Submitted by caribbeansignal.com

21-year-old Tavon Kaiseen Alleyne is the island’s latest murder victim to date. Alleyne, a cousin of Rihanna’s, was shot and killed on Boxing Day.

Based on my count, the total number of murders for 2017 is at least 31 persons. The emphasis on my count is important because figures on the Nation and  Barbados Today websites (which are my data sources), do not appear to add up. For example, an article on nationnews.com (the website for the Nation’s print newspaper) dated December 28 lists Alleyne’s death as the 30th murder for the year. While on Barbados Today, an article dated December 27 stated that the murder count for the year was 28.

Below is a table that I put together a few months ago tracking murders in Barbados. The table includes victim names, ages, gender, dates, et cetera. My data sources have always been The Nation and Barbados Today (two local newspapers). Interested readers need only Google the victim’s name to find out the details as reported by the press. For example, the Google query: “Marvin Victor + Barbados” (without the quotation marks) will return several results relating to the victim.

The following charts are based on my table above:

Figures for the Murders by Month chart does not add up to 31 because  it wasn’t clear at the time – to me – what month the victim (Steven Weare) passed away.

Follow the rest of the analysis on the caribbeansignal.com website.

82 responses to “Barbados Murder Statistics December 2017”

1. @John. The motives could be: Robbery, reprisal/revenge, gang turf war, domestic/ marital, other domestic, illegal dealings gone wrong, etc.

2. @John. The motives could be: Robbery, reprisal/revenge, gang turf war, domestic/ marital, other domestic, illegal dealings gone wrong, etc.

Drugs perhaps

3. @fortyacresandamule

Championing distribution of wealth is a noble undertaking but understand that our so-called system of government sees the owners of capital underwriting the activities of the political class to secure what again? Unfortunately we have to attack the root of the issue to address the concern about wealth distribution. Egalitarian society we are not!

4. Championing distribution of wealth is a noble undertaking but understand that our so-called system of government sees the owners of capital underwriting the activities of the political class to secure what again? Unfortunately we have to attack the root of the issue to address the concern about wealth distribution. Egalitarian society we are not!

Wealth re-distribution is at the very heart of contemporary capitalism. There is no conflict. It is about good government, not juvenile party politics.

5. John January 3, 2018 at 2:54 PM #

Murder is the most studied criminal offence, most of it is not intended. Remember that Barbadian culture is very aggressive (just read some of the posts in this blog) which can often drift in to violence.

6. One thing I am yet to get understood.

How can you take “wealth” as in riches from the poor who supposedly have none and redistribute it to the rich who apparently have plenty?

Until I am shown different I dismiss this position as flawed.

In a capitalist system, you get to keep what you build for yourself.

By all means, you contribute to your society to ensure its continued viability but a complete redistribution of “wealth” as in riches seems to me to be the surest way to destruction of a society.

What would be the point of having a capitalist system?!!

A government involved in taking from the rich to give to the poor is a government we have seen fail again and again.

Why would we want to repeat history and go down that road?

“Thou shalt not covet” …. everything belonging to your neighbor, from wife to jackass!!

Envy only makes the envier miserable … and poor!!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“@ John January 3, 2018 at 5:56 PM

So how do you explain the role of Quakers (and Jews) in the whole slavery and plantation system which made a few men rich off free labour?

BTW, can you tell us why Israel is deporting over 40,000 black Africans from the Promised Land your God Yahweh bequeathed to them?

8. “@ John January 3, 2018 at 5:56 PM
    So how do you explain the role of Quakers (and Jews) in the whole slavery and plantation system which made a few men rich off free labour?

How do you explain Mansa Musa, the single richest man in the world who got there by among other activities selling his own people into slavery?

One single man!!!

9. If you look at the system Mansa Musa left in Mali and its ability to feed clothe and house his people you will realise that the alternative on the other side of the Atlantic is vastly better.

10. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all

@ra1 January 3, 2018 at 1:27 AM “Backward system ,corrupt leaders, dysfunctional homes, lost youth.”

How is it that women also live in the “backward system with corrupt leaders, and dysfunctional homes”

And yet they rarely commit murder?

11. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

Tell me Why January 3, 2018 at 10:09 AM “A white car pull out from Bannatyne junction going east and driving at a brisk speed when all of a sudden this Land Rover Jeep (P3059) rush up behind this car and pull on the carriage way and pass the car at high speed. I don’t know how the car driver was able to keep the car from hitting me and other cars travelling westward and yet, being able to control the car from hitting the stupid driver who past on the left side. That was pure ROAD RAGE for no apparent reason.”

Was the driver of the white car a young man?

I told ya so.

12. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@John January 3, 2018 at 12:18 PM “Motive behind the murder ….. let’s see if we can guess … all jilted lovers!!!”

I don’t think so.

i am sure that hundreds or thousands of Bajan women were jilted in 2017, and yet they murdered no one.

Why is this?

13. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@Hal Austin January 3, 2018 at 3:33 PM “Remember that Barbadian culture is very aggressive (just read some of the posts in this blog) which can often drift in to violence.”

Is it Barbadian male culture which is very aggressive?

Or Barbadian female culture whic is very aggressive?

And are Bajan male and female cultures one and the same?

And if Bajan male and female cultures are not one and the same, why is this so?

14. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

Since no Bajan women committed murder in 2017, is it possible that Bajan women have something to teach Bajan young men? And is anybody willing to listen?

Or is the testosterone of the young murderers and of their victims, and the testosterone of the policy makers getting in the way?

What if young Bajan men listened to Bajan women and at the end of 2018 we could say that no Bajan man committed murder?

Is it possible?

15. … on the other hand ….

The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world!!

http://www.potw.org/archive/potw391.html

Many of our families are single parent families.

Maybe the problem is there, with our women!!

… or is it our men who don’t stand by those women!!

Both I think are at fault!!

16. Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 3, 2018 at 11:27 PM #

It is gender-neutral, but expressed differently. Men externalise their aggression, while women internal theirs in general, with an exaggerated focus on their partners. They over invest in their men and when relationships do not work out they set out to destroy the men, while the men set out to destroy their perceived enemies..

17. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

John January 3, 2018 at 11:51 PM “Many of our families are single parent families.”

A Simple Response: Since you are a man i’ll ask you why do men abandon their sons?

John January 3, 2018 at 11:51 PM “Maybe the problem is there, with our women!!”

A Simple Response: How can the fault be with women who did NOT commit any murders in 2017?

18. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

I am convinced that male aggression is intrinsic. ThatiIt is an evolutionary response, which may have been useful once upon a time, a long long ago, but that this aggression has no place in our crowded villages, suburbs and cities.

And that we need to teach our sons not to take offense so easily, not to respond to minor provocations, in other words we have to teach our sons to be more like women, because this will save their lives.

19. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

https://www.thestar.com/news/canada/2018/01/03/joshua-boyle-makes-court-appearance-via-video-link-remanded-in-custody-until-monday.html
    Joshua Boyle makes court appearance via video link, remanded in custody until Monday. Boyle is accused of a slew of crimes that are alleged to have occurred since his high-profile rescue from captivity in October.

I am reviewing some international media and this morning as usual there are lots on incidences of male violence. In this case this man [and his wife and 3 children] were held hostage for many years. The wife delivered 3 children without a birth attendant, endured a forced abortion. In other words she was made to suffer as much or more so that her husband, yet today it is the MALE who is charged with multiple acts of violence.

Why?

20. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@Hal Austin January 4, 2018 at 5:12 AM “It is gender-neutral, but expressed differently. Men externalise their aggression, while women internal theirs in general.”

So how do you account for the fact that the majority of the people in our mental hospital are male?

21. Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 4, 2018 at 7:52 AM #

See above. Most people in mental institutions are there for violence-related offences or acts; a sizeable number are there for schizophrenic behaviour, including drug abuse; in short, they have externalised their mental breakdown.
    Same problem, different expressions.

22. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@Hal Austin January 4, 2018 at 5:12 AM “It is gender-neutral, but expressed differently. Men externalise their aggression, while women internal theirs in general, with an exaggerated focus on their partners. They over invest in their men and when relationships do not work out they set out to destroy the men, while the men set out to destroy their perceived enemies.”

