Energy2010
Energy usage by group (2010)

This week a radio commentator made the observation that if there is credit this government has earned it has to be implementing policy to encourage the installation of  photovoltaic systems by the retail and commercial customer. BU agrees with a caveat.

Based on observation the biggest consumers of electricity in Barbados must be the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) and the Barbados Water Authority (BWA), Barbados Light & Power (BL&P) and other government departments. The acid test if the blogmaster is to give full credit to the government- the level of conversion from fossil to alternative energy by the greatest users must the key measure. The current conversion level suggest our biggest users are not fully converted, as a consequence there will be no material impact on fossil energy usage in Barbados any time in the near future.

If simple net metering was permitted, even for systems under five kilowatts, utility interactive RE systems with limited battery storage would be quite affordable. Back-feeding the grid during daytime and purchasing in the evenings would allow fewer batteries to be maintained for energy security while also reducing cycling and extending battery life.

We have three types of RE at our home. Grid tied, utility interactive (battery based) and off-grid. The off grid does not even have a battery as its a pond pump which operates only when the sun is shining on the PV. Critical appliances like our refrigerator, auxiliary water pump, lights, fans and entertainment centre were not affected by yesterdays power outage. And without the noise, fumes, maintenance and fuel requirements of a standby generator.

Check out Attic Developments Ltd Facebook page for schematic illustrations and pricing of various options.

Posted as a comment by Andrew Simpson to the No Power… No Vision

The preamble to the blog is a response to the BWA’s statement how the island wide power outage impacted their operations. To quote Joy-Ann Haigh, the Rapid Response and Communications Manager at the BWA:-

It impacted us a lot, because the pumping stations do rely heavily on the Barbados Light & Power. The tankers this morning, as a result, they have been dispatched. Of course, we needed to make sure that the emergency services were OK and then the schools, today being the first day of school for most and then everyone else afterward. Almost immediately after the power failed many, many areas lost mains water.

To BU’s way of 101 thinking,  if one of the the biggest expense items on the P&L is the BL&P energy bill, a decision should have been taken ‘everysince’ to aggressively migrate to alternative energy systems to run the operations. For the BWA spokesperson to have to publicly admit that the power outage on Monday adversely impacted operations and forced them to freight water by truck Flintstones style was as embarrassing as shit running on the South Coast in the year of our Lord 2017.

Why build a 60 million dollar building and there are no backup generators? Bear in mind the question is being asked of our water utility. Many retail consumers see the need to integrate backup power systems in homes these days which makes it a nobrainer for our water authority.

On a related note, it is also unacceptable the downtime Barbados had to experience given our reported level of investment in power generation and distribution.

Food, WATER, Shelter!

35 responses to “No Backup Generators at the BWA in 2017!”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ah guess the US has now issued their Travel Advisor for Barbados. ..

For all the lowlife lackeys and yardfowls who continue to lie incessantly for an incompetent and corrupt, lazy government, this is what inhaling raw sewage with airborne contaminants can do to humans:

“Airborne Biological Contaminants
    Volatilization is the gaseous loss of a substance to the atmosphere. Agitation of raw sewage can cause volatilization of biological contaminants in sewage, although this type of microbial suspension is short-lived. Breathing suspended microbial contaminants may infect a person with bacteria, fungi, parasites or viruses. Bacteria and parasites often cause diarrhea, fever, cramps and vomiting. Symptoms of fungal infections include allergic reactions and lung infections. Viral symptoms vary.”

“The following is a statement on the South Coast sewage crisis by Leader of the opposition Mia Mottley.
    On behalf of the people of Barbados I am calling on the Prime Minister to speak to his citizens and to let us know what his government will do to contain the crisis on the south coast with the sewage. This is now the second advisory in two successive days. The first one from the Canadians, and now the second one from the United States of America, advising their citizens as to the public health risks associated with the problem. Barbadians have been saying the same thing now for the last two and a half years.

