Submitted by Heather Cole

It has all come down to shit. A few days ago Donald Trump’s racist use of the word shit-hole when referring to some African Countries, elevated the word shit to more prominence on the International scene than it has ever held. Interestingly enough shit is also trending in Barbados but not because of Donald Trump but the coincidence has expanded an already brewing storm.

A year ago it was first highlighted that the South Coast of Barbados was threatened by raw sewage flowing in the street. Pictures of the raw sewage flowing into the sea were captured by the print media so it could not be denied that what was flowing into the sea was raw sewage ridden with bacteria. The government applied a Band-Aid and the Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy and the Minister of Health John Boyce invited persons to join them when they jumped into the sea as a publicity stunt to prove that it was shit free.

At present there has been the backing up of sewage into private homes and properties on the South Coast, fish kills in the Graeme Hall, closures of restaurants, an outbreak of gastroenteritis, nauseating smells and raw sewage overflowing in the streets which affected local residents and visitors who were already on the island. More serious reputational damage came when tourist began to write reviews on travel sites and most recently when the US, the UK and Canada all issued warnings of potential health threats that could occur as a result of a visit to Barbados.

There are four ministers: the Minister of Health, the Minister of Tourism, the Minister of the Environment and the Minister responsible for Agriculture as well as the Prime Minister who must all own this catastrophe.

If this were not real it could easily fit into a satirical film, for we have five leaders of a country who do not know shit; literally and figuratively. If they knew shit, Richard Sealy and John Boyce would not bathe in the shitty sea; the Ministry of Health would not deny a link of gastroenteritis and the sewage problem and not provide the evidence. Denis Lowe would have provided a reason for the fish kill and David Estwick would have known that it was a DLP government that initially held responsibility for the sewage plant. If Freundel Stuart, who is the Prime Minister of Barbados, knew cared about the environment within which Barbadians lived, he would have addressed the people long ago and ensured that the problem was fixed. Instead he chose to refer indirectly to the problem while speaking to tourist at a function at Illaro Court. His nonchalant attitude shows a level of disrespect continuously being meted out by him towards the people of Barbados.

This is a serious matter. If we have five asses who do not know shit when they see it how can we expect them to be competent leaders of the country? They have put the health of every Barbadian at risk over the past three years with this sewage problem as the water supply may be contaminated, they have endangered the livelihood of all those dependent on the tourist industry for survival not only those who live on the South Coast. Then there is that element of reputational risk that can cause the tourist industry to collapse. Perhaps those who denied and ignored that shit was evident expected it to mysteriously go away with a Band-Aid.

No one will ever forget what Donald Trump said about the African Countries, no matter what he says after the fact. He will bear the label of a racist until he dies. No one may ever forget what they read on a travel site or their respective country’s travel advisory about Barbados. The government has not stated specifically what the problem or problems are with the sewage system so one can be assured that this is not another Band-Aid fix of a few months ago. Regardless, every citizen of Barbados has the right to ask the government of Barbados to clean up this mess or just go.

47 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Five Asses Who Don’t Know ‘Shit’”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol….the five clueless asses still dont understand the ramifications of those 3 health advisories…and what they can entail…particularly if the raw sewage starts flowing again.

….. that is why yardfowls should ne removed permanently from among human beings, after they got on BU justifying why they could not maintain the plant for 10 whole years or fix the sewage lines for over 2 years.

….. if they knew what they caused when they deliberately let the shit flow up until the election to blame it on the opposition they would leave now, to save face….

…..,..just having the low class mentality to be so repulsive, disrespectful and uncaring to their own people and their visting guests will be remembered in those countries producing visitors for a very long time.

Any incoming government better start working on generating more than one and preferably up to 5 money earners for the island’s forex needs instead of remaining stuck on the tourism dependency only and indefinitely.

2. A shit article!

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…but so accurately describes the state of government ministers.

