Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

The New Year is almost upon us and very shortly this country will be transformed into a veritable electioneering circus, some might say with an assortment of clowns, to select a new government.

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) emerged victorious in the last two contests. However, this time around, political pundits and wishful thinkers have already called the next elections for the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), which seems to have lulled that party into a sense of complacency. The BLP appears to be saying to itself that the current administration is so absolutely bad that the electorate could not possibly re-elect them. That attitude might very well see them in opposition, with reduced numbers after the next polls.

However, I must point out to the BLP and any other third parties with similar views that dismal performance has not proven to be a bar to the DLP’s success. Their legendary incompetence did not emerge overnight. During the illness and subsequent death of Prime Minister, David Thompson, his party fell to pieces and took the country right along with it. With his passing, it appeared that the DLP did not only lose its leader; it lost its ability to effectively govern. Despite that, it had a winning formula and was returned as the Government in 2013.

The reality in Barbados is that any party that seriously intends to form the Government must capture the imagination of the civil service. The DLP recognised that readily and in their last two manifestos, it made some grandiose and unrealistic pledges to civil servants, who fell for them hook, line and sinker.

Under the heading of “Achievements” in the 2013 manifesto, it boasted that it kept all public servants employed, despite the hard economic times. Then during the campaign, while pledging not to send home one-single government worker, its platform speakers kept insisting that workers would lose their jobs, if the BLP formed the Government.

History has now recorded that almost immediately after its re-election, Government implemented plans to reduce the public service by 6,000 workers. And to this day, this administration would only admit to dismissing 3,000 workers, by semantically saying that the other 3,000 workers were not dismissed; they were temporary officers and that their contracts came to an end.

Thereafter, the remaining public workers have silently endured the brunt of the DLP’s mismanagement. Under normal circumstances, public workers would have benefitted from three salary revisions in seven years. Instead, they suffered through a seven-year long wage freeze.

Now, as if to add insult to injury, government proposed to give workers at the bottom of the scale a one-off payment of $464.85, which equates to $66.41 per year, $5.53 per month or 18 cents per day over that seven-year period. I am truly touched by such generosity.

Another aspect of this Government’s mismanagement that I find extremely troubling is their penchant for unilaterally changing the terms and conditions of public workers , when it suits them, to effect savings, without regard to those affected. In one such instance, the High Court has recently given a decision against Government, in favour of workers that were forced into early retirement by the Barbados Industrial Development Corporation.

Also, without regard to the welfare of workers the authorities have been refusing to grant a term’s vacation leave to teachers who qualify. It has long been established that long-serving teachers need some time away from the classroom to avoid burnout. According to the General Orders, teachers are entitled to a term’s vacation leave after 15 years’ service. Thereafter, they qualify for another term’s leave after serving not less than 21 terms. Government is now only granting the first leave and the one immediately before retirement.

If I were a teacher, who was approaching an age where I could retire early on pension and my application was denied, I would hand in my papers to retire. The leave would now be granted in accordance with the new policy and I would then write to rescind my retirement, since it is normal practice for persons to do so any time before the Governor-General approves the retirement.

I am merely imploring public workers to forget this nonsense about party and vote to secure their own future.

146 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Civil Servants Vote to Your Interests in 2018”

1. I noticed Fcuktured BLP is PURPOSELY STAYING CLEAR of the crooked, dishonest lawyers WITHIN the RANKS on the DLP.

She has CONVENIENTLY REFUSED to ACKNOWLEDGE the “escapades” of crooked MICHAEL CARRINGTON, who has been so far hauled before the law courts by TWO CLIENTS for with-holding their funds and over-charging.

But it seems as though “over charging” and dishonesty are synonymous with DLP lawyers.

Richard Byer “started the ball rolling” when he over charged Caves of Barbados $766,855.24 for providing a service that was similarly provided by another lawyer for $19,000.

Hal Gollop got $1.5M out of the BWA headquarters deal, including payment for a service that was not a necessary requirement.

And now we have Ajax Construction Inc. filing a lawsuit in the Supreme Court against “Crooked Michael,” CHALLENGING the LEVEL of FEES he CHARGED for legal work done with respect to the purchase and resale of a portion of land at Warrens, St Michael.