What more must happen for there to be a manifestation of leadership from this Government and from this Prime Minister? “

2. Not entirely correct.
    A number of years ago, possibly 10 to 12 years maybe, there were Tenders put out in the press for the supply of Stand by generators for the BWA . I recall some were procured and were installed up for sure at the Belle Pumping Station. I cant confirm the other pumping stations but this can easily be confirmed. Question is why are these Generators not functioning in 2018? Lack of Maintenance maybe would be a good guess? A modern Industrial standby diesel Generator, properly installed and maintained, should have a live expectancy of over 30 + years. Surely some of our Electrical Contractors would remember this?

Currently the new 60 Million BWA Headquarters has a HUGE generator on that site. But that is no help to the pumping stations.

Priorities!

Lack of Basic Maintenance. Just take a look a the Transport Board Grave yards, at Weymouth and Mangrove, MTW in the Pine Graveyard. Millions upon millions of dollars of still good equipment sitting idle because of poor management and lack of proper maintenance.

I

3. We don’t need to hear any long talk.

Just fix the puckin problems as a matter of utmost urgency.

4. @Theo

The issue is if there are functioning generators to backup the operations at the pumping stations. Based on the response of the Rapid Response manager the answer is no.

The second thrust of the submission is why has the BWA not moved with haste to include alternative sources of energy given the high cost to produce power and the opportunity to ensure business continuity?

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

From the dotish minister holding the portfolio on down saw building a 60 million dollar building at taxpayer’s expense as having achieved greatness, little things such as generators, maintenance of the sewage plant and clearing sewage lines are just bothersome little semantics in their minds, not worth the time consuming, non bribery generating irritations…..until now…lol, hahaha

“Lack of Basic Maintenance. Just take a look a the Transport Board Grave yards, at Weymouth and Mangrove, MTW in the Pine Graveyard. ”

If you take a look at Simpson Motors graveyard in Warrens, there are easily 15 or 20 transport board buses just sitting there, yet lying Lashley would have us believe that a trini consultant being overpaid monthly for doing nothing transformed the buses into working miracles.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (BU):
    “To BU’s way of 101 thinking, if one of the the biggest expense items on the P&L is the BL&P energy bill, a decision should have been taken ‘everysince’ to aggressively migrate to alternative energy systems to run the operations. For the BWA spokesperson to have to publicly admit that the power outage on Monday adversely impacted operations and forced them to freight water by truck Flintstones style was as embarrassing as shit running on the South Coast in the year of our Lord 2017.”

Very good comment.

But the countervailing argument to be posed is that by reducing Emera’s revenues through the use of alternative energy options by government owned large-scale operations (QEH and GAIA also spring to mind) then the unit cost of operations at the fossil-fuels based Spring Garden generating plant will automatically climb since there would be less throughput.

Who will be bearing the increased unit cost in order to keep Emera’s profits up?

7. @Miller

What is the latest with BL&P’s solar farm?

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 11, 2018 at 7:38 AM

Optics my friend, just pure PR optics to show what a good corporate citizen Emera is to ‘butter up’ to the regulators to support the upcoming rate adjustment.
    An Emera-owned solar farm would be equivalent to shooting itself in its fossil fuel foot thereby putting the Spring Garden generating dinosaur in danger peril.

It would only add ‘more’ fixed cost to the generating slice of total operational costs.
    Yes, it would result in less fuel oil imports but the additional fixed costs and investment of capital in the solar farm must be recovered from the market.

So who (which category of electricity consumers) would be expected to be the sugar daddy if the godfather government is cutting the umbilical demand cord through its own solar energy plants?

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ millertheanunnaki January 11, 2018 at 8:23 AM

An Emera-owned solar farm would be equivalent to shooting itself in its fossil fuel foot thereby putting the Spring Garden generating dinosaur in danger peril.

Should read:
    “in greater peril”.

A generating plant of the kind at the SG is just as susceptible to failure operating at below standard capacity as it could be to excessive generating capacity.

Regular explosions could lead to regular blackouts for those still very much dependant on the BL&P grid.