I think that you may be quite wrong about how seriously women take the breakdown of personal relationships. When a relationship breaks down, since in most case the man has no interest or capacity for child raising, especially the raising of very young, heavily dependent children the woman has to lawyer-up to ensure that the man is compelled to continue to provide some of his income for the housing, feeding, clothing, educating, medical care and recreational needs of his children. In most cases I think that the woman doesn’t much care if the man comes or goes, but she is very much interested in ensuring that their children don’t become destitute. Women don’t typically end up in the “mental” because a man leaves because their mothers and grandmother have taught them that “that a man is like a bus, one goes, one comes”

Our first death for the year was a man who was found dead on the premises of a supermarket. According to neighbours he “lost it” several years ago when a relationship broke down.

23. Does skin colour enter the equation?

It usually does in all our discussions so does it do so here?

24. If there is a discernible difference based on skin colour then all the generalisations about men and women are meaningless …. and there is a discernible problem, with a possible solution!!

25. Silence!!!!!

There is an elephant in the room.

I think there is a difference and it is all to do with family life and upbringing.

Generalisations on men and women don’t stand.

26. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@John January 4, 2018 at 9:38 AM “Does skin colour enter the equation?”…Silence!!!!! There is an elephant in the room.”

According to the 2010 census Barbados has 116,139 black men aged between 20 and 59

Barbados has 3,144 white men aged between 20 and 59

Barbados has 107 Indian men aged between 20 and 59

So expect black men to murder at 36 times the rate of white men, and 108 times the rate of Indian men, not because black men are more murderous but because there are so many more of them. Did not have a white guy not many years ago take the life of his own son? The little boy is still dead isn’t he?

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf

27. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

I remember once being in Montserrat, after the volcano and a Montserratian pointed out to me that Montserat statistically the most murderous place in the world because once in 15 years a young man lost his head and killed his girlfriend. One killing in 15 years in a population of 3,500 made it the most murderous spot on earth.

Lies, damned lies and statistics.

28. So expect black men to murder at 36 times the rate of white men, ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Yuh scrunting!!!!

It is all to do with family and upbringing.

…. not colour.

That is not to say that you won’t get a murderer from a “good” family with “good” upbringing …

…. but, most murders will be committed by individuals who were not blessed with a “good” upbringing … and that has nothing to do with money.

… and that is not to say that the bulk of the offspring of maladjusted families will also be maladjusted.

I think what has happened in this society is the percentage of persons who clung to core values is dropping and their offspring are being impacted.

Before that percentage was high, now it is low and falling.

Luckily the birth rate is falling too otherwise we would have real issues!!

If we were playing the blame game I would say many of the muderers were created by women with men’s active help.

In a society with high core values, the delinquent quickly gets his/her come uppance.

29. So, to what kind of core values did former Bajans adhere.

Lets try a simple one which no one can dispute ….”Thou shalt not kill”.

There are 9 others that come to mind!!

30. Theophilius Gazerts 240 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 240

Jesus Christ
    John wrote something that makes sense….

31. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar

@John January 4, 2018 at 5:13 PM “It is all to do with family and upbringing.”

Not only in Barbados John, but in all countries men murder at about 10 times the rate of women, are imprisoned at far greater rates than women, are institutionalised in mental hospitals at far greater rates than women

Why?

And why is it that even women who were raised in dysfunctional families rarely murder.

Why?

Bear in mind that I am not seeking to denigrate anybody, but virtually all of the violence in the world is fomented by men.

That is the truth.

We need police, armies, prisons, and mental hospitals primarily because of men.

And women are taxed at the same rate as men to deal with male violence. Why?

32. Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all January 4, 2018 at 7:36 PM #
    @John January 4, 2018 at 5:13 PM “It is all to do with family and upbringing.”
    Not only in Barbados John, but in all countries men murder at about 10 times the rate of women, are imprisoned at far greater rates than women, are institutionalised in mental hospitals at far greater rates than women
    Why?
    And why is it that even women who were raised in dysfunctional families rarely murder.
    Why?
    Bear in mind that I am not seeking to denigrate anybody, but virtually all of the violence in the world is fomented by men.
    That is the truth.
    We need police, armies, prisons, and mental hospitals primarily because of men.
    And women are taxed at the same rate as men to deal with male violence. Why?

EVE!!