4. Had a listen to the Sunday talk show and the attempt by the BWA to educate the country about the proper use of the South Coast sewage facility. A good attempt but clearly reactive. Their approach to avoid the issue of accountability in that forum is understandable but clearly the passive approach to managing the sewage plants is inexcusable. One just has to listen to the recording of the Brasstacks when Patricia Inniss was on to appreciate there are many shortcomings the BWA must address.

5. @ David
    It is hard to understand how BWA could send such low level employees who clearly don’t know shit, to represent them in such a forum. Obviously this is because the high level employees also don’t know shit.

The position which they represented, that the whole problem is caused by undesirable objects in the sewerage system – causing blockages, ….has to be the most idiotic defence that could possibly be contemplated.

Only complete idiots and total jackasses would build, or continue to operate, a system that would be susceptible to such sabotage – simply by some vagrant or malcontented person putting some object into the system. These kinds of objects would be found in ANY sewerage system ANYWHERE – if the operators were stupid enough to leave it open to such abuse.

Intelligent designers use screens, designed pipe sizes, restricted access to manholes and other such COMMON SENSE approached to ensure that such abuse is near to impossible.

THEN they have backup measures to trap and isolate such extraneous objects …before the system can be compromised.

There is a reason why monkeys are not allowed to play with guns…..

6. Dont disagree with you Bushie. The fact the PR people mentioned the vandalism on the show (it was highlighted in the wider media) shows the desperation. In fact listening to the representatives would have scared Barbadians who tuned in. No wonder the doctor/expert on the panel keep his mouth shut!

7. we seemed to have all forgotten that in 2005 there was a major break in the line taking affluent – don’t you just love that word – to the discharge point by the Hilton Hotel. This break was there where the Terra building on Worthing Rd is located. To fix the problem meant excavating the road etc. BWA did 2 things with the raw sewerage firstly some was dumped into GHNS resulting in a large fish kill-off and a blue green algae bloom accompanied by the the smell. Secondly the sluice gate was opened early on a Monday morning and the raw sewerage flowed into the sea.

The late Keith Laurie was among the crowd on the beach when CBC TV arrived to film and he was interviewed, to the best of my knowledge the footage was never aired.

BWA has again dumped sewerage into GHNS this time around killing off fish in the connecting canals and with the resulting algae bloom. Fish in the pone in Perronne Village behind the shops have also been killed off.

One of factors affecting this issue is the lack of maintenance of the pumps I understand from reliable source that pumps have been broken down for the past 3 years it’s amazing that money couldn’t be found to buy 3 pumps but we spent $7 million celebrating our 50th anniversary of Independence ( actual amount still to be confirmed). Similarly Govt is building a new admin office for sanitation rather than buying the badly needed trucks

Saying that ” we deep in shit” is more literal that previously thought.

8. Maybe the writer could have suggested 5 asses who knew shit.

We would ventured that no set of 5 asses would ever be allowed to know shit

In others words we have systemic problems reinforcing each other

9. The only a.ss holes are those on BU using political leverage to attack the employees who were on brasstacks yesterday when it was clearly stated by the guest that there area of expertise was not in technical and engineering and Vob/brasstacks would have to present another show where the engineers of BWA can address that area of concern by the public
    The responses here are indeed foolish bent on political poop rather than real concern about the problems which were address as much as sabotage by some political lunatic

I

10. I think the simple idea of the sewage system on both the south and west coast is the same.

It is to remove the output from the numerous point sources that affect the quality of the sea around them and process their output at one point where its impact can be minimised.

The logic makes sense.

Did you know that according to a study in 2008 by Arriola, the Belair Institute, quoted in the 2010 report on the water quality in the swamp that bathing at 80% of the beaches on the West Coast would be prohibited!!!

Here is the quote!!