10. NO BACKUP GENERATORS AT THE BWA IN 2017!
    AMAZING!
    CAN ANYONE IN BIM DO EVEN THE BASICS CORRECTLY?

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…now this is ugly.

“BARBADOS (Naked Departure) — THE SLOW POISONING OF BARBADIANS — Dr Harold Morley here, a retired Dental Surgeon — I am a UK citizen but have been living here for 17 years in Christ Church just next to the site of the sewerage blockage.

I have been out many nights recently at 2am watching the crews working hard and trying to offer my help and expertise as a concerned resident and experienced international project implementer .

The BWA engineers working through the night are good people but they are working in a fog and without proper direction, clarity of thought or a recognition of the immense harm being committed to the citizens and holidaymakers of Barbados and their country’s economy.

The BWA, the Ministry and the non functioning government are criminally negligent in my view. They are poisoning the nation, the sea, and the environment and not taking this catastrophy seriously.

I would ask why am I alone in the street at night.
    Where is the PM. Where is the Minister, The Chief Medical officer, the Head of Environmental Services and Coastal management
    The Attorney General.
    The Minister of Tourism.

This area is a major health hazard and people shouldn’t even be allowed near it.

I understand that for reasons known only to their BWA secret group, private local contractors offering their expertise and solutions at SENSIBLE and affordable cost are being rejected out of hand from even entering discussions .
    I would ask… WHY

For example why was POLLY ignored and turned away when they offered to clear the problem weeks ago. POLLY has successfully cleared sewer pipes in Barbados for years now.

Why were the Barbados Engineers rejected when they offered consultancy for free.

Is the BWA frightened of lifting its skirts and being investigated by outsiders, or of having to explain its huge spending on projects that logic would say should be a fraction of the eventual spend.

I really worry for this wonderful country. It is in extreme danger of committing commercial suicide and/ or poisoning its citizens and visitors.

Only this morning I saw and smelled what looked like raw sewerage being discharged from Graeme Hall swamp outlet, through the sluice gates directly into the sea.

How, I ask can this be lawful.
    Why is this beach not closed to bathers.
    Who is criminally responsible for this blatant poisoning of Graeme Hall natural waters.

Harold Morley
    Crystal Beach”

12. This situation brings a number of questions to my mind:
    1. Why was BL&P allowed to build the Spring Garden plant in an area susceptible to major tsunami threat.
    2. Should there be a tsunami as was recently possible, how far inland would the Hastings/Worthing health threat be dispersed, and how great a threat would that pose to our drinking water supply?
    3. Can someone take the government to court for this health assault inflicted on the citizens of Barbados?
    4. Would the next government be willing to cut off their collective nose in order to spite their collective face i.e. legislate a change in the Parliamentarian Pension Act?
    5. Can businesses take the government to court for loss of revenue due to ineptitude of the government in taking action to correct this problem two years ago?
    6. And lastly, would any of BU’s contributors (including the blinkered jackasses) plan a trip with family to any island in the Caribbean knowing full well that effluent was bubbling up on a daily basis to the streets and had been doing so for over two years?

13. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Fearplay…you may have missed Comissiong`s article.

` All of the evidence that is available to us points to the BWA having failed to carry out the duties and functions imposed upon it by the Barbados Water Authority Act and/or having been guilty of gross negligence in the carrying out of those duties and functions. This – it seems to me – may well be a matter that should be taken before the Law Courts of Barbados under the provisions of the Administrative Justice Act Chapter 109 B of the Laws of Barbados.

Section 6 of the Administrative Justice Act provides that “the Court may on an application for judicial review grant relief in accordance with this Act

a) to a person whose interests are adversely affected by an administrative act or omission;

b) to any other person if the Court is satisfies that that person’s application is justifiable in the public interest in the circumstances of the case.”

And the “relief” that the Court may grant includes an order of Mandamus requiring the statutory board to carry out its public duty, as well as an order for damages in money. `

14. FearPlay: “Why was BL&P allowed to build the Spring Garden plant in an area susceptible to major tsunami threat.

While your concerns about the tsunami threat are legitimate (just think of Fukushima Daiichi), what you have to also appreciate is that power plants (except for wind, solar or geothermal) require a great deal of cooling.

