At the BCCI luncheon in November 2017 Mia Mottley- the featured speaker- shocked many with the revelation that one company (individual) in Barbados was able to secure ONE BILLION dollars in government contracts. The company (individual) is Preconco (Mark Maloney) of course.

Those who traverse the ABC highway airport stretch cannot help but notice the many houses at different stages of construction. A reminder this is a failed Mark Maloney project.

Those who have reason to travel by the proposed Hyatt Hotel location on Lower Broad Street all that is visible are two Robinson Crusoe like thatched huts. Clearly the contentious Hyatt hotel will not be completed during the tenure of the incumbent government. Another Mark Maloney project the government has been unable to mobilize.

Another contentious Mark Maloney initiative is the area located on the Barbados Port Authority compound where Mark Maloney stores his Rock Hard cement. As far as the BU household is aware a stop order was issued by the Barbados Courts for Mark Maloney to cease and desist from constructing the shelter where rock hard cement is being stored. To the surprise of many BU observed recently that Mark Maloney has continued construction of the storage area. Did the court give Maloney permission (in secret?)

Should Barbadians be fine with one man securing so many projects?

57 responses to “Rock Hard Cement, Hyatt Hotel, Villages at Coverley AND Mark Maloney”

1. @ de pedantic Dribbler

Yes, I concur I definitely have a problem with comprehension…….because I cannot understand a shiite that is written in your January 14, 2018 at 3:53 PM contribution…..

……..other than the shiite comment about Bostic. (Because he and I may have attended the same school…….. that does not make him my school mate….. he may be defined as a school colleague……”mate” is a bit more personal).

As I previously mentioned, you have this unique way of “intellectualizing” people’s comments out of the context in which they were written. In other words, you tend to over think simple points and taking them to levels the author of the comments can no longer recognize.

I made a simple statement in response to Skinner (NOT YOU) and you interpreted that comment out of the context in which it was written…….and responded to your interpretation. It’s like creating your own straw men to knock them down.

You duz mek simple things difficult.

2. “Austin January 14, 2018 at 1:44 PM #
    Hants January 14, 2018 at 10:55 AM #

Why are trade unions in the real estate business”

In an effort to find other financial means to run their operations rather than rely ostensibly on subscriptions from members.

an indication that they are thinking out of the box

3. charles skeete January 17, 2018 at 1:18 PM #

Are all the workers on the building sites unionised? Are they members of a cooperative? What about health and safety?

4. RE Artax January 15, 2018 at 1:44 PM #
    You let me down man, you let me down

You cant understand that de dribbler has a big psychological problem?
    He is a wannanbe

Because he did poorly at the 11 plus exam, this left a scar on his brain and psyche so that he thinks he has to prove to himself………and hopefully the blog, that he is an intellectual.

So instead of saying “twinkle twinkle little star” he has to say “scintillate, scintillate O diminutive asteroid!

Instead of saying “Jack and Jill went up the hill to fetch a pail of water” he must say “”Jack and Jill ascended the premontary to engage in aquatic acquisition”

In so doing he talks verbose INCOMPREHENSIBLE shite!

He is so stupid, he once sought to contradict my medical knowledge. idiot!

5. How many more weeks before an election date is called in Barbados? How much longer after the Government elected begin to serve Barbados? How many years will they act in the best interest of the people in creativity, hard work and decency.
    In 2008 the people of Barbados voted a new party into power with expectations of new leadership, having abandoned an out of touch leader.

Ten years on let us review one of those promises made to us as a people.

Promise #1

Housing Every Last Person – The Government signed a contract with a company associated with the “golden boy” which effectively provided the financier to build houses upon lands of the Crown. The subdivision at Coverley designed to include over 1000 homes was spaced as close together as the name villages immediately support. Houses built of wall panels were erected and offered for in excess of 275,000.00 Barbados dollars, between 800 and 1000 square feet. Local reports of the development and the design of the homes was unforgiving and less than expected, with several complaints. The Government also signed on with the golden boy to buy back any houses constructed and unsold, ultimately to predict failure of the initiative when considered from a commercial position. Today the development sits with a few dozen occupied homes on streets with scores of unoccupied and unfinished properties.

The development included and the contractor/developer/golden boy constructed a gas station in the housing village and constructed an island at the highway entrance that would expose drivers to extreme danger and certain misfortune.

It is unclear what success the developer/contractor/golden boy has made for himself or his shareholders from a commercial standpoint, however it is reasonably clear the promise to the people, has not been fulfilled as far as this initiative is concerned.

6. I used to live I there but the houses was too close and the place was like a furnace, even at night
    the heat in the place like it did want to cook ya.

7. @ Caswell Franklyn January 13, 2018 9:52 PM
    “Whatever happened to the manifesto pledge that 40% of all government contracts would go to small business.
    If this is not corruption, it is very good imitation of it.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Maybe Lorenzo and Enuff can explain the volte-face of their dear MAM.