Neil Holder, leader of the Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM)

South Coast Sewage Crisis_Statement_180116 The Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM) recognizes that the current state of the South Coast sewage system is a looming national health crisis in the making!

BIM feels compelled to act at this time to ensure that this national crisis is managed and resolved so as not to escalate to epidemic proportions. In this regard, we are going to reach out to international entities to solicit assistance with addressing the issues whether they be technical or social.

To this end, we will also endeavour if elected to identify and address the problem within 90 days of taking office and thereafter try to resolve it within 12 months to the satisfaction of all parties concerned be it Barbadians or tourist alike!

Full text of statement delivered by the Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM) – The South Coast Crisis

87 responses to “Barbados Integrity Movement – South Coast Sewage Project Not Listed on Contractors Website”

1. Isn’t Dr.Hugh Sealy the Barbadian engineer that worked on two of the stages of the South Coast Plant explained in the weekend press the problem? He was clear to point out that future capacity was factored in the design.

2. Artax you such a clown .it is clear your intent the last part of your comment says all.
    If my comments indicate that ac is a dlp yardfowl the same analogy can be applied to you.

3. Here a sewer sytem in built on swamp land even worse that cannot absorbed rain water effectively in a climate that is prone to heavy rainfall and flooding mostly year round.

4. Based on the requirements of the sewage plant on the South Coast a decision had to be made to locate the plant in Graeme Hall or behind St. Anne’s Fort next to the Hilton locale. It is not dissimilar to where to locate a landfill in Barbados. What this sewage mess should teach us is that we are crisis managers. Up to now- almost ten years later- there is no waste management strategy for Barbados.

5. “For nearly two years now, a crisis has been bubbling along the island’s south coast.”

Breakdowns and blockages at the aging South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant have caused raw sewage to flow along the streets in Worthing and Hastings, Christ Church,

right in the heart of one of the island’s main tourism hubs.”

TWO WRASSE WHOLE YEARS AND SHIT STILL COMING UP THROUGH MANHOLES.

IS BRIDGETOWN NEXT ?

6. Hants why dont you get up off your rass hole a,ss living the good life in kanaduh and contribute something worthwhile to barbados , you one to crticize any thing about any govt failures B or D when after getting free education in barbados took all the benefits gained from the education and help build kanada wealth steupsee you ought to shut yuh ras ,,hole out .steupse

7. “The unthinkable has happened to one of the Caribbean’s most popular destinations — and it has struck at the height of tourist season. 2018 began with a sewage leak — which the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) called a “crisis” — seeping across parts of the island’s popular south coast.”

https://globalvoices.org/2018/01/22/barbados-sewage-crisis-causes-a-flood-of-problems/

8. Hants if you had listened to the PM today you would have learned what is being done to correct the problem long term But know you go putting your big nose into a cesspool of media poop meant only to sensationalize and sell news paper , but what de hell yuh got plenty time on your hand living in that ice box to dig for poop

9. ” The vexing south coast sewage mess should soon be a thing of the past as the country embarks on a long-term solution with financial help from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), says Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.”

10. about $4 million to invest in a piece of technology that it was thought would resolve that problem.

“We were assured it would. We got the specs, we got the invoice and that money was paid, the equipment was bought, it was installed, but the problems would continue,” he said.

11. Extracted from Facebook.

What Is Compounding The Sewerage Leak ????????

Hopefully some of you will understand the impact Graeme Hall Swamp has on the current situation.

Graeme Hall Swamp is a creation of Nature, it was not built by any Government.

Mother Nature created it with its own water supply (springs and rainfall), creatures, vegetation and purging system. We have tampered with the structure of this swamp for many years, to what appeared to be our benefit at the time.

Let me explain how the swamp should work and the impact of messing with its structure and purging system.

Follow the attached diagram …………

1. The environmentally acceptable water level of the swamp.

2. The dangerous water level of the swamp.

3. Hard Soil & Rock (Porous & Non Porous) which is the base

and lower banks of the swamp.

4. The top layer of soil (Sand) around the swamp, this swamp used to have white beach sand and sea shells in some areas.

5. The Oceans Low Tide water which reaches the swamp, hence the brackish water component of the swamp.

6. The Oceans High Tide effect on the swamp.

7. The Sluice Gate, its most critical purging point.

Now, whats happening is that the Sluice Gate is not opened on a regular basis, if at all, to allow the swamp to purge. This Sluice Gate was built by Mother Nature at it natural point of draining to purge the swamp.