“At 8 of 20 sample points in the Graeme Hall lake and pond system, fecal bacteria concentrations exceeded the proposed water quality standards for Barbados’ marine protection (Appendix F: Marine Pollution Act, Proposed Discharge Standards, 2004), which would limit fecal coliform to 200 col/100 ml. These results dictate that no swimming or human contact with the water is advisable. A study conducted along the West Coast of Barbados in the mid-1990s showed that 80% of the beaches sampled should have been posted “closed for swimming” for exceeding national bacteriological beach bathing water quality standards (Arriola, 2008).”

The issues we have at the moment and have had for years should not divert our attention away from the reason the sewage systems on the South and West Coast are desirable.

The reason I believe, is to protect and make as safe as possible, the principal asset we use to make our living in tourism, the sea!!

Why don’t we have a west coast sewage system?

Sewage control is perhaps the single most important thing we can do for our country.

We don’t need new hotels, we don’t need developments that increase the sewage output in various areas that can affect the water supply,

We need control and understanding of the sewage mess that Barbados has become.

…. ditto garbage!!

11. AC

We know that the love of your life, the DLP, is facing an existential crisis.

As a result, like any lover, you will move ‘heaven and earth’ to save that love

It matters not to you that shit is flowing in the streets

For you, love thicker than shit

12. Theophilius Gazer 255 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 255

Interesting post John…
    Scary for the product as a whole

13. Hamilton A Hill Avatar

As I listened to Brass Tacks Sunday yesterday, it became clearer and clearer why like in so many other instances the sewer system malfunction was now a national embarrassment. Accountability….a mostly important asset that after nine years is still elusive to Prime Minister Stuart’s cabinet. Anywhere else but 2018 Barbados feet would have been held to the fire. Not bout here. Rather than being proactive Ministers Sealy and Boyce clearly showed that optics, not tourism was their business so indeed they played their part. Now that the inadvertent travel advisories have arrived its time to blame John Public. For as much admiration and respect as I have for communication specialist Joyanne Haig , she has now adopted the mirror image of White House press secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders, and this is really sad. To Joyanne I say this. You could make twice as much money and still keep your integrity intact .If you must work for a Stuart,left Freundel Stuart and join Stuart Law….after hearing your contribution to Brass Tacks Sunday yesterday I’m convinced that you would be of some benefit to Sunil Narine and Devendra Bishoo. If this were not such a critical matter your spin would be seen as comical. The late Peter Morgan was threatened with arrest for the removal of a sign some years ago. Minister Sealy should have been arrested when he misled the nation by taking down that sign. Let’s see if he can take down the alarming comments that populate Trip Advisor. Foolish optics and leveling blame on John Public and VOB moderators cannot fix the Sewer system.

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Fish in the pone in Perronne Village behind the shops have also been killed off.”

I so love that little area by the pond in Peronne Village, it is unforgivable this fruzy government damaged the area playing political games, but they are paying for it in spades.

Hamilton, they aint fooling anyone but themselves, certainly not the tourists, the damage is done internationally because they spent years doing it and they cannot recover before election.

Tick, tock.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

But John, with due respect but good heavens re your 8:57AM post, is that not the purpose of sewerage and garbage processing PERIOD!

One accepts your point but I find it confounding that it actually has to be reiterated.

How can any jurisdiction – town, city, province, state, nation – expect to consume all the vitals we need to exist, produce the resulting ‘offal’ (poop, medical waste, old carcasses-human & other etc) and not have properly working systems to filter and dispose of same??

It always dismayed me that Bajans were always disgusting litter bugs and that our authroties did not establish and enforce draconian measure to condition better behaviour a la Skinner…. this is OUR creation.

We cant expect clean beaches to be purified by the Atlantic ocean; rather because smart folk engineer effective working sewerage systems…

We can”t have enforced obsolescence of cars replaced every several years, parts every 10K mikes, phones every 365 days , furniture, refigerators and other household items every other year it seems and clothes for every bram and not ecpect filled gullies and now overflowing sewerage unless we are absolute A-holes…or should that be s☆☆holes.

16. If you would like to snatch your granny´s inheritance, just book for her a stay in Christ Church and a warm bath in one of the said ponds. A legal method to kill people?