However, Fcuktured BLP should have appropriately ended her contribution with:

“Beware………..BLP & DLP Thieves.”

2. *********WITHIN the RANKS of the DLP.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 2, 2018 at 1:22 AM #
    “Only a NITWICK like would believe some March 6 – bogus logic !@

That line rhymes nicely with ‘ESTWICK’ the shit -hound of a pit bull who will soon be made into a scapegoat to carry the shitty end of stick when Cabinet is forced to declare a state of emergency before the end of January.

Yes Broken yard fowl, your chicken shit manure is overflowing in the cesspool on George Street and creating a massive tributary to your South Coast sewage river.

The Democratic Labour Party has now been officially renamed the Destructive Lying Party by King Stuart of Shitland.

Go for it, mate! Your knighthood awaits you, Sir Fractured!

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tron January 1, 2018 at 9:05 PM
    “(a) “that a public emergency has arisen as a result of the imminence of a state of war between Barbados and another State or as a result of the occurrence of any earthquake, hurricane, flood, fire, outbreak of pestilence, outbreak of infectious disease….”

An “outbreak of pestilence, outbreak of infectious disease…” sounds like the perfect scenario to bring about that State of Emergency (SOE) Lord King Fumble legally requires to hide behind to develop his intended dictatorial rule like a true ugly low-class shithound.

The sewage situation on the South Coast is now more than a sanitation problem but a calamity about to wipe out not only the public health gains over the last 100 years but also the last remaining source of forex earnings needed to keep the country afloat both economically and socially.

After all Barbados is more than an economy; it is also a society of shite loving people.

Bush Tea’s devil living on the Garrison is doing the dog, pissing and shitting all over the place!

5. Bush Tea’s devil living on the Garrison
    What the Hell….!!

Boss
    Bush Tea is only the messenger …who tell wunna about the lotta shiite eva-since…

It AIN’T Bushie who put um there….

6. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has brought the realisation of the 2018 general election right into the public eye as it posted election posters in all 30 constituencies over the course of Monday night.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/116402/bees-send-signal

7. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

There is nobody on this blog who can SHOW OR PROVE that the Nation newspaper is not intentionally pushing a pro BLP anti government narrative in a blatant attempt to sway public opinion.
    The only response to the BLP prostituting the Nation newspaper is “Look at CBC and the Advocate”.

That is the reality of the local media scene in Barbados.

Therefore the 64 million dollar scenario is this :
    If the BLP wins the government and controls CBC and with the Nation and its subsidiary VOB already a BEE hive and in their pocket we will actually witness a situation where the largest newspaper, radio station and the only television station in the country will basically be singing in the government’s choir.
    We have already seen that loudmouths like Commissiong and Caswell Franklyn are compromised and ready to sing in the political choir and not attack the current BLP leader publicly.
    What a healthy democracy that will be !

8. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

BLP PROSTITUTES THE Nation newspaper media house. Continuing Developments.

The Nation BLP newspaper has continued their BLP campaign by using their columnists and editorial to do the “attack dog” role for the opposition:
    THESE COLUMNS are essentially : FREE UNPAID BLP CAMPAIGN ADS disguised as independent commentary.
    Watch Closely:

TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 2018: Attack DogTennyson Joseph that the vote of no-confidence could and should be signaled by “a total national strike,unending mass protests,an economic shutdown or any other action that would make the government unworkable”
    Yes, believe it or not we have a non Barbadian being paid by the Nation newspaper to suggest to Barbadians that anarchy and social unrest should be created in Barbados to achieve a political outcome.

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 3, 2018:
    Attack dog Frances Chandler “What we need now is a new government” while believe it or not singing the praises of David Commisiong who she conveniently now praises because they are both supporting the same political master.

EVERY DAY until election day this will continue , Columnists used as BLP ATTACK dogs while never saying anything critical about the BLP or its leader. This is not coincidence Barbados. It is a deliberate political strategy developed by the BLP hierarchy and the Nation leadership who are on the same page here.

When you read the Nation newspaper , bear this strategy in mind. Tommorow is Thursday, look for the FREE BLP ad under the name of Attack Dog Clyde Mascoll.

