Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

This is the most crucially important general election that we have ever had since our independence.  We are so much in debt that we are facing economic ruin.  If any successful political party fails to significantly improve the economy within their first year in Government, the majority of Barbadians will suffer unimaginable harm.  We are realistically looking at most of the middle-class being reduced to poverty within the next 3 years.

With so much to lose in this general election, voters need to examine each Party’s economic plans.  However, that is clearly asking too much of voters who have more immediate concerns.  In recognition of this, the US has a non-partisan Congressional Budget Office that examines political plans and determines their effect on the economy.

For this critical general election, Barbados desperately needs a set of non-partisan accountants and economists who are willing to put aside their political biases, and honestly examine the effects of each Party’s plans on the national economy and society.  I am calling on the Barbados Economic Society and the Institute of Charter Accountants of Barbados to form a joint committee to do just that – for all of our sakes.

The criteria for membership of this committee should be agreed with all political parties.  The joint committee should critically examine each assumption used in each Party’s economic plans, because we cannot afford to get it wrong this time.  It is in all of our interests to know whether a Party’s plans are likely to work, and any deficiencies in a Party’s plans that need to be corrected before they are implemented on the public.

While this can serve to protect the public in some way, it is not fool proof.  Despite all political parties knowing full well that there is no more money left to pay for reckless political promises as in the past, some Parties will continue to make them, because that is the only way they know of getting elected – but this time, they know that they will be blatantly lying to the public.

Since we have run out of time for any more political games, Barbados needs a guarantee that we can return a political product if it is found to be defective.  One such method is to allow voters to recall all members of Cabinet after their first year in office, if their economic plans fails to meet the measureable improvements promised.  With this method, politicians are less likely to make reckless promises and are more likely to keep responsible ones.  It is much better to hold by-elections in those constituencies than to put Barbadians through any more unnecessary suffering.

Solutions Barbados is the only party offering to do what the other parties have not done, namely, properly manage public services, reduce our national debt, allow public workers to be promoted on merit alone, and root out corruption.  Our plans have been published for the past 2.5 years for rigorous public scrutiny, and we welcome having them scored by any non-partisan group.  It is now time for every political party contesting this important election to either ‘put up or shut up’, because we simply cannot afford anymore broken political promises.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

84 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Put Up or Shut Up”

1. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

No-one in the business community trusts this DLP gov’t as far as we could throw them and the development spending will not re-start until there are people running this country who can be trusted and who have some sort of business facilitation sense.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 18, 2018 at 2:54 PM #
    “Will wait to see the prime minister with the balls or gumption to cut pension.”

It will not be the prime minister pouring the castor oil. It would be the committee of 20 eminent persons carrying out the instructions (commandments) set in stone by the god IMF. Not even MAM would be able to turn back the purging.

3. But that doesn’t disprove my point.

Remember the Pareto principle.

40 % die hard Dems

40 % die hard Bees

… and 20 % who determine the election!!

The 20% could not bring themselves to voting B which they should have last time because of O$A!!

I was a member of the 20%, fully prepared to vote B but ending up with only one choice because of O$A, … vote D.

Hopefully this time I will have a third option because neither one o’ de edder two ent getting my vote!!

Just takes 5% of either of the die hard populations to realise they have been wasting their time and the election becomes real close!!

Any more and alternative three will win easy!!

4. FB
    As you, and other informed observers have been saying since 2010,there will be no recovery under these fumble fools.The market has no CONFIDENCE in this government to make the right and acceptable decisions.Hasten the day of the General Election.

5. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Gabriel January 18, 2018 at 4:02 PM #
    FB
    As you, and other informed observers have been saying since 2010,there will be no recovery under these fumble fools.The market has no CONFIDENCE in this government to make the right and acceptable decisions.Hasten the day of the General Election.

…………………………………………………..

And every day up until the election is just digging us in a deeper hole.

Let’s see how far the NUPW is willing to go and whether they will get the support of their union brethren.

Even the stupidest coolaid drinkers in the DLP gov’t must now see that it is time to throw in the towel. Except maybe the stupidest of all Fumble.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

this is why pollsters have been so consistently wrong recently.
    Pareto’s rule, which I used to live by in business, is the 80-20 rule.
    To take the 80 and split it as 40-40 is likely inaccurate. Convenient? yes.
    The die hard component is likely much less than 40%, and the either-way component, much more than 20.
    The challenge is when any of the so-called 3rd options, challenge one of the established parties more than the other?
    All you have to do is read the comments from the known politically partisan bloggers and figure that out.
    AC is all for SB…”Keep up the good work Solution”
    miller…”be counter to SB’s sole objective of stopping the return of the BLP under MAM”

7. Frustrated Businessman

“The stupidest coolaid drinkers in the DLP???…….. Except maybe the stupidest of all Fumble?”