17. @Hamilton

So true, where is the accountability? It is not good enough to say that a booklet was given to the businesses along the South Coast and that is all. The correct use of the facility requires that ALL Barbadians are kept fully aware of good practices when using the sewage facilities. This has nothing to do with lack of robust monitoring and enforcing penalties by transgressors. The upside to the sewage leaking is the opportunity it has provided to put a fire under the asses of stakeholders.

18. Another upside has been the use of social media to highlight the issue and flush those responsible into the limelight. For example, see the latest WhatsApp video that highlights potholes across our road networks so that a basic level of plotting of routes can be done.

19. I am sure every contributor on BU has at some time or other visited the East Coast Road after heavy rains deluged the island and have been witness to the vast amounts of soil that washed into the sea for hundreds of yards out to and along the coast. Now pray tell me how raw sewage gushing on to the roads and byways along the southern coast for two years would not in some way or other find its way into the sea along that coast? The minister has ‘ass-ured’ us that there is no danger to bathing on the south coast and that there has been no pollution in all this time.

Either he is an ass for thinking and saying so or he thinks that we are all asses to believe him (ac excepted). Last nigh on GIS (CBC) I also heard another minister (jackass) say that his government promised the people shelter, clothing and food and they have delivered – people are able to eat, they have a roof over their heads and clothes on their backs. They did not promise road and no one lives on the road so roads are not important but he will get to that eventually. My question to you good sir is “When?” You and your ilk should get on your knees and kiss the collective “Africas” (quoting Trump) of all Barbadians…. not that I or any sensible male would want or trust any of you back there.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

And David Mr Blogmaster further to your above post and really your many years of highlighting issues and flushing those responsible we can recast in these words:

“Freedom [like justice] is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.”

And always apt particularly for political missteps as now, “The time is always right to do what is right.”

The author ‘s life and all those who fought with him before and after is celebrated today of course.

21. The world is in turmoil.We are up a creek without a paddle.Democracy has given us two of the worst men in important positions of leadership.Right on our doorstep is the most out-of-his-element PM Barbados has ever had.Not a clue on what the role of a PM is in a democratic state.A man without the nous to know that he is totally incapable of the role he is expected to play in a developed country.Then we have the man that the USA has elected as the most powerful person on the planet.A man the media has found making 2001 false claims in his first year in office.A big child.The world’s biggest JA.Sumting Wong.

22. de pedantic Dribbler January 15, 2018 at 9:56 AM #

One accepts your point but I find it confounding that it actually has to be reiterated.

Nothing confounding at all … O$A decided to spend money on Kensingto Oval for World Cup instead of building a west coast sewage system.

Given the calamities on the South coast, no wonder!!

23. Theophilius Gazer 255 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 255

I was looking for the source John referenced at 8:57. I was unable to find it, but I am going to trust John Liesalot and not ask for it. It seems as if this sewage issue is more extensive/complicated than what we are discussing here.

24. Theophilius Gazer 255 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazer 255

What would it take for you to say that there is a fly in the ointment.
    There must be some level where national interest trumps self.party interest.
    Will you be the last sailor on the mighty Titanic to lose confidence in the captain??

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John January 15, 2018 at 10:46 AM #
    “Nothing confounding at all … O$A decided to spend money on Kensingto Oval for World Cup instead of building a west coast sewage system.
    Given the calamities on the South coast, no wonder!!”

Stop living in the past, John.

Let us call to account those who have been given the steering wheel of governance and has been in the position for a decade to correct previous ‘wrongs’; whether by commission or omission.

Has the ghost of Cahill disappeared like the South Coast sewage into the sea?