If not opened on a regular basis the swamps level increases to dangerous levels, which is depicted at 2 in the diagram. When the water reaches its dangerous levels, Mother Nature will silently ask most of you to PISS OFF and her law comes into effect, "Water Seeks Its Own Level". The high level water then starts to seep into the light or sandy soil on the banks of the swamp depicted at 4 in the diagram. In seeking its own levels the water will start to also cut new courses as drainage points. The water will settle in areas like, back yards and properties along its course, like in the area of Massy Rendezvous. The water will also follow natural cracks under the ground reaching hollows, where it will settle, hence the high levels of the leaking sewerage, this is a mixture of sewerage, Swamp and Ocean water at High Tide, rainfall then adds insult to injury.

The reason for the dead fish in the Peronne area is a depletion of oxygen, and stagnated water which cannot exit (purge) fast enough. This brings me to something I should have mentioned earlier, one of the benefits of the swamp purging itself in to replace oxygen for its living plants and creatures.

There are some additional things we have to understand, High Tide in the ocean is also High Tide in the Swamp.

So why was the Sluice Gate not being left open?

let me hazard a guess, could it be that some of the residents and business owners (not all) in the area complained bitterly about what happens to the sea in the shallow basin at St. Lawrence, right through past Crystal Waters, could they have complained about the smell coming from the swamp when it empties? LOL.

Dont Kill me, I am only guessing accurately.

So now. here is what I would do, if I was in charge – I would close the beach in the area and open the Sluice Gate for 4 days until the swamp has receded to its acceptable levels, giving its creatures a fighting chance to survive and replenish life.

I know closing the beach would not normally be a desirable action, since its Tourist Season but look at the numbers being affected by the current situation compared to the numbers affected by the opening of the gate.

Additionally the underground settlement of swamp water is weakening the sewerage system.

How do I know the gate is not being opened?

there is a mound (build up of sand on the inside of the gate, it would be gone in 5 minutes if the gate was opened, I look for that build up of sand every day when I pass, I also look at the water level across the road.

This hurts me deeply to see that humans can be so damnn stupid not understand what is really happening and the very visible effects of their stupidity.

This problem will continue as long as both political sides preserve the situation to be used as a piece of gold in their political campaigns.

Why else does this hurt me?

I know that swamp, sorry knew that swamp, many Sundays after Sunday School, Jimmy Springer (RIP) and I had to walk home because I always fell into the swamp in my Sunday School clothes, sometimes before Sunday School too. I have gone to spots in that swamp where the boogie man was supposed to live (never found him).

I will watch as some of the nearby residents vent their frustration, I will also watch their reaction if the Sluice gate is opened.

I know there are many of you who understand the content above and the content of the diagram.

Another Thing To Remember – PLAY THE ASS WITH MOTHER NATURE, SHE WILL SURELY MAKE AN ASS OF YOU.

Oh and Adrian Parris and I used to go there to try to Catch/Release 30lb Tarpon with 15lb strain lines, we called it ESPN Fishing.

Not much more I can say, I will watch.

Image may contain: text

12. Barbadians did not mince words when it came to discussing the issue online. In a post titled, A Shitty South Coast, the popular Barbados Underground blog lamented the current situation:

The South Coast of Barbados […] has been known at home and abroad as the place to wine, dine and party by locals and tourists alike. Regrettably in the last year the South Coast has been making the news because of sewage overflowing onto public spaces; roadways, residential and business premises. […]

The reality is that the sewage system in Barbados has been poorly maintained through the years and the hodgepodge approach of the BWA has been significantly affected by a lack of funds and pertinent expertise.

The site also posted videos showing the sewage leak and expressed exasperation with the government’s public relations spin:

The above was carried by the popular and global website Globalvoices.com extracted from Barbados Underground blog.