The Nation newspaper is really the Nation BLP Newspaper. Always remember that.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

NationBLPnewspaper

I do not normally respond to your rabid comments and I thought that would have been enough for you to leave me alone, but you persist.

Why should I attack Mia Mottley publicly to please you? When I write about the Government, I comment on the destruction that the DLP is wreaking on this country. She is not responsible for the incompetence that is being exhibited by the Government. If I am to criticise her it would be because she has not been as forceful as she could be in her opposition to the Government.

It is precisely because the Opposition seems to be neglecting its duty that I highlight problems that the country is facing.

10. Hasnt the Nation pushing a blp agenda since 2008 .Let them continue at their own peril. The last election proved that the Nation and their suspect articles can be geaten to the ground. This coming election would be the icing on the cake proving that the Nation newpaper is more bark than bite.

11. Btw hoping for a speedy recovery for Harold Hoyte.The brass knuckles behind the jobby printed in the Nation

12. I hope the dlp pays off the huge debt it has accummulated at CBC before the next election.

If not the BLP will certainly send the bailiffs after wunnah.

13. Just imagine that the party in power and their yardfowls want all the media to be supporting and defending their idiotic policies…………is this Cuba or Russia?

14. Shouldn’t the BWA be railing against this matter i.e. the DLP, the political party owing the CBC while it struggles to pay wages? According to the weekend newspaper salaries are routinely paid late by the CBC.

15. @NationBLPnewspaper January 3, 2018 at 9:46 AM #

“Therefore the 64 million dollar scenario is this :
    If the BLP wins the government and controls CBC and with the Nation and its subsidiary VOB already a BEE hive and in their pocket we will actually witness a situation where the largest newspaper, radio station and the only television station in the country will basically be singing in the government’s choir”.
    ………………………………………………………

Boo hoo………dont cry yet……….you will still have the Advocate………….

16. The jackasses at CBC could allow the yardfowls at George Street to build up such a huge debt with it but refused to take cash from the BLP.

It is therefore more than likely that the dlp will run up the debt higher for election……….

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 3, 2018 at 1:47 PM

Why don’t you go back to the sewer where you belong and stop spreading not only dangerous lies and propaganda dlp style but also the gastrointestinal virus which will soon find its way to the lying cesspool at George Street?

Now let us see how you and your fellow dirty rats will try to cover up the gastro-intestinal outbreak on the South Coast.

Will you and the MoH be proving the victims wrong by swallowing some of the water seeping from the manholes?

The British Home & Overseas Offices will soon be issuing a health warning sto those traveling to Barbados and screening those returning home.

Continue in trying to cover up your shit as you have been doing for the past two years when it first came to the surface and brought to your arrogant attention and see if a total travel ban will not be slapped soon on your two-bit shitty arse.

The Daily Mail is onto your filthy nasty tail.

18. Quite recently, an entire ground floor of a local hotel (not on the south coast) was flooded out with sewerage, guest waddling through it to salvage their personal belongings … video recording the stink everywhere…. not good, waiting to see the fallout…

One guest developed a bad skin rash and sought alternative accommodation…. not good at all.

ALSO as you drive along the west coast at night, the stench from certain establishments is unbearable..

Is it true that demonic spirits are usually accompany/associated with bad stenches?… just
    asking.

I am aware that shallow sewerage pits when over used can cause a problem if not sealed properly.

19. re Is it true that demonic spirits are usually accompany/associated with bad stenches?… just
    asking.
    YOU SHOULD KNOW CAUSE YOU ARE DEFINITELY A DEVIL

20. Prodigal
    Isn’t it ironic that that man at the Advocate Bryan got the top three honours for doing diddly squat for the country Barbados.On the other hand he is rumoured to be the local version of Donald Trump as he thinks of womankind.What the hell Bryan was honoured for?This is so ridiculous.Can these honours be recalled or will that be setting a precedent.

21. The DLP yard-fowls are out again to DEMONSTRATE their IGNORANCE.

“Belly aching” about the Nation newspaper is a SHIITE ARGUMENT……. based mainly on stupid political rhetoric.