Throughout the world power plants are built near large bodies of water to “sink” the heat. The only other alternative is those huge hyperboloid cooling towers most people associate with nuclear power plants.

15. Assuming that our beaches play a key role in our tourism industry I question the wisdom of the Town Planning Department approving the BL&P plant at Spring Garden.If cooling of its equipment is the rationale,why is it not located at North Point or some similar coastal area where the water surge is not recommended for sea bathing.Prime beach front locations should be reserved for tourism development projects.Similarly Holetown Police Station and Weston Fire Station.

16. “Where is the PM. Where is the Minister, The Chief Medical officer, the Head of Environmental Services and Coastal management
    The Attorney General.
    The Minister of Tourism.”

Because plantocrats do not care for people whom they believe to be underlings.

There are no brothers and sisters on the plantation called “State of Barbados”.

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The government finally got what it wanted, notoriety. ..they are now officially the SHIT GOVERNMENT. .let’s the liar fir a chief medical officer tell them there is nithing to support that.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/119072/uk-government-issues-advisory-south-coast-sewage-crisis

“The United Kingdom has joined Canada and the United States in warning citizens who may be travelling to Barbados about the potential health hazards of the leaking South Coast sewage system.

The British government’s official website Gov.uk today updated the health summary on its Travel Advice section for Barbados, noting:

“Certain areas of the South Coast are experiencing breakdowns of sewage pipes. Leakages are occurring. You should avoid coming into direct contact with raw sewage and normal hygiene precautions should be followed.”

This is the third advisory regarding the South Coast sewage crisis in as many days.”

18. I hope Guy Hewitt in London,Bowels Marshall in NY and Haynesley Benn in Canada packing their bags to come back to Barbados to join the hordes of the unemployed on the south coast which will result from this monumental disaster called DLP mis-government.

19. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…these government ministers are living out their final days at taxpayer’s expense, they were playing slick, fast and loose, now they got the blowback, they can’t fix the blowback either…..as they so well deserve.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Just imagine if there were no blogs in existence, imagine the lies these ministers and their lackeys and yardfowls in the various ministers would be spreading around the island, even in the face of potential death to locals and visitors alike, all these disgusting sewer rats do is dress up in their monkey suits and tell the people lots of lies.

21. RE Just imagine if there were no blogs in existence,
    this is bull shit!
    THERE WAS LIFE BEFORE BLOGS
    THERE WERE ELECTIONS BEFORE BLOGS
    GOVERNMENTS WERE VOTED IN….AND OUT..BEFORE BLOGS ..ah lie?

22. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…my dude, you just totally misread what I said, but it’s ok, read it again slowly with no emotion…

Yes there was life before blogs. ..filled with lies and deceit…, so look where it the island is now that there are blogs….the average person now understanding of the lies politicians and ministers have told them for years…lies they were not aware of before…it is not that easy to be misled by evil people as before, nit in this information age..,. ..ah lie?..lol

And best of all, the slimy minorities in the busines community who are the biggest thieves and criminals on the island will find it harder to operate their criminal oganizations….protected by the same deceitful ministers and politicians.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 11, 2018 at 4:38 PM #
    “Just imagine if there were no blogs in existence, imagine the lies these ministers and their lackeys and yardfowls in the various ministers would be spreading around the island, even in the face of potential death to locals and visitors alike, all these disgusting sewer rats do is dress up in their monkey suits and tell the people lots of lies.”

Brilliant analogy of what passes for political leaders in Barbados today.

That’s what you get when you dress monkeys in suits put a book in one hand and a loaded gun in the other.

The sewage fiasco on the South Coast is the perfect result of sending to university a set of fools because ‘edikation’ can’t beat Commonsense.