@barbados_underground

13. barbadians are a bunch of sh.it talkers BU david included all wunna bee experts should take wunna knowledge to the BWA and teach the engineers and experts who have been working hard and diligently how to resolved the problem .
    it is so easy for all the doo birds who talk easy to fix solutions to talk shit on face book

14. Thine ignorance is beyond belief.

15. Hignorance knoweth no bounds.

16. Well one can easily draw conclusions from the shitty experts who as i guess have factual knowledge of the ongoing problems that have impeded the pit toilet.
    Only yesterday the PM stated that rather than throwing more huge sums at the pit toilet govt has been in contact with the IDB in the process of seeking futher help
    He also stated that although the process might be long and tedious those experts with whom govt is engaging are going towards a long term resolution
    No mention of any of the socalled BU and Facebook experts was taken into consideration

17. @ ac

The people of Barbados have considered your shitty DLP Government, led by the shittiest PM, and Ministers to ever form a cabinet . The process of throwing this shitty cabinet in a pit , will be 1 day for voting , not too long from now,

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 25, 2018 at 10:13 AM
    “Only yesterday the PM stated that rather than throwing more huge sums at the pit toilet govt has been in contact with the IDB in the process of seeking futher help
    He also stated that although the process might be long and tedious those experts with whom govt is engaging are going towards a long term resolution..”

It would be a stroke of pure hubristic luck from Lady Karma if your PM finds himself and his ministers having to deal with a woman at the IADB who sounds like MAM and pretending to be a man.

Would they now be taking phone calls from a man who sounds like that wo(e) MAM and who wanted to talk about the pit toilet overflowing since October 2015?

But we forget; just like your PM has all the eminent persons in his esteem cabinet fully capable of solving the country’s economic problems there in can be found also in his extra-large pit toilet men quite competent in anal engineering aka shit picking and rose tree trimming.

19. David January 25, 2018 at 4:57 AM #

“We have tampered with the structure of this swamp for many years,”

Bajans have “tampered” with swamps from the 60s when hotels on the West coast were built on swamp land. ( Discovery Bay Hotel in Holetown ).

Graeme Hall swamp needs to be “managed”.

20. Miller tek it easy.

Wait watchman you still hanging around i thought you said that your area was in so much disrepair that at any moment the district would be dragged out to sea because of persistent flooding. Well i.ll be dam all of which was said by you about three years ago.
    Oh by the way Barbados had had torrential rain and severe flooding
    Wuh happen man

21. Graeme Hall swamp was being managed very well and good until govts of the day decided that political interference far outweighed the value and the purpose of the swamp even to the point of destroying the natural habitat of the santuary in its presevation of plant and animal life
    Go figure

22. @Hants

It is a tiny island therefore the WHOLE ecosystem needs to be managed.

23. Miller the Truth and political mechanics attributed to this pit toilet would be told and those who are shouting the loudest would be put to shame

24. @ ac

27days

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 25, 2018 at 1:49 PM

What’s happening to you, ac? The lashes from the South coast ‘messy’ problem have you shitting bricks or what?

The Truth has already been revealed. It is the sheer failure to maintain the pit toilet by the DLP rose-tree trimmers because of an ongoing 5 year personality conflict between a raging pit bull now turned into a muzzled shitehound and an stiff ugly sob of a ‘lying’ bullmastiff.

Now, if that broad nose fumbling fool had given Eastwick the MoF job (his politically lifelong dream) instead of the broad-faced bastard who had already showed off his long yellow tail of incompetence there would been funding to fix the same pit toilet to stop you from falling in and talking so much shite on BU.

You have been able to run with the Mia LEC toilet paper roll with other yard-fowls in tow but this is one crappy situation you cannot pin on her.

Try that one on the washed-out OSA; not Mia this time.

Now bug off, shit fly!

26. Watch man says who ! Lol

27. @ac

The pit, that will be receiving the dump load of shitty DLP cabinet members and yard-fowls

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 25, 2018 at 2:53 PM

Your boss man might be a predictably vacillating fool but he is not a pure-bred idiot.

He ought to know- even if advised by one of the other ass-licking clowns- that Estimates for the financial year starting on All-fools day April 2018 must be presented and approved by the current Parliament before it dies on March 6th or there about.

So what will it be? Present the Estimates reflecting the new improved second hand fiscal recovery plan of many iterations from 2013 before the current Parliament goes out of business and afterwards call the elections at any time up to June?
    Or do what any smart madman does? Repeat his February 2013 move and expect the same electoral result with his party (not him) having to attack from the Opposition benches the same Estimates prepared under their watch?