Let’s examine the Nation newspaper and VOB prior to the 2008 general elections:

I recalled prior to the 2008 general elections, the Nation and especially VOB 92.9, were the “best things since sliced bread” for the DLP and its yard-fowl supporters.

Similarly, “There (wasn’t) nobody on this blog who (could) SHOW OR PROVE that the Nation newspaper (WAS) not intentionally pushing a pro DLP anti government narrative in a blatant attempt to sway public opinion” and “DLP PROSTITUTES THE Nation newspaper media house” are TODAY’S REALITY.

Ironically (or perhaps not surprisingly), DLP yard-fowls said their messages were being suppressed by CBC……. a view that is currently held by BLP yard-fowls. In those days the Advocate showed a bias towards the BLP.

VOB’s “Brass Tacks” and “Tell It Like It Is” call-in-programs were DOMINATED by DLP yard-fowls who were ably ASSISTED by MODERATORS that were OPENLY SUPPORTIVE of the DLP.

Vere Brathwaite, Akintoolove Corbin, David Ellis, Ralph Jemmott, Dr. Don Marshall, Tony Marshall, Maxine McClean and Peter Wickham immediately come to mind.

I remember Phony Marshall and McClean SHOUTING at BLP yard-fowls and not giving them enough time to develop their points, while giving DLP yard-fowls inordinate amounts of time……. UNINTERRUPTED.

Some of these moderators were REWARDED by the DLP with “picks” as ambassadors, moderators and political consultants at CBC, members or chairmen of statutory corporation boards or in the senate.

In those days the BLP yard-fowls were perhaps expressing a similar view of the Nation newspaper that is currently held by the DLP yard-fowls…….. i.e. “NationDLPnewspaper.”

22. Let’s examine Peter Wickham, VOB and CBC PRIOR to and POST the 2008 general elections.

Using “Brass Tacks” as his “political platform,” Peter Wickham took advantage of every opportunity he was on that program to “cuss” Owen Arthur and the BLP. He also criticized CBC’s “Talk Yuh Talk” for having two moderators, i.e. George Griffith and Sydney Simmons, whom he described, in innuendo, as BLP supporters.

Surely anyone who is honest with themselves, would reasonably conclude that, in those days, Wickham, via VOB and his COLUMN in the NATION’S Sunday Sun newspaper, “WAS intentionally pushing a pro DLP anti government narrative in a blatant attempt to sway public opinion.”

“Lo and behold,” after the 2008 general elections, Wickham became CBC’s LONE MODERATOR and POLITICAL ANALYST……….. where he continued in his venomous attacks on Arthur, advising him to end his political career and “ride off in the sunset,”…………while at the same time promoting David Thompson and the DLP.

Not surprisingly, the view he previously held of “Talk Yuh Talk” became “null and void.”

I’m sure many of you would also recall CBC’s “The People’s Business,” which was hosted by the same Peter Wickham. Every Sunday a different DLP minister, senator, supporter or operative was invited to that program, mainly for purposes of political aggrandizement and to answer “lollipop questions” from yard-fowl callers.

After Thompson’s death and the emergence of Mia Mottley as leader of the BLP, Wickham began to promote Mottley and became highly critical of Freundel Stuart and the DLP.

This change in opinion would cost Wickham his “pick” at CBC and he subsequently returned to VOB………. where he continued promoting Mottley and cussing Stuart.

………………and the “political cycle” begins again……….. the more things change, the more they remain the same.

THESE ARE FACTS THAT CANNOT BE REFUTED.

23. When the BLP became increasingly unpopular during their third term…… and more so leading up to the 2008 general elections……… the SAME media the DLP yard-fowls are NOW criticizing, was “intentionally pushing a pro DLP anti government narrative in a blatant attempt to sway public opinion.”

Under the current circumstances where the DLP is similarly becoming increasingly unpopular among the electorate, the “political narrative” will obviously change to reflect the prevailing political climate. Hence, the people, columnists etc presenting opinions opposing or critical this inept DLP administration will increase and be highlighted.

However, if one looks past the political rhetoric and critically analyzes how the media MANIPULATES the political environment under both BLP & DLP administrations, ONLY an IDIOT would not conclude it’s “all about the “Grantleys,”…….

……………….in other words PROFIT.

24. @Artax

Woe betide the local media.

25. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Caswell Franklyn
    ” do not normally respond to your rabid comments and I thought that would have been enough for you to leave me alone, but you persist.”

I am glad that you condescended from your Mt. Olympus to respond to a fair and accurate assertion. YOU CASWELL FRANKLYN said on this blog when you were first “selected” by the Nation BLP Newspaper that you were instructed not to write on politics.
    NOW YOU CASWELL FRANKLYN are stating that suddenly you are assuming the mantra of “opposition attack dog” because the opposition is not putting enough licks in the government. Well if that isn’t political, please tell me what is.

YOU HAVE BEEN CAUGHT in the journalistic political brothel called the Nation newspaper. I AM CALLING YOU OUT CASWELL.
    Please tell the blog what changed to allow you to write every week about politicians and conveniently never lay a glove on Mottley. You know what? You have to toe the line at the NationBLP Newspaper and fall in line like a good political yardboy.
    You are a shadow of the INDEPENDENT VOICE you once tried to potray yourself as.

Oh and as for the columnists focusing on the government because they are in power , Nation BLP columnists Albert Branford was constantly putting licks in David Thompson every Sunday while he was opposition leader so there is precedent for attacking an opposition leader at the Nation just not when the BLP is in opposition.

If you risk trying that with Mottley , you can kiss your column at the Nation BLP newspaper goodbye. It is what it is. Admit it.

26. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The partisans still cannot refute our put up a credible defense for the obvious inclusion of the Nation newspaper as the public relations company for the BLP.
    One partisan says ” there is still the Advocate”, that is his way of admission.
    The other partisan paints a revisionist view of the pre 2008 period in media coverage.They forget the images of BLP St. Michael MPS on CBC tv overseeing the painting of houses for cricket world cup with candidate Bostic .
    They forget that the BLP had Ezra Alleyne writing pro government articles every week in The Nation while Albert Brandford was slamming Thompson every week.In other words the BLP always had a presence in the Nation but there was an attempt at balance with Hartley Henry writing for the DLP. Then there was also the weekly columns submitted by both parties.

Let us not try to recreate our own version of the pre 2008 media scene. At that point the Advocate also leaned BLP.

Fast Forward a few years and the politicians at the BLP now control the Nation newspaper. Please refer to the Facebook post by former Nation editor Roy Morris who basically stated that he was a journalist first and was under pressure from the Nation bosses to deliver a BLP paper first and anything else after.

The evidence is overwhelming despite the feeble attempts to say different. The public relations strategy of the BLP resides in Nation at Fontabelle.

27. @NationBLPnewspaper

What is your opinion about Bryan being conferred high national honors? Has he done anything in the field of journalism to merit?

28. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

BLP PROSTITUTES THE Nation newspaper media house. Continuing Developments.
    The BLP public relations strategy involves the use of strategically placed BLP columnists to attack the government every day until election. These columns are basically FREE BLP ads.

THURSDAY, JANUARY 4 , 2018
    Attack dog Clyde Mascoll – Mascoll’s role is obvious. He was such a poor candidate that the BLP realized he would better serve the party from a newspaper column as he would eventually make any BLP safe seat unsafe. The BLP strategy over the last 12 months has been to try to take their aim off of Sinckler and to throw more attacks at Stuart. Therefore the Mascoll column has focused its aim squarely at PM Stuart and less in recent times on his obvious personal grouse with Chris.

The Nation is playing a very important role in the BLP campaign and shamelessly so. Woe betide the local media.

29. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

From following the local media scene, I think the gentleman was first honoured with the Gold Crown of Merit by the BLP in the early 2000s.
    I do not know him personally but I guess it was felt by the Arthur administration that he was deserving of such an honour as apparently he is a black man from very humble origins. I think Harold Hoyte should also be honoured for his contribution.
    If we can have a “Sir Allan Fields”, I see no reason why these two black barbadians should not be honoured.
    A friend of mine told me that if the late Tom Adams were alive Sir Anthony would have been knighted a long time ago.Apparently they were close.

30. Why do you think Arthur honored Bryan?

31. Similarly to how CBC before the 2008 general elections was examined……… CBC after the 2008 general elections should also come under scrutiny.