You like you forgetting ac, yuh?

Hahahahaha

8. @Northern Observer

Are you by comparing Miller to ac labeling him a yardfowl?

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

politically partisan and yardfowl are not the same.

10. @Miller

Defend yourself we have the northern Observer on the political back foot!

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel January 18, 2018 at 4:02 PM

The same way this deceitful lying administration deliberately refused to rectify the south coast sewage problem since 2015 and which has resulted in the ongoing fiasco causing disaster to the country’s main source of forex so too is it doing to the country’s economic future and image in the international financial markets with their planned deferral of general elections to the bitter end.

The longer the delay in calling elections the longer it would take to restore confidence in the country’s capacity to recover from the current period of gross regression and uncertainty.

How could you ever forget Fumble’s most prescient pledge of ensuring the return of the make-believe black middleclass to the cane grounds in Marchfield from which they sprouted?

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 18, 2018 at 4:38 PM

The ‘Truth’ is my only defence.
    When the SB camp starts fighting to be the government and NOT the next Opposition then I would become a lieutenant-for-change in waiting.

Grenville must understand it is the current government he needs to remove in order to execute his ‘mercurial’ proposals.

He will be too old to be the general to fight the next SB battle due in 2023.

He needs to strike when the iron is hot to cut off the ‘neck’ of the ruling administration if he wants to effect the changes he deemed as so vital to the survival of the country.

As a political strategist he is receiving so far a failing grade if his true motive is to become the next PM.

13. @Tron

In Greece most high earner civil service pensions have been reduced 70% and it is forecast in mid 2018 they will lose an additional 20%. General unemployment is about 20% with the under 26 year old group at 35%. BARBADOS dollar devaluation to 10:1, eliminating at least 40% of the civil service and board employees would still not bring BARBADOS to the levels Greece has had to implement thus far. With all Greece’s fiscal adjustments during the past three years they are still struggling to balance their finances.

Does BARBADOS anemic governance performance offer ANY HOPE.

14. Theophilius Gazer 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 256

I called it elsewhere but it not get any comments.
    Will float it here

Third parties are dead.
    DLP dead but with a large supporting base cannot be counted out.
    BLP has some life, but some see a number of Mia’s negative that may yet give life to the dead DLP; therefore BLP wins by a slim margin.

Last minute introduction of Rawdon Adams as replacement to Mia. Heir apparent pulls off a larger margin of victory

15. Theophilius Gazer 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 256

Do you recall how one blogger had ej*culations when he saw the name Rawdon Adams and appointed his as heir to the throne.

16. Theophilius Gazer 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 256

*him

17. Theophilius Gazer 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 256

OSA, Agard and other defectors rally around the heir.
    Mia fraction realizes it is a minority and defects to the heir.
    DLP realizes LEC and biting are useless talking points

18. Theophilius Gazerts 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 256

oops.. Gazerts.. not Gazer
    Hell of a thing when you get your own name wrong

19. Red herrings by desperate dems!

20. We have a stupid RH Prime Minister who refuses to speak to the people of Barbados. He only speaks to visitors whom he wines and dines at Illaro Court on taxpayers dime.

Instead of taking him to task for idly sitting by and allowing wild boys and girls to destroy our fair land, we have apologists, some blind to the dlp incompetence who come on BU as so called non partisans trying to pull MAM apart. She has never been PM and is not the person who is destroying the economy. She gave advice to the idiots and they wont take it.

Finally we know the truth of the economy which the Stinkliar told us every week that it is on a growth path……..dimwit Esther Byer confirmed today that the economy is in bad shape, moutha Inniss said as much yesterday and the clown from St Lucy confirmed what we all knew, the economy is in a mess………

21. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…all kinds of fun.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son January 18, 2018 at 8:23 PM

The Truth will out.

Time longer than lying twine.

As the old folks used to say: ‘Ya could hide and buy land but ya can’t hide and wuk it’.

No one wants to hear them trying to blame the BLP for all their failures over the past 5 years.

Karma is starting to bite them in their lying backsides.

23. prodigal yuh gonna burst a blood vessel.

24. Theophilius Gazerts 256 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 256

Seem like I cannot engage tweedle dee and tweedle dum.

Tweedledum and Tweedledee
    Agreed to have a battle;
    For Tweedledum said Tweedledee
    Had spoiled his nice new rattle.