Here is what the current administration promised to the electorate it will do:

“THE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT The preservation of the natural environment is absolutely critical to the social and economic future of Barbados. For example, tourism, the major foreign exchange earner is dependent on the natural resource base of the economy as a source of land to provide tourism infrastructure and the provision of water, food, a clean marine environment, and natural attractions such as the Harrison’s Cave. Government has an inescapable responsibility to assume the lead responsibility for ensuring that the environment is managed effectively. The process of environmental care is the concern of every citizen and resident of Barbados.

THE NEW DLP ADMINISTRATION WILL:

Commence the construction of the West Coast sewerage system promptly;

Strengthen its regulatory and enforcement programme;

Expand the development of green spaces, etc.”

26. National interest supersedes self interest. Theo with that a grand statement in mind. Go post in on every house and business on the South Coast that blatantly used the pit toilet to throw any and every thing in the system.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 15, 2018 at 11:30 AM

You are right about “everything” can be found in the pit toilet.

Even stinking yard-fowls like you can be found behaving like sewer rats.

Is it true you are missing a hand that was recovered from the pit toilet?
    No wonder your postings on BU are so one-sided!

Why not go and flush the rest of yourself down the same pit toilet and do your party a much needed favour?

28. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ John at 10:45 AM

OSA made that decision on the information provided to him. Would you have done differently? Hind sight is 20/20.

What has OSA’s decision then has to do with today’s calamity on the South Coast? Is there a causal link between the two.? What kind of logic is that?

29. What steps are being taken to see to it that this problem does not recur in the Bridgetown area or are the authorities so taken up with Christ Church that all of the “brains” are concentrated in one area only? That impact study being called for in relation to Hyatt, how will the Emmerton plant cope or will we hear “When that plant was commissioned we did not expect such a rapid expansion in population growth and the demands being experienced.”

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“THE NEW DLP ADMINISTRATION WILL:

Commence the construction of the West Coast sewerage system promptly;

Strengthen its regulatory and enforcement programme;

Expand the development of green spaces, etc.”

So I was right, the ministers did either throw away their manifestos after the electorate foolishly elected them a second time…or those manifestos are sitting in their offices collecting dust since 2013 , because they sure never looked at them to remind themselves of their jobs and obligations and promises to the people and island after 2013…lol

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FearPlay January 15, 2018 at 1:34 PM
    “What steps are being taken to see to it that this problem does not recur in the Bridgetown area or are the authorities so taken up with Christ Church that all of the “brains” are concentrated in one area only? That impact study being called for in relation to Hyatt, how will the Emmerton plant cope or will we hear “When that plant was commissioned we did not expect such a rapid expansion in population growth and the demands being experienced.”

Come on FP, are you swallowing the Hyatt shit too?
    Can’t you see the MoT is playing a game of musical chairs with the date of commencement of actual construction?

From “a couple of weeks” a few months ago to “in the fullness of time” recently is just political doublespeak for pure lying bullshit.

Don’t you think that if the financing for this ‘gigantic’ project was definitely on the cards this would have been known and made public in order to extract as much political capital with general elections around just around the corner?

And if the inflow of foreign money was involved in the financing of the said project don’t you thing the other patented liar MoF would have been spinning around like a blue-arsed fly mating with a peacock in heat and bragging about the upcoming improvements in the country’s foreign reserves?

Bajans must start using their heads (brains) and not their anus to be so easily screwed by a lying co**ksucker called Dickey ShittySealy.

32. Well said millertheanunnaki

33. Today is celebrated as Martin Luther King Day in the USA 🇺🇸

Today January 15 in Barbados 🇧🇧 is known as DLP Liberation Day

Actually, today January 15, 2018 is the 10th anniversary of liberation of Barbadians from the tyranny of Mottley’a BLP

Barbadians not going back to that rot !

34. Interesting that on such a significant milestone read ten years the DLP/government has been silent? Not worth the celebration in the current austere climate?

35. David January 15, 2018 at 6:22 PM #
    Interesting that on such a significant milestone read ten years the DLP/government has been silent? Not worth the celebration in the current austere climate?

Trump has done de dawg and people claim he is racist!!