The first order of the day was to appoint Leroy Parris as chairman of CBC.

Second order of the day was to declare Noel Lynch, a regular guest of the then CBC 100.7fm radio program “Mason & Best,” “persona non grata,” after he was escorted off the property by security guards. Andrew Mason also left in protest of the action.

Third order of the day was to remove “Mason & Best” from the airwaves, citing lack of sponsorship (although the program was “adequately” sponsored by the agents of a popular health drink. Yet, a few weeks after, sponsorship automatically became available for Keith Holder to host a new sports program, “Mid-Wicket.”

“Talk Yuh Talk” is now hosted by TWO pro DLP moderators, Maureen Holder (who replaced Peter Wickham as that CBC’s political analyst) and a bombastic character, John Lovell, who tries unsuccessfully attempting to be partial. And it is also interesting to note this call-in-program attracts ONLY pro-DLP callers, while the moderators use CBC’s RESOURCES to PROMOTE the DLP and its operatives.

The DLP, through Astor B. Watts, is ALLOWED to USE “Talk Yuh Talk,” to ADVERTISE, at TAXPAYERS’ EXPENSE, the DLP’s “Astor B. Watts lunch-time lectures.”

Maureen Holder also replaced Wickham as host of “The People’s Business,” which is also hosted by known DLP sympathizers……Dale Forde, Rosemary Allyene and Teisha Hinds.

Former DLP candidate for St. George South, Doug Hoyte used to receive “free money” co-hosting “Mornin’ Barbados,” was subsequently appointed as CBC’s general manager.

The first half hour of CBC TV8 Evening News is dedicated to DLP news items, while the latter 15 to 30 minutes, known as “News Extra,” is dedicated to the full context of speeches made by DLP politicians…….. which is often REPEATED either later during the night or the next day.

Any event hosted by the DLP, whether it is a constituency branch meeting, annual conference, Stuart speaking in some forum, or addressing the DLP faithful in his CAPACITY as PRESIDENT of that party (and NOT prime minister)……. always finds a spot in CBC’s “News Extra.” You are left with two choices (1) change the channel or (2) listen to Stuart and his colleagues talk political shiite.

From AMONG the THOUSANDS of lawyers in Barbados, the ONLY lawyers QUALIFIED to be “recruited” by CBC to give legal advice on its program “Legally Speaking,” are:

Verla DePeiza…………..DLP’s candidate for Christ Church West
    Guyson Mayers………..DLP’s one time prospective candidate for St. Joseph
    Hal Gollop……………….personal mate of Freundel Stuart and DLP sympathizer

CBC TV8 air time is often given to Pedro Welch and Bobby Morris (not discussing anything relevant to his post as CARICOM ambassador)…….. but for history lectures or lectures on DLP stalwarts.

CBC uses “Errol Barrow Day,” “National Heroes Day”, and “Independence Day,” to give prominence to Errol Barrow and push the DLP’s political propaganda.

I could understand the private media being biased as a means of generating profits……. but no political party, whether BLP, DLP, UPP, CAP, PDC or the “party stand” at Kensington Oval……… should be ALLOWED to use the state-owned CBC and its resources to broadcast that party’s political agenda………at the EXPENSE of taxpayers.

Or allowed to be indebted to CBC, as is the case with the Democratic Labour Party, as a POLITICAL PARTY…………..indebtedness of $109,606…………

…………………and especially under circumstances where CBC’s staff have been experiencing difficulties in receiving their salaries and wages when due.

don not be selective in your criticisms. These improper activities, exhibited by BOTH BLP & DLP administrations ,should also be highlighted.

32. What we can say without fear of contradiction is that the change Barbadians votes for in 2008 and 2013 has not come. Around the mulberry bush we go.

33. “FAST FORWARD a few years and the POLITICIANS at the BLP NOW CONTROL the Nation newspaper.”
    +++++++++++++++++++

The above comment is a clear admission that the DLP previously controlled the Nation newspaper.

But………….. only an idiot keeps repeating the same action……… in expectation of a DIFFERENT result.

This is tantamount to an idiot knowing the Nation is pro BLP, yet CONTINUES WASTING his MONEY buying the paper, expecting different results, only to “belly ache” after purchasing it.

