David Estwick, Minister responsible for the Barbados Water Authorty

The problem of sewage running on the street of the South Coast is so serious BU shares a public service recording produced by the Barbados Water Authority which attempts to explains the challenge.

82 responses to “Barbados Water Authority Press Conference | Sewage on South Coast a BIG Problem”

1. @ ac January 4, 2018 at 11:42 AM #

Do you know what maintenance is? A sewage plant is not a silver Mercedes E class which the ruling elite drives until it breaks down. Ask your masters COW and Bizzy how to run a facility.

Do you still think that Cahill was a good idea? Imagine these clueless and light-minded local lads were in charge of maintaining it. We had an explosion with lots of dioxin just after one month.

2. In 1858, an act of Parliament authorized the development of a sewer system designed by Joseph Bazalgett, who was a civil engineer and chief engineer for the water works in London at the time. Bazalgette’s project was completed in 1870 and is still in use; (obviously with necessary improvements from time to time).

And here we are……….. behaving as though the only reasonable or feasible solutions to the South Coast sewage plant……. which was built in the 1990s……….

…………is to build a new plant…….. only for politicians to find some other reason to build a new plant in 2028.

3. If the mercedes was not properly fitted with correct parts all the maintenance in the world would not correct the flawed design.
    Have you ever heard of cars being recalled because mainteance could not correct the problem.That is call a manufactures defect or flaw that began with poor design or poor procedure

4. You are really a JA. Not even the government is blaming the Opposition yet you who is clueless about the issue continue to harp about defective plant. All agree the plant was not designed to handle the current load, also to handle runoff, Dr. Hugh Sealy says so. The DLP government has held the office of government for nine years years and what has it done? Even Mia has come public to say she quietly requested a meeting with the PM to discuss and he refused.

JA

5. @hants

If one could discern a level of urgency on the street like frequent washdowns, condoning off of shitty areas etc it would make for PR at minimum.

6. Yuh can cuss me all u want. My point remain as to intial design and methodogly and the technical aspect of the plant resulted in its ability to handleclarge volume.
    The vision or lack therof lead to a total collapse of the plant.

7. lawson January 4, 2018 at 11:49 AM #
    just a question the stretch from hastings to bridgetown what direction do the sewage lines go. It must change since water runs down hill you would think it would be flooding at the yacht club area not hastings
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

From what I see, I think it goes like this like this.

Two main input lines bringing sewage from the eastern and western extremes, Oistins and Bridgetown to the treatment plant

One output line from the treatment plant to Hilton and then to the sea.

The main input lines will have feeders eg Amity Lodge (??) to Highway 7. there is a low point by Big B.

There is a problem with sections of the input line from Bridgetown to the plant.

The section between Sandy Beach and the Stream has been bypassed … pump at Sandy Beach … and delivered directly to the swamp.

Not sure if that is the output line or the input line but given the debris, it is the input line.

If that is the case all of the raw sewage from Bridgetown to the plant is going into the swamp, minus any debris filtered by the pump at Sandy Beach.

There is a problem with the output line.

There is a problem with the plant.

Given my interpretation of the bypass is correct the plant is only receiving sewage from the Oistins line!!

I am going by what I observe.

8. And the point your hard head will never comprehend is that the DLP was voted in to fix the problems and did NOTHING about it since gaining office.

9. Why do you bother Artax. He likes to nitpick instead of trying to understand what is being communicated. (quote)

It is not nitpicking, you silly man, it is deconstruction, close analysis instead of accepting nonsense from people with PHds.

Here is another example of humiliating deference: …………………. . All agree the plant was not designed to handle the current load, also to handle runoff, Dr. Hugh Sealy says so. (quote)

So who is “All”, this is a ridiculous claim. And, even more ridiculous, it is so because Dr Hugh Sealy says so.

Pls go away and learn to think and stop behaving like an angry schoolboy. I am not a civil or structural engineer, but common sense tells me that before undertaking a major project they would have done a cost/benefit analysis: what would it cost? What would be the mass and type of sewage it would expect to carry now, in five years time, in 20 years time and in 40 years time? This, of course, would depend on the catchment area (residential, commercial and beach overflow).
    The providers of the equipment would recommend the necessary maintenance procedure, which would be part of the contract after this the maintenance team would claim ownership of keeping the equipment running. Regular team meetings would give a constant update and keep senior executives informed.
    People must ask questions of the technocrats, not just accept because they have a PhD that what they say is gospel; that is the thinking of a braindead person who dreams about getting similar qualifications and, with them, assuming a position of social important.
    One minute we are told people with the right heritage should b leaders – because they were raised in homes with lots of books and important people coming to lunch.
    Grow up. Some of us are not looking for social status in Barbados. You call it nitpicking, I call it interrogating the evidence.

10. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all

@ac January 4, 2018 at 9:08 AM “when this plant was being built how come engineers and the designers did not pinpoint these potential problems to govt officials involved in the initial plans.”

Engineers have to tell government officials about sanitary napkins and diapers? What next do we have to teach our officials? That they must look both ways before they cross the road?

Stupseee!!!

11. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@millertheanunnaki January 4, 2018 at 9:09 AM @ Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 4, 2018 at 8:40 AM “R-R, this is on piece of unsanitary shit you cannot blame Bajan men for!”

Stupseee!!!

Stop being idiotic.

One of my elders who needed diapers and bed pads was male.

How did I know?

i changed his diapers.

12. There is a second aspect of the system that needs to be borne in mind.

The two input and one output pipes run in 5 foot concrete tunnels.

These tunnels sound as though they have been breached in listening to the minister.

So the Sheet Water surrounding them can get in.

Possibly as tides and swamp levels vary, the manholes weep.

I think that is part of the process happening at Big B.

13. A competent engineer would have advised the bureaucracy of all possibilities that could lead to breaches. However i am more convinced that political interest and interference could have outweighed the necessity and cost of building a more efficient plant hence a process of risk taking was the alternative procedure.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 4, 2018 at 12:48 PM #
    “Stop being idiotic.
    One of my elders who needed diapers and bed pads was male.
    How did I know?
    i changed his diapers.”

Simple, it’s not a case of being idiotic but being realistic.

We are not talking about the wearing of diapers like boy babies do but those who are most likely to carelessly dispose of them ;both from the young and the old, male and female.

Culturally and statistically, it must be women doing the careless disposal, not so?
    Unless you, Riff-Raff, is not only a fake doctor but also a mock man.

15. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@millertheanunnaki January 4, 2018 at 9:09 AM @ Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 4, 2018 at 8:40 AM “R-R, this is on piece of unsanitary shit you cannot blame Bajan men for!”

Are you telling me that Bajan men NEVER change the diapers of their children or of their elderly parents?

If that is the case, then shame on you.

16. Theophilius Gazerts 240 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 240

Love to see these fishes in a glass bowl chattering to each other..
    So frigging inconsequential
    clean up your nasty shit. you don’t matter

17. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

According to the 2010 census Barbados has 86,424 girls and women aged between 12 and 55, that is 86,424 menstruating females. If we assume that each woman and girl needs 15 sanitary napkins per month that is 1,296,360 sanitary napkins which have to be disposed of each month, or 15, 556,320.

This is not rocket science. The census data is there. The Barbados Water Authority has access to this data, so does the Ministry of the Environment and the Ministry of Health. periods do not go away. They will be with us always, even unto the end of the earth.

If we do not want 15 1/2 million sanitary napkins per year clogging up our expensive sewer system, then people must be educated on the best way to dispose of napkins.

Including the million or more napkins used by tourist women and girls.

Our male policy makers may not want to think about used sanitary napkins, but we do pay sanitary engineers to think on such things.

18. “However i am more convinced that political interest and interference could have outweighed the necessity and cost of building a more efficient plant hence a process of risk taking was the alternative procedure.”
    ++++++++++++++++

The yard-fowl is SPEWING more POLITICAL SHIITE as she continues the “blame game” nonsense.

Anyone reading information relative to the IADB’s loan policy, would observe that countries borrowing from the Bank have to fulfill certain requirements before the loan is approved and disbursements are made in phases, according to the terms and conditions outlined by the Bank…… in this case as per contractual agreements signed on March 08, 1993, by the then government of Barbados.

With projects of this nature, the Bank pays a particular interest in assessing the environmental and social aspects. As such, one important requirement is an Environmental (and Social) Impact Assessments (EIAs), which, according to the Bank, “are prepared for projects with potentially substantial environmental and social impacts. EIAs are made available to affected populations and local nongovernmental organizations by the borrower BEFORE the Bank conducts its Analysis (or in the case of non-sovereign guaranteed operations, its Due-diligence) Mission.”

Another requirement is the Monthly Operational Summary (MOS) reports on the status of projects while they are in the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) lending pipeline.

You must realize the project was done in phases and the loan funds were disbursed accordingly. Each phase had to follow the guidelines as agreed to in the contract.

Surely to suggest “political interest and interference could have outweighed the necessity and cost of building a more efficient plant,” should be DISMISSED as POLITICAL RHETORIC. Such fool hardy action would be an obvious violation of the agreed terms of the contract.