Just then flew down a monstrous IMF crow,
    As black as a tar-barrel;
    Which frightened both the heroes so,
    They quite forgot their quarrel.

Wondering if this is a racist poem 🙂

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/18/pothole-dilemma/

What an ugly scenario, both governments have over the last 20 years neglected the island’s infrastructure, namely roads, water, the sewage system and garbage collection and disposal to build dazzling new buildings at the expense of taxpayers the island, now they all get to watch the island’s infrastructure, the only things keeping the island from devolving into a real third world shithole….collapse all around them…

They allowed state owned buildings to fall to the ground rather than refurbish them…first mistake, not satisfied with that, they then neglected everything else and wasted billions of taxpayer’s dollars, to build concrete.

Proper competent manage of water, roads, sewage and garbage is what keeps the population alive and healthy, that is the life blood of any country on earth, that clearly neither government appreciates, because they are both obsessed with filling their own pockets with bribe money.

…. maybe after a deadly epidemic of their own making, if anyone survives, the backward, ignorant, money grubbing incompetents in parliament will learn this.

Maybe now they will get rid of all the parasites like Cow et al who are not real road builders and who have been pretending to be road builders for 40 years to suck the treasury dry….. and finally engage professional people who know how to concrete, long lasting roads and have the equipment to do so.

But first, the electorate gotta get rid of the bribetaking Lashley.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 19, 2018 at 5:58 AM
    “They allowed state owned buildings to fall to the ground rather than refurbish them…first mistake, not satisfied with that, they then neglected everything else and wasted billions of taxpayer’s dollars, to build concrete.”

Just look at what the accomplice in his corrupt game is saying:

“We have been requesting more money to buy equipment [but] it was only in this last Estimates that we were told go ahead, order the equipment. So now we can order equipment….”

Wasn’t a similar commitment given to the taxpayers to justify the imposition of the NSRL? Where are the garbage trucks and equipment the NSRL was supposed to pay for?

We are certainly not amused by his ‘timely’ outburst.
    He needs to look in his own backyard (literally speaking) and see the mounting tons of equipment and ‘parked’ vehicles that could be brought back into commission with a little help from the MoF and the students at the Polytechnic or Ucal or even Transtect.

But there are no big payday deals (kickbacks) in good housekeeping maintenance and repairs, are there now Messrs ministers?

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Exactly Miller…I remember decades ago seeing mechanics at transport board repairing those board buses that were then on the roads, both governments have devolved in 50 years to not maintaining anything…not the buses, not garbage trucks, not the roads, they have equipment rotting away, even when donated to them or purchased new….

..it must have a bribe and kickback or government ministers are not interested, the new age criminals.

Lashley was in Broward County Florida last weak asking them advice on how to operate the transport board re bus parts and buses as a money generating venture…the clown.

Rocklyn and all the other Black entrepreneurs of the 60s and 70s did not need advice, they knew what to do instinctively. …and none if them had degrees.

… the degreed, corrupt idiots of parliament took over and destroyed everything…

They can’t manage, water, sewage, garbage or roads,.

Fools with degrees.

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

…both governments have devolved in 50 years to not maintaining anything…not the buses, not garbage trucks, not the roads, ESPECIALLY not the sewage system…..they have equipment rotting away…..

29. Both governments? Well Well dey the evidence?🤔

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Enuff…it is your job to bring the evidence to prove me wrong.

31. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Prodigal Son January 18, 2018 at 8:23 PM #
    We have a stupid RH Prime Minister who refuses to speak to the people of Barbados. He only speaks to visitors whom he wines and dines at Illaro Court on taxpayers dime.

………………………………………………………………………………..

Excuse my French but: WHO THE FUCK GIVES A SHIT WHAT FUMBLE SPEWS OR THAT HE SPEWS AT ALL??!!

Most of us just want him to go away.

The man has enough nose for two people and is wasting it by continuing to breath.

Concentrate on the simple fact that we have had to suffer for the past 9 years: in the absence of Thompson there is no gov’t leadership, just every man for himself. No cohesive economic plan, no ministerial management, no confidence in governmental systems or people, overt bribery solicitation, zero facilitation, total economic and civil regression.

32. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

To plagiarise S&G, we have squandered 10 years of our existence for a pocketful of mumbles such are promises.

33. Agree FB……….the country has been made poor as a result of these morons but word on the street is that the morons are the richer for having been in office for 10 years!

34. @Frustrated Businessman:
    it goes on thus, remember,
    “All lies and jests, still a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest.”