Shiite, this JA seems to have a short memory as well……..

What are the significant DIFFERENCES between how “the images of BLP St. Michael MPS on CBC tv overseeing the painting of houses for cricket world cup with candidate Bostic,”………….

…………and recent images, on CBC TV8, of the St. Michael Central MP, Steve Blackett and supporters wearing yellow “T” shirts with images of Blackett, …………….. DISTRIBUTING “goodies” in that constituency?

…………or televising excerpts from DLP constituency branch meetings?

……….. or Richard Sealy and John Boyce swimming at Worthing Beach, in a silly “public relations” gimmick to prove the sea water was NOT contaminated by the sewage leaking on the South Coast, ……….despite a report that a tourist was allegedly hospitalised after swimming at that location?

Perhaps “NationBLPnewspaper” may care to explain to this forum why CBC TV8 thought it was necessary to broadcast Freundel Stuart’s entire speech to the DLP faithful, (in his capacity as DLP’s president….. and NOT prime minister) at last year’s DLP annual conference……… at the EXPENSE of taxpayers?

You have to admit that BOTH political parties have constantly exploited CBC’s resources for their political advantage.

And why can’t you admit this practice is WRONG?

34. “The BLP strategy over the last 12 months has been to try to take their aim off of Sinckler and to throw more attacks at Stuart.”
    ++++++++++++++++

Firstly, in an article on their website dated February 28, 2014, the DLP expressed the view that Mottley planned a “change of strategy from attacking The Minister of Finance to the Prime Minister.”

Therefore, according to the DLP, this strategy is approximately 3 years, 11 months old……. and NOT 12 months, as NationBLPnewspaper is suggesting.

I have often mentioned in this forum that there AREN’T any SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCES between the political & philosophical ideologies of the BLP and DLP. The yard-fowls of both parties create “ARTIFICIAL DIFFERENCES” for purposes of POLITICAL EXPEDIENCY.

What are the DIFFERENCES between the BLP’s strategy “of throwing more attacks on Stuart” and the DLP’s strategy of “throwing more attacks on” Mottley?

The answer: there AREN’T ANY SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCES in strategies……..the differences have been “artificially created” and accepted according to what party the yard-fowl supports.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artax

You make perfect sense but it will have no impact on the likes of NationBLPnewspaper, or at least on its public pronouncements. These DLP yardfowls are seeing power slipping away from them so they will strike out at anyone with a view that does not toe their party line.

The problem with the Barbadian society is that the majority of us allow ourselves to believe that only the DLP or the BLP can run this country. We fail to realise that it is the individuals, who band themselves together under those banners, that run the country.

You should recall in 1976 that none of the elected BLP politicians had any experience in government and they did a good job of governing, whether you want to admit it or not. They took their lead from the civil service professionals. When the DLP regained the Government in 2008 only Thompson had experience in running the country. He died and left a hard-headed lot who refuse to take advice and have impoverished this country to unprecedented levels.

As is the practice, the Barbadian electorate would more than likely re-employ the BLP to start the process over again. We need to break this cycle, it has not served this country well. Maybe, it is time for the Barbadian electorate to stop playing it safe and move away from this two-party system that is destroying this country.

36. “You should recall in 1976 that none of the elected BLP politicians had any experience in government and they did a good job of governing, whether you want to admit it or not.”

@ Caswell

I had just entered secondary school in 1976 and did not really pay any attention to politics. In 1981, I remember my school mates discussing the BLP’s election slogan “On with Tom in ’81,” especially one particular guy who remained a BLP supporter to this day.

However, I understand your point.

I also agree with your comment re: “Maybe it is time for the Barbadian electorate to stop playing it safe and move away from this two-party system that is destroying this country.” Although I do not believe any of the newly formed parties may win the 2018 general elections, one may surprise us and make a significant impact on the outcome……. or even form a coalition to become the government or official opposition.

This would be a very good for the future development of politics in Barbados.

Unfortunately, however, it seems as though the history of coalition governments in the Caribbean has not been positive. Perhaps because the members of each political party are not willing to discard their political and philosophical ideologies to embrace a long-term collective ideology.