19. On November 18, 2016, the IADB approved a loan of US25,000,000: BA-L1035: Road Rehabilitation and Improving Connectivity of Road Infrastructure.

Project Status: Implementation

“The main objective of the operation is to improve the quality of road infrastructure and its connectivity, in order to inter alia enhance Barbados tourism competitiveness and growth. Specifically, the program aims to: (i) rehabilitate sections of road networks and lower logistic cost, particularly transportation costs and travel times and improve safety; and (ii) provide a framework for institutional strengthening to improve transport sector planning capacity, road investment’s sustainability and financial mechanisms for rehabilitation and regular maintenance interventions undertaken by the MTW.”

I would like Michael Lashley to explain why we are having a problem with “pot-holes.”

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 4, 2018 at 2:27 PM
    “Are you telling me that Bajan men NEVER change the diapers of their children or of their elderly parents?
    If that is the case, then shame on you.”

The short-shrift manner in which you speak about men one can only conclude that men are a bunch of lazy irresponsible bastards despite the fact that the first 7 years of their lives their mother or some other female figure is the influential agent in forming their moral character, given that 70 % of Bajan households are headed by females.

So, by statistical analysis one can only conclude women are to be blamed primarily for the disposal of diapers both on the baby boys and old men.

BTW, the majority of senior civil servants who influence the policy-making process are FEMALE. Check your facts.

21. its not just the diapers but the wet wipes as well, toilet paper degrades but a lot of you have been keeping the nation newspaper in business by using it for wiping after reading it. Condoms are very bad for the system and throwing cigarette butts into urinals is a no-no… Well Well tells it makes them soggy and hard to light.

22. Hahaaaaaaa!!! The DLP apologists are boldfaced mi sey. Notwithstanding Artax’s sustained debunking of this design claim, the apologists persist. However, I have one foolish question–if it is the BLP fault why Sealy and Boyce didn’t say so from the outset instead of bathing in the filth?

23. Are we able to say that the input line from Oistins DOES NOT get clogged and the one from Bridgetown DOES?

If that is the case there is more going on here than meets the eye!!

24. Maybe Sealy and Boyce want to breakout with a pox to gain the sympathy vote?

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lawson January 4, 2018 at 4:07 PM

Lawson, you are too ‘bad’. Your ‘’dirty’ irony never escapes those albino rats who have to patrol the gutter that makes up the racial divide.

Leave poor WW&C out of it. She is/was married to one like you, ass-scratching and all.

We are really disappointed in these educated blacks but you of all the dirty harry’s’ should understand that you can take a white pig to the opera but it can still behave like a black sheep without a bag of white wool to camouflage.

You know where the miller is coming from don’t you, chameleon?

26. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…don’t mind Lawson…let him keep his rancid tail in 40 degrees below monster cyclone weather and watch trump be taken down….the trumpturds are now on their own…cause trump don’t want yo see any of them, he will gladly have secret service shoot them on sight…lol

27. WW no need for shooting me when i come down in march the island should be percolating with bacteria if nothing is done and an old fella like myself will probably get legionaires disease from the air conditioning

28. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Worse than that Lawson…did you not have your children walking barefoot in the poop up Ch, Ch last year..

I fully expect you to glow in the dark this year…lol

29. Thats is true and they all picked up some foot worm, but the water in front of dover I thought was just rain water now I am thinking different, what did miller mean when he said you were married to someone like me, do you know other people that have a job.

30. Theophilius Gazerts 240 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 240

🙂 Lawson: A wise guy

31. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Lawson…Miller meant a better version than you, a self made man from a stronger gene pool, to be married to me this long, he would have to be.

32. Oh dear Barbados as a tourist coming soon this is pretty worrying! Sanitation is the cornerstone of civilisation – you simply have to find a way and money to deal with this NOW! Once infectious disease starts and finds it way into the naiive (immunologically speaking) tourist population you will have a long term financial crisis on your hands ( let alone causing lots of suffering) – u should not plan to allow raw sewage into the sea – or at least only in dire emergency many miles out- just give the engineers their tools and resources to improve the plant the short term -they will know what to do – make sure you have sanitary bins in every toilet in every institution, hotel and house – make sure as a short term measure you test bathing waters affected daily (e. Coli is a cheap indicator test) make sure all kitchens have no one working having v&/or d make sure if anyone has had v&d they are excluded from kitchen work until 48 hours after those symptoms have ceased pretty please get on top of this before it gets on top of u

Leave a Reply to Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and allCancel reply