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Fractured and Desperate…what you posted made absolutely no sense, none, except for the rot part…lol

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot…have you no shame, you know trump ran out shaking Black and Brown people’s hands to cover his racist rant about Caribbean and African shit hole/shithouse countries and he not wanting immigrants from them, but from Norway and Asia, the ver next day….MLK always had a holdiday……instead, it’s a good thing Norway allowed him to know US is a shithole, 100 years ago Norwegians been there and done that, are extremely wealthy now and are inviting US citizens running from trump racism to make a life in Norway. .

….I really hate liars and you are one of the worse.

38. Bernard Codrington January 15, 2018 at 12:21 PM #
    @ John at 10:45 AM
    OSA made that decision on the information provided to him. Would you have done differently? Hind sight is 20/20.
    What has OSA’s decision then has to do with today’s calamity on the South Coast? Is there a causal link between the two.? What kind of logic is that?

We know from the 90’s from Arriola that 80% of the beaches on the west coast should have been made off limits to bathers at various times!!!

O$A would have known that then as well!!!

I knew that from the 80’s just simply by observation of how the land worked, learning and logic!!

In fact, I stopped bathing in the sea on the West Coast since the 1980’s!!

I got my instincts confirmed to me in the late 90’s by an ENT specialist and the stories he told me of the ear infections he had to solve!!

Obviously O$A knew too because the GOB was looking to sewer the west coast and the south coast!!

Had the GOB concentrated on priorities instead of building the spaceship at Kensington, maybe we would not now have to learn the hard way from scratch.

Plus, we would not have had to watch the standard of cricket fall knowing the millions we frittered away there!!

We never did reach first world status!!

39. WC

Trump is miles ahead of the game!!

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

If course he is ahead of his game, until he is impeached….and Meuller puts out those subpoenas, since he is dodging the requested interview, I saw bigger fish than that fry.

Instead of talking about an elusive first world status when the island has been infested with the baggage of corruption and dependency for far too long, for decades, if the leaders were intelligent, which they have proven to be not, they would have instead focused on emulating Norway and those countries that have now proven to have the right formula to uplift and enrich their people….and keep their countries prosperous.

Even the US and UK fell down on that one and are now in trouble, obviously the small islands followed them and fell on their asses too, ah grew up hearing ya never follow the negative people, you cut them out of your life and stay well away and always be mindful of and follow positive people.

41. MIA knows shit

42. Imagine the nerve of the Blp members and leadership having a party meeting in the area where the pit toilet is built,
    Imagine after cussing the govt about health concerns coming from shit in the street these clowns would proceed to have a blp campaign meeting
    for their yardfowls and operatives inside the heart of the pit toilet
    As the saying goes shit attracts shit

43. If Trump regarded Martin Luther King as a real American hero, you would think he would want to uncover the real circumstances behind his death. He should be talking to the King family’s former lawyer Dr. William Pepper.

Dr. William Pepper’s remarkable 40 year investigation into the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. is summarized in his equally remarkable book, “The Plot to Kill King: The Truth Behind the Assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.” In this conversation we discuss Dr. Pepper’s relationship with Dr. King, the mind-blowing evidence that destroys the official story of the assassination, who really killed MLK, and the complete media blackout that has served to keep this information from the public for half a century.

https://youtu.be/sm1xciRzxPQ

44. I met Dr. Pepper … in his office in New York … a few years ago.

Quite a guy.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Local and regional Pan African groups declare US President Donald Trump persona non grata”

Lol…I would persona non grata the idiot too as everyone else is doing worldwide seeing as he very likely will not serve out that first term.

46. Who determined that potable water borne toilets ( discharging into twenty foot suck-wells) were a positive development for Barbados? Maybe it’s time we look at “envirolet” models that allow human waste to be composted for agricultural remediation. There was a time when pee and poo were purposely disposed of in separate pits. Is it possible that people then comprehended natural things we do not consider to be so important now.

47. @Andrew

We need a short term solution?