37. Caswell
    Would you consider Proportional Representation as a way around the two party system?That might give the smaller parties a say if they can muster enough votes in the 30 constituencies.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Gabriel

I favour proportional representation for the composition of the Senate. As presently constituted, it serves no useful purpose. It should then be given real power.

I still prefer first-passed-the-post for elections to the House. What I do not like is the massive corruption, that goes unacknowledged by law enforcement, that has now become the norm in selecting members of the House of Assembly.

39. @NationBLP Newspaper

Stop being disingenuous. We do not forget the role of the Nation and VoB pushing the DLP agenda pre-2008 elections.

40. Enuff
    Lest they forget,these are among the DLP avid messengers of lies,deceit and wickedness which David Ellis allowed to push their message via VOB ‘Brasstacks’ and ‘Tell it like it is’ call in shows.
    Tony Marshall
    Maxine McClean
    Don Marshall
    Akintalove Corbin
    Harry Husbands
    Steve Blackett
    They all hold current positions in this and the last DLP Administration.Two of them are Cabinet Ministers,one a Parliamentary Secretary,one an Ambassador and the other two Chairpersons of Statutory Boards.Wickedness that Ellis cannot live down and his contribution to the sick state of this country.David Ellis dropped the effing ball.#Blimmuh!

41. William Skinner Avatar

@ Caswell

“The problem with the Barbadian society is that the majority of us allow ourselves to believe that only the DLP or the BLP can run this country. We fail to realise that it is the individuals, who band themselves together under those banners, that run the country.

You should recall in 1976 that none of the elected BLP politicians had any experience in government and they did a good job of governing, whether you want to admit it or not. They took their lead from the civil service professionals. When the DLP regained the Government in 2008 only Thompson had experience in running the country. He died and left a hard-headed lot who refuse to take advice and have impoverished this country to unprecedented levels.

As is the practice, the Barbadian electorate would more than likely re-employ the BLP to start the process over again. We need to break this cycle, it has not served this country well. Maybe, it is time for the Barbadian electorate to stop playing it safe and move away from this two-party system that is destroying this country.”

Thank you

It is only a matter of time. All that the apologists, die- hards and cronies of the BLPDLP have left are puerile excuses and imbecile attacks. They are a pathetic bunch , to say the very least.

42. William Skinner tell us who would you like to lead us,Grenville Phillips or Lynette Eastmond a perennial loser at the polls or do you want your late leader ,tell us Mr Skinner.I do not think so and neither do the majority of Bajans as we have seen where this try a thing policies have got us.It will be either The BLP or DLP,so you can cease with your nonsense on the blog

43. @ Lorenzo
    All he is saying is that six is half dozen …and that shiite is shiite. (of course William would not say that publicly, but Bushie knows what he means).
    He is right.

Are you REALLY touting ‘Wuk-fuh-Wuk’ or “Plantation Lynch” as any kind of saviour for Barbados…?

44. Bushie Mr Skinner and you could talk all you like the best choice for leadership lies in Ms Mottley,so don,t tell about no six is half dozen crap.Lack of Leadrership is killing Barbados right now,even if you look at the South Coast mess,not a word from the PM who I do not know has even visited the area as yet,the Economy continues to struggle ,garbage problems,etc and you are saying to me that better cannot be done.We shall see.By the way Gabriel you left off a few Moderators David Ellis himself,Marsha Hinds-Layne,Ralph Jemmott,Shantelle Munroe-Knight,Peter Wickham andMaureen Holder who allowed callers like Mr P,MsP,the Trini Dem,the Taxi Man,Commissioner,Rawle and Winnie at the time to critize the BLP,prior to 2008

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lorenzo

Straight up anybody other than those who are now preferred. Thank you.

46. LOL @ Lorenzo
    ….not a word from the PM who I do not know has even visited the area as yet,the Economy continues to struggle ,garbage problems,etc and you are saying to me that better cannot be done
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, even if Froon moved to Hastings ….and went on TV every hour, our asses will still be up shit street. ….Same thing for Mia, Grenville and the other options.

But who ever said that better could not be done….?
    Why don’t you send the angel Gabriel?

What Bushie is saying is that with our current options, it is between the devil or the deep silent sea…