis on longevity of thirty five years
    Here is a plant that within a shortened time frame of thirty five years need a 4million plus to fix.
    The reason is all systemic to plant design with a failure due to capacity which conventional mainteance would never have been able to resolved due to large volume entering the system daily.

37. @ David BU

I believe the following article would be of interest to you, some references were made to contributions to BU relative to the south coast sewage crisis.
    ++++++++++++++++

Barbados sewage ‘crisis’ causes a flood of problems

January 22, 2018

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados — The unthinkable has happened to one of the Caribbean’s most popular destinations — and it has struck at the height of tourist season. 2018 began with a sewage leak — which the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) called a “crisis” — seeping across parts of the island’s popular south coast.

The incident has already caused a slew of problems in the country: residents have had to move to more hospitable areas, many south coast-based businesses have closed, visitors to the island have complained about contracting gastroenteritis, and the tourist-friendly destination has endured unfavourable reviews on travel websites.

Experts from neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago are assisting the BWA in their efforts to solve the problem; however, Patricia Inniss, head of the BWA’s wastewater division, was quite clear that “every tourist, business person, householder” has to play a part in finding a solution.
    She added, “We are appealing seriously to all — not only residents but larger commercial houses, hotels, large guest houses — we are not going to identify anyone specifically at this point because we don’t know exactly who are the main contributors.”

The current incident calls to mind past blockages that were caused by inappropriate debris getting into sewer lines, causing damage to sewage pumps and filtering equipment. Inniss has appealed to Barbadians who do not properly dispose of waste and offered her organisation’s help in educating them.

But action didn’t come fast enough for some countries. In short order, Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom put out travel advisories warning their citizens about the risks of travel to Barbados.

The whole mess has been made worse by the fact that some experts saw it coming. In January 2017, anonymous BWA officials told Barbados Today that the country’s waste system was on the verge of collapse. These same BWA officials also confirmed allegations by Mia Mottley, the country’s opposition leader, that the government had turned down offers to finance the rehabilitation of faulty diffusers and the construction of a proper sewage system for the west coast.

With regard to the south coast, which is the location of the current effluent leak, the source said, “How can you be building hotels on the south coast and in Bridgetown [the capital] when the entire Bridgetown and south coast sewage plants are outdated and dilapidated? These plants need urgent attention.”

This lack of attention has turned the controversy into a political football, with Mottley promising that her government will solve the sewage crisis should it win this year’s upcoming general elections and Minister of Commerce, Industry and Small Business Development Donville Inniss defending his government as the poop literally hit the fan — or at least the pavement. He also denied that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government knew about the problem and ignored it.

Barbadians did not mince words when it came to discussing the issue online. In a post titled,

A Shitty South Coast, the POPULAR BARBADOS UNDERGROUND blog lamented the current situation:

“The South Coast of Barbados… has been known at home and abroad as the place to wine, dine and party by locals and tourists alike. Regrettably in the last year the South Coast has been making the news because of sewage overflowing onto public spaces; roadways, residential and business premises.”

The reality is that the sewage system in Barbados has been poorly maintained through the years and the hodgepodge approach of the BWA has been significantly affected by a lack of funds and pertinent expertise.

The site also posted videos showing the sewage leak and expressed exasperation with the government’s public relations spin:

“Many of us were bemused by the decision of ministers of government Richard Sealy and John Boyce to bathe in the shitty waters of the South Coast in order to convince a suspicious public that all was well.

“We await PR stunt number 2!”

While sewage continued to flow along parts of Barbados’ south coast, Facebook users expressed their frustration over the government’s mismanagement of the situation:

“I refuse to eat or even partake in any event on that side of the island this is a downright national shame the government of Barbados should take full responsibility for this national disaster! And this is the perfect example of how they have managed the affairs of Barbadians!”

Some citizens thought the public health threat was serious enough to be called a national security issue and many more were concerned about the impact of the leak on the country’s tourism sector — a sector which makes up a large majority of Barbados’ gross domestic product (GDP).

Others noted that there was “still not much substance [being] shared [with] the public”, despite the fact that they are the ones most adversely affected.

This article written by Janine Mendes-Franco originally appeared on Global Voices on January 22, 2018

38. that political article stays clear of facts facts that might have brought to light a reasonable and rationale view for the problems but rather prefer to hop scotches its way to sensationalism

39. Thanks Artax, BU received the backlink notification from Global Voices a few days ago.

40. “The reason is all systemic to plant design with a failure due to capacity which conventional mainteance would never have been able to resolved due to large volume entering the system daily.”
    ++++++++++++++++++

Your CREDIBILITY comes into question because it was discovered that you wrote SEVERAL UNTRUTHFUL contributions to this topic.

And you are NOT an environmental engineer……you are just another DLP yard-fowl spewing political rhetoric to “do damage control” for an inept DLP administration that has failed in its duty to address this problem after being warned about it two years ago.

But no matter how you try to “spin” the issue and conveniently “shift the goal posts”…….. ………..remember, the following links SUBSTANTIATE the sewage plant was CONCEPTUALIZED by the DLP.

Read and weep!
    https://idblegacy.iadb.org/en/projects/project-description-title,1303.html?id=BA0036&page=15

https://www.iadb.org/en/project/ba0036

And I gine keep reminding yuh……

41. if you’re intention was prove that you are not a liar or make the PM look good, you have failed on both counts. lmao

42. BREAKING NEWS

The Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados 🇧🇧 reported that :

• The Barbadian economy recorded some growth in 2017

( We can thank Chris Sinckler for sticking to his government’s economic policies )

•. The fiscal deficit recorded some reduction

We can thank Chris Sinckler for introducing NSRL )

• The foreign reserves dipped to 6 weeks cover of imports

( We can thank Mia Amor Mottley for her DODDS prison scam - for the GOB to fork out - $ 30 million every year to pay 💰 that debt !!!

• The country of Barbados 🇧🇧 is still open for business

( We must continue to give thanks to His Majesty King 👑 Freundel Jerome Stuart and his government )

Keep up the good work 🤗🤗🤗🤗