24. re Yes there was life before blogs. ..filled with lies and deceit…
    HAS THE BLOGS DECREASED THE LIES AND DECEIT?
    THERE IS JUST AS MUCH LIES AND DECEIT SINCE THE BLOGS.
    ALL THE BLOGS DOES IS ALLOW A FORUM FOR FOLK TO SPOUT THEIR DAILY DRIVEL 24/7/365
    the average person now understanding of the lies politicians and ministers have told them for years…lies they were not aware of before…it is not that easy to be misled by evil people as before, nit in this information age..,. ..ah lie?. YES YOU LIE. I CAN NOT SEE ANY GREAT INCREASE IN UNDERSTANDING OR AWARENESS FROM THE BULLSHIT I SEE HERE ON A DAILY BASIS

25. IF THERE IS SO MUCH UNDERSTANDING BY THE POPULACE, WHY HAVE THEY NOT RISEN UP IN REVOLT DURING THE LAST 8 YEARS? INSTEAD OF THE DAILY BU BOVINE EXCREMENT?

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller….what do you think is next for these useless ministers?..

…….they cannot fix the sewage pipes in under 3 months, election is in 4 months..

….. they had over 2 years of lying and deceiving the people which would have been put to better use fixing the sewage problems..y

….. they actually thought they were spiteing the people who exposed them…

…,,,the government can forget about being reelected. ..that’s for sure.

Now they got international health advisories in payment for all their lies and deceit, it’s theirs, they gotta own it, cant blame anyone else..lol

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP…how often in the last 400 years do you know bajans to revolt, they cannot even get the story straight about slave revolts on the island back then…. despite british documentation that can be found in museums, so dont hold your breath…

Do not mistake bajans for trinis or Jamaicans or other Caribbean people who are well known for revolts and uprisings. …for their rights.

Ah see ya fellow doctor George now coming out admitting what could cause illness from the south coast sewage leaks, it had to be practically pulled out of him, he has done the island no favors by holding his government stool pigeon position…lol

28. THERE WERE NO BLOGS IN 91 WHEN THERE WAS A TWO DAY STRIKE

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 11, 2018 at 5:57 PM
    “the government can forget about being reelected. ..that’s for sure.
    Now they got international health advisories in payment for all their lies and deceit, it’s theirs, they gotta own it, cant blame anyone else.”

You really mean to say the DLP-led government can forget about getting reelected by ‘Fair’ means.

What about ‘Foul’ means?
    That is what these crooked chaps will be up to. Just check their track record from the speaker to the Downlow(e). From Stinkliar to Pornville. Just a bunch of thieving lying wild boys who have hijacked the system of governance like Jesse James robbing a train.

We must NOT dismiss Caswell’s warning of the government planning to declare a state of emergency to rule by decree.

The current travel advisories issued in respect of the sewage problems represent the perfect storm of an opportunity behind which that lucky devil called Fumble can continue with his intended actions of bringing Barbados down to its lowest degraded denominator.

What evil of man would put the country trough so much agony and turmoil just because of a woefully overblown ego possessed by a fart-frightened pissy boy with a massive chip on his social shoulders and endowed with the humanity of a rat and the class of a hog?

Not only has the DLP turned Barbados into a social pigpen but also into an environmental sewer so that cock rats like them can rule.

30. As an independent onlooker the upcoming general election will register as one of the most interesting. It should be relabeled the Houdini Election.

31. @Chris

Isn’t there an opportunity for BREA to make its voice heard on the issue of more aggressive conversion to renewable to replace fossil?

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…up to them, if they continue in that vein, we will see how much lower they can sink and wallow in the sewer of their own making.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

GP..in case you have not noticed, these have dug in and refuse to be moved, read Miller’s post…..

….was there not a strike recently, have they gone anywhere after carring the island 23 downgrades, shit running in the streets AND 3 travel advisories. …do you see anyone revolting or striking or uprising?

We can hope though.

34. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 6:37 PM

“Houdini Election?” Please explain. Somebody wriggling out of something? I hope that thou hast not the gift of prophecy.

35. @Bernard

Nothing to explain, this government will need Houdini magic to win the next general election.