29. @Miller

The so-called recovery plan is obviously an initiative to support the upcoming general election platform. How they sell it will be of interest. Already there is mothings out a decline in the deficit. The Governor of the Central Banks quarterly review promised for next week is eagerly awaited. Interesting is if the government is willing to make the economy a platform issue especially with the unions nipping at their heels.

30. Miller did u not hear the PM address the pit toilet issue in the most eloquent style yesterday
    Did you even hear him blaming or pointing fingers at anyone as in similiar fashion like the blp leader and her clown of suporters who often does as they continue their daily tirade if spewing mire shit than the pit toilet across the air waves and social media platforms
    Just maybe the blp party and their leadership can learn a few tips about diplomacy

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 25, 2018 at 3:56 PM

Do you mean like the kind of tips of diplomacy he displayed by not speaking about MAM not having an LEC?

And by allowing yard-fowls like you and Georgette Pilgrim to makes shitty asses of yourselves in trying to turn dog shite into political scratch grain?

Your boss man well knows that he has bitten off more than his party can swallow regarding this RH sewage shit.

He was warned way back in 2015 that the same poop he pushed up his big nose at will one day come to bite him in shitty political behind.

The day of reckoning is at hand. But the biggest loser in this whole mess will the Bajan economy with the foreign reserves taking the biggest hit of all.

32. Dont worry bro .The bossman is well ahead of the game/s the blp yardfowls are playing.
    Notice in the run up to the last election the blp was first out of the starting gate but could not keep up with the pace.
    Just a friendly hint

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 25, 2018 at 3:55 PM #
    “The so-called recovery plan is obviously an initiative to support the upcoming general election platform. How they sell it will be of interest.”

How can a genuine economic recovery plan bring glad electoral tidings?

Any recovery plan meeting the IMF criteria for Barbados must incorporate hardships the likes of which Bajans have not experienced even in the days of the 8% public sector pay-cut and the fire sale of State-owned assets needed to put the forex reserves tank above the empty needle reading.

You can expect an upbeat CB report about the Bajan economy with the forex reserves remaining at a ‘manageable’ level sufficient to protect the ‘dollar’ peg.

There is only one person who can put a spoke in the propaganda wheel of the current Guv of the CB. And that is his predecessor who was an expert in manipulating statistics to suit the agenda of his nasty dirty lying party.

He is now a turncoat but will he squeal on the adopted MO of the current junior doctor peddling lies, damn lies and statistics like the sudden appearance and soon-to-be post elections disappearance of foreign reserves even if not in the region of $300 million?

How much again is expected from the sale of the BNTCL and Hilton? Any handsomely rewarded economist can always turn into a ‘Creative Accountant’ to meet his paymaster’s demands.

Why not move away from the traditional accounting principle of conservatism and recognize forex revenue before it becomes available for use to pay off the looming foreign debt liability since $100 + $100 –$100 = $200?

Now where is that ‘Missing’ $100 from the Hyatt Erection foreign injection?

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 25, 2018 at 4:58 PM

But the difference here now is that the starting gate is now the sluice gate on the South coast.

So who would be under starting orders there? A shite crab like you or a sewer rat like Fractured?

Fumble in not running this time around against a ‘Privatized lame-foot’ horse called OSA who tried to trade the current mare for an ‘eager eleven’ odd set of backbiters.

The odds of the mare finishing first past the post are as bankable as the Greenverbs the leper bookie loot ‘taken’ from the CLICO policyholders and stashed away to invest in government bonds over time through the Church village whitewashing laundry machine.

35. Another advisory issued by the local US Embassy, NOT TO DRINK THE TAP WATER, boil or drink bottled water. Bajans have to be tired of the shit!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/123518/us-embassy-issues-caution-regarding-bacteria-tap-water

36. I am minding my business but just to satisfy my curiosity do the folks who drive and splash through that contaminated water fumigate their cars? For that matter what do the pedestrians do?

Boiling water advisory? This is getting really bad I wrote that “Crisis Management Skills” were lacking and my point is being proven daily.

37. @Sargeant

We had the BEA people the week before assuring Barbadians the water quality is fine. Who do